User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 620 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 620

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 27, 2012
    6
    This game was a huge letdown for me. The first one blew me away I was looking forward to this game so bad. The story was barely there, the action was pretty cool, and there were some cool elements, but it just felt lackluster.
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    Dead Space 2 is an impressive sequel that is filled with gore, scares and bloody good fun! Though it is a bit frustrating to play thanks to my poor video game skills, it is redeemed by it's terrifying atmosphere, great graphics and incredibly fun and gruesome moments of gore. Fans of the Sci-Fi/Horror genre and third person shooters will surely love this.
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    Pretty good game but doesnt feature much change from the first game. One of the big set backs for the game is that is lacks variety and it really feels you are just replaying the same parts over and over again. Besides that, Its pretty enjoyable and I had a blast playing it.
  4. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    Dead Space was a masterpiece action horror game, but does the sequel live up to its hefty heights the predecessor set? It surpasses them in short, the game is longer, more action packed and a more meaty experience all round. The events of Dead Space have left Isaac with a rare form of Dementia that will kill him if he does not get the cure. Being held on one of Saturn's moons names theDead Space was a masterpiece action horror game, but does the sequel live up to its hefty heights the predecessor set? It surpasses them in short, the game is longer, more action packed and a more meaty experience all round. The events of Dead Space have left Isaac with a rare form of Dementia that will kill him if he does not get the cure. Being held on one of Saturn's moons names the Sprawl, CEC have brought the USG Ishimura in after the distress beacon you sent out was recovered, now the Necromorph roam the Sprawl and yet again it is up to Isaac to escape with his life. Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    8
    Compared to the original, Dead Space 2 is an improvement across the board. The horror in the first game was seriously lacking and though it hasn't changed much in the second game, the larger focus on action held my interest. The Sprawl is a more vibrant location than the Ishimura (the main reason being that every corridor doesn't look the same). The story and characters are slightly betterCompared to the original, Dead Space 2 is an improvement across the board. The horror in the first game was seriously lacking and though it hasn't changed much in the second game, the larger focus on action held my interest. The Sprawl is a more vibrant location than the Ishimura (the main reason being that every corridor doesn't look the same). The story and characters are slightly better this time around, though it is still hard to immerse yourself in the former and connect with the latter. Isaac has a voice this time around but nothing about his personality rises above "default video game hero". He says and does what we expect he would do, making him merely adequate. The dementia scenes are a nice touch to the game though they don't add much. The gameplay is largely the same as its predecessor except with a few new necromorphs and weapons. This isn't a bad thing considering that the gameplay was the best thing about the first game. Zero gravity scenarios are vastly improved as are the cinematic action sequences. Though it doesn't expand too much on the original game, Dead Space 2 is a game worth playing. Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    6
    The Dead Space series is nothing to write home about, its chunky controls, lacklustre graphics and boring campaign virtually leaves you with nothing bare creepy deformed enemies or the odd jump scare. So much potential wasted on what could of been an amazing survival horror game. Another disappointment, would not recommended.
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    It's the game that got me back into zombie video games. Deadrising was ok and Left 4 Dead was great but when this came out, I renewed my faith in the zombie video game. Resident Evil 4 was the last time there was an awesome zombie game.
  8. Dec 19, 2011
    7
    Not a huge difference to the first game however the poor gameplay that cropped up from time to time in the first game have been improved and some new creatures have added to the challenge although the expect the unexpected factor of the first game has been lost. Good graphics, a good storyline and decent gameplay make this well worth a playthrough.
  9. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    With incredible scares and action sequences Dead Space 2 is recommendable for almost anyone. For those looking for more than just that Dead Space 2 has a great story, good plot and great zero gravity puzzles.
  10. May 30, 2013
    5
    Dead Space 2 is just average. It seems to rely heavily on jump scares that all use the same formula, doesn't set up much of an atmosphere and it's so easy to kill all of the nercomorphs when you're tripping over ammo. The story isn't as interesting as the first, just Scientology-I mean Unitology trying to take over the galaxy. If you solely liked the game play for Dead Space, then this isDead Space 2 is just average. It seems to rely heavily on jump scares that all use the same formula, doesn't set up much of an atmosphere and it's so easy to kill all of the nercomorphs when you're tripping over ammo. The story isn't as interesting as the first, just Scientology-I mean Unitology trying to take over the galaxy. If you solely liked the game play for Dead Space, then this is for you. Otherwise, stay away from this game. Expand
  11. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    BEST HORROR GAME THIS GEN!!! Soooooooo much better that the first dead space, graphics and gameplay are top-notch. This game is a MUST buy for every gamer outhere
  12. May 7, 2013
    7
    The game is more intense than the first one, but in the mean time lost almost all the scary factors. I don't know what I expected from this game, but whatever it was, the game didnt meet it. the game is surely with a lot of tension, if you die, ok, you die horribly, in the most violent way in game history (IMO), it is not scary, it is just sick to me. other than that. the game is stillThe game is more intense than the first one, but in the mean time lost almost all the scary factors. I don't know what I expected from this game, but whatever it was, the game didnt meet it. the game is surely with a lot of tension, if you die, ok, you die horribly, in the most violent way in game history (IMO), it is not scary, it is just sick to me. other than that. the game is still unique and worth experiencing. Expand
  13. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    They have done it again, this game much like dead space one is an excellent atmospheric, frightening, anxiety ridden romp. The game plays pretty much the same as the first, with some of your old favourite enemies featuring so if you were looking for innovation from the first you may be disappointed, I however was not having loved the first game I love this too, hard to the core though???They have done it again, this game much like dead space one is an excellent atmospheric, frightening, anxiety ridden romp. The game plays pretty much the same as the first, with some of your old favourite enemies featuring so if you were looking for innovation from the first you may be disappointed, I however was not having loved the first game I love this too, hard to the core though??? not gonna happen. Expand
  14. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    It's Ton of fun, huge improvement from the first one. Multiplayer is pretty fun. The campaign lasted, for me on normal, for 14 hours. Long, action packed campaign, which really improved the action from the first one. You will just out of you seat at times. You heart will be pounding into you chest, trying to break through. Great sequel, great action. Highly recommend.
  15. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = The best survival horror game is resident evil 4, but this is a very close second. It fuses action with horror so perfectly that I couldn't stop playing. This game actually got the better of me at times. Terrible online component unfortunately.
  16. Nov 14, 2011
    2
    Although not as bad as Dragon Age 2, Dead Space 2 still falls into the same category of "dross, cash-in sequal". As a big fan of the original Dead Space I was actually rather impressed with this game to start with, certainly there were a few moments where I thought "This is gonna blow me away!", but soon enough the game's flaws started to take over. For one the enemies are far, far cheaperAlthough not as bad as Dragon Age 2, Dead Space 2 still falls into the same category of "dross, cash-in sequal". As a big fan of the original Dead Space I was actually rather impressed with this game to start with, certainly there were a few moments where I thought "This is gonna blow me away!", but soon enough the game's flaws started to take over. For one the enemies are far, far cheaper this time round - no end of hits sustained come from Necro's you can't even see and aren't aware of until you play the set peice through a few times. In fact the whole game has a very poor "trial and error" feel to it which soon gets you into the habit of just rushing into every area full on so you can see what's happening, get killed, and then actually try and get past it - it totally kills any suspense or fear. Secondly the puzzels add absolutely nothing to the game - they really do just slow the pace of the game down and feel labourious. Next the weapons just don't feel as balanced this time round, every one feels ropey and less satisfying than in DS1, and there's an over-reliance on the stasis module. And finally the story is pretty pap, I didn't even realise I was on Chapter 7 until I checked a walkthrough for a tit-bit, I was like "Eh? Halfway through the game and it only feels just like I've completed the tutorial". I honestly don't think that a game could make you care less about it as this ine does. Very poor. Expand
  17. May 26, 2011
    9
    A fantastic game. A shooter with a really good story. The controls, the graphics, the voice acting are all brilliant. I loved the first game and this is even better. The sense of dread as to when the next xenomorph is going to jump out at you had me on the edge of seat. I'm so proud to say that I played on "Zealot" the hardest difficulty. While there where times I wanted to throw theA fantastic game. A shooter with a really good story. The controls, the graphics, the voice acting are all brilliant. I loved the first game and this is even better. The sense of dread as to when the next xenomorph is going to jump out at you had me on the edge of seat. I'm so proud to say that I played on "Zealot" the hardest difficulty. While there where times I wanted to throw the control pad at the screen the payoff for getting past a mass ambush is outstatanding. A must own game. Expand
  18. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Dead Space 2 isn't necessarily better than the first game, it just improves in some areas that weren't necessarily that bad to begin with. The audio is still utterly masterful, creating suspense at all the right junctures, while the visuals and gameplay make Visceral's game one of the finest examples of cinematic gaming at its best. The bottom line however, is that Dead Space 2 is one ofDead Space 2 isn't necessarily better than the first game, it just improves in some areas that weren't necessarily that bad to begin with. The audio is still utterly masterful, creating suspense at all the right junctures, while the visuals and gameplay make Visceral's game one of the finest examples of cinematic gaming at its best. The bottom line however, is that Dead Space 2 is one of the most downright terrifying games that you're ever likely to play. It'll give you nightmares, guaranteed. Expand
  19. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Not only was Dead Space 2 a great sequel, it's one of the best damn games ever made! There's plenty to love about this game. Fans of the first game should not be disappointed. We have a great story, upgraded gameplay mechanics, new weapons, great voice acting, etc. As the first Dead Space is my pick for "Game of the Year" (2008) there's no question that this one will be up for all sortsNot only was Dead Space 2 a great sequel, it's one of the best damn games ever made! There's plenty to love about this game. Fans of the first game should not be disappointed. We have a great story, upgraded gameplay mechanics, new weapons, great voice acting, etc. As the first Dead Space is my pick for "Game of the Year" (2008) there's no question that this one will be up for all sorts of nominations, including "Game of the Year" for many huge gaming companies. Expand
  20. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    In a strange way this both builds upon and takes away from the original game. Originally we're given a story that seems utterly hopeless from start to finish and though the combat is in close quarters (mostly) the idea you were on a gigantic ship and in the middle of space adds to this sense of hopelessness. In the first game we're given a character, Isaac, who has no dialogue and is givenIn a strange way this both builds upon and takes away from the original game. Originally we're given a story that seems utterly hopeless from start to finish and though the combat is in close quarters (mostly) the idea you were on a gigantic ship and in the middle of space adds to this sense of hopelessness. In the first game we're given a character, Isaac, who has no dialogue and is given only grunts and yells - in this game Isaac actually has a voice and personality. In a way this adds to the story, but it also takes away from the horror. In Dead Space I felt more like I was on board the horrific Ishimura, but in this one, though the gameplay remains extreme and extensively fun, I felt it was like I was watching the experience rather than being a part of it. In this Dead Space we're given an even bigger environment, but it doesn't really feel all that big seeing we only visit small portion of the huge space city. Fewer varieties of enemies are present in this one, and only a few new ones are introduced, but the scares remain there - especially with the newly added Stalkers. This game plays highly off of Isaac's dementia, which I thought was great, and it also adds a new sense of maturity and growth from the first game. The first game was classic and over the top (so is this one) but I feel that the storyline becomes so much clearer in this addition and we're given more to discover than we were in the first game. However the sense of confusion I felt in the first game was partly why it was so terrifying, and when the twist was revealed (in the first game) I was just blown away and even felt chilled. This is a great game, but the overall story mode is surprisingly short. I was able to beat it in one sitting - which is really quick for a two disked game, but also goes to show how captivating it is to get me to sit there for so long. The intensity is so great and the scares are so constant that eventually you may find your mind shutting down and going into a zone where pop outs and eeriness cease to be effective. There is also multiplayer, which is surprisingly fun (especially when you play as the necromorphs). The only issue I've had with multiplayer is the loading time, other than that it's loads of fun, and so is the rest of the game. Expand
  21. Feb 18, 2011
    10
    A clear example of game makers listening to fan feedback and giving them what they want. DS2 still has everything that made the original a spine chilling masterpiece but adds to it. DS2 has more variety in the gameplay and is a bigger more epic experience. The nerve shredding survival horror now blends with breathless action set pieces that wouldn't look out of place in a HollywoodA clear example of game makers listening to fan feedback and giving them what they want. DS2 still has everything that made the original a spine chilling masterpiece but adds to it. DS2 has more variety in the gameplay and is a bigger more epic experience. The nerve shredding survival horror now blends with breathless action set pieces that wouldn't look out of place in a Hollywood blockbuster. Fully cements Dead Spaces position as this generations survival horror king! Expand
  22. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    Dead Space was a landmark for the survival-horror genre. The game ramped up the scares and action to ludicrous levels, delivering one of the most fun and intense horror games since Resident Evil 4. Dead Space 2, like its dementia-afflicted protagonist, is absolutely insane. The game cranks up the action into overdrive while still delivering some hefty scares, albeit less frequently thanDead Space was a landmark for the survival-horror genre. The game ramped up the scares and action to ludicrous levels, delivering one of the most fun and intense horror games since Resident Evil 4. Dead Space 2, like its dementia-afflicted protagonist, is absolutely insane. The game cranks up the action into overdrive while still delivering some hefty scares, albeit less frequently than the first. However, that does not stop Dead Space 2 from being a tense thrill ride. This sequel improves greatly upon the flaws of the first. The environments are varied, the game is longer, and it packs multiplayer to boot. If you even consider yourself a fan of sci-fi or horror, pick up this game. Now. Expand
  23. Oct 27, 2011
    7
    Even, if games like Dead Space 2 aren't scary, this game is still very good. The action is well done, the sounds of the game has been done very well and the graphics are great. The story isin't anything interesting though, making excuses to do some more job alone all the time. The game doesn't really add anything new except multiplayer. Other wise you get few weapons, ability to sendEven, if games like Dead Space 2 aren't scary, this game is still very good. The action is well done, the sounds of the game has been done very well and the graphics are great. The story isin't anything interesting though, making excuses to do some more job alone all the time. The game doesn't really add anything new except multiplayer. Other wise you get few weapons, ability to send enemies to space and able to throw spiky objects to them. The multiplayer is also awful. Playing as necromorphs isin't fun, because human team can abuse slo-mo ability all the time and the combat feels stupid and boring. The unlocks also feel useless. I recommend this game only for the single player, which is short too (Only about 6-8 hours). Pros:
    + Graphics
    + Single player's action is great, especially during some scenes
    Cons:
    - Multiplayer
    - Doesn't add enough new stuff to single player
    Expand
  24. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    This review should be prefaced by the fact that I dislike the horror genre with a passion. I was attracted to this game after a buddy convinced me to try it and after and hour and a half I was disappointed by constant suspense and what I felt was a lack of action. After picking it up the other week I realized that what I hated the first time was really the beauty in the game. I played forThis review should be prefaced by the fact that I dislike the horror genre with a passion. I was attracted to this game after a buddy convinced me to try it and after and hour and a half I was disappointed by constant suspense and what I felt was a lack of action. After picking it up the other week I realized that what I hated the first time was really the beauty in the game. I played for and hour or so and was hooked. The feeling of tension that this game creates is on a whole other level from other games I have played. Every corner you feel forced to check left and right -- with that visibility you have -- to avoid being snuck up on by a zombie. Hearing a something in the walls and just knowing that something is coming and tensing up on the edge of the couch to just find yourself at a save station is probably the quickest jump in my suspense that I have ever felt in a game. Overall I think this games ability to draw you in with the suspense is what made this a great game. I will say this though: dying was more frustrating than a set back, and the save stations seemed useless and too frequent. I don't really mind the latter, but dying felt like **** I have to go blow through this section again" rather than "Okay **** how I am going to beat these guys". I didn't really understand a lot of the story going through the game either; it was only the end when everything was put before you that I understood what was going on. Ultimately, I am pleased I picked it up, and I would recommend it to most everyone. Expand
  25. Mar 18, 2011
    3
    Just like the first one, it **** sucks.

