User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 168 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 168

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    I love this game. It is such a rewarding experience and you feel awesome when you accomplish anything. It's actually very addictive as well, I got it this morning but before I knew it, it was 12am. It's obviously been made for the fans of the original, so obviously if you didn't like the first you're not going to like this one. The side quests are alot tougher this time round, especially the psychopaths. You're going to have a big gun if you're at a lower level and you try and take them on. However, this does make it such a more rewarding experience and keeps the re-playability alive. The AI on the survivors alot better however and you won't find them always screaming for help after having stupidly run into a crowd of zombies. The story really drives you forward, storylines are very important to me in a game, which was why I originally liked the first game and this one is no different. Chuck makes me laugh alot, he's not trying to be funny AT ALL but his cool occasional one liners make me laugh out loud and the subtle rock music that played when he's being a badass is cool too. It's such a strange format, in a good way though, the combat and overall game-play is just comedy, but the storyline is very serious. From the outside this might seem weird, but it works really well. The multi-player made me laugh alot, its very funny, it's played out like a gameshow and the money you earn from winning can be spent in the single-player. I can immediately tell that I'll be playing this one for a while, with the addition of co-op and multiplayer the re-play value is just massive. Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2010
    4
    Dead Rising 2 suffers from a number of bad gameplay, and story design choices. The design choices for gameplay are archaic and confusing. When you level Chuck you are given no choice as to what abilities are upgraded in fact it is completely random. One of the more frustrating elements is the impossibly slow run speed Chuck starts with. Unless of course you are carrying someone or pushing a cart. Then you run like the wind. A sprint function of some kind would have been a much better choice. Co-op is marred by the inability to roam freely from your partner(in order to 'zone' from one area to the next you must be within 10 feet of the other player), the limitation of only 2 players, the always on friendly fire, and the poor netcode. In what seems to be a purely lazy decision BOTH players play as Chuck in co-op. The potential for griefing will keep the vast majority of players from playing co-op with anyone except friends. If at all. The story depicts 'Americans' largely as ignorant, selfish, greedy, moronic, and hungry for violence. The developers feelings on american politics is blatantly unfavorable. Chuck's only redeeming quality is that he loves his daughter. Capcom is known for thier borderline stereotyping/bigoted depictions of people and Dead Rising 2 is no exception. Unfortunately this game also suffers in many other areas as well. This is a rental at best. Expand
  3. JET
    Oct 2, 2010
    9
    Brilliant. Improves on the first one in every single way. A must buy. As other people have said it's a very rewarding game, and i'm already on my 3rd playthrough. If you don't get it you'll regret it
  4. Sep 29, 2010
    1
    There is an old saying at Capcom headquarters. "If it is broke, leave it alone and release a sequel!" Dead Rising 1 was a repetitive, timed escort mission. Back when it was released it got by because it featured tons of zombies and looked great on the brand new XBOX360. Now in 2010 all the things that were endearing about DR1 have become old hat. The graphics have no improved, load times are worse than before, there is still a timer, and you are leading hapless AI imbeciles on escort missions to safety. If you must play this game just wait a few weeks and pick it up in the bargain bin where it belongs. Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2010
    5
    Wow, Case Zero was way better. The time restraint is horrible. You can't do everything you want to do. I hate people telling me what i "have" to do. That is what work is for! Graphics are mediocre. The combo weapon system is fun. Case in point...this game gets old after awhile. All the bosses are insanely strong and unbearable to even want to beat. The fighting mechanics need to be way better for the boss fights, you feel like you are in slow motion as they are wailing on you. Kill zombies, mission, psychopath..repeat! That is the game in a nutshell. I feel like i got way more of my money's worth with the $5 dollar arcade prequel. Better luck next time, Chuck.


    P.S. - This is xbox 360 and PS3 era... no excuses for 30s to minute long load screens!
    Expand
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    4
    First of all, only buy this game if you have patience, lots and lots of patience. With an outdated graphics engine, glitchy animations and the worst save system I've ever seen in a game, it's only worth your time if you have the patience to the things like: Crossing the entire map just to rescue one survivor only to have it turn sides and shoot you to death, losing hours of gameplay due to a crappy save system and the list goes on. Furthermore, every single mission in Dead Rising 2 has a time limit, in a way that you can only complete a maximum of two assignments at a time- ultimately failing all other active objectives. This is a lame design choice since it tries to add seriousness to a game about killing hordes of zombies with a wheelchair in a casino while wearing nothing but underwear. Of course, the weapon combining system is fun and the options are huge-50 custom weapons in total- but Dead Rising 2 ultimately fails to deliver to everyone but the most hardcore of players, with absolutely nothing else to play, but since so many good games are out this fall... well, you get the wordplay ; ). Expand
  7. Oct 8, 2010
    5
    The gameplay's terrible. Drop of a 1ft ledge and your guy will delay on the ground for a second. Swing a weapon and your guy will delay for a second. Change clothes and your guy will delay for 5+ seconds. There's also friendly fire which makes fighting zombies with an NPC near impossible. The camera during strong attacks snaps away completely disorientating you.

    They should've made their
    animation system more fluid and responsive, but as is, it feels like a game from the 90's. It's clunky and horrible, and not worth full price.

