• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Aug 8, 2006
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 472 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 472

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 21, 2010
    6
    I almost broke my xbox in rage a couple of times during this game. The first when I realised that I could only save once and second when I realised that infinity mode or suvival (the last one you get) has no save. WTF!!!!!!!!!! However i got to kill zombies in some of the most horrific ways possible. Ment to be played through more than once as saving all suvivors is practically impossible when you're level 1. saving suvivors is strangely addictive although the AI is so thick it makes George Bush seem like Stephen Hawkins. I hate the suvivors more than I hate the zombies and the physcopaths are completely nonsensical (which is why they are physcos I suppose). Fun game but it has some biblical flaws. Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2012
    2
    One of the most frustrating games ever created. The idea starts out so well. Stuck in a mall with all sorts of weapons to kill ZOMBIES. HOW did Capcom RUIN such a simple concept? Let's see the list: Horrible human A.I. (The zombies are smarter. SERIOUSLY.), unfair psychopath battles (Who are immune to zombie attacks), a horrible save system, a horrible melee system, worthless story, a frustrating timed aspect, bad vehicle control, strange and awkward animations, a cult group that appears later and kills the feel of the game, the list goes on and on and on. It gets a two for impressive graphics and the gameplay can be enjoyable at times, but it is all ruined by so many things. Expand
  3. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    i had alot of fun with this game and have spent many house just sand boxing it trying to find fun ways to kill zombies which this game gives you alot of ways to do it. the story is pretty good having it start off as you a photographer being helicoptered into a city to try and find out whats going on. you are limeted to being only inside a mall . it would have been nice if you had a whole city to play in. there are alot of wepons and i do mean alot . the save feature is abit of a chore and i think they could have done better . also the game is pretty hard at first it will probubly take you awhile to figure things out. i also wish they had just a free mode where you could just have fun killing zombies with no restrictions . all in all i found dead rising a real fun and great sand boxing game . if they had added 4 player co op this probubly would have been a 10 . valve should take notice at alot of the things that DR has done so when they ever make a L4D 3 game they can make it so its not a short repetitive piece of crap. Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2010
    9
    While Dead Rising isn't perfect, the story should have been optional, as it was generic and frustrating at times, the core gameplay-going round a shopping mall whilt murdering zombies, is a real treat and a lot of fun. There are countless ways too off the fiends, smashing a plant pot over there heads, running them through with a chainsaw- the ace katana. The endless possibilities make it essential.A must-have. Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2011
    2
    So whats good about this game? Absolutely nothing. I bought this game because I am a zombie game fan, but this game is just plain corny and dumb. I thought 10 bucks for the game was a good deal. Now I see why it goes for 10 bucks. Because it sucks....For one, its EXTREMELY hard to save the game. At the beginning of the game, there is one save point that you have to go to. Within the first 5 minutes, you are up against a gun battle with some guy who is extremely hard to kill, jumping all over the place, and throwing bombs at you, all while you are trying to get the aiming set up to shoot the guy...which, by the way, the aiming SUCKS too....meanwhile this cell phone in the corner is constantly rining while youare trying to kill the guy which is totally annoying...by then you are dead from a bomb.....then you lose all progress and have to start from scratch all over again. The plot is rediculous, the animation sucks, the characters suck......there is nothing good about this game. Yeah picking up random things to hit at zombies, thats about the most fun you will have in this game. After dieing about 5 times in a row, after having to go through the process of starting from scratch, since its almost impossible to save....I gave up.....what a waste of 10 bucks. Sad excuse for a zombie game Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2012
    7
    There are a lot of things I hate about this game, most of all being saving civilians. It was just frustratingly hard sometimes. Second of all, Otis, you motherf*cker. It came to a point that I wasn't yelling at the game but i was yelling at otis for calling me so much. But on the other hand killing zombies is unbelievably fun in dead rising. There are hundreds of weapons to choose from and thats really where i had the most fun, just not worrying about the story killin' lots of zombies. But the story was alright too. Expand
  7. Apr 21, 2012
    4
    I agree with some positive reviews given, but this game is very frustrating, repetitive movements, in spite of not having time to solve some secundary missions, the victims that you rescues are very idiots, having that be repetitively by pressing the y button to call them, aiming is horrible, I do not recommend.
  8. Dec 25, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Apparently, people don't see good games when they play it. The main objective of the game is to remain alive inside the zombie-infested mall for at least three days, after which help will arrive via chartered helicopter. Time in the game passes twelve times faster than real-time (i.e. one day in-game is two hours in real time); therefore, the game automatically concludes after six hours of gameplay when time runs out. In addition to this primary objective, the player is free to choose whether or not to pursue any of the game's secondary objectives such as rescuing survivors or defeating Psychopaths, normal human beings who have gone violently insane, usually as a result of stress caused by the apparent apocalypse. These "psychopaths", as the game calls them collectively, often hold human hostages who can be rescued for large bonuses, as well as powerful weapons or items which reappear each time the player returns to the place where he or she defeated the psychopath, thereby allowing players to collect multiple copies of the same Psychopath's weapon. As Frank West, the player attempts to uncover the truth behind the zombie epidemic by completing "case files" that reveal the central game plot as they are completed. Completing case files by accomplishing specific tasks or by being "in the right place at the right time" to reveal cutscenes.