    The characters are too generic, it's a blatant rip-off of RE4 (Except RE4 was "Good") the combat is boring the monsters aren't scary "Stealth?" There is none, and why does Isaac lug around that Gravity gun? Why can't he just use his arms? Infact you wouldn't even need arms! You could just kick it.

    @Visceral Games : Go **** yourself.
  26. Jan 29, 2011
    9
    Awesome game! providing hours of thrills and scares that just keep surprising. and when you finish with the great new campaign, you still have the new multiplayer component where you can play as humans and necromorphs. though the controls may be a little sketchy in multiplayer and the campaign enemies a little unfair its still must buy.
  27. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    I watched some footage about the art direction on Dead Space 2 for school, and in doing so, made me want to play this game. However, this game is so well made, and so scary, that I wasn't playing it, I was experiencing it, I tried to sleep for about an hour and gave up and successfully finished the game by pulling an all nighter the night I received it. Playing through it the game had meI watched some footage about the art direction on Dead Space 2 for school, and in doing so, made me want to play this game. However, this game is so well made, and so scary, that I wasn't playing it, I was experiencing it, I tried to sleep for about an hour and gave up and successfully finished the game by pulling an all nighter the night I received it. Playing through it the game had me on the edge of my seat the whole night, and I was quite impressed by the games length and I LOVED how the game included 2 discs, so that DLC was like an expansion, and not the other 3rd of the game. The combat didn't get as repetitive as I expected it to get, and I really loved the telekinesis, which not only helped save ammunition but added a change to the game play that was something I am not used to in Survival horror games. In all honesty, I hate non FPS multiplayer games unless it's racing. Even with FPS I prefer them 99% of the time on PC, so the multiplayer didn't appeal to me all that much, however it is fun with it's L4D style gameplay... like L4D, I prefer the non-human team, and it's a hell of a good time.
    All in all, even if you don't like Dead Space 2's style of game (non FPS or whatever) this is still a great buy, this is one of those few games, I would recommend to anyone, except my mother, because, yes, there is some really brutal and messed up things in this game...
    Expand
  28. Aug 8, 2011
    8
    As far as scary, creepy and atmospheric horror games go, Dead Space 2 is by far the best I have ever played. It is far superior to its predecessor in every way; the mechanics, the weapons, the enemy variety, the challenge and the more various settings. DS2 provides scares and jumps from the start to the finish, and the story is interesting enough to keep you attached until the very finalAs far as scary, creepy and atmospheric horror games go, Dead Space 2 is by far the best I have ever played. It is far superior to its predecessor in every way; the mechanics, the weapons, the enemy variety, the challenge and the more various settings. DS2 provides scares and jumps from the start to the finish, and the story is interesting enough to keep you attached until the very final limb is severed. The decision to give Isaac Clarke (the protagonist) a voice was an excellent design choice and allows the player to gain a likeness of the character. The surroundings and sound are both superb; the original was fantastically atmospheric, but this game improves and refines everything. As a rental (or as second hand) you will not get an 'online code' and so this locks away the online multi-player, which is disappointing, however the single player 9-10 hour play through way enough to satisfy me. 4/5, superb. Expand
  29. Jan 27, 2011
    9
    This review may be a little bit biased due to the fact that I was a huge fan of the first one. I played through the first one multiple times, getting every achievement and secret possible. And after playing Dead Space 2, I plan on doing it again. Let me start with what I feel should be icing on the cake, which is the multiplayer. Obviously, you should not purchase DS2 just for theThis review may be a little bit biased due to the fact that I was a huge fan of the first one. I played through the first one multiple times, getting every achievement and secret possible. And after playing Dead Space 2, I plan on doing it again. Let me start with what I feel should be icing on the cake, which is the multiplayer. Obviously, you should not purchase DS2 just for the multiplayer, as you will most likely feel a little disappointed for spending so much on an online game that is really not too complex at all. Now, by no means is that saying that the multiplayer is bad, because it's quite the opposite. Being either the humans or necromorphs is extremely addicting (I don't know why), but I will add that I feel the humans are still a little bit overpowered. However, the combat is extremely brutal and intense, and the pace rarely lets up, hardly giving you time to breathe after several enemy pack players just tried to maul you. For me, I think it's great since I loved dismembering necromorphs offline so much. Being the necromorphs is a ton of fun, being able to spawn from just about anywhere to ambush the enemy human players. The level up system is pretty straightforward, with the higher level you get, the more things you unlock, such as new abilities, armor, weapons, or upgrades. The maps in my opinion are pretty decent and get the job done, but a few of them tend to be a bit bland. Since the action is constantly so intense, you hardly have time to notice. Overall, a great addition to the game and I feel that it should be kept for Dead Space 3 as well with a few tweaks. Now, the meat and potatoes, the single player. This is where this game really shines, bringing the survival horror genre a new meaning. From the very beginning of the game, you're immediately thrust into intense sequences and horrific scenes. When you wake up in the straight jacket right in the middle of fray (I won't try and spoil anything), you realize from that moment on just how insane the game is going to be. I feel that this one is scarier than the first one, as I didn't feel the first one was too scary. This one is basically guaranteed to make you jump several times, and the dementia that Isaac faces gets pretty creepy at time. I played the game two hours straight when I picked it up, and the entire time my heart was pulsing. The difficulty, even on normal, is much harder this time around, and I found myself raging a few times at parts that took huge tolls on your supplies (ammo, health, etc.). The pacing of the game is fantastic, letting up every so often to let your heart rate return to normal, before thrusting you right back into frantic battle for survival. The storyline is great, voice acting is awesome, and the graphics are much improved. The lighting is a ton better, putting you through pitch-black rooms very often and changing it up to environments such as apartments or an elementary school (one of my favorite areas). The sound is also improved, ranging from the clanging of metal objects falling, all the way up to the screaming and grunting of lurking necromorphs waiting to pounce of you. The guns are all back as well as some additional firepower for your arsenal. The melee is tremendously improved, which was a huge relief for me, since I felt that the curbstomp from the first one was basically useless later on in the game. Overall, an amazing game that doesn't let any of its flaws outshine its brilliance. If you're a fan of sci-fi, shooters, survival horror, or anything in between, than it would be a travesty for you to not pick up this game. Highly recommended. Expand
  30. Feb 24, 2011
    9
    Well, scary as hell, and very hard to play with fear going through bones. Although, thats what we all want. Nice sequel, looking forward for part III :)
  31. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    Dead Space 2 is a perfect sequel to one of my favorite games of all time, (maybe one of THE greatest games of all time). Upped the action, the violence, the story-telling, and the theatrics. This is one of the greatest games EVER. Do not miss it. Survival/Action Horror has never been so amazing.
  32. May 29, 2012
    10
    The best survival horror game to date period. The first one was a success this one multiplies that sucsess per 100, first Issac talks and has a personality so the interaction with the game story is more interactive than in the first one, there aro more necromorph variants and man they are scary also this game does something that resident evil cant do it merges perfectly the survival aspectThe best survival horror game to date period. The first one was a success this one multiplies that sucsess per 100, first Issac talks and has a personality so the interaction with the game story is more interactive than in the first one, there aro more necromorph variants and man they are scary also this game does something that resident evil cant do it merges perfectly the survival aspect and the action elements. Is scary, the story is awsome and is one of the best games to date. Expand
  33. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    I'm glad that Dead Space didn't take a turn for the worse when they made this follow up, the original was unbelievable and anticipation was high for the next installment.. and here I am, raving once again about how Dead Space 2 made me pee in pants!!! By far the best Survivor Horror series since all those many years ago when Resident Evil was still relevant in the gaming world.
  34. Aug 22, 2013
    7
    Compared to the first game, Dead Space 2 was somewhat disappointing. It plays more like an action game, relying more on jump scares than atmospheric creepy-ness. They just send horde after horde at you. I much preferr the slow-paced but thrilling game that Dead Space was. Overall though, Dead Space 2 is still an above-average action game.
  35. Aug 9, 2011
    6
    Dead Space was an inevitable progression of the survival horror genre, taking cues from the latest iterations of Resident Evil and Silent Hill. It was (is) a perfect video game. The gorgeous graphics, tense atmosphere, kickass silent protagonist decked out in super cool space mining armor, and very satisfying limb-slicing gameplay all added up to a pitch perfect experience that I imaginedDead Space was an inevitable progression of the survival horror genre, taking cues from the latest iterations of Resident Evil and Silent Hill. It was (is) a perfect video game. The gorgeous graphics, tense atmosphere, kickass silent protagonist decked out in super cool space mining armor, and very satisfying limb-slicing gameplay all added up to a pitch perfect experience that I imagined EA and Visceral would have a difficult time topping, or even matching. I was right. Dead Space 2 doesn't improve on the formula, but instead rehashes it completely while adding some unnecessary flourishes and removes some fun and exciting elements found in the first game. A couple new enemies and guns are available, as well as a flexible (but rarely used and poorly implemented) anti-gravity control scheme and the occasional single pane of fragile glass waiting to send you and your enemies into the depths of space. The other additions are much less palatable, such as the ever-pandering multiplayer mode and Isaac's new vocal chords. Instead of potentially becoming the next silent space-scouring Samus, Isaac has been transformed into your boring, everyday, disgustingly relatable and forever-swearing meathead with a couple of shallow demons on his back that frankly serve more to annoy the player rather than bothering to tell a story with depth and the grandeur that being a lone future space psuedo-solider/hero should provide. Isaac's mystery is gone in the interest of makin dem BroBucks. The disappointments don't end there, as the removal of some key distractions from the endless room-clearing, move on, press switch gameplay progression are sorely missed. No asteroid blasting, no shooting range, no Zero G Basketball. The puzzles are also very very scarce and weak and would have helped greatly in pacing the decimation of the hordes of enemies you encounter throughout the game, especially towards the end. I wouldn't say I'm disappointed in Dead Space 2 though, as it's just enough of a sequel to qualify as one, but once it fulfills its (excellent) jump scares and flawless limb-chopping combat within a game engine that just won't quit, I'm still left feeling dissatisfied and listless. If Dead Space is truly going to become another regular or yearly franchise for EA, then I expect the dilution will continue until the original blood-smeared, helpless aura of the original is reduced to it's bare combat bones even more completely. Expand
  36. Sep 2, 2013
    9
    Dead Space 2 follows up from Isaac Clarke's last outing with a thrilling, terrifying, and gory survival-horror game. The overall story is fairly interesting but the game play is what really stands out as you have a dozen weapons at your disposal each with it's own grotesque way to slaughter those nasty necromorphs. Stasis and kinesis also add terrifically to game play strategy. Isaac innerDead Space 2 follows up from Isaac Clarke's last outing with a thrilling, terrifying, and gory survival-horror game. The overall story is fairly interesting but the game play is what really stands out as you have a dozen weapons at your disposal each with it's own grotesque way to slaughter those nasty necromorphs. Stasis and kinesis also add terrifically to game play strategy. Isaac inner struggle is gripping to watch over the course of the game as he experiences betrayals. hallucinations, and being stalked by a necromorph who seemingly can't die! The campaign is a good 14 hours depending on your difficulty and yes the game can be quite difficult, even on the easier difficulties. New game plus adds re-playability with your weapons and upgrades staying with you even after starting a new campaign. The only real flaw is the multiplayer which gets dull very quickly and isn't very fun. Overall, fantastic gameplay, campaign, weapons etc. but not very good multiplayer. Expand
