• Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Nov 13, 2006
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 13 out of 36

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JackH.
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    Lacks gameplay but the women are the gorgeous and make it worth the buy.
  2. May 5, 2012
    5
    as a volley ball game the originl DOAX was pretty good and all the collecting of the swim suites gave you some bonus stuff to do now in DOAX2 the volley ball has gone to crap compared to the first . just way to much goofy stuff happens like going for a set and having the ball just roll down the front of your face , or the ball just bounce right off you and out of bounds when you go to bumpas a volley ball game the originl DOAX was pretty good and all the collecting of the swim suites gave you some bonus stuff to do now in DOAX2 the volley ball has gone to crap compared to the first . just way to much goofy stuff happens like going for a set and having the ball just roll down the front of your face , or the ball just bounce right off you and out of bounds when you go to bump it , or when you go to set or bump it or spike it and nothing happens your charicter just stands there or just runs off in some weird way. now it would be one thing if this happend rarely but it happens ALL THE TIME even to the AI team . then there is the jet ski racing which is ok except when you bump in to some thing which sends you flying all over the damn place also a track selection would have been nice. there is also flag chasing and butt bumping which is just dumb i did find the water slide thing kind of fun . pool hoping is also back but to me it doest work as well as it did in the first and its still boring as hell. Team ninja couldnt come up with better mini games then this? hell there exploiting the DOA girls might as well go for broke and do a wet T-shirt contest , strip Beer Pong , and mud wrestling for mini games. the graphics are ok the girls still lack any real graphical detail and there hair still looks awful. Expand
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    0
    The volleyball aspect, which is the reason I loved the first game has been retooled to be unplayable. In the first game, the characters would position themselves under the ball since there is very little indication of where the ball actually is in respect to where your character is. This makes each game feel like a real volleyball game where the strategy is about setting up a good kill.The volleyball aspect, which is the reason I loved the first game has been retooled to be unplayable. In the first game, the characters would position themselves under the ball since there is very little indication of where the ball actually is in respect to where your character is. This makes each game feel like a real volleyball game where the strategy is about setting up a good kill. Now, the characters don't automatically position themselves near the ball which leads to nothing but frustration. The extra features such as jet skiing do nothing to cover up the fact that the MAIN selling point of the gameplay, the volleyball, has been ruined. This not only leaves the game with no replay value, it also leaves it with no PLAY value. Virgins will love this game because of the girls in swimsuits. Gamers will hate this game because of the weak attempt to use sex appeal in order to sell this hollow drek as a worthy purchase. Fans of the first DOA Xtreme will absolutely despise this game's very existence due to the original fun factor being stripped away. The only good thing this game has going for it? It killed DOA Xtreme as a franchise. Expand
  4. JaceN.
    Dec 13, 2006
    4
    More of a minor update than a sequel! I must not be Japanese enough but I found just about all the games frustrating and far too "Instafail" for even my admittedly fast reflexes. Far from being aroused by these virtual women I experienced shrinkage I was so mad that my girl apparently cant sense im pressing my controller buttons! And if Team Ninja think im going to waste precious time More of a minor update than a sequel! I must not be Japanese enough but I found just about all the games frustrating and far too "Instafail" for even my admittedly fast reflexes. Far from being aroused by these virtual women I experienced shrinkage I was so mad that my girl apparently cant sense im pressing my controller buttons! And if Team Ninja think im going to waste precious time buying a million dollar scandalous brazillian sling only to have my girl model it for ten seconds while I fumble with a weird camera system...theyre nuts! Whats with all the daggy 1960's and 1970's swimwear anyway? It may excite some but all I see is the kind of thing my mother wore in old photos of the period! Expand
  5. MarcusNestor
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    'Dead or Alive: Xtreme 2' features all your favourite DOA girls, scantily clad and ready to battle it out in the tropical waters of Zack's Island. Race high performance personal watercrafts, compete in assorted and alluring activities, sunbathe on white sand beaches, and go all-in at Zack's Casino. Choose your own adventure on Zack's Island and play at your own'Dead or Alive: Xtreme 2' features all your favourite DOA girls, scantily clad and ready to battle it out in the tropical waters of Zack's Island. Race high performance personal watercrafts, compete in assorted and alluring activities, sunbathe on white sand beaches, and go all-in at Zack's Casino. Choose your own adventure on Zack's Island and play at your own leisure in this non-linear, incredibly beautiful, sequel of life in paradise.
    Features
    An Island of Adventure Awaits: Zack's Island boasts a plethora of activities including:
    - Personal Water Craft (PWC) Races: Race around Zack's Island for the best times or compete against others on your high performance PWC.
    - Beach Volleyball: Dig in and battle it out against your opponents in the sand as you revisit this retooled volleyball favourite.
    - Water Slider: Grab your tube and hang on tight as you careen down this wild water slide.
    - Rope Pulling: Create a splash as you balance precariously on a floating platform in the pool while playing tug-of-war with your opponent.
