Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Apr 5, 2013
    85
    All of the shooting and stomping and crafting lead Awakened toward a conclusion that left me wanting more, so much so that the original game's ending seems superfluous in hindsight. There's a steady, rhythmic approach to the battles in Awakened that can become repetitive, but they succeed in paving the way for even more future fights.
  2. Mar 15, 2013
    82
    You should absolutely play Awakened if you’ve already beaten Dead Space 3. It’s one of the more original and memorable parts of Isaac’s story… which says as much about Dead Space 3 as a game as it does the quality of this DLC.
  3. Mar 13, 2013
    65
    Dead Space 3 would have been well served to include some of the thrilling gameplay featured here, but Awakened‘s convoluted narrative has far too many absurd plot holes—and is far too short—to be worth anything to anyone but the most die-hard Dead Space fans.
  4. Mar 15, 2013
    55
    Speaking as a fan of Dead Space, I feel I could skip Awakened and miss absolutely nothing of value. While some of the new ideas are nice, the sense of disappointed that none of them are capitalized upon offsets any good they do, while the story is nothing you couldn't explain in a single Tweet.
  5. 55
    As an extension of Dead Space 3’s story, it’s ultimately a bit pointless — especially with its cliffhanger ending, which effectively deprives you of the closure the main game (minus its end-credits tease) delivered. Unless you’re a hardcore fan or franchise completist, we’d suggest saving your $10 and replaying Dead Space 3 instead.
  6. May 9, 2013
    50
    It's borderline slapstick at times. [June 2013, p.75]
  7. 50
    How many more filthy, blood-spattered mess halls, garages and control rooms must we trudge through, in search of loot drops and audio diaries? How many more vents and sinkholes must we wearily inventory on entering an area, in readiness for the moment when the soundtrack jack-knifes and the undead pop into view? Awakened doesn't have answers for these questions.
  8. Mar 20, 2013
    45
    Rather than resolving what came before it, Awakened simply shrugs its shoulders for a couple hours before throwing another cliff-hanger ending your way. Sure, it still plays perfectly well, with plenty of intense dismemberment and a pleasingly varied selection of necromorph enemies to fend off.
  9. Mar 13, 2013
    40
    Pathetically short, entirely uneventful and clearly stuck together from existing assets, Awakened doesn't add anything to its parent game other than a punchline that makes it clear that Isaac's trials on Tau Volantis were ultimately a waste of his - and our - time.
  10. Mar 13, 2013
    20
    Possibly the worst value for money expansion of the modern era, with little more than an hour of generic action, bad storytelling, and zero scares.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 8 out of 17
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    0
    $10 for about an hour's worth of content? screw you visceral i spent $10 on bioshock 2's minerva's den and got a whole new 6 hour single player campaign. i spent $10 on red dead redemption's undead nightmare and got a whole new 8 hour single player campaign. i spent $10 on dead space 3's awakened and got... 1.5 hour expansion that should have been included with the game for free in the first place. what a joke. Full Review »
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    8
    Overall, it's a very good DLC but a bit too short. It took me and a partner 1 hour and a half to complete it. This DLC by far has the creep factor that was missing in the original game. It is three chapters long and make sure to complete the game first before purchasing this DLC! The plot is engaging and has a twist towards the end! If you have 10 dollars to spare, definitely check it out! Full Review »
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    7
    Awakened is Visceral's latest story DLC for Dead Space 3, which can be played both solo or with a Co-op partner. It picks up where the game ended, so don't play this DLC if you haven't yet beaten DS3. Awakened spans 3 chapters, clocking in around 2 hours. There’s collectibles to find much like in the base game, new enemies to fight and a twist ending you don‘t want to miss! It’s well paced, engaging, and truly scary unlike the original game. This DLC isn’t perfect, though. It‘s a really short and costly piece of DLC, and you find yourself trekking through locations you have already visited, but if you’ve beaten DS3 and want more, then maybe Awakened is for you. Full Review »