  37. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    The day this game came out I was soooo excited. I fell madly in love with the first one and could not wait to get into this game. The first ten minutes of this game... oh my god. It's still the best opening scene of any video game I've ever played or seen. All hell has literally broken loose. You have to run through a necromorph-infested hospital with your health in the red and wearing aThe day this game came out I was soooo excited. I fell madly in love with the first one and could not wait to get into this game. The first ten minutes of this game... oh my god. It's still the best opening scene of any video game I've ever played or seen. All hell has literally broken loose. You have to run through a necromorph-infested hospital with your health in the red and wearing a straight jacket. The atmosphere in the game isn't quite as terrifying as it was in the first one, but they included both new and old necromorphs and focused more on hordes and hordes of necromorphs coming to screw up your world. This Dead Space seems to have more action rather than focusing completely on trying to make you piss your pants. You still have the old weapon choices along with a couple new ones such as the Javelin gun. Meanwhile, Nicole's terrifying ghost is following you everywhere as Isaac continues to slip further into insanity. Still one of the best games I've ever played, and I am constantly creeping the internet for news on the third one. Expand
  38. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    This is one my favorite games of all time. I was sceptical when i was deciding if i should buy this game or not. And when i actually bought it i waited like four days to play it because i was nervous to see how scary the game actually is. Well to me anyway the games scared are over hyped to the point where i didnt even get scared when playing this game at all. Instead i loved the sh#t outThis is one my favorite games of all time. I was sceptical when i was deciding if i should buy this game or not. And when i actually bought it i waited like four days to play it because i was nervous to see how scary the game actually is. Well to me anyway the games scared are over hyped to the point where i didnt even get scared when playing this game at all. Instead i loved the sh#t out of it. To me when i was playing this game felt more like an action game than a survival horror,ive seen many critics say how ammo and health are scarce well you know what i got to say to them.....bullsh$t. I had plenty of ammo and health throughout the whole game,and gameinformer said that towards the end the difficultly shoots through the roof,it doesnt. In fact you can barely tell. This game is very creative and the last like three hours is amazing. The end of the game gave me goosebumps man,i cannot wait till Dead Space 3,play this game and you'll feel the same way. Expand
  39. Jun 5, 2014
    9
    It was a really nice game the first time I played it, the scares were absolutely on the spot, I have a turtle beach head set so it was totally terrifying. The story was a bit cheesy, but it was well done also. The first story was the best out of the 3, the 2nd story was a bit...... well a let down to what it was before. The first game he was just trying to survive or get help. This one heIt was a really nice game the first time I played it, the scares were absolutely on the spot, I have a turtle beach head set so it was totally terrifying. The story was a bit cheesy, but it was well done also. The first story was the best out of the 3, the 2nd story was a bit...... well a let down to what it was before. The first game he was just trying to survive or get help. This one he didn't even want to live, at the end he just wanted to die. I thought the story was a bit of a let down, but still the story was better than I thought it would be. Another thing is online, my gosh that sucked so bad that I thought it was a black hole. The game play totally stunk on online, I mean if I was an alien, I would just get my head shot off in the first 5 seconds that I spawned. The humans was also unfair, because there are boosters EVERYWHERE. I mean seriously they would spawn kill every time, I couldn't even get out of the spawn point. Would I recommend this? Yes, defiantly it is a good game to continue the dead space series. Yes, sometimes online is fun if people play FAIR. Expand
  40. Apr 8, 2011
    8
    I'm not usually a fan of video games that are very linear, but Dead Space 2 is the exception. If anyone were to get the full experience from this game they would need to play at night with very little lighting (apart from the television) and no company. The asthetics aren't the best, but they suit the game very well. Like most video games it doesn't have a very deep or expansive story,I'm not usually a fan of video games that are very linear, but Dead Space 2 is the exception. If anyone were to get the full experience from this game they would need to play at night with very little lighting (apart from the television) and no company. The asthetics aren't the best, but they suit the game very well. Like most video games it doesn't have a very deep or expansive story, however it is definitely enough to keep you playing. This game will keep you engaged, adrenaline-pumping and on the edge of your seat. If you were ever considering playing it, do yourself a favour and buy it. Expand
  41. SFN
    Feb 12, 2011
    10
    let me start off by saying that i wasnt a real big fan on the first dead space and i came into this game having low expectations but wow did they improve everything. from the low gravity parts, in the first game you have to aim then jump to move where you wanted to go but in here you have full control of the character, second, you have alot more weapons, i pre ordered the collectorslet me start off by saying that i wasnt a real big fan on the first dead space and i came into this game having low expectations but wow did they improve everything. from the low gravity parts, in the first game you have to aim then jump to move where you wanted to go but in here you have full control of the character, second, you have alot more weapons, i pre ordered the collectors edition which means i got the riviot gun and the gun wasnt that bad, its effective on some of the creatures but not all of them which brings me to my next point, they added more creatures to the game, you have the puker, the sist, the pack which is a screaming baby thing who will hunt in packs to try and kill you, and the stalker, this game is over all amazing but thats just the beginning, they have also added a new multiplayer mode which is you are either human or creature, and if your human you have objectives to complete but while the creatures are trying to kill you but if your on the creature side you try and stop the humans from completeing their objectives and this mode is really really fun, i am amazed but how far they have come since the first dead space, i hope they make another dead sapce but right now i kindof doubt it will happen, go get this game, you wont be disappointed Expand
  42. Mar 5, 2011
    10
    Absolutely insane! the first dead space was so new and had touched on a new era of sci-fi horror gaming which i personally thought was unbeatable....until dead space 2 arrived! Its safe to say that Dead Space is one of the only games in the history of any console gaming that actually makes you jump and makes you weary about what kind of hideous monstrosity will be around the next bend.TheAbsolutely insane! the first dead space was so new and had touched on a new era of sci-fi horror gaming which i personally thought was unbeatable....until dead space 2 arrived! Its safe to say that Dead Space is one of the only games in the history of any console gaming that actually makes you jump and makes you weary about what kind of hideous monstrosity will be around the next bend.The plot is full in its entirety and really puts you into the mind frame of the returning lead character Isaac Clarke who along with new tech and weaponry will cut , slice and tear limb from limb the necromorph hordes of the dead space universe and thats without mentioning the online! definitely worth a buy! Expand
  43. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    Dead Space 2 is not as scary as Dead Space 1 is, IMHO. Though it has its own merits: Isaac can now speak (not only just scream, as in Dead Space 1), and his nightmares about Nicole are just wonderful! Also, the speed flights through the vacuum are nice, too. Needless to say, the zero-gravity and vacuum features are still there, which is cool.
    Bottom line: it's a very good game (with less
    Dead Space 2 is not as scary as Dead Space 1 is, IMHO. Though it has its own merits: Isaac can now speak (not only just scream, as in Dead Space 1), and his nightmares about Nicole are just wonderful! Also, the speed flights through the vacuum are nice, too. Needless to say, the zero-gravity and vacuum features are still there, which is cool.
    Bottom line: it's a very good game (with less horror and more action, than in Dead Space 1), and I suggest you to buy it, if you love the first game.
    Expand
  44. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    10!.... na, no no no... this game needs a score board that goes higher. Every second of the main game i loved. so much detail its untrue, feeling and emotions from the characters are believable which just drags you in. the trophies/achievements are a good challenge with nothing stupid. and EVEN the multilayer is fantastic fun. i completed this game in 2 sittings (no game has held my10!.... na, no no no... this game needs a score board that goes higher. Every second of the main game i loved. so much detail its untrue, feeling and emotions from the characters are believable which just drags you in. the trophies/achievements are a good challenge with nothing stupid. and EVEN the multilayer is fantastic fun. i completed this game in 2 sittings (no game has held my attention like it) yet still i go back for more... the re-playability is fantastic. hard core mode TRULY is hard core... iv never been so tense whilst playing a game. PLUS i got the on rails extraction game FREE!! along with all its separate trophies. this is one disc that will probably stay in my Ps3 longer than MW2 ever did .... i HOPE they bring more maps and crazy costumes to the multi-player... i dont care if they cost.. gimmi gimmi gimmi. ps bring on DS3!! ... actually i can wait for that a bit longer... its all about DS2 for now. Expand
  45. Mar 13, 2011
    9
    I complete improvement from the first game. The story is not terribly eventful, but the characters (particularly Isaac) are far more fleshed out and show development over the course of the game, and this is really what sells the narrative. The gameplay feels finer and more carefully calibrated. Isaac is quicker on his feet and quicker to act. Gone are the tank like movements of the firstI complete improvement from the first game. The story is not terribly eventful, but the characters (particularly Isaac) are far more fleshed out and show development over the course of the game, and this is really what sells the narrative. The gameplay feels finer and more carefully calibrated. Isaac is quicker on his feet and quicker to act. Gone are the tank like movements of the first game. But of all things, the design has been improved by far the most. I still can't call the game scary, but it certainly tries far harder to be then the first game. The audio is beautifully executed, with close and ambient sounds constantly making you guess at what's at the next encounter. The graphics have a slight improvement, and it shows with the sight of enemies, which seem far more nightmarish looking . The setting for the game also helps. Set in The Sprawl, a city on one of Saturn's moons, the game feels far larger in scope then its predecessor and gives the experience and overall grander feel. DS2 is a game that plays with you at times, not just the other way around. All in all, a wonderful evolution from the first game. Can't wait to see what's in store for DS3. Expand
  46. Feb 8, 2011
    9
    Amazing story and game play, it will keep you on the edge through out the entire game. I'm usually a pretty mellow person but I have never been more startled when a sprinkler system turned on unexpectadley. The multiplayer is interesting for a few hours, but not much more I'm glad they did two discs and didn't rely on their multiplayer for replay-ability.
  47. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First of all let me start by saying that Visceral Games has outdone themselves again. This has captured the eyes of fans and critics alike whether it be graphics or story it has captured my imagination and many others. While improving on game play flaws from the Original Visceral also giving more personality to the Protagonist Isaac Clarke by giving him a voice, better face, and much more. like him how you will whether it be his new build, hearing his voice in horror at the sight other survivors demise or him just screaming profanity. Visceral has gone a long way from the original dead space making ecstatic improvements. For this being the first Dead Space in the series with online multi player it is spectacular. The mixed reviews for this game are purely biased by others who compare it to games that aren't in their Genre such as Call of Duty Black ops, and Assassins Creed Brotherhood but as far as I'm concerned Dead space 2 puts the Horror back in Survival-Horror. Expand
  48. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    Dead Space was a landmark for the survival-horror genre. The game ramped up the scares and action to ludicrous levels, delivering one of the most fun and intense horror games since Resident Evil 4. Dead Space 2, like its dementia-afflicted protagonist, is absolutely insane. The game cranks up the action into overdrive while still delivering some hefty scares, albeit less frequently thanDead Space was a landmark for the survival-horror genre. The game ramped up the scares and action to ludicrous levels, delivering one of the most fun and intense horror games since Resident Evil 4. Dead Space 2, like its dementia-afflicted protagonist, is absolutely insane. The game cranks up the action into overdrive while still delivering some hefty scares, albeit less frequently than the first. However, that does not stop Dead Space 2 from being a tense thrill ride. This sequel improves greatly upon the flaws of the first. The environments are varied, the game is longer, and it packs multiplayer to boot. If you even consider yourself a fan of sci-fi or horror, pick up this game. Now. Expand
  49. Jul 31, 2011
    7
    Unfortunately the excellent puzzle solving elements which formed an integral part of the first Dead Space is very much lacking in Dead space 2 and has been replaced by more difficult combat situations which seem take periodic cheap shots at the player and can easily frustrate. However, it is still an enjoyable game and worth playing.
  50. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    From the beginning as a player you are in danger.
    The constant feeling of restless is on the entire game.
    Always watching the steps pointing the gun.
    Terrifying!

