User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 678 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 678

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    I think that the atmosphere in this game does it all. The sound effects are simply amazing and the enemies never stop to surprise me when I am playing. The graphics are really well done and I often found myself completly "in character" because of this. Everything is top notch! I cannot wait for the sequel.
  2. May 2, 2012
    7
    A beautifully atmospheric game, but the reliance on jump scares killed my enjoyment many times.

    The, 'huh wonder if some thing is going to jump out of that obvious grate' feeling pops up constantly, yet it still made me jump as fast moving objects tend to do for me, not so much fear as adrenaline.

    I would have preferred more sinking horror and less of a surprise fest.
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    All right, you probably came here looking for decent survival horror game, correct? well, you're looking right at it. Very ambitious launch of franchise by infamous EA, despite having very few development time, it stands out as crown jewel of not only horror game fans, but shooter game fans in general. However, you should realize this game isn't really scary at all, but it does doAll right, you probably came here looking for decent survival horror game, correct? well, you're looking right at it. Very ambitious launch of franchise by infamous EA, despite having very few development time, it stands out as crown jewel of not only horror game fans, but shooter game fans in general. However, you should realize this game isn't really scary at all, but it does do fantastic job on unleashing so-called "cheap scare" in right moment, so if you aren't scared by this, it sure will keep you unsettled. That's for sure. Atmosphere of game is very well created thanks for the great sound effects, and the combat is very challenging, as you're forced to do "strategical dismembering" as you're chased by very well distinguished enemies, and trying to aim enemy's limb in intense situation does require great amount of focus. However, game loses its value after first playthrough. You probably got over with all the horror moment and got familiar with it, you probably remember which vent enemies blasted through, and you probably have well-upgraded killing machine at your disposal, and this is moment where game just becomes survival game. However, this game still is pretty good at being TPS zombie shoot-em-up, and harder difficulties really force you to conserve your ammunition, so there are a lot of strategy involved in this game. Even though it has low replay value, many will enjoy playing this game over and over again despite some flaws. So, don't hesitate to pass this game if you're familiar with horror games or TPS games in general. This game will not disappoint you. Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    An epic, atmospheric game that sets a new standard for survival horror. I haven't had so much fun being scared in space since I watched the first Alien movie. The only complaint I have is that the only downloadable content packages are all just new suits of armor that don't change the gameplay much. However, since Dead Space 2 is coming out within the next month I won't have to wait longAn epic, atmospheric game that sets a new standard for survival horror. I haven't had so much fun being scared in space since I watched the first Alien movie. The only complaint I have is that the only downloadable content packages are all just new suits of armor that don't change the gameplay much. However, since Dead Space 2 is coming out within the next month I won't have to wait long to get a second dose of this awesomeness. Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2010
    9
    Dead Space is an amazing game, and undoubtedly, one of the best horror games of all-time. The graphics are truly amazing, the A.I. is challenging, the combat is tense and as gory as it is possible to be; the story is mysterious and intruiging and is similar to Bioshock with its audio and text logs. Anyways, the only faults I had with the game was the inventory system, the lack ofDead Space is an amazing game, and undoubtedly, one of the best horror games of all-time. The graphics are truly amazing, the A.I. is challenging, the combat is tense and as gory as it is possible to be; the story is mysterious and intruiging and is similar to Bioshock with its audio and text logs. Anyways, the only faults I had with the game was the inventory system, the lack of character development(i.e., Issac) and scarcity of ammo, which counter-acts itself because thanks to the low amounts of ammo, the tension rises expentionally. The ending was good and well-timed, but it wasn't scary. I do like how it managed to open up the sequel very well, and that it didn't turn into a cliched conclusion to a an amazing game. I urge you to buy this game. Give it a chance. Go into the claustrophobic atmosphere of the Ishimura. And don't bother screaming because no one can hear you scream in Outer Space. A 9.9/10 Expand
  6. Jan 24, 2011
    4
    Great atmosphere and sounds indeed. However, the enemies look and function at a hilarious level of unrealism. There are parts that I could compare to Jimmy Neutron episodes in terms of unrealistic. Here you have very realistic graphics with monsters that look anything but. In fact they're so stupid looking It kills the fear of the entire game for me; and without that this game is just aGreat atmosphere and sounds indeed. However, the enemies look and function at a hilarious level of unrealism. There are parts that I could compare to Jimmy Neutron episodes in terms of unrealistic. Here you have very realistic graphics with monsters that look anything but. In fact they're so stupid looking It kills the fear of the entire game for me; and without that this game is just a really repetitive shooter with an upgrade system. Not to mention painfully boring. Not a recommended title unless being chased by special ed class terrifies you. Expand
  7. May 22, 2011
    9
    I picked this up recently as it was deeply discounted,being an xbox 360 popular game.Once I started playing it,I couldn't put it down as it was a very entertaining game with nice weapons to use.I can't wait to pick up #2 now.
  8. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = A Great Survival horror game only beaten now only by it's own successor and Resident Evil 4 (which IS the best). A bit too predictable at times though. Any time a necromorph is on the floor expect it to attack you.