    Dead Rising does not prevent players from ignoring all missions, because the game has multiple endings, including endings that require no missions to be completed. Once players have passed a certain point at the beginning of the game they have complete free rein and can do whatever they please: save or kill other survivors, wander aimlessly through the mall, sampling food and trying on clothes, or simply kill zombies. Several of the game's 50 Achievements even reward this method of play. The "Zombie Genocide" achievement, for example, requires the killing of at least 53,594 zombies in a single play-through and then completing the game with any ending; a task that has proven so far to be impossible to do while also completing the main storyline Cases, due to time constraints. A counter at the bottom right corner of the screen helps the player keep track of how many zombies have been killed.

    The setting of Dead Rising, the fictional Willamette Parkview Mall, is modeled after a stereotypical American mall with multiple floors and several themed sections. The mall includes a roller coaster, supermarket, movie theater, park, and an underground maintenance tunnel system (all filled with zombies). There are six main sections to the mall, each with a variety of shops, each filled with objects which can be used as weapons or to improve Frank's health.

    Dead Rising is a great game but the save point and AI ruin it. I play this all the time and it's fun to play all time. Infinity Mode is super fun to play and overall the game is excellent except for the items I just discussed, the save point and AI.
    Expand
  9. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    I have to confess that I am a huge fan of zombie films and games so it goes without saying that I was literally jumping for joy when I first got this game (I was young, stupid and carefree back then, before the weight of the world crushed me into the man I am today) but this game doesn't really play out like a zombie film (well, the opening sort of does but not really).

    The overall plot
    goes like this: You're Frank West, photojournalist (who's covered wars, you know?) and you've been flown out to a sleepy little town in Colorado to investigate strange goings on (said strange goings on happens to be the undead) and must now fight to survive, find out what's behind the zombies and take amusing and erotic photos of the zombies and survivors.

    If you want you can completely bypass the plot, ignore it completely and just go on a psychotic axe murdering spree, try on women's/children's clothing or choose to play hero and rescue everyone (it's completely down to you), however, the game will end in 72 hours (6 hours in reality) and your actions will reflect the ending you get (of which there happen to be a few).

    Gameplay is extremely fun, you just go around and kill zombies with anything you can get your journalistic hands on (which turns out to be quite a lot, my personal favourite is the electric guitar) but for some this can get boring after a while and the side missions are held back by the fact that the survivor AI seems to be stupider than the zombies (how exactly did these people survive again?) and said missions tend to have somewhat unforgiving time limits later on in the game (which can be extremely annoying if you're trying for the Saint achievement), this is the kind of game you can kill a few hours with but not the kind of game you can get immersed in for days and weeks (the short length of the game only underlines this fact).