    and the final and main reason of all is that my mom hate it!
  51. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    This game is simply amazing. The creepy atmosphere is awesome. The graphics are also very nice. The game play is fluid and really easy to pick up. Some of the levels have some of the most twisted settings I have seen in a video game.
  52. Nov 5, 2011
    5
    Dead Space was a remarkable achievement since the resident evil days in the survival horror genre. I love the game so much and is my top 10 best games of all time. But Dead space 2 was a truly big disaapointment. It didnt deliver like the first game did. There was no scary moments and you just knew when stuff was going to pop up. Another thing was no huge boss battles like the first oneDead Space was a remarkable achievement since the resident evil days in the survival horror genre. I love the game so much and is my top 10 best games of all time. But Dead space 2 was a truly big disaapointment. It didnt deliver like the first game did. There was no scary moments and you just knew when stuff was going to pop up. Another thing was no huge boss battles like the first one had. It was mostly rinse and repeat of the same enemies over and over. It was more action driven like resident evil 5. Another thing that bothered me was that they always wanted to show his face. I didnt like this because I wanted to feel like I was the character in the suit. By showing his face it took alot of what the character supposed to be. The weapons,controls,camera, and gameplay are top notch. Story plot was fairly obvious and didnt supply any new insight the origins of the creatures. Expand
  53. Mar 29, 2013
    8
    A little short, but still good stuff. It would have been nice to see a dedicated severs and more effort into the multiplayer, or better yet, just to eliminate it entirely and add another three or four chapters to the campaign instead
  54. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game. It's miles ahead of it's predecessor, there's tons of re-playability. The setting and story are top notch, and I found myself really intrigued by the overall 'Marker' plot. The game play, weapon choice and upgrading system really lets you play how you want to play. The sound design is spectacular. This game still gives me the chills two years later, and I never look atFantastic game. It's miles ahead of it's predecessor, there's tons of re-playability. The setting and story are top notch, and I found myself really intrigued by the overall 'Marker' plot. The game play, weapon choice and upgrading system really lets you play how you want to play. The sound design is spectacular. This game still gives me the chills two years later, and I never look at ventilation ducts the same again. 10/10. Expand
  55. Mar 16, 2011
    3
    Why would you give this game a ten out of ten, i'm sorry but why? I'm not gonna say everyone's fanboys but I cant see your reason. I love DS1, it is ranked way up there in my top ten but what DS1 did was new and scary and actually interesting, it had a fudging story! DS2 is a tedious romp through repetetive areas that get old. The puzzles are awfull i have to say and the enemies are theWhy would you give this game a ten out of ten, i'm sorry but why? I'm not gonna say everyone's fanboys but I cant see your reason. I love DS1, it is ranked way up there in my top ten but what DS1 did was new and scary and actually interesting, it had a fudging story! DS2 is a tedious romp through repetetive areas that get old. The puzzles are awfull i have to say and the enemies are the same, come on at least change a bit, oh look babies thats it really and they get old too after the tenth time it to minutes almost getting killed, i found that i had to put on the hardest difficulty after half an hour. Its not even scary, in DS1 i had to have all the lights on and the curtains open in the day to play it, this... i would give this to my six year old brother. It is an awfull game not worth buying even if you want the online which is even worse as it is just as repetetive and dull, God save anyone who buys it. Expand
  56. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    I have to admit that I was expecting more from Dead Space 2 during my first playthrough. Despite the rather adrenaline-pumping start to the game, as the shock wore off I realized that I wasn't seeing enough that was new. I had seen a few new guns and enemies, some refined controls, and a faster-paced storyline, but overall the experience felt the same as the first one (andI have to admit that I was expecting more from Dead Space 2 during my first playthrough. Despite the rather adrenaline-pumping start to the game, as the shock wore off I realized that I wasn't seeing enough that was new. I had seen a few new guns and enemies, some refined controls, and a faster-paced storyline, but overall the experience felt the same as the first one (and disappointingly shorter too). Then I started Round 2...and Round 3...and Round 4...and I realized that I loved the fact that the changes were subtle. The first Dead Space was a near-perfect game to begin with, and the sequel improves upon that experience with an incredibly long list of those subtle changes: from the ability to switch difficulty between rounds, to the imposing Hard Core mode, to being able to free-float and fight in space, Dead Space 2 takes everything that was good about the first one and makes it better. Can't possibly go wrong picking this up. Expand
  57. Apr 23, 2011
    8
    Disclaiming: I never played Dead Space 1. However, Dead Space 2 really got my attention and I had a great time playing the game. It's a bit repetitive, but other than that the game, story and concept is one that I fell in love with. Well done, well worth the time and money.
  58. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    Loved this game. I loved the first Dead Space and if anything, the second one is even better. Fantastic atmosphere, gorgeous level design and art direction and briliant game mechanics. The one thing, above all, that stands out to me with this series is the fantastic UI (or lack thereof) - perfect way of telling players ammo and health, giving maximum game screen and not cluttering anythingLoved this game. I loved the first Dead Space and if anything, the second one is even better. Fantastic atmosphere, gorgeous level design and art direction and briliant game mechanics. The one thing, above all, that stands out to me with this series is the fantastic UI (or lack thereof) - perfect way of telling players ammo and health, giving maximum game screen and not cluttering anything up. If there is one thing which is not as good in the second it will be the story. I felt it was not as gripping and well developed as the story was in the first game, but then again i did not mind too much as a lot of other things were improved upon.

