User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 620 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 620

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 27, 2012
    6
    This game was a huge letdown for me. The first one blew me away I was looking forward to this game so bad. The story was barely there, the action was pretty cool, and there were some cool elements, but it just felt lackluster.
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    Dead Space 2 is an impressive sequel that is filled with gore, scares and bloody good fun! Though it is a bit frustrating to play thanks to my poor video game skills, it is redeemed by it's terrifying atmosphere, great graphics and incredibly fun and gruesome moments of gore. Fans of the Sci-Fi/Horror genre and third person shooters will surely love this.
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    Pretty good game but doesnt feature much change from the first game. One of the big set backs for the game is that is lacks variety and it really feels you are just replaying the same parts over and over again. Besides that, Its pretty enjoyable and I had a blast playing it.
  4. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    Dead Space was a masterpiece action horror game, but does the sequel live up to its hefty heights the predecessor set? It surpasses them in short, the game is longer, more action packed and a more meaty experience all round. The events of Dead Space have left Isaac with a rare form of Dementia that will kill him if he does not get the cure. Being held on one of Saturn's moons names theDead Space was a masterpiece action horror game, but does the sequel live up to its hefty heights the predecessor set? It surpasses them in short, the game is longer, more action packed and a more meaty experience all round. The events of Dead Space have left Isaac with a rare form of Dementia that will kill him if he does not get the cure. Being held on one of Saturn's moons names the Sprawl, CEC have brought the USG Ishimura in after the distress beacon you sent out was recovered, now the Necromorph roam the Sprawl and yet again it is up to Isaac to escape with his life. Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    8
    Compared to the original, Dead Space 2 is an improvement across the board. The horror in the first game was seriously lacking and though it hasn't changed much in the second game, the larger focus on action held my interest. The Sprawl is a more vibrant location than the Ishimura (the main reason being that every corridor doesn't look the same). The story and characters are slightly betterCompared to the original, Dead Space 2 is an improvement across the board. The horror in the first game was seriously lacking and though it hasn't changed much in the second game, the larger focus on action held my interest. The Sprawl is a more vibrant location than the Ishimura (the main reason being that every corridor doesn't look the same). The story and characters are slightly better this time around, though it is still hard to immerse yourself in the former and connect with the latter. Isaac has a voice this time around but nothing about his personality rises above "default video game hero". He says and does what we expect he would do, making him merely adequate. The dementia scenes are a nice touch to the game though they don't add much. The gameplay is largely the same as its predecessor except with a few new necromorphs and weapons. This isn't a bad thing considering that the gameplay was the best thing about the first game. Zero gravity scenarios are vastly improved as are the cinematic action sequences. Though it doesn't expand too much on the original game, Dead Space 2 is a game worth playing. Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    6
    The Dead Space series is nothing to write home about, its chunky controls, lacklustre graphics and boring campaign virtually leaves you with nothing bare creepy deformed enemies or the odd jump scare. So much potential wasted on what could of been an amazing survival horror game. Another disappointment, would not recommended.
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    It's the game that got me back into zombie video games. Deadrising was ok and Left 4 Dead was great but when this came out, I renewed my faith in the zombie video game. Resident Evil 4 was the last time there was an awesome zombie game.
  8. Dec 19, 2011
    7
    Not a huge difference to the first game however the poor gameplay that cropped up from time to time in the first game have been improved and some new creatures have added to the challenge although the expect the unexpected factor of the first game has been lost. Good graphics, a good storyline and decent gameplay make this well worth a playthrough.
  9. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    With incredible scares and action sequences Dead Space 2 is recommendable for almost anyone. For those looking for more than just that Dead Space 2 has a great story, good plot and great zero gravity puzzles.
