Dead Rising 2 Xbox 360

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 206 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 206
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 9, 2011
    9
    love it! its more of the same, but its great and I enjoyed the deversion between more serious games. pretty easy to unlock the secret stuff and get the proper ending. it can be really hard at first, so if your not in the mood to replay this sucker 4-5 times, I would recommend looking up the word "wingman". very happy with this one, if you liked the first game, you will love this.
  2. Oct 31, 2010
    8
    I feel a bit of a soft spot for this game. I love to dress up some dude in what ever i feel like and then to smack around a few zombies. That's where this game is at its strongest, customization and the wacky ways you can beat the crap out of zombies. I love finding out i can combine a power drill with a bucket to make a meat grinding mask, or put a chainsaw on pretty much anything andI feel a bit of a soft spot for this game. I love to dress up some dude in what ever i feel like and then to smack around a few zombies. That's where this game is at its strongest, customization and the wacky ways you can beat the crap out of zombies. I love finding out i can combine a power drill with a bucket to make a meat grinding mask, or put a chainsaw on pretty much anything and watch the carnage. I would have loved this game more than any other if it had a free roam where i could just go out and do what ever i wanted, but thats where the game fails. It has a 'go do this' system that many found unnecessary. The main story to this game is that you need to find medicine for your daughter and you have to give it to her in a certain amount of time. While i do want to save small children, id rather do what this game was created for, killing zombies with no remorse. Not only do have that issue, but you also have bosses that are either A) to easy and are annoying more than fun or B) To hard and are still annoying. The graphics on this game aren't that impressive for a game that had just a few (more than 3) years to complete, but they do get the job done by loading the screen full of mindless, brain hungry zombies. With these downsides, you would think i would lower my score, but this game does deliver in the one spot that does count, killing zombies. It is really fun to see what you can create and how they bash, smash, or rip those undead beings. Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    This has to be one of the most rewarding games I have ever played, there is tons to do outside of the main story, you can save survivors, fight psychopaths, finding the hidden secrets around fortune city, trying to create all the combo weapons, or just killing zombies, it's just so much fun and you can play it anyway you want to and has high replay value, and the multiplayer is pure goofyThis has to be one of the most rewarding games I have ever played, there is tons to do outside of the main story, you can save survivors, fight psychopaths, finding the hidden secrets around fortune city, trying to create all the combo weapons, or just killing zombies, it's just so much fun and you can play it anyway you want to and has high replay value, and the multiplayer is pure goofy zombie killing fun, my only complaint is that it's easy to get frustrated with the time limit, and it requires a lot of grinding if you want to survive the bosses, but this is a truly unique game I highly recommend, one of the best games of 2010 for sure. Expand
  4. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Game Is SO FUN combining items to make better weapons is awesome story is pretty short coop makes it 10x betterGame Is SO FUN combining items to make better weapons is awesome story is pretty short coop makes it 10x better djjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjsdfhibodsudsuifiusfugfhgfdjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjsdfhibodsudsuifiusfugfhgfdjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjsdfhibodsudsuifiusfugfhgfdjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjsdfhibodsudsuifiusfugfhgfdjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjsdfhibodsudsuifiusfugfhgfdjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjsdfhibodsudsuifiusfugfhgf Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    I love this game. It is such a rewarding experience and you feel awesome when you accomplish anything. It's actually very addictive as well, I got it this morning but before I knew it, it was 12am. It's obviously been made for the fans of the original, so obviously if you didn't like the first you're not going to like this one. The side quests are alot tougher this time round, especiallyI love this game. It is such a rewarding experience and you feel awesome when you accomplish anything. It's actually very addictive as well, I got it this morning but before I knew it, it was 12am. It's obviously been made for the fans of the original, so obviously if you didn't like the first you're not going to like this one. The side quests are alot tougher this time round, especially the psychopaths. You're going to have a big gun if you're at a lower level and you try and take them on. However, this does make it such a more rewarding experience and keeps the re-playability alive. The AI on the survivors alot better however and you won't find them always screaming for help after having stupidly run into a crowd of zombies. The story really drives you forward, storylines are very important to me in a game, which was why I originally liked the first game and this one is no different. Chuck makes me laugh alot, he's not trying to be funny AT ALL but his cool occasional one liners make me laugh out loud and the subtle rock music that played when he's being a badass is cool too. It's such a strange format, in a good way though, the combat and overall game-play is just comedy, but the storyline is very serious. From the outside this might seem weird, but it works really well. The multi-player made me laugh alot, its very funny, it's played out like a gameshow and the money you earn from winning can be spent in the single-player. I can immediately tell that I'll be playing this one for a while, with the addition of co-op and multiplayer the re-play value is just massive. Expand
  6. JET
    Oct 2, 2010
    9
    Brilliant. Improves on the first one in every single way. A must buy. As other people have said it's a very rewarding game, and i'm already on my 3rd playthrough. If you don't get it you'll regret it
