• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Aug 8, 2006
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 483 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 483

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Syc
    Nov 9, 2006
    6
    A genuinely cool idea coupled with a very slick coat of polish and fun zombie bashing should make an excellent game. Unfortunately some very very bad design decisions render the game horribly irritating and at times almost unplayable. Not even close to being as good as Capcoms own horror masterpiece, Resident Evil 4.
  2. Steve-OM
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    It's the greatest zombie brawl, in the mall that has it all! Things move so fast and you think you are done, but just around the corner is more zombie killin fun. There is so much to do in the undead zoo, you'll play it over and over, many times through. Who wouldn't like this game is no one I can name. It just isn't possible to be that freakin lame. So unless your It's the greatest zombie brawl, in the mall that has it all! Things move so fast and you think you are done, but just around the corner is more zombie killin fun. There is so much to do in the undead zoo, you'll play it over and over, many times through. Who wouldn't like this game is no one I can name. It just isn't possible to be that freakin lame. So unless your life must be constantly dull, get off your ass and crush some zombie skull. Good times to be had in Willamette, it's the best 60 bucks I'll never regret... Expand
  3. IanR.
    May 9, 2008
    6
    This is the first game for Xbox 360 that I wanted and it ended up being the most disappointing. It does have fun game play but one killer flaw caused me to hate this game. The save system sucks. Even though I gave this a 6 you should still give it a try though.
  4. JacobV.
    Oct 27, 2006
    9
    This game makes me glad I sunk so much cash into a Xbox360. I will admit that is difficult at first, but when you start keep in mind that you will die, you won't finish everthing (at least at first), and you don't need to save everyone. Saving is a pain at first, but once you get stronger (and braver) the distances between save points seem shorter and shorter. And killing This game makes me glad I sunk so much cash into a Xbox360. I will admit that is difficult at first, but when you start keep in mind that you will die, you won't finish everthing (at least at first), and you don't need to save everyone. Saving is a pain at first, but once you get stronger (and braver) the distances between save points seem shorter and shorter. And killing zombies with mannequin limbs is great fun. Expand
  5. JohnF.
    Dec 10, 2008
    7
    As the XBox Addict review states, this could have been one of the greatest games of all time. Instead, it's an odd mix of a really cool idea and some really bad implementation. There's certainly enough to warrant giving the game a try as using anything you can get your hands on to kill zombies is worth the price alone. But the frustration factor brought on by the horrible save As the XBox Addict review states, this could have been one of the greatest games of all time. Instead, it's an odd mix of a really cool idea and some really bad implementation. There's certainly enough to warrant giving the game a try as using anything you can get your hands on to kill zombies is worth the price alone. But the frustration factor brought on by the horrible save system, the barely readable text, the moronic friendly A.I. of the people you are trying to rescue, and the lousy boss fights is almost too much to overcome. It's a testament to the strength of the game's premise and the fun of killing zombies that Dead Rising is (barely) able to overcome all that. This game should have been an all-timer... I guess there's always hope that Dead Rising 2 can clean up the problems and deliver what Dead Rising 1 was truly capable of. Expand
  6. MarcoV.
    Aug 10, 2006
    9
    Dead Rising is a must buy game. The fun experience of multi-killing ways of slaughtering Zombies don't get old. Replay value is good. Controls are a little sluggish but overtime you get used to them. Graphics are better then any other game with the same gender. Gameplay is as its purist and fun. Sound is average with glimpse of nostalgic and dramatic audio. Storyline is a above Dead Rising is a must buy game. The fun experience of multi-killing ways of slaughtering Zombies don't get old. Replay value is good. Controls are a little sluggish but overtime you get used to them. Graphics are better then any other game with the same gender. Gameplay is as its purist and fun. Sound is average with glimpse of nostalgic and dramatic audio. Storyline is a above average which keeps you guessing what is coming next. The only below average about this game is the save game system. I suggest u go back and forth in saving your game. I recommend this game to anyone! One for Campcom! Lovely! Expand
  7. LawrenceM.
    Aug 18, 2006
    9
    Dead Rising manages to capture a great storyline, an immersive world, and a unique gameplay technique, creating an excellent game. Trapped in a mall as Frank West, you have the option of killing time or zombies. While Dead Rising has the potential to become repetitive and boring, Dead Rising never crosses that line, staying fresh no matter how many innocents you are given the option of Dead Rising manages to capture a great storyline, an immersive world, and a unique gameplay technique, creating an excellent game. Trapped in a mall as Frank West, you have the option of killing time or zombies. While Dead Rising has the potential to become repetitive and boring, Dead Rising never crosses that line, staying fresh no matter how many innocents you are given the option of saving. The only gripe I have is the saving structure as it is sometimes at odds with the real-time clock. I have already gotten used to it though and it no longer gets in my way. Enjoy. Go kill some zombies. Expand
  8. BradD.
    Sep 23, 2006
    5
    Average at best, this game could have been so much better had Capcom fixed some of the stupid flaws, the save system for example, it should atleast save automatically before each boss fight, rescuing people is also made all the more harder thanks to some god awful A.I., they'll just stand there sometimes screaming 'help!' when they could just run to you before the zombies Average at best, this game could have been so much better had Capcom fixed some of the stupid flaws, the save system for example, it should atleast save automatically before each boss fight, rescuing people is also made all the more harder thanks to some god awful A.I., they'll just stand there sometimes screaming 'help!' when they could just run to you before the zombies get anywhere near them, the game just gets tedious, it's just go here, get this/do this, come back, extremely boring, what a waste of money, Dead Rising had alot of potential but thanks to Capcom messing up stupidly in some places (You can't even read the text on an SDTV which most people have, go figure) it fall flat on its face, in the end the game is more frustrating than fun, what a shame. Expand
  9. DanE.
    Feb 20, 2008
    9
    Hugely enjoyable. Did initially encounter problems on SD, but luckily bought a HDTV. I had no problems with the save mechanics, if anything it added to the game for me. Brilliant story. Very original. And some of the best achievements for any Xbox360 game. A true game classic. BUY THIS!
  10. AdamW.
    May 22, 2009
    8
    What could be more fun than using whatever you like to destroy zombies. In a matter of second you will go from chewing zombies up with a lawnmower to beating them down with the plant pot. There are a few floor that let it down. The extremely small text, the slightly stick gun control and the lack of autosave points but if you can get over those you will find a thoroughly enjoyable game What could be more fun than using whatever you like to destroy zombies. In a matter of second you will go from chewing zombies up with a lawnmower to beating them down with the plant pot. There are a few floor that let it down. The extremely small text, the slightly stick gun control and the lack of autosave points but if you can get over those you will find a thoroughly enjoyable game with hours worth of gameplay. Expand
  11. HeinzD.
    Aug 13, 2006
    5
    A superb game marred down by a rediculous save system, virtually impossible to read text, and repetive missions. The question is, how did a company with the talent to make such an amazing looking game overlook such simple details? All of you in here that gave it a 10 have to admit that it's absurd being in an ocean of zombies and having your phone ring and while you answere it you A superb game marred down by a rediculous save system, virtually impossible to read text, and repetive missions. The question is, how did a company with the talent to make such an amazing looking game overlook such simple details? All of you in here that gave it a 10 have to admit that it's absurd being in an ocean of zombies and having your phone ring and while you answere it you have to dodge zombies and try to read the text that looks like the "small print" on contracts, not to mention that it scrolls by extremely fast. c'mon that is absolutely unnecessary. Before you put me down answer me why they did that? Expand
  12. DewittS.
    Aug 8, 2007
    4
    I admit slicing and bashing through hundreds of zombies was fun at first, but then it got extremely boring after a while so i did the storyline which they didnt give u enough time between each case to get to the next one, it took me forever to finish the 72 hour mmode then i had to do overtime which took even longer. also the achievements are really hard to get and they are all worth the I admit slicing and bashing through hundreds of zombies was fun at first, but then it got extremely boring after a while so i did the storyline which they didnt give u enough time between each case to get to the next one, it took me forever to finish the 72 hour mmode then i had to do overtime which took even longer. also the achievements are really hard to get and they are all worth the same gamerpoints so the ones that took forever like zombie genocider and eat all types of food and change into every outfit are worth the same as the easiest one so i think the game is a total waste of time. Expand
  13. LukeD.
    Apr 9, 2008
    6
    This game, while potentially fun can only be described in one word; tiring. The repetitive combat, tedious missions, frustrating save system make it a huge disappointment. Nothing in this game is more annoying than being forced to spend 15 minutes looking for a save point before being able to turn the console off.
