Dead Rising Xbox 360

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Aug 8, 2006
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 512 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 512
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Syc
    Nov 9, 2006
    6
    A genuinely cool idea coupled with a very slick coat of polish and fun zombie bashing should make an excellent game. Unfortunately some very very bad design decisions render the game horribly irritating and at times almost unplayable. Not even close to being as good as Capcoms own horror masterpiece, Resident Evil 4.
  2. IanR.
    May 9, 2008
    6
    This is the first game for Xbox 360 that I wanted and it ended up being the most disappointing. It does have fun game play but one killer flaw caused me to hate this game. The save system sucks. Even though I gave this a 6 you should still give it a try though.
  3. JohnF.
    Dec 10, 2008
    7
    As the XBox Addict review states, this could have been one of the greatest games of all time. Instead, it's an odd mix of a really cool idea and some really bad implementation. There's certainly enough to warrant giving the game a try as using anything you can get your hands on to kill zombies is worth the price alone. But the frustration factor brought on by the horrible save As the XBox Addict review states, this could have been one of the greatest games of all time. Instead, it's an odd mix of a really cool idea and some really bad implementation. There's certainly enough to warrant giving the game a try as using anything you can get your hands on to kill zombies is worth the price alone. But the frustration factor brought on by the horrible save system, the barely readable text, the moronic friendly A.I. of the people you are trying to rescue, and the lousy boss fights is almost too much to overcome. It's a testament to the strength of the game's premise and the fun of killing zombies that Dead Rising is (barely) able to overcome all that. This game should have been an all-timer... I guess there's always hope that Dead Rising 2 can clean up the problems and deliver what Dead Rising 1 was truly capable of. Expand
  4. BradD.
    Sep 23, 2006
    5
    Average at best, this game could have been so much better had Capcom fixed some of the stupid flaws, the save system for example, it should atleast save automatically before each boss fight, rescuing people is also made all the more harder thanks to some god awful A.I., they'll just stand there sometimes screaming 'help!' when they could just run to you before the zombies Average at best, this game could have been so much better had Capcom fixed some of the stupid flaws, the save system for example, it should atleast save automatically before each boss fight, rescuing people is also made all the more harder thanks to some god awful A.I., they'll just stand there sometimes screaming 'help!' when they could just run to you before the zombies get anywhere near them, the game just gets tedious, it's just go here, get this/do this, come back, extremely boring, what a waste of money, Dead Rising had alot of potential but thanks to Capcom messing up stupidly in some places (You can't even read the text on an SDTV which most people have, go figure) it fall flat on its face, in the end the game is more frustrating than fun, what a shame. Expand
  5. HeinzD.
    Aug 13, 2006
    5
    A superb game marred down by a rediculous save system, virtually impossible to read text, and repetive missions. The question is, how did a company with the talent to make such an amazing looking game overlook such simple details? All of you in here that gave it a 10 have to admit that it's absurd being in an ocean of zombies and having your phone ring and while you answere it you A superb game marred down by a rediculous save system, virtually impossible to read text, and repetive missions. The question is, how did a company with the talent to make such an amazing looking game overlook such simple details? All of you in here that gave it a 10 have to admit that it's absurd being in an ocean of zombies and having your phone ring and while you answere it you have to dodge zombies and try to read the text that looks like the "small print" on contracts, not to mention that it scrolls by extremely fast. c'mon that is absolutely unnecessary. Before you put me down answer me why they did that? Expand
  6. LukeD.
    Apr 9, 2008
    6
    This game, while potentially fun can only be described in one word; tiring. The repetitive combat, tedious missions, frustrating save system make it a huge disappointment. Nothing in this game is more annoying than being forced to spend 15 minutes looking for a save point before being able to turn the console off.
