Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Rising 2 takes the franchise to a new level of zombie-killing fun with tens of thousands of zombies, the all new gambling paradise of Fortune City to explore and conquer plus a host of new in-game objects that can all be used as deadly weapons to stave off the zombie assault. Dead Rising 2 is set several years after the infamous zombie invasion of Willamette. Unfortunately, the zombie virus was not contained at the conclusion of Dead Rising, spreading unchecked throughout the United States and Dead Rising 2 depicts a country where zombie outbreaks continue to strike. [Capcom] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 76
  2. Negative: 1 out of 76
  1. Oct 21, 2010
    100
    Like Resident Evil 5 and Lost Planet 2, this Dead Rising is no mere comfort food. It's skillfully made-to-order for people who are hip to zombie mythology, who don't think of Doom or Daikatana when they hear the name "Romero".
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    86
    There are a mass of improvements over the first. Especially regarding the survivor AI that was extremely poor in the first game. While the survivors aren't exactly intelligent by any means this time around, they are at least capable of following you and pushing other zombies out of the way while you work your way back to the safe house.
  3. Oct 21, 2010
    85
    Dead Rising 2 is impressive with its carefully crafted plot, new features, and increased scale, making it an interesting option to the rest of the zombie killing games on the market.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    Dead Rising 2 softens some sharp edges of the first chapter and introduces a fistful of new ideas. Despite some technical issues, this is a very good sequel for a very good series... good work Blue Castle!
  5. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    It's tough at times, and some moments will have you gnashing your teeth in frustration in the early stages of the game when Chuck has less health and inventory slots to play with. But stick with it, and soon you'll be sucked into a world of zombies, sinister plots and downright good gory fun.
  6. Oct 21, 2010
    78
    Dead Rising 2 is very similar to the first chapter. Maybe too much. The game is solid and funny, but it's the same experience everyone knows, that comes along with some tecnical issues as well.
  7. Oct 21, 2010
    40
    Hamstrung by clumsy mechanics, this game was unfortunately destined to disappoint; which is a pity when the conceptual framework was so promising.

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 58
  2. Negative: 12 out of 58
  1. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Dead Rising 2 is an odd game to review. Going strictly on an objective, technical look, I'd give the game an 8/10. There are definitely elements that frustrate, chief among them being frequent load times, the lack of spoken dialogue (especially since what *is* there is so good), and the occasional difficultly spike. It's by no means perfect. However, there is something about it, something intangible, that makes me want to play it more than I want to play games that I'd give a 9 or 9.5 to. I guess it's just a pure sense of fun. DR2 is probably one of the most purely FUN games out there. There's something about it that just makes you want to keep playing late into the night. I won't go into too much depth, but here are some highlights: GOOD: 1. Concept. 2. Visuals (By which I mean styles, colors, general feel of the Vegas-like environment). 3. Voice Acting (Seriously, even though this is a silly game, the acting has more depth than any of the Resident Evil games, which were going for a serious tone). 4. Combo Weapons 5. Chuck Greene (What can I say, he's a total badass) 6. Humor 7. The Cast (especially the psychos) 8. So many secrets to be found. 9. Just. Plain. Fun. BAD: 1. Frequent Load Times 2. Visuals (By which I mean textures. I hate looking at people's hands in this game.) 3. Too little voice acting (so many survivors with interesting personalities are just text) 4. Difficulty spikes (You never know when a psycho is going to pop out and kick your ass) While all those negatives are legitimate complaints, ones which I think need to be smoothed out in future iterations of the series, the fact remains that the game is so fun that I end up not caring about the negatives. 100% recommended. Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    This game does exactly what a sequel is supposed to do. It maintains the great elements of Dead Rising, most importantly the timer based gameplay that keeps things moving at a brisk, challenging, and entertaining pace, loads of replay value, especially for completionists that dont rely on guides. Equally as important it corrects several issues the first game had, with improved "survivor" A.I. as probably the most signiificant improvement. Some people will be disappointed in the lack of a true "free roam" sandbox-esqe mode, (just the thought of it in this game puts me to sleep, as DR without timers is not DR) but players who appreciated the time crunch of the first game will find this a worthy sequel. Expand
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    I mainly signed up for Metacritic to review these types of awesome games. DR2 alone is way better than DR1. Mainly on the more variety of weapons, psychopaths, and survivors. I don't know why some people dislike these, well they fail. DR2 deserves more than a 90. Apprently, one reviewer gave it a 40. Apparently, your opinion is idiotic as the game has sold more than 3 million copies worldwide. DR2 is a success even if these reviewers hate it or dislike it, the latter, If you like DR1, buy this game. Nao! Expand
  4. Oct 27, 2010
    7
    I want my 56 euros back ....
    Seriously , i haven't played the first one , but i always thought that it was a great game according to the
    various reviews of the first one . Now i see the second one and i have read the various reviews about this game and they all were good according to the various sites . But now i have bought it and i am astonished by how slow the gameplay really is . The huge amount of loading screens really discouraged me from the very first time i booted up the game, a very stupid save system and a huge amount of zombies confronted against a guy with 4 lives at the beginning. We are nearly force to run back to the safe point of the game after nearly every mission we play . Dispite of all those not working ideas of the game , it doesnt fail on the multiplayer,fun mini games with 3 other guys over the world "good" .
    I really think capcom invested allot in the marketing of that game instead of the gameplay itself. They could have made a much better game of it . And what really pisses me of is all those huge websites that over rated the game for money from capcom . We really had enought of that kind of **** everywhere . Once the website is popular on the net the marketeers pump money into it for their advertisement . And the reviewer gives a core that we cant even compare ...... .
    Sorry capcom this is a fail , sorry IGN go get another reviewer .
    Sorry for my 56 euros , i have the game for 4 day now and i already have enought of it .
    Expand
  5. SFN
    Jan 4, 2011
    7
    the game is wayy better from the first in many different ways, for one you can actually create many weapons by combining things to help you along you journey to fight the undead and survive, you have weapons that are really good and some that were just not needed, the plot of the game is really good, how your trying to survive and save your daughter by getting zombrex which is a drug to help you stay human for 24 hrs. but the bad thing about it is that if you dont find zombrex in time you fail the mission which makes you start over again, and once you use a good weapon alot it breaks and you have to find the parts to make it again which can get frustrating cause your not gonna want to run around the place looking for things just to create a weapon, the game all and all was good and is a totally different approach from the first one, if your a fan of the dead rising series then you will like this game but if your new i say rent it and if you like it get it. Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2010
    5
    The gameplay's terrible. Drop of a 1ft ledge and your guy will delay on the ground for a second. Swing a weapon and your guy will delay for a second. Change clothes and your guy will delay for 5+ seconds. There's also friendly fire which makes fighting zombies with an NPC near impossible. The camera during strong attacks snaps away completely disorientating you.

    They should've made their animation system more fluid and responsive, but as is, it feels like a game from the 90's. It's clunky and horrible, and not worth full price.

    The only good thing is the combo weapons and the environmental graphics.
    Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2010
    0
    The year is 2010 and CAPCOM has just released a game with the same repetitive and tedious controls as it did in 2006. While in 2006 Dead Rising was a new take on the Zombie video game, Dead Rising 2 is a weak attempt at reproducing the greatness of DR... DR2 is fun for a time but it lacks significant innovation and the graphics are definitely outdated. Expand

See all 58 User Reviews