  9. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This is the best single player horror action shooter game ever made. Wow, kind of a lot of things on that genre. But, as it stands, I have never been gripped so tightly by such an atmospheric game before. At first, you're scared, but then after that, you start to realize how much fun it is -- there's a great deal of storyline mixed with tense action moments, and overall it has the kind ofThis is the best single player horror action shooter game ever made. Wow, kind of a lot of things on that genre. But, as it stands, I have never been gripped so tightly by such an atmospheric game before. At first, you're scared, but then after that, you start to realize how much fun it is -- there's a great deal of storyline mixed with tense action moments, and overall it has the kind of pacing that kept me coming back for more. Expand
  10. Feb 11, 2011
    9
    This is the first game I've played in a while. It was cool being 'into' a game again. The story line was good, and the graphics and levels were great. Very good controls and audio. My only thing with it was maybe a little bit drawn out, but after beating it, it didn't seem so bad. I really liked the safe/inventory feature. I'm working on unlocking all the achievements now. I don't count onThis is the first game I've played in a while. It was cool being 'into' a game again. The story line was good, and the graphics and levels were great. Very good controls and audio. My only thing with it was maybe a little bit drawn out, but after beating it, it didn't seem so bad. I really liked the safe/inventory feature. I'm working on unlocking all the achievements now. I don't count on getting all of them! Looking forward to playing the sequel. Expand
  11. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    On my list of top 5 games. I am a sucker for survival horror games and it doesn't get much better than this. The atmosphere, the jump moments, and the freaky looking monsters all add to the tension. Add in some thought provoking puzzles, fun combat, and a good storyline...and what else could you ask for?
  12. Sep 8, 2011
    9
    Atmospheric.Immersive.Chilling...A leading light in the dying Survival Horror genre and the best since Resident Evil 4.Investigate a crippled starship then crap yourself while cleverly dismembering a horde of diabolical creatures.Best played in the dark with surround sound.Alone.
  13. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    First off I didn't really fancy Dead Space hence its took me this long to play it. Its a total breathe of fresh air which the survival horror genre needed so much a different take on the classic genre which has been dominated by Resident evil personal favorite of mine. As for the game well the graphics are brilliant and the atmosphere is the best ive come across in any game from the soundFirst off I didn't really fancy Dead Space hence its took me this long to play it. Its a total breathe of fresh air which the survival horror genre needed so much a different take on the classic genre which has been dominated by Resident evil personal favorite of mine. As for the game well the graphics are brilliant and the atmosphere is the best ive come across in any game from the sound effects to the lighting it has everything going for it. The game just feels so complete and very fluid, you can tell they spared no expense with this title a must buy for any console owner. And if your put off because the game is scary well you sort of adapt to the game as you progress and get use to the random scares and monsters you encounter. Expand
  14. Jun 27, 2011
    7
    Dead Space is an enjoyable but flawed survival horror game. The gameplay is solid, with the need to shoot limbs serving as a nice twist. Graphics are excellent and the music perfectly suits the action. However, the biggest problem I had with this game was that it just wasn't frightening at all. The game lacks the atmosphere of better games like Bioshock and chooses to rely on startlingDead Space is an enjoyable but flawed survival horror game. The gameplay is solid, with the need to shoot limbs serving as a nice twist. Graphics are excellent and the music perfectly suits the action. However, the biggest problem I had with this game was that it just wasn't frightening at all. The game lacks the atmosphere of better games like Bioshock and chooses to rely on startling tactics instead of trying to create true fear. These tactics consist of instances like flashing lights and an enemy masquerading as a corpse. They are so overused that they become predictable and wearisome. Devoid of personality and speech, it is hard to sympathize with Isaac and his pursuit of his wife. The two other characters are unlikeable because we are never given a chance to like them. Their function is just to bark orders at Isaac to journey to another part of the ship. The bulk of the game consists of running around from A to B with no real idea of what you're doing. As previously mentioned, the ability to shoot off limbs is a nice deviation from the norm but the enemies faced and the process of execution become monotonous. I liked Dead Space but the horror and story disappointed. Expand
  15. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    This game is near flawless and this is considering that I have played it a 4 years after release. There are very few titles that have managed to live up to the original Resident Evil and Silent Hill mantle of a truly scary game. Dead space whole heartily brings the survival horror genre to the current gen in style and mixes in a great sci fi story to boot. It also looks fantasticThis game is near flawless and this is considering that I have played it a 4 years after release. There are very few titles that have managed to live up to the original Resident Evil and Silent Hill mantle of a truly scary game. Dead space whole heartily brings the survival horror genre to the current gen in style and mixes in a great sci fi story to boot. It also looks fantastic throughout and remember again... 4 years on i write this review. These days games need to entice people into multiple play throughs with new game plus and other such devices but for me, very happy to finish the game and go straight back through again for the frights and fun that is DEAD SPACE! Can only imagine what i will say of the sequel when i get round to playing that. Expand
  16. Apr 1, 2011
    9
    Scary as hell and worth every last cent. Atmospheric, claustrophobic, and that sense of "the unknown menace" around every corner made it hold its own. A new classic horror-survival franchise for years to come (here's hoping at least).
  17. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    Won't say much, except for few things: this game was very fun to play, the shootings were exciting, the monsters are very scary and the story behind it's actually good! With that said, I never EVER got scared once in the entire game, so to me it's more of a shooting game than a survival horror. And for last, weapons aren't all useful, since you have to dismember the monsters and not fillWon't say much, except for few things: this game was very fun to play, the shootings were exciting, the monsters are very scary and the story behind it's actually good! With that said, I never EVER got scared once in the entire game, so to me it's more of a shooting game than a survival horror. And for last, weapons aren't all useful, since you have to dismember the monsters and not fill them with lasers, or bullets, or whatever. Very good game: try it if you're curious of the first dead space. Expand
  18. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    Dead Space is a fantastic game. The atmosphere it evokes when you are slowly walking down a dark corridor is intense, dramatic and completely immersive.
    If I were to describe this game in a sentence it would be: "Resident Evil 4 in space with even more thrills"
    Resident Evil 4 is one of my favourite games of all time so that is high praise indeed coming from me. The developers have managed
    Dead Space is a fantastic game. The atmosphere it evokes when you are slowly walking down a dark corridor is intense, dramatic and completely immersive.
    If I were to describe this game in a sentence it would be: "Resident Evil 4 in space with even more thrills"
    Resident Evil 4 is one of my favourite games of all time so that is high praise indeed coming from me.
