Dead Rising Xbox 360

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Aug 8, 2006
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 487 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 487

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Steve-OM
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    It's the greatest zombie brawl, in the mall that has it all! Things move so fast and you think you are done, but just around the corner is more zombie killin fun. There is so much to do in the undead zoo, you'll play it over and over, many times through. Who wouldn't like this game is no one I can name. It just isn't possible to be that freakin lame. So unless your It's the greatest zombie brawl, in the mall that has it all! Things move so fast and you think you are done, but just around the corner is more zombie killin fun. There is so much to do in the undead zoo, you'll play it over and over, many times through. Who wouldn't like this game is no one I can name. It just isn't possible to be that freakin lame. So unless your life must be constantly dull, get off your ass and crush some zombie skull. Good times to be had in Willamette, it's the best 60 bucks I'll never regret... Expand
  2. JacobV.
    Oct 27, 2006
    9
    This game makes me glad I sunk so much cash into a Xbox360. I will admit that is difficult at first, but when you start keep in mind that you will die, you won't finish everthing (at least at first), and you don't need to save everyone. Saving is a pain at first, but once you get stronger (and braver) the distances between save points seem shorter and shorter. And killing This game makes me glad I sunk so much cash into a Xbox360. I will admit that is difficult at first, but when you start keep in mind that you will die, you won't finish everthing (at least at first), and you don't need to save everyone. Saving is a pain at first, but once you get stronger (and braver) the distances between save points seem shorter and shorter. And killing zombies with mannequin limbs is great fun. Expand
  3. MarcoV.
    Aug 10, 2006
    9
    Dead Rising is a must buy game. The fun experience of multi-killing ways of slaughtering Zombies don't get old. Replay value is good. Controls are a little sluggish but overtime you get used to them. Graphics are better then any other game with the same gender. Gameplay is as its purist and fun. Sound is average with glimpse of nostalgic and dramatic audio. Storyline is a above Dead Rising is a must buy game. The fun experience of multi-killing ways of slaughtering Zombies don't get old. Replay value is good. Controls are a little sluggish but overtime you get used to them. Graphics are better then any other game with the same gender. Gameplay is as its purist and fun. Sound is average with glimpse of nostalgic and dramatic audio. Storyline is a above average which keeps you guessing what is coming next. The only below average about this game is the save game system. I suggest u go back and forth in saving your game. I recommend this game to anyone! One for Campcom! Lovely! Expand
  4. LawrenceM.
    Aug 18, 2006
    9
    Dead Rising manages to capture a great storyline, an immersive world, and a unique gameplay technique, creating an excellent game. Trapped in a mall as Frank West, you have the option of killing time or zombies. While Dead Rising has the potential to become repetitive and boring, Dead Rising never crosses that line, staying fresh no matter how many innocents you are given the option of Dead Rising manages to capture a great storyline, an immersive world, and a unique gameplay technique, creating an excellent game. Trapped in a mall as Frank West, you have the option of killing time or zombies. While Dead Rising has the potential to become repetitive and boring, Dead Rising never crosses that line, staying fresh no matter how many innocents you are given the option of saving. The only gripe I have is the saving structure as it is sometimes at odds with the real-time clock. I have already gotten used to it though and it no longer gets in my way. Enjoy. Go kill some zombies. Expand
  5. DanE.
    Feb 20, 2008
    9
    Hugely enjoyable. Did initially encounter problems on SD, but luckily bought a HDTV. I had no problems with the save mechanics, if anything it added to the game for me. Brilliant story. Very original. And some of the best achievements for any Xbox360 game. A true game classic. BUY THIS!
  6. AdamW.
    May 22, 2009
    8
    What could be more fun than using whatever you like to destroy zombies. In a matter of second you will go from chewing zombies up with a lawnmower to beating them down with the plant pot. There are a few floor that let it down. The extremely small text, the slightly stick gun control and the lack of autosave points but if you can get over those you will find a thoroughly enjoyable game What could be more fun than using whatever you like to destroy zombies. In a matter of second you will go from chewing zombies up with a lawnmower to beating them down with the plant pot. There are a few floor that let it down. The extremely small text, the slightly stick gun control and the lack of autosave points but if you can get over those you will find a thoroughly enjoyable game with hours worth of gameplay. Expand
  7. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    i had alot of fun with this game and have spent many house just sand boxing it trying to find fun ways to kill zombies which this game gives you alot of ways to do it. the story is pretty good having it start off as you a photographer being helicoptered into a city to try and find out whats going on. you are limeted to being only inside a mall . it would have been nice if you had a wholei had alot of fun with this game and have spent many house just sand boxing it trying to find fun ways to kill zombies which this game gives you alot of ways to do it. the story is pretty good having it start off as you a photographer being helicoptered into a city to try and find out whats going on. you are limeted to being only inside a mall . it would have been nice if you had a whole city to play in. there are alot of wepons and i do mean alot . the save feature is abit of a chore and i think they could have done better . also the game is pretty hard at first it will probubly take you awhile to figure things out. i also wish they had just a free mode where you could just have fun killing zombies with no restrictions . all in all i found dead rising a real fun and great sand boxing game . if they had added 4 player co op this probubly would have been a 10 . valve should take notice at alot of the things that DR has done so when they ever make a L4D 3 game they can make it so its not a short repetitive piece of crap. Expand
  8. Sep 6, 2010
    9
    While Dead Rising isn't perfect, the story should have been optional, as it was generic and frustrating at times, the core gameplay-going round a shopping mall whilt murdering zombies, is a real treat and a lot of fun. There are countless ways too off the fiends, smashing a plant pot over there heads, running them through with a chainsaw- the ace katana. The endless possibilities make itWhile Dead Rising isn't perfect, the story should have been optional, as it was generic and frustrating at times, the core gameplay-going round a shopping mall whilt murdering zombies, is a real treat and a lot of fun. There are countless ways too off the fiends, smashing a plant pot over there heads, running them through with a chainsaw- the ace katana. The endless possibilities make it essential.A must-have. Expand
  9. MikeW
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    Every comment with a score below 5 seems to have missed the options screen where you can decide if aim follows character view or camera view :) An excellent game. Completed it this morning, started right back from the start immediately. The deadlines are tight and the saves infrequent, but that just adds more adrenalin to an already tightly packed game. Fantastuic, definietly a must buy Every comment with a score below 5 seems to have missed the options screen where you can decide if aim follows character view or camera view :) An excellent game. Completed it this morning, started right back from the start immediately. The deadlines are tight and the saves infrequent, but that just adds more adrenalin to an already tightly packed game. Fantastuic, definietly a must buy (and rtfm on the controls for extra pleasure! Expand
  10. EliD.
    Aug 16, 2006
    10
    This game is awsome,it has great graphics the controls are awsome.They finally make a game i know we have all been waiting for.The save system could of been a little better.But overall this game is awsome.I mean hacking at zombies with knives,running them over,cutting them with chainsaws what more could you ask for.
  11. AtomHeart
    Aug 10, 2006
    9
    An excellent game with tons of replay value. A must have for any 360 owner, and an immediate entry into the top 5 all-time 360 games.
  12. KyleK.
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    really fun entertaining game. those people that gave it a 1 obviously were wanting a game like halo or GTA. This is purely a mindless fun entertaining game that will last for hours. its not a all time best seller but its a darn blast to play.
  13. Quaid
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    Amazing game! It will go down as one of the best games ever. There will be people who won't like this game, but then again, these are the same people that think Over G Fighters is the best game ever.
  14. GaryC.
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    This is a fantastic game. I can't believe some of the negative comments here. "the subtitles were small to read, the voice overs were inaudible" - er get a decent TV then as its onviously crap. Some of the comments about the rescue system seem a tad unfair as each rescue can be different. You can hold some of their hands and drag em along. Some you can give weapons and health to, This is a fantastic game. I can't believe some of the negative comments here. "the subtitles were small to read, the voice overs were inaudible" - er get a decent TV then as its onviously crap. Some of the comments about the rescue system seem a tad unfair as each rescue can be different. You can hold some of their hands and drag em along. Some you can give weapons and health to, some you have to put over your shoulder. All in all brilliant fun. The save system could grate some people but the fact is that you couldn't start this game from scratch and finish it in one go without levelling up and restarting. You also need to pratice the order in which to do stuff. The small details as well as the in-your face bashing action mak this great fun to play. Shame theres no online multiplayer mash-ups though. Expand
  15. MattF.
    Dec 7, 2007
    8
    Brilliant game. A time-consuming, addictive, social life stealing, fun title with lots to offer. With a whole catalogue of weapons and an optional storyline, this could stand easily in the sandbox genre. Worth buying.
  16. EddieB.
    Jul 6, 2007
    8
    I thought it was an amazing game allt tho the saving system sucked it was too complex for a game like that but a good game.
  17. Maximillion
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    This is an outstanding game. It's been a long time since I got so sucked into a game world like this one. It's a bit trying at first to figure out exactly how it works; but everything, save system included, have been tuned to brilliance surrounding the experience it's tuned to have. The rush of bringing back 6 survivors to safety/the save point when you
