Dead Space 2 Xbox 360

Dead Space 2 Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 690 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hero Isaac Clarke returns for another heart-pounding adventure, taking the fight to the Necromorphs in this thrilling action-horror experience. New tools to gruesomely slice and dismember the Necromorphs complement Isaac's signature Plasma Cutter, empowering him as he meets new characters,Hero Isaac Clarke returns for another heart-pounding adventure, taking the fight to the Necromorphs in this thrilling action-horror experience. New tools to gruesomely slice and dismember the Necromorphs complement Isaac's signature Plasma Cutter, empowering him as he meets new characters, explores epic Zero-G environments, and fights against a relentless necromorph onslaught. Survival isn't the only thing on Isaac's mind in Dead Space 2 – this time, he calls the shots. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dead Space 2 Lullaby Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Mar 23, 2011
    100
    I was expecting Dead Space 2 to be a great game, but it exceeded my expectations with beautiful, creative environments and a large array of both enemies and weapons with which to kill them.
  2. Feb 1, 2011
    95
    When you have the combination of innovative and improved gameplay mixed with sounds and screams of unholy terror and a story that will haunt your mind and ultimately destroy it in the end, then you have one of, if not the best survival horror game ever, you have Dead Space 2.
  3. Games Master UK
    Feb 14, 2011
    92
    Nightmarishly freaky adventure oozing with scares and epic moments. A horror masterpiece. [Mar 2011, p.71]
  4. Jan 10, 2011
    90
    A monster of a sequel, offering bigger scares and more excitement than I expected... The tease for Dead Space 3 has my head spinning with questions. [Feb 2011, p.92]
  5. Jan 28, 2011
    90
    If Dead Space was a prototype, then this sequel is the finished product. Dead Space 2 loses some of the frightening charm of the original, but the end result is a much more varied and solid experience.
  6. Jan 25, 2011
    90
    Tense, intense, and surprisingly replayable: Dead Space 2 is in every way a worthy successor to the excellent first game, and probably the finest game in the genre since Resi 4.
  7. Feb 4, 2011
    60
    There are a couple of interesting levels or sequences throughout the game, and the production values are obviously high, but Dead Space 2 is blatantly uninspired.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 181
  1. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    Dead Space was a landmark for the survival-horror genre. The game ramped up the scares and action to ludicrous levels, delivering one of theDead Space was a landmark for the survival-horror genre. The game ramped up the scares and action to ludicrous levels, delivering one of the most fun and intense horror games since Resident Evil 4. Dead Space 2, like its dementia-afflicted protagonist, is absolutely insane. The game cranks up the action into overdrive while still delivering some hefty scares, albeit less frequently than the first. However, that does not stop Dead Space 2 from being a tense thrill ride. This sequel improves greatly upon the flaws of the first. The environments are varied, the game is longer, and it packs multiplayer to boot. If you even consider yourself a fan of sci-fi or horror, pick up this game. Now. Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    Dead Space was a landmark for the survival-horror genre. The game ramped up the scares and action to ludicrous levels, delivering one of theDead Space was a landmark for the survival-horror genre. The game ramped up the scares and action to ludicrous levels, delivering one of the most fun and intense horror games since Resident Evil 4. Dead Space 2, like its dementia-afflicted protagonist, is absolutely insane. Expand
  3. Feb 3, 2011
    10
    Do not listen to those rare freaky people who review DE2 with less than a 9.0. This game is a masterpiece of horror and shooting gaming genre.Do not listen to those rare freaky people who review DE2 with less than a 9.0. This game is a masterpiece of horror and shooting gaming genre. I just cant find any flaw.

    Of course, the plot is not too deep; it wasnt necessary anyways. Just try it playing in the darkness with headphones, you will feel TENSION.

    But what really surprised me in DE2 is the pacing, really really brilliant.

    In resume:

    Graphics: 9,5 (lighting is superb)
    Sound: 10 (you have to try this game with headphones or surround system)
    Duration: 9,5 (lengthy and replayable campaign)
    Control: 9,5 (smooth and precise. perfect button layout).
    Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    I'm not really sure as to why people are whining about this game. Most of them claim to have "loved" the first Dead Space and have againI'm not really sure as to why people are whining about this game. Most of them claim to have "loved" the first Dead Space and have again claimed that they completed it many times. This is what perplexes me. People who are still humping the living daylights out of the first one should, in theory, love the second Dead Space. I've played the first one through many times and still managed to get scared after the 1st try. So when I got the second, I accomplished a total of 5 playthroughs in a total of 2 months. I was THAT fixated with it.
    The gameplay hasn't really changed: you still have mildly clunky controls to give that sense of urgency and panic in sticky situations and you're still required to hack the limbs off Necromorphs. But it's such a joy to play that I can't complain.
    The story is pretty interesting provided you pay attention and are a fan of the series. The scares aren't as numerous as the first game but still, they are more subtle and will still cause a few screams here and there (this, being the primary source of complaint, means jack to me. I found it scary), most of the game's tense atmosphere comes from the incredible sound design which is enhanced with any sort of speaker system or headphones.
    Also, the addition of giving Isaac a face has brought the narrative on leaps and bounds. And while being a schizophrenic, dementia suffering psycho, Isaac comes across as a likeable protagonist.
    However, as good as Dead Space 2's singleplayer mode is with its combo of story, sound and awesome graphics, the multiplayer feels unfinished. It lacks any sort of interesting feature and gives the human side a huge advantage. As many people have said it feels "tacked on" and is nowhere near the high standard the singeplayer set.
    I believe those who rated this negatively are gravely mistaken and haven't absorbed themselves into the atmosphere of the game, no matter how much they said they liked the previous game. Dead Space 2 is certainly a sequel that lives up to the hype!
    Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    Dead Space was a masterpiece action horror game, but does the sequel live up to its hefty heights the predecessor set? It surpasses them inDead Space was a masterpiece action horror game, but does the sequel live up to its hefty heights the predecessor set? It surpasses them in short, the game is longer, more action packed and a more meaty experience all round. The events of Dead Space have left Isaac with a rare form of Dementia that will kill him if he does not get the cure. Being held on one of Saturn's moons names the Sprawl, CEC have brought the USG Ishimura in after the distress beacon you sent out was recovered, now the Necromorph roam the Sprawl and yet again it is up to Isaac to escape with his life. Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2011
    8
    Dead Space was pussified. As the developers stated in an interview, the first game was deemed "too scary" for mainstream audience, and theyDead Space was pussified. As the developers stated in an interview, the first game was deemed "too scary" for mainstream audience, and they considered that the reason behind the mediocre sales of the masterpiece that is Dead Space 1. In other words, Dead Space 1 was too good to be successful.

    Now, what made me love DS1 was exactly that, as a seasoned horror fan, it's very hard to find something to gave me real shivers, be it in movies or games. And DS1 delivered, as no movie or game in recent memory could do - maybe with the exception of Silent Hill 2.

    Yes, there were recycled levels, and yes, they ripped off lots of stuff from other games. But, as Picasso reportedly said, the mediocre artist copies, the great artist steals. Critics called DS1 "unoriginal", but that's missing the point completely. It was worthy not because the script, storytelling or game mechanics (despite dismemberment being original). It was worthy for achieving a overwhelmingly macabre feel that no one on cinema, lest gaming industry, today manage to achieve. Dead Space 2 is just not scary. I played it on the level above normal, got killed a lot of times. Still, I couldn't feel that impressing sensation of imminent danger that made DS1 into the game I loved. Some critics talked about the jump from Alien to Aliens, Ridley Scott to David Big Cheese Cameron. So, it's like having your favorite cult movie being re-shot in a generic commercial way by a Hollywood studio - or, more specifically, a Hollywood studio accidentally releasing a masterpiece and "correcting" it later.

    Now, DS2 has its merits as a game. Combat is still very satisfying, the script is a lot less generic, with Isaac turning into a person with his own will, not a generic vessel of suffering. It deserves the 7 I'm giving for those merits, and for that I'm excluding my comparison with DS1. Fortunately, it's not easier than DS1, maybe harder. On the down side, it's too linear - I really don't see the point of critics in hailing that as an advantage. Worse still, one of the new monsters, the stalker, caught my attention as a symptom of dumbification - it's supposed to hide at corners to suprise-attack you, but it actually sticks its head from the corners so you can peek it every time before it predictably charging head-on for you to cut his legs. The stalker actually playing peek-a-boo with you - I suppose that's adequate for the public they had in mind.

    Maybe it's not the developers' fault or executive meddling, maybe they set the bar too high, or it's just impossible for one to get the same scare twice - see Silent Hill after 2. Still, I'd wait for the price go down a little before acquiring it, not expecting it to be Dead Space, but just a competent monster shooter, a little soulless, but funny still.
    Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2011
    0
    I absolutely loved the first deadspace game. Couldn't get enough of it. I found this one to not be scary or enjoyable. I see I'm in theI absolutely loved the first deadspace game. Couldn't get enough of it. I found this one to not be scary or enjoyable. I see I'm in the minority here but I thought the story was stupid the scares were simply creatures spawning out of thin air behind you and the gameplay seemed quite lineur. Maybe I needed to spend for the launch dlcs or something but this was the most disappointed I have ever been by a game I couldn't wait to play Expand

See all 181 User Reviews