    The only good thing is the combo weapons and the environmental graphics.
    Expand
  8. Oct 7, 2011
    6
    I just rented this game recently, and thought I was going to absolutely love it; killing zombies with improvised weapons sounds like a fantastic idea. The weapons are absolutely well executed too, they're entertaining and satisfying to use. The character customization is also pretty well executed in terms of outfit choices and such. With these 2 things done so well, I was really enjoying this game at first. The story is pretty negligible, but I had never expected it to be anything all that worthwhile. However, I felt that the plot was oddly serious for a game that lets you cross-dress while mowing down zombies with an electrified wheelchair.

    But then I found that the more I played, the less I was enjoying it. Instead of being able to see what I can do with customizing my character to make Chuck look as absurd as possible, I'm running all the way across the map to meet a time limit. Instead of being able to try out new weapon combinations, I'm babysitting survivors in yet another escort quest. Instead of spending most of my time slaying zombies, I'm spending it waiting at loading screens. And if all of these things were just confined to the campaign, but there was a sandbox mode, I would have zero complaints. But there is no sandbox mode. In a game where most of the fun to be had is in exploration and experimentation, you are absolutely discouraged from doing either. All that's preventing this game from being a 9/10 is the fact that the time limit isn't optional.
    Expand
  9. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    Sub-par graphics and long loading times aside, this game is amazing. Weapon combination, costume customization and exploration are all way too much fun. And while it sad that there's no real 'Free Mode', you'll find that you have plenty of time in-between story missions to muck around in Las Vegas.
  10. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Dead Rising 2 is an odd game to review. Going strictly on an objective, technical look, I'd give the game an 8/10. There are definitely elements that frustrate, chief among them being frequent load times, the lack of spoken dialogue (especially since what *is* there is so good), and the occasional difficultly spike. It's by no means perfect. However, there is something about it, something intangible, that makes me want to play it more than I want to play games that I'd give a 9 or 9.5 to. I guess it's just a pure sense of fun. DR2 is probably one of the most purely FUN games out there. There's something about it that just makes you want to keep playing late into the night. I won't go into too much depth, but here are some highlights: GOOD: 1. Concept. 2. Visuals (By which I mean styles, colors, general feel of the Vegas-like environment). 3. Voice Acting (Seriously, even though this is a silly game, the acting has more depth than any of the Resident Evil games, which were going for a serious tone). 4. Combo Weapons 5. Chuck Greene (What can I say, he's a total badass) 6. Humor 7. The Cast (especially the psychos) 8. So many secrets to be found. 9. Just. Plain. Fun. BAD: 1. Frequent Load Times 2. Visuals (By which I mean textures. I hate looking at people's hands in this game.) 3. Too little voice acting (so many survivors with interesting personalities are just text) 4. Difficulty spikes (You never know when a psycho is going to pop out and kick your ass) While all those negatives are legitimate complaints, ones which I think need to be smoothed out in future iterations of the series, the fact remains that the game is so fun that I end up not caring about the negatives. 100% recommended. Expand
  11. Nov 2, 2010
    0
    The year is 2010 and CAPCOM has just released a game with the same repetitive and tedious controls as it did in 2006. While in 2006 Dead Rising was a new take on the Zombie video game, Dead Rising 2 is a weak attempt at reproducing the greatness of DR... DR2 is fun for a time but it lacks significant innovation and the graphics are definitely outdated.
  12. Feb 9, 2011
    9
    love it! its more of the same, but its great and I enjoyed the deversion between more serious games. pretty easy to unlock the secret stuff and get the proper ending. it can be really hard at first, so if your not in the mood to replay this sucker 4-5 times, I would recommend looking up the word "wingman". very happy with this one, if you liked the first game, you will love this.
  13. Sep 10, 2011
    3
    Just awful! Feels incredibly lightweight and arcade-esque. Lacking in so many area, and one thing that epitomized this was when not in a cut-scene, conversations between characters feature only text and no sound. For a game released in 2010, this should be standard.

    I would call this game lazy, mindless and unplayable. An absolute waste of my money.
  14. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    This is my favorite xbox game... EVER. If you are a creative person, then you will love this game. And I've got to be honest, I didn't really like the first dead rising too much. I thought the concept was amazing. But, they needed touch ups on a lot of things. And everything that was bad about the first game is fixed in the second. The psychopaths are much more fun to fight, survivors aren't stupid and you don't have to babysit them when escorting them. And you can't forget the storyline. Its amazing. I havent even beaten the story mode yet because about 1/4 of the way through i decided that I should just restart my game and level up. So I did. And I had so much fun I did another playthrough without even going near the storyline. And in my second one I realized you didn't even have to give zombrex to katey if you don't want to. I thought I would get a game over and no extra pp at the end but nope! Oh and you can't forget the combo weapons. Knives taped to boxing gloves, lightsabers, chainsaws attached to the end of a paddle.. They are amazing. But i've got to say my favorite is the slicycle. (chainsaws attached to each side of a motorcycle). The xbox live portion of the game is alright, but sort of repetitive. The best part is transferring money you get from that to your story mode save. And I havent even tried co-op yet. I still gotta do that. Oh and by the way. It has the best videogame soundtrack ever. Expand
  15. Oct 14, 2010
    9
    This is probably one of the top "zombie" games out there, as it has all of the elements which make an entertaining experience - interesting characters, an action-driven story, varied gameplay and "freedom" to explore and destroy the game world. There is also an online element to the game which adds an additional layer of replayability.