  7. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    I mainly signed up for Metacritic to review these types of awesome games. DR2 alone is way better than DR1. Mainly on the more variety of weapons, psychopaths, and survivors. I don't know why some people dislike these, well they fail. DR2 deserves more than a 90. Apprently, one reviewer gave it a 40. Apparently, your opinion is idiotic as the game has sold more than 3 million copiesI mainly signed up for Metacritic to review these types of awesome games. DR2 alone is way better than DR1. Mainly on the more variety of weapons, psychopaths, and survivors. I don't know why some people dislike these, well they fail. DR2 deserves more than a 90. Apprently, one reviewer gave it a 40. Apparently, your opinion is idiotic as the game has sold more than 3 million copies worldwide. DR2 is a success even if these reviewers hate it or dislike it, the latter, If you like DR1, buy this game. Nao! Expand
  8. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    This game does exactly what a sequel is supposed to do. It maintains the great elements of Dead Rising, most importantly the timer based gameplay that keeps things moving at a brisk, challenging, and entertaining pace, loads of replay value, especially for completionists that dont rely on guides. Equally as important it corrects several issues the first game had, with improved "survivor"This game does exactly what a sequel is supposed to do. It maintains the great elements of Dead Rising, most importantly the timer based gameplay that keeps things moving at a brisk, challenging, and entertaining pace, loads of replay value, especially for completionists that dont rely on guides. Equally as important it corrects several issues the first game had, with improved "survivor" A.I. as probably the most signiificant improvement. Some people will be disappointed in the lack of a true "free roam" sandbox-esqe mode, (just the thought of it in this game puts me to sleep, as DR without timers is not DR) but players who appreciated the time crunch of the first game will find this a worthy sequel. Expand
  9. Oct 13, 2010
    9
    This game has EXCELLENT replayable value, and by replayable, I mean, you can't stop playing this game as you just can't hand down your controller. Zombie slaying has never been so epic since the Left 4 Dead series. The psychopath's return, they will feel somewhat familiar with the first, and the missions however can get dull on times but pick up and become more and more epic. The weaponsThis game has EXCELLENT replayable value, and by replayable, I mean, you can't stop playing this game as you just can't hand down your controller. Zombie slaying has never been so epic since the Left 4 Dead series. The psychopath's return, they will feel somewhat familiar with the first, and the missions however can get dull on times but pick up and become more and more epic. The weapons are just amazing as in picking up a sign and bashing a zombies face with it. You will find this game amazing if you enjoyed the first. Pick this game up. Now. Expand
  10. Jul 5, 2012
    8
    Dead Rising 2 is the sequel to the great game Dead Rising. It does not continue the story from the first one because you play as a different character. In this game you play as Chuck Greene, a former motor crosser. I liked this character more than Frank West. Frank West seemed to annoy me a bit in the first Dead Rising. Chuck participates in a game show called Terror is Reality to getDead Rising 2 is the sequel to the great game Dead Rising. It does not continue the story from the first one because you play as a different character. In this game you play as Chuck Greene, a former motor crosser. I liked this character more than Frank West. Frank West seemed to annoy me a bit in the first Dead Rising. Chuck participates in a game show called Terror is Reality to get money for his daughter. Terror is Reality is a game show where people kill zombies in mini-games. The story is good. That's all I will say because the plot unfolds after the Terror is Reality intro. Their is a prequel to this game were you can play as Chuck in a small town. The prequel is called Dead Rising 2: Case Zero. I enjoyed the prequel because it was release before the game was and it allowed you to transfer your characters level to Dead Rising 2 (max level 5). Dead Rising 2 allows players to make combo cards. Combo cards is a recipe to make an item where you have to get multiple items and combine them at a workbench. Some of my favorite are: jewelry + flashlight= lightsaber, car battery + wheel chair + machine gun = machine gun chair, lead pipe + fireworks = rocket cannon. The game offers some online play. Terror of Reality was available when the game was first released but I am sure their is not to many people on it now. After two weeks of release I had to wait about thirty to minutes to play a match of Terror is Reality. Co-Op is also offered in this Dead Rising game. It is great to not play this game solo and with a friend. Even after you beat the game you can go play on someone elses' file with all of your skills. I am level 50 (max) and it can be fun to go into someone elses' game and screw up them from getting ending A (ending A is the best ending to get). Ending A you may ask? Their are many ways for this game to end. Ending "A" will result in Overtime Mode were you get to continue the game. Heads up, Overtime Mode is disapointing. The main thing that makes this game better then the first one is the Co-Op, combo cards, and not playing as annoyng Frank West. Fan--tastic! 8 Expand
  11. Aug 24, 2012
    8
    Like its predecessor, Dead Rising 2 gives the player hours of unlimited fun hacking zombies to pieces. The story is kind of like the same, which is to be expected, but it feels just right. The weapon customization is a nice touch too.
  12. Jan 16, 2013
    9
    This is more of what made the original great but without the same kind of challenge. The weapon building is fun, and the story is great, but the survivors are easy to round up if you know where to look, and the online Multiplayer is pointless. The Co-op is all fine and dandy, but I never used it. Also the lack of an infinite mode or anything else like that means that your stuck replayingThis is more of what made the original great but without the same kind of challenge. The weapon building is fun, and the story is great, but the survivors are easy to round up if you know where to look, and the online Multiplayer is pointless. The Co-op is all fine and dandy, but I never used it. Also the lack of an infinite mode or anything else like that means that your stuck replaying the game with no form of variety besides co-op or a friendly game of Terror is reality if you can find 3 other players still touching that trash.