    The developers have managed to create quite a promising game universe within only two games which is impressive given the amount of time Dead Space has been around compared to other franchises.
    They have managed to create likeable characters, a gripping story that haunts you even after playing and have evoked a sense of never being safe in-game. The player can be walking towards a door that leads to a supposedly "safe" zone, hear an ominous sound in the walls and have an enemy burst from the vent next to them. It is hard to describe the atmosphere this game evokes. It's chilling, to say the least and I definitely recommend playing this game with some sort of surround system, be it headphones or speakers.
    The gameplay is a fluid blend of Resident Evil 4's over-the-shoulder perspective and that of a big budget action game. While some have said this detracts from the "survival-horror" element of the game, I argue that these people have not tackled it on the hardest difficulty, where even the responsiveness of the controls do not help. This game is definitely one of my favourite games ever and I can't resist another revisit at least once a year.
    Expand
  19. May 27, 2011
    10
    Most games, especially shooter affairs, I pick it up...play for 20-30mins...then say "yeah, that was cool...what's on TV?". This game really had something going on, right from the beginning. The story, mood, and pacing just come together to create a very intense product. It has a creepy feeling and it really triggers your natural survival instincts as the character on screen seamlesslyMost games, especially shooter affairs, I pick it up...play for 20-30mins...then say "yeah, that was cool...what's on TV?". This game really had something going on, right from the beginning. The story, mood, and pacing just come together to create a very intense product. It has a creepy feeling and it really triggers your natural survival instincts as the character on screen seamlessly becomes a representation of yourself. You don't want to be eaten and you will run or shoot and pant and gasp and lean...just real nail biting stuff here. The controls or over the shoulder view don't feel quite perfect, and the bits of zero-g navigation get a bit clunky at times, but it just doesn't matter. I rarely give out a 10 for anything because it leaves no room to go, but I think this sort of artistic creativity grabbed what is best about single player gaming and that is about an environment that lets the player lose themselves. Its almost too good because I would laugh at myself by how carried away I would get with my own gasps and seat jumping. But after a brief moment of self realization, there I was again on a spaceship, clinging to whatever ammo filled weapon I could find...searching around and walking on eggshells trying to anticipate what horror or challenge lurk around that next dimly lit corner. I played nothing else but this until I beat it, and when I did...I started a second play through. Bottom line...best horror/suspense game I have ever played, groundbreaking and beautiful in all of its horror and insanity. Expand
  20. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Dead Space is a much needed breath of fresh air to the survival horror genre. There is hardly anything this game didn't do right. The graphics are on par with the best in the industry and do a very good job creating a dark, mysterious, and all around scary atmosphere. The sound is done very well and further enhances the atmosphere. The controls are the best out of any third person shooterDead Space is a much needed breath of fresh air to the survival horror genre. There is hardly anything this game didn't do right. The graphics are on par with the best in the industry and do a very good job creating a dark, mysterious, and all around scary atmosphere. The sound is done very well and further enhances the atmosphere. The controls are the best out of any third person shooter I have ever played. Lastly, the story is pretty solid, as long as you pay attention to it. I see a lot of reviews that criticize this game for lacking in story, which I simply do not understand. The game is full of logs and audio diaries that tell perfectly how everything came to be. Simply put, this game is spectacular. Frankly, I don't understand how anyone could say otherwise, but I guess it is just a matter of opinion. This game actually exceeded my expectations and definitely deserves a 10/10. Expand
  21. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    While it doesn't make for the best survival horror game and has zero pacing it makes an excellent action horror game with a good plot and very good combat plus great boss fights makes this a must play of our generation.
  22. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    "Game of the Year"-2008
    A game I can't say enough about to express my love for it. I'll try to make this simple. Dead Space is one of the greatest game ever made! It's the best and scariest horror game you'll ever play. No game brings bigger chills and scares then Dead Space. The story line is great, and very intense. Voice acting is amazing. The game play is great, and just the way it
    "Game of the Year"-2008
    A game I can't say enough about to express my love for it. I'll try to make this simple. Dead Space is one of the greatest game ever made! It's the best and scariest horror game you'll ever play. No game brings bigger chills and scares then Dead Space. The story line is great, and very intense. Voice acting is amazing. The game play is great, and just the way it should be. Like I said, there's not enough I can say to express my love for this game. I'll leave you with this-Dead Space deserves your attention, and hopefully, you won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  23. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    It's really rare to get a game which makes you jump out of your seat SEVERAL of times. I constantly found myself doing this. This game holds one of the most atmospheric environments ever seen in a video game and is a truly remarkable game with a great story tied up to it.
  24. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of the scariest games i have played and i am never scared.
    Every time your playing the game you know that a thing can just jump in front of you with out knowing it and slice you open so this is a awesome and scary game.
