Dead or Alive 4 Xbox 360

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Dead or Alive 4 Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 217 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Taking advantage of the superior technology of the new Xbox 360, Dead or Alive 4 raises the bar in both online and offline fighting. By utilizing the advanced technology of the new Xbox 360 hardware, Dead or Alive 4 redefines 3-D high definition graphics and sound, creating the most visuallyTaking advantage of the superior technology of the new Xbox 360, Dead or Alive 4 raises the bar in both online and offline fighting. By utilizing the advanced technology of the new Xbox 360 hardware, Dead or Alive 4 redefines 3-D high definition graphics and sound, creating the most visually beautiful and realistic looking video game to date. Unsurpassed online capabilities via Xbox Live, new interactive stages, an all star line-up of old and new favorite characters, and the most complex DOA countering system yet. [Tecmo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. 100
    If looks could kill, DOA4 would be called Murderer's Row. This game is beautiful; even while you're beating the tar out of your opponent, you'll notice that your surroundings are among the finest you've seen in any fighting game... Hands down the best installment in the series. [Jan 2006, p.38]
  2. So, Dead or Alive 4 has it all: sexy looks, sexy women, sexy sound, sexy gameplay, sexy online play, sexy... you get the picture.
  3. Most definitely a game that carries the "easy to play, difficult to master" label, but is well worth mastering in the long run.
  4. Dead or Alive games used to be all about huge, bouncing breasts and overly simplistic, easy to pick up gameplay. No longer. DOA shall henceforth be known for huge, bounding breasts and a refined and deep fighting system.
  5. 85
    The legs are long, the sex is gratuitous, and the violence is very, very violent. DOA 4 is definitely firing on all pistons. Still, for a series with the word "alive" on the box cover, these characters all seem kind of plastic, hollow, heartless, and downright bloodless.
  6. The disturbing difference is the 360’s much-vaunted graphics. Hair tosses silkily; veins stand out muscularly; bosoms jounce, waft and settle gravity-defyingly.
  7. If you're planning on playing the single-player much, it's an abomination, and you shouldn't touch it with a bargepole; and on Xbox Live, it's simply so flawed as to be unplayable in anything other than a basic 1v1 lobby, which arguably makes it into a pretty poor investment unless you have a friends list teeming with people who want to play.

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 57
  2. Negative: 12 out of 57
  1. NicholasS.
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    Despite waiting and waiting for this game to be released. It is very good. I own an hdtv widescreen. The graphics are very crisp. The sound Despite waiting and waiting for this game to be released. It is very good. I own an hdtv widescreen. The graphics are very crisp. The sound is nice as well. The gameplay is perfect. Well excuted game. Expand
  2. AlexL.
    Feb 21, 2006
    10
    One of the best and most engaging fighters I've played to date. All of the negative reviews here clearly evince zero effort spent on One of the best and most engaging fighters I've played to date. All of the negative reviews here clearly evince zero effort spent on learning the game by the reviewers - picking up a controller and mashing buttons hoping to win in DOA4 as you can in other games will work exactly 0% of the time. Taking a few minutes in exercise mode with some characters will give you a basic handle on the game, and if you persist a bit and get the hang of it it's a tremendous amount of fun. Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    Wow, really surprise, this version of Dead or Alive is the better, the graphics are incredible, the story, the characters, all in DOA 4 isWow, really surprise, this version of Dead or Alive is the better, the graphics are incredible, the story, the characters, all in DOA 4 is fantastic. And the online is really amazing. I love it. Expand
  4. JoeyD.
    Jan 17, 2006
    9
    It's the fastest and best looking fighter out there. The counter system adds so much depth, and the stages and characters are great. It's the fastest and best looking fighter out there. The counter system adds so much depth, and the stages and characters are great. Plus the online mode means nearly infinite replay value. Don't listen to the haters who resent DOA (and proabably haven't even played this game). It may use sex to sell, but it has a deep, engaging combat system to back it up. Expand
  5. WyattG
    Oct 28, 2007
    7
    This game came with my 360 as part of a package deal, and under normal circumstances it is not the type of game I would buy. So what's toThis game came with my 360 as part of a package deal, and under normal circumstances it is not the type of game I would buy. So what's to like about the game ? The fighting is intense, the number of moves each fighter can do is incredible, the sound is great, the graphics are top notch, and the huge variety of modes you can play in is a real credit to the developers....so why 7 out of 10 ?...Well to be really good at the game you have to be able to remember not only a large number of different moves that each fighter can do, but also the ridiculously long button combinations that are required to pull off some of the moves. I have enough trouble remembering the password at my local video store let alone having to remember the correct sequence of 10 buttons to pull off a special kick or punch ! Of course you can just mindlessly bash buttons and that will get the job done in many cases, but in story mode you will really need to learn some special moves if you are to beat every fighter. I will admit though, when you beat a fighter that you have lost 20 times in a row to you can't but help to yell out in delight (that's if you haven't thrown the controller through the tv or had to put it down because the blisters on your hands are starting to really hurt). To me the real value of this game has been when I have had people over and you can play 2 player versus mode. The fact that it is easy to play and the matches are quick, means that in a group of people you can share the controllers around which makes everyone feel involved. Expand
  6. Brandon
    Jan 9, 2006
    5
    Game looks amazing , plays well against friends , but the single palyer modes are just terrible . blocking system is garbage and so is the Game looks amazing , plays well against friends , but the single palyer modes are just terrible . blocking system is garbage and so is the counter system against the computer . Expand
  7. BobX
    Dec 14, 2005
    0
    Basing my review of the glitchbox 360 title: dead or alive 4 off of the same technique gamepro did for their 100. I'm not playing theBasing my review of the glitchbox 360 title: dead or alive 4 off of the same technique gamepro did for their 100. I'm not playing the game and making it up(the game isn't finished and has been delayed 3 times now since gamepro put together their review). Looks like microsoft does't mind buying their reviews... Expand

See all 57 User Reviews