User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 48
  2. Negative: 22 out of 48

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    0
    $10 for about an hour's worth of content? screw you visceral i spent $10 on bioshock 2's minerva's den and got a whole new 6 hour single player campaign. i spent $10 on red dead redemption's undead nightmare and got a whole new 8 hour single player campaign. i spent $10 on dead space 3's awakened and got... 1.5 hour expansion that should have been included with the game for free in the$10 for about an hour's worth of content? screw you visceral i spent $10 on bioshock 2's minerva's den and got a whole new 6 hour single player campaign. i spent $10 on red dead redemption's undead nightmare and got a whole new 8 hour single player campaign. i spent $10 on dead space 3's awakened and got... 1.5 hour expansion that should have been included with the game for free in the first place. what a joke. Expand
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a huge let down indeed. They expect you to pay $10 to continue a story that should have ended at the end of the original 2 disc set, only to have you trudge through an hour and a half of mildly off-setting jump scares. There is very little new content, you battle a few "new" enemies re-incarnated from Dead Space 2 as they throw +3 upgrade circuits at you that you barely have any time apply and use at all. Almost all of the areas that you travel through are from the original game with a new orange tint that somehow is supposed to make it terrifying. If you're a hardcore Dead Space fan that really needs to know the "end" after the end, you'll still be disappointed. Shame on you Visceral, shame on you. Expand
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    2
    The credits almost seem longer than the DLC itself, and the time it took to download the DLC is definitely longer than the amount of game play. I have been looking forward to this DLC since I beat the game and I am extremely let down. My jaw dropped when i reached the end of the DLC campaign, not because it was such a spectacular ending, but because i didn't believe it was over so quick. IThe credits almost seem longer than the DLC itself, and the time it took to download the DLC is definitely longer than the amount of game play. I have been looking forward to this DLC since I beat the game and I am extremely let down. My jaw dropped when i reached the end of the DLC campaign, not because it was such a spectacular ending, but because i didn't believe it was over so quick. I played for only about an hour and it was all over. The story starts off strong and takes place where the original game left off, but doesn't carry on much more after that. There are no new guns, mods, or weapon parts included with the DLC as they can all be acquired in the original game. There aren't any new suits or special unlocks at all. The only new things in this add on are a few text logs, and maybe 3 or 4 new enemies at most. Even the places you go are exactly the same as the original game with a few touch ups done. If this DLC was priced at 5 dollars it may be worth it but 10 is far too steep for such a shallow expansion. You won't be missing much if you skip this DLC and i recommend just watching the game play on the Internet instead of wasting your money on it. Visceral and EA really pulled the wool over our eyes on this one and made it sound greater than it would be. Hopefully they will make up for it in the future with a lengthier DLC and new content. Expand
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    4
    Very short for 10 bucks. While the content was pretty good, it even brought back the old hallucinations from the first two games that made those two very scary, it was just way too short. There was very little here and, not knowing that this was going to be as short as it was, I do feel like I was scammed out of my money. This was worth, at most, 5 bucks but, since this is EA we areVery short for 10 bucks. While the content was pretty good, it even brought back the old hallucinations from the first two games that made those two very scary, it was just way too short. There was very little here and, not knowing that this was going to be as short as it was, I do feel like I was scammed out of my money. This was worth, at most, 5 bucks but, since this is EA we are talking about, they go the extra mile to screw the consumer over and over again. After something like this, I might start believing in those reports that DS 4 was cancelled. Cause if it's anything like DS 3 and this DLC, it'll be the next Resident Evil 6 of the gaming world. Collapse
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dead Space 3's story and conclusion is proportionate to its gameplay. You put in some whiteknuckle, 16-20 hours-long gaming and get a hell of ride. AKA, bang for your buck. Not only does Awkened's gameplay fall pathetically short, it delivers a major faux pas: it piles on too much at the end, plot-wise. it confirms that the story basically means nothing. no matter the efforts of the protagonist, nothing is ever resolved. The opposite in fact. Things are far worse.

    To me, this is the development team grinning with satisfaction over how they canoodled their way into extending their employment. The plot needs to make sense. There needs to more creative writing in gaming and after failures like gears of War 3, Assassin's Creed 3. The dialog relationship between carver and clarke is great, but the plot needs to slow down and look at itself or the dead Space franchise is going to end up doing the same campy mistakes GOW and AC did--rely on the gospel of second rate books.

    Awakened introduced what could have been a much cooler scenario if things had been diligently cared for. If the suspense was stretched out The cult leader is a fantastic idea for a nemesis, reminiscent of Silent Hill's Pyramidhead. I was really looking forward to encounters with this invincible baddy in tight spaces, but it didn't go that way.

