Dead Space Ignition Xbox 360

Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 26
  2. Negative: 21 out of 26
  1. Oct 21, 2010
    60
    It's not perfect, and the art style can be irksome with its intentionally marred characters, but for five bucks (or for free), Dead Space: Ignition delivers a good backstory and a few pieces of entertaining puzzle gameplay.
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    51
    There are right and wrong ways of offering downloadable goodies in preparation for an upcoming release and Ignition is the wrong way. The short side story doesn't bring anything of interest to the table. This should have just been a free motion comic series in the same way the first game had; we shouldn't be charged to play three types of mini-games over a dozen times.
  3. Oct 24, 2010
    50
    Essentially, you're paying five bucks for some story and unlockable content when you purchase Ignition. Whether that's a good deal to you or not is your decision, but for the majority of our readership demographic, it's probably worth it, hence the Buy It recommendation despite the low score.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    50
    Even for hardcore Dead Space fans (which we are), skipping Ignition will mean missing nothing of import to the Dead Space canon.
  5. Oct 21, 2010
    50
    Overall, as I have mentioned, Dead Space Ignition is just a very poor attempt to generate hype for Dead Space 2. The art is bad, the mini games are not fun, and the experience is short unless you go back for more endings.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Mar 20, 2011
    3
    Almost total rubbish !!!! A game is released that you really enjoy (Dead Space 2) and you hear that there is a tie in game that has a mainAlmost total rubbish !!!! A game is released that you really enjoy (Dead Space 2) and you hear that there is a tie in game that has a main game reward attached to it, so what do you do? Like the chump EA knows you are, you spend your Microsoft points on this piece of useless trash. I hate myself for buying this game, and trust me, you'll feel the same way. Don't do it. It's totally shameless exploitation and manipulation on the part of EA. I paid full price for Dead Space 2 and there is absolutely no justification for the content available for completing Ignition not being available in the main game already. Some people may feel I'm unfairly picking on EA over this, but quite honestly I feel that they are the worst offenders with this kind of thing. Anyway, that's my rant finished. Trust me, this game is not good. Feel free to find out for yourself though. Full Review »
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    0
    The most pointless waste of money i have every spent, plot is awful, the comic visuals are badly drawn, and the small amount of game playThe most pointless waste of money i have every spent, plot is awful, the comic visuals are badly drawn, and the small amount of game play consists of poorly made puzzle games for which there are far better flash games on the web for free! I doubt my ps3 even hit 1% load. Full Review »
  3. Jan 26, 2012
    6
    This game is not really a game, its a pretty well made and enjoyable comic, actually if this would just had been the comic it would have beenThis game is not really a game, its a pretty well made and enjoyable comic, actually if this would just had been the comic it would have been great! I would have given a higher score, but its because of the stupid puzzles that this game is kind of ruined. It seems to me this is like ruined potential when it came to gameplay since the puzzles get horrifyingly hard near the end. If they would have made longer the comics and make it have a little bit more story then I would be fine! In fact I would be quite pleased to give 5$ its just the stupid mini games that ruin everything. This game CAN be considered only if you are interested in a little story in an interactive comic but the gameplay is just **** ill admit. So think before buying this game. Full Review »