  14. KelR.
    Aug 12, 2006
    4
    Do I have your attention? This game is quite amazing, the graphics are great, the physics, music, mechanics, and premise are all really good. The developers really thought out of the box to bring a truely innovative game to life. However, it's a real shame that it's all ruined by the timed missions and the impossible "save" situation. I've never seen anything like it, Do I have your attention? This game is quite amazing, the graphics are great, the physics, music, mechanics, and premise are all really good. The developers really thought out of the box to bring a truely innovative game to life. However, it's a real shame that it's all ruined by the timed missions and the impossible "save" situation. I've never seen anything like it, honestly it just boggles my mind at how un-user friendly the whole thing is. If you like a game that quickly becomes a job, and stops being fun after a few hours, this is your game. (This is the closest I've ever come to throwing my game controller through the t.v.) Expand
  15. AdrianC.
    Aug 14, 2006
    1
    If you are an adult that doesn't have time to be a fanboy, this game just sucks. Great idea, good fun for about an hour....250 plus weapons? You won't care after a while. The AI and Save system are the worst I have ever seen or ever will see I am sure. I am going right back to the store and demanding my money back. I don't care that they won't accept refunds on opened If you are an adult that doesn't have time to be a fanboy, this game just sucks. Great idea, good fun for about an hour....250 plus weapons? You won't care after a while. The AI and Save system are the worst I have ever seen or ever will see I am sure. I am going right back to the store and demanding my money back. I don't care that they won't accept refunds on opened merchandise...I will fight until I get my money back because the game is THAT BAD... A lot of you that havethis game will disagree and that is okay, but I have to put my two sense in to warn those that don't have the game. I am not exaggerating when I say that the save system makes it THE worst game I have ever played. Stay away unless you like doing the same thing over and over again...And I don't mean killing zombies...I mean playing the first hour over and over again...I don't often comment on these boards, but this game made me so angry that the programers thought they could waste my time with this drivel that I had to warn people away from it. This game is pure HYPE. We all waited so long and got taken...Capcom is lauging at us and whoever is responsible for this atrocity is sighing with relief that they can keep their jobs because obviously some reviewers are being bought. okay i am done flaming. some of you will disagree, like I said. some of you will thank me. Expand
  16. 5kepticalplayer
    Aug 18, 2006
    1
    Boring, boring, boring. Graphics: Great! Killing zombies: Great (for a little while) Archaic Save System: AARRRH! What a stupid way to make the game more challenging. I'm completely un-egaged with the story because of the necessity to repeat sections for no real good reason. Terrible Control System: AAAARRRGGHH I'm giving this a one because I'm so disappointed in the game play.
  17. ListenU.
    Oct 7, 2008
    3
    This game showed promise, and in theory should be fun. But the CONTROLS are terrible. Really, among the worst I have ever seen in a game. Plus the uber-tiny type made it impossible to read the text. I don't get how so many people like this game... I got so frustrated with the horrid control scheme (specifically combat and guns) that I traded it in after a few hours.
  18. TylerS.
    Aug 15, 2006
    3
    I wasnt sure if i wanted to buy this game. I was at first thinking of renting it but i decided that it sounds good and i should go ahead and buy it. I am very upset with Capcom coming up with such a ridiculous save system. I have saved that old couple on the roof lyk 8 times now and decided I am done playing this stupid game. The weapons get boring and some of the neat sounding weapons I wasnt sure if i wanted to buy this game. I was at first thinking of renting it but i decided that it sounds good and i should go ahead and buy it. I am very upset with Capcom coming up with such a ridiculous save system. I have saved that old couple on the roof lyk 8 times now and decided I am done playing this stupid game. The weapons get boring and some of the neat sounding weapons like CD's dont do any real damage and are lame and dont even fly stright. It is a extremely difficult game also. For some reason these guys on this jeep can hit me from very far away were i cant even see the jeep. I have only been able to complete 1 escort mission *the first one* it is super difficult and I would strongly suggest to rent this first and buy resident evil 4 instead. The bright side of this game is the ability to take out you hatred for the save system by killing zombies with weapons ranging from samurai swords to toy dice. Expand
  19. YarghD.
    Dec 12, 2006
    2
    So incredibly frustrating. Saving times are terrible and I didn't life know how to save people without them getting killed. I didn't really know how to do anything in this game.
  20. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    i had alot of fun with this game and have spent many house just sand boxing it trying to find fun ways to kill zombies which this game gives you alot of ways to do it. the story is pretty good having it start off as you a photographer being helicoptered into a city to try and find out whats going on. you are limeted to being only inside a mall . it would have been nice if you had a wholei had alot of fun with this game and have spent many house just sand boxing it trying to find fun ways to kill zombies which this game gives you alot of ways to do it. the story is pretty good having it start off as you a photographer being helicoptered into a city to try and find out whats going on. you are limeted to being only inside a mall . it would have been nice if you had a whole city to play in. there are alot of wepons and i do mean alot . the save feature is abit of a chore and i think they could have done better . also the game is pretty hard at first it will probubly take you awhile to figure things out. i also wish they had just a free mode where you could just have fun killing zombies with no restrictions . all in all i found dead rising a real fun and great sand boxing game . if they had added 4 player co op this probubly would have been a 10 . valve should take notice at alot of the things that DR has done so when they ever make a L4D 3 game they can make it so its not a short repetitive piece of crap. Expand
  21. Sep 6, 2010
    9
    While Dead Rising isn't perfect, the story should have been optional, as it was generic and frustrating at times, the core gameplay-going round a shopping mall whilt murdering zombies, is a real treat and a lot of fun. There are countless ways too off the fiends, smashing a plant pot over there heads, running them through with a chainsaw- the ace katana. The endless possibilities make itWhile Dead Rising isn't perfect, the story should have been optional, as it was generic and frustrating at times, the core gameplay-going round a shopping mall whilt murdering zombies, is a real treat and a lot of fun. There are countless ways too off the fiends, smashing a plant pot over there heads, running them through with a chainsaw- the ace katana. The endless possibilities make it essential.A must-have. Expand
  22. Feb 14, 2012
    7
    There are a lot of things I hate about this game, most of all being saving civilians. It was just frustratingly hard sometimes. Second of all, Otis, you motherf*cker. It came to a point that I wasn't yelling at the game but i was yelling at otis for calling me so much. But on the other hand killing zombies is unbelievably fun in dead rising. There are hundreds of weapons to choose from andThere are a lot of things I hate about this game, most of all being saving civilians. It was just frustratingly hard sometimes. Second of all, Otis, you motherf*cker. It came to a point that I wasn't yelling at the game but i was yelling at otis for calling me so much. But on the other hand killing zombies is unbelievably fun in dead rising. There are hundreds of weapons to choose from and thats really where i had the most fun, just not worrying about the story killin' lots of zombies. But the story was alright too. Expand
  23. Apr 21, 2012
    4
    I agree with some positive reviews given, but this game is very frustrating, repetitive movements, in spite of not having time to solve some secundary missions, the victims that you rescues are very idiots, having that be repetitively by pressing the y button to call them, aiming is horrible, I do not recommend.
  24. KarlL
    May 16, 2008
    4
    Probably the most frustrating game I have ever played. The game forces you along at its own pace and if you don't go along with it you will miss out on parts of the storyline. Weapons break quickly and without warning and the game then equips you with the next item in your inventory, very annoying when your beating zombies with a bat and when suddenly your character switches to a Probably the most frustrating game I have ever played. The game forces you along at its own pace and if you don't go along with it you will miss out on parts of the storyline. Weapons break quickly and without warning and the game then equips you with the next item in your inventory, very annoying when your beating zombies with a bat and when suddenly your character switches to a magazine and gets torn apart. Friendly AI is as brainless as the zombies and loves to get itself killed. Terrible save system that makes you replay huge segments of the game. And cheating boss fights. In the first battle when your shooting your enemy he will simply ignore the fact he is being shot and fire back at you, But when you get shot you stumble around like a retard unable to do anything. Why doesn't this happen to him too? And when attempting to aim with your gun the game will suddenly snap your view to a completely different place then where you were looking, meaning you have to very slowly turn your crosshair back to where it is you wanted to fire. Expand
  25. MarcA.
    Jul 12, 2007
    5
    Great potential but the controls are beyond annoying. If the programmers spent an extra week on this game just changing the save system and making the controls decent, it would be great. Unfortunately they didn't do this and as much fun as this game could be, the frustration involved in playing it overshadows everything else.