  10. May 30, 2013
    5
    Dead Space 2 is just average. It seems to rely heavily on jump scares that all use the same formula, doesn't set up much of an atmosphere and it's so easy to kill all of the nercomorphs when you're tripping over ammo. The story isn't as interesting as the first, just Scientology-I mean Unitology trying to take over the galaxy. If you solely liked the game play for Dead Space, then this isDead Space 2 is just average. It seems to rely heavily on jump scares that all use the same formula, doesn't set up much of an atmosphere and it's so easy to kill all of the nercomorphs when you're tripping over ammo. The story isn't as interesting as the first, just Scientology-I mean Unitology trying to take over the galaxy. If you solely liked the game play for Dead Space, then this is for you. Otherwise, stay away from this game. Expand
  11. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    BEST HORROR GAME THIS GEN!!! Soooooooo much better that the first dead space, graphics and gameplay are top-notch. This game is a MUST buy for every gamer outhere
  12. May 7, 2013
    7
    The game is more intense than the first one, but in the mean time lost almost all the scary factors. I don't know what I expected from this game, but whatever it was, the game didnt meet it. the game is surely with a lot of tension, if you die, ok, you die horribly, in the most violent way in game history (IMO), it is not scary, it is just sick to me. other than that. the game is stillThe game is more intense than the first one, but in the mean time lost almost all the scary factors. I don't know what I expected from this game, but whatever it was, the game didnt meet it. the game is surely with a lot of tension, if you die, ok, you die horribly, in the most violent way in game history (IMO), it is not scary, it is just sick to me. other than that. the game is still unique and worth experiencing. Expand
  13. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    They have done it again, this game much like dead space one is an excellent atmospheric, frightening, anxiety ridden romp. The game plays pretty much the same as the first, with some of your old favourite enemies featuring so if you were looking for innovation from the first you may be disappointed, I however was not having loved the first game I love this too, hard to the core though???They have done it again, this game much like dead space one is an excellent atmospheric, frightening, anxiety ridden romp. The game plays pretty much the same as the first, with some of your old favourite enemies featuring so if you were looking for innovation from the first you may be disappointed, I however was not having loved the first game I love this too, hard to the core though??? not gonna happen. Expand
  14. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    It's Ton of fun, huge improvement from the first one. Multiplayer is pretty fun. The campaign lasted, for me on normal, for 14 hours. Long, action packed campaign, which really improved the action from the first one. You will just out of you seat at times. You heart will be pounding into you chest, trying to break through. Great sequel, great action. Highly recommend.
  15. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = The best survival horror game is resident evil 4, but this is a very close second. It fuses action with horror so perfectly that I couldn't stop playing. This game actually got the better of me at times. Terrible online component unfortunately.
  16. Nov 14, 2011
    2
    Although not as bad as Dragon Age 2, Dead Space 2 still falls into the same category of "dross, cash-in sequal". As a big fan of the original Dead Space I was actually rather impressed with this game to start with, certainly there were a few moments where I thought "This is gonna blow me away!", but soon enough the game's flaws started to take over. For one the enemies are far, far cheaperAlthough not as bad as Dragon Age 2, Dead Space 2 still falls into the same category of "dross, cash-in sequal". As a big fan of the original Dead Space I was actually rather impressed with this game to start with, certainly there were a few moments where I thought "This is gonna blow me away!", but soon enough the game's flaws started to take over. For one the enemies are far, far cheaper this time round - no end of hits sustained come from Necro's you can't even see and aren't aware of until you play the set peice through a few times. In fact the whole game has a very poor "trial and error" feel to it which soon gets you into the habit of just rushing into every area full on so you can see what's happening, get killed, and then actually try and get past it - it totally kills any suspense or fear. Secondly the puzzels add absolutely nothing to the game - they really do just slow the pace of the game down and feel labourious. Next the weapons just don't feel as balanced this time round, every one feels ropey and less satisfying than in DS1, and there's an over-reliance on the stasis module. And finally the story is pretty pap, I didn't even realise I was on Chapter 7 until I checked a walkthrough for a tit-bit, I was like "Eh? Halfway through the game and it only feels just like I've completed the tutorial". I honestly don't think that a game could make you care less about it as this ine does. Very poor. Expand
  17. May 26, 2011
    9
