Dead Space 3 Xbox 360

Dead Space 3 Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 680 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Space 3 focuses on Isaac Clarke and merciless soldier John Carver who embark on a journey through space to discover the source of the Necromorph outbreak. Crash-landed on the frozen planet of Tau Volantis, Isaac searches the harsh environment for raw materials and scavenged parts. HeDead Space 3 focuses on Isaac Clarke and merciless soldier John Carver who embark on a journey through space to discover the source of the Necromorph outbreak. Crash-landed on the frozen planet of Tau Volantis, Isaac searches the harsh environment for raw materials and scavenged parts. He then puts his engineering skills to the test to create and customize weapons and survival tools. The ice planet hides the key to ending the Necromorph plague forever, but first Isaac needs to withstand avalanches, treacherous ice-climbs, and the violent wilderness. Facing deadlier evolved enemies and the brutal elements, Isaac can choose to team up, not only for his own survival, but for that of mankind’s. Play together with a cohort or do it alone as Isaac Clarke using the seamless new drop in, drop out co-op functionality. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    98
    Dead Space 3 evolves the winning formula into a title not only befitting of the fantastic series, but also one of the best games of this generation.
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    86
    Even if this episode has turned the series into a action game – even though there's many survival horror fans out there – we must admit it's a very good game. It provides great closure for the trilogy: long, spectacular and relatively different, but keep in mind that terror is not the main theme any longer.
  3. Feb 5, 2013
    80
    This is a game rife with options and flexibility, building on the strengths of the franchise with clever new ideas that let you tailor the experience to your liking. It hits a few sour notes in its story and struggles at times when it steps away from the core combat, but Dead Space 3 is a thrilling and worthwhile sequel.
  4. Feb 9, 2013
    78
    Dead Space 3 is a roller coaster ride. In Space you’ll find interesting missions, a nightmarish atmosphere and a brilliant sound design. But as soon as you land on the ice planet, not only do the temperatures drop, but also the motivation. The further you progress the more irrelevant and run-of-the-mill the game design gets.
  5. Hyper Magazine
    Mar 12, 2013
    70
    Could've used touch-ups in existing areas, but hey. [Apr 2013, p.64]
  6. Feb 5, 2013
    50
    Dead Space 3 is a let down because it’s not a very good action game, and a really substandard horror game. It is devoid of ideas, hung up on laborious combat and obsessed with making even the exciting seem boring. In truth, it’s a bit of a shocker.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 163
  2. Negative: 29 out of 163
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    So what its not as focused as the "survival horror" as the others it still and incredible game with a great story that will keep you on theSo what its not as focused as the "survival horror" as the others it still and incredible game with a great story that will keep you on the edge of your seat. the boss battle thingys can be annoying but its still easily up there as one of the best games to start 2013 so, if you like dead space or third person shooters pick it up!!! Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    I think the scores are too low. I'm a picky, hardcore gamer like many of you, and I believe they improved the game. Sure, they didn't give usI think the scores are too low. I'm a picky, hardcore gamer like many of you, and I believe they improved the game. Sure, they didn't give us the goose bump feeling from the first game, but that's hardly because the game is worst we just now what to expect. So instead, they gave us more action to compensate and the co-op is a bonus. It's fun and worth buying. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    Don't let some negative reviews fool you. This is a great game. It has enough horror elements to still keep the Dead Space feel to it, but hasDon't let some negative reviews fool you. This is a great game. It has enough horror elements to still keep the Dead Space feel to it, but has enough changes to keep from feeling like more of the same. The co-op alone makes this game worth a purchase. There's also a ton a re-playability with the different difficulty levels, and the new awesome gun creations. The only negative thing about this is game is the final hour or so. It was so tedious and boring that it gets to the point where you keep saying to yourself "I really wish this game would just end already". That's never a good thing and by the time the story ends you really just don't care anymore. This last portion of the game was enough to lower my score from almost a 10 to more like an 8.5 or so. Yeah, the last hour is that bad. I rounded up my rating to a 9 because a lot of these lower scores are just not fair to the game. It's just more people jumping on the current gaming bandwagon, which is to hate games that make changes from their originals and cry that the developers "aren't being true to their loyal fans".

    This game is definitely worth checking out, and is an early game of the year contender for 2013.
    Expand
  4. Jul 28, 2013
    8
    Expectations:
    Going into this game I had mediocre expectations.
    Score: Graphics: 8/10 Campaign: 8/10 Sound: 9/10 Gameplay: 7/10
    Expectations:
    Going into this game I had mediocre expectations.

    Score:
    Graphics: 8/10
    Campaign: 8/10
    Sound: 9/10
    Gameplay: 7/10
    Multiplayer: 7/10
    Final Score: 7.8

    Final Verdict:
    This is the first game this year to have fully exceeded my expectations across the board! In terms of graphics there are a few tweaks which could be made here and there to improve them but nothing game-breaking, the sounds in the game add a whole layer of satisfaction to the whole experience in particular the dismembering of necromorphs. I feel that the campaign was a good conclusion to the 'Dead Space' series, which they then ruined by adding the 'Awakened' DLC! Multiplayer is average adding and subtracting to the overall experience in various ways, the most annoying part if this is where you can spot a segment of the single-player campaign, which was specifically designed for co-op play.
    Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2013
    7
    easily the weakest game in the series but still a fun game nonetheless. Great combat and still some jump scares that remind me of the old deadeasily the weakest game in the series but still a fun game nonetheless. Great combat and still some jump scares that remind me of the old dead space. the story is a little convoluted but there are good performances by most of the characters. the necromorphs are creepy as usual and the wide array of guns that you can dismember their limbs is fantastic. I really enjoyed the graphical style of this game and the location however there really was something lacking that made the previous 2 games so special. Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2013
    6
    I feel like this was kind of a cash crop for EA.. They focused heavily on 'crafting' where you have to use supplies that you find throughoutI feel like this was kind of a cash crop for EA.. They focused heavily on 'crafting' where you have to use supplies that you find throughout the game. They give you the option to purchase components and materials through micro transactions. I felt somewhat let down by this third installment. Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2013
    0
    Gears of War/Halo/Doom.... all games this one copies, no originality, everything happens in threes, you spend more time running aroundGears of War/Halo/Doom.... all games this one copies, no originality, everything happens in threes, you spend more time running around scavenging for on the other side of the level because you need it to open some door or fix something.... Frustrating and forgettable... should have saved my money Collapse

See all 163 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.