  26. WyattG.
    Oct 22, 2007
    4
    A game where you run around killing zombies with a huge variety of weapons...how can you possibly go wrong ? Well this statement must have read like a challenge to the game developers, because they have magnificently managed to suck the enjoyment from what should have been a brilliant game. So how have they managed to do this ? Well their first mistake was having a time schedule that you A game where you run around killing zombies with a huge variety of weapons...how can you possibly go wrong ? Well this statement must have read like a challenge to the game developers, because they have magnificently managed to suck the enjoyment from what should have been a brilliant game. So how have they managed to do this ? Well their first mistake was having a time schedule that you have to religiously work to. In simple terms you are a reporter who is trying to piece together why a town (in particular the shopping centre) has been overrun by zombies. To finish the game you need to do ALL the cases, and to do a case you need arrive at a set location at a set time (I would like to meet the reporter who operates in this way !!!). So what happens if you miss a case time ? You can either restart the whole game (screaming and abuse will follow) or you can reload your last save.....well that's not a hard decision, just reload your last save and try again. One problem, well in fact it's a HUGE MONSTER of a problem. You are only allowed 1 save at a time, so if you were unlucky enough to save at a point whereby it is impossible to ever be able to get to the next case then you will have no choice but to restart the whole game (more screaming and abuse is acceptable at this point !). Why the developers could not have had a multiple save system like Bioshock is beyond comprehension. ... and their second mistake ? A horrible antiquated control system. Most of the action is in the 3rd person view which works quite well, but it is when you have a gun and you need to accurately shoot that the controls become so frustrating to use. You squeeze the right trigger, the view changes to first person and a little aiming reticule comes on the screen. Whilst in this mode you can move the reticule but for some strange reason you can not move yourself, which means you are open for attack from zombies. If you release the trigger to move you then need to go through the whole process again to re-aim at your target who has a horrible knack of moving just at the wrong time. What makes all of this worse is that the game itself and the act of killing zombies is really fun, and it would seem that these 2 big problems the game has would not have been hard to fix. If they had been done better then the game could for me have been an 8 or even 9 out of 10, but with the problems as they are the game is just way too frustrating to really enjoy. Expand
  27. MikeB
    Feb 10, 2009
    2
    Graphics great, but everything else pretty shocking. Cutscenes, time limits, pathetic AI, frustrating bosses, abysmal controls, terrible save scheme and hopeless weapon / inventory logic. I can't stand it when developers fall in love with their own engine or gimmick, and lose sight of making their game easy and fun to play!
  28. MikeW
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    Every comment with a score below 5 seems to have missed the options screen where you can decide if aim follows character view or camera view :) An excellent game. Completed it this morning, started right back from the start immediately. The deadlines are tight and the saves infrequent, but that just adds more adrenalin to an already tightly packed game. Fantastuic, definietly a must buy Every comment with a score below 5 seems to have missed the options screen where you can decide if aim follows character view or camera view :) An excellent game. Completed it this morning, started right back from the start immediately. The deadlines are tight and the saves infrequent, but that just adds more adrenalin to an already tightly packed game. Fantastuic, definietly a must buy (and rtfm on the controls for extra pleasure! Expand
  29. JimM.
    Aug 13, 2006
    3
    I cannot believe this game is getting great reviews. It is SO repetitive, confusing, the interface sucks, its a mess. This game deserves like a 50 at best - I guess none of these reviewers have the balls to slag off Capcom or something. The graphics aren't great, the interface isn't intuative, the fight control sucks, no aiming system for the pistols, it goes on and on. And on I cannot believe this game is getting great reviews. It is SO repetitive, confusing, the interface sucks, its a mess. This game deserves like a 50 at best - I guess none of these reviewers have the balls to slag off Capcom or something. The graphics aren't great, the interface isn't intuative, the fight control sucks, no aiming system for the pistols, it goes on and on. And on top of that, no multiplayer or even 2 player. Trust me, this game SUCKS! Expand
  30. DavidM.
    Aug 15, 2006
    3
    Aweful save system. Tedious and boring boss fights. Lame story. Lacks any real control config. Text size is too small to read on anything less than a 32" TV.
  31. Sep 21, 2010
    6
    I almost broke my xbox in rage a couple of times during this game. The first when I realised that I could only save once and second when I realised that infinity mode or suvival (the last one you get) has no save. WTF!!!!!!!!!! However i got to kill zombies in some of the most horrific ways possible. Ment to be played through more than once as saving all suvivors is practically impossibleI almost broke my xbox in rage a couple of times during this game. The first when I realised that I could only save once and second when I realised that infinity mode or suvival (the last one you get) has no save. WTF!!!!!!!!!! However i got to kill zombies in some of the most horrific ways possible. Ment to be played through more than once as saving all suvivors is practically impossible when you're level 1. saving suvivors is strangely addictive although the AI is so thick it makes George Bush seem like Stephen Hawkins. I hate the suvivors more than I hate the zombies and the physcopaths are completely nonsensical (which is why they are physcos I suppose). Fun game but it has some biblical flaws. Expand
  32. Jan 19, 2012
    2
    One of the most frustrating games ever created. The idea starts out so well. Stuck in a mall with all sorts of weapons to kill ZOMBIES. HOW did Capcom RUIN such a simple concept? Let's see the list: Horrible human A.I. (The zombies are smarter. SERIOUSLY.), unfair psychopath battles (Who are immune to zombie attacks), a horrible save system, a horrible melee system, worthless story, aOne of the most frustrating games ever created. The idea starts out so well. Stuck in a mall with all sorts of weapons to kill ZOMBIES. HOW did Capcom RUIN such a simple concept? Let's see the list: Horrible human A.I. (The zombies are smarter. SERIOUSLY.), unfair psychopath battles (Who are immune to zombie attacks), a horrible save system, a horrible melee system, worthless story, a frustrating timed aspect, bad vehicle control, strange and awkward animations, a cult group that appears later and kills the feel of the game, the list goes on and on and on. It gets a two for impressive graphics and the gameplay can be enjoyable at times, but it is all ruined by so many things. Expand
  33. EliD.
    Aug 16, 2006
    10
    This game is awsome,it has great graphics the controls are awsome.They finally make a game i know we have all been waiting for.The save system could of been a little better.But overall this game is awsome.I mean hacking at zombies with knives,running them over,cutting them with chainsaws what more could you ask for.
  34. AtomHeart
    Aug 10, 2006
    9
    An excellent game with tons of replay value. A must have for any 360 owner, and an immediate entry into the top 5 all-time 360 games.
  35. KyleK.
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    really fun entertaining game. those people that gave it a 1 obviously were wanting a game like halo or GTA. This is purely a mindless fun entertaining game that will last for hours. its not a all time best seller but its a darn blast to play.
  36. Quaid
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    Amazing game! It will go down as one of the best games ever. There will be people who won't like this game, but then again, these are the same people that think Over G Fighters is the best game ever.
  37. GaryC.
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    This is a fantastic game. I can't believe some of the negative comments here. "the subtitles were small to read, the voice overs were inaudible" - er get a decent TV then as its onviously crap. Some of the comments about the rescue system seem a tad unfair as each rescue can be different. You can hold some of their hands and drag em along. Some you can give weapons and health to, This is a fantastic game. I can't believe some of the negative comments here. "the subtitles were small to read, the voice overs were inaudible" - er get a decent TV then as its onviously crap. Some of the comments about the rescue system seem a tad unfair as each rescue can be different. You can hold some of their hands and drag em along. Some you can give weapons and health to, some you have to put over your shoulder. All in all brilliant fun. The save system could grate some people but the fact is that you couldn't start this game from scratch and finish it in one go without levelling up and restarting. You also need to pratice the order in which to do stuff. The small details as well as the in-your face bashing action mak this great fun to play. Shame theres no online multiplayer mash-ups though. Expand
  38. MattF.
    Dec 7, 2007
    8
    Brilliant game. A time-consuming, addictive, social life stealing, fun title with lots to offer. With a whole catalogue of weapons and an optional storyline, this could stand easily in the sandbox genre. Worth buying.