  18. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    The First Dead Rising, and what a game that was. Excellent gameplay, other than the forced time limit. Yes, it's true. You wont be able to complete the game on first try. We've all been there. But the (almost) free exploring makes this game, with all it's weapons that are avaible to crush and kill zomies, an epic journey through Zombie Hell.
  19. JimDavies
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    Reading the comments here appears to indicate that this game is not to everyone's taste. I find that really odd as this is one of the best gaming experiences I've ever had!!! The story is excellent and overtime mode rocks... plenty of re-playability. I dont understand how people are giving it scores of less than seven, never mind scores of 1!
  20. RobJ.
    Oct 30, 2006
    8
    An entertaining and fun take on the zombie-fest theme. Be warned that the scarce save points make the game pretty hard. Personally, I appreciate that. You actually have to struggle in order to progress in the game, and will end up retrying many times. It's not a drag though, as there's plenty of things to discover, and always the opportunity to go save someone that you An entertaining and fun take on the zombie-fest theme. Be warned that the scarce save points make the game pretty hard. Personally, I appreciate that. You actually have to struggle in order to progress in the game, and will end up retrying many times. It's not a drag though, as there's plenty of things to discover, and always the opportunity to go save someone that you didn't have time for on your last try. It's mindless fun, yes, but also demands a wee bit of strategy and patience. Replay value is high, since there's no way you can do everyhting first time around. In fact, you simply can't do everything in just one go. It does have some issues, and I'd say it's a flawed gem, which I recommend. Expand
  21. Ryencoke
    Aug 11, 2006
    8
    This game is pretty fun, I mean killing zombies? That rules. I agree with Tom G. I hate looking for a save spot, and then you forget right after you do something to save. Then once you die and save it at the same time, you can't play on that saved game for who knows how long? I'm still waiting after 20 minutes. ALSO: My biggest problem, WHY IS THE TEXT SO SMALL? I can't This game is pretty fun, I mean killing zombies? That rules. I agree with Tom G. I hate looking for a save spot, and then you forget right after you do something to save. Then once you die and save it at the same time, you can't play on that saved game for who knows how long? I'm still waiting after 20 minutes. ALSO: My biggest problem, WHY IS THE TEXT SO SMALL? I can't read anything on the screen, I have a nice 47'' HDTV. And I can't make out the words for my life. Is it only me? Expand
  22. KyleB.
    Aug 14, 2006
    8
    The worst thing about this game is the TINY TEXT. However this is somewhat do to the fact that I
  23. EricH.
    Aug 15, 2006
    8
    For those who say the save system is bad, sure this game might not be for you. The thing is, this save system raises the tension and urgency just one more notch. If you just want to mess around, there is always infinite mode. My main omplaint is the A.I. Tedious escort missions hamper the game's potential for being perfect. All in all, this is a great game, one of the best for the For those who say the save system is bad, sure this game might not be for you. The thing is, this save system raises the tension and urgency just one more notch. If you just want to mess around, there is always infinite mode. My main omplaint is the A.I. Tedious escort missions hamper the game's potential for being perfect. All in all, this is a great game, one of the best for the 360, and should not be missed. Expand
  24. JohnM.
    Aug 10, 2006
    8
    Good game. I would give it a 7.5 if possible. Tons of fun with all the weapons. I don't like the way the clock always ticks, which makes it much less than "free roaming". Saving system SUCKS. Graphics are decent. By no means will this game go down as one of the best games ever.
  25. JeffC.
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    I just completed this game. WHAT A RIDE. Rising has so many layers of gameplay. Just when you thought it was about killing zombies it takes an abrupt turn in the story, which was acted awesomely. The save system is a small drawback, but I preume it was so as to encourage replay. And you will.....I want to save more people, find secrets, mix drinks, learn how to disembowel zombies with my I just completed this game. WHAT A RIDE. Rising has so many layers of gameplay. Just when you thought it was about killing zombies it takes an abrupt turn in the story, which was acted awesomely. The save system is a small drawback, but I preume it was so as to encourage replay. And you will.....I want to save more people, find secrets, mix drinks, learn how to disembowel zombies with my bare hands. The game is a fanatstic ride. Expand
  26. ColinC.
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    Just finished this game. I really liked it and I'm glad it's exceeding Capcom's sales estimates. While I came to appreciate and even like the tension the one-slot save feature created, I can see why it really frustrated some people. I was swearing up a storm when I missed one of my cases and had to restart my game after being over three hours in. But then as I started Just finished this game. I really liked it and I'm glad it's exceeding Capcom's sales estimates. While I came to appreciate and even like the tension the one-slot save feature created, I can see why it really frustrated some people. I was swearing up a storm when I missed one of my cases and had to restart my game after being over three hours in. But then as I started playing again from the beginning, I realized I was still enjoying myself, since it let me rescue innocents I'd let die the first time through. (Repetitive, maybe, but I still got a nice warm feeling everytime I saved someone.) Overall, the mall itself was amazing. Great design. The story kept me involved. And the different ways to dispatch zombies was a blast. My only regret is once I got the small chainsaws, a lot of the challenge left the game since they're just too darn good at killing things fast. Rent it if you're not sure, but definitely give it a try. For the right kind of gamer, this game is a true delight. Expand
  27. MatthewE.
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    The best single-player experience I've had in years. Maybe the best game I've ever played. Based on my first impression I would have given this game an 8, BUT after exploring this game for 20 hours or so I truly realize the masterpiece Capcom cook up with Dead Rising. All I can say is go play this game. Give it a couple hours. It takes that long before you get over the zombie The best single-player experience I've had in years. Maybe the best game I've ever played. Based on my first impression I would have given this game an 8, BUT after exploring this game for 20 hours or so I truly realize the masterpiece Capcom cook up with Dead Rising. All I can say is go play this game. Give it a couple hours. It takes that long before you get over the zombie slaughtering and can actually get into the meat-and-potatoes of the game. Expand
  28. CM
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    Ahem reading John's post is a clear example how not to persuade someone to not do something great such as dead rising the vast amount of items, the rarely used and great save system, the very solid voice acting that was not done by random celebrity's for a change, infinite replay value the only problem is that some of the special moves are some what cumbersome
  29. John
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    Yes, maybe the save system bothered me the first time I lost 2 hours of game play, but when I realized I could play through again with all my level-ups I was happier; and 1.5 hours later realized I had a hell of a good time getting back to where I started. This is a REALLY fun game.
  30. RandyM.
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    Sure the saving system is archaic and frustrating, but other than that, Dead Rising...ahem...rises...above the competition and is a masterpiece. Excellent use of sandbox gameplay and a masterful storyline combine to form an unforgettable game.
  31. MikeD.
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    This game was an awesome experience! It Rocked!
  32. JuniorB.
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    Awesome graphics, killer plot and characters, and a Grand Theft auto type feel to the gameplay. Some find the save system and the timed missions annoying but I feel it makes it more challenging and interesting. Just make sure you get 2 storage devices (2 memory cards or hd w/ memory card). Also Isabella and Jessie look marvelous.
  33. KevinC.
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    I personally love this game, I suggest renting it before buying because it isnt for everyone. Kind of like how some people hate metal gear games, some people will hate this one.
  34. Max
    Aug 3, 2007
    9
    In my opinion, this is the best single-player game for 360 so far. I loved the graphics and I liked how every one of the hundreds of different items you could use to kill the zombies was different. The only bad thing about this game is the zombies aren't as much of a threat as they should be. You will almost never get killed by the zombies and it usually comes down to stocking up on In my opinion, this is the best single-player game for 360 so far. I loved the graphics and I liked how every one of the hundreds of different items you could use to kill the zombies was different. The only bad thing about this game is the zombies aren't as much of a threat as they should be. You will almost never get killed by the zombies and it usually comes down to stocking up on food to fight the bosses. But it's still fun choping off zombie heads or impaling them with a coat hanger and taking a picture of the fountain of blood spewing out of their heads. You can cut zombies in half by swinging a battle axe around in circles and even plow through a large group of zombies with a simple grocery cart. Expand
  35. JeremyP.
    Jun 20, 2009
    8
    This game is very fun. Graphics are awsome for a first generation title. Sound is great. Replay value is enourmouse. Achievments are challenging but not too hard. Only two things hold this back from a 10. The save system is horrible and the time limit, while a big factor in the main storyline, should have been ditched for another mode and let you just kill zombies as you see fit.
  36. BryanD.
    Oct 15, 2006
    8
    This game is seconded only to oblivion on the 360. It has 3 flaws that I can see. The AI at times can be well.. retarted. Pushing zombies down that are not blocking them running into walls or just stopping all together, but this can be easily over come by using the way point system. but they are no way dummer then your teamates in any of the socom single player's. if you have a first This game is seconded only to oblivion on the 360. It has 3 flaws that I can see. The AI at times can be well.. retarted. Pushing zombies down that are not blocking them running into walls or just stopping all together, but this can be easily over come by using the way point system. but they are no way dummer then your teamates in any of the socom single player's. if you have a first generation system then you might wanna shy away from this game there is a good chance it will break your system. also untill you get to about lvl 15 Frank ( the main character) runs like a retarted penguin. The save system is perfect for this game. God forbid that some people actually have to think before they save there game! Far to many games are implementing a save any time any were system this just spoils the difficulty of the games. The story line is straight out of a b horrer film and it doesnt try to hide it. This is one of the reasons I loved this game also. I have read a few comments saying that this game is hard.. belive me who ever said that probly couldnt kill a grunt in easy mode of halo. DR is an arcad style zombie slaying romb throug a mall. at its best. and we can not forget that it is just pure fun to dress up like megaman and kill hordes upon hordes of zombies. I recommend this game to any on who loves action, gore, and zombies. Expand