    The game takes steps forwards with the weapons system and much better combat, but takes more steps backwards with pointless Multiplayer and a lowered difficulty level.
    Expand
  13. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    Capcom's comical cousin to their "Resident Evil" series is better the second time around. This is a much improved sequel to the original 2006 surprise hit. The premise is still the same (kill zombies and complete tasks within a limited time), but the execution is much better. The idiotic A.I. and frustrating save system of the first game have been removed, while two player co-op and weaponCapcom's comical cousin to their "Resident Evil" series is better the second time around. This is a much improved sequel to the original 2006 surprise hit. The premise is still the same (kill zombies and complete tasks within a limited time), but the execution is much better. The idiotic A.I. and frustrating save system of the first game have been removed, while two player co-op and weapon combos have been added. The result is a more robust (and fun) zombie killing experience. This is a colorful sequel that sports a new location and a new protagonist. In DR 2, the burly photo journalist Frank West is nowhere to be seen. Instead, players take control of Chuck Greene, a former motorcross champion who drives into a Nevada casino town. His daughter, Katie, is in need of a temporary zombie cure called Zombrex. Chuck spends the entire game trying to keep her alive while helping a sexy reporter expose a conspiracy. The game features a few online mini-games that help Chuck earn money, but they're not too interesting. It's the main game that is an absolute blast to play. The weapon combos are great and playing with a partner can be good fun. So if you like zombie games, then you'll love this one. 8.5 out of 10. Expand
  14. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    Entertaining enough playing by yourself and destroying bosses and learning the insanly fun silly weapon combos to blast out these fun fragile zombies. Boring at first but once you start to level up and begin to get rushed with missions that will effect your playthrough if you don't do them in time, you will suffer. This game becomes even better with friends on the mic and start to foolEntertaining enough playing by yourself and destroying bosses and learning the insanly fun silly weapon combos to blast out these fun fragile zombies. Boring at first but once you start to level up and begin to get rushed with missions that will effect your playthrough if you don't do them in time, you will suffer. This game becomes even better with friends on the mic and start to fool around with sauces and praying them on the playboy posters. This is worth getting if you loved the first one and willing to fool around and looking for some zombies to laugh at. This game is not meant to be played seriously. Expand
  15. May 29, 2013
    8
    Dead Rising 2 is the same as the first Dead Rising, but they did a lot to improve it. They fixed the sloppy controls, added co-op, made it so you can make weapons, improved the AI and just fixed everything the first Dead Rising did wrong. Dead Rising 2 is a must play if you loved Dead Rising 1.
  16. Oct 21, 2014
    8
    Amazing zombie game. Really killed it. What made it so good is that it gives you a lot of tools and weapons to test it on zombies,not to mention the open world too. Great game capcom..........
  17. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    Sub-par graphics and long loading times aside, this game is amazing. Weapon combination, costume customization and exploration are all way too much fun. And while it sad that there's no real 'Free Mode', you'll find that you have plenty of time in-between story missions to muck around in Las Vegas.
  18. Oct 14, 2010
    9
    This is probably one of the top "zombie" games out there, as it has all of the elements which make an entertaining experience - interesting characters, an action-driven story, varied gameplay and "freedom" to explore and destroy the game world. There is also an online element to the game which adds an additional layer of replayability.

