Dead Space Xbox 360

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 766 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 766
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FPSMaster
    Dec 10, 2008
    7
    Most overrated game I've ever played. I've seen a lot of overrated games over the years, but for people to overate what boils down to EA's rip-off of Bioshock or Resident Evil makes me wonder if all those that have been hampering on EA over the years have changed sides just so they can fit in with the mainstream crowd now. The camera is too close and makes the game very Most overrated game I've ever played. I've seen a lot of overrated games over the years, but for people to overate what boils down to EA's rip-off of Bioshock or Resident Evil makes me wonder if all those that have been hampering on EA over the years have changed sides just so they can fit in with the mainstream crowd now. The camera is too close and makes the game very hard to enjoy, while your character's animations are very stiff and look like every other half-assed 3rd person animation out there. There are also $50 worth of downloads 2 months after release, and although you don't have to buy them to play te game, you feel just like with any other game that if you don't buy them all then you're not getting to fully enoy the entire game. I'll go ahead and say it: If you like this game you're just a flat out mainstream moron who's credibility and opinions don't matter. Expand
  2. SeanB.
    Jan 6, 2009
    6
    Ultimately, the game was forgettable. While the world seemed immersive and fantastic at first evolves into being a sub-par survival horror. The action centers of dismembering monsters, but it feels so awfully gimmicky. They offer a half-hearted explanation, but you can tell it is simply to do something slightly different. It is an ok action game with a mediocre horror them. Fear comes Ultimately, the game was forgettable. While the world seemed immersive and fantastic at first evolves into being a sub-par survival horror. The action centers of dismembering monsters, but it feels so awfully gimmicky. They offer a half-hearted explanation, but you can tell it is simply to do something slightly different. It is an ok action game with a mediocre horror them. Fear comes from startles and surprises. It is more like Doom in the fear and less like FEAR. Sadly, the ending was easily predicted, not through foreshadowing but from what most media would move toward. I knew what the ending would be 5 minutes into the game. There were no surprises in that. That said, some of the levels were very well designed. Perhaps not believable for a space ship, but offered interesting places to go through. Collapse
  3. NoName
    Nov 13, 2008
    6
    An average horror game with a nice change of scenery. The game is becomes very repetitive, very quick.
  4. BobwickH.
    Oct 17, 2008
    5
    I played this game back when it was called System Shock 2. Then I played it again back when it was called Bioshock. Apparently EA's new blockbuster strategy is to remake old classics in such a way that they just barely can't get sued for it. Especially ironic since EA actually owns the rights to System Shock 2, which forces us to wonder why they didn't just do a straight-up I played this game back when it was called System Shock 2. Then I played it again back when it was called Bioshock. Apparently EA's new blockbuster strategy is to remake old classics in such a way that they just barely can't get sued for it. Especially ironic since EA actually owns the rights to System Shock 2, which forces us to wonder why they didn't just do a straight-up remake instead of a fake-out. 5 out of 10 since the game is fine, just not original. Expand
  5. AnonymousMC
    Dec 18, 2008
    7
    This is a solid rental. The presentation is astounding, the lack of a HUD and the in game menu system keeps you immersed in the action, and the plot (a mix of Event Horizon and DOOM) is interesting enough to warrant a single play through. The problem lies in the game itself. The level design is uninspired and is essentially a sequence of fetch quests followed by dispatching the same 3This is a solid rental. The presentation is astounding, the lack of a HUD and the in game menu system keeps you immersed in the action, and the plot (a mix of Event Horizon and DOOM) is interesting enough to warrant a single play through. The problem lies in the game itself. The level design is uninspired and is essentially a sequence of fetch quests followed by dispatching the same 3 or 4 enemies once each step is complete. Expand
  6. ColinC
    Oct 23, 2008
    7
