Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Mar 3, 2011
    70
    A focus on intense combat makes this brief return to the Sprawl a satisfying one.
  2. Mar 11, 2011
    50
    This DLC is like canned espresso: small, disposable, and absolutely forgettable.
  3. Mar 14, 2011
    75
    As it stands, Severed falls a little short of the DLC value proposition and doesn't have the depth of gameplay to boot.
  4. Mar 14, 2011
    65
    This DLC is too short and doesn't succeed in capturing Dead Space 2 true shiny moments. Real hardcore fan of the serie may want to give it a try.
  5. Mar 4, 2011
    25
    If you're following all the marketing promotions and tie-in products, you might enjoy seeing Gabe and Lexine in the game and the Oracles might mean something to you, but for all but the most diehard fans this is definitely a download to skip.
  6. 70
    This repetition, combined with Severed's short runtime(two chapters beaten in around two hours), keeps it squarely in the realm of diehard devotees. [May 2011, p.75]
  7. Mar 4, 2011
    69
    Dead Space has always found its strength in horror, puzzles and scary moments, but there are just none of these elements in Severed. Heavier on action and even lighter in horror than the sequel.
  8. Mar 10, 2011
    60
    For your seven bucks, you get an extra hour of content that adds a new layer of mystery to the Dead Space universe and a rather shocking ending that would've been compelling if the campaign had been long enough to build up any emotional ties.
  9. Mar 11, 2011
    50
    Considering that the adventure lasts for just one hour, only real fans of the franchise should consider the possibility of buying this DLC. If you're not among them, look elsewhere.
  10. Mar 13, 2011
    30
    An extra hour of combat and so much less, with a download that manages to undermine much of the impressive storytelling of the main game.
  11. Mar 16, 2011
    40
    Severed places an ungainly weight on the shoulders of dismemberment combat for this extension of Dead Space: Extraction's fiction, creating a dichotomy as uncomfortable as traipsing backwards through already tired levels.
  12. Apr 11, 2011
    60
    Good atmosphere as expected, but old levels and only a few hours of gameplay brings this down a bit.
  13. Mar 22, 2011
    60
    As exciting as it may be to watch the story of Gabe and Lexine after their escape from Ishimura, the extremely short length of their new adventure, along with the overuse of areas we've already seen in Dead Space 2, canʼt help but create a strong feeling of disappointment.
  14. Mar 29, 2011
    77
    Severed is not bad for a $6 DLC, but I can't shake the feeling that this (severed) piece is just to whet our appetite for bigger things to come.
  15. Mar 4, 2011
    30
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. May 25, 2011
    8
    I found this piece of DLC to be pretty good. A good story and fun gameplay. The only problem is taht it is a little short. If it were an hour longer, it would have gotten a 9. Full Review »
  2. Mar 25, 2011
    0
    Although game was cool DLC is bad.Story is unbalanced and has too many potholes.Youve seen all this before in the real game.There is nothing new or exciting here.Not the DLC you want to buy so dont. Full Review »
  3. May 23, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. This is, by far, the most disappointing DLC I have yet to purchase. It isn't bad by any means, but it doesn't quite impress. Why would that be, you may ask? Well, let's take a look.

    In this spin-off pack to the actual game, you play as Gabe Weller, a character from the Wii-released Dead Space: Extraction, as he looks to find his young wife Lexine, who also happens to be pregnant with a child. The necromorphs aren't the only threat that you face, however, as a group of individuals are trying to stop Gabe from reuniting with his wife. Why? To be honest, I don't know. I haven't played Extraction, so I feel that maybe I can't judge this properly until I do, but I didn't feel that this held up with the rest of Dead Space 2. Which, let's face it, had it's flaws. The main gripe I had with Severed is that I had hoped it would lengthen the main game. I mean, 8 hours? Really? Unfortunately, this pack lasted around 1 hour. I got more time out of Witch Hunt, for crying out loud. As for gameplay, it's pretty much the same, but it was also disappointing to note that they ripped some of the more nteresting moents from the main game onto this. Remeber when you had to fight off oncoming necromorphs while hanging upside down? It's in here, too. Come on, Visceral, try something different.

    In short, this add-on disappoints. It was promising enough, but unimpressed in almost every category.
    Full Review »