  39. MiguelG.
    Oct 6, 2006
    1
    I wish I had listen to the guys in here that said "Do Not Buy This Rubish", and many other places that warned about the obnoxious implementation of the gameplay in this game. The game is almost unplayable! It's very, very, very hard!, at leat in the first 20 attempts, until one leveled enough, but even then don't think it's ever enjoyable, it's still a huge pain! - I wish I had listen to the guys in here that said "Do Not Buy This Rubish", and many other places that warned about the obnoxious implementation of the gameplay in this game. The game is almost unplayable! It's very, very, very hard!, at leat in the first 20 attempts, until one leveled enough, but even then don't think it's ever enjoyable, it's still a huge pain! - huge amount of escort missions, you spend like 80% of the game nursing other NPC's, you don't empatize with your character, you "live" to escort others, it's an escort NPC's game at heart. - These NPC's are the most dumb creatures that appeared in the video-game systems. They just need constant nursing, and talking, you'll play a shrink most of time. - Aiming system is from ZX Spectrum age - stand still to shoot, WTF!? Learn with GTA, Saint's Row, every contemporanean game!!!!, Capcom!!!! - The mix of real-time + one save + about 20 minutes-walk-to-get-to-a-save-spot place really don't go together. I just can't believe no one at QA's Capcom realised this ? Were you asleep ? This issue, per-se, kills the game! Unless someone would like to quit play any game for the next 6 months, and replay this piece of s**t 50 times - I've done my share, I'm in my 17th try... - I know the dialogs by heart now. How sad is that ? I never went "over the top" in criticizing a game, but this..., this...!!!! I even wrote a letter to Capcom, not an email, a real letter! And I promised them I would not buy a game from them in these couple of years, or least until I remember this. Was it so hard to do a regular comtemporanean save-system ? I can even purpose that they could use the Achievements to do this freakiness, like 200GS to achieve "True Ending in Capcom's 'weirdos only' mode". 1 point for the idea, and plot, but the game's "Dead Buried" Expand
  40. GusW.
    Jun 18, 2007
    1
    I found this game completely dull and repetative. Sure there are a ton of ways to kill zombies, but thats essentially all the game seems to have going for it. Theres no eeriness in the game and nothing to make you think. The only feeling of tension, or should I really say pressure, comes from the race against the clock.
  41. AlyxS.
    Jul 8, 2007
    0
    Let's seek repetive boring gameplay, horrible aiming system, dumb as a stump npc and an archaic save system. Nothing about this game is good all it is, is running around hitting zombies with stuff over and over and over. Oh also you can pictures of the zombies to quite invigorating once your brain stem detaches from your spinal cord. If you're the kind of person who has fun Let's seek repetive boring gameplay, horrible aiming system, dumb as a stump npc and an archaic save system. Nothing about this game is good all it is, is running around hitting zombies with stuff over and over and over. Oh also you can pictures of the zombies to quite invigorating once your brain stem detaches from your spinal cord. If you're the kind of person who has fun running around picking up teddy bears and hitting the x button over and over while running through groups of zombies then dying and getting to do it over again then I advise seeking medical attention. Trust me don't even rent it despite the apparent mass appeal. it's not even one thing after another it's one thing then that thing again and again and again. So in summary boring repetitive gameplay and horrible atmosphere make for this horrible zombie game. Expand
  42. Alex
    Aug 16, 2006
    5
    Fun, but not good for much other than a rainy weekend rental. it gets too repetitive too fast, and the survivors are generally huge pain in the asses. the game does have some great humor moments, such as the lugie "weapon", and the children's store, which you can change into a set of very fashonable childrens clothes. but, even all of this can't save Dead Rising from getting Fun, but not good for much other than a rainy weekend rental. it gets too repetitive too fast, and the survivors are generally huge pain in the asses. the game does have some great humor moments, such as the lugie "weapon", and the children's store, which you can change into a set of very fashonable childrens clothes. but, even all of this can't save Dead Rising from getting boring really fast. Expand
  43. ColeS.
    Sep 16, 2006
    3
    I went into this game expecting at the very least a mindless brawler that would occupy the weekend. What I got was frustration at every turn! Because of the awful survival AI and terrible aiming system I was constantly doint portions over and over again trying to get the survivors back to the safe area. And why am I dealing with all of these idiots? Because I have to wait six hours before I went into this game expecting at the very least a mindless brawler that would occupy the weekend. What I got was frustration at every turn! Because of the awful survival AI and terrible aiming system I was constantly doint portions over and over again trying to get the survivors back to the safe area. And why am I dealing with all of these idiots? Because I have to wait six hours before I can continue the story. If you have to try it, rent it. Expand
  44. BlisterfishCafe
    Sep 18, 2006
    2
    Uh, er, ahem. You wander around a mall and smash zombies with various items. I owned this game and returned it after giving it a reasonable run through. This game sucks. The "save" points are horrible. Most of all it's incredibly boring!!!
  45. BrainT.
    Apr 6, 2007
    3
    The controls just didn't work for me - and the pacing of the game was off - not to mention the frustrating save system. Dead Rising...Forget about it.
  46. CommandoDude
    Jul 4, 2008
    3
    This. Game. Sucked. Unless you REALLY like zombie games, you will be disappointed. Or at least, I was. At first, it was an interesting game concept, stuck in a mall with zombies, taking pictures of them, trying to uncover some conspiracy. I was quickly disappointed however, by the sheer unrealistic nature of the game, with an endless army of zombies, and stupidly insane combat moves. Not This. Game. Sucked. Unless you REALLY like zombie games, you will be disappointed. Or at least, I was. At first, it was an interesting game concept, stuck in a mall with zombies, taking pictures of them, trying to uncover some conspiracy. I was quickly disappointed however, by the sheer unrealistic nature of the game, with an endless army of zombies, and stupidly insane combat moves. Not to mention that more then half of the survivors in this mall are somehow deranged psychopaths, and pretty much everyone else is useless. Don't get me started on how hard it is to use guns. I got so fed up with this game I just stopped playing. Expand
  47. JJNuzzo
    Aug 23, 2006
    2
    Well, let me just start by telling everyone that anyone who rates this game as amazing and the best is just a Capcom's lap dog. I went to the store determined that this was a great game by the way everyone talked about it, boy I was wrong. What a waste of $60. The camera angles suck, it's all over the place. The wepons suck, if you hit someone so many times with something the Well, let me just start by telling everyone that anyone who rates this game as amazing and the best is just a Capcom's lap dog. I went to the store determined that this was a great game by the way everyone talked about it, boy I was wrong. What a waste of $60. The camera angles suck, it's all over the place. The wepons suck, if you hit someone so many times with something the wepon breaks and sometimes your just left with nothing. The guns suck, it doesnt give you the option to run and aim so if you aim you have to stay in one spot and shoot, and if you run around and shoot your not going to hit anything that you want. The fact that the only dialog in the game is the short video is so stupid. Everything else is just words printed on a small screen. Way too many load screens. If you ever played the original Resident Evil for the original Playstation then you know what I mean. I didnt really mind it that much with that game because it rocked!! Maybe Capcom should take notes from Rockstar since Rockstar provides us with an undisapointment level every game of this nature. TAKE NOTES!!!! Please for all of us who already got scammed 60 bucks, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!!! I am so frustrated and mad at Capcom right now I just want to pee myself. Expand
  48. Jan 22, 2011
    2
    So whats good about this game? Absolutely nothing. I bought this game because I am a zombie game fan, but this game is just plain corny and dumb. I thought 10 bucks for the game was a good deal. Now I see why it goes for 10 bucks. Because it sucks....For one, its EXTREMELY hard to save the game. At the beginning of the game, there is one save point that you have to go to. Within the firstSo whats good about this game? Absolutely nothing. I bought this game because I am a zombie game fan, but this game is just plain corny and dumb. I thought 10 bucks for the game was a good deal. Now I see why it goes for 10 bucks. Because it sucks....For one, its EXTREMELY hard to save the game. At the beginning of the game, there is one save point that you have to go to. Within the first 5 minutes, you are up against a gun battle with some guy who is extremely hard to kill, jumping all over the place, and throwing bombs at you, all while you are trying to get the aiming set up to shoot the guy...which, by the way, the aiming SUCKS too....meanwhile this cell phone in the corner is constantly rining while youare trying to kill the guy which is totally annoying...by then you are dead from a bomb.....then you lose all progress and have to start from scratch all over again. The plot is rediculous, the animation sucks, the characters suck......there is nothing good about this game. Yeah picking up random things to hit at zombies, thats about the most fun you will have in this game. After dieing about 5 times in a row, after having to go through the process of starting from scratch, since its almost impossible to save....I gave up.....what a waste of 10 bucks. Sad excuse for a zombie game Expand
  49. EddieB.
    Jul 6, 2007
    8
    I thought it was an amazing game allt tho the saving system sucked it was too complex for a game like that but a good game.