    Expand
  25. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    This game scared the S*** out of me! That is a statement I have never used to describe a video game. Granted the scares were mainly of the "make you jump" kind rather than the "building tension" type, but I couldn't help but be impressed with the entire game. The graphics and sound are top notch. The gameplay is smooth and unique. The story is engrossing as well as the voice acting (evenThis game scared the S*** out of me! That is a statement I have never used to describe a video game. Granted the scares were mainly of the "make you jump" kind rather than the "building tension" type, but I couldn't help but be impressed with the entire game. The graphics and sound are top notch. The gameplay is smooth and unique. The story is engrossing as well as the voice acting (even though our hero never says a word). I found myself waiting for a time when I could play this game without distraction, with the light out and the surround sound turned on. This game is a must buy for all those survival horror fans, or just someone who is looking for a good scare. I can't wait to play the sequel. Expand
  26. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This is the definition of Fear....there no another word to described it....silenti hill and resident evil can say "Good Bay". Please, if you like (well this its a contradiction) to enjoy a game but suffer at the same time this is the best choice: Dark Corners...Monster sounds in every level....Scary Babys....an the ghostly feelling of being watched by the evil itself. Friendly Advice: goThis is the definition of Fear....there no another word to described it....silenti hill and resident evil can say "Good Bay". Please, if you like (well this its a contradiction) to enjoy a game but suffer at the same time this is the best choice: Dark Corners...Monster sounds in every level....Scary Babys....an the ghostly feelling of being watched by the evil itself. Friendly Advice: go to the bathroom before to play it!!!!! Expand
  27. May 1, 2012
    9
    Dead Space, as a survival horror sci fi game, is what You would call the next, more casual iteration of a scenario that System Shock 2 has greatly established: tight atmosphere, mutated enemies, quasi-religious story background, a voice that guides You...only this time with next gen graphics, less RPG and puzzles and much more engaging combat. Not only are Visceral Games undenieableDead Space, as a survival horror sci fi game, is what You would call the next, more casual iteration of a scenario that System Shock 2 has greatly established: tight atmosphere, mutated enemies, quasi-religious story background, a voice that guides You...only this time with next gen graphics, less RPG and puzzles and much more engaging combat. Not only are Visceral Games undenieable masters of their craft as storytellers and directors, they also show a splendid talent for lighting, timing and texture. This game doesnt get old, instead it binds You to Your controller and doesn't let You go. Expand
  28. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    One of the best survival horror games to date An interesting story line and creative wepons and enemies, the atmosphere is really great it reminds me to the alien movies but 10000 more scarier. also the envariorment is very interesting and original sometimes you go into zero gravity zones and you can walk in the wals or in the celling, combat has strategy you just can go and shoot a alienOne of the best survival horror games to date An interesting story line and creative wepons and enemies, the atmosphere is really great it reminds me to the alien movies but 10000 more scarier. also the envariorment is very interesting and original sometimes you go into zero gravity zones and you can walk in the wals or in the celling, combat has strategy you just can go and shoot a alien like crazy you need to be accuarate and cut their limbs to kill them. if you like horror games this one is a must buy. Expand
  29. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    This is the best game of EA Ahhhhh!!!......................................................................................................................
  30. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    Dead Space is a perfect horror game. It blends elements from System Shock 2 with references to other great films and games. It is thick with atmosphere and emotion, and is very good at surprising the player with it's surprisingly good storyline. The gameplay is fun and frantic, as you race to dismember the attacking Necromorphs. This game is excellent, and is worth a look next time you areDead Space is a perfect horror game. It blends elements from System Shock 2 with references to other great films and games. It is thick with atmosphere and emotion, and is very good at surprising the player with it's surprisingly good storyline. The gameplay is fun and frantic, as you race to dismember the attacking Necromorphs. This game is excellent, and is worth a look next time you are stuck for something to play! Expand
  31. Feb 10, 2013
    8
    Instant classic for any fan of horror sci-fi. The setting, tone and sound design are superb, and the graphics for the time were top notch. However I will say the pitfalls of this game really stood out after Dead Space 2 was released. With a 'mute' Isaac, you get no sense of character and story which Dead Space 2 and 3 really focused on, which is a real shame because there was a lot ofInstant classic for any fan of horror sci-fi. The setting, tone and sound design are superb, and the graphics for the time were top notch. However I will say the pitfalls of this game really stood out after Dead Space 2 was released. With a 'mute' Isaac, you get no sense of character and story which Dead Space 2 and 3 really focused on, which is a real shame because there was a lot of potential there. On top of this the game play feels a little wonky as well, but these are things you can quickly get over on another play through. Despite that, this is still a great game and definitely worth playing. Expand
  32. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    The real survival horror in the 7th generation. Not expecting much from this game, but turned out to be one of the best Xbox 360 games. Sublime atmosphere
  33. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of my favorite games of all time, if not my favorite. The atmosphere is unbelievably terrifying, the necromorphs are beautifully designed, the storyline is deeply compelling, I love everything about this game. I could go on for days about how amazing this game is, but my favorite aspect is a tie between the atmosphere and the character development. Granted, Isaac Clarke never says a word in the game (he's basically the Link of Dead Space) you can still get a sense of dread and regret from Isaac. When Isaac is separated from the rest of his crew, fighting for his life, you can never really tell who's helping and who's hindering. I loved the fact that you had to shoot the limbs rather than shooting directly at the head (as everyone is inclined to do), and it never ceased to freak me out when I would shoot off a head and it was coming right back at me more pissed off than before. The fact that necromorphs crawled through the vents was a perfect way to keep players on their toes and jumping at every little noise. The weapons in the game are beautiful and the upgrades just make them sexier as the game goes on. Of course the biggest shocker came at the end when you found out that Isaac's girlfriend Nicole has actually been dead the whole time, meaning Isaac has been slowly going more and more insane as the game goes on. It still terrifies me when I walk into a room, and then a giant tentacle would swoop from around the corner and drag Isaac down the hall until he reached the hole in the wall the tentacle made and would be ripped to shreds. The death scenes in Dead Space were spectacularly well done, very detailed and still make me cringe. Anyone who loves horror-survival should DEFINITELY give this game a try. Expand
  34. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    Atmosphere is everything in horror games, Dead Space has plenty of it. Even though the game never offers any real scares, only fleeting shocks that pass in a second the game has a great story and gameplay mechanics. You are Isaac Clarke, a CEC Engineer sent to repair the mining vessel USG Ishimura after its communications went down. Once aboard you find that a routine patch job is not asAtmosphere is everything in horror games, Dead Space has plenty of it. Even though the game never offers any real scares, only fleeting shocks that pass in a second the game has a great story and gameplay mechanics. You are Isaac Clarke, a CEC Engineer sent to repair the mining vessel USG Ishimura after its communications went down. Once aboard you find that a routine patch job is not as simple as it seems, with an alien parasite loose on the ship that turns all corpses into zombie aliens its your job to repair the ship to send out a distress signal and escape with your life. It is an action horror game NOT a survival horror as it is commonly misconceived and a damn good one at that. Expand
  35. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    A frightful experience on par with the 1980's The Thing movie. Every corner that must be turned is a potential death or waiting horror. Everything from enemy design to music adds to a atmosphere that keeps you holding your breath for safety, something you may never find. The only bad part, something that happens to plague many horror games, is that subsequent playthroughs loose their fearA frightful experience on par with the 1980's The Thing movie. Every corner that must be turned is a potential death or waiting horror. Everything from enemy design to music adds to a atmosphere that keeps you holding your breath for safety, something you may never find. The only bad part, something that happens to plague many horror games, is that subsequent playthroughs loose their fear as enemy placement and spawns are set and easily remembered. Despite that, it seems that any time Dead Space is mentioned , someone, somewhere will have the urge to sit down and fight for survival. Expand
  36. May 27, 2012
    10
    The new king of survival horror. Like playing in an alien movie. One of the best gaming experiences ever made. The atmosphere in this game is superb and the game will scare the **** out of you and keep you on edge. The boss fights are amazing.