  37. NateB.
    Nov 6, 2006
    8
    Rob J had it right when he said that this is a flawed Gem. The game has a great sense of humor, plethora of weapons and cool little easter eggs. I love the gameplay and the challenge that the game provides. People who complain about the Save issue must not realize that there are save points throughout the mall and that the save system in this game isn't any different than in the GTA Rob J had it right when he said that this is a flawed Gem. The game has a great sense of humor, plethora of weapons and cool little easter eggs. I love the gameplay and the challenge that the game provides. People who complain about the Save issue must not realize that there are save points throughout the mall and that the save system in this game isn't any different than in the GTA games (you have to go back to home base in an area to save). The main turnoffs are that non HD tv owners will struggle with the small text, you can't do anything while receiving a mission on the phone (really annoying) and I didn't like the time system. I wish I could explore the mall at my leasure as opposed to being rushed all the time. Also, if you're having a tough time with the difficulty, kill Adam in Wonderland plaza (one of the first Psychopaths in the game) and get his chainsaws (and save the guy so you get the shortcut) and there are 3 books (I can't remember what they are, look on GameFaqs or something) and that Chainsaw will last forever and kill just about anything in 1-2 hits (bosses maybe 6-7). The story is bad/unintentionally funny...just like a B-horror movie. That'll be good for some and bad for others. Also, its great dressing up in a woman's dress and wearing a lego head. Makes for some hilarious cut scenes. Expand
  38. Sparky
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    I totally AGREE with the person that said this will go down as one of the best games ever. I read this other review about the save system being absolutely horrible (WRONG) and how the clock system always ticks like crazy, but this person should really start taking medication because if you think that's annoyong, yikes! An absolutely flawless game!!!
  39. NoahR.
    Aug 15, 2006
    9
    I'm not sure why everyone is complaining about the "one save point" because that is completely inaccurate. You can save in any bathroom in any plaza as well. Admittedly, the save system is a bit of a pain. The complaints everyone has are just wrong. Graphics: 8 Gameplay: 8 Sound: 8 Killing Zombies with obscure weapons: 11 This game is almost as cool as playing a Shaun of the Dead I'm not sure why everyone is complaining about the "one save point" because that is completely inaccurate. You can save in any bathroom in any plaza as well. Admittedly, the save system is a bit of a pain. The complaints everyone has are just wrong. Graphics: 8 Gameplay: 8 Sound: 8 Killing Zombies with obscure weapons: 11 This game is almost as cool as playing a Shaun of the Dead rip-off. The entire idea surrounding the game was way cool. I probably only would have given this game an 8, but using a katana to slice a zombie in half at the point of impact (first I've ever seen this!!) I had to raise it to a 9. The graphics are okay, the sound is decent, and the gameplay isn't perfect. It's just a FUN game. Expand
  40. StephenS.
    Aug 16, 2006
    9
    This is one of those rare games that just gets better and better the more time you put. What at first seems like simple button masher develops into a true opened ended surprise. I hours in I am still amazed at the depth of play, creative game play and myriad of new weapons I come across. The fact that you could waste your accerated 72 hours just hacking zombies and not saving innocents or This is one of those rare games that just gets better and better the more time you put. What at first seems like simple button masher develops into a true opened ended surprise. I hours in I am still amazed at the depth of play, creative game play and myriad of new weapons I come across. The fact that you could waste your accerated 72 hours just hacking zombies and not saving innocents or following main plot lines is a testament to the game designers willingness to truly leave it up to the gamer. The boss fights are completey crazy and inventive....an acrobactic clown proctecting an indoor amusement park.......a freaked out supermarket manager guarding his store from vandals with a Madmax shopping cart....just insane. If your board mix a new concoction in the local food court or go shopping...heck its a mall after all. So mow some zombies over with your new lawn mower, make a zombie blood shower or simply hack a way with a battle ax after a long bicycle ride. Whether following the main plot ior just gutting zombies...enjoy! What ever you do ...just remember to take pictures. Expand
  41. EmonX.
    Aug 21, 2006
    8
    The initial bliss of all the fun goofy content immediately gratifies, like changing into obnoxious outfits, mastering use of the camera for big points Erotica shots on headless women in skirts, getting your golf swing down, learning new ways to heat up and apply a red hot frying pan, and mixing noxious drinks from common household goods. However, to really appreciate the deeper joys of The initial bliss of all the fun goofy content immediately gratifies, like changing into obnoxious outfits, mastering use of the camera for big points Erotica shots on headless women in skirts, getting your golf swing down, learning new ways to heat up and apply a red hot frying pan, and mixing noxious drinks from common household goods. However, to really appreciate the deeper joys of this game, be prepared for multiple 72 hour repeats as you level up, and be ready to slog through countless clunky story missions that will hand you your own head more than once, leading to some real frustration, especially until you get your brain around the game's time based system. It is absolutely worth getting through the frustrations though! You'll understand once you find the maintenance key, especially if you do it on your own chutzpa rather than wait for some mission to direct you to it (if one exists, dunno yet), as getting that will put you in the driver's seat, literally, to some really good fun waiting to be had, and available, if you explore, from the get go. Getting over the mindset that you need to plow through missions to finish this game helps too, because you don't, at least, not right away. Maybe once you've learned what really lurks in every nook or cranny, where all the resources and keys are, and what time everything shakes down to ensure you're always on time to be at the heart of the action with the right tools and tricks up your skirt, or whatever you happen to be wearing. Yeah, there are definitely issues with the AI, NPC navigation, room loading, non-NPC state preservation versus room loading (which can really hoop your crafty plans if you're not careful), boss NPC balancing, and the wholly awkward shooting mechanics. However, please trust me when I tell you that the depth and breadth of moments, absurdities, alternative & additive cinematics and all the rest more than make up for the occasionally clunky bits! Expand
  42. NickV.
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    One of the most satisfying game experiences ever. Lives up to and surpasses all of the hype with fantastic gameplay, a great storyline, and tons of replayability. This is the kind of game you can play over-and-over and still find new things to appreciate about it. PS and Nintendo fanboys have yet another reason to cry themselves to sleep at night. This is survival/horror heaven.
  43. [Anonymous]
    Aug 29, 2006
    8
    The game is original. It's like a mix of Resident Evil, Dawn of the Dead, and.....comedy i guess. It only suffers from a bad save system thats not as bad as everyone says. The story is quite interesting too. Any who gives this game under a 4 either played the game for 10 minutes, was expecting a game in which you run around with unlimited ammo and shoot the crap out of everything The game is original. It's like a mix of Resident Evil, Dawn of the Dead, and.....comedy i guess. It only suffers from a bad save system thats not as bad as everyone says. The story is quite interesting too. Any who gives this game under a 4 either played the game for 10 minutes, was expecting a game in which you run around with unlimited ammo and shoot the crap out of everything that moves without having to worry about surviving or following the plot, or just felt like giving this game a bad review. I can understand the people who gave it fives though. This games not for everyone. Expand
  44. J,Aronovitch
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    Grand Theft Auto meets Resident Evil. Dead Rising is sheer fun and totally addicting. Weapons are only limited by your imagination. Huge replayability, great graphics and storyline. A must have game.
  45. JamesH.
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    First things first, this game wont be for everyone. This is not an easy game. This is not a game that can be fully
  46. AdrianH.
    Sep 11, 2006
    9
    A fantastic take on the survival horror/zombie genre. Just taking random objects and using them to beat zombies down is fun and hilarious for a long time. The game just begs to be explored and played over and over - the time limits, the levelling system and save system actually force you to learn everything about the game bit by bit rather than allowing gamers 7to breeze through the whole A fantastic take on the survival horror/zombie genre. Just taking random objects and using them to beat zombies down is fun and hilarious for a long time. The game just begs to be explored and played over and over - the time limits, the levelling system and save system actually force you to learn everything about the game bit by bit rather than allowing gamers 7to breeze through the whole experience in a week. A little bit old school in its charm, its one of those games that you should be comparing notes with your fellow Dead Rising gamers over and over and where you'll take pride in knowing every nook and cranny in the mall. On the negative side, there are some very questionable control decisions (like forcing you to stop moving before you can aim a gun and using X+A or the L3 button to do certain moves) and the horribly small text (non-HDTV users will have a horrible time reading it). Expand
  47. AnonymousMC
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    I give this game a 9
    I'm giving it a 10 to equal it out a bit as so many ppl just give 1's without reason...
    This game may be difficult and have an awkward saving system (mind you, GTA is worse with safehouses) There is a huge selection of weapons for you to choose from, tons of shops....many people to save and psycho's to kill! There have never been so many
    I give this game a 9
    I'm giving it a 10 to equal it out a bit as so many ppl just give 1's without reason...