    If you liked the first, you will like this. If you have not played the first, you can play this no problem - its a perfect stand-alone (though you should still play the first because its also awesome). 2 thumbs up from me!
    Expand
  59. Jan 27, 2011
    10
    I'm kind of disappointed that this game got only a meta-critic of 90. And I'm also disappointed that the highest score I could rate this game is a perfect score. This is the scariest horror game I played in my life.
  60. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    Dead space 2 greatly improves upon everything that made the original great. More enemy diversity, bigger and better looking environments and new ways to dismember your opponents make this a worthy successor to Dead Space 1.
  61. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    After the first Dead Space, I was instantly glued on the idea of getting another. Everything the first Dead Space had, Dead Space 2 has more. I was rarely scared in Dead Space, but that was before I has surround sound headphones. With my Tritton AX Pros I can hear every sound, even if I don't want to. Surround sound really immerses you into the game, and if you have it, there is no doubtAfter the first Dead Space, I was instantly glued on the idea of getting another. Everything the first Dead Space had, Dead Space 2 has more. I was rarely scared in Dead Space, but that was before I has surround sound headphones. With my Tritton AX Pros I can hear every sound, even if I don't want to. Surround sound really immerses you into the game, and if you have it, there is no doubt in my mind that you will love this game. Compared to Dead Space, this game has more varied environments, a much better developed protagonist, more enemies (on screen), and great cut-scenes/action-scenes. I really enjoyed playing through the game, and the multiplayer is a nice addition. Some people say the game had a difficulty spike, I never felt it on normal difficulty. Some complained about the missions (go here do this, Isaac does whatever he is told) but you have to remember, Isaac is suffering from dementia and needs all the help he can get. If you are a skeptic, play the demo. I'm sure you will be hooked and ready for more. Expand
  62. May 25, 2011
    8
    I love this game. The singleplayer is awesome and has some pretty creepy moments. Has a well paced and good story. It is replayable and is about 8-12 hours long. The some problems are that it tries way to many jump scares on you and that the multiplayer is not that good.
  63. Feb 6, 2011
    5
    The original Dead Space is a classic one of my favourite games which makes Dead Space 2 even more of a let down that it actually is. It almost feels as if EA said you can make a second one but make it on rails so people don't get lost and copy a few more monsters from left 4 dead. It has lost the whole experience that was Dead Space and is now just a generic on rails space shooter withThe original Dead Space is a classic one of my favourite games which makes Dead Space 2 even more of a let down that it actually is. It almost feels as if EA said you can make a second one but make it on rails so people don't get lost and copy a few more monsters from left 4 dead. It has lost the whole experience that was Dead Space and is now just a generic on rails space shooter with gore. The new Left 4 Dead monsters unbalance the game so now you have one way to play, back into a corner with as much ammo and health as possible and keep shooting, it has lost all the tension and variation in game play that the original had. If this was just another shooter I'd probably give it a 7 but as it is they have ruined the chance to create a great sequel and with cash in crap like Ignition, an on line pass and DLC announced before the games even released a 5 is generous. Expand
  64. CPB
    Mar 15, 2011
    9
    Dead Space 2 is slicker and more action packed then it's predecessor, this is both good and bad, and I will explain why. But lets start with the good, the combat is faster, more enemy types, and a deeper narrative. Now for the bad every second a enemy jumps out of a vent and by the fifth hundred time it happens it becomes annoying and dampens the feel of the game. So overall very goodDead Space 2 is slicker and more action packed then it's predecessor, this is both good and bad, and I will explain why. But lets start with the good, the combat is faster, more enemy types, and a deeper narrative. Now for the bad every second a enemy jumps out of a vent and by the fifth hundred time it happens it becomes annoying and dampens the feel of the game. So overall very good game, and a little bit better then the original. Expand
  65. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Dead space 2 is the resi 4 of this generation just forget the multiplayer exists. The story is much better this time around it is a bit more action orientated but it is still scary when the enemies jump out of vents this time they do so with much more oomph and energy than before and the game is also harder and is chocked full of replayability.
  66. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    This game has much better pacing than the first one and much more diverse areas which made it more interesting to play. Also with ammo made more scarce and a much harder game this game is an even better game than the first one also the longer campaign and more satisfying ending also are in its favor.
  67. Feb 15, 2011
    9
    Dead Space 2 is a great game which makes some changes for the better others for the worse but if you're a fan of survival horror then this game is for you; a must play. The game is much different than the first game in terms of pacing and exploration as it drops the exploration / explanation parts of dead space 1 in exchange for more linear action based gameplay. There are many moreDead Space 2 is a great game which makes some changes for the better others for the worse but if you're a fan of survival horror then this game is for you; a must play. The game is much different than the first game in terms of pacing and exploration as it drops the exploration / explanation parts of dead space 1 in exchange for more linear action based gameplay. There are many more enemies than in the first game and more variations of mini boss monsters, many of the new enemies shoot projectiles which adds another level of challenge to the gameplay. There are new weapons that make this easier but you will find that the weapons from the first game are still the best and the new weapons are mainly a novelty. Ammo is in short supply like before, you will spend a lot of time stomping corpses for additional ammo and credits and many of the weapons and equipment upgrades require more power nodes than before but you have the option to remove all nodes and start over if you want which is great.