    As with the previous Dead Rising, there are issues
    regarding the save system, as well as the sometimes-frustrating controls, but neither detract significantly from the experience.

    Overall the Dead Rising 2 is a significant improvement for the series. It is successfully designed to have significant replay value, and is one of those games you should probably buy rather than rent.
    Expand
  16. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    Seeing as everyone is GREATLY over rating this game or painfully UNDER rating it, I figured I would attempt an objective review.

    The game is good. I spent some time playing the first DR and I found things to be a bit repetitive, maybe it was the scenery, maybe the overall personality of the game, but I seem to LIKE the missions in DR2 a lot more, even though the M.O. of this game is the
    same as the first; exploration, rescuing survivors, killing psychopaths, and destroying zombies in 6 million different ways.

    Good - Combo weapons are a blast! Finding creative ways to dispatch zombies is infinitely more fun than trying to take pictures of them. The story feels a little more character driven, saving your daughter makes a lot more sense than trying to get the BIG scoop. The incredible amount of things to do inside the Campaign, and in the Co-op and the Online mode.

    Bad - The save points and lack of an auto save can be a bit frustrating, although I understand why they weren't included. If you auto saved RIGHT before you were to fail a certain part of the story, you would be stuck and unable to go on and have NO choice but to restart the entire story. A few times I got too into playing and forgot to save and ended up losing quite a few levels and accomplishment, however redoing the sections made for some good fun. Sometimes the clipping on items and zombies can be a bit wonky, but overall the control isn't a problem.

    I would give this game a solid 8.5, but since they don't have that I rounded up to 9. While I did rent this game, after 2 days with it I went out and purchased it, because in the midst of all the other games I am playing right now;Halo:Reach, CoD:W@W, Splinter Cell:Conviction, Borderlands, and R.U.S.E., a little mindless zombie killing is exactly what the Dr. ordered when I get burnt out from shooting/killing/battle planning.

    Don't dismiss this game based on the first, or based on the formula... At the least give it a rent, and check it out, it may not be GOTY but you could do a lot worse. -Bullseye76
    Expand
  17. Oct 14, 2010
    9
    I'm having a blast slaughtering zombies. I don't really get the weak story complaints. There's a plot there, but you don't pickup a game like this expecting classic literature. It is just a framework for splattering zombies. My only complaints are some abysmal load times and the clunky bathroom save system.
  18. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    I mainly signed up for Metacritic to review these types of awesome games. DR2 alone is way better than DR1. Mainly on the more variety of weapons, psychopaths, and survivors. I don't know why some people dislike these, well they fail. DR2 deserves more than a 90. Apprently, one reviewer gave it a 40. Apparently, your opinion is idiotic as the game has sold more than 3 million copies worldwide. DR2 is a success even if these reviewers hate it or dislike it, the latter, If you like DR1, buy this game. Nao! Expand
  19. Nov 2, 2010
    4
    My opinion on DEAD RISING 2 is full of disappointment towards this. Dead Rising back in 2006 was a new and unique take on a video game although I don't rate that too highly either. Sure there is fun to be had in this comical sandbox, but underneath this fun lies clunky controls and a frustrating frame rate considering games such as Grand Theft Auto and Red Dead Redemption can make huge game worlds look nice and smooth this game can't even make a little setting such as this look good. But does it have a good story?, you ask. No, the story is absolutely atrocious and quite possibly the worst thing about the game simple and ridiculous, the man sets out on a mission to save his daughter who with out this thing pathetically called Zombrex (the cure) will turn into a zombie, so he needs to hurry doesn't he? Apparently not, along the way he still has time to go in shops and wear silly little outfits which is preposterous, absolutely preposterous, or perhaps he secretly wants his daughter to die, well that's the best I can think of to redeem this crumby story. There is a mine-ute amount of fun to be had but too repetitive in the long hall. There are fun weapons to use and outrageous ways to kill the zombies but gets boring very easily. The competitive modes are fun and about the best feature in this game. If you enjoyed the first one then what I've just written shouldn't matter but those who were disappointed in the original one will not feel any different towards this. Summary: Fun at first but becomes repetitive and boring with a terrible story that is simply not up to standard considering a lot of games around these days. The biggest disappointment for me is that in four years nothing has changed and that quite frankly is not good enough, simple as. It gets a four because it is unique that is the only thing this has going for it. Expand
  20. Feb 4, 2011
    3
    Utterly mediocre. 1990's graphics, terrible story, a myriad loading screens and a distinct lack of production values. Yes, hacking zombies down with creative weapons can be good fun, but it doesn't make up for how dreadful everything else is.
  21. Sep 28, 2010
    9
    Dead Rising 1 had plenty of frustrating elements, from the AI to the save system to the controls. To be frank, DR2 fixes all of those but the save system. The save system itself is not terrible, but it takes some time to wrap your brain around it -- and I wouldn't doubt that some people just won't like it. That being said, if you liked the the original DR, DR2 is great. It's not a revolution, but it fixes the main issues with the first game and gives you a much larger environment in which to make chaos, while adding some new mechanics. It's the definitive Dead Rising game, no doubt about it, but it's not going to be for everybody. Expand
  22. Nov 13, 2010
    3
    Everything that could have gone wrong with the sequel to DR, has. Story, pacing, boss fights, A.I., everything that was either good in the first DR or could have been corrected in this sequel has instead been allowed to ferment and decay into something much, much worse. Questionable decisions, like having about 70% of the healing items in the game be alcohol based, leads to pure frustration; because of an alcohol tolerance system being implemented, drinking too much will cause you to puke like a freshman... this isn't good in a boss fight situation, and even worse when booze is your only first aid. The damage system from DR was carried over and now almost favors melee combat with bosses over guns, as 30 bullets to the face won't even take a 25th of his/her health off. Survivor A.I. is the same; the only reason it seems different is because the Dev's made the zombie's more docile to survivors. They can literally run through a horde without a scratch. There is also a pathetic attempt as U.S. social commentary in this game that even offended this Canadian reviewer. Lastly, weapons do not last very long, as many of the magazines that increase longevity of weapons in the first game are gone, meaning that most of the weapons you can create will be broken by the time you get to the next loading screen. Steer clear folks. Expand
  23. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    I love this game, the various locations, weapons, vehicles & zombie designs blow me away. I think that this is pretty scary for a video game. I'm glad that this game was released
  24. Oct 17, 2010
    8
    Dead Rising 2 is a good game that could be a great game. One of the primary issues of the game is dealing with the clock because you are constantly looking for Zombrex and you have to get back and give it to her in the morning. Sometimes you are far a way and the map is huge and not always easy to get around. This puts a crimp on you just having fun and beating up zombies wearing different outfits and making unique weapons. They need to get rid of this time element. Also, the map needs the ability to insert a waypoint so you can find your way around. I find that you have to click the map on and off constantly to figure out where you are at. This wears on you over time. Overall a good game with great potential if they can fix these issues, but if you love busting zombies, this falls well short of the Left 4 Dead series. Expand
  25. Oct 9, 2010
    8
    Not for everyone, that's the least you can say about Dead Rising 2. This game can easily be summarized. If you loved the first game, Dead Rising 2 is instant buy material. If you hate it, don't buy the sequel. For those of you who didn't play the original Dead Rising, I will summarize the game for you.