    A fantastic game. A shooter with a really good story. The controls, the graphics, the voice acting are all brilliant. I loved the first game and this is even better. The sense of dread as to when the next xenomorph is going to jump out at you had me on the edge of seat. I'm so proud to say that I played on "Zealot" the hardest difficulty. While there where times I wanted to throw theA fantastic game. A shooter with a really good story. The controls, the graphics, the voice acting are all brilliant. I loved the first game and this is even better. The sense of dread as to when the next xenomorph is going to jump out at you had me on the edge of seat. I'm so proud to say that I played on "Zealot" the hardest difficulty. While there where times I wanted to throw the control pad at the screen the payoff for getting past a mass ambush is outstatanding. A must own game. Expand
  18. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Dead Space 2 isn't necessarily better than the first game, it just improves in some areas that weren't necessarily that bad to begin with. The audio is still utterly masterful, creating suspense at all the right junctures, while the visuals and gameplay make Visceral's game one of the finest examples of cinematic gaming at its best. The bottom line however, is that Dead Space 2 is one ofDead Space 2 isn't necessarily better than the first game, it just improves in some areas that weren't necessarily that bad to begin with. The audio is still utterly masterful, creating suspense at all the right junctures, while the visuals and gameplay make Visceral's game one of the finest examples of cinematic gaming at its best. The bottom line however, is that Dead Space 2 is one of the most downright terrifying games that you're ever likely to play. It'll give you nightmares, guaranteed. Expand
  19. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Not only was Dead Space 2 a great sequel, it's one of the best damn games ever made! There's plenty to love about this game. Fans of the first game should not be disappointed. We have a great story, upgraded gameplay mechanics, new weapons, great voice acting, etc. As the first Dead Space is my pick for "Game of the Year" (2008) there's no question that this one will be up for all sortsNot only was Dead Space 2 a great sequel, it's one of the best damn games ever made! There's plenty to love about this game. Fans of the first game should not be disappointed. We have a great story, upgraded gameplay mechanics, new weapons, great voice acting, etc. As the first Dead Space is my pick for "Game of the Year" (2008) there's no question that this one will be up for all sorts of nominations, including "Game of the Year" for many huge gaming companies. Expand
  20. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    In a strange way this both builds upon and takes away from the original game. Originally we're given a story that seems utterly hopeless from start to finish and though the combat is in close quarters (mostly) the idea you were on a gigantic ship and in the middle of space adds to this sense of hopelessness. In the first game we're given a character, Isaac, who has no dialogue and is givenIn a strange way this both builds upon and takes away from the original game. Originally we're given a story that seems utterly hopeless from start to finish and though the combat is in close quarters (mostly) the idea you were on a gigantic ship and in the middle of space adds to this sense of hopelessness. In the first game we're given a character, Isaac, who has no dialogue and is given only grunts and yells - in this game Isaac actually has a voice and personality. In a way this adds to the story, but it also takes away from the horror. In Dead Space I felt more like I was on board the horrific Ishimura, but in this one, though the gameplay remains extreme and extensively fun, I felt it was like I was watching the experience rather than being a part of it. In this Dead Space we're given an even bigger environment, but it doesn't really feel all that big seeing we only visit small portion of the huge space city. Fewer varieties of enemies are present in this one, and only a few new ones are introduced, but the scares remain there - especially with the newly added Stalkers. This game plays highly off of Isaac's dementia, which I thought was great, and it also adds a new sense of maturity and growth from the first game. The first game was classic and over the top (so is this one) but I feel that the storyline becomes so much clearer in this addition and we're given more to discover than we were in the first game. However the sense of confusion I felt in the first game was partly why it was so terrifying, and when the twist was revealed (in the first game) I was just blown away and even felt chilled. This is a great game, but the overall story mode is surprisingly short. I was able to beat it in one sitting - which is really quick for a two disked game, but also goes to show how captivating it is to get me to sit there for so long. The intensity is so great and the scares are so constant that eventually you may find your mind shutting down and going into a zone where pop outs and eeriness cease to be effective. There is also multiplayer, which is surprisingly fun (especially when you play as the necromorphs). The only issue I've had with multiplayer is the loading time, other than that it's loads of fun, and so is the rest of the game. Expand