  37. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    This game was delicious from start to finish. I love the tension and combat. Environment, atmosphere, sounds... necromorphs... all brilliant. Even read one of the spin off fiction novels. Great scifi
  38. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    I cant believe this game flew under my radar. It reminds me of resident evil 4-- its a horror survival game with over the shoulder shooting, several upgradable items, skills and suits.
  39. Jan 16, 2013
    9
    I was really surprised by this game, considering who it is made by. But it is definitely solid, and is a real competitor for RE4. Heavy on the shooting side, but it is still very atmospheric. Story is simple but engaging - you are shipwrecked in space, and there are parasitic aliens taking over the remains of your crew! Oh no! But they are also breeding and trying to alter theI was really surprised by this game, considering who it is made by. But it is definitely solid, and is a real competitor for RE4. Heavy on the shooting side, but it is still very atmospheric. Story is simple but engaging - you are shipwrecked in space, and there are parasitic aliens taking over the remains of your crew! Oh no! But they are also breeding and trying to alter the atmosphere within the ship to suit themselves. It's up to you, as the engineer, to survive and fix various parts of the ship whilst fighting for your life. Great elements include having to shoot the limbs off enemies, rather than go for head shots, a brilliant holographic menu system (everything is in-game, there are no menu screens. Even your inventory is handled on screen, and when people contact you, a hologram of them is rendered in front of your character, to talk to them), a variety of interesting weapons and abilities to upgrade including telekenisis and stasis (grabbing and throwing stuff, and slowing down enemies), and also there are some great atmosphere touches like parts of the game where you have to go into damaged areas of the ship which have no air, and therefore your hearing is diminished, and your own heart beat and breathing is pretty much all you hear, besides ominous thuds. Most of the time the game is awesome, and feels rewarding and satisfying as you collect loot from around the place, and sell what you don't need at the stores within the game. Some of the boss battles are not very interesting - which is standard in these kinds of games unfortunately. Also, the game suffers from the same problem as all survivals - either you do well and then the game is just too easy as you are overflowing with ammo, health and money. Or, you are not doing so well, in which case you struggle for ammo, heatlh and / or money, and then you have to reload from a check point. Not sure how games can fix this issue. Luckily for me I found the game slightly on the easy side - but still found it good fun. By the end of your first run, you will not have unlocked and upgraded everything, so you can start your game+ and shred some enemies with your powered-up stuff, and continue your upgrading. Expand
  40. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    Dead Space is a masterpiece that can satisfy both real survival horror fans and RE4 players alike. Visceral absolutely nailed the environmental design in this game, down to the last detail. The sound design is wonderful, and the smallest enemy will make the most frightening of sounds. All of the zero-gravity and zero-oxygen sequences are brilliant, making it harder to hear, and harder toDead Space is a masterpiece that can satisfy both real survival horror fans and RE4 players alike. Visceral absolutely nailed the environmental design in this game, down to the last detail. The sound design is wonderful, and the smallest enemy will make the most frightening of sounds. All of the zero-gravity and zero-oxygen sequences are brilliant, making it harder to hear, and harder to survive lulling you into a false sense of security just to scare or concern you even more than you already were. The story is solid and while not incredibly original, is very well done and does not subtract from the gameplay. When I played DS1 I had the brightness in game turned down very very low, as the instructions say. This game will seriously mess with you if you have your brightness that low on a nice LED television.
    Unfortunately there is something that keeps the game from being a 10, which is also one of the things that made it work, but I have to hold it against the game because it is an actual factor. The ready availability of shops, ammo, and money to upgrade weapons and equipment with makes the game progressively easier and more care-free until you are no longer scared or worried about anything. It detracts from the horror environment and Visceral understood this in DS3 when they made a hardcore mode. Though that holds it back, Dead Space is still one of the best games I've ever played.
    Expand
  41. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    The combat in this game is the best part. A lot of great weapons which upon up a lot of options in terms of fun and innovative way to take on the necromorphs. The story, while well-written and voice acted pretty well, is pretty generic. At least worth a rental, however I may recommend a purchase because I liked playing through this game multiple times.
  42. Feb 12, 2011
    7
    Dead Space is an ambitious game that attempts to combine the atmospheric tension and psychological scares with the jump starts and falls short of its lofty goals by being painfully predictable. That isnâ
  43. Oct 22, 2010
    8
    It's been a long time since I played a game as well made as this one. Playing this one with the lights out if the way to go, as my many spare underpants go to show. It gets the heart pumping to say the least!
