User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 188 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 188

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JET
    Oct 2, 2010
    9
    Brilliant. Improves on the first one in every single way. A must buy. As other people have said it's a very rewarding game, and i'm already on my 3rd playthrough. If you don't get it you'll regret it
  2. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    Sub-par graphics and long loading times aside, this game is amazing. Weapon combination, costume customization and exploration are all way too much fun. And while it sad that there's no real 'Free Mode', you'll find that you have plenty of time in-between story missions to muck around in Las Vegas.
  3. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Dead Rising 2 is an odd game to review. Going strictly on an objective, technical look, I'd give the game an 8/10. There are definitely elements that frustrate, chief among them being frequent load times, the lack of spoken dialogue (especially since what *is* there is so good), and the occasional difficultly spike. It's by no means perfect. However, there is something about it, somethingDead Rising 2 is an odd game to review. Going strictly on an objective, technical look, I'd give the game an 8/10. There are definitely elements that frustrate, chief among them being frequent load times, the lack of spoken dialogue (especially since what *is* there is so good), and the occasional difficultly spike. It's by no means perfect. However, there is something about it, something intangible, that makes me want to play it more than I want to play games that I'd give a 9 or 9.5 to. I guess it's just a pure sense of fun. DR2 is probably one of the most purely FUN games out there. There's something about it that just makes you want to keep playing late into the night. I won't go into too much depth, but here are some highlights: GOOD: 1. Concept. 2. Visuals (By which I mean styles, colors, general feel of the Vegas-like environment). 3. Voice Acting (Seriously, even though this is a silly game, the acting has more depth than any of the Resident Evil games, which were going for a serious tone). 4. Combo Weapons 5. Chuck Greene (What can I say, he's a total badass) 6. Humor 7. The Cast (especially the psychos) 8. So many secrets to be found. 9. Just. Plain. Fun. BAD: 1. Frequent Load Times 2. Visuals (By which I mean textures. I hate looking at people's hands in this game.) 3. Too little voice acting (so many survivors with interesting personalities are just text) 4. Difficulty spikes (You never know when a psycho is going to pop out and kick your ass) While all those negatives are legitimate complaints, ones which I think need to be smoothed out in future iterations of the series, the fact remains that the game is so fun that I end up not caring about the negatives. 100% recommended. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    I mainly signed up for Metacritic to review these types of awesome games. DR2 alone is way better than DR1. Mainly on the more variety of weapons, psychopaths, and survivors. I don't know why some people dislike these, well they fail. DR2 deserves more than a 90. Apprently, one reviewer gave it a 40. Apparently, your opinion is idiotic as the game has sold more than 3 million copiesI mainly signed up for Metacritic to review these types of awesome games. DR2 alone is way better than DR1. Mainly on the more variety of weapons, psychopaths, and survivors. I don't know why some people dislike these, well they fail. DR2 deserves more than a 90. Apprently, one reviewer gave it a 40. Apparently, your opinion is idiotic as the game has sold more than 3 million copies worldwide. DR2 is a success even if these reviewers hate it or dislike it, the latter, If you like DR1, buy this game. Nao! Expand
  5. Feb 9, 2011
    9
    love it! its more of the same, but its great and I enjoyed the deversion between more serious games. pretty easy to unlock the secret stuff and get the proper ending. it can be really hard at first, so if your not in the mood to replay this sucker 4-5 times, I would recommend looking up the word "wingman". very happy with this one, if you liked the first game, you will love this.
  6. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    This is my favorite xbox game... EVER. If you are a creative person, then you will love this game. And I've got to be honest, I didn't really like the first dead rising too much. I thought the concept was amazing. But, they needed touch ups on a lot of things. And everything that was bad about the first game is fixed in the second. The psychopaths are much more fun to fight, survivorsThis is my favorite xbox game... EVER. If you are a creative person, then you will love this game. And I've got to be honest, I didn't really like the first dead rising too much. I thought the concept was amazing. But, they needed touch ups on a lot of things. And everything that was bad about the first game is fixed in the second. The psychopaths are much more fun to fight, survivors aren't stupid and you don't have to babysit them when escorting them. And you can't forget the storyline. Its amazing. I havent even beaten the story mode yet because about 1/4 of the way through i decided that I should just restart my game and level up. So I did. And I had so much fun I did another playthrough without even going near the storyline. And in my second one I realized you didn't even have to give zombrex to katey if you don't want to. I thought I would get a game over and no extra pp at the end but nope! Oh and you can't forget the combo weapons. Knives taped to boxing gloves, lightsabers, chainsaws attached to the end of a paddle.. They are amazing. But i've got to say my favorite is the slicycle. (chainsaws attached to each side of a motorcycle). The xbox live portion of the game is alright, but sort of repetitive. The best part is transferring money you get from that to your story mode save. And I havent even tried co-op yet. I still gotta do that. Oh and by the way. It has the best videogame soundtrack ever. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2010
    9
    This is probably one of the top "zombie" games out there, as it has all of the elements which make an entertaining experience - interesting characters, an action-driven story, varied gameplay and "freedom" to explore and destroy the game world. There is also an online element to the game which adds an additional layer of replayability.