  21. Feb 18, 2011
    10
    A clear example of game makers listening to fan feedback and giving them what they want. DS2 still has everything that made the original a spine chilling masterpiece but adds to it. DS2 has more variety in the gameplay and is a bigger more epic experience. The nerve shredding survival horror now blends with breathless action set pieces that wouldn't look out of place in a HollywoodA clear example of game makers listening to fan feedback and giving them what they want. DS2 still has everything that made the original a spine chilling masterpiece but adds to it. DS2 has more variety in the gameplay and is a bigger more epic experience. The nerve shredding survival horror now blends with breathless action set pieces that wouldn't look out of place in a Hollywood blockbuster. Fully cements Dead Spaces position as this generations survival horror king! Expand
  22. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    Dead Space was a landmark for the survival-horror genre. The game ramped up the scares and action to ludicrous levels, delivering one of the most fun and intense horror games since Resident Evil 4. Dead Space 2, like its dementia-afflicted protagonist, is absolutely insane. The game cranks up the action into overdrive while still delivering some hefty scares, albeit less frequently thanDead Space was a landmark for the survival-horror genre. The game ramped up the scares and action to ludicrous levels, delivering one of the most fun and intense horror games since Resident Evil 4. Dead Space 2, like its dementia-afflicted protagonist, is absolutely insane. The game cranks up the action into overdrive while still delivering some hefty scares, albeit less frequently than the first. However, that does not stop Dead Space 2 from being a tense thrill ride. This sequel improves greatly upon the flaws of the first. The environments are varied, the game is longer, and it packs multiplayer to boot. If you even consider yourself a fan of sci-fi or horror, pick up this game. Now. Expand
  23. Oct 27, 2011
    7
    Even, if games like Dead Space 2 aren't scary, this game is still very good. The action is well done, the sounds of the game has been done very well and the graphics are great. The story isin't anything interesting though, making excuses to do some more job alone all the time. The game doesn't really add anything new except multiplayer. Other wise you get few weapons, ability to sendEven, if games like Dead Space 2 aren't scary, this game is still very good. The action is well done, the sounds of the game has been done very well and the graphics are great. The story isin't anything interesting though, making excuses to do some more job alone all the time. The game doesn't really add anything new except multiplayer. Other wise you get few weapons, ability to send enemies to space and able to throw spiky objects to them. The multiplayer is also awful. Playing as necromorphs isin't fun, because human team can abuse slo-mo ability all the time and the combat feels stupid and boring. The unlocks also feel useless. I recommend this game only for the single player, which is short too (Only about 6-8 hours). Pros:
    + Graphics
    + Single player's action is great, especially during some scenes
    Cons:
    - Multiplayer
    - Doesn't add enough new stuff to single player
    Expand
  24. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    This review should be prefaced by the fact that I dislike the horror genre with a passion. I was attracted to this game after a buddy convinced me to try it and after and hour and a half I was disappointed by constant suspense and what I felt was a lack of action. After picking it up the other week I realized that what I hated the first time was really the beauty in the game. I played forThis review should be prefaced by the fact that I dislike the horror genre with a passion. I was attracted to this game after a buddy convinced me to try it and after and hour and a half I was disappointed by constant suspense and what I felt was a lack of action. After picking it up the other week I realized that what I hated the first time was really the beauty in the game. I played for and hour or so and was hooked. The feeling of tension that this game creates is on a whole other level from other games I have played. Every corner you feel forced to check left and right -- with that visibility you have -- to avoid being snuck up on by a zombie. Hearing a something in the walls and just knowing that something is coming and tensing up on the edge of the couch to just find yourself at a save station is probably the quickest jump in my suspense that I have ever felt in a game. Overall I think this games ability to draw you in with the suspense is what made this a great game. I will say this though: dying was more frustrating than a set back, and the save stations seemed useless and too frequent. I don't really mind the latter, but dying felt like **** I have to go blow through this section again" rather than "Okay **** how I am going to beat these guys". I didn't really understand a lot of the story going through the game either; it was only the end when everything was put before you that I understood what was going on. Ultimately, I am pleased I picked it up, and I would recommend it to most everyone. Expand
  25. Mar 18, 2011
    3
    Just like the first one, it **** sucks.