    Be ready for some cheap deaths because the game has very little visual cues and no hud just like the first one. In addition there is no line between where a cutscene begins and ends so it's best to just assume that at some point during a cut scene you will be able to control the main character again even if 2 seconds before you could not because 2 seconds afterwards you will be dead. Aside from that you will be in for a treat as this game is rock solid in both gameplay, and even paced with action scenes generally followed by some exploration and a few places of refuge where you can restock and reload before the cycle starts again. The flaws in this game are minor and wont apply if you've never played the first game. Enemies tend to jump out of where you expect them to and after an hour or two you'll be trained to scope out a room for vents before you enter it, depending on your play style you can almost see the invisible event triggers before they happen much like the plot's "twists" which were textbook and is why I gave it a 9. As great as this game is in presentation, sound, graphics, and gameplay, the story just wasnt as complex or interesting as the first, but the rest of it makes up for that. On a side note, as these games become more mature the stories should as well, hopefully they'll figure that last part out in dead space 3 :-D
    Expand
  68. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    Dead Space 2 is a great game. The controls, customization, level design, lighting fx, sound design and story are of the highest quality. But for me, the reason I bought this game, it is all about the scares and this game delivers. I am not a gore but the presence of gore doesn't faze me. It's the long hallways and the air vents you have to pass to get to the door at the end of the hall,Dead Space 2 is a great game. The controls, customization, level design, lighting fx, sound design and story are of the highest quality. But for me, the reason I bought this game, it is all about the scares and this game delivers. I am not a gore but the presence of gore doesn't faze me. It's the long hallways and the air vents you have to pass to get to the door at the end of the hall, the door that could be another empty room on the other side or a room full of ridiculously frightening creatures ready to spit, slash, bite and or maul me to death. The game kept me on the edge of my seat from the get go and gave me some welcome anxiety. Most single player campaign games get one sometimes two playthroughs before I am off to the next game. DS2 has a permanent place on my shelf, right next to DS1. I wont be trading this in or selling it ever. Total keeper. The Dead Space series has raised the bar high for anyone else existing or trying to get into the Survival Horror genre. The game is outstanding. I am not a fan of the multiplayer but it isnt bad and is not a factored into my rating. Sidebar Note: I think the Your Mom Hates Dead Space advertising campaign was brilliant. I wish I could see all of the interviews. Get the game, grab the bars, sweet dreams!!! Expand
  69. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    Dead Space 2 has been with us for a week or so now and in that time I've now managed to play-through twice. We continue Isaac's story three years after the original game, This time instead of being set on a spaceship DS2 is set in a huge space colony / city called Sprawl on one of Saturnâ
  70. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game the best dead space it great the game have a good looking graphic and awesome gameplay the game have great game scenes like fight in space it is game that places a new standard for horror games You need to play this game,but don t show it to your mother becouse YOUR MOTHER HATES THIS Expand
  71. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    It's pretty hard to capture lightening in a bottle twice. I'd say they gave it their best shot, and it was an all around very enjoyable game. They had a winning recipe and didn't deviate. The story progression was good and some of the achievements were incredibly stressful difficult (play on hardcore and you only get to use 3 saves for the entire game) which I enjoy.
  72. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    Great game. A defining piece in the interactive space horror genre. Can actually put real chills in me...definitely worth a try. I did, and now I must finish it.
  73. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    Wow this game is 2 disks. Just over 12 Meg installed on the Xbox hard drive.
    So far playing this game (and im just starting chapter 2) my chest is tight, im scarred & loving it!!!