    - Hip Wrestling: Face back-to-back and cheek-to-cheek with your opponent as you attempt to bump each other off of the platform and into the pool using only your hips.
    - Hopping Game: Return to the pool in this Xtreme favourite as you nimbly hop from one end of the pool to the other across the wobbly, floating platforms.
    - Beach Flag: Race your opponent across the white sand beaches and be the first to capture the flag.
    - Zack's Casino: Don your evening attire and revisit Zack's Casino which now features even more games.
    Numerous Swimsuits and Accessories: Deck out the DOA girls in an abundance of all new swimsuits and accessories. Collect all the swimsuits and items to fully customize your island experience.
    Breathtakingly Beautiful Graphics: Team Ninja has once again set the standard for beautifully rendered graphics in this sequel, showcasing the power and potential of the Xbox 360.
    Online Play: Compete on Xbox Live in some hardcore versus action! It just wouldn't be DOA if you couldn't play with each other!
    liefang kick ass!!!!
    Expand
  6. JoeT.
    May 29, 2007
    9
    This game may not be the best to play but the reason this game gets a nine is for the obvious reason. the certain AREA :) on the charachter makes the game quite enjoyable but for all you weirdos just remember they are NOT real.
  7. [anonymous]
    Jan 18, 2010
    7
    Let me get this out of the way: the character animations and the effect the physics engine has on theme are just great, which is the only reason everyone bought this. The gameplay is horrible, though. It never explains what your objectives are, or what uses miscelaniouse items have. One good thing I have to say concerning the presentation is that the instruction mannuel is nice, colorful, Let me get this out of the way: the character animations and the effect the physics engine has on theme are just great, which is the only reason everyone bought this. The gameplay is horrible, though. It never explains what your objectives are, or what uses miscelaniouse items have. One good thing I have to say concerning the presentation is that the instruction mannuel is nice, colorful, and thick with fiftey pages. The graphics are okay, but the sound is the worst I've ever heard in a video game. Seriously, I have more than a hundred, and I can say without heasitating that this game has the most annoying music and voices ever. The vioces are overly high pitched and make the girls sound like bimbos, which is a huge turn off. Thankfully there is an option to turn to Japanise voices with English subtitles so at least I have no idea if the voices are good or not in that laguage. Also, go look up the soundtrack. Who listens to that noise? Not me, not you, NOBODY!! It's the kind of stuff a twelve year old girl would listen to, and I don't think that this game is supposed to appeal to that demographic. In the end I actually muted my tv. The gameplay is the biggest turn off. The minigames and volleyball are mindless and overly simple. At the begining of the game you are given a partner, and after you are done with a bunch of unskippable text box dialogues, you'll be bored with it, and to make matters worse, she leaves in a matter of days. You can not play volleyball (which isn't even in the game's title anymore) without a partner. That is when the game forces you to partner up with some girls by constantly giving them gifts. This is the part that I really hate because they're all major b------. Here I am giving them fiftey thousand dollar pizzas and toaster ovens, and they either reject it or send it back without any appreciation. Speaking of which, what's with having billions of dollars and all the items costing that much. Those are some big numbers! What is this, Disgaea? And they NEVER accept! What else are they gonna do all day? One more thing is that you cant change characters. If you think that you may have picked the wrong one, well you're stuck with her. I don't know if you're allowed to change characters in a later period in the game. The camera mode controles are so akward, and you cant change them! There LEFT stick controles your vision, and the RIGHT stick controles your movement. WHY?! Why change what everyone's used to? If your character moves suddenly, I jerk the right stick by instinct, but I end up looking somewhere else because I panned the entire camera position instead of changing the angle. Also, it's kind of creepy how they call your photo album "preciouse memories." The game feels like it's avoiding the reason why gamers bought this. I didn't buy this game to grind through minigames and give presents to people who reject them the every time. If I bought this game for full price I would hate it, and I just finished ripping the daylights out of it, but I didn't buy it for $60, I bought it used in perfect condition for $10, so it's worth its price and a semi-high score for it. If your buying it for anything higher, than you're getting ripped off. Not that anything I say would matter, EVERYONE'S going to get this game for the sake of curiosity, but just be warned. Expand
  8. Cyk0h
    Dec 6, 2006
    8
    I good deal more prurient than the first edition, DoAX2 delivers on many of the promises envisioned for DoAXBV. For fans of the first, of the DoA series, or of scantily-clad beauties, it is a recommended buy. Detracting from full score are many shortcomings which have been covered elsewhere, such as highly unrealistic breast physics, difficulty of most of the mini-games, and attention to I good deal more prurient than the first edition, DoAX2 delivers on many of the promises envisioned for DoAXBV. For fans of the first, of the DoA series, or of scantily-clad beauties, it is a recommended buy. Detracting from full score are many shortcomings which have been covered elsewhere, such as highly unrealistic breast physics, difficulty of most of the mini-games, and attention to detail in some scenes. To me, it seems a bit rushed compared to the first. While it is a beautifully rendered game, it is highly frustrating at times. And if you are expecting to boost your gamer score on XBox Live, look elsewhere! The achievements here are NOT for the faint of heart. Expand
  9. CoryD
    Dec 27, 2007
    6
    I bought it for the bewbs, and that it has.. in spades.. :D ..But for actually long-term gameplay it's not exactly a classic.. can't remmeber the last time I played this one.