  7. Feb 14, 2012
    7
    There are a lot of things I hate about this game, most of all being saving civilians. It was just frustratingly hard sometimes. Second of all, Otis, you motherf*cker. It came to a point that I wasn't yelling at the game but i was yelling at otis for calling me so much. But on the other hand killing zombies is unbelievably fun in dead rising. There are hundreds of weapons to choose from andThere are a lot of things I hate about this game, most of all being saving civilians. It was just frustratingly hard sometimes. Second of all, Otis, you motherf*cker. It came to a point that I wasn't yelling at the game but i was yelling at otis for calling me so much. But on the other hand killing zombies is unbelievably fun in dead rising. There are hundreds of weapons to choose from and thats really where i had the most fun, just not worrying about the story killin' lots of zombies. But the story was alright too. Expand
  8. MarcA.
    Jul 12, 2007
    5
    Great potential but the controls are beyond annoying. If the programmers spent an extra week on this game just changing the save system and making the controls decent, it would be great. Unfortunately they didn't do this and as much fun as this game could be, the frustration involved in playing it overshadows everything else.
  9. Sep 21, 2010
    6
    I almost broke my xbox in rage a couple of times during this game. The first when I realised that I could only save once and second when I realised that infinity mode or suvival (the last one you get) has no save. WTF!!!!!!!!!! However i got to kill zombies in some of the most horrific ways possible. Ment to be played through more than once as saving all suvivors is practically impossibleI almost broke my xbox in rage a couple of times during this game. The first when I realised that I could only save once and second when I realised that infinity mode or suvival (the last one you get) has no save. WTF!!!!!!!!!! However i got to kill zombies in some of the most horrific ways possible. Ment to be played through more than once as saving all suvivors is practically impossible when you're level 1. saving suvivors is strangely addictive although the AI is so thick it makes George Bush seem like Stephen Hawkins. I hate the suvivors more than I hate the zombies and the physcopaths are completely nonsensical (which is why they are physcos I suppose). Fun game but it has some biblical flaws. Expand
  10. Alex
    Aug 16, 2006
    5
    Fun, but not good for much other than a rainy weekend rental. it gets too repetitive too fast, and the survivors are generally huge pain in the asses. the game does have some great humor moments, such as the lugie "weapon", and the children's store, which you can change into a set of very fashonable childrens clothes. but, even all of this can't save Dead Rising from getting Fun, but not good for much other than a rainy weekend rental. it gets too repetitive too fast, and the survivors are generally huge pain in the asses. the game does have some great humor moments, such as the lugie "weapon", and the children's store, which you can change into a set of very fashonable childrens clothes. but, even all of this can't save Dead Rising from getting boring really fast. Expand
  11. May 28, 2012
    6
    Game is okay, controls are frustrating tho.
  12. TimN.
    Aug 11, 2006
    7
    Great rental, but not much else. Because of the boring escort side-missions, poorly executed mission and save systems, and having to restart the game over and over again to either beat all of the Cases or level up...it's the simple things that make this game suffer, and keep it from having me rate it higher. C'mon, Capcom; get it right.
  13. DavidS.
    Aug 19, 2006
    7
    Great, original, open-ended game., with one glaring problem! I was reading people gripe about the save system. I thought they were probably over-reacting. They're not! I just had to start the game over because I saved too close to a deadline. There was no warning from the game! That's completely ridiculous! Having to check the ingame watch every minute is retarted. Could they at Great, original, open-ended game., with one glaring problem! I was reading people gripe about the save system. I thought they were probably over-reacting. They're not! I just had to start the game over because I saved too close to a deadline. There was no warning from the game! That's completely ridiculous! Having to check the ingame watch every minute is retarted. Could they at least of put the game time on the screen?! In the game booklet they explain how to save multiple times by using an external source. Jesus! Why couldn't they just give us a few more save slots! Expand
  14. HarryL.
    Sep 25, 2006
    6
    I've played better games. It is quite fun but there just isn't enough to make it a classic. The AI is pretty bad and that save system, it's crap!
