Dead or Alive 4 Xbox 360

  • Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Dec 29, 2005
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 217 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 217
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Couch
    Jan 6, 2006
    9
    Graphics are a 9. Sound is a 9. Gameplay is a 9. This game is a perfect 9 to me. It has everything you want and expect from a fighting game with the best Xbox 360 graphics to date. The game is perfect on normal for most people. It gives plenty of challenge while still allowing you to beat the computer and make minor mistakes. On normal you can actually get by just button mashing, but if Graphics are a 9. Sound is a 9. Gameplay is a 9. This game is a perfect 9 to me. It has everything you want and expect from a fighting game with the best Xbox 360 graphics to date. The game is perfect on normal for most people. It gives plenty of challenge while still allowing you to beat the computer and make minor mistakes. On normal you can actually get by just button mashing, but if your going to want to be good you'll have to learn the awesome (but hard) counter system. For the pros there is a hard and very hard mode. Some things I hate about the game are the amazingly fast battles and the extreme shifts in difficulty. If your unlucky the computer can take you out in as much as 3-4 hits. Sometimes the computer will be near unbeatable, countering you from the start, while at other times they will be unable to attack you if you are able to slam them into walls long enough. Story mode also doesn't take very long to beat, but is actually pretty satisfying due to its hilarious and beautiful cinematics. This game also has many different characters to choose from. Though I wish they were all a little more different. As it stands there are only really 4 "kinds" of characters: the really fast women, the really slow but powerful men (mostly), people who are in between, and then the crazy drunken fighter who is just hilarious to watch. If you have friends and 2 controllers and you love fighting games go out and buy this title. If you sort-of-maybe like fighting games, or play solo most of the time just rent this title. If you hate getting frustrated at times, want a carefree, easy stress free game, don't like memorizing button combinations, and can not adapt to the fast pace of a fighting game DO NOT BUY IT. Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    Wow, really surprise, this version of Dead or Alive is the better, the graphics are incredible, the story, the characters, all in DOA 4 is fantastic. And the online is really amazing. I love it.
  3. MarcusNestor
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    Taking advantage of the superior technology of the new Xbox 360, Dead or Alive 4 raises the bar in both online and offline fighting. By utilizing the advanced technology of the new Xbox 360 hardware, Dead or Alive 4 redefines 3-D high definition graphics and sound, creating the most visually beautiful and realistic looking video game to date. Unsurpassed online capabilities via Xbox Live,Taking advantage of the superior technology of the new Xbox 360, Dead or Alive 4 raises the bar in both online and offline fighting. By utilizing the advanced technology of the new Xbox 360 hardware, Dead or Alive 4 redefines 3-D high definition graphics and sound, creating the most visually beautiful and realistic looking video game to date. Unsurpassed online capabilities via Xbox Live, new interactive stages, an all star line-up of old and new favorite characters, and the most complex DOA countering system yet. [Tecmo] I Know its not out yet but am a fan of DOA series so i gave it 10 and by the way TEKKEN 6 is gonna be on PLAYSTATION 3 I HATE Tekken games peace leifang Rules!! Expand
  4. AnonymousMC
    Jan 2, 2006
    9
    Anyone who gives this game less than a 9 is not to be trusted.

    It's simply the greatest fighting games since Tekken 3, or Soul Calibur. This is coming from a guy who would have rated DOA 1-3 as 6's and called them just mediocre. The fighting has been tightened and deepend so much as to allow it to actually stand as a real game instead of just fluff, and it is the first 360
    Anyone who gives this game less than a 9 is not to be trusted.

    It's simply the greatest fighting games since Tekken 3, or Soul Calibur. This is coming from a guy who would have rated DOA 1-3 as 6's and called them just mediocre. The fighting has been tightened and deepend so much as to allow it to actually stand as a real game instead of just fluff, and it is the first 360 game that really seems like it could not be done on a previos generation console. Best 360 game out right now, in my opinion.