    The characters are too generic, it's a blatant rip-off of RE4 (Except RE4 was "Good") the combat is boring the monsters aren't scary "Stealth?" There is none, and why does Isaac lug around that Gravity gun? Why can't he just use his arms? Infact you wouldn't even need arms! You could just kick it.

    @Visceral Games : Go **** yourself.
  26. Jan 29, 2011
    9
    Awesome game! providing hours of thrills and scares that just keep surprising. and when you finish with the great new campaign, you still have the new multiplayer component where you can play as humans and necromorphs. though the controls may be a little sketchy in multiplayer and the campaign enemies a little unfair its still must buy.
  27. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    I watched some footage about the art direction on Dead Space 2 for school, and in doing so, made me want to play this game. However, this game is so well made, and so scary, that I wasn't playing it, I was experiencing it, I tried to sleep for about an hour and gave up and successfully finished the game by pulling an all nighter the night I received it. Playing through it the game had meI watched some footage about the art direction on Dead Space 2 for school, and in doing so, made me want to play this game. However, this game is so well made, and so scary, that I wasn't playing it, I was experiencing it, I tried to sleep for about an hour and gave up and successfully finished the game by pulling an all nighter the night I received it. Playing through it the game had me on the edge of my seat the whole night, and I was quite impressed by the games length and I LOVED how the game included 2 discs, so that DLC was like an expansion, and not the other 3rd of the game. The combat didn't get as repetitive as I expected it to get, and I really loved the telekinesis, which not only helped save ammunition but added a change to the game play that was something I am not used to in Survival horror games. In all honesty, I hate non FPS multiplayer games unless it's racing. Even with FPS I prefer them 99% of the time on PC, so the multiplayer didn't appeal to me all that much, however it is fun with it's L4D style gameplay... like L4D, I prefer the non-human team, and it's a hell of a good time.
    All in all, even if you don't like Dead Space 2's style of game (non FPS or whatever) this is still a great buy, this is one of those few games, I would recommend to anyone, except my mother, because, yes, there is some really brutal and messed up things in this game...