    Dead Rising 2 starts with a zombie outbreak and it is up to you, Chuck, to find the one
    who initiated the outbreak and to give your daughter every 24 hours a dose of Zombrex. She has been bitten by a zombie and will turn if you are too late with her daily dose. You have 72 hours (in-game about 6 hours) to do this and between missions you can save people and battle psychopaths to earn PP (Prestige Points). Each rescue or story mission must be completed within a certain time limit. This makes the game pretty hard at first, but by gaining PP and leveling up Chuck will become much stronger. Most people get frustrated by the initial difficulty but this game is meant to be played during multiple playthroughs. It is nearly impossible to do everything during the first playthrough.

    Apart from this, Dead Rising 2 is a fun game with a lot of weapons, a lot of gore and for the first time a co-opmode which adds to the replay value of the game. The combination cards introduce a lot of new weapons to kill zombies in creative ways. People who don't like difficult games should rent first, but those who like movies such as Dawn of the Dead should definately give this game a try.
    Expand
  26. Oct 6, 2010
    8
    Dead rising 2 has solved so many problems from the orignal game and is generally a great laugh!.
    The improvements are as followed for those who have experianced the first game:
    The save system isn't as clunky allowing you to save more frequantly.
    You dont have to complete the case files allowing you unlimited free roaming time without any worries of failure.
    You can play co-op campaign
    and online against others!.
    there is a finace system in which you can buy items in your campaign.
    COMBINABLE WEAPONS allows you to enjoy the game even more!