    As with the previous Dead Rising, there are issues
    This is probably one of the top "zombie" games out there, as it has all of the elements which make an entertaining experience - interesting characters, an action-driven story, varied gameplay and "freedom" to explore and destroy the game world. There is also an online element to the game which adds an additional layer of replayability.

    As with the previous Dead Rising, there are issues regarding the save system, as well as the sometimes-frustrating controls, but neither detract significantly from the experience.

    Overall the Dead Rising 2 is a significant improvement for the series. It is successfully designed to have significant replay value, and is one of those games you should probably buy rather than rent.
    Expand
  8. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    Seeing as everyone is GREATLY over rating this game or painfully UNDER rating it, I figured I would attempt an objective review.

    The game is good. I spent some time playing the first DR and I found things to be a bit repetitive, maybe it was the scenery, maybe the overall personality of the game, but I seem to LIKE the missions in DR2 a lot more, even though the M.O. of this game is the
    Seeing as everyone is GREATLY over rating this game or painfully UNDER rating it, I figured I would attempt an objective review.

    The game is good. I spent some time playing the first DR and I found things to be a bit repetitive, maybe it was the scenery, maybe the overall personality of the game, but I seem to LIKE the missions in DR2 a lot more, even though the M.O. of this game is the same as the first; exploration, rescuing survivors, killing psychopaths, and destroying zombies in 6 million different ways.

    Good - Combo weapons are a blast! Finding creative ways to dispatch zombies is infinitely more fun than trying to take pictures of them. The story feels a little more character driven, saving your daughter makes a lot more sense than trying to get the BIG scoop. The incredible amount of things to do inside the Campaign, and in the Co-op and the Online mode.

    Bad - The save points and lack of an auto save can be a bit frustrating, although I understand why they weren't included. If you auto saved RIGHT before you were to fail a certain part of the story, you would be stuck and unable to go on and have NO choice but to restart the entire story. A few times I got too into playing and forgot to save and ended up losing quite a few levels and accomplishment, however redoing the sections made for some good fun. Sometimes the clipping on items and zombies can be a bit wonky, but overall the control isn't a problem.

    I would give this game a solid 8.5, but since they don't have that I rounded up to 9. While I did rent this game, after 2 days with it I went out and purchased it, because in the midst of all the other games I am playing right now;Halo:Reach, CoD:W@W, Splinter Cell:Conviction, Borderlands, and R.U.S.E., a little mindless zombie killing is exactly what the Dr. ordered when I get burnt out from shooting/killing/battle planning.