    This game may be difficult and have an awkward saving system (mind you, GTA is worse with safehouses)
    There is a huge selection of weapons for you to choose from, tons of shops....many people to save and psycho's to kill!

    There have never been so many zombies on a screen at once ever before. It's amazing.
    The achievements and mutliple endings will keep you playing over and over again.

    Don't forget about the outfits either! You can wear glasses, heats, masks, shoes, jackets, t-shirts and entire outfits too of course (Megaman and more), even wear little child's clothes ;)
    Expand
  48. Sam
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    It's just ridiculously fun.
  49. NeilV.
    Sep 9, 2006
    9
    Initially, I found this game to be frustrating. I had nearly given up on enjoying it and then I just decided to follow the storyline, abandon my gamer bravado and get into it. What a difference that made.....this game has an engaging story. The campiness of it all is to be expected and adds a great deal of humor. There is definitely replay value and leveling up gets to be a great deal of Initially, I found this game to be frustrating. I had nearly given up on enjoying it and then I just decided to follow the storyline, abandon my gamer bravado and get into it. What a difference that made.....this game has an engaging story. The campiness of it all is to be expected and adds a great deal of humor. There is definitely replay value and leveling up gets to be a great deal of fun. Be patient, work with the save system (make sure you save often) and splatter the undead! Expand
  50. RussellC.
    Oct 13, 2007
    8
    I saw this on my friends 360, sitting in his room waitng for the loading screen to pass for him to show me this so called amazing game of his (keep in mind that the xbox was beside my foot , standing upright) upon the level starting, I couldnt believe my eyes, the swarm of zombies, the motion blur, the lovely crisp sharpness...it blew me away! so much so that i kicked my friends xbox over I saw this on my friends 360, sitting in his room waitng for the loading screen to pass for him to show me this so called amazing game of his (keep in mind that the xbox was beside my foot , standing upright) upon the level starting, I couldnt believe my eyes, the swarm of zombies, the motion blur, the lovely crisp sharpness...it blew me away! so much so that i kicked my friends xbox over only for it to hit the floor so hard and give the disc the ring of death!! i was so embaressed, i didnt know what to say. Needless to say I went out and bought him another copy and me a 360 and a copy of the game too. I believe Dead rising is one of the 360's finest yet, it looks and plays amazingly. I could go on for hours about how much and what I love about this game, but I wont, instaed I will mention the only 2 annoyances in the game. that is the save system and the ever annoying phone ringing, from a guy called Otis who thiks that I need to rescue everyone in the mall from the ever hungry zombies. In order to take a call you have to stop what your doing ( that means no zombies mashing) and listen to what he has to say, and you cant skip. These are the sort of things that you only notice the second time around. The great far outweigh the bad. this game is awsome!! Expand
  51. NathanT.
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    I honestly don't have any problem with the save system, every once in awhile it kinda ticks me off though. The whole concept is addicting along with the addictive gameplay. This is a must own for all Xbox 360 owners.
  52. Shmitty
    Jan 29, 2007
    9
    I freaking love this game. I really got into the story, and enjoyed bashing zombies in. The save system is fine, I think people don't like it because its not easy. The game looks great, and frame rate is perfect. The AI is pretty crappy though, and survivors are hard to save at times. Its not unbearable, but it is pretty bad. There's so much to do, people to save, pictures to I freaking love this game. I really got into the story, and enjoyed bashing zombies in. The save system is fine, I think people don't like it because its not easy. The game looks great, and frame rate is perfect. The AI is pretty crappy though, and survivors are hard to save at times. Its not unbearable, but it is pretty bad. There's so much to do, people to save, pictures to take, the mall is your oyster! For granted, its not for anyone, some elemtns are kind of silly, like being able to "dodge" by just jumping. Again, the AI is lackluster, but the game is very good. Its hard to say whether I'd recommend it, Rent it first, and make your decision. I agree with the critics, most of the game is pretty nice, but just the object have to pump 50 rounds into a human boos is silly. Play it or not, its your choice. Expand
  53. BrendanA.
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    People expect too much from a game which can feature 800 zombies onscreen at once with no lag. Of course the zombies have bad AI, the system couldn't handle anything more! Bad dialogue? For the early parts of the game, perhaps, but the story is awesome enough to make up for it in spades. Most importantly, if you think the save system sucks, YOU suck at the game. The save system works People expect too much from a game which can feature 800 zombies onscreen at once with no lag. Of course the zombies have bad AI, the system couldn't handle anything more! Bad dialogue? For the early parts of the game, perhaps, but the story is awesome enough to make up for it in spades. Most importantly, if you think the save system sucks, YOU suck at the game. The save system works fine so long as you aren't retarded and you remember never to save when you're about to miss an important scoop. Aww, baby has to regain those 3 levels all over again? Cry me a river. I hate it when people bitch over stupid things. The game is astounding, the leveling system is genius, and the sheer ecstasy you feel every time you use a sickle to rip a zombie's head off will never fade. As Frank himself would say, "FANTASTIC!" Expand
  54. Nickl
    Feb 16, 2007
    9
    The game world have got a 10 if not for the horrible save sytem, he only explanation for it is Capcom did it on purpose so we would lose our game and not our characters. There fore we would have to start over, but it would be better. It gets overly difficult, one square of health left, no food or items anywhere, and a huge mass of zombies is after you, but that is part of the fun. The The game world have got a 10 if not for the horrible save sytem, he only explanation for it is Capcom did it on purpose so we would lose our game and not our characters. There fore we would have to start over, but it would be better. It gets overly difficult, one square of health left, no food or items anywhere, and a huge mass of zombies is after you, but that is part of the fun. The graphics are near perfect (and I'm writing this review months after the game came out!) The survivors where not very good at surviving, but it gets easier, great game Expand
  55. Tabo
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    This game was awesome. the only issue i had with it was the fact that the AI for the bosses and the survivors was just... moronic. Survivors will run through hordes of zombies and not walk around them and bosses will run and not defend themselves if you get too close.
  56. JohnMenard
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    This game is a wonderful example of Capcom ingenuity. Who would've thought being trapped in a mall for three days could be so fun? Everything just gels in this game, the controls work great, the amount of zombies on screen at once is amazing, the bosses are just tough enough to keep it fun. Otis really needs to shut up, but this game is great. Definetly worth a buy.
  57. RhysC.
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    Dead Rising is the best new IP of the Next Gen. Free form gameplay lets you play how you want. Want to just run about and battle zombies? That's cool. What to help other people who are stranded? That's great. Want to follow the story with interesting plot twists? It's right there. This game is what you make it. You can't do everything on one run through, but the game Dead Rising is the best new IP of the Next Gen. Free form gameplay lets you play how you want. Want to just run about and battle zombies? That's cool. What to help other people who are stranded? That's great. Want to follow the story with interesting plot twists? It's right there. This game is what you make it. You can't do everything on one run through, but the game is not built that way. Kick back, relax and let the zombie apocalypse commence. Expand
  58. RikardW.
    Jul 12, 2007