    This is along with all the orignial enjoyment from the first game and will keep you occupied for days on end! The only critasism i can find is that occationally you may not find an online game due to slow connection.
    Expand
  27. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    This game does exactly what a sequel is supposed to do. It maintains the great elements of Dead Rising, most importantly the timer based gameplay that keeps things moving at a brisk, challenging, and entertaining pace, loads of replay value, especially for completionists that dont rely on guides. Equally as important it corrects several issues the first game had, with improved "survivor" A.I. as probably the most signiificant improvement. Some people will be disappointed in the lack of a true "free roam" sandbox-esqe mode, (just the thought of it in this game puts me to sleep, as DR without timers is not DR) but players who appreciated the time crunch of the first game will find this a worthy sequel. Expand
  28. Oct 13, 2010
    9
    This game has EXCELLENT replayable value, and by replayable, I mean, you can't stop playing this game as you just can't hand down your controller. Zombie slaying has never been so epic since the Left 4 Dead series. The psychopath's return, they will feel somewhat familiar with the first, and the missions however can get dull on times but pick up and become more and more epic. The weapons are just amazing as in picking up a sign and bashing a zombies face with it. You will find this game amazing if you enjoyed the first. Pick this game up. Now. Expand
  29. Nov 20, 2010
    3
    Wow! I went into it thinking that it was going to be different and better then the first one. Well I was wrong! There is one big thing that makes this game just as bad. The idiotic saved game system! Is it so hard to just have save at any point system? The other thing is that you can't enjoy the world. Everything is timed. That is beyond annoying! The third thing is the fighting system. Most games have it where you focus with left trigger and then fight with the right trigger. Well, if you press left trigger then right, your guy just trows whatever. You have no focus on your enemies. Just press the right trigger and pray it hits something. This is very annoying when you are tying to save someone and you end up accidently hitting the person you are trying to save. When that happens, the person you are saving turns on you. The graphics are horrible! Especially in the cut scenes when they are suppose to be good. Everything looks so blocky! This game is very tedious! Expand
  30. Oct 31, 2010
    8
    I feel a bit of a soft spot for this game. I love to dress up some dude in what ever i feel like and then to smack around a few zombies. That's where this game is at its strongest, customization and the wacky ways you can beat the crap out of zombies. I love finding out i can combine a power drill with a bucket to make a meat grinding mask, or put a chainsaw on pretty much anything and watch the carnage. I would have loved this game more than any other if it had a free roam where i could just go out and do what ever i wanted, but thats where the game fails. It has a 'go do this' system that many found unnecessary. The main story to this game is that you need to find medicine for your daughter and you have to give it to her in a certain amount of time. While i do want to save small children, id rather do what this game was created for, killing zombies with no remorse. Not only do have that issue, but you also have bosses that are either A) to easy and are annoying more than fun or B) To hard and are still annoying. The graphics on this game aren't that impressive for a game that had just a few (more than 3) years to complete, but they do get the job done by loading the screen full of mindless, brain hungry zombies. With these downsides, you would think i would lower my score, but this game does deliver in the one spot that does count, killing zombies. It is really fun to see what you can create and how they bash, smash, or rip those undead beings. Expand
  31. Nov 24, 2010
    7
    I don't feel like a lot has changed since Dead Rising 1. the psychopaths are still overwhelmingly strong and difficult to defeat, the zombies and even the mall look, feel, and work like the they did in Dead Rising 1. It's still entertaining, just not the improvement I was expecting.
  32. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    This has to be one of the most rewarding games I have ever played, there is tons to do outside of the main story, you can save survivors, fight psychopaths, finding the hidden secrets around fortune city, trying to create all the combo weapons, or just killing zombies, it's just so much fun and you can play it anyway you want to and has high replay value, and the multiplayer is pure goofy zombie killing fun, my only complaint is that it's easy to get frustrated with the time limit, and it requires a lot of grinding if you want to survive the bosses, but this is a truly unique game I highly recommend, one of the best games of 2010 for sure. Expand
  33. SFN
    Jan 4, 2011
    7
    the game is wayy better from the first in many different ways, for one you can actually create many weapons by combining things to help you along you journey to fight the undead and survive, you have weapons that are really good and some that were just not needed, the plot of the game is really good, how your trying to survive and save your daughter by getting zombrex which is a drug to help you stay human for 24 hrs. but the bad thing about it is that if you dont find zombrex in time you fail the mission which makes you start over again, and once you use a good weapon alot it breaks and you have to find the parts to make it again which can get frustrating cause your not gonna want to run around the place looking for things just to create a weapon, the game all and all was good and is a totally different approach from the first one, if your a fan of the dead rising series then you will like this game but if your new i say rent it and if you like it get it. Expand
  34. May 23, 2011
    6
    It's hard to slam this game too hard because the beautiful environments, customization, and fun combat really do shine. However, putting a game that screams to be explored under constant time limits seriously reduced my enjoyment. The entire game is one big time limit, but you're also constantly presented with moments where you really want to explore a mall and play with things, but always have to be someplace on time. Also, the horrible save system made for at least a half dozen occasions where I had to repeat an hour of the game. I really should have rented the game first. It isn't worth the price. Expand
  35. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Game Is SO FUN combining items to make better weapons is awesome story is pretty short coop makes it 10x better djjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjsdfhibodsudsuifiusfugfhgfdjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjsdfhibodsudsuifiusfugfhgfdjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjsdfhibodsudsuifiusfugfhgfdjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjsdfhibodsudsuifiusfugfhgfdjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjsdfhibodsudsuifiusfugfhgfdjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjsdfhibodsudsuifiusfugfhgf Expand
  36. Aug 17, 2013
    4
    Wow.... No wonder Xbox gave this one away for free.... This game is always taking you out of the action with loading, cut scenes, and random instructions popping up on screen. I played for 2 hours and that was enough for me. No auto save... If they paced it better it may have been playable....
  37. Oct 9, 2010
    8
    Playing the original dead rising, I didn't summon very much enjoyment thanks in part of a restricted amount of save points and dumb AI, Not to mention that Frank West was a stereotypical journaliist **** Dead Rising 2 strips the **** from the original and guess what? we have a comparatively improved game for the most part. Combo weapons are enjoyable to use, the AI is smarter and the continuous slaying of zombies never gets old. Essentially this is the same experience as the original but is muchmore relevant this time around due to a bigger emphasis on survival. Still, frustrations do occur- the save system hasn't completely changed this time around and the game itself is still collect survivors,bring them back to base, fight boss battle, do case file missions rinse and repeat but once you level up, Dead Rising 2 will be at its most enjoyable, Expand
  38. Oct 13, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is Marmite. You love it or hate it, or both. Especially if you loved/hated the first, you will love/hate this one.

    I loved it. I do kind of miss the photography element, and although the construction element doesn't fully recreate the serene moments in a zombie apocalypse with Franks camera, it certainly replaces it with pure madness of a vast array of weapons. One example of that is the Defiler. Thats all i'll say.