    Some people have complained about the difficulty curve but I honestly never had a problem in this regard, this is a common sense game, when you are at level 1 you're not supposed to be running into a horde of zombies, guitar in hand, screaming 'FREEEEEDOOOOM!' before wailing on them. You're facing off against the undead with a journalist, you are not a kung fu master/space marine, you need weapons, healing items, a few levels under your belt and to generally be ready to deal with them before you stand a chance (remember, how many times in zombie films do the protagonists just walk up to a dead guy and punch his face in?). Another thing to take into consideration is that there are obviously fewer safe zones in this game than in Grand Theft Auto or Saints Row (where enemies won't attack until provoked and come in groups of between 1-10), it would seem weird and out of place for the majority of the game world to be safe to traverse in Dead Rising, it's supposed to be a dangerous and life threatening place to be.

    Overall, I would recommend Dead Rising to anyone who wants something to pass an evening, zombie fans (UNITE!) or people who find the idea of killing zombies with electric guitars while wearing a pretty pink dress and a lego head to be something they could have fun with.
    Expand
  10. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    This game is a must own for every Zombie lover, there is tons to do, you can save survivors, fight psychopaths, and just run around and kill zombies with almost everything in the mall, sounds perfect right? not quite, there are some controls issues when using guns, saving survivors is a pain do to the fact that the AI is retarded (they will actually stand in the middle of a crowd of zombies and not move or even try to fight back), some of the bosses are overly difficult, the story is as cheesy as it gets, and it can be extremely frustrating, do to the fact that in order to survive you have to level grind in order to gain access to more inventory space, health, and special moves and stat boosts, so you really have to plan ahead, manage your time, health, and inventory space wisely, so you actually have to use a lot of strategy and honestly I think that's what I loved about it, I've also heard complaints about the fact that it only has one save file but that never really caused any problems, and that everything is timed which is part of what makes this game unique, and adds a lot of needed tension, without the time the game would be too easy, honestly I loved this game, while it could have used some checkpoints and it feels like the game is working against you at times, it's just so much fun you just have to come back grind trough more levels, and take on those tough bosses, and save those retarded survivors, and smash the Zombies skulls in some extremely hilarious ways, if you haven't played this game yet I recommend it, it's a ton of fun, has HIGH replay value, and after you beat the story you get a fun survival like mode, honestly I know it sounded like I hated this game, but I didn't, I actually loved it! it's one of the most unique games you'll ever play. Expand
  11. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    The First Dead Rising, and what a game that was. Excellent gameplay, other than the forced time limit. Yes, it's true. You wont be able to complete the game on first try. We've all been there. But the (almost) free exploring makes this game, with all it's weapons that are avaible to crush and kill zomies, an epic journey through Zombie Hell.
  12. Mar 12, 2013
    6
    In pursuit of the story of a lifetime journalist Frank West heads to a small town only to find himself trapped inside a mall surrounded by zombies. The core gameplay itself is undeniably fun, given free rein of the entire mall there is an almost limitless variety of ways to dispatch your undead (and sometimes very much alive) foe. Unfortunately the game is let down by some strange design choices. Perhaps the most questionable of these is the controversial ‘real-time’ system that sees events taking place at specific times whether you are there or not. Since there is only one save slot it is quite possible, as I did, to leave yourself insufficient time to reach an event and therefore you are unable to continue with the main story unless you restart from the beginning. The boss fights, particularly the very last one, are also rather dull and unimaginative despite some unique character designs. Had the developers allowed players greater freedom to take things at their own pace this could have been a truly great game, as it is Dead Rising is a fun but flawed title. Expand