  50. Maximillion
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    This is an outstanding game. It's been a long time since I got so sucked into a game world like this one. It's a bit trying at first to figure out exactly how it works; but everything, save system included, have been tuned to brilliance surrounding the experience it's tuned to have. The rush of bringing back 6 survivors to safety/the save point when you
  51. DanI.
    Feb 3, 2007
    0
    I honestly don't have any problem with the save system. The best single-player experience I've had in years. Maybe the best game I've ever played. The weapons kicked a** too. Buy this game.
  52. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    The First Dead Rising, and what a game that was. Excellent gameplay, other than the forced time limit. Yes, it's true. You wont be able to complete the game on first try. We've all been there. But the (almost) free exploring makes this game, with all it's weapons that are avaible to crush and kill zomies, an epic journey through Zombie Hell.
  53. Aug 7, 2013
    4
    I wanted so badly to love this game because I think I can see what the developers were trying to do. I struggled and hung in there to get as much out of the game as I could but I was afraid to save for fear of being stuck without enough time to get to the next mission and sure enough at the very end of the game I didn't leave enough time and had to start all over again. I am going to tryI wanted so badly to love this game because I think I can see what the developers were trying to do. I struggled and hung in there to get as much out of the game as I could but I was afraid to save for fear of being stuck without enough time to get to the next mission and sure enough at the very end of the game I didn't leave enough time and had to start all over again. I am going to try one more time but I am not having fun and am mad as hell. You have been warned. Expand
  54. May 28, 2012
    6
    Game is okay, controls are frustrating tho.
  55. JimDavies
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    Reading the comments here appears to indicate that this game is not to everyone's taste. I find that really odd as this is one of the best gaming experiences I've ever had!!! The story is excellent and overtime mode rocks... plenty of re-playability. I dont understand how people are giving it scores of less than seven, never mind scores of 1!
  56. RobJ.
    Oct 30, 2006
    8
    An entertaining and fun take on the zombie-fest theme. Be warned that the scarce save points make the game pretty hard. Personally, I appreciate that. You actually have to struggle in order to progress in the game, and will end up retrying many times. It's not a drag though, as there's plenty of things to discover, and always the opportunity to go save someone that you An entertaining and fun take on the zombie-fest theme. Be warned that the scarce save points make the game pretty hard. Personally, I appreciate that. You actually have to struggle in order to progress in the game, and will end up retrying many times. It's not a drag though, as there's plenty of things to discover, and always the opportunity to go save someone that you didn't have time for on your last try. It's mindless fun, yes, but also demands a wee bit of strategy and patience. Replay value is high, since there's no way you can do everyhting first time around. In fact, you simply can't do everything in just one go. It does have some issues, and I'd say it's a flawed gem, which I recommend. Expand
  57. Ryencoke
    Aug 11, 2006
    8
    This game is pretty fun, I mean killing zombies? That rules. I agree with Tom G. I hate looking for a save spot, and then you forget right after you do something to save. Then once you die and save it at the same time, you can't play on that saved game for who knows how long? I'm still waiting after 20 minutes. ALSO: My biggest problem, WHY IS THE TEXT SO SMALL? I can't This game is pretty fun, I mean killing zombies? That rules. I agree with Tom G. I hate looking for a save spot, and then you forget right after you do something to save. Then once you die and save it at the same time, you can't play on that saved game for who knows how long? I'm still waiting after 20 minutes. ALSO: My biggest problem, WHY IS THE TEXT SO SMALL? I can't read anything on the screen, I have a nice 47'' HDTV. And I can't make out the words for my life. Is it only me? Expand
  58. TimN.
    Aug 11, 2006
    7
    Great rental, but not much else. Because of the boring escort side-missions, poorly executed mission and save systems, and having to restart the game over and over again to either beat all of the Cases or level up...it's the simple things that make this game suffer, and keep it from having me rate it higher. C'mon, Capcom; get it right.
  59. KyleB.
    Aug 14, 2006
    8
    The worst thing about this game is the TINY TEXT. However this is somewhat do to the fact that I
  60. EricH.
    Aug 15, 2006
    8
    For those who say the save system is bad, sure this game might not be for you. The thing is, this save system raises the tension and urgency just one more notch. If you just want to mess around, there is always infinite mode. My main omplaint is the A.I. Tedious escort missions hamper the game's potential for being perfect. All in all, this is a great game, one of the best for the For those who say the save system is bad, sure this game might not be for you. The thing is, this save system raises the tension and urgency just one more notch. If you just want to mess around, there is always infinite mode. My main omplaint is the A.I. Tedious escort missions hamper the game's potential for being perfect. All in all, this is a great game, one of the best for the 360, and should not be missed. Expand
  61. JohnM.
    Aug 10, 2006
    8
    Good game. I would give it a 7.5 if possible. Tons of fun with all the weapons. I don't like the way the clock always ticks, which makes it much less than "free roaming". Saving system SUCKS. Graphics are decent. By no means will this game go down as one of the best games ever.
  62. DavidS.
    Aug 19, 2006
    7
    Great, original, open-ended game., with one glaring problem! I was reading people gripe about the save system. I thought they were probably over-reacting. They're not! I just had to start the game over because I saved too close to a deadline. There was no warning from the game! That's completely ridiculous! Having to check the ingame watch every minute is retarted. Could they at Great, original, open-ended game., with one glaring problem! I was reading people gripe about the save system. I thought they were probably over-reacting. They're not! I just had to start the game over because I saved too close to a deadline. There was no warning from the game! That's completely ridiculous! Having to check the ingame watch every minute is retarted. Could they at least of put the game time on the screen?! In the game booklet they explain how to save multiple times by using an external source. Jesus! Why couldn't they just give us a few more save slots! Expand
  63. BrettS.
    Sep 17, 2006
    2
    So, here we go again. Another awesome, spectacular, fabulous failure for the revelutionary gaming system xbox 360. Where to begin...hmmm..so many places, well let's start with the subtitles were small to read, the voice overs were inaudible, the game play boring, and annoying side quests that made no sense. Visually, the game was nice but not as revelutionary as some of the other So, here we go again. Another awesome, spectacular, fabulous failure for the revelutionary gaming system xbox 360. Where to begin...hmmm..so many places, well let's start with the subtitles were small to read, the voice overs were inaudible, the game play boring, and annoying side quests that made no sense. Visually, the game was nice but not as revelutionary as some of the other games for the 360. While playing this game i couldn't get over the feeling of something was missing from the game. Maybe i was too busy comparing it to the supremely well done resident evil, oh wait, that must be it, it trys too hard to be like resident evil, but fails miserably. The story line for this game is kind of cool, in that choosing different doors or pathways leads you to different parts of the story line. However, the storyline seemed thrown together from our favorite zombie take over the world movies, and lacked the luster and essence of resident evil for which it tried so hard to measure up to. This would be a fun game for someone with nothing to do on a weekend, and who enjoys mindnumbing button mashing fun, that is pathetically repetitive and...hmm...oh yah BORING!!!!. Well done xbox 360, if you keep this up you will eventually game yourself out of buisness. Personally, if the next salvo of games is as bad as the last one, i will be putting my 360 up for sale. Expand
  64. HarryL.
    Sep 25, 2006
    6
    I've played better games. It is quite fun but there just isn't enough to make it a classic. The AI is pretty bad and that save system, it's crap!