    9
    Simply put, this game is awesome. I'm not saying that it doesn't have any flaws, becouse it definately does. These things seem to fade in comparison to all the fun I've had with the game though. It's not perfect, but it's pretty damn close.
  59. CiaranD.
    Jul 23, 2007
    8
    Great game with a dodgy saving mechanism. Original and very engrossing.
  60. MikeV.
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    This game is one of the best games I ever played. I love how you can use almost anything to defeat the zombies...BUT you should rent it befor you buy it beacuse this game is not for everyone or anyone like some peopel just might think it boring killing zombies and blood and gore but perssonaly I think its great.
  61. NickC.
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    Genius idea for a zombie game. Pure hardcore, gory fun.
  62. JacobL.
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    I bought this game last weekend and the game is so engrossing and addictive that I played until 6 AM before I realized what time it was. There is so much to do in this game, whether it be saving survivors, going after psychopaths, finding the truth, or just killing endless amounts of zombies with countless amount of ways. The save system is either love it or hate it, and I personally love I bought this game last weekend and the game is so engrossing and addictive that I played until 6 AM before I realized what time it was. There is so much to do in this game, whether it be saving survivors, going after psychopaths, finding the truth, or just killing endless amounts of zombies with countless amount of ways. The save system is either love it or hate it, and I personally love it, as it makes you play smarter. Great game, one of, if not the, best games on the Xbox 360. Expand
  63. ChuckN.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    Zombies. Great graphic. Free roaming style. Zombies. Many weapons. Many survivors. Zombies. Special Move. Roundhouse kick. Zombies and Roundhouse Kick. My favorite game. Good work, Capcom.
  64. ConeHead
    Apr 9, 2008
    9
    Greatest zombie game ever made so far great job Capcom make a sequel I'd pay 70-80 bucks for a special edition and stay up till midnight to get it!
  65. ZachN.
    Sep 22, 2008
    9
    Deadrising is somewhat frustrating because of a overwhelming amount of deadline based objectives. After some getting used to you figure out whats important and what isn't making it a great game especially if you just wanna kill a ton of zombies. And just a note... DEFINITELY a must buy for zombie fans, but does that really need said?
  66. AnonymousMC
    Jan 15, 2009
    8
    A fantastic, deep, and terribly cruel game. It is by no means a perfect game, several instances are very troublesome and the game will kill you. However, that is half the fun of the game. You'll often find yourself struggling for items and on that last bit of health as you try to stagger through zombies and cursing at Psychopaths. Fun, deep, any a must buy for anyone with an XBOX. IA fantastic, deep, and terribly cruel game. It is by no means a perfect game, several instances are very troublesome and the game will kill you. However, that is half the fun of the game. You'll often find yourself struggling for items and on that last bit of health as you try to stagger through zombies and cursing at Psychopaths. Fun, deep, any a must buy for anyone with an XBOX. I suggest getting a VGA cable if you don't have an HDTV. Expand
  67. NickJ
    Jul 14, 2009
    10
    If you love zombie games as I do you will love dead rising. If not It is still worth at LEAST renting. The Controls might take a little while to get a grip of if you play games like halo. My Idea why guns are useless, because thats no FUN!
  68. NickF.
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    This game is the best, bashing zombie skulls on the floor driving a car through them.
  69. HotPatootie
    Nov 8, 2006
    9
    Play it like an arcade game: one quarter at a time. It sucks having to replay the same story over and over again but you're basically free to play the game differently each time -- gaining PP and leveling up to make each play through last longer and thus decreasing the frustration factor. I bought it the day it came out and barely played it because the save system pissed me off. I Play it like an arcade game: one quarter at a time. It sucks having to replay the same story over and over again but you're basically free to play the game differently each time -- gaining PP and leveling up to make each play through last longer and thus decreasing the frustration factor. I bought it the day it came out and barely played it because the save system pissed me off. I finally sat down and put a good three hours in to it one day and my opinion was drastically changed. This definitely isn't a game to play in spurts -- you have to play for multinple hours at timae to really "get" it. I do however take issue with the gun/targeting system. Sucks big time...if you could even just strafe it'd be a totally different game. As is, the guns are the least useful weapons and I only use them because the game requires me to. And the on-screen text is completely unreadable. In fact, I could do without Otis-the-janitor calling me every thirty seconds...or ever. Anyway, these are minor issues considering how much fun there is to be had here. Just be patient and shrug off the stupid legwork! It's worth it! Expand
  70. MK
    Dec 31, 2006
    9
    Being a film guy, there is no greater reward for me than a video game that mimics one of the cult classics. This game is basically Dawn of the Dead on crack. Starting from hundreds of zombie on screen to overly insane psychopaths are highlights this game. If you like Dawn of the Dead, you'll love this. However, the plot is more like Resident Evil spin off (government experiments, Being a film guy, there is no greater reward for me than a video game that mimics one of the cult classics. This game is basically Dawn of the Dead on crack. Starting from hundreds of zombie on screen to overly insane psychopaths are highlights this game. If you like Dawn of the Dead, you'll love this. However, the plot is more like Resident Evil spin off (government experiments, blah blah blah). Saving survivors is joyful yet, annoying. NPCs simply have IQs of zombies themselves. I spent 10 minutes trying to get my survivor out of a bathroom. She kept trying to walk through a solid wall when I was on the other side. This becomes even worse when you have more than 1 survivor to escort. Sound effects are so great that it covers some animation flaws. This is Dawn of the Dead Aciton RPG. There is an achievement reward for killing 53,000+ zombies, which is the number of the entire population in the game's town. Time to get busy... Expand
  71. BrandonG.
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    So much fun, one of the best games out for the 360, in fact one of the best games this year period.
  72. FredDarsing
    May 13, 2006
    10
    THIS GAME KICKS ASS! I have been the biggest zombie fan ever since the original Night of the Living Dead. It was either movies or games for me, and I take part in both currently. I played all the RE games, Cold Fear, Stubbs the Zombie, but they weren't enough to satisfy my hunger. Then I heard about Dead Rising, and I freaked out...in joy! You can use pretty much anything you canTHIS GAME KICKS ASS! I have been the biggest zombie fan ever since the original Night of the Living Dead. It was either movies or games for me, and I take part in both currently. I played all the RE games, Cold Fear, Stubbs the Zombie, but they weren't enough to satisfy my hunger. Then I heard about Dead Rising, and I freaked out...in joy! You can use pretty much anything you can find, from a fire extinquisher to an axe to a lawn mower, to a teddy bear, even to a golf ball and food. This game has it ALL! You can pull off great hand-to-hand combat moves such as swinging a zombie around you to make a circle of defence. You can drive vehicles such as a motercycle and truck, plus there are over 150 stores to go in and out of, not including the roof, parking lot, underground canals and a super market. There can be up to about 200 zombies on screen at ONE TIME, NO LAG! Not to mention nearly 200 objectives to complete such as saving vitcims or killing inmates. You have 3 DAYS to basicly do whatever you want, so this game will keep you busy for weeks and months to come, as well as different endings PENDING on what you do and how you do it. This WILL BE the best zombie game ever to date and it would be a shame for you to pass up this great game. Expand
  73. MikeG.
    Aug 12, 2006
    9