  13. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Great game. The only problem I found was that you can't manually save the game whenever you want. Basically you have to plan out your attack & if you fail just one part then you start all over. Other than that its a pretty challenging game but in a good way. Dead Rising is a great concept for a zombie game & it works well; controls, sound, gameplay. This was definitely a great first installment for the Dead Rising franchise & this one really makes the gamer appreciate what they have changed & how they have progressed. Expand
  14. Mar 11, 2012
    7
    Plenty of fun moments but also really frustrating at times because the game has a lot of odd quirks. Don't take it too seriously, just run about having fun for a while and, when you've levelled up your profile a decent amount, start again and play through the main story. NB. It's impossible to complete everything or save everyone, so don't bother trying.
  15. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    Initially I felt the same about the save problem but as an old-timer I remember having to 'earn'saves in the 90's, so I began to appreciate the challenge. This is a fairly challenging game and I appreciate it as such. Sometimes I want to wander around Oblivion and sometimes I want a set goal with a lot of difficulties in the way of achieving it. The enjoyment lies in discovery of the weapons, items, skills, and lets not forget the survivors. Structurally there is a narrative divided into sections involving you being at a certain timeand place to advance the story. Normally I hate being pushed around like that, but I enjoyed the game so much I went along with it. Expand
  16. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    A fun enough game, a humorous take on George A. Romero's Dawn of the Dead. It has an interesting, if farcical, storyline and some nicely developed characters. To start with the vastness of the mall and the ability to kill zombies with pretty much anything that comes to hand is buckets of fun. However, the repetitiveness of trekking from one side of the mall to the other, hacking n' slashing your way through wave after wave of zombie respawns becomes tiresome and monotonous. The limiting saves, difficult physics and absolutely retarded NPC survivors detract from the overall feel of the game and the humour is soon replaced by frustration. A decent button basher over all, but the game feels too contrived, as if its forcing you to enjoy its bloody spectacle Expand
  17. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    EXCELLENT. Though it can be the most frustrating thing on the planet, level up a lot and you'll be fine. Even the story was completely brilliant, along with the LOADS of weapons. This game is great and especially if you've had a bad day and want to beat up a bunch of stuff.
  18. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Kiling hordes of zombies with whatever weapon you can get your hands on is so much fun. Breaking into stores and stealing inventory to use to kill said zombies, also fun. The whole concept of the game is highly unique, and with all of the bosses, this game is a tight experience. The only hinderence to the experience is the time system, not that i dont like the idea, its just that the amount of time you get lights a fire under your a** and doesnt allow you alot of time for saving people, fighting bosses, and exploring the mall. Expand
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    This game was really fun when I first got it because I liked hitting zombies with baseball bats and bowling balls, but then it got really boring really fast. The storyline is weak, kill zombies and find survivors for 3 days, then get picked up by a helocopter. The bosses are extremely difficult to defeat and they should've had a difficulty setting. Dont buy this game it only entertained me for around 24 hours. Expand
  20. Aug 7, 2013
    4
    I wanted so badly to love this game because I think I can see what the developers were trying to do. I struggled and hung in there to get as much out of the game as I could but I was afraid to save for fear of being stuck without enough time to get to the next mission and sure enough at the very end of the game I didn't leave enough time and had to start all over again. I am going to try one more time but I am not having fun and am mad as hell. You have been warned. Expand
  21. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    I love this game zombies in mall wave of wave of zombie psycho enemy saving innocent people from zombies and psycho enemy

    doing mission from getting food saving enemy finding out who enemy is!!!!!

    i love this game so much i finished it 5 times
  22. May 28, 2012
    6
    Game is okay, controls are frustrating tho.
  23. Oct 27, 2012
    7
    7/10 (For patient gamers and fans of zombies only)
    This game IS very frustrating but after giving it a lot of time I found it to be quite good, as I was essentially playing the video game version of my favourite film!