  65. JeffC.
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    I just completed this game. WHAT A RIDE. Rising has so many layers of gameplay. Just when you thought it was about killing zombies it takes an abrupt turn in the story, which was acted awesomely. The save system is a small drawback, but I preume it was so as to encourage replay. And you will.....I want to save more people, find secrets, mix drinks, learn how to disembowel zombies with my I just completed this game. WHAT A RIDE. Rising has so many layers of gameplay. Just when you thought it was about killing zombies it takes an abrupt turn in the story, which was acted awesomely. The save system is a small drawback, but I preume it was so as to encourage replay. And you will.....I want to save more people, find secrets, mix drinks, learn how to disembowel zombies with my bare hands. The game is a fanatstic ride. Expand
  66. ColinC.
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    Just finished this game. I really liked it and I'm glad it's exceeding Capcom's sales estimates. While I came to appreciate and even like the tension the one-slot save feature created, I can see why it really frustrated some people. I was swearing up a storm when I missed one of my cases and had to restart my game after being over three hours in. But then as I started Just finished this game. I really liked it and I'm glad it's exceeding Capcom's sales estimates. While I came to appreciate and even like the tension the one-slot save feature created, I can see why it really frustrated some people. I was swearing up a storm when I missed one of my cases and had to restart my game after being over three hours in. But then as I started playing again from the beginning, I realized I was still enjoying myself, since it let me rescue innocents I'd let die the first time through. (Repetitive, maybe, but I still got a nice warm feeling everytime I saved someone.) Overall, the mall itself was amazing. Great design. The story kept me involved. And the different ways to dispatch zombies was a blast. My only regret is once I got the small chainsaws, a lot of the challenge left the game since they're just too darn good at killing things fast. Rent it if you're not sure, but definitely give it a try. For the right kind of gamer, this game is a true delight. Expand
  67. MatthewE.
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    The best single-player experience I've had in years. Maybe the best game I've ever played. Based on my first impression I would have given this game an 8, BUT after exploring this game for 20 hours or so I truly realize the masterpiece Capcom cook up with Dead Rising. All I can say is go play this game. Give it a couple hours. It takes that long before you get over the zombie The best single-player experience I've had in years. Maybe the best game I've ever played. Based on my first impression I would have given this game an 8, BUT after exploring this game for 20 hours or so I truly realize the masterpiece Capcom cook up with Dead Rising. All I can say is go play this game. Give it a couple hours. It takes that long before you get over the zombie slaughtering and can actually get into the meat-and-potatoes of the game. Expand
  68. CM
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    Ahem reading John's post is a clear example how not to persuade someone to not do something great such as dead rising the vast amount of items, the rarely used and great save system, the very solid voice acting that was not done by random celebrity's for a change, infinite replay value the only problem is that some of the special moves are some what cumbersome
  69. JohnG.
    Jan 6, 2007
    2
    All I have to say is that this game sucks! The save system sucks! A.I. sucks! Dialogue sucks! Everything sucks! I am so glad that I rented this game before buying it. I about threw the disc out of the window it sucked so bad. For those who read this don't buy OR rent this game because it SUCKS!
  70. John
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    Yes, maybe the save system bothered me the first time I lost 2 hours of game play, but when I realized I could play through again with all my level-ups I was happier; and 1.5 hours later realized I had a hell of a good time getting back to where I started. This is a REALLY fun game.
  71. RandyM.
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    Sure the saving system is archaic and frustrating, but other than that, Dead Rising...ahem...rises...above the competition and is a masterpiece. Excellent use of sandbox gameplay and a masterful storyline combine to form an unforgettable game.
  72. MikeD.
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    This game was an awesome experience! It Rocked!
  73. JuniorB.
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    Awesome graphics, killer plot and characters, and a Grand Theft auto type feel to the gameplay. Some find the save system and the timed missions annoying but I feel it makes it more challenging and interesting. Just make sure you get 2 storage devices (2 memory cards or hd w/ memory card). Also Isabella and Jessie look marvelous.
  74. KevinC.
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    I personally love this game, I suggest renting it before buying because it isnt for everyone. Kind of like how some people hate metal gear games, some people will hate this one.
  75. Max
    Aug 3, 2007
    9
    In my opinion, this is the best single-player game for 360 so far. I loved the graphics and I liked how every one of the hundreds of different items you could use to kill the zombies was different. The only bad thing about this game is the zombies aren't as much of a threat as they should be. You will almost never get killed by the zombies and it usually comes down to stocking up on In my opinion, this is the best single-player game for 360 so far. I loved the graphics and I liked how every one of the hundreds of different items you could use to kill the zombies was different. The only bad thing about this game is the zombies aren't as much of a threat as they should be. You will almost never get killed by the zombies and it usually comes down to stocking up on food to fight the bosses. But it's still fun choping off zombie heads or impaling them with a coat hanger and taking a picture of the fountain of blood spewing out of their heads. You can cut zombies in half by swinging a battle axe around in circles and even plow through a large group of zombies with a simple grocery cart. Expand
  76. TomK.
    Jan 4, 2008
    7
    I'm a huge fan of zombie anything, and I was the first person to pick it up at Gamestop. At first i was blown away, I loved it, about a bajillion zombies and weapons that made me laugh and/or feel like a bamf. But then i started noticing things. The main thing was the aiming system, it's pretty terrible, and the fact that you can't move while firing makes it worse. Another I'm a huge fan of zombie anything, and I was the first person to pick it up at Gamestop. At first i was blown away, I loved it, about a bajillion zombies and weapons that made me laugh and/or feel like a bamf. But then i started noticing things. The main thing was the aiming system, it's pretty terrible, and the fact that you can't move while firing makes it worse. Another thing, those convicts in the jeep...why won't they die? The last thing, for the love of our vision, why couldn't they make the type bigger? I do enjoy this game, a lot, but i could never push myself to complete it. It's a shame. Expand
  77. JeremyP.
    Jun 20, 2009
    8
    This game is very fun. Graphics are awsome for a first generation title. Sound is great. Replay value is enourmouse. Achievments are challenging but not too hard. Only two things hold this back from a 10. The save system is horrible and the time limit, while a big factor in the main storyline, should have been ditched for another mode and let you just kill zombies as you see fit.
  78. BryanD.
    Oct 15, 2006
    8
    This game is seconded only to oblivion on the 360. It has 3 flaws that I can see. The AI at times can be well.. retarted. Pushing zombies down that are not blocking them running into walls or just stopping all together, but this can be easily over come by using the way point system. but they are no way dummer then your teamates in any of the socom single player's. if you have a first This game is seconded only to oblivion on the 360. It has 3 flaws that I can see. The AI at times can be well.. retarted. Pushing zombies down that are not blocking them running into walls or just stopping all together, but this can be easily over come by using the way point system. but they are no way dummer then your teamates in any of the socom single player's. if you have a first generation system then you might wanna shy away from this game there is a good chance it will break your system. also untill you get to about lvl 15 Frank ( the main character) runs like a retarted penguin. The save system is perfect for this game. God forbid that some people actually have to think before they save there game! Far to many games are implementing a save any time any were system this just spoils the difficulty of the games. The story line is straight out of a b horrer film and it doesnt try to hide it. This is one of the reasons I loved this game also. I have read a few comments saying that this game is hard.. belive me who ever said that probly couldnt kill a grunt in easy mode of halo. DR is an arcad style zombie slaying romb throug a mall. at its best. and we can not forget that it is just pure fun to dress up like megaman and kill hordes upon hordes of zombies. I recommend this game to any on who loves action, gore, and zombies. Expand
  79. NateB.
    Nov 6, 2006
    8
    Rob J had it right when he said that this is a flawed Gem. The game has a great sense of humor, plethora of weapons and cool little easter eggs. I love the gameplay and the challenge that the game provides. People who complain about the Save issue must not realize that there are save points throughout the mall and that the save system in this game isn't any different than in the GTA Rob J had it right when he said that this is a flawed Gem. The game has a great sense of humor, plethora of weapons and cool little easter eggs. I love the gameplay and the challenge that the game provides. People who complain about the Save issue must not realize that there are save points throughout the mall and that the save system in this game isn't any different than in the GTA games (you have to go back to home base in an area to save). The main turnoffs are that non HD tv owners will struggle with the small text, you can't do anything while receiving a mission on the phone (really annoying) and I didn't like the time system. I wish I could explore the mall at my leasure as opposed to being rushed all the time. Also, if you're having a tough time with the difficulty, kill Adam in Wonderland plaza (one of the first Psychopaths in the game) and get his chainsaws (and save the guy so you get the shortcut) and there are 3 books (I can't remember what they are, look on GameFaqs or something) and that Chainsaw will last forever and kill just about anything in 1-2 hits (bosses maybe 6-7). The story is bad/unintentionally funny...just like a B-horror movie. That'll be good for some and bad for others. Also, its great dressing up in a woman's dress and wearing a lego head. Makes for some hilarious cut scenes. Expand
  80. TomG.
    Aug 11, 2006
    6
    Lots of interesting weapons make killing zombies a blast.escorting absent minded npc's through a sea of zombies isn't quite as fun (it sucks).to save the game you have to find a bathroom or security room. while this is an interesting approach, it is a continual pain when you get killed right after completing a mission.