  15. TomK.
    Jan 4, 2008
    7
    I'm a huge fan of zombie anything, and I was the first person to pick it up at Gamestop. At first i was blown away, I loved it, about a bajillion zombies and weapons that made me laugh and/or feel like a bamf. But then i started noticing things. The main thing was the aiming system, it's pretty terrible, and the fact that you can't move while firing makes it worse. Another I'm a huge fan of zombie anything, and I was the first person to pick it up at Gamestop. At first i was blown away, I loved it, about a bajillion zombies and weapons that made me laugh and/or feel like a bamf. But then i started noticing things. The main thing was the aiming system, it's pretty terrible, and the fact that you can't move while firing makes it worse. Another thing, those convicts in the jeep...why won't they die? The last thing, for the love of our vision, why couldn't they make the type bigger? I do enjoy this game, a lot, but i could never push myself to complete it. It's a shame. Expand
  16. TomG.
    Aug 11, 2006
    6
    Lots of interesting weapons make killing zombies a blast.escorting absent minded npc's through a sea of zombies isn't quite as fun (it sucks).to save the game you have to find a bathroom or security room. while this is an interesting approach, it is a continual pain when you get killed right after completing a mission.
  17. MikeE.
    Aug 14, 2006
    5
    Could have been the best game of the year, but the save system is awful, and pretty much ruins the game. One save? W. T. F.? Note to developers: Stop using crippled save systems to increase the difficulty level of your games! Difficulty should be determined by game play, storyline and skill -- NOT by when I need to answer the door or let the dog out. It is ridiculous to have to either Could have been the best game of the year, but the save system is awful, and pretty much ruins the game. One save? W. T. F.? Note to developers: Stop using crippled save systems to increase the difficulty level of your games! Difficulty should be determined by game play, storyline and skill -- NOT by when I need to answer the door or let the dog out. It is ridiculous to have to either pause the game and let my Xbox run for hours and hours, or to have to keep playing for 20 minutes until I can find a save point. Awful! And while the game begs for exploration, you can't. Because you can't risk running out of time for a critical mission. Multiple saves would give you a lot of freedom to do things like play a game where you only use your hands; play a game where you put as many masks on zombies as you can; play a game where you try to rescue as many people as possible, etc. Not being able to explore and experiment without essentially ruining the main plotline is AWFUL! Note to Capcom: I hate you. I will hate you until you release a patch for this game that offers multiple save. Get it together! Expand
  18. BobS.
    Sep 1, 2006
    7
    I'll try to keep this short and sweet. The good: Violent, lots of weapons, lots of clothing, lots of cool combat moves to learn and a level up system that I love...not to mention a cool picture-taking XP system. Awesome story, cool characters. The bad: Awkward saving system. Insanely stupid survivor AI. Ridiculous time limits that strongly discourage doing side-missions. In a I'll try to keep this short and sweet. The good: Violent, lots of weapons, lots of clothing, lots of cool combat moves to learn and a level up system that I love...not to mention a cool picture-taking XP system. Awesome story, cool characters. The bad: Awkward saving system. Insanely stupid survivor AI. Ridiculous time limits that strongly discourage doing side-missions. In a nutshell: This game is merciless. If you're the type of person who thrived on the high difficulty of games like Ninja Gaiden Black or Devil May Cry, buy this now. But if you're a more casual gamer, rent this one first. It's a doozy. Expand
  19. Andyman
    Sep 7, 2006
    7
    What could have been an insanely addictive brawler is instead dragged down into mediocrity by a stupid storyline and incredibly dull photography side-quests. Capcom: smashing zombies is beyond fun all by itself. Keep it simple.