    There were so many annoying game play mechanics that were unnecessary and stopped this being a very good game.
  24. Aug 27, 2013
    6
    Its a very good game, with great moments, like when the zombies stole the car you need, the phsycopats in the car respawn or when you have a zombie in front of and you try to cut with the sword and you cut the air.
    Its not a bad game, do the time your enemy its a great idea, but a very lot of things must be change...
  25. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    Back when this was in Tips & Tricks at launch I wanted this game and when I finally got it and played it in 2008, I wasn't disappointed. The A.I. is aggravating, and the shooting mechanic leaves a lot to be desired, but beating a zombie to death with a baseball bat or a bench feels so right. This game has a great story and while getting the true ending avoided my grasps for a week due to the game not giving any actual direction for it, the ending left you wanting more. The Infinite mode is one of the most fun and irritatingly difficult challenges in gaming, and when I reached 7 days of survival scraping through zombies and bosses with my "secret unlock-able weapon" I earned the proudest 20 game score in my collection. The Achievements range from tedious and complex to something you really can't miss, but all are worth the same amount which is a blessing and a curse. This game isn't to hard to beat, but to unlock every last achievement in this game is quite possibly the most difficult challenge you'll find on the Xbox 360 outside of successfully getting a match made online in Smack down vs. Raw 2007 Expand
  26. Feb 7, 2013
    8
    The game does have its flaws and is such a blatant rip off of Dawn of the Dead, but still a ton of fun to play. I would have scored it higher, but the annoying A.I. of the survivors you are trying to rescue, does get tiring after a while. But, that aspect is manageable if you're smart enough to think around it. One big criticism is the last" boss" in the game, he is just so annoying and requires a ridiculous level of precision to beat "fairly." Overall: This is the defining Zombie apocalypse game. I don't think there ever will be a game that defines the genre better. I loved this game when I first played it, and I still do to this day. Expand
  27. ewm
    Feb 4, 2013
    10
    dead rising it very very good game only on xbox 360.Which brought in the early days of xbox 360 huge gulp of air, an interesting plot, many ways to the massacre of zombies and black humor.DISADVANTAGES- is, but for me they are not very large, sometimes very high complexity because that is all under the mission in real time saver is that some of b-movie-when the old woman pushes a few guys that would save a dog. Expand
  28. Mar 6, 2013
    7
    I originally gave this game a really negative review, accompanied by a really low score (1). I put the game down for a week or two, intending to trade it in. One day I decided to give it a fresh try. I guess the second time was the charm! It's pretty fun for what it is: a mostly plotless, fairly mindless zombie-killing festival. The gunplay still somewhat annoys me, but changing the directional setting to "aim in direction that camera is facing" rather than "direction that character is facing" helped. If you like zombies, grinding, over-the-top gore, and New Game as a feature, this might be a game for you. Really, though it's more like New Game given the amount of times you'll find yourself wanting to start from the beginning again. The save spots are few and far between. Often I have found myself forgetting to save after gaining a couple of levels, getting swarmed and dying only to be left having to choose between loading the last save and losing my progress or starting back at the beginning, but two levels higher and stronger than I was when I last saved. I recently ended up getting Dead Rising 2 from XBox Live On Demand as well as Dead Rising 2: Case Zero from Arcade, so I guess you could say I've seen the light and I'm now a believer! Expand
  29. May 28, 2013
    9
    When I was looking over the reviews of this game, I discovered alot of people wanted to play this game for all the wrong reasons. How to decide what to expect from a game and how it should be played before even trying it forces you to a negative experience...
    Firstly, the game is really stressful and that is (in my opinion) a good thing. It gives the game a good replayability, because you