  81. Sparky
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    I totally AGREE with the person that said this will go down as one of the best games ever. I read this other review about the save system being absolutely horrible (WRONG) and how the clock system always ticks like crazy, but this person should really start taking medication because if you think that's annoyong, yikes! An absolutely flawless game!!!
  82. MikeE.
    Aug 14, 2006
    5
    Could have been the best game of the year, but the save system is awful, and pretty much ruins the game. One save? W. T. F.? Note to developers: Stop using crippled save systems to increase the difficulty level of your games! Difficulty should be determined by game play, storyline and skill -- NOT by when I need to answer the door or let the dog out. It is ridiculous to have to either Could have been the best game of the year, but the save system is awful, and pretty much ruins the game. One save? W. T. F.? Note to developers: Stop using crippled save systems to increase the difficulty level of your games! Difficulty should be determined by game play, storyline and skill -- NOT by when I need to answer the door or let the dog out. It is ridiculous to have to either pause the game and let my Xbox run for hours and hours, or to have to keep playing for 20 minutes until I can find a save point. Awful! And while the game begs for exploration, you can't. Because you can't risk running out of time for a critical mission. Multiple saves would give you a lot of freedom to do things like play a game where you only use your hands; play a game where you put as many masks on zombies as you can; play a game where you try to rescue as many people as possible, etc. Not being able to explore and experiment without essentially ruining the main plotline is AWFUL! Note to Capcom: I hate you. I will hate you until you release a patch for this game that offers multiple save. Get it together! Expand
  83. NoahR.
    Aug 15, 2006
    9
    I'm not sure why everyone is complaining about the "one save point" because that is completely inaccurate. You can save in any bathroom in any plaza as well. Admittedly, the save system is a bit of a pain. The complaints everyone has are just wrong. Graphics: 8 Gameplay: 8 Sound: 8 Killing Zombies with obscure weapons: 11 This game is almost as cool as playing a Shaun of the Dead I'm not sure why everyone is complaining about the "one save point" because that is completely inaccurate. You can save in any bathroom in any plaza as well. Admittedly, the save system is a bit of a pain. The complaints everyone has are just wrong. Graphics: 8 Gameplay: 8 Sound: 8 Killing Zombies with obscure weapons: 11 This game is almost as cool as playing a Shaun of the Dead rip-off. The entire idea surrounding the game was way cool. I probably only would have given this game an 8, but using a katana to slice a zombie in half at the point of impact (first I've ever seen this!!) I had to raise it to a 9. The graphics are okay, the sound is decent, and the gameplay isn't perfect. It's just a FUN game. Expand
  84. StephenS.
    Aug 16, 2006
    9
    This is one of those rare games that just gets better and better the more time you put. What at first seems like simple button masher develops into a true opened ended surprise. I hours in I am still amazed at the depth of play, creative game play and myriad of new weapons I come across. The fact that you could waste your accerated 72 hours just hacking zombies and not saving innocents or This is one of those rare games that just gets better and better the more time you put. What at first seems like simple button masher develops into a true opened ended surprise. I hours in I am still amazed at the depth of play, creative game play and myriad of new weapons I come across. The fact that you could waste your accerated 72 hours just hacking zombies and not saving innocents or following main plot lines is a testament to the game designers willingness to truly leave it up to the gamer. The boss fights are completey crazy and inventive....an acrobactic clown proctecting an indoor amusement park.......a freaked out supermarket manager guarding his store from vandals with a Madmax shopping cart....just insane. If your board mix a new concoction in the local food court or go shopping...heck its a mall after all. So mow some zombies over with your new lawn mower, make a zombie blood shower or simply hack a way with a battle ax after a long bicycle ride. Whether following the main plot ior just gutting zombies...enjoy! What ever you do ...just remember to take pictures. Expand
  85. EmonX.
    Aug 21, 2006
    8
    The initial bliss of all the fun goofy content immediately gratifies, like changing into obnoxious outfits, mastering use of the camera for big points Erotica shots on headless women in skirts, getting your golf swing down, learning new ways to heat up and apply a red hot frying pan, and mixing noxious drinks from common household goods. However, to really appreciate the deeper joys of The initial bliss of all the fun goofy content immediately gratifies, like changing into obnoxious outfits, mastering use of the camera for big points Erotica shots on headless women in skirts, getting your golf swing down, learning new ways to heat up and apply a red hot frying pan, and mixing noxious drinks from common household goods. However, to really appreciate the deeper joys of this game, be prepared for multiple 72 hour repeats as you level up, and be ready to slog through countless clunky story missions that will hand you your own head more than once, leading to some real frustration, especially until you get your brain around the game's time based system. It is absolutely worth getting through the frustrations though! You'll understand once you find the maintenance key, especially if you do it on your own chutzpa rather than wait for some mission to direct you to it (if one exists, dunno yet), as getting that will put you in the driver's seat, literally, to some really good fun waiting to be had, and available, if you explore, from the get go. Getting over the mindset that you need to plow through missions to finish this game helps too, because you don't, at least, not right away. Maybe once you've learned what really lurks in every nook or cranny, where all the resources and keys are, and what time everything shakes down to ensure you're always on time to be at the heart of the action with the right tools and tricks up your skirt, or whatever you happen to be wearing. Yeah, there are definitely issues with the AI, NPC navigation, room loading, non-NPC state preservation versus room loading (which can really hoop your crafty plans if you're not careful), boss NPC balancing, and the wholly awkward shooting mechanics. However, please trust me when I tell you that the depth and breadth of moments, absurdities, alternative & additive cinematics and all the rest more than make up for the occasionally clunky bits! Expand
  86. NickV.
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    One of the most satisfying game experiences ever. Lives up to and surpasses all of the hype with fantastic gameplay, a great storyline, and tons of replayability. This is the kind of game you can play over-and-over and still find new things to appreciate about it. PS and Nintendo fanboys have yet another reason to cry themselves to sleep at night. This is survival/horror heaven.
  87. Moneyman
    Aug 25, 2006
    1
    Just played this game and I am glad I rented it... The controls and targeting system really really need improvement. Stick with what works Halo...Call of Duty 2 style movement. The game story seemed good at first....but you have to repeat the same scenes over and over and over again. This game is way over rated it gets a one from me.
  88. [Anonymous]
    Aug 29, 2006
    8
    The game is original. It's like a mix of Resident Evil, Dawn of the Dead, and.....comedy i guess. It only suffers from a bad save system thats not as bad as everyone says. The story is quite interesting too. Any who gives this game under a 4 either played the game for 10 minutes, was expecting a game in which you run around with unlimited ammo and shoot the crap out of everything The game is original. It's like a mix of Resident Evil, Dawn of the Dead, and.....comedy i guess. It only suffers from a bad save system thats not as bad as everyone says. The story is quite interesting too. Any who gives this game under a 4 either played the game for 10 minutes, was expecting a game in which you run around with unlimited ammo and shoot the crap out of everything that moves without having to worry about surviving or following the plot, or just felt like giving this game a bad review. I can understand the people who gave it fives though. This games not for everyone. Expand
  89. J,Aronovitch
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    Grand Theft Auto meets Resident Evil. Dead Rising is sheer fun and totally addicting. Weapons are only limited by your imagination. Huge replayability, great graphics and storyline. A must have game.