    great game.a must have. would of gave it a ten but the one save point blows its got so much replay and is the best 360 game yet cause its so fresh and new . must have in your game collection.
  74. Catraven
    Aug 12, 2006
    8
    I totally agree with Ryencoke-fun game but the text is so small that I need to buy a magnifying glass! What's up with that? would've been so much better if given the option to enlarge text. Other than that, great fun!!!!
  75. LuisG.
    Aug 12, 2006
    9
    I'm having trouble understanding how this game is being reviewed so poorly. I almost didn't buy it cuz of the less than excellent reviews but, cmon, this game kicks ass. it should be a 9 at the least.
  76. DC
    Aug 14, 2006
    9
    I've read all the comments and the only truth is the text that's why I can't give it a 10. The text is to small and scrolls past to fast and there is no way to slow it down or sroll back, that sucks. I've also noticed how people keep commenting on the repetiveness of the game, well it tells you on the back of the box "Your In A Shopping Mall" how many different I've read all the comments and the only truth is the text that's why I can't give it a 10. The text is to small and scrolls past to fast and there is no way to slow it down or sroll back, that sucks. I've also noticed how people keep commenting on the repetiveness of the game, well it tells you on the back of the box "Your In A Shopping Mall" how many different missions can you possibly have but saving people. I think people should view this game for what it is, a fun arcade style type of game with tremendous replayability. Great game..... Expand
  77. StephenA.
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    This game rocks like heck its a amazing game play rocks and the demo it self is short but who cares it still rocks aiming is good for pistol and all the guns or stuff it ROCKS!!!
  78. CavanL.
    Aug 14, 2006
    8
    If you love zombies, senseless violence (well maybe not senseless you are ridding the world of zombies!) and the sight of fountains of blood this game is for you. Did you just have a crappy day of work and just want to see things fall in half after being diced with a chain saw...then this game is for you. It is an ode to zombie movies, if your expecting anything else than participating in If you love zombies, senseless violence (well maybe not senseless you are ridding the world of zombies!) and the sight of fountains of blood this game is for you. Did you just have a crappy day of work and just want to see things fall in half after being diced with a chain saw...then this game is for you. It is an ode to zombie movies, if your expecting anything else than participating in a zombie movie (simple plot kill and survive, and maybe help some folks) then go for it and enjoy the ride otherwise quit yer whinin'! Expand
  79. Aaron
    Aug 16, 2006
    9
    One of the most unique ideas to come along in gaming in a very long time. I love the whole concept of the events in the game unfolding despite your involvement. Quite revolutionary, if you ask me. I'd like to see more games follow this formula. And all of the complaints about the "save system" are moot. Might as well complain that the color schema in Shindler's List was off. One of the most unique ideas to come along in gaming in a very long time. I love the whole concept of the events in the game unfolding despite your involvement. Quite revolutionary, if you ask me. I'd like to see more games follow this formula. And all of the complaints about the "save system" are moot. Might as well complain that the color schema in Shindler's List was off. Look, it was totally intentional. The developers wanted the player to really experience a sense of "survival," not "trial and error." It was an artistic decision to limit the amount of saves in the game; it's not broken. It is totally appropriate for a game such as this one. Expand
  80. PavelM.
    Aug 26, 2006
    9
    Low reviews of this game must be from impatient people that don't appreciate the skill needed to play the game. As your character (Frank) progresses you level up in skills, weapon slots and ability. Superb game and addictive. For those that score the game low go back to playing with Lego blocks. Dead Rising is great. Get it.
  81. ElijahP.
    Aug 26, 2006
    9
    This is a Freakin' awesome game. Its got a little of everything. You can pick up almost anything! It rocks!
  82. michaelkavusak
    Jan 26, 2007
    9
    yes finally a great zombie game other then resident evil 4. i loved this game so much. the save system is an ovious trademark of capcom survival games. Rising is basically an Action Survival RPG and that why u cant jus save anywhere in the game. it gives the game a little strategy. the psychopaths were awesome and even tho the survivor AI could be border line retarded at times i lovedyes finally a great zombie game other then resident evil 4. i loved this game so much. the save system is an ovious trademark of capcom survival games. Rising is basically an Action Survival RPG and that why u cant jus save anywhere in the game. it gives the game a little strategy. the psychopaths were awesome and even tho the survivor AI could be border line retarded at times i loved savin them and watchin em die. when they die while followin u is the most gruesome part of the game. the weapons kicked ass too. buy this game. Expand
  83. EricW.
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    Dead Rising blew my socks off it was it was great I like the gore. The saving just made it more of a challenge so if you say its bad I will smack you with a rob zombie album.
  84. JasonP
    Oct 18, 2008
    10
    A mall filled with an endless horde of zombies, and the ability to use just about anything you come across as a weapon. That's all you need to know to decide whether or not you should give this game a try. Time is crucial to the story; six hours of gameplay fills the main story, assuming you don't have to reload your game. Objectives must be accomplished by a certain time or its A mall filled with an endless horde of zombies, and the ability to use just about anything you come across as a weapon. That's all you need to know to decide whether or not you should give this game a try. Time is crucial to the story; six hours of gameplay fills the main story, assuming you don't have to reload your game. Objectives must be accomplished by a certain time or its game over, but there is usually time between objectives to do some exploring. This setup means its nearly impossible to experience everything your first time through the game. If you really don't like the timed story, an untimed survival mode can be unlocked. Although there are guns, the developers limit their usefulness with difficult/slow controls, forcing you to use melee weapons as well. Expand
  85. ChrisF.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    This game rocks. You can chop zombies heads off and shove shower noseles in there heads, run them over with lawn mowers, and spray them with squirt guns. How much better can it get.
  86. NickT
    Dec 25, 2008
    8
    Really great sandbox zombie game. I'm not gonna lie, controls are a little iffy (mainly gun controls) and mission objectives arn't organized well, but overall, it's still worth buying. Besides, who dosen't want to beat the crap outta zombies with a plastic toy lightsaber, or run them over with a lawnmower or shopping cart?
  87. Dec 25, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Apparently, people don't see good games when they play it. The main objective of the game is to remain alive inside the zombie-infested mall for at least three days, after which help will arrive via chartered helicopter. Time in the game passes twelve times faster than real-time (i.e. one day in-game is two hours in real time); therefore, the game automatically concludes after six hours of gameplay when time runs out. In addition to this primary objective, the player is free to choose whether or not to pursue any of the game's secondary objectives such as rescuing survivors or defeating Psychopaths, normal human beings who have gone violently insane, usually as a result of stress caused by the apparent apocalypse. These "psychopaths", as the game calls them collectively, often hold human hostages who can be rescued for large bonuses, as well as powerful weapons or items which reappear each time the player returns to the place where he or she defeated the psychopath, thereby allowing players to collect multiple copies of the same Psychopath's weapon. As Frank West, the player attempts to uncover the truth behind the zombie epidemic by completing "case files" that reveal the central game plot as they are completed. Completing case files by accomplishing specific tasks or by being "in the right place at the right time" to reveal cutscenes.