    would want to preform better then the first time you play the game.
    Another thing people expected the game to be was a mall full of zombies and you could just go crazy with all stuff found inside. Well this is somewhat true, and if you don't care about the story that is exactly what the game is so it shouldn't be a disappointment.
    I recently replayed this game from the beginning and then followed by a game+, and it made me realize just how fun the gameplay is and of course how frustrating it is to fail a mission because of the timed story line (It forces the player to think and plan for the upcoming storyline, which I think is a good thing)
    Expand
  30. May 29, 2013
    8
    Dead Rising was the game that introduced me to my love of zombies and I will always forever uphold it as one of my favorite video games ever. The storyline is your average zombie apocalypse setting, but they do stuff a bit differently when it comes to zombies and what not. It's a little frustrating at first to enjoy the game, because you start off at a low level and you're very weak, but once you level up your character and get more familiar with its stiff controls, it makes for a fun experience. Highly recommended. Expand
  31. Apr 2, 2014
    8
    This game is a must have for zombie lovers. This game is probably the best zombie game I have ever played. The mall is like your sick fun house for you to run around have lots of gory fun. I have heared a lot of people shun this game for the timer it has. I think the timer is a good elememt and keeps the game at a fast but not too fast of a pace. The problem I have is the gun controls. That is the only reason this isnt a 10. The gun controls have got me killed and have caused me tk rage many times. But apart from that great game to have if this is your thing Expand
  32. Jan 2, 2014
    4
    I found this game fun for the first week but it went downhill from there. Forgetting to save was a BIG problem especially after of hours of play, which led me to think that they (the developers) never had enough time to implant an auto save after each mission. Good game but gets boring after a while after you get used to the cheesiness.
  33. Jan 11, 2014
    4
    I'm not sure how to take Dead Rising, I will start by saying I didn't complete this game, I found killing zombies gets a little boring after a short time but saying that I do remember this game, I remember it for zombie killing being fun unlike left 4 dead or dead island, also I recently bought the second game with no intention of completing it, I bought it just to have fun killing zombies. I don't really understand modern pop cultures obsession with zombies, between Dawn of the Dead and Shaun of the Dead all the story that can be had out of the zombies has been extracted. So the story was something I was not interested in from the start, also I found the boss fights incredibly hard but maybe I'm just crap. At the end of the day I see saw real potential within this game and I think it can appeal to a wide audience who would be more patient with it than me and enjoy the story. I do recommend having a Dead Rising title in your 360 collection (for the right price, like under £5) even if it's just to pick up now and then just to cave in some zombie skull but despite the game being memorable and fun it's all very short lived and is only worth playing in 20 minute spurts every blue moon so I can't say it belongs with any gaming greats, I can't even say it's good just average. Expand
  34. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    " Awesome even better the COD black ops zombies". njrhnrehbfhyufgiryehgregfbyuhbfgrehjfgbrufyguerufbuyhybfrybufrudcdefcbeybdeydfbetdgewvbdewfgvdegdvegdvegdv
  35. Jun 18, 2014
    8
    When it comes to killing zombies, no one knows it better than Capcom, the makers of Resident Evil. Unlike Resident Evil, Dead Rising is an action game, with zombies that are much easier to kill but travel in great numbers. So if you ever dreamt of slaughtering thousands of zombies in a mall using everything from plotted plants and frying pans to baseball bats and assault rifles, Dead Rising is all that and a whole lot more. The game has thousands of brainless zombies to mutilate, hundreds of usable items, completely over-the-top gore and is by far one of the most imaginative horror games ever created on Capcom.