  44. Mar 3, 2011
    0
    Not scary, rip's off just about every horror ever made, the gameplay didn't make it for me, and it's trying to make us feel sorry for someone with a bucket on their head and their mouth's taped shut.
    What a pathetic escuse for a horror-game.
  45. May 10, 2011
    8
    Bought this used at gamestop and i loved it. super bloody and gory can't play with my brow since he's too little, but it's so, so , so good! isaac clarke is as cool as master chief, hands down!
  46. May 18, 2013
    9
    Dead Space is a masterpiece of atmosphere and aesthetics. It is quite possibly my favorite game ever made, even though it isn't without its blemishes. The levels can be a tad repetitive and one has to admit that there is hardly an original idea in the whole plot, but as a pure "gaming experience," Dead Space is completely exceptional.
    I'm pretty hard to please when it comes to game
    Dead Space is a masterpiece of atmosphere and aesthetics. It is quite possibly my favorite game ever made, even though it isn't without its blemishes. The levels can be a tad repetitive and one has to admit that there is hardly an original idea in the whole plot, but as a pure "gaming experience," Dead Space is completely exceptional.
    I'm pretty hard to please when it comes to game design, being one of those guys who scoffs at jerky character animations, poor UI's, clumsy mechanics and boring color palettes. Games are all about tone and feel for me. I have friends that are in it primarily for the story, and while I also care about narrative, if a game doesn't FEEL right I simply can't get into it.
    Dead Space is an absolute marvel when it comes to these factors. Everything just works. The no-HUD approach was a stroke of genius back in 2008, even though it seems that most games have adopted the cleaner, HUD-less approach since then. The thing that sets Dead Space apart is that EVERYTHING is in-game in real time. All of the menus and items in the game are shown as holograms within the game universe, and one must always take the possibility of an attack from behind into account when looking at the inventory. One of my best memories from Dead Space was when I decided to look at the in-game store to stock up on ammo and health when out of nowhere I was jerked away from the menu to find that my head was being torn off by a Necromorph. This kind of thing happens, and it all makes the game feel clean, elegant and immersive without being over-simplified.
    Dead Space also sports some of the most incredible sound design you will ever hear in a game. The soundtrack is completely interactive, and simply stopping and taking a moment to listen to your surroundings is a truly eerie experience. The whole ship comes alive with creaks and moans, and then out of nowhere a scuttling noise can be heard coming from the air vents up above and distant shrieks start to ring through the corridors. The consistently excellent sound design is the number one contributor to the unrelenting tension that Dead Space exudes. There is no rest to be had in Dead Space. The game demands attention and vigilance at every turn, and the game, while being incredibly enjoyable, is never a comfortable experience.
    Dead Space is also incredibly good looking for being a five-year old game, and it handles excellently. Shadows suffer from some serious blockiness at points, but other than those anomalies, the game totally holds up to modern graphical standards (for consoles, that is). Lighting effects are gorgeous, character models are detailed and interesting, environments are convincingly rendered and all of the sci-fi technology behaves with a true sense of function, weight and believability. The animations in the game are slick and organic as well. As for mechanics, Dead Space gets top marks here as well. Isaac Clarke's every-man nature is emphasized by his slower movement. He's no space-marine (thank God), and the developers have intentionally withheld the ability to adjust look sensitivity. This actually compounds the sense of claustrophobia and powerlessness in the game and never becomes frustrating.
    All in all, Dead Space is an incredible experience that you probably will not forget. Even five years after its release this game is still feels vibrant, fresh, and intensely engrossing. Pick it up and play it if you haven't already because this is one of the finest examples of modern gaming.
    Expand
  47. Oct 23, 2012
    7
    I came back to this game because the first time I played it I just didn't get what all the fuss was about. I didn't finish it but recently I have been going back to unfinished games to challenge myself and this time I got it. This game is fun to play. I still don't think it is scary or original in any way but for some reason it is still a lot of fun to play. After I had gotten all theI came back to this game because the first time I played it I just didn't get what all the fuss was about. I didn't finish it but recently I have been going back to unfinished games to challenge myself and this time I got it. This game is fun to play. I still don't think it is scary or original in any way but for some reason it is still a lot of fun to play. After I had gotten all the achievements I could get I still wanted to keep playing. I don't think I will go on to the second one but this one really was fun to play. For the record though there are many much better survival horror games out there. Deadly Premonition, Silent Hill games and the Condemned games to name a few. Expand
  48. Dec 19, 2011
    8
    Dead Space really and truly is one of the single best horror games of all time. You truly do feel like your in Isaac Clarkes situation and that the necromorphs are coming for you! I personally couldn't bring myself to playing the game in the dark or home alone which you would find pretty sad for a 20 year old but it really is true! I have alot of experience with survival horror gamesDead Space really and truly is one of the single best horror games of all time. You truly do feel like your in Isaac Clarkes situation and that the necromorphs are coming for you! I personally couldn't bring myself to playing the game in the dark or home alone which you would find pretty sad for a 20 year old but it really is true! I have alot of experience with survival horror games but this game takes the biscuit. The graphics, storyline and overall experience is brilliant. There is such emphasis on the religion of the game and you truly are terrified all the time. I hope to see the 3rd installment of this game as it simply is incredible. Although as great as it is, there is for me, two fatal flaws, and they are the predictability and the use of the map. In saying that I dont mean its so easy to predict, but once you complete the game it is very possible to predict big moments in the game and turning points. Also the fact that you must go back and fourth through the same areas in the game instead of one clear path becomes very repetitive which takes away some of the replayability and horror of it. Overall I rate it a very fair 8 and hope that the 3rd installment to the game lives up to expectations! Expand
  49. Feb 13, 2012
    8
    great game, i was scared the entire time playing it, stunning good times good times my friends .