    Expand
  5. MichelB.
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    I've been playing this games for hundreds of hours and I still enjoy it as much as I did in the beginning. The fighting system is challenging and deep. And although I played against over 500 different players online, I still haven't seen all the moves yet. As for the difficulty - well since I'm a fan of the DOA series and Ninja Gaiden Black - it's just fine for me. TeamI've been playing this games for hundreds of hours and I still enjoy it as much as I did in the beginning. The fighting system is challenging and deep. And although I played against over 500 different players online, I still haven't seen all the moves yet. As for the difficulty - well since I'm a fan of the DOA series and Ninja Gaiden Black - it's just fine for me. Team Ninja really did another great job! Everyone who bashes this title just hasn't understand the way this game is meant to be played - it's fast, it's thrilling, it's exciting, it's challenging and it looks still amazing. Sure - it offers no weapons, special moves like flying fireballs, bloody fatalities or a series of lighting effects every time you've been hit - if you're looking for such things - DOA4 won't be your game. But if there is anything serious I would complain about than it's only the amount of costumes you can unlock and the fact that there are only three TagTeam Stages. Still I give this game a 10 - since there is no better fighting game out there (until DOA5 will be released). Expand
  6. Max
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    This is my second favorite game from the Dead or Alive series. It's much faster than the older DOAs and there are many more moves and new characters. Every match on Xbox Live is different. It looks really detailed and sharp and the moves are fun to watch. The only thing DOA Ultimate had that DOA4 lacked was the wide variety of costumes. I also don't like how the four ninjaThis is my second favorite game from the Dead or Alive series. It's much faster than the older DOAs and there are many more moves and new characters. Every match on Xbox Live is different. It looks really detailed and sharp and the moves are fun to watch. The only thing DOA Ultimate had that DOA4 lacked was the wide variety of costumes. I also don't like how the four ninja characters are overpowered and everyone uses them online. Expand
  7. leonbayman
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    the only people that think this is a bad game are those who suck at it and get their ass kicked every time because they dont understand the gameplay.
    this is not tekken
    you have to understand the importance of countering and high counter throws, if you dont get it and get fooled and always counter middle punch ofter every hit, you get your ass kicked this game is all about dirty
    the only people that think this is a bad game are those who suck at it and get their ass kicked every time because they dont understand the gameplay.
    this is not tekken
    you have to understand the importance of countering and high counter throws,
    if you dont get it and get fooled and always counter middle punch ofter every hit, you get your ass kicked
    this game is all about dirty tricks and tactics. if you suck at the game then you hate the game,
    Expand
  8. kyuudmc
    Dec 18, 2008
    8
    Don't expect it's anywhere near a Tekken ... but this is solid well balanced fighting game with amazing graphics and hotter babes XD don't miss this if you have an Xbox 360 ... oops! now I remember! the 360 D-pad is too bad sooo ... you have to spend an Xtra 60 bucks >_> I wouldn't do that.
  9. MathewB.
    Dec 26, 2005
    10
    Wow this is the best game in the world in all the fighting games i have layed this is the best of all of them this game was the only reson i got an xbox360 it was only because of this game and im so happy cause it was worth it but this game is still the coolest game ever.
  10. EugeneD.
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    I don't think i have ever played a game so captivating both graphics wise and through its story. this is by far a must own for anyone who has an xbox360 and is manditory for ongoing Dead or Alive fans... you will be pleased.
  11. DerekB.
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    Great game, outstanding graphics and addictive gameplay. Great job Team Ninja!
  12. NicholasS.
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    Despite waiting and waiting for this game to be released. It is very good. I own an hdtv widescreen. The graphics are very crisp. The sound is nice as well. The gameplay is perfect. Well excuted game.
  13. LanceM.
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    Incredibly cool backgrounds, and the return of hilarious cutscenes when you complete a characters story. Fun Fun!
  14. AndrewD.
    Dec 31, 2005
    9
    I've only played this game for about two hours, but I can assure you it's the best game I've played on the X-Box 360 yet. It's not exactly an evolution for the series, but the updates do really make for a new experiance. My only gripe is that it's not as pretty on a standard television.
  15. SadatK.
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    Jay doesn't know what he's talking about. The game is actually a lot deeper. Ever heard of counters? Graphics are gorgeous, especially with HDTV. Gameplay has been improved leaps and bounds over previous DOAs. And the online mode will keep you coming back for more. Great game that really shows what the 360 is capable of doing, both now and in the future.
  16. LouC.
    Jan 13, 2006
    10
    theres a reason why this game recieves ONLY amazing reviews. its an amazing game thats why. Ignore the haters.
  17. JoshW.
    Jan 16, 2006
    10
    Give it a chance, it just gets better every time you play it!
  18. JoeyD.
    Jan 17, 2006
    9
    It's the fastest and best looking fighter out there. The counter system adds so much depth, and the stages and characters are great. Plus the online mode means nearly infinite replay value. Don't listen to the haters who resent DOA (and proabably haven't even played this game). It may use sex to sell, but it has a deep, engaging combat system to back it up.