    As with the previous Dead Rising, there are issues
    This is probably one of the top "zombie" games out there, as it has all of the elements which make an entertaining experience - interesting characters, an action-driven story, varied gameplay and "freedom" to explore and destroy the game world. There is also an online element to the game which adds an additional layer of replayability.

    As with the previous Dead Rising, there are issues regarding the save system, as well as the sometimes-frustrating controls, but neither detract significantly from the experience.

    Overall the Dead Rising 2 is a significant improvement for the series. It is successfully designed to have significant replay value, and is one of those games you should probably buy rather than rent.
    Expand
  19. Oct 14, 2010
    9
    I'm having a blast slaughtering zombies. I don't really get the weak story complaints. There's a plot there, but you don't pickup a game like this expecting classic literature. It is just a framework for splattering zombies. My only complaints are some abysmal load times and the clunky bathroom save system.
  20. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Dead Rising 2 is an odd game to review. Going strictly on an objective, technical look, I'd give the game an 8/10. There are definitely elements that frustrate, chief among them being frequent load times, the lack of spoken dialogue (especially since what *is* there is so good), and the occasional difficultly spike. It's by no means perfect. However, there is something about it, somethingDead Rising 2 is an odd game to review. Going strictly on an objective, technical look, I'd give the game an 8/10. There are definitely elements that frustrate, chief among them being frequent load times, the lack of spoken dialogue (especially since what *is* there is so good), and the occasional difficultly spike. It's by no means perfect. However, there is something about it, something intangible, that makes me want to play it more than I want to play games that I'd give a 9 or 9.5 to. I guess it's just a pure sense of fun. DR2 is probably one of the most purely FUN games out there. There's something about it that just makes you want to keep playing late into the night. I won't go into too much depth, but here are some highlights: GOOD: 1. Concept. 2. Visuals (By which I mean styles, colors, general feel of the Vegas-like environment). 3. Voice Acting (Seriously, even though this is a silly game, the acting has more depth than any of the Resident Evil games, which were going for a serious tone). 4. Combo Weapons 5. Chuck Greene (What can I say, he's a total badass) 6. Humor 7. The Cast (especially the psychos) 8. So many secrets to be found. 9. Just. Plain. Fun. BAD: 1. Frequent Load Times 2. Visuals (By which I mean textures. I hate looking at people's hands in this game.) 3. Too little voice acting (so many survivors with interesting personalities are just text) 4. Difficulty spikes (You never know when a psycho is going to pop out and kick your ass) While all those negatives are legitimate complaints, ones which I think need to be smoothed out in future iterations of the series, the fact remains that the game is so fun that I end up not caring about the negatives. 100% recommended. Expand
  21. Oct 17, 2010
    8
    Dead Rising 2 is a good game that could be a great game. One of the primary issues of the game is dealing with the clock because you are constantly looking for Zombrex and you have to get back and give it to her in the morning. Sometimes you are far a way and the map is huge and not always easy to get around. This puts a crimp on you just having fun and beating up zombies wearingDead Rising 2 is a good game that could be a great game. One of the primary issues of the game is dealing with the clock because you are constantly looking for Zombrex and you have to get back and give it to her in the morning. Sometimes you are far a way and the map is huge and not always easy to get around. This puts a crimp on you just having fun and beating up zombies wearing different outfits and making unique weapons. They need to get rid of this time element. Also, the map needs the ability to insert a waypoint so you can find your way around. I find that you have to click the map on and off constantly to figure out where you are at. This wears on you over time. Overall a good game with great potential if they can fix these issues, but if you love busting zombies, this falls well short of the Left 4 Dead series. Expand
  22. Oct 9, 2010
    8
    Not for everyone, that's the least you can say about Dead Rising 2. This game can easily be summarized. If you loved the first game, Dead Rising 2 is instant buy material. If you hate it, don't buy the sequel. For those of you who didn't play the original Dead Rising, I will summarize the game for you.

    Dead Rising 2 starts with a zombie outbreak and it is up to you, Chuck, to find the one
    Not for everyone, that's the least you can say about Dead Rising 2. This game can easily be summarized. If you loved the first game, Dead Rising 2 is instant buy material. If you hate it, don't buy the sequel. For those of you who didn't play the original Dead Rising, I will summarize the game for you.