    Isaac's hallucinations are an excellent variation on the "jump out at you from air ducts" strategy.

    All in all, this felt like a test run. Not a bona fide DLC. I'm grossly disappointed in the cost of this, the lack of endurance the team put into this, and the over-the-top conclusion which felt improportionate to the length of gameplay. If you're a fan of the series, you'll get this no matter what anyone says. I recommend you just read about it and save your money.
    Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2013
    2
    You shouldn't be surprised at being short changed with a 1 hour DLC. Look at the main game and ask yourself how lazy the developers were in adopting the cookie cutter approach to rooms corridors etc. I don't know how many times I had to stop and check that I wasn't revisiting the same places. They were also lazy with spelling (Personell, Ordinance) so a cheap fix DLC is not a shock.
  7. Apr 14, 2013
    4
    As much as I want to like this, I really can't. Dead Space 3 Awakened is, first and most importantly, way too short and not with the money. I spent $10 for 1 hour and 10 minutes of gameplay and it doesn't really feel like it was worth it. There was more cryptic parts of Issac's images but they were just The Moon you destroyed. I like the whole "cultist leader" idea, that was pretty cool.As much as I want to like this, I really can't. Dead Space 3 Awakened is, first and most importantly, way too short and not with the money. I spent $10 for 1 hour and 10 minutes of gameplay and it doesn't really feel like it was worth it. There was more cryptic parts of Issac's images but they were just The Moon you destroyed. I like the whole "cultist leader" idea, that was pretty cool. They give you some circuit upgrades so thats also cool. The thing that shakes me the most is the ending. nothing is really explained in the ending and it just feels mixed and odd and it all feels like a scam to make you buy the possible sequel to the series. I love Dead Space to tears, but this is just something I cannot handle. It really isn't worth buying Expand
  8. Mar 20, 2013
    3
    Not happy.

    Don't get me wrong, this dlc had some nice jump scares and a cool boss, but only 2 hours? Really? I enjoyed Dead Space 3, but some aspects of it just felt lazy. This DLC further proves EA needs massive internal restructuring. Not only does this DLC fall short of the franchise, it's just short in general. It's not worth $10 at all. In fact, $10 for this is a completely
    Not happy.

    Don't get me wrong, this dlc had some nice jump scares and a cool boss, but only 2 hours? Really?
    I enjoyed Dead Space 3, but some aspects of it just felt lazy. This DLC further proves EA needs massive internal restructuring. Not only does this DLC fall short of the franchise, it's just short in general. It's not worth $10 at all. In fact, $10 for this is a completely joke. So why did I buy it anyways? I like my games to have a real ending.

    DLC should be used to expand a game and add new content that fans want. It shouldn't be used to bully us into paying up for a genuine ending to a game we already bought. Do yourself a favor and watch this dlc on youtube. It will only take half and hour to watch and you won't be falling for EA's ploy to grab more
    Expand
  9. Apr 18, 2013
    0
    Very short for 10 bucks. While the content was pretty good, it even brought back the old hallucinations from the first two games that made those two very scary, it was just way too short. There was very little here and, not knowing that this was going to be as short as it was, I do feel like I was scammed out of my money. This was worth, at most, 5 bucks but, since this is EA we areVery short for 10 bucks. While the content was pretty good, it even brought back the old hallucinations from the first two games that made those two very scary, it was just way too short. There was very little here and, not knowing that this was going to be as short as it was, I do feel like I was scammed out of my money. This was worth, at most, 5 bucks but, since this is EA we are talking about, they go the extra mile to screw the consumer over and over again. After something like this, I might start believing in those reports that DS 4 was cancelled. Cause if it's anything like DS 3 and this DLC, it'll be the next Resident Evil 6 of the gaming world. Collapse
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. May 9, 2013
    50
    It's borderline slapstick at times. [June 2013, p.75]
  2. Apr 5, 2013
    85
    All of the shooting and stomping and crafting lead Awakened toward a conclusion that left me wanting more, so much so that the original game's ending seems superfluous in hindsight. There's a steady, rhythmic approach to the battles in Awakened that can become repetitive, but they succeed in paving the way for even more future fights.
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    45
    Rather than resolving what came before it, Awakened simply shrugs its shoulders for a couple hours before throwing another cliff-hanger ending your way. Sure, it still plays perfectly well, with plenty of intense dismemberment and a pleasingly varied selection of necromorph enemies to fend off.