    Dead Rising does not prevent players from ignoring all missions, because the game has multiple endings, including endings that require no missions to be completed. Once players have passed a certain point at the beginning of the game they have complete free rein and can do whatever they please: save or kill other survivors, wander aimlessly through the mall, sampling food and trying on clothes, or simply kill zombies. Several of the game's 50 Achievements even reward this method of play. The "Zombie Genocide" achievement, for example, requires the killing of at least 53,594 zombies in a single play-through and then completing the game with any ending; a task that has proven so far to be impossible to do while also completing the main storyline Cases, due to time constraints. A counter at the bottom right corner of the screen helps the player keep track of how many zombies have been killed.

    The setting of Dead Rising, the fictional Willamette Parkview Mall, is modeled after a stereotypical American mall with multiple floors and several themed sections. The mall includes a roller coaster, supermarket, movie theater, park, and an underground maintenance tunnel system (all filled with zombies). There are six main sections to the mall, each with a variety of shops, each filled with objects which can be used as weapons or to improve Frank's health.

    Dead Rising is a great game but the save point and AI ruin it. I play this all the time and it's fun to play all time. Infinity Mode is super fun to play and overall the game is excellent except for the items I just discussed, the save point and AI.
    Expand
  88. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    I have to confess that I am a huge fan of zombie films and games so it goes without saying that I was literally jumping for joy when I first got this game (I was young, stupid and carefree back then, before the weight of the world crushed me into the man I am today) but this game doesn't really play out like a zombie film (well, the opening sort of does but not really).

    The overall plot
    I have to confess that I am a huge fan of zombie films and games so it goes without saying that I was literally jumping for joy when I first got this game (I was young, stupid and carefree back then, before the weight of the world crushed me into the man I am today) but this game doesn't really play out like a zombie film (well, the opening sort of does but not really).

    The overall plot goes like this: You're Frank West, photojournalist (who's covered wars, you know?) and you've been flown out to a sleepy little town in Colorado to investigate strange goings on (said strange goings on happens to be the undead) and must now fight to survive, find out what's behind the zombies and take amusing and erotic photos of the zombies and survivors.

    If you want you can completely bypass the plot, ignore it completely and just go on a psychotic axe murdering spree, try on women's/children's clothing or choose to play hero and rescue everyone (it's completely down to you), however, the game will end in 72 hours (6 hours in reality) and your actions will reflect the ending you get (of which there happen to be a few).

    Gameplay is extremely fun, you just go around and kill zombies with anything you can get your journalistic hands on (which turns out to be quite a lot, my personal favourite is the electric guitar) but for some this can get boring after a while and the side missions are held back by the fact that the survivor AI seems to be stupider than the zombies (how exactly did these people survive again?) and said missions tend to have somewhat unforgiving time limits later on in the game (which can be extremely annoying if you're trying for the Saint achievement), this is the kind of game you can kill a few hours with but not the kind of game you can get immersed in for days and weeks (the short length of the game only underlines this fact).

    Some people have complained about the difficulty curve but I honestly never had a problem in this regard, this is a common sense game, when you are at level 1 you're not supposed to be running into a horde of zombies, guitar in hand, screaming 'FREEEEEDOOOOM!' before wailing on them. You're facing off against the undead with a journalist, you are not a kung fu master/space marine, you need weapons, healing items, a few levels under your belt and to generally be ready to deal with them before you stand a chance (remember, how many times in zombie films do the protagonists just walk up to a dead guy and punch his face in?). Another thing to take into consideration is that there are obviously fewer safe zones in this game than in Grand Theft Auto or Saints Row (where enemies won't attack until provoked and come in groups of between 1-10), it would seem weird and out of place for the majority of the game world to be safe to traverse in Dead Rising, it's supposed to be a dangerous and life threatening place to be.

    Overall, I would recommend Dead Rising to anyone who wants something to pass an evening, zombie fans (UNITE!) or people who find the idea of killing zombies with electric guitars while wearing a pretty pink dress and a lego head to be something they could have fun with.
    Expand
  89. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    This game is a must own for every Zombie lover, there is tons to do, you can save survivors, fight psychopaths, and just run around and kill zombies with almost everything in the mall, sounds perfect right? not quite, there are some controls issues when using guns, saving survivors is a pain do to the fact that the AI is retarded (they will actually stand in the middle of a crowd ofThis game is a must own for every Zombie lover, there is tons to do, you can save survivors, fight psychopaths, and just run around and kill zombies with almost everything in the mall, sounds perfect right? not quite, there are some controls issues when using guns, saving survivors is a pain do to the fact that the AI is retarded (they will actually stand in the middle of a crowd of zombies and not move or even try to fight back), some of the bosses are overly difficult, the story is as cheesy as it gets, and it can be extremely frustrating, do to the fact that in order to survive you have to level grind in order to gain access to more inventory space, health, and special moves and stat boosts, so you really have to plan ahead, manage your time, health, and inventory space wisely, so you actually have to use a lot of strategy and honestly I think that's what I loved about it, I've also heard complaints about the fact that it only has one save file but that never really caused any problems, and that everything is timed which is part of what makes this game unique, and adds a lot of needed tension, without the time the game would be too easy, honestly I loved this game, while it could have used some checkpoints and it feels like the game is working against you at times, it's just so much fun you just have to come back grind trough more levels, and take on those tough bosses, and save those retarded survivors, and smash the Zombies skulls in some extremely hilarious ways, if you haven't played this game yet I recommend it, it's a ton of fun, has HIGH replay value, and after you beat the story you get a fun survival like mode, honestly I know it sounded like I hated this game, but I didn't, I actually loved it! it's one of the most unique games you'll ever play. Expand
  90. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Great game. The only problem I found was that you can't manually save the game whenever you want. Basically you have to plan out your attack & if you fail just one part then you start all over. Other than that its a pretty challenging game but in a good way. Dead Rising is a great concept for a zombie game & it works well; controls, sound, gameplay. This was definitely a great firstGreat game. The only problem I found was that you can't manually save the game whenever you want. Basically you have to plan out your attack & if you fail just one part then you start all over. Other than that its a pretty challenging game but in a good way. Dead Rising is a great concept for a zombie game & it works well; controls, sound, gameplay. This was definitely a great first installment for the Dead Rising franchise & this one really makes the gamer appreciate what they have changed & how they have progressed. Expand
  91. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    Initially I felt the same about the save problem but as an old-timer I remember having to 'earn'saves in the 90's, so I began to appreciate the challenge. This is a fairly challenging game and I appreciate it as such. Sometimes I want to wander around Oblivion and sometimes I want a set goal with a lot of difficulties in the way of achieving it. The enjoyment lies in discovery of theInitially I felt the same about the save problem but as an old-timer I remember having to 'earn'saves in the 90's, so I began to appreciate the challenge. This is a fairly challenging game and I appreciate it as such. Sometimes I want to wander around Oblivion and sometimes I want a set goal with a lot of difficulties in the way of achieving it. The enjoyment lies in discovery of the weapons, items, skills, and lets not forget the survivors. Structurally there is a narrative divided into sections involving you being at a certain timeand place to advance the story. Normally I hate being pushed around like that, but I enjoyed the game so much I went along with it. Expand
  92. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    EXCELLENT. Though it can be the most frustrating thing on the planet, level up a lot and you'll be fine. Even the story was completely brilliant, along with the LOADS of weapons. This game is great and especially if you've had a bad day and want to beat up a bunch of stuff.
  93. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Kiling hordes of zombies with whatever weapon you can get your hands on is so much fun. Breaking into stores and stealing inventory to use to kill said zombies, also fun. The whole concept of the game is highly unique, and with all of the bosses, this game is a tight experience. The only hinderence to the experience is the time system, not that i dont like the idea, its just that theKiling hordes of zombies with whatever weapon you can get your hands on is so much fun. Breaking into stores and stealing inventory to use to kill said zombies, also fun. The whole concept of the game is highly unique, and with all of the bosses, this game is a tight experience. The only hinderence to the experience is the time system, not that i dont like the idea, its just that the amount of time you get lights a fire under your a** and doesnt allow you alot of time for saving people, fighting bosses, and exploring the mall. Expand
  94. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    I love this game zombies in mall wave of wave of zombie psycho enemy saving innocent people from zombies and psycho enemy

