User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 11 out of 24

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 20, 2011
    3
    Almost total rubbish !!!! A game is released that you really enjoy (Dead Space 2) and you hear that there is a tie in game that has a main game reward attached to it, so what do you do? Like the chump EA knows you are, you spend your Microsoft points on this piece of useless trash. I hate myself for buying this game, and trust me, you'll feel the same way. Don't do it. It's totally shameless exploitation and manipulation on the part of EA. I paid full price for Dead Space 2 and there is absolutely no justification for the content available for completing Ignition not being available in the main game already. Some people may feel I'm unfairly picking on EA over this, but quite honestly I feel that they are the worst offenders with this kind of thing. Anyway, that's my rant finished. Trust me, this game is not good. Feel free to find out for yourself though. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2010
    0
    a friend told me to try this game. i am never going to listen to him again. this is by far the worst dead space ever. don't waste your time or money on this game it's simply not worth it. the gmeplay and the controls are terrible.
  3. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    This is not the sort of game that you'd buy as a stand alone title or 'fun', it is nothing without the dead space games and there is little fun to be had within it. There is little actual game play and of this there is little variation. The story line is OK but is a bit annoying as certain fates of characters are unavoidable no matter what story path you take (of which there are four). The game literately only consists of three different hacking type mini-games which have all been done before and cut-scenes that are just moving drawings with audio. The ONLY reason anyone should EVER buy this is to get some back story from the Dead Space universe, a little (tiny) kick before the main event that is dead space 2 comes out. If your a fan of dead space and like to see a little more (like the movies and comics) then sure get it if your really want to. It won't last long, it won't be overly interesting and could leave a slightly bitter taste in your mouth but hey its only a fiver... Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    Once I realised that this isn't really a game, and its just some extra background fluff, I actually found myself able to enjoy this 'game'. (It's definitely not a game, more of an interactive comic)
    The art style of the comics is fairly poor, it has to be said, but I found I was able to forget it once I started to get into the story. I maybe owe a debt of gratitude to the many people
    who had lowered my expectations enough tht I was actually pleasantly surprised. Not bad for free I think. Not brilliant, but not bad. Expand
  5. Jan 26, 2012
    6
    This game is not really a game, its a pretty well made and enjoyable comic, actually if this would just had been the comic it would have been great! I would have given a higher score, but its because of the stupid puzzles that this game is kind of ruined. It seems to me this is like ruined potential when it came to gameplay since the puzzles get horrifyingly hard near the end. If they would have made longer the comics and make it have a little bit more story then I would be fine! In fact I would be quite pleased to give 5$ its just the stupid mini games that ruin everything. This game CAN be considered only if you are interested in a little story in an interactive comic but the gameplay is just **** ill admit. So think before buying this game. Expand
  6. Jun 26, 2012
    0
    The most pointless waste of money i have every spent, plot is awful, the comic visuals are badly drawn, and the small amount of game play consists of poorly made puzzle games for which there are far better flash games on the web for free! I doubt my ps3 even hit 1% load.
  7. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    People judge this game as a stand-alone purchase from xbox live arcade, but what they have to realize is that it was created solely to sweeten the prospect of pre-ordering dead space 2. I, like many others, pre-ordered dead space 2 so I got Ignition for free. I would not recommend purchasing this game by itself because it's not that great of a game. It is however a fun little puzzle game especially if you got it for free... not to mention 200 gamerpoints that are fast and easy to get. Collapse
  8. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Just not all that exciting. There's a few hacking mini-games in there that pose a challenge, but the whole package just isn't worth it. It's just so far away from the original Dead Space game that a lot of people just own't get it.
  9. Jan 25, 2011
    0
    People judge this game as a stand-alone purchase from xbox live arcade, but what they have to realize is that it was created solely to sweeten the prospect of pre-ordering dead space 2. I, like many others, pre-ordered dead space 2 so I got Ignition for free. I would not recommend purchasing this game by itself because it's not that great of a game. It is however a fun little puzzle game especially if you got it for free... not to mention 200 gamerpoints that are fast and easy to get. Collapse
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 26
  2. Negative: 21 out of 26
  1. Jan 10, 2011
    40
    Dead Space Ignition is not worth the purchase unless you want to get the unlockable content for Dead Space 2, but if you want the unlocks then you may as well just pre-order Dead Space 2 and get Ignition for free. Play the game long enough to secure your unlockables and then go play something else.
  2. Dec 29, 2010
    25
    A dull story. [Jan 2011, p.89]
  3. Weak enough to make even uber-fans blanch. [Jan 2011, p.113]