  20. AllistairP.
    Dec 30, 2006
    7
    I have a strong feeling that Capcom spent 3 long years making the game of the year with Dead Rising, then in the final 3 hours terrorist took over and tried to make it into the worst game of the year. Now 3 years compared to 3 hours, you'd figure the damage couldn't be that severe but oh it is! I can't believe the same team that made such a great idea into a great game, I have a strong feeling that Capcom spent 3 long years making the game of the year with Dead Rising, then in the final 3 hours terrorist took over and tried to make it into the worst game of the year. Now 3 years compared to 3 hours, you'd figure the damage couldn't be that severe but oh it is! I can't believe the same team that made such a great idea into a great game, would make so many horrible HORRIBLE HORRRRRRIIIIBLE decisions. Sometimes I see game of the year, but the flaws almost make it worst game of the year. Not because it's ever "that" bad, but because there is such a thick layer of awfulness keeping you from this sweet, sweet game. Someone hates us, and they're probably the same people that love our money. Please make Dead Rising 2. Please! (and just settle on making a wonderful or god-awful game, not inbetween) Expand
  21. Scragglebug
    Aug 12, 2006
    6
    Killing zombies is never dull by any means but man whats up with the text? The important text is almost too small to read even on my 52" HDTV!!! The lame text like "LAURA GRISWOLD IS DEAD!! " is way too large and gets in the way of gameplay most of the time... and thats not good. And the saving stuff is too lame to make any further comments on! Im still torn on the side plots or "scoops" Killing zombies is never dull by any means but man whats up with the text? The important text is almost too small to read even on my 52" HDTV!!! The lame text like "LAURA GRISWOLD IS DEAD!! " is way too large and gets in the way of gameplay most of the time... and thats not good. And the saving stuff is too lame to make any further comments on! Im still torn on the side plots or "scoops" but all in all a descent game... lets get it together CAPCOM! Expand
  22. BruinsFan247
    Aug 14, 2006
    7
    First of all, definitely not for everyone. The game has lots of blood and gore, not for the kids. The controls are lacking in a various ways, for one the aiming when using a projectile weapon of any kind is simply horendous. Though I believe this game was made mor for the use of blund or hand weapons. The graphics are pretty good, though im still waiting for more games I would dub as First of all, definitely not for everyone. The game has lots of blood and gore, not for the kids. The controls are lacking in a various ways, for one the aiming when using a projectile weapon of any kind is simply horendous. Though I believe this game was made mor for the use of blund or hand weapons. The graphics are pretty good, though im still waiting for more games I would dub as nex-gen. At least there isnt alot of frame rate drops with so much going on at one time on the screen. The missions due tend to get a little repetative. For example: they really should have made more safe spots (not just the office). If you rescue someone on one side of the mall you have to get them to follow you all the way back to the office on the other side of the map, makes for a boring mission. Also, I though alot of these games were getting away from "save spots". In a game like this, it seems there is really no need to have a specific spot to save your game, you should be able to save anywhere. I also found some of the missions to be really difficult right off the bat, mostly due to controll issues. Sometimes a survivor will be following you and for no reason he just dissapears. Anyway its a decent game, a few hiccops, a few flaws, definately rent if you question it. Expand
  23. HobK.
    Aug 14, 2006
    7
    The premise is fantastic and the gameplay shines. Too bad, then, that the experience is fundamentally crippled by the clunky save system and wee text-based dialogue. It's worth renting -- if you don't have access to the demo -- otherwise let's hope Capcom pays attention and fixes this game's issues for the sequel.