    The gameplay is similar to the first, although this time you can move while aiming to shoot which is a plus, although i never had a massive problem in the first about it (you were a photographer who didn't have much firearms training).

    The timed nature obviously returns and peoples complaints about this are ridiculous, as its the point of the game, you should come into this prepared unlike the first, so should know about it. It makes sense to have it there because of the encompassing story, rescue chopper comes in 3 days, gather survivors, kill zombies, kill psychopaths, kill more zombies with the Freedom Bear.

    I'm not bothered by the loading times, or the save system, never had been, never even crossed my mind, and any sensible thinking person i have come across thinks the same thing.

    Blue Castle Games the Canadian developer obviously got the information from Capcom to not veer to far off the path that made Dead Rising what it was as it sold well, so if your looking for Resident Evil or Left 4 Dead in this, you won't find it, i wouldn't classify it as a niche game, but just because it doesn't match your preference, doesn't make it a bad game. It just gets one score less than the first game as i would have preferred it to be set in a small city or town, rather than another mall, although it is larger this time.

    Some people on here i know have their opinions but they should think about what they are saying. "it feels like a game from the 90's"; "the always on friendly fire". People complain about the "US social commentary" or the lack of logic. Its a game, about zombies. Its meant to be fun, its meant to be ridiculous, if your getting your head tied up about a game because of those reasons, then stop playing video games, because 99% of them lack logic, or are stereotypical in their portrayal of certain characters.
    Expand
  39. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    Adds quite a bit of new content and has replay value but overall its pretty much exactly the same as the previous game with not a lot of differences to it.
  40. Oct 27, 2010
    7
    I want my 56 euros back ....
    Seriously , i haven't played the first one , but i always thought that it was a great game according to the various reviews of the first one . Now i see the second one and i have read the various reviews about this game and they all were good according to the various sites . But now i have bought it and i am astonished by how slow the gameplay really is . The
    huge amount of loading screens really discouraged me from the very first time i booted up the game, a very stupid save system and a huge amount of zombies confronted against a guy with 4 lives at the beginning. We are nearly force to run back to the safe point of the game after nearly every mission we play . Dispite of all those not working ideas of the game , it doesnt fail on the multiplayer,fun mini games with 3 other guys over the world "good" .
    I really think capcom invested allot in the marketing of that game instead of the gameplay itself. They could have made a much better game of it . And what really pisses me of is all those huge websites that over rated the game for money from capcom . We really had enought of that kind of **** everywhere . Once the website is popular on the net the marketeers pump money into it for their advertisement . And the reviewer gives a core that we cant even compare ...... .
    Sorry capcom this is a fail , sorry IGN go get another reviewer .
    Sorry for my 56 euros , i have the game for 4 day now and i already have enought of it .
    Expand
  41. Dec 27, 2013
    7
    Truth be told Dead Rising 2 is not hugely different to its predecessor, a game that most would only consider to be somewhere between average and good. It retains the odd 'timed mission' structure, that means there is no opportunity for exploration or simple messing about, as well as making it possible to completely miss missions and fail the game if you take to long to get somewhere. Many of the other flaws, such as the awkward controls, terrible story-line and slow movement (why no sprint button?) are also still present.

    A new creation system, whereby two items can be combined to make more powerful weapons, certainly helps to add more variety to proceedings but the most important addition is undeniably the 'drop in co-op' that allows players to complete the whole campaign (aside from the opening 15 minutes) with a friend. Although you must remain in the same area as your partner this really does make a huge difference to the level of enjoyment that can be had. Fans of Dead Island or Left 4 Dead will know just how much fun fighting zombie hordes with a buddy can be.