  50. Feb 5, 2013
    6
    I, a once Dead Space fan feel insulted and I could literally feel the slap in the face EA gave me when they announced co-op. What Visceral said just showed EA is only in gaming for cash now. They said "We didn't want to ruin the formula of Dead Space. BUT WE'LL KEEP CO-OP IN!" and then "It's not important. Just there. It wont affect the campaign" so why is it in? Oh yeah! To appeal to CoDI, a once Dead Space fan feel insulted and I could literally feel the slap in the face EA gave me when they announced co-op. What Visceral said just showed EA is only in gaming for cash now. They said "We didn't want to ruin the formula of Dead Space. BUT WE'LL KEEP CO-OP IN!" and then "It's not important. Just there. It wont affect the campaign" so why is it in? Oh yeah! To appeal to CoD kiddies! If you feel insulted by the fact EA wants you all to be CoD kiddies, do not buy this game. Expand
  51. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    Is Dead Space a horror game with action, adventure, and 3rd Person Shooter elements or is it mainly a 3rd Person Shooter with the aforementioned elements? This identity crisis actually gives this game an extra edge just as you have no idea what is happening on this ship. Everything is constantly in question and you only have only yourself and your handy upgradeable weapons to rely on.Is Dead Space a horror game with action, adventure, and 3rd Person Shooter elements or is it mainly a 3rd Person Shooter with the aforementioned elements? This identity crisis actually gives this game an extra edge just as you have no idea what is happening on this ship. Everything is constantly in question and you only have only yourself and your handy upgradeable weapons to rely on. Dead Space delivers exactly what the feeling would be like on a giant derelict ship. The atmosphere is what makes this game stand out. It isn't overly creepy, but keeps you on edge. It does perfectly what movies can't do and that is immerse you in that environment where you could be that person that blatantly walks into the death trap. Tread lightly and keep your plasma cutter pointed forward. There are plenty of save points and the game never becomes overly difficult. The story unfolds at a clean pace and the upgradeable armor/weapons allow for steady progress. The story never feels too long and the story isn't marred with long cutscenes like most games nowadays. I am not a big fan of the horror genre, but this game was the real deal. Expand
  52. Jun 26, 2014
    9
    I like scary stuff, and this is the scariest game I personally played. Give me a daunting atmosphere, isolation and looming dread. Give it to me! I don't want no coop buddy. I don't need no blockbuster action movie music in the background. And I certainly want the cheesy unnecessary dialogue kept to a bare minimum. Dead Space did all that for me. I thank it for that. If you plan onI like scary stuff, and this is the scariest game I personally played. Give me a daunting atmosphere, isolation and looming dread. Give it to me! I don't want no coop buddy. I don't need no blockbuster action movie music in the background. And I certainly want the cheesy unnecessary dialogue kept to a bare minimum. Dead Space did all that for me. I thank it for that. If you plan on only playing one of the series to check it out, this is the one. 2 is alright and 3 got a heavy dose of the new age Resident Evil treatment. Expand
  53. May 7, 2013
    9
    the scariest game i ever played. have to take a break between each chapter, hell, sometime i just hope the game can end quickly so i don't need to be so thrilled to do a new level.. As a new IP game, the level design is well-done and engaging. you are in a spaceship, you feel suffocated yet in each level the surrounding is different. i love this game in a terrifying way. If you havethe scariest game i ever played. have to take a break between each chapter, hell, sometime i just hope the game can end quickly so i don't need to be so thrilled to do a new level.. As a new IP game, the level design is well-done and engaging. you are in a spaceship, you feel suffocated yet in each level the surrounding is different. i love this game in a terrifying way. If you have friends who never played video game that much, make them to play the first 20 minutes, they will pale and tell you, 'well, i don't want to (meaning, i am too afraid to) play this game'.. Expand
  54. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    Dead Space is the most terrifying horror game I have ever played! The sound effects and atmosphere as well as the scenarios being played out complete it for me! It also had other cool mechanics like shooting limbs off strategically for a variety of different enemy's. The boss fights were also heart pumping with the scary music and the atmosphere surrounding you. The characters are awesome,Dead Space is the most terrifying horror game I have ever played! The sound effects and atmosphere as well as the scenarios being played out complete it for me! It also had other cool mechanics like shooting limbs off strategically for a variety of different enemy's. The boss fights were also heart pumping with the scary music and the atmosphere surrounding you. The characters are awesome, although dumb, it puts you on the edge of your seat because a scary scene is obviously about to play out, when the characters are like 'duh, nothing will be behind this door' and end up getting killed. This game also has a lot of blood and some gruesome scenes that will bring joy to gore hounds such as myself.

    Melson97
    Expand
  55. May 28, 2013
    10
    A horror game is hard to come by and usually get bad ratings. However, Dead Space out does all of them. Inspired by Resident Evil and Doom, mix them up into one game and it becomes a true masterpiece!