    Don't dismiss this game based on the first, or based on the formula... At the least give it a rent, and check it out, it may not be GOTY but you could do a lot worse. -Bullseye76
    Expand
  9. Oct 14, 2010
    9
    I'm having a blast slaughtering zombies. I don't really get the weak story complaints. There's a plot there, but you don't pickup a game like this expecting classic literature. It is just a framework for splattering zombies. My only complaints are some abysmal load times and the clunky bathroom save system.
  10. Sep 28, 2010
    9
    Dead Rising 1 had plenty of frustrating elements, from the AI to the save system to the controls. To be frank, DR2 fixes all of those but the save system. The save system itself is not terrible, but it takes some time to wrap your brain around it -- and I wouldn't doubt that some people just won't like it. That being said, if you liked the the original DR, DR2 is great. It's not aDead Rising 1 had plenty of frustrating elements, from the AI to the save system to the controls. To be frank, DR2 fixes all of those but the save system. The save system itself is not terrible, but it takes some time to wrap your brain around it -- and I wouldn't doubt that some people just won't like it. That being said, if you liked the the original DR, DR2 is great. It's not a revolution, but it fixes the main issues with the first game and gives you a much larger environment in which to make chaos, while adding some new mechanics. It's the definitive Dead Rising game, no doubt about it, but it's not going to be for everybody. Expand
  11. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    I love this game, the various locations, weapons, vehicles & zombie designs blow me away. I think that this is pretty scary for a video game. I'm glad that this game was released
  12. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    This game does exactly what a sequel is supposed to do. It maintains the great elements of Dead Rising, most importantly the timer based gameplay that keeps things moving at a brisk, challenging, and entertaining pace, loads of replay value, especially for completionists that dont rely on guides. Equally as important it corrects several issues the first game had, with improved "survivor"This game does exactly what a sequel is supposed to do. It maintains the great elements of Dead Rising, most importantly the timer based gameplay that keeps things moving at a brisk, challenging, and entertaining pace, loads of replay value, especially for completionists that dont rely on guides. Equally as important it corrects several issues the first game had, with improved "survivor" A.I. as probably the most signiificant improvement. Some people will be disappointed in the lack of a true "free roam" sandbox-esqe mode, (just the thought of it in this game puts me to sleep, as DR without timers is not DR) but players who appreciated the time crunch of the first game will find this a worthy sequel. Expand
  13. Oct 13, 2010
    9
    This game has EXCELLENT replayable value, and by replayable, I mean, you can't stop playing this game as you just can't hand down your controller. Zombie slaying has never been so epic since the Left 4 Dead series. The psychopath's return, they will feel somewhat familiar with the first, and the missions however can get dull on times but pick up and become more and more epic. The weaponsThis game has EXCELLENT replayable value, and by replayable, I mean, you can't stop playing this game as you just can't hand down your controller. Zombie slaying has never been so epic since the Left 4 Dead series. The psychopath's return, they will feel somewhat familiar with the first, and the missions however can get dull on times but pick up and become more and more epic. The weapons are just amazing as in picking up a sign and bashing a zombies face with it. You will find this game amazing if you enjoyed the first. Pick this game up. Now. Expand
  14. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    This has to be one of the most rewarding games I have ever played, there is tons to do outside of the main story, you can save survivors, fight psychopaths, finding the hidden secrets around fortune city, trying to create all the combo weapons, or just killing zombies, it's just so much fun and you can play it anyway you want to and has high replay value, and the multiplayer is pure goofyThis has to be one of the most rewarding games I have ever played, there is tons to do outside of the main story, you can save survivors, fight psychopaths, finding the hidden secrets around fortune city, trying to create all the combo weapons, or just killing zombies, it's just so much fun and you can play it anyway you want to and has high replay value, and the multiplayer is pure goofy zombie killing fun, my only complaint is that it's easy to get frustrated with the time limit, and it requires a lot of grinding if you want to survive the bosses, but this is a truly unique game I highly recommend, one of the best games of 2010 for sure. Expand
  15. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Game Is SO FUN combining items to make better weapons is awesome story is pretty short coop makes it 10x betterGame Is SO FUN combining items to make better weapons is awesome story is pretty short coop makes it 10x better djjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjsdfhibodsudsuifiusfugfhgfdjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjsdfhibodsudsuifiusfugfhgfdjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjsdfhibodsudsuifiusfugfhgfdjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjsdfhibodsudsuifiusfugfhgfdjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjsdfhibodsudsuifiusfugfhgfdjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjsdfhibodsudsuifiusfugfhgf Expand
  16. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    I liked Dead Rising 2, its was a really good game, but it was some what... empty. There wasnt much to do other than kill zombies and kill sycpaths. The story was a little bit retarded, but still the game was fun i suppose, the Co-op is pretty cool becuase its drop in drop out and that really works. The game really makes killing zombies funny. The multiplayer was okay i suppose, but it wasI liked Dead Rising 2, its was a really good game, but it was some what... empty. There wasnt much to do other than kill zombies and kill sycpaths. The story was a little bit retarded, but still the game was fun i suppose, the Co-op is pretty cool becuase its drop in drop out and that really works. The game really makes killing zombies funny. The multiplayer was okay i suppose, but it was just that boring old gameshow. The character Chuck was a great character to choose, but we all miss Frank , and i cant wait to see him in the next game. the combat for fighting zombies is pretty good, and you can see large impovements since the first game. Expand
  17. Jan 16, 2013
    9
    This is more of what made the original great but without the same kind of challenge. The weapon building is fun, and the story is great, but the survivors are easy to round up if you know where to look, and the online Multiplayer is pointless. The Co-op is all fine and dandy, but I never used it. Also the lack of an infinite mode or anything else like that means that your stuck replayingThis is more of what made the original great but without the same kind of challenge. The weapon building is fun, and the story is great, but the survivors are easy to round up if you know where to look, and the online Multiplayer is pointless. The Co-op is all fine and dandy, but I never used it. Also the lack of an infinite mode or anything else like that means that your stuck replaying the game with no form of variety besides co-op or a friendly game of Terror is reality if you can find 3 other players still touching that trash.

    The game takes steps forwards with the weapons system and much better combat, but takes more steps backwards with pointless Multiplayer and a lowered difficulty level.
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 76
  2. Negative: 1 out of 76
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    74
    Despite the problems, Dead Rising 2 is a fun and satisfying package overall.
  2. Jan 11, 2011
    80
    That being said, critics of the first game are going to find problems with Dead Rising 2, namely the highly difficult boss battles and the poorly structured inventory system.
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    60
    It can be said that the game is made for players to start over, but it doesn't seem like a fair or enjoyable trade-off that a person should be willing to go back to square one of the story mode as a result of experimenting with and enjoying the item-crafting.