    You play as Frank West, a freelance photojournalist who has been to a lot of war zones around the world. However none of that has prepared him for what he sees in a small town of Willamette, Colorado. After being tipped off about the unfolding events, Frank charters a helicopter and flies into town to get images that could take his career sky-high. What he does find is a town overflowing with zombies desecrating everything around them. After being a witness to a scene in which a woman is thrown over the side of a building, Frank instructs the pilot to drop him off on the roof of a local shopping mall. It will take the game 72 game hours for him to figure out what is actually going on before his pilot returns to pick him up. So it's up to you to find the truth, save as many survivors as possible and get back to the chopper to catch your ride home.

    Make sure you gather Prestige Points (PP) when you start up, because Frank's run is as slow as a snail. Leveling up will not only give Frank more speed but also increase his attack damage, throwing distance and melee attack power, helping him to survive. Taking pictures can be a good hobby and you can also level up through Prestige Points by taking interests shots. After having taken a picture you'll be graded on the number of faces in it and the type of shot taken, be it brutal image of a human being torn apart, a dramatic shot like the reunion of the two survivors on the roof at the beginning of the game, or an erotic shot, such as pictures of some of the female character's assets. However, you tend to get so drawn into the zombie-killing parts of the game that you forget to take many pictures.

    Skills can also be gained by reading books that teach you everything from combat to driving a vehicle.

    Another way to earn experience is by accepting missions. Throughout the course of the game, Otis the janitor will call you every 30 seconds – at least that's what it felt like – to give you updates about what is happening in various areas of the mall. The updates Otis offers give Frank many advantages, such as being able to dodge large groups of his undead friends. By finding survivors and returning them to a secure room, Frank earns experience and levels up faster rather than exclusively sticking to the story missions.

    Once you have found and convinced your survivor(s) to follow you, you have a few additional commands at your disposal. You can have Frank command any followers to pick up speed, or you can command them to head to a specific place. You can also equip a few survivors with pistols, axes and just about anything that you can get you bloody hands on. The game includes a large array of murderous tools and Frank can use dozens of objects as weapons against the swarm of zombies. The sports shop will give you stuff like baseball bats and golf clubs, the hardware store offers sickles and chainsaws, and you'll find a variety of firearms at the gun shop. Every item has its own style of attack. While you can smash a zombie using a sledgehammer, you'll also find that a guitar not only has a space-clearing 360-degrees arc, but also hits multiple victims in its path.

    The most unique aspect of Dead Rising is the missions. Each part of the main story is broken down into cases that need to be solved. Since all the case files are connected, failing to complete them will hinder your progress and the trail might just go cold. Making your way through the game is a little tougher than it sounds; largely due to the fact that the game has a frustrating save system and time-based gameplay that will require players to replay large portions of the game repeatedly. You are only allowed to save one game at a time, as any save will overwrite the previous one.

    The overall sound effects in Dead Rising are truly disgusting in the best possible way. The sound of each weapon is created to perfection and some cut through the zombie with an amazing gushing sound. Every weapon makes a totally different sound and each one sounds exactly right…this is what I loved most about this game.

    Dead Rising is not meant for everyone, as it includes tons of violence and gore, but the endless number of possibilities in this game makes it a wonderful addition to almost every Xbox 360 owner's library.
    Expand
  36. Jun 26, 2014
    8
    Fantastic game,one of the greatest zombie/sandbox games.The only thing I'n not really a fan of is the clock mechanic, as it becomes a pain to get some of the achievements.
  37. Aug 17, 2014
    8
    Difficult, eye-catching, freaky, and addictive, Dead Rising is a unique video game that offers players freedom. The storyline becomes more serious the further you go, increasing the much-needed tension for an effective survival horror. Of course, this game isn't perfect; there are instances where bosses can combo you, often resulting in an unfair death if you Life limit is low. Online co-op is missing, but being so fond of its content, this is not an issue for the time. Overall, Dead Rising isn't for everyone, but for those who crave a tough, satisfying zombie game, pick this up. (I also wish for this game to be re-made to correct it's flaws.) Expand
  38. Jul 31, 2014
    6
    This game is great, and is entertaining to no end. Is it perfect? Well........ It's controls bring down the experience, and on numerous occasions, I've died due to not mastering its clumsy nature. It is worth playing, but its little brother is more polished, and funnier than its older counterpart.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. 80
    A relentlessly inventive game worth the price of entry...The experience is flawed -- some might say hampered -- by the save system and curiously designed game structure. But whether you 'get it' or not, Dead Rising nevertheless provides a wealth of secrets and mysteries for both eager gamers and the adventuresome.
  2. A unique, inventive, and fun game that youll most likely want to play and own due to its huge amount of replayability from random slash-a-thons to side quests and item discovery; you can spend a whole lot of time in this game. Then again if the save system and RPG leveling system turn you off you might be better off renting it first.
  3. The astounding level of variety that is packed into the game is wonderful to see.