  19. LeroyR.
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    This is the greatest fighting game I have ever played this is a must have is you have the 360 that edge magazine, well thier idiots if i ever got a job in one oof those magazines I would show them a thing or two this game is spectacular just look at all the other reviews.
  20. JustinK.
    Jan 21, 2006
    9
    Well, Goss, maybe you should play the game before you give it a really bad review. Lets go over the facts: the dea dor alive fighting mechanics have always been better than tekkens, and soul calibur has gone to S***, soul calibur 3 was a pretty big disappointment. So i believe that makes dead or alive 4 fighting game of the year.
  21. NickV.
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    DOA haters are all ridiculous. This game is pure fun from the instant you pick it up and is still a challenge weeks, months, and possibily years later. In other words, the game is deceptively deep in the long run, but simple enough for any fighting game noob to pick up and enjoy instantly. The bouncing breasts are amusing, but I assure you that the media pays WAAAAAYYY too much attention DOA haters are all ridiculous. This game is pure fun from the instant you pick it up and is still a challenge weeks, months, and possibily years later. In other words, the game is deceptively deep in the long run, but simple enough for any fighting game noob to pick up and enjoy instantly. The bouncing breasts are amusing, but I assure you that the media pays WAAAAAYYY too much attention to this aspect and turns off many of the people you see posting negative comments about this game which they probably haven't even played. This is the 360's must-own title. Anyone who says otherwise is likely a troll or a Sony fanboy....or both. Expand
  22. ChrisL.
    Feb 15, 2006
    9
    This game is god aweful IF you do not spend time learning how to play. This is the most frustrating game I have ever played. It pissed me off to no other until i slowly learned how to play. Once i learned basic counter moves and blocking tequniques (as long with a few combos) the game became extremely fun very quickly. If you're looking for a challenge, pick this up. If you are not This game is god aweful IF you do not spend time learning how to play. This is the most frustrating game I have ever played. It pissed me off to no other until i slowly learned how to play. Once i learned basic counter moves and blocking tequniques (as long with a few combos) the game became extremely fun very quickly. If you're looking for a challenge, pick this up. If you are not willing to learn a very complex game DO NOT PLAY THIS. If you are willing to learn, this game will be at the top of your list. Expand
  23. AlexL.
    Feb 21, 2006
    10
    One of the best and most engaging fighters I've played to date. All of the negative reviews here clearly evince zero effort spent on learning the game by the reviewers - picking up a controller and mashing buttons hoping to win in DOA4 as you can in other games will work exactly 0% of the time. Taking a few minutes in exercise mode with some characters will give you a basic handle on One of the best and most engaging fighters I've played to date. All of the negative reviews here clearly evince zero effort spent on learning the game by the reviewers - picking up a controller and mashing buttons hoping to win in DOA4 as you can in other games will work exactly 0% of the time. Taking a few minutes in exercise mode with some characters will give you a basic handle on the game, and if you persist a bit and get the hang of it it's a tremendous amount of fun. Expand
  24. SpencerH.
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    The best D.O.A. yet and a really well rounded fighting game for those of you who like to kick some butt.
  25. MiongJ.
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    This fighting game treads down all fighting games that came before it and hyped up (Tekken 5, Soul Calibur 3), the fighting system is overhauled and startegy is much more integrated to the game than before. The fact that this game is superbly executed on online play and the only 3D fighter with online play, how can you go wrong with playing from a stranger 10,000 miles away and smack talk This fighting game treads down all fighting games that came before it and hyped up (Tekken 5, Soul Calibur 3), the fighting system is overhauled and startegy is much more integrated to the game than before. The fact that this game is superbly executed on online play and the only 3D fighter with online play, how can you go wrong with playing from a stranger 10,000 miles away and smack talk while bashing his ego out? Excuse me fighting purist but DOA4 is way ahead in the 3D fighting genre. Those who do not like this game are either Sony fanboys or scrubby noobies or both. A must buy. Expand