    Dead Rising 2 starts with a zombie outbreak and it is up to you, Chuck, to find the one who initiated the outbreak and to give your daughter every 24 hours a dose of Zombrex. She has been bitten by a zombie and will turn if you are too late with her daily dose. You have 72 hours (in-game about 6 hours) to do this and between missions you can save people and battle psychopaths to earn PP (Prestige Points). Each rescue or story mission must be completed within a certain time limit. This makes the game pretty hard at first, but by gaining PP and leveling up Chuck will become much stronger. Most people get frustrated by the initial difficulty but this game is meant to be played during multiple playthroughs. It is nearly impossible to do everything during the first playthrough.

    Apart from this, Dead Rising 2 is a fun game with a lot of weapons, a lot of gore and for the first time a co-opmode which adds to the replay value of the game. The combination cards introduce a lot of new weapons to kill zombies in creative ways. People who don't like difficult games should rent first, but those who like movies such as Dawn of the Dead should definately give this game a try.
    Expand
  23. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    This is my favorite xbox game... EVER. If you are a creative person, then you will love this game. And I've got to be honest, I didn't really like the first dead rising too much. I thought the concept was amazing. But, they needed touch ups on a lot of things. And everything that was bad about the first game is fixed in the second. The psychopaths are much more fun to fight, survivorsThis is my favorite xbox game... EVER. If you are a creative person, then you will love this game. And I've got to be honest, I didn't really like the first dead rising too much. I thought the concept was amazing. But, they needed touch ups on a lot of things. And everything that was bad about the first game is fixed in the second. The psychopaths are much more fun to fight, survivors aren't stupid and you don't have to babysit them when escorting them. And you can't forget the storyline. Its amazing. I havent even beaten the story mode yet because about 1/4 of the way through i decided that I should just restart my game and level up. So I did. And I had so much fun I did another playthrough without even going near the storyline. And in my second one I realized you didn't even have to give zombrex to katey if you don't want to. I thought I would get a game over and no extra pp at the end but nope! Oh and you can't forget the combo weapons. Knives taped to boxing gloves, lightsabers, chainsaws attached to the end of a paddle.. They are amazing. But i've got to say my favorite is the slicycle. (chainsaws attached to each side of a motorcycle). The xbox live portion of the game is alright, but sort of repetitive. The best part is transferring money you get from that to your story mode save. And I havent even tried co-op yet. I still gotta do that. Oh and by the way. It has the best videogame soundtrack ever. Expand
  24. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    Seeing as everyone is GREATLY over rating this game or painfully UNDER rating it, I figured I would attempt an objective review.

    The game is good. I spent some time playing the first DR and I found things to be a bit repetitive, maybe it was the scenery, maybe the overall personality of the game, but I seem to LIKE the missions in DR2 a lot more, even though the M.O. of this game is the
    Seeing as everyone is GREATLY over rating this game or painfully UNDER rating it, I figured I would attempt an objective review.

    The game is good. I spent some time playing the first DR and I found things to be a bit repetitive, maybe it was the scenery, maybe the overall personality of the game, but I seem to LIKE the missions in DR2 a lot more, even though the M.O. of this game is the same as the first; exploration, rescuing survivors, killing psychopaths, and destroying zombies in 6 million different ways.

    Good - Combo weapons are a blast! Finding creative ways to dispatch zombies is infinitely more fun than trying to take pictures of them. The story feels a little more character driven, saving your daughter makes a lot more sense than trying to get the BIG scoop. The incredible amount of things to do inside the Campaign, and in the Co-op and the Online mode.

    Bad - The save points and lack of an auto save can be a bit frustrating, although I understand why they weren't included. If you auto saved RIGHT before you were to fail a certain part of the story, you would be stuck and unable to go on and have NO choice but to restart the entire story. A few times I got too into playing and forgot to save and ended up losing quite a few levels and accomplishment, however redoing the sections made for some good fun. Sometimes the clipping on items and zombies can be a bit wonky, but overall the control isn't a problem.

    I would give this game a solid 8.5, but since they don't have that I rounded up to 9. While I did rent this game, after 2 days with it I went out and purchased it, because in the midst of all the other games I am playing right now;Halo:Reach, CoD:W@W, Splinter Cell:Conviction, Borderlands, and R.U.S.E., a little mindless zombie killing is exactly what the Dr. ordered when I get burnt out from shooting/killing/battle planning.