  56. May 30, 2013
    7
    Dead Space is a great Survival Horror game and is worth your time. This game sets up great atmosphere and has a good many scares. It does get predictable over time, but the gameplay is fun. You can replay through the campaign with all your equipment so there is some replay value there. It tends to turn more survival action, but it's still nice to see a game that is at least trying to beDead Space is a great Survival Horror game and is worth your time. This game sets up great atmosphere and has a good many scares. It does get predictable over time, but the gameplay is fun. You can replay through the campaign with all your equipment so there is some replay value there. It tends to turn more survival action, but it's still nice to see a game that is at least trying to be different from the mainstream. Overall, I'd recommend it. Expand
  57. Dec 25, 2013
    9
    Just a flat out excellent game, the scariest game I am yet to play, with beautiful graphics excellent sound, a solid third person shooter mechanic with a nice twist in what classifies as a 'critical' hit. This game was truly exciting every step of the way, the only thing that kept me from giving this game a 10 was that I was not 100 percent engaged in the story-line with which other gamesJust a flat out excellent game, the scariest game I am yet to play, with beautiful graphics excellent sound, a solid third person shooter mechanic with a nice twist in what classifies as a 'critical' hit. This game was truly exciting every step of the way, the only thing that kept me from giving this game a 10 was that I was not 100 percent engaged in the story-line with which other games which are not so smooth have often managed to suck me in. 9.5/10 Expand
  58. Jul 28, 2013
    3
    What a boring, hollywood game, with very little depth. It manages to deliver solid play, but as an experience is a massive and predictable snore.

    The sequel doesn't even try to hide what's going to happen, and pacing has been thrown out the window to make for a more "epic" experience. At the start, even though the necros have literally JUST broke out, one of the more bulky creatures
    What a boring, hollywood game, with very little depth. It manages to deliver solid play, but as an experience is a massive and predictable snore.

    The sequel doesn't even try to hide what's going to happen, and pacing has been thrown out the window to make for a more "epic" experience. At the start, even though the necros have literally JUST broke out, one of the more bulky creatures makes a very early appearance, even though there would not have been nearly enough time for it to have grown (or died). I'm never sure which it is, with necros.

    Compare that to the first game, which was a constant remix of tried and true horror techniques, leaving me more afraid of not the technique itself, but always wondering when it would finally arrive. For example there are countless times you enter a bloodied bathroom expecting something to jump out. Over and over again the game lets you off the hook. You worry every single time you enter one. Making you keep your guard up constantly was what the first game excelled at.

    EA seems good at taking great first franchise entries and immediately raping them to the point where fans of the first will be unlikely to enjoy the sequels.
    Expand
  59. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    Never have I encountered a game that has moments as nerve-racking as Dead Space. Its a game more than capable of making you panic and fire half a magazine of precious ammunition into a corpse. The atmosphere does a lot for this; whenever I play, even wit a lot of ammo, powerful weapons, and a high-lever RIG, and a full stasis meter... I'm still constantly on edge.

    The enemy encounters
    Never have I encountered a game that has moments as nerve-racking as Dead Space. Its a game more than capable of making you panic and fire half a magazine of precious ammunition into a corpse. The atmosphere does a lot for this; whenever I play, even wit a lot of ammo, powerful weapons, and a high-lever RIG, and a full stasis meter... I'm still constantly on edge.

    The enemy encounters do a lot to contribute to being constantly on-edge. Sometimes, you see them coming at you, sometimes you see them as you go around a corner, or through a door, and sometimes... sometimes, you think you see one. These are by far the worst time, when you catch a glimpse of one, or you see a shadow, because you look, and there's nothing there. Are you seeing things, or are you about to be attacked? The feeling of uncertainty is incredible, you could be attacked at any time, while progressing.

    The story is great, and has only a handful of predictable moments, and there are plenty of twists and turns. Chapters are quite well structured, and the ability to fully explore the levels can be very helpful for scavenging items./

    Overall, a hugely enjoyable, well executed experience, and thoroughly deserving of a 9/10.

    Just remember, aim for the limbs.... and for goodness sake, STOMP EVERYTHING, EVER.
    Expand
  60. Jul 21, 2013
    5
    One word review: boring.

    If your idea of fun is to wander around areas shooting identical enemies with identical weapons then Dead space is for you. I bought it because I was told that it is very very scary and the person in question can't play much of it at one go. He clearly needs help with his issues. Scary isn't the first word that comes to mind for me. Boring is.
  61. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    Dead Space 1 is definitely the best game in its series. It's as scary as hell (if you know what I mean, although it's not as scary as System Shock 2), it has nice sound, and quality visuals. Also, there two unique features I absolutely do love (and I hope you will, too) in this game: zero-gravity and vacuum.
    Alas, the protagonist doesn't say anything along the game, whereas other people
    Dead Space 1 is definitely the best game in its series. It's as scary as hell (if you know what I mean, although it's not as scary as System Shock 2), it has nice sound, and quality visuals. Also, there two unique features I absolutely do love (and I hope you will, too) in this game: zero-gravity and vacuum.
    Alas, the protagonist doesn't say anything along the game, whereas other people constantly say "Go there, make that," etc. Well, this is not the first game with a dumb hero, so I'm fine with that.
    Bottom line: if you love horror-action games, you should try this one.
    Expand
  62. Apr 7, 2014
    7
    "this game is spectacular , worth playing for and what great story ". but still missions are so hard and there so freakin hard . but i will get through it . Grade A-
  63. May 8, 2014
    10
    Even six years after its release, Dead Space still looks and sounds great. Dead Space was one of the best survival horror games, if not the best, of the last generation consoles. The atmosphere is perfect, the health and ammo is limited, and the enemies are terrifying. If you haven't played it yet, you need to get on that.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. The very fact that we wish Dead Space included more of its original features and less content pulled from the last generation's greatest game speaks volumes for the quality on show. [Issue # 71]
  2. 87
    Call it science fiction survival horror, but Dead Space does the genre proud with an engaging story; action that's tense, fast-paced and extremely violent; as well as atmospheric qualities that will get under your skin and make you jump.
  3. 100
    It's easily the best survival horror game since the masterful "Resident Evil 4" and it sets the bar high for graphics, sound, and scares in its respective genre. Dead Space is an artistic nightmare clearly designed for survival horror fans by a passionate and dedicated team of like-minded gamers. Just be sure to play it with the lights on.