  26. TuomoH.
    Jun 6, 2006
    9
    Amusing reading some of the hater comments. This game is deep. There is a deep stun system. There is a deep system FOR ESCAPING THE STUNS. There is a deep counter-hold system. But counter-smashers will be thrown. There is a deep grap/throw system. Throws can be escaped or countered with a different type of hold. There is a deep launching/juggling system. There is a deep combo system. Amusing reading some of the hater comments. This game is deep. There is a deep stun system. There is a deep system FOR ESCAPING THE STUNS. There is a deep counter-hold system. But counter-smashers will be thrown. There is a deep grap/throw system. Throws can be escaped or countered with a different type of hold. There is a deep launching/juggling system. There is a deep combo system. Combos can be cancelled. Finishing the combos can be punished with blocking/dodging/countering. There is a deep movement/dashing system. There is a deep ground game/getting up game. Expand
  27. Bass
    Jun 21, 2006
    9
    This is by far the best installment in the DOA series to date. Every aspect of the game has been developed and fine tuned in order to create a pure and sophisticated fighting experience. The counter system has been revised heavily allowing for more strategic battles, and the difficulty level has been raised dramatically. Although frustrating at first, DOA4 is an incredibly engaging title This is by far the best installment in the DOA series to date. Every aspect of the game has been developed and fine tuned in order to create a pure and sophisticated fighting experience. The counter system has been revised heavily allowing for more strategic battles, and the difficulty level has been raised dramatically. Although frustrating at first, DOA4 is an incredibly engaging title that rewards the players hard work and effort, and after a few hours of play and practice combat becomes intuitive and satisfying. Online play is where the game shines and Team Ninja have really set the bar for how online multiplayer in beat 'em ups should be done. It goes without saying that this game is gorgeous to look at and really showcases what the 360 can do. Overall this is one of the best fighting games on the market today and comes very close to matching the brilliance of the Virtua Fighter series. Expand
  28. KevinW.
    Sep 4, 2006
    9
    I'm honestly not a huge fan of fighting games. I'm usually pretty bad at them. That said, DOA4 is an awesome game. It's the first one I bought with my 360 and let me tell you, the reader who said that these graphics could have been "easily done on previous generation systems" needs to get an HD TV and see this thing in its full glory. The graphics, level and character I'm honestly not a huge fan of fighting games. I'm usually pretty bad at them. That said, DOA4 is an awesome game. It's the first one I bought with my 360 and let me tell you, the reader who said that these graphics could have been "easily done on previous generation systems" needs to get an HD TV and see this thing in its full glory. The graphics, level and character detain in HD are absolutely amazing. If Spartan looks as good in Halo3 as it did in DOA4 I will crap my pants. Yes, the AI is pretty hard and can be frustrating, but that is how they get you to practice offline! If you could plow through offline mode so easily there wouldn't be much depth to the game at all. I'm not too good at fighting games but with some persistance I was able to beat the story mode with every character and unlock the Spartan. I can also tell you that the game fighting is deeply layered. In summary: Awesome graphics, good sound, mediocre story, great gameplay. Expand
  29. ACE5
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    You gotta give it to Team Ninja, when they create a game, they do it right! In a gaming world where developers create gamesthat are easy to beat, (because most gamers hate a real challenge) DOA4 is willing to push gamers to work harder for a victory. Most gamers are used to games that give you a special power that you can rely on, to dominate the game and just give the game away so the You gotta give it to Team Ninja, when they create a game, they do it right! In a gaming world where developers create gamesthat are easy to beat, (because most gamers hate a real challenge) DOA4 is willing to push gamers to work harder for a victory. Most gamers are used to games that give you a special power that you can rely on, to dominate the game and just give the game away so the player can feel a sense of false accomplishment. When in the real world no one just gives things away that easily. " You gotta work for it". And thats what the DOA series has tried to teach. I had fun with this game from beginning to end, and can honestly say it "IS" the greatest fighting game ever created at this time. Expand
  30. Llost
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    I've had the game for nearly 2 years, it's awesome. It's got the fastest and most fluid combat of any fighting game, a great counter system, varied fighting styles, plenty of playable modes, online play (a little laggy at times though) and great graphics. I can't even stress how beautifully designed this game is. Does have some cons ofcourse, AI can be very difficult I've had the game for nearly 2 years, it's awesome. It's got the fastest and most fluid combat of any fighting game, a great counter system, varied fighting styles, plenty of playable modes, online play (a little laggy at times though) and great graphics. I can't even stress how beautifully designed this game is. Does have some cons ofcourse, AI can be very difficult (a pro if you like a challenge though), online is laggy and the endings can be a little underwhelming. Expand
  31. Apr 5, 2011
    9