    doing mission from getting food saving enemy finding out who enemy is!!!!!

    i love this game so much i finished it 5 times
  95. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    Back when this was in Tips & Tricks at launch I wanted this game and when I finally got it and played it in 2008, I wasn't disappointed. The A.I. is aggravating, and the shooting mechanic leaves a lot to be desired, but beating a zombie to death with a baseball bat or a bench feels so right. This game has a great story and while getting the true ending avoided my grasps for a week due toBack when this was in Tips & Tricks at launch I wanted this game and when I finally got it and played it in 2008, I wasn't disappointed. The A.I. is aggravating, and the shooting mechanic leaves a lot to be desired, but beating a zombie to death with a baseball bat or a bench feels so right. This game has a great story and while getting the true ending avoided my grasps for a week due to the game not giving any actual direction for it, the ending left you wanting more. The Infinite mode is one of the most fun and irritatingly difficult challenges in gaming, and when I reached 7 days of survival scraping through zombies and bosses with my "secret unlock-able weapon" I earned the proudest 20 game score in my collection. The Achievements range from tedious and complex to something you really can't miss, but all are worth the same amount which is a blessing and a curse. This game isn't to hard to beat, but to unlock every last achievement in this game is quite possibly the most difficult challenge you'll find on the Xbox 360 outside of successfully getting a match made online in Smack down vs. Raw 2007 Expand
  96. Feb 7, 2013
    8
    The game does have its flaws and is such a blatant rip off of Dawn of the Dead, but still a ton of fun to play. I would have scored it higher, but the annoying A.I. of the survivors you are trying to rescue, does get tiring after a while. But, that aspect is manageable if you're smart enough to think around it. One big criticism is the last" boss" in the game, he is just so annoying andThe game does have its flaws and is such a blatant rip off of Dawn of the Dead, but still a ton of fun to play. I would have scored it higher, but the annoying A.I. of the survivors you are trying to rescue, does get tiring after a while. But, that aspect is manageable if you're smart enough to think around it. One big criticism is the last" boss" in the game, he is just so annoying and requires a ridiculous level of precision to beat "fairly." Overall: This is the defining Zombie apocalypse game. I don't think there ever will be a game that defines the genre better. I loved this game when I first played it, and I still do to this day. Expand
  97. ewm
    Feb 4, 2013
    10
    dead rising it very very good game only on xbox 360.Which brought in the early days of xbox 360 huge gulp of air, an interesting plot, many ways to the massacre of zombies and black humor.DISADVANTAGES- is, but for me they are not very large, sometimes very high complexity because that is all under the mission in real time saver is that some of b-movie-when the old woman pushes a few guysdead rising it very very good game only on xbox 360.Which brought in the early days of xbox 360 huge gulp of air, an interesting plot, many ways to the massacre of zombies and black humor.DISADVANTAGES- is, but for me they are not very large, sometimes very high complexity because that is all under the mission in real time saver is that some of b-movie-when the old woman pushes a few guys that would save a dog. Expand
  98. May 28, 2013
    9
    When I was looking over the reviews of this game, I discovered alot of people wanted to play this game for all the wrong reasons. How to decide what to expect from a game and how it should be played before even trying it forces you to a negative experience...
    Firstly, the game is really stressful and that is (in my opinion) a good thing. It gives the game a good replayability, because you
    When I was looking over the reviews of this game, I discovered alot of people wanted to play this game for all the wrong reasons. How to decide what to expect from a game and how it should be played before even trying it forces you to a negative experience...
    Firstly, the game is really stressful and that is (in my opinion) a good thing. It gives the game a good replayability, because you would want to preform better then the first time you play the game.
    Another thing people expected the game to be was a mall full of zombies and you could just go crazy with all stuff found inside. Well this is somewhat true, and if you don't care about the story that is exactly what the game is so it shouldn't be a disappointment.
    I recently replayed this game from the beginning and then followed by a game+, and it made me realize just how fun the gameplay is and of course how frustrating it is to fail a mission because of the timed story line (It forces the player to think and plan for the upcoming storyline, which I think is a good thing)
    Expand
  99. May 29, 2013
    8
    Dead Rising was the game that introduced me to my love of zombies and I will always forever uphold it as one of my favorite video games ever. The storyline is your average zombie apocalypse setting, but they do stuff a bit differently when it comes to zombies and what not. It's a little frustrating at first to enjoy the game, because you start off at a low level and you're very weak, butDead Rising was the game that introduced me to my love of zombies and I will always forever uphold it as one of my favorite video games ever. The storyline is your average zombie apocalypse setting, but they do stuff a bit differently when it comes to zombies and what not. It's a little frustrating at first to enjoy the game, because you start off at a low level and you're very weak, but once you level up your character and get more familiar with its stiff controls, it makes for a fun experience. Highly recommended. Expand
  100. Apr 2, 2014
    8
    This game is a must have for zombie lovers. This game is probably the best zombie game I have ever played. The mall is like your sick fun house for you to run around have lots of gory fun. I have heared a lot of people shun this game for the timer it has. I think the timer is a good elememt and keeps the game at a fast but not too fast of a pace. The problem I have is the gun controls.This game is a must have for zombie lovers. This game is probably the best zombie game I have ever played. The mall is like your sick fun house for you to run around have lots of gory fun. I have heared a lot of people shun this game for the timer it has. I think the timer is a good elememt and keeps the game at a fast but not too fast of a pace. The problem I have is the gun controls. That is the only reason this isnt a 10. The gun controls have got me killed and have caused me tk rage many times. But apart from that great game to have if this is your thing Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. 80
    A relentlessly inventive game worth the price of entry...The experience is flawed -- some might say hampered -- by the save system and curiously designed game structure. But whether you 'get it' or not, Dead Rising nevertheless provides a wealth of secrets and mysteries for both eager gamers and the adventuresome.
  2. A unique, inventive, and fun game that youll most likely want to play and own due to its huge amount of replayability from random slash-a-thons to side quests and item discovery; you can spend a whole lot of time in this game. Then again if the save system and RPG leveling system turn you off you might be better off renting it first.
  3. The astounding level of variety that is packed into the game is wonderful to see.