    A heart felt thanks to the people who made this game. 100% in my books!
  74. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Dead Space 2 was a great game its story line was pretty intresting. the combat since the first game has improved, and the campagin is massive, its by far the longest ive played in a while and the game is defently worth the price. The game didnt really feel as creepy as the original for me. One thing i love about this game is the 360 motion when in space. The multiplayer is amazing, butDead Space 2 was a great game its story line was pretty intresting. the combat since the first game has improved, and the campagin is massive, its by far the longest ive played in a while and the game is defently worth the price. The game didnt really feel as creepy as the original for me. One thing i love about this game is the 360 motion when in space. The multiplayer is amazing, but feels too much like a Left 4 Dead. Still, the multiplayer is fun and its something that you can play for ages. The campagin continues on from the first game but this time gives Issac a voice, i like this because it gave more life to issac rather than him just being a brain dead space engineer. The new suits are pretty nice looking, and the new enemys are great. This game is so worth buying and i dont know whats really bad about it. Expand
  75. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    this game was amazing, loved it, ending wasnt hard, but powerful and fun to enjoy. however the puzzles in the game were somewhat poor and easy to solve, got them in a few seconds each
  76. Jan 27, 2011
    10
    If you're looking for one of the greatest survival horror games ever made (if not the best one in general), then look no further than Dead Space 2 (though you might want to play the first one to get caught up to speed, plus that's a great game too).
  77. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Dead Space 2 is a vastly superior game to the original and I am eagerly looking forward to seeing how Visceral Games expands this IP. It is short (I completed my first playthrough on Survivalist in 9 hours and 45 minutes... about 3 hours shorter than my first playthrough of the original game), but it is undeniably thrilling with some genuine chills-inducing moments and well-constructedDead Space 2 is a vastly superior game to the original and I am eagerly looking forward to seeing how Visceral Games expands this IP. It is short (I completed my first playthrough on Survivalist in 9 hours and 45 minutes... about 3 hours shorter than my first playthrough of the original game), but it is undeniably thrilling with some genuine chills-inducing moments and well-constructed jump scares. I highly recommend giving Isaac's second outing a try--but be willing to play through the story multiple times if you really want to get your money's worth (or invest copious amounts of time in the multiplayer... something I have yet to try). Expand
  78. Mar 16, 2011
    8
    Spread across two discs, Dead Space 2 is a fun action game with some horror-driven elements. The story is more streamlined (and linear) this time as you play Isaac Clarke, the protagonist from the first game. Giving Isaac a voice was an excellent decision on the designer's part as you now have a personal connection to his struggles. The controls are also much more responsive and smoothSpread across two discs, Dead Space 2 is a fun action game with some horror-driven elements. The story is more streamlined (and linear) this time as you play Isaac Clarke, the protagonist from the first game. Giving Isaac a voice was an excellent decision on the designer's part as you now have a personal connection to his struggles. The controls are also much more responsive and smooth making playing Dead Space 2 a blast! Unfortunately, like Dead Space 1, DS2 lacks any real scares or fear-inducing elements. Isaac is so beefed up you'll find yourselves chasing down enemies rather than reluctantly pressing on. It's a great action title that still hasn't exploited it's horror elements to it's potential. Expand
  79. Dec 12, 2011
    4
    Dead Space 1 set a very high bar. All Dead Space 2 managed to do was limbo under it. The plot and concept were fine. DS2 expands on the ground covered by the first game nicely, without going off on any irrelevant tangents like some sequels have been prone to do. The disappointment comes in how the gameplay was implemented, the trial-and-error methods of the deathtraps in particular. TheDead Space 1 set a very high bar. All Dead Space 2 managed to do was limbo under it. The plot and concept were fine. DS2 expands on the ground covered by the first game nicely, without going off on any irrelevant tangents like some sequels have been prone to do. The disappointment comes in how the gameplay was implemented, the trial-and-error methods of the deathtraps in particular. The only way they could have made it more blatant is if they paused the action on occasion to flash the message: "We interrupt your regularly scheduled first person horror survival shooter to bring you this cinematic that plays like Dragon's Lair." Expand
  80. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    The difficult "second album" of a series can be hit or miss, but this one manages to hit on almost all counts. This is a superior game to it's predecessor in every way possible. The most significant improvement is that they gave Isaac a voice. No longer is he the mute protagonist running to and fro playing errand boy for other people; this time he is a living human being, driven by his ownThe difficult "second album" of a series can be hit or miss, but this one manages to hit on almost all counts. This is a superior game to it's predecessor in every way possible. The most significant improvement is that they gave Isaac a voice. No longer is he the mute protagonist running to and fro playing errand boy for other people; this time he is a living human being, driven by his own personal objectives. This parlays into much more interesting and meaningful missions, as there is now a personal impetus to get through the story. The story and universe are also expanded upon from the first, with lots of interesting backstory delivered in the form of interesting text and audio logs. The gameplay also feels tighter and more polished than the first. Isaac feels more nible and responsive than his past self, which makes for more fluid gameplay. Combat is as frantic as ever, and harder difficulties really challenge the player to use ammo smartly and have good situational awareness. The more action-y gameplay however, has meant alot of the slower paced horror and creepiness of the first game have been left by the wayside. Enemies also seem to have been recycled from the first, and there aren't many unique monsters. Gameplay could have also been spruced up a bit with some new features. As it is, it's the gameplay of old, but much more polished. There are alot of standout "set piece" sequences, similar to the Uncharted series. One involving a monster chasing Isaac, with the camera peering over Isaac's front, is an ingeniously crafted action sequence. The graphics, audio, and artwork are also well executed. There is an incredible sense of time and place. You really believe this far-future sci fi world exists, even though it doesn't. All in all, a great sequel, pick it up. Expand
  81. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    I am giving this game a ten.

    I guess the people who gave this a low grade for not being scary enough, started playing on normal or whatever.

    My first round I played in survivalist. It is an awesome game, more scary than the first game.

    you have my word is worth every penny.
  82. Feb 3, 2011
    9
    Ok lets start with the faults. the Multyplayer, could've done better. its entertaining for a while being the necromorphs and all but here should be more game types it just always seems like a death match. its kind of bland. the weapons and suits keep it interesting for a while but it gets boring. hopefully hey will update i. Next the number of suits and the look of them. they are somewhatOk lets start with the faults. the Multyplayer, could've done better. its entertaining for a while being the necromorphs and all but here should be more game types it just always seems like a death match. its kind of bland. the weapons and suits keep it interesting for a while but it gets boring. hopefully hey will update i. Next the number of suits and the look of them. they are somewhat pretty kool but i was expecting more suits and a little more customization on color. and i personally thought they werent that much cooler than the first game. Next the number of bosses. i didnt think it would be too important but there were not many bosses in this one and i would of liked some sure there are some minor ones but none that made me ahhh like the last boss in the first game. and on the sense of the scare factor the only thing is in number one u were pretty much alone and u were in small spaces. i expected them to add some large spaces but it all seems to large and it lost some scare. on to the good. Detail, absolutely amazing simply awesome. they outdid themselves with the level of detail. the detail itself told its own story. next is the game play guns are fun but what really got me into it was the epic moments it had were therewas just so much going on from being blown up into space from some of the interactions with other characters but mainly he psychological factor. Issac in this game is insane and has constant visions witch i loved. the constant fight with himselve brought me into the game. so much so that i played the story a whole 3 times.and the random visions will make u jump and the game isnt just shooting there are some puzzles which the game even better. and lastly the gore i love gore and this game didnt dissapoint with that so much blood and limns and i loved it overall this game was a great fallow up and is ultimately i think better than the first one and is one of my favorite games it is the best horror game franchise. definitely recommend this. the goods out weigh the faults. Expand
  83. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    I'm not really sure as to why people are whining about this game. Most of them claim to have "loved" the first Dead Space and have again claimed that they completed it many times. This is what perplexes me. People who are still humping the living daylights out of the first one should, in theory, love the second Dead Space. I've played the first one through many times and still managed toI'm not really sure as to why people are whining about this game. Most of them claim to have "loved" the first Dead Space and have again claimed that they completed it many times. This is what perplexes me. People who are still humping the living daylights out of the first one should, in theory, love the second Dead Space. I've played the first one through many times and still managed to get scared after the 1st try. So when I got the second, I accomplished a total of 5 playthroughs in a total of 2 months. I was THAT fixated with it.
    The gameplay hasn't really changed: you still have mildly clunky controls to give that sense of urgency and panic in sticky situations and you're still required to hack the limbs off Necromorphs. But it's such a joy to play that I can't complain.
    The story is pretty interesting provided you pay attention and are a fan of the series. The scares aren't as numerous as the first game but still, they are more subtle and will still cause a few screams here and there (this, being the primary source of complaint, means jack to me. I found it scary), most of the game's tense atmosphere comes from the incredible sound design which is enhanced with any sort of speaker system or headphones.
    Also, the addition of giving Isaac a face has brought the narrative on leaps and bounds. And while being a schizophrenic, dementia suffering psycho, Isaac comes across as a likeable protagonist.
    However, as good as Dead Space 2's singleplayer mode is with its combo of story, sound and awesome graphics, the multiplayer feels unfinished. It lacks any sort of interesting feature and gives the human side a huge advantage. As many people have said it feels "tacked on" and is nowhere near the high standard the singeplayer set.
    I believe those who rated this negatively are gravely mistaken and haven't absorbed themselves into the atmosphere of the game, no matter how much they said they liked the previous game. Dead Space 2 is certainly a sequel that lives up to the hype!
    Expand
  84. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    I thought Dead Space 2 was a pretty good sequel but some parts do get a bit tedious and repetitive. This had allot more surprises and scares than the first as with the first it kinda felt predictable and obvious where the monsters where gonna jump out. I like the way DS2 focused more on the Isaac Clarke and how he struggles with what has happened and the situation hes in. I liked the storyI thought Dead Space 2 was a pretty good sequel but some parts do get a bit tedious and repetitive. This had allot more surprises and scares than the first as with the first it kinda felt predictable and obvious where the monsters where gonna jump out. I like the way DS2 focused more on the Isaac Clarke and how he struggles with what has happened and the situation hes in. I liked the story and had fun cutting monsters into pieces and the fact it uses the inside and outside of the station. Expand
  85. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I just plain **** loved this game, loved it. The voice worked, the new weapons and suits and the story was all brilliant. The graphics were flawless, no texture pops, everything moved really fluid. The awkward jerky nature of Deadspace 1 is gone. You feel nice and heavy. **** love this game
  86. Feb 1, 2012
    8
    Scary at some moments, but others might not find it too scary and see it as a more action oriented game. Still a very intense game with a very fun online mode.
  87. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    Here is my pro/con review of Dead Space 2:

    Pros: - Really nice graphics - Great controls (most of the time) - Great story - Isaac is a really good character, so are the side characters. - The dementia aspect is really cool and creepy - A few good scares... Cons: - ...But not enough scares to be a horror game, the game is creepy through and through, though - Necromorph
    Here is my pro/con review of Dead Space 2:

    Pros:
    - Really nice graphics
    - Great controls (most of the time)
    - Great story
    - Isaac is a really good character, so are the side characters.
    - The dementia aspect is really cool and creepy
    - A few good scares...