    Expand
  28. Aug 8, 2011
    8
    As far as scary, creepy and atmospheric horror games go, Dead Space 2 is by far the best I have ever played. It is far superior to its predecessor in every way; the mechanics, the weapons, the enemy variety, the challenge and the more various settings. DS2 provides scares and jumps from the start to the finish, and the story is interesting enough to keep you attached until the very finalAs far as scary, creepy and atmospheric horror games go, Dead Space 2 is by far the best I have ever played. It is far superior to its predecessor in every way; the mechanics, the weapons, the enemy variety, the challenge and the more various settings. DS2 provides scares and jumps from the start to the finish, and the story is interesting enough to keep you attached until the very final limb is severed. The decision to give Isaac Clarke (the protagonist) a voice was an excellent design choice and allows the player to gain a likeness of the character. The surroundings and sound are both superb; the original was fantastically atmospheric, but this game improves and refines everything. As a rental (or as second hand) you will not get an 'online code' and so this locks away the online multi-player, which is disappointing, however the single player 9-10 hour play through way enough to satisfy me. 4/5, superb. Expand
  29. Jan 27, 2011
    9
    This review may be a little bit biased due to the fact that I was a huge fan of the first one. I played through the first one multiple times, getting every achievement and secret possible. And after playing Dead Space 2, I plan on doing it again. Let me start with what I feel should be icing on the cake, which is the multiplayer. Obviously, you should not purchase DS2 just for theThis review may be a little bit biased due to the fact that I was a huge fan of the first one. I played through the first one multiple times, getting every achievement and secret possible. And after playing Dead Space 2, I plan on doing it again. Let me start with what I feel should be icing on the cake, which is the multiplayer. Obviously, you should not purchase DS2 just for the multiplayer, as you will most likely feel a little disappointed for spending so much on an online game that is really not too complex at all. Now, by no means is that saying that the multiplayer is bad, because it's quite the opposite. Being either the humans or necromorphs is extremely addicting (I don't know why), but I will add that I feel the humans are still a little bit overpowered. However, the combat is extremely brutal and intense, and the pace rarely lets up, hardly giving you time to breathe after several enemy pack players just tried to maul you. For me, I think it's great since I loved dismembering necromorphs offline so much. Being the necromorphs is a ton of fun, being able to spawn from just about anywhere to ambush the enemy human players. The level up system is pretty straightforward, with the higher level you get, the more things you unlock, such as new abilities, armor, weapons, or upgrades. The maps in my opinion are pretty decent and get the job done, but a few of them tend to be a bit bland. Since the action is constantly so intense, you hardly have time to notice. Overall, a great addition to the game and I feel that it should be kept for Dead Space 3 as well with a few tweaks. Now, the meat and potatoes, the single player. This is where this game really shines, bringing the survival horror genre a new meaning. From the very beginning of the game, you're immediately thrust into intense sequences and horrific scenes. When you wake up in the straight jacket right in the middle of fray (I won't try and spoil anything), you realize from that moment on just how insane the game is going to be. I feel that this one is scarier than the first one, as I didn't feel the first one was too scary. This one is basically guaranteed to make you jump several times, and the dementia that Isaac faces gets pretty creepy at time. I played the game two hours straight when I picked it up, and the entire time my heart was pulsing. The difficulty, even on normal, is much harder this time around, and I found myself raging a few times at parts that took huge tolls on your supplies (ammo, health, etc.). The pacing of the game is fantastic, letting up every so often to let your heart rate return to normal, before thrusting you right back into frantic battle for survival. The storyline is great, voice acting is awesome, and the graphics are much improved. The lighting is a ton better, putting you through pitch-black rooms very often and changing it up to environments such as apartments or an elementary school (one of my favorite areas). The sound is also improved, ranging from the clanging of metal objects falling, all the way up to the screaming and grunting of lurking necromorphs waiting to pounce of you. The guns are all back as well as some additional firepower for your arsenal. The melee is tremendously improved, which was a huge relief for me, since I felt that the curbstomp from the first one was basically useless later on in the game. Overall, an amazing game that doesn't let any of its flaws outshine its brilliance. If you're a fan of sci-fi, shooters, survival horror, or anything in between, than it would be a travesty for you to not pick up this game. Highly recommended. Expand
  30. Feb 24, 2011
    9
    Well, scary as hell, and very hard to play with fear going through bones. Although, thats what we all want. Nice sequel, looking forward for part III :)
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. May 24, 2011
    88
    The transition between CGI and gameplay delivers a great horror atmosphere. Isaac Clarke's got personality and we are only missing some bigger bossfights.
  2. Mar 24, 2011
    88
    With this sequel, Visceral Games has masterfully expanded on the first Dead Space. They've revved up the series with tougher guns, a bigger setting, and online multiplayer, but kept the spirit and, most importantly, the scares of the original in tact.
  3. Mar 23, 2011
    100
    I was expecting Dead Space 2 to be a great game, but it exceeded my expectations with beautiful, creative environments and a large array of both enemies and weapons with which to kill them.