• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Dec 27, 2010
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Jan 10, 2011
    70
    The hack and slash excellence of Dead Rising 2 returns with the added flavor of photography. It is a win/win situation.
  2. Jan 10, 2011
    70
    There's a moderately satisfying amount of entertainment to be found in Dead Rising 2: Case West, but the $10 cost seems high for the 2.5 hour play time.
  3. 70
    Case West picks up right where Dead Rising 2 left off, with Frank West making a comeback from the first game in the series. You can immediately tell that the game is built for co-op, and is a blast with a friend over Xbox Live. Playing on your own is a different story, as the AI controlled Frank is so efficient at killing zombies that you often feel like a useless hang-around. Still, if you liked Dead Rising 2, you will like this as well.
  4. Jan 6, 2011
    70
    Case West is not as good as Case Zero. It costs twice as much as its predecessor and the changes it has undergone don't go along with the series' roots, even though it's still a great pleasure to slaughter hundreds of zombies. If you've enjoyed Case Zero and Dead Rising 2, you will also enjoy Case West. Just not as much.
  5. 70
    Another excellent download that's arguably more entertaining than the main game, with an improved co-op mode and a more focused adventure.
  6. Jan 4, 2011
    70
    Not as good as Capcom promised, as Case Zero was much better, but you'll have to pay for it if you want to enjoy the true ending for Dead Rising 2.
  7. Jan 4, 2011
    70
    This is a must-buy for series followers, but for no one else. It's a really short game, although faithful to Dead Rising 2, but we miss any new feature to justify shipping it separately, and also more options in the cooperative mode, its main new feature.
  8. Jan 4, 2011
    70
    A lack of core changes means this loses some of Dead Rising's novel excitement, but there is still plenty of zombie-smashing fun to be had in this downloadable offering.
  9. Dec 27, 2010
    70
    For Dead Rising's last chapter we would have expected a higher challenge level, however this problem doesn't affect the basic gameplay completely, due to the good amount of new weapons that still brings a lot o fun.
  10. Jan 1, 2011
    67
    Dead Rising 2: Case West is a fun game, but the dull setting and lack of shopping makes this my least favorite installment yet.
  11. Jan 9, 2011
    65
    At any rate, Dead Rising 2: Case West should please gamers who haven't grown tired of Dead Rising 2's incessant zombie slaying. It's puzzling as to why Capcom feels this DLC is worth $10 when Case Zero was more fun (and half the price...), but fans of zombie games and Frank West will probably feel right at home here.
  12. Jan 5, 2011
    65
    As a standalone XBLA offering, Case West is technically a decent value, a bite-sized slice of Dead Rising 2 with online co-op, but the game it's wrapped around is nothing special.
  13. Jan 19, 2011
    64
    Case West will satisfy those who haven't sold their copy of Dead Rising 2, otherwise I would hold off until the next installment of zombie-bashing from Blue Castle.
  14. Jan 19, 2011
    60
    If you loved Dead Rising 2, then there's no reason you shouldn't continue the story with Case West. There are some disappointments, but it's good, gory, Dead Rising fun.
  15. Jan 4, 2011
    58
    This isn't a particularly inventive release, and while having Frank West is certainly cool; his presence alone isn't enough to atone for some of the flaws I have issues with. I was really hoping for a bit more here, but overall I feel kind of let down by what Case West has to offer.
  16. Jan 7, 2011
    50
    While there's still fun to be had in slicing, bludgeoning, and shooting zombies, the surrounding elements in Case West are far less conducive to amplifying it. Die-hard Dead Rising completionists need only apply.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 4 out of 34
  1. Jan 23, 2011
    9
    keeps the feel of Dead rising 2 and it feels great with co-op and great graphics one downside is that its too short then again lots ofkeeps the feel of Dead rising 2 and it feels great with co-op and great graphics one downside is that its too short then again lots of replayability with achevements Full Review »
  2. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    I have really be anticipating this game and my hopes were not shattered. Case West is a sequel to DR2 which tells the story of Frank West andI have really be anticipating this game and my hopes were not shattered. Case West is a sequel to DR2 which tells the story of Frank West and Chuck Greene. They rescue survivors, kill guards and ultimately, survive. The game ends with question marks all over your head. Is there going to be Dead Rising 3? Is the game canon? Let's wait and see. Full Review »
  3. Jan 16, 2013
    8
    Case Zero is short simple and fun. The new weapons are a joy, and the Camera fits right back in where it should be. My only problems are thatCase Zero is short simple and fun. The new weapons are a joy, and the Camera fits right back in where it should be. My only problems are that this game follows the second best ending(A) and not the True ending(S). If this is what is cannon then boy did they mess up there, but other then that gripe, this is an enjoyable zombie romp that does it's best to bring together the 2 games further. Full Review »