  90. JamesH.
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    First things first, this game wont be for everyone. This is not an easy game. This is not a game that can be fully
  91. AdrianH.
    Sep 11, 2006
    9
    A fantastic take on the survival horror/zombie genre. Just taking random objects and using them to beat zombies down is fun and hilarious for a long time. The game just begs to be explored and played over and over - the time limits, the levelling system and save system actually force you to learn everything about the game bit by bit rather than allowing gamers 7to breeze through the whole A fantastic take on the survival horror/zombie genre. Just taking random objects and using them to beat zombies down is fun and hilarious for a long time. The game just begs to be explored and played over and over - the time limits, the levelling system and save system actually force you to learn everything about the game bit by bit rather than allowing gamers 7to breeze through the whole experience in a week. A little bit old school in its charm, its one of those games that you should be comparing notes with your fellow Dead Rising gamers over and over and where you'll take pride in knowing every nook and cranny in the mall. On the negative side, there are some very questionable control decisions (like forcing you to stop moving before you can aim a gun and using X+A or the L3 button to do certain moves) and the horribly small text (non-HDTV users will have a horrible time reading it). Expand
  92. BobS.
    Sep 1, 2006
    7
    I'll try to keep this short and sweet. The good: Violent, lots of weapons, lots of clothing, lots of cool combat moves to learn and a level up system that I love...not to mention a cool picture-taking XP system. Awesome story, cool characters. The bad: Awkward saving system. Insanely stupid survivor AI. Ridiculous time limits that strongly discourage doing side-missions. In a I'll try to keep this short and sweet. The good: Violent, lots of weapons, lots of clothing, lots of cool combat moves to learn and a level up system that I love...not to mention a cool picture-taking XP system. Awesome story, cool characters. The bad: Awkward saving system. Insanely stupid survivor AI. Ridiculous time limits that strongly discourage doing side-missions. In a nutshell: This game is merciless. If you're the type of person who thrived on the high difficulty of games like Ninja Gaiden Black or Devil May Cry, buy this now. But if you're a more casual gamer, rent this one first. It's a doozy. Expand
  93. AnonymousMC
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    I give this game a 9
    I'm giving it a 10 to equal it out a bit as so many ppl just give 1's without reason...
    This game may be difficult and have an awkward saving system (mind you, GTA is worse with safehouses) There is a huge selection of weapons for you to choose from, tons of shops....many people to save and psycho's to kill! There have never been so many
    I give this game a 9
    I'm giving it a 10 to equal it out a bit as so many ppl just give 1's without reason...

    This game may be difficult and have an awkward saving system (mind you, GTA is worse with safehouses)
    There is a huge selection of weapons for you to choose from, tons of shops....many people to save and psycho's to kill!

    There have never been so many zombies on a screen at once ever before. It's amazing.
    The achievements and mutliple endings will keep you playing over and over again.

    Don't forget about the outfits either! You can wear glasses, heats, masks, shoes, jackets, t-shirts and entire outfits too of course (Megaman and more), even wear little child's clothes ;)
    Expand
  94. Sam
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    It's just ridiculously fun.
  95. Andyman
    Sep 7, 2006
    7
    What could have been an insanely addictive brawler is instead dragged down into mediocrity by a stupid storyline and incredibly dull photography side-quests. Capcom: smashing zombies is beyond fun all by itself. Keep it simple.
  96. NeilV.
    Sep 9, 2006
    9
    Initially, I found this game to be frustrating. I had nearly given up on enjoying it and then I just decided to follow the storyline, abandon my gamer bravado and get into it. What a difference that made.....this game has an engaging story. The campiness of it all is to be expected and adds a great deal of humor. There is definitely replay value and leveling up gets to be a great deal of Initially, I found this game to be frustrating. I had nearly given up on enjoying it and then I just decided to follow the storyline, abandon my gamer bravado and get into it. What a difference that made.....this game has an engaging story. The campiness of it all is to be expected and adds a great deal of humor. There is definitely replay value and leveling up gets to be a great deal of fun. Be patient, work with the save system (make sure you save often) and splatter the undead! Expand
  97. RussellC.
    Oct 13, 2007
    8
    I saw this on my friends 360, sitting in his room waitng for the loading screen to pass for him to show me this so called amazing game of his (keep in mind that the xbox was beside my foot , standing upright) upon the level starting, I couldnt believe my eyes, the swarm of zombies, the motion blur, the lovely crisp sharpness...it blew me away! so much so that i kicked my friends xbox over I saw this on my friends 360, sitting in his room waitng for the loading screen to pass for him to show me this so called amazing game of his (keep in mind that the xbox was beside my foot , standing upright) upon the level starting, I couldnt believe my eyes, the swarm of zombies, the motion blur, the lovely crisp sharpness...it blew me away! so much so that i kicked my friends xbox over only for it to hit the floor so hard and give the disc the ring of death!! i was so embaressed, i didnt know what to say. Needless to say I went out and bought him another copy and me a 360 and a copy of the game too. I believe Dead rising is one of the 360's finest yet, it looks and plays amazingly. I could go on for hours about how much and what I love about this game, but I wont, instaed I will mention the only 2 annoyances in the game. that is the save system and the ever annoying phone ringing, from a guy called Otis who thiks that I need to rescue everyone in the mall from the ever hungry zombies. In order to take a call you have to stop what your doing ( that means no zombies mashing) and listen to what he has to say, and you cant skip. These are the sort of things that you only notice the second time around. The great far outweigh the bad. this game is awsome!! Expand
  98. NathanT.
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    I honestly don't have any problem with the save system, every once in awhile it kinda ticks me off though. The whole concept is addicting along with the addictive gameplay. This is a must own for all Xbox 360 owners.
  99. Shmitty
    Jan 29, 2007
    9
    I freaking love this game. I really got into the story, and enjoyed bashing zombies in. The save system is fine, I think people don't like it because its not easy. The game looks great, and frame rate is perfect. The AI is pretty crappy though, and survivors are hard to save at times. Its not unbearable, but it is pretty bad. There's so much to do, people to save, pictures to I freaking love this game. I really got into the story, and enjoyed bashing zombies in. The save system is fine, I think people don't like it because its not easy. The game looks great, and frame rate is perfect. The AI is pretty crappy though, and survivors are hard to save at times. Its not unbearable, but it is pretty bad. There's so much to do, people to save, pictures to take, the mall is your oyster! For granted, its not for anyone, some elemtns are kind of silly, like being able to "dodge" by just jumping. Again, the AI is lackluster, but the game is very good. Its hard to say whether I'd recommend it, Rent it first, and make your decision. I agree with the critics, most of the game is pretty nice, but just the object have to pump 50 rounds into a human boos is silly. Play it or not, its your choice. Expand
  100. BrendanA.
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    People expect too much from a game which can feature 800 zombies onscreen at once with no lag. Of course the zombies have bad AI, the system couldn't handle anything more! Bad dialogue? For the early parts of the game, perhaps, but the story is awesome enough to make up for it in spades. Most importantly, if you think the save system sucks, YOU suck at the game. The save system works People expect too much from a game which can feature 800 zombies onscreen at once with no lag. Of course the zombies have bad AI, the system couldn't handle anything more! Bad dialogue? For the early parts of the game, perhaps, but the story is awesome enough to make up for it in spades. Most importantly, if you think the save system sucks, YOU suck at the game. The save system works fine so long as you aren't retarded and you remember never to save when you're about to miss an important scoop. Aww, baby has to regain those 3 levels all over again? Cry me a river. I hate it when people bitch over stupid things. The game is astounding, the leveling system is genius, and the sheer ecstasy you feel every time you use a sickle to rip a zombie's head off will never fade. As Frank himself would say, "FANTASTIC!" Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. 80
    A relentlessly inventive game worth the price of entry...The experience is flawed -- some might say hampered -- by the save system and curiously designed game structure. But whether you 'get it' or not, Dead Rising nevertheless provides a wealth of secrets and mysteries for both eager gamers and the adventuresome.
  2. A unique, inventive, and fun game that youll most likely want to play and own due to its huge amount of replayability from random slash-a-thons to side quests and item discovery; you can spend a whole lot of time in this game. Then again if the save system and RPG leveling system turn you off you might be better off renting it first.
  3. The astounding level of variety that is packed into the game is wonderful to see.