    6 Word Review from Familiar Fan: Raises the bar for DOA fans. If you're a DOA fan returning to DOA, many aspects will be familiar to you. Attacks, grabs, and holds have all carried over from the other DOA games; and you will be familiar with those mechanics. Most of your combos you used from the previous DOA game should carry over to DOA 4, but that isn't a guarantee. However, there are6 Word Review from Familiar Fan: Raises the bar for DOA fans. If you're a DOA fan returning to DOA, many aspects will be familiar to you. Attacks, grabs, and holds have all carried over from the other DOA games; and you will be familiar with those mechanics. Most of your combos you used from the previous DOA game should carry over to DOA 4, but that isn't a guarantee. However, there are some new additions. Beside new characters, some characters not returning, and new/modified move lists there are bigger additions. Some sort of "rebound" mechanic as been added to combat, most characters have a "sub-stance" in their move list and the final boss might seem cheap when compared to DOA 3 or even DOA 2 boss. IF you're new to the DOA series, the game mechanics aren't impossible to learn in DOA 4, but WITHOUT an EASY mode and practicing only on AI will cause learning game mechanics to be challenging, but not impossible. If you have a buddy with DOA 4, 3 or even DOA 2 Ultimate play Versus with their copy and see if you can pick up the game mechanics from them. That way, they will pose a challenge yet can tone it down in difficulty when needed. If you didn't pick up game mechanics when versing with them, don't try the series. Expand
  32. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    This is my favorite fighting game of all time. I was there when Team Ninja released Dead or Alive 3 on the original Xbox at launch, and I played it everyday. The incredible countering system got me to play more and more just to master each characters movements and play-styles. Now, DOA4 rises to the challenge and delivers a crisp, fast paced fighter that is pretty much perfect. I have aThis is my favorite fighting game of all time. I was there when Team Ninja released Dead or Alive 3 on the original Xbox at launch, and I played it everyday. The incredible countering system got me to play more and more just to master each characters movements and play-styles. Now, DOA4 rises to the challenge and delivers a crisp, fast paced fighter that is pretty much perfect. I have a few gripes however that made me give it a 9/10. THERE AREN'T ENOUGH MODES. WE NEED MORE FIGHTERS. That's it. Otherwise, DOA4 is a very unique fighter that will keep fans happy and newcomers posted for more. Expand
  33. Sep 22, 2013
    8
    The first 7th generation fighting game, DOA4 is not only a very solid game in just the fighting mechanics, but also offers a complete package which even some fighting games lack today. The gameplay is very easy to pick up and understand without the need for a tutorial, yet it is difficult to master. The controls are excellent and combat not only looks cinematic but plays fast and fluentThe first 7th generation fighting game, DOA4 is not only a very solid game in just the fighting mechanics, but also offers a complete package which even some fighting games lack today. The gameplay is very easy to pick up and understand without the need for a tutorial, yet it is difficult to master. The controls are excellent and combat not only looks cinematic but plays fast and fluent too. In addition, stages are dynamic and serve as more than just a pretty background- they can be used against your opponents. There is very little stopping you from enjoying the game. Time attack, survival, versus, team battle, online, replay channel, an in-depth training mode as well as an amazing story (for a fighting game anyway) which is unique for each character make this easily one of the best fighting games around. You can play 1v1 or have 2v2, so if you prefer using just one character you can. By far the easiest fighting game to recommend for newcomers to the genre. Expand
  34. Jan 4, 2016
    8
    Initially i was gonna give this game a 4 cause of the very extremely cheap AI,but figured out the reason they counter your attacks is cause i use the same moves.They made the game challenging so that you can become a better fighter which i guess is a good thing,practicing how to counter your opponents attacks is key to winning a match,the graphics are stunning and the music depends on theInitially i was gonna give this game a 4 cause of the very extremely cheap AI,but figured out the reason they counter your attacks is cause i use the same moves.They made the game challenging so that you can become a better fighter which i guess is a good thing,practicing how to counter your opponents attacks is key to winning a match,the graphics are stunning and the music depends on the stage you play,voices are in japanese but i guess that didn't bothered me.Its very challenging game but if you give it a chance you'll see that challenge is quite the opposite of frustrating. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. 100
    If looks could kill, DOA4 would be called Murderer's Row. This game is beautiful; even while you're beating the tar out of your opponent, you'll notice that your surroundings are among the finest you've seen in any fighting game... Hands down the best installment in the series. [Jan 2006, p.38]
  2. 90
    The counter system is less forgiving and will definitely challenge fans of the series, especially those fond of DOA3. This affects every other area of the game. The harder characters to master are even more powerful now, and there is more of a ground game, in addition to careful use of the backgrounds.
  3. 90
    It's still "just" a fighting game, albeit an incredibly polished and finessed fighting game, but it won't open your eyes to things you've never seen before. It will bring the fighting game community together, however, thanks to its online functionality, and that's a good thing.