    It’s far from perfect but anyone looking for an Xbox Live co-op title to play could do a lot worse than Dead Rising 2.
    Expand
  42. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    I liked Dead Rising 2, its was a really good game, but it was some what... empty. There wasnt much to do other than kill zombies and kill sycpaths. The story was a little bit retarded, but still the game was fun i suppose, the Co-op is pretty cool becuase its drop in drop out and that really works. The game really makes killing zombies funny. The multiplayer was okay i suppose, but it was just that boring old gameshow. The character Chuck was a great character to choose, but we all miss Frank , and i cant wait to see him in the next game. the combat for fighting zombies is pretty good, and you can see large impovements since the first game. Expand
  43. Sep 6, 2013
    3
    Repetitive and dull, DR2 really gave me nothing I was looking for from a zombie survival game. No scares, no ability to clear out areas, and sub-par graphics. Soundtrack was weak and story-line was WAY too predictable (guessed end after 1 1/2 hours of play). It is initially fun to customize your character and to kill copious amounts of zombies, but they keep coming back so what's the point. There is no point in playing this game, it's not survival horror nor is it fast paced enough to be action. Were I in this world I would die, not by zombie, but by boredom. Expand
  44. Jul 5, 2012
    8
    Dead Rising 2 is the sequel to the great game Dead Rising. It does not continue the story from the first one because you play as a different character. In this game you play as Chuck Greene, a former motor crosser. I liked this character more than Frank West. Frank West seemed to annoy me a bit in the first Dead Rising. Chuck participates in a game show called Terror is Reality to get money for his daughter. Terror is Reality is a game show where people kill zombies in mini-games. The story is good. That's all I will say because the plot unfolds after the Terror is Reality intro. Their is a prequel to this game were you can play as Chuck in a small town. The prequel is called Dead Rising 2: Case Zero. I enjoyed the prequel because it was release before the game was and it allowed you to transfer your characters level to Dead Rising 2 (max level 5). Dead Rising 2 allows players to make combo cards. Combo cards is a recipe to make an item where you have to get multiple items and combine them at a workbench. Some of my favorite are: jewelry + flashlight= lightsaber, car battery + wheel chair + machine gun = machine gun chair, lead pipe + fireworks = rocket cannon. The game offers some online play. Terror of Reality was available when the game was first released but I am sure their is not to many people on it now. After two weeks of release I had to wait about thirty to minutes to play a match of Terror is Reality. Co-Op is also offered in this Dead Rising game. It is great to not play this game solo and with a friend. Even after you beat the game you can go play on someone elses' file with all of your skills. I am level 50 (max) and it can be fun to go into someone elses' game and screw up them from getting ending A (ending A is the best ending to get). Ending A you may ask? Their are many ways for this game to end. Ending "A" will result in Overtime Mode were you get to continue the game. Heads up, Overtime Mode is disapointing. The main thing that makes this game better then the first one is the Co-Op, combo cards, and not playing as annoyng Frank West. Fan--tastic! 8 Expand
  45. Aug 24, 2012
    8
    Like its predecessor, Dead Rising 2 gives the player hours of unlimited fun hacking zombies to pieces. The story is kind of like the same, which is to be expected, but it feels just right. The weapon customization is a nice touch too.
  46. Jan 16, 2013
    9
    This is more of what made the original great but without the same kind of challenge. The weapon building is fun, and the story is great, but the survivors are easy to round up if you know where to look, and the online Multiplayer is pointless. The Co-op is all fine and dandy, but I never used it. Also the lack of an infinite mode or anything else like that means that your stuck replaying the game with no form of variety besides co-op or a friendly game of Terror is reality if you can find 3 other players still touching that trash.

    The game takes steps forwards with the weapons system and much better combat, but takes more steps backwards with pointless Multiplayer and a lowered difficulty level.
    Expand
  47. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    Capcom's comical cousin to their "Resident Evil" series is better the second time around. This is a much improved sequel to the original 2006 surprise hit. The premise is still the same (kill zombies and complete tasks within a limited time), but the execution is much better. The idiotic A.I. and frustrating save system of the first game have been removed, while two player co-op and weapon combos have been added. The result is a more robust (and fun) zombie killing experience. This is a colorful sequel that sports a new location and a new protagonist. In DR 2, the burly photo journalist Frank West is nowhere to be seen. Instead, players take control of Chuck Greene, a former motorcross champion who drives into a Nevada casino town. His daughter, Katie, is in need of a temporary zombie cure called Zombrex. Chuck spends the entire game trying to keep her alive while helping a sexy reporter expose a conspiracy. The game features a few online mini-games that help Chuck earn money, but they're not too interesting. It's the main game that is an absolute blast to play. The weapon combos are great and playing with a partner can be good fun. So if you like zombie games, then you'll love this one. 8.5 out of 10. Expand
  48. Jul 4, 2013
    7
    Time limits may make you want to rip your hair out in "Dead Rising 2." But being a zombie free-roamer that ups every single element of its predecessor, it still requires some attention.
  49. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    Entertaining enough playing by yourself and destroying bosses and learning the insanly fun silly weapon combos to blast out these fun fragile zombies. Boring at first but once you start to level up and begin to get rushed with missions that will effect your playthrough if you don't do them in time, you will suffer. This game becomes even better with friends on the mic and start to fool around with sauces and praying them on the playboy posters. This is worth getting if you loved the first one and willing to fool around and looking for some zombies to laugh at. This game is not meant to be played seriously. Expand
  50. ERB
    Jul 31, 2013
    6
    It should be 7 but because it is too lame to be 7 i made it 6.Story is not good but because It is a free world game especially that It is a zombie free world game I am still satisfied to play this game.
  51. May 29, 2013
    8
    Dead Rising 2 is the same as the first Dead Rising, but they did a lot to improve it. They fixed the sloppy controls, added co-op, made it so you can make weapons, improved the AI and just fixed everything the first Dead Rising did wrong. Dead Rising 2 is a must play if you loved Dead Rising 1.
  52. Aug 18, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To start off with the good points Well it's free at the moment on Xbox 360 if you have a gold account, the graphics hold up and the frame rate is good. The crowd technology is impressive where you get the feel of 1000's of zombies gathering around. The voices and characterisation is also good.

    To the bad points and this is where the game falls down. It's gameplay is awful. It's repetitive, punishing and frankly boring.

    To start off with you inventory is very limiting. There is no way to collect items and take them back to your safe-house where you can store them and then build the weapons you want. You need find those components and build them while searching around. Which is a bit on an issue as your weapons will be used up while searching. So once you have built your weapon it will broken before you get to a boss fight. It's a horrible cyclic dependency.

    Secondly the boss fights: Oh dear If the boss were super zombies then I could understand the need for special tactics. However when you face bosses such a scantily glad women or a post office worker you really do need to ask why does it take 200 rounds from a LMG to bring them down!!!