    Don't dismiss this game based on the first, or based on the formula... At the least give it a rent, and check it out, it may not be GOTY but you could do a lot worse. -Bullseye76
    Expand
  25. Oct 6, 2010
    8
    Dead rising 2 has solved so many problems from the orignal game and is generally a great laugh!.
    The improvements are as followed for those who have experianced the first game:
    The save system isn't as clunky allowing you to save more frequantly. You dont have to complete the case files allowing you unlimited free roaming time without any worries of failure. You can play co-op campaign
    Dead rising 2 has solved so many problems from the orignal game and is generally a great laugh!.
    The improvements are as followed for those who have experianced the first game:
    The save system isn't as clunky allowing you to save more frequantly.
    You dont have to complete the case files allowing you unlimited free roaming time without any worries of failure.
    You can play co-op campaign and online against others!.
    there is a finace system in which you can buy items in your campaign.
    COMBINABLE WEAPONS allows you to enjoy the game even more!

    This is along with all the orignial enjoyment from the first game and will keep you occupied for days on end! The only critasism i can find is that occationally you may not find an online game due to slow connection.
    Expand
  26. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    I liked Dead Rising 2, its was a really good game, but it was some what... empty. There wasnt much to do other than kill zombies and kill sycpaths. The story was a little bit retarded, but still the game was fun i suppose, the Co-op is pretty cool becuase its drop in drop out and that really works. The game really makes killing zombies funny. The multiplayer was okay i suppose, but it wasI liked Dead Rising 2, its was a really good game, but it was some what... empty. There wasnt much to do other than kill zombies and kill sycpaths. The story was a little bit retarded, but still the game was fun i suppose, the Co-op is pretty cool becuase its drop in drop out and that really works. The game really makes killing zombies funny. The multiplayer was okay i suppose, but it was just that boring old gameshow. The character Chuck was a great character to choose, but we all miss Frank , and i cant wait to see him in the next game. the combat for fighting zombies is pretty good, and you can see large impovements since the first game. Expand
  27. Sep 28, 2010
    9
    Dead Rising 1 had plenty of frustrating elements, from the AI to the save system to the controls. To be frank, DR2 fixes all of those but the save system. The save system itself is not terrible, but it takes some time to wrap your brain around it -- and I wouldn't doubt that some people just won't like it. That being said, if you liked the the original DR, DR2 is great. It's not aDead Rising 1 had plenty of frustrating elements, from the AI to the save system to the controls. To be frank, DR2 fixes all of those but the save system. The save system itself is not terrible, but it takes some time to wrap your brain around it -- and I wouldn't doubt that some people just won't like it. That being said, if you liked the the original DR, DR2 is great. It's not a revolution, but it fixes the main issues with the first game and gives you a much larger environment in which to make chaos, while adding some new mechanics. It's the definitive Dead Rising game, no doubt about it, but it's not going to be for everybody. Expand
  28. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    I love this game, the various locations, weapons, vehicles & zombie designs blow me away. I think that this is pretty scary for a video game. I'm glad that this game was released
  29. Oct 9, 2010
    8
    Playing the original dead rising, I didn't summon very much enjoyment thanks in part of a restricted amount of save points and dumb AI, Not to mention that Frank West was a stereotypical journaliist **** Dead Rising 2 strips the **** from the original and guess what? we have a comparatively improved game for the most part. Combo weapons are enjoyable to use, the AI is smarter and thePlaying the original dead rising, I didn't summon very much enjoyment thanks in part of a restricted amount of save points and dumb AI, Not to mention that Frank West was a stereotypical journaliist **** Dead Rising 2 strips the **** from the original and guess what? we have a comparatively improved game for the most part. Combo weapons are enjoyable to use, the AI is smarter and the continuous slaying of zombies never gets old. Essentially this is the same experience as the original but is muchmore relevant this time around due to a bigger emphasis on survival. Still, frustrations do occur- the save system hasn't completely changed this time around and the game itself is still collect survivors,bring them back to base, fight boss battle, do case file missions rinse and repeat but once you level up, Dead Rising 2 will be at its most enjoyable, Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 76
  2. Negative: 1 out of 76
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    74
    Despite the problems, Dead Rising 2 is a fun and satisfying package overall.
  2. Jan 11, 2011
    80
    That being said, critics of the first game are going to find problems with Dead Rising 2, namely the highly difficult boss battles and the poorly structured inventory system.
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    60
    It can be said that the game is made for players to start over, but it doesn't seem like a fair or enjoyable trade-off that a person should be willing to go back to square one of the story mode as a result of experimenting with and enjoying the item-crafting.