  24. ChrisG.
    Sep 12, 2006
    7
    When I made some comments on Resident Evil 4 a few months ago, I was really disappointed with the control system. Being anchored in one place when you draw your gun was something that I thought really handicapped the game. Same problem exists in Dead Rising, however at least the game puts more emphasis on melee weapons (who wants to shoot a zombie when you can bash it to pieces with a When I made some comments on Resident Evil 4 a few months ago, I was really disappointed with the control system. Being anchored in one place when you draw your gun was something that I thought really handicapped the game. Same problem exists in Dead Rising, however at least the game puts more emphasis on melee weapons (who wants to shoot a zombie when you can bash it to pieces with a lead pipe, up close and personal). So this time I can live with the whole gun thing. I'm sure everybody has read comments on the save system, and yeah, it does suck. One way around it is to use a memory card to create a second save slot, but not everyone wants to pay $50 just to do this for one game. That being said, there is still so much fun in playing the game, leveling up as you replay, getting a little further every time. Might not be worth purchasing, but certainly worth a week's rental. Expand
  25. elzilcho
    Nov 18, 2007
    7
    A game that could either be great or awful seems to trick us. It's pretty good. Killing zombies can get a little old at first, but once you have some cool skills, it just gets funny. The only major complaint is having to play 72 Hour mode over and over and over to see all the game has to offer. Really, all I wanted to do was see a certain psychopath, unfortuanately they didn't A game that could either be great or awful seems to trick us. It's pretty good. Killing zombies can get a little old at first, but once you have some cool skills, it just gets funny. The only major complaint is having to play 72 Hour mode over and over and over to see all the game has to offer. Really, all I wanted to do was see a certain psychopath, unfortuanately they didn't appear until late into the second day. Wow, I'm not up to wasting that much time. Overall fun, but it gets old. Expand
  26. NateC.
    Feb 24, 2007
    7
    I like zombie related things. I was psyched about this game. Kind of a let-down. The graphics are good and the gameplay and concept are pretty sweet. I got two problems. It gets repetitive and the whole thing is timed.
  27. LeoR.
    May 18, 2007
    7
    I really feel like this game was wasted potential. Sure, the zombie killing aspect is a riot but the enjoyment of the game is hampered by an unbearable save system, time restraints and infuriating protection quests.
  28. Mar 12, 2013
    6
    In pursuit of the story of a lifetime journalist Frank West heads to a small town only to find himself trapped inside a mall surrounded by zombies. The core gameplay itself is undeniably fun, given free rein of the entire mall there is an almost limitless variety of ways to dispatch your undead (and sometimes very much alive) foe. Unfortunately the game is let down by some strange designIn pursuit of the story of a lifetime journalist Frank West heads to a small town only to find himself trapped inside a mall surrounded by zombies. The core gameplay itself is undeniably fun, given free rein of the entire mall there is an almost limitless variety of ways to dispatch your undead (and sometimes very much alive) foe. Unfortunately the game is let down by some strange design choices. Perhaps the most questionable of these is the controversial ‘real-time’ system that sees events taking place at specific times whether you are there or not. Since there is only one save slot it is quite possible, as I did, to leave yourself insufficient time to reach an event and therefore you are unable to continue with the main story unless you restart from the beginning. The boss fights, particularly the very last one, are also rather dull and unimaginative despite some unique character designs. Had the developers allowed players greater freedom to take things at their own pace this could have been a truly great game, as it is Dead Rising is a fun but flawed title. Expand
  29. Mar 11, 2012
    7
    Plenty of fun moments but also really frustrating at times because the game has a lot of odd quirks. Don't take it too seriously, just run about having fun for a while and, when you've levelled up your profile a decent amount, start again and play through the main story. NB. It's impossible to complete everything or save everyone, so don't bother trying.
  30. Oct 27, 2012
    7
    7/10 (For patient gamers and fans of zombies only)
    This game IS very frustrating but after giving it a lot of time I found it to be quite good, as I was essentially playing the video game version of my favourite film!

    There were so many annoying game play mechanics that were unnecessary and stopped this being a very good game.
  31. Aug 27, 2013
    6
    Its a very good game, with great moments, like when the zombies stole the car you need, the phsycopats in the car respawn or when you have a zombie in front of and you try to cut with the sword and you cut the air.
    Its not a bad game, do the time your enemy its a great idea, but a very lot of things must be change...