  10. christinat
    Dec 30, 2008
    3
    First off, I'm a girl. A straight girl. This game doesn't have much more to it than practical pornography. It is insulting to women. Any girl that sees this game would probably get pretty pissed off. It doesn't even have a purpose. What, does everyone in the world find it enjoyable to see unrealistic girls with huge boobs walk around an island and jiggle at them? I got this First off, I'm a girl. A straight girl. This game doesn't have much more to it than practical pornography. It is insulting to women. Any girl that sees this game would probably get pretty pissed off. It doesn't even have a purpose. What, does everyone in the world find it enjoyable to see unrealistic girls with huge boobs walk around an island and jiggle at them? I got this game hoping for some fun mini games, but all I got was a bunch of wannabe sluts. Even my boyfriend gets annoyed at their jiggling boobs. But I just don't see a point in the game. Expand
  11. MattB
    Jun 21, 2008
    1
    One of two games I've ever returned. At a time when I was into achievements even, I still could not play this horrible, horrible game. Thought at least the volleyball or wave racing would be fun. Think again and think hard before purchasing or renting ... or accepting it as a gift.
  12. ACE5
    Nov 14, 2006
    9
    I liked the last one and I like this one. I believe people review this game poorly because they don't know how to review it. This game was never meant to be judged like other games. This game is about a stress free gaming environment, where you can play the game without worrying too much about anything. Which is why it is considered a vacation game. If you are looking for something I liked the last one and I like this one. I believe people review this game poorly because they don't know how to review it. This game was never meant to be judged like other games. This game is about a stress free gaming environment, where you can play the game without worrying too much about anything. Which is why it is considered a vacation game. If you are looking for something for you to get hooked on, and loose sleep over, then you would dislike this game. But if you want a game that has your favorite characters, in a place that you wouldn't mind taking a trip to, with some cool mini-games, then this game is for you. People who review games shouldn't take things so seriously, and try to judge something based on what's expected, and just judge it for what it's meant to be. I did, which is why I gave it a 9. Expand
  13. Nov 6, 2011
    4
    All i have to say is, why did i waste $5 on this game? Jesus. it's so boring. At least the girls are hot, but aside from that, there's just not enough content to warrant a purchase for even $5. Avoid.
  14. Mar 8, 2013
    2
    Except for the women and the graphics, this game has nothing to offer.
  15. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    What you have here ladies and gentlemen is video game perfection here I mean 10 outta 10. I mean the concept is just amazing This should go down as the best game of all time. It's all about the art for me, one of my all time favorites. Be sure to pick it up, it is a major recommendation and you will not regret when you consider the very cheap price. It has everything you want in a videoWhat you have here ladies and gentlemen is video game perfection here I mean 10 outta 10. I mean the concept is just amazing This should go down as the best game of all time. It's all about the art for me, one of my all time favorites. Be sure to pick it up, it is a major recommendation and you will not regret when you consider the very cheap price. It has everything you want in a video game beautiful environments and landscapes, solid gameplay and incredible athletes. This is one hell of a sequel now we just have to wait for the third game which I am happy to say should be released this year. In summary and in all serious this game is alot more fun than most of you think it lacks a story really but did it really need one not really, it is a really cheap game easy to find if you look in the right places and so much fun plus the soundtrack overall is also good featuring artists such as Inner Circle, Baha Men, Big Mountain, Janet Kay and even Bob Marley so you will be greeted to some very relaxing music whilst you play through some of the various mini games. When it comes to the mini games most are good the only one I did not like was flag race but it does not hurt the game in anyway, I really enjoyed pool jump and tug of war. There are also various casino games that you can play and all work well. This is not a game for everyone, the serious gamer would not take one look at it but if you are a very casual gamer such as myself you will pretty much play anything if you look at my other reviews you see they are all 10/10 and that is because I dont nit pick everything I just get down to the enjoyment factor and the factor is high for this game so take the time to check it out you wont regret it. Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 46
  2. Negative: 20 out of 46
  1. A nice game to look at in areas, but not overly fun to play. Dead or Alive Xtreme 2 is worth a rent to see what Team Ninja can do in the high-def age, but I won't be adding this one to my collection.
  2. 40
    Dead or Alive: Xtreme 2 is what happens when you tinker too much with a perfect formula -- and not in the name of improvement. This is the Dead or Alive that, quite frankly, critics of Team Ninja have been hoping for -- a soulless, poorly executed title slathered in truly shameless fan service that not even those who would use it for dirty deeds could force themselves to sit through. It's as ridiculous as the individual breast physics that it entails.
  3. 64
    Although the visuals are nice and there isn't a better game out there for ogling digital women, the new mini-games are a poor excuse for added gameplay and too much of the first game was recycled.