    The boss fights are just rubbish, they have no logic. Even during the cut-scenes before the boss fight there weaknesses are not telegraphed. There is no clue to how to defeat them. With the limited save game locations, the game doesn't even quick save before the boss fight. So when you die, and you will lots, you need to run through all the zombies again to reach the boss location and try once more. This is incredibly frustrating and just seems to be a cheap trick to extend the play time of the game. Bosses also have endless amounts of ammo, and in one case a shotgun take can hit you over a very long distance.

    It seems that Capcom and Blue Castle have let Microsoft give away copies of this game for free in an attempt to publicise their Deadrising 3 release. I just hope the designers have looked at more recent games and tried to make the game more "Fun". Features such as auto-balance the difficultly of the objective by looking at the level of the player. Even the latest Tomb Raider game which in the past has been famous for the repeat-until-insane gameplay format. However their latest version was very playable and I hardly had to repeat any section of that game. I completed it and felt like I had been entertained.

    Well I have tried to persevere with DR2 but I have got to my fifth boss fight and frankly I have had enough. I can't take this sort of game play anymore and have better things to do with my time.

    I sincerely hope they do a better a job with DR3. Some of things I would recommend changing are: Increasing the life span of weapons, especially those made from metal, don't make bosses super human, if you want super bosses then make them zombies, have a place where players can "bank" weapon components. Have guns store ammo properly, you shouldn't need to hold multiple copies of the same gun, when you can just have multiple clips. Make it clear in the objects list, which objectives are for rescuing people and which ones are boss fights. Finally add more save points or at least allow the player to save before a boss fight, without that it leads to the most numb inducing and frustrating gameplay.

    Gameplay has evolved a lot since the original DR1 in 2006. Even in 2010 we didn't need to put up with this sort of thing, I really do hope DR3 will prove to be a total rewrite of the gameplay.
    Expand
  53. Aug 23, 2013
    3
    Not good. Poor voice work (when they could be bothered to record it), visually limited but main problem is that gameplay is repetitive and not remotely fun. Not worth spending time on, even for free. Avoid!
  54. Nov 8, 2013
    7
    There are many zombie video games around but none quite like Deadrising. I haven't played the first game, so this review will be about this game as an individual, rather than a sequel. Like all zombie games, you have to survive and you have to slaughter zombies. The twist, however, is that you can use random objects around you as tools and weapons. And might I say, it's pretty fun to ram through zombie with a wheelchair.

    The story of this game is pretty basic. The main character, Chuck, has been framed for this outbreak and he must prove his innocence while taking care of his daughter. Throughout the game, there is a countdown telling you how much time you have left before the military arrives, which is a good way to keep track of how much of the game you have left. It is because of this countdown, however, that you aren't really free to go on a zombie-killing rampage, which saddened me a bit. There's quite a bit of time management in this video game that gives you that feeling of urgency which adds to the intensity of the game. Other than trying to prove your innocence, you'll be running around and trying to escort stray survivors to the safe house. If you don't manage your time correctly, you could screw yourself.
    In order to save, you must go to a bathroom. There are no checkpoints in this game, which means if you save too close to the time limit, you will ruin any chance you have of getting the missions complete. And if you don't save in a while and have made a lot of progress, dying will force you to do all of your progress all over again. This certainly takes away from some of the game's fun, but if you save regularly and know how to manage your time, it won't be a big issue.

    The gameplay is pretty simple: pick up a weapon and beat zombies with it. It is so satisfying and enjoyable to rip through hundreds of zombies at a time, and it's an activity that never seems to get old. While I enjoy the ability to eliminate zombies with random weapons and objects, there are some miscellaneous objects here and there that don't really need to be there and end up being a waste of space. This is a minor issue but it's nothing to get worked up over.
    There are boss fights in this game, being deranged survivors of variety. The way the game is written makes it so no matter how crazy they are, you actually find yourself feeling sorry for a majority of them. The fights themselves are difficult and surprisingly fun, except that the mechanics can be unfair. If they knock you down, they are allowed another free hit on you, and when you're flat on your back, there's nothing you can do about it. This is pretty frustrating. There are a few other frustrating factors in this game that are notable enough to where I'm taking off points for them.

    There's an option for competitive multiplayer but it's not really worth playing. You have to wait for three other players to come in before the game starts, and when the game has started, it is pretty fun. But if one person decides to leave, everyone else gets sent to the main menu. It's a flawed system that could've been executed better.
    However, there's also the option of coop multiplayer. You have the option to help someone with their story, and vice versa, and it's a nice experience to fight zombies and freaks alongside your friend. It takes away from the loneliness you get after a while, and it's a pretty successful coop system compared to a majority of games.

    Overall, this is a very enjoyable game with good replayability. It does have some flaws in it that could be improved on, but I'm very glad i played it.
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 76
  2. Negative: 1 out of 76
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    74
    Despite the problems, Dead Rising 2 is a fun and satisfying package overall.
  2. Jan 11, 2011
    80
    That being said, critics of the first game are going to find problems with Dead Rising 2, namely the highly difficult boss battles and the poorly structured inventory system.
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    60
    It can be said that the game is made for players to start over, but it doesn't seem like a fair or enjoyable trade-off that a person should be willing to go back to square one of the story mode as a result of experimenting with and enjoying the item-crafting.