  32. Mar 6, 2013
    7
    I originally gave this game a really negative review, accompanied by a really low score (1). I put the game down for a week or two, intending to trade it in. One day I decided to give it a fresh try. I guess the second time was the charm! It's pretty fun for what it is: a mostly plotless, fairly mindless zombie-killing festival. The gunplay still somewhat annoys me, but changing theI originally gave this game a really negative review, accompanied by a really low score (1). I put the game down for a week or two, intending to trade it in. One day I decided to give it a fresh try. I guess the second time was the charm! It's pretty fun for what it is: a mostly plotless, fairly mindless zombie-killing festival. The gunplay still somewhat annoys me, but changing the directional setting to "aim in direction that camera is facing" rather than "direction that character is facing" helped. If you like zombies, grinding, over-the-top gore, and New Game as a feature, this might be a game for you. Really, though it's more like New Game given the amount of times you'll find yourself wanting to start from the beginning again. The save spots are few and far between. Often I have found myself forgetting to save after gaining a couple of levels, getting swarmed and dying only to be left having to choose between loading the last save and losing my progress or starting back at the beginning, but two levels higher and stronger than I was when I last saved. I recently ended up getting Dead Rising 2 from XBox Live On Demand as well as Dead Rising 2: Case Zero from Arcade, so I guess you could say I've seen the light and I'm now a believer! Expand
  33. Jul 31, 2014
    6
    This game is great, and is entertaining to no end. Is it perfect? Well........ It's controls bring down the experience, and on numerous occasions, I've died due to not mastering its clumsy nature. It is worth playing, but its little brother is more polished, and funnier than its older counterpart.
  34. Jul 8, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i have spent over 100 hours over the past 3 years in dead rising! i love love love this game it tells a compelling unpredictable story while giving you freedom to pick up what ever you get your hands on and fight the zombie apocalypse. i mean i like games like dead island but some times i would rather just run around killing the zombies and this game says i can. in this game you are frank west who is a news journalist and finds what seems to be a riot in a small town so you go into the mall and are trapped by a zombie horror show that just gets worse. you start to work with homeland security type agents to find out what happend and it turns out that this man was finding ways to mass produce animals and sell the meat for more and more money but science is dangerous and he creates a infected worm that finds its way into the human mind and over night starts the worlds ending. this zombie thing started in a peaceful land and once its all gone a man named carlito goes mad and is constantly threatening the mall your trapped in its up to you to kill this terrorist and leave with all the survivors on the getaway chopper. while playing the story you will be treated to a small open world were you can do side missions save survivors and kill all the horrifically insane psychopaths witch are boss fights here and they are all scary and interesting my favorite being adam the clown who is nuts and kills survivors with chainsaws i still have some nightmares from that clown. now i love all of what the game has to offer and it has lots of replayablity and has many endings! but here is the giant bomb this game looks like poop okay i have seen original xbox games that look way better and take note this is not a smooth experience! i broke a controller and ripped appart the game case. this game will make you scream in frustration because of how this game is made. but beating it is soooooooooo rewarding its not even funny! not only will you fell good but you will unlock 2 new modes one is an aftermath mode were it gives you what happens after the game is done. and a extra challenging version of the story mode were you have to constantly eat and drink and be more carfull with taking damage in fights and this is like ultra survival mode and its really hard! but no matter what if you like zombies play this game and its only like 3 dollars at my local gamestop so now alot more can be forgiven that is not good in the game. i was gonna give a 8 out of 10 but 7 is much more appropriate. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. 80
    A relentlessly inventive game worth the price of entry...The experience is flawed -- some might say hampered -- by the save system and curiously designed game structure. But whether you 'get it' or not, Dead Rising nevertheless provides a wealth of secrets and mysteries for both eager gamers and the adventuresome.
  2. A unique, inventive, and fun game that youll most likely want to play and own due to its huge amount of replayability from random slash-a-thons to side quests and item discovery; you can spend a whole lot of time in this game. Then again if the save system and RPG leveling system turn you off you might be better off renting it first.
  3. The astounding level of variety that is packed into the game is wonderful to see.