    Cons:

    - ...But not enough scares to be a horror game, the game is creepy through and through, though
    - Necromorph pathfinding bugs. (Such as one where i entered a room filled with stalkers, and had them chase me to the other side of the room, they just gave up the chase for no apparent reason.)
    - Rare instances where the story didn't pull me in

    But those were just minor annoyances compared to everything else i absolutely loved about the game, I wholeheartedly recommend it. Especially if you can find it for cheap. If not I still recommend it.
    Expand
  88. May 24, 2012
    8
    Defiantly a great game and a must for people looking into the survival horror series. One of the scariest games I ever played and have no complaints about it apart from that the campaign seems a bit short and I personally thought the first one was scarier. If you've played the first one, then this is a must. There is also multiplayer in this but It's real hard trying to find a game withDefiantly a great game and a must for people looking into the survival horror series. One of the scariest games I ever played and have no complaints about it apart from that the campaign seems a bit short and I personally thought the first one was scarier. If you've played the first one, then this is a must. There is also multiplayer in this but It's real hard trying to find a game with people because to be honest multiplayer isn't that great. It's fun for a little bit isn't something that will hook you. Single player is where the game matters anyway. A must for anyone looking for a scary game. Expand
  89. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    the first dead space was great, good placed jumpscares, creative level design but overall something refreshing even though it had some problems i really liked it, dead space 2 ramps up the horror and improves the gameplay, i loved feeling helpless with just one shot for my plasma cutter and killing the necromorphs, dismembering necromorphs is still satisfying as ever, overall the game wasthe first dead space was great, good placed jumpscares, creative level design but overall something refreshing even though it had some problems i really liked it, dead space 2 ramps up the horror and improves the gameplay, i loved feeling helpless with just one shot for my plasma cutter and killing the necromorphs, dismembering necromorphs is still satisfying as ever, overall the game was excellent, but it does not end there this game packs an awesome multiplayer that some thrills, if you are a fan of survival horror i recommend that you check this game out! Expand
  90. Mar 31, 2011
    9
    the reason i gave it a nine is because i felt there was a little lack of overall variety in enemies,weapons,suits... Else this game is just perfect! Spooky , Thrilling , Fun!!
    Killing Necromorphs is one of the most satisfying feeling EVAR! :D
  91. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    Great visuals, amazing sound, and tons of atmosphere. Plus, it's really fun shootin' the crap of the necromorphs. A definite step above the first game.
  92. Feb 5, 2011
    10
    Bottom line this game has great graphics, sound (esp if you have surround sound head phones) and controls. If your even a bit into action and horror games get this game. Better than the first one and everything from the story to the gameplay has been updated expontially. Do yourself a favor and get this game you wont regret it best 60 you get so far this year.
  93. Mar 9, 2011
    0
    I absolutely loved the first deadspace game. Couldn't get enough of it. I found this one to not be scary or enjoyable. I see I'm in the minority here but I thought the story was stupid the scares were simply creatures spawning out of thin air behind you and the gameplay seemed quite lineur. Maybe I needed to spend for the launch dlcs or something but this was the most disappointed I haveI absolutely loved the first deadspace game. Couldn't get enough of it. I found this one to not be scary or enjoyable. I see I'm in the minority here but I thought the story was stupid the scares were simply creatures spawning out of thin air behind you and the gameplay seemed quite lineur. Maybe I needed to spend for the launch dlcs or something but this was the most disappointed I have ever been by a game I couldn't wait to play Expand
  94. Feb 13, 2011
    10
    dead space 2 si ripropone nel genere action tps in tema survival horror. migliora ed arricchisce il precedente capitolo sia in chiave gameplay che da un punto di vista tecnico (grande comparto grafico, sonoro pauroso) ma viene forse a mancare un pò nel mordente della storia, al solito un pò arraffata ed incompiuta.
    Si propone con uno dei migliori esponenti del
    dead space 2 si ripropone nel genere action tps in tema survival horror. migliora ed arricchisce il precedente capitolo sia in chiave gameplay che da un punto di vista tecnico (grande comparto grafico, sonoro pauroso) ma viene forse a mancare un pò nel mordente della storia, al solito un pò arraffata ed incompiuta.
    Si propone con uno dei migliori esponenti del genera mai creati nella gen. consigliatissimo a tutti gli amanti dell'alta tensione e non solo...:)
    Expand
  95. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    I am fed up jumping and screaming,im a grown man for goodness sake....started on disc 2...out of credits meds and ammo...i think i hear something sounds like a baby???....great game....graphics & atmosphere...hollywood take note..bring on deads space 3.....

    '
  96. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    I finished this game on Zealot mode in the first time that i played and i have to say that it was amazing! I never had so much fun trying to go trough a level time and time again! The combat is amazing only thing i have to complain is the history. Come on people! What are you doing with all the cliff hangers on the end of every dawn game! Sure we discovered some interesting things aboutI finished this game on Zealot mode in the first time that i played and i have to say that it was amazing! I never had so much fun trying to go trough a level time and time again! The combat is amazing only thing i have to complain is the history. Come on people! What are you doing with all the cliff hangers on the end of every dawn game! Sure we discovered some interesting things about Issac, but he's not even close to put and end to the necromorphs menace! Expand
  97. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    The Dead Space story and games 1 & 2 are some of my all time favorites. Revives the horror survival genre all on its own. This is coming from a true games who plays a lot of every type of genre, and considers Dead Space to be one of the best of them all. Great action, great story, good scares, altogether a game you shouldn't miss if you haven't picked up already. What are you waitingThe Dead Space story and games 1 & 2 are some of my all time favorites. Revives the horror survival genre all on its own. This is coming from a true games who plays a lot of every type of genre, and considers Dead Space to be one of the best of them all. Great action, great story, good scares, altogether a game you shouldn't miss if you haven't picked up already. What are you waiting for? Altman be praised. Expand
  98. T-A
    Jun 18, 2011
    8
    Fans of Dead Space 1 will enjoy returning to deep space survival horror in Dead Space 2. Updated mechanics make shopping easier and shooting more intuitive. Punching is somewhat effective, but stomping on everything can be gratuitous. Most notably, I appreciate hearing Issac Clarkeâ
  99. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    Dead Space 2 is the best horror game of this generation. Visceral masterfully blends action sequences with scary ones, although, it isn't as scary as it's predecessor, but it still packs enough scares to keep you on the edge of your seat. Unfortunately the multiplayer isn't very good, but does it really matter? If your buying Dead Space 2, it's for the single player, which is superb. BuyDead Space 2 is the best horror game of this generation. Visceral masterfully blends action sequences with scary ones, although, it isn't as scary as it's predecessor, but it still packs enough scares to keep you on the edge of your seat. Unfortunately the multiplayer isn't very good, but does it really matter? If your buying Dead Space 2, it's for the single player, which is superb. Buy this game now. Expand
  100. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    okay, i played the first one and that **** was creepy as **** then i copped this one and it blew that one away, craziest, most intense set pieces there are in any game (even cod). ive literally played the **** outta this game and now im bored of it, but dont get me wrong, this is such an amazing game, it keeps you on your toes n the constant. great story with alot of twist and turns, justokay, i played the first one and that **** was creepy as **** then i copped this one and it blew that one away, craziest, most intense set pieces there are in any game (even cod). ive literally played the **** outta this game and now im bored of it, but dont get me wrong, this is such an amazing game, it keeps you on your toes n the constant. great story with alot of twist and turns, just crazy as hell. **** resident evil, this game kills that, **** why aim and not move, when in this one you can. like i said, great game check it out, its a great horror game. Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. May 24, 2011
    88
    The transition between CGI and gameplay delivers a great horror atmosphere. Isaac Clarke's got personality and we are only missing some bigger bossfights.
  2. Mar 24, 2011
    88
    With this sequel, Visceral Games has masterfully expanded on the first Dead Space. They've revved up the series with tougher guns, a bigger setting, and online multiplayer, but kept the spirit and, most importantly, the scares of the original in tact.
  3. Mar 23, 2011
    100
    I was expecting Dead Space 2 to be a great game, but it exceeded my expectations with beautiful, creative environments and a large array of both enemies and weapons with which to kill them.