    This is an incredibly well-made, polished game. But for me anyway, it also felt like it wasn't bringing anything new to the table, except blending elements from the great games of the last several years. The third person control and inventory system, thank you Resident Evil 4. The environmental design and audio clues made me feel like I was playing Id's remake of Doom again. The This is an incredibly well-made, polished game. But for me anyway, it also felt like it wasn't bringing anything new to the table, except blending elements from the great games of the last several years. The third person control and inventory system, thank you Resident Evil 4. The environmental design and audio clues made me feel like I was playing Id's remake of Doom again. The bad guys that burst open spawning all the litter critters, hey, I already killed that guy in Halo 3. The ability to use telekinesis to pick things up from a distance, and if you want, throw them at bad guys (i.e. red canisters that explode, buzz saws, etc), thanks for bringing over the gravity gun from Half Life 2. The story?Again, pretty generic sci-fi. For me, it evoked both Doom and Aliens. Even the weapon upgrade system was ripped right off of the last Ratchet and Clank game, Tools of Destruction. I understand why so many people love this game. It brings together some very cool gameplay ideas from other great games. And it rips them off well. But as a result, for me, this game never felt like it had it's own unique identity. Going for limb shots instead of body and head shots just wasn't enough for me. That said, I still enjoyed the game. But it's a long way from the second coming. Expand
  7. LiamR
    Aug 18, 2009
    5
    I knew there was a large amount of hype surrounding Dead Space on release so I waited until I found it at a reduced price in WH-Smiths. I'm unhappy to state that I'm glad I waited. The game starts off very promising, the graphics are gorgeous and the sound and atmosphere were incredible. I was really enjoying the game for the first hour or so but then the problems began to I knew there was a large amount of hype surrounding Dead Space on release so I waited until I found it at a reduced price in WH-Smiths. I'm unhappy to state that I'm glad I waited. The game starts off very promising, the graphics are gorgeous and the sound and atmosphere were incredible. I was really enjoying the game for the first hour or so but then the problems began to occur. Firstly the excellent graphics are witnessed less and less as you progress as the game starts taking on the murky corridor design and everything seems to be all one colour. The game doesn't seem to know how to balance itself (Normal Difficulty) in some sections it seems absurdly easy with ammo aplenty and enemies evenly spread out, but in far too many places all the loot from enemies and chests becomes money or ammo for weapons you don't posses and to add salt to the wound this is when the game decides to throw large quantities of enemies at you that would be difficult to kill even if you had full health and ammo. The fear factor for the game loses it's very clever suspenseful edge at the same points where enemies keep jumping out from vents and corners that was done far too many times in DOOM 3. The anti gravity sections are interesting but the game doesn't always want to let you jump accordingly which can be very frustrating in the timed sections where it doesn't want to allow you to walk into areas with oxygen. I find it hard to not like Dead Space but it seems to want me to hate it. What was good at the beginning slowly degrades and the objectives become go to location press button/ pick something up and backtrack. Expand
  8. RyanS
    Dec 13, 2008
    7
    So I get Dead Space expecting to be sitting on the edge because of how scary the game would be. No. Its not scary. The only scary part of the game is its repetitiveness. Dead Space although does have good parts to it. It includes Problem solving, mini games (basketball and shooting range) and Boss stages. The difficulties are tuned just right too. I decided to go through on hard mode. It So I get Dead Space expecting to be sitting on the edge because of how scary the game would be. No. Its not scary. The only scary part of the game is its repetitiveness. Dead Space although does have good parts to it. It includes Problem solving, mini games (basketball and shooting range) and Boss stages. The difficulties are tuned just right too. I decided to go through on hard mode. It was HARD. Its worth getting but you can finish the game in less than a week. Expand
  9. Feb 12, 2011
    7
    Dead Space is an ambitious game that attempts to combine the atmospheric tension and psychological scares with the jump starts and falls short of its lofty goals by being painfully predictable. That isnâ
  10. Jun 27, 2011
    7
    Dead Space is an enjoyable but flawed survival horror game. The gameplay is solid, with the need to shoot limbs serving as a nice twist. Graphics are excellent and the music perfectly suits the action. However, the biggest problem I had with this game was that it just wasn't frightening at all. The game lacks the atmosphere of better games like Bioshock and chooses to rely on startlingDead Space is an enjoyable but flawed survival horror game. The gameplay is solid, with the need to shoot limbs serving as a nice twist. Graphics are excellent and the music perfectly suits the action. However, the biggest problem I had with this game was that it just wasn't frightening at all. The game lacks the atmosphere of better games like Bioshock and chooses to rely on startling tactics instead of trying to create true fear. These tactics consist of instances like flashing lights and an enemy masquerading as a corpse. They are so overused that they become predictable and wearisome. Devoid of personality and speech, it is hard to sympathize with Isaac and his pursuit of his wife. The two other characters are unlikeable because we are never given a chance to like them. Their function is just to bark orders at Isaac to journey to another part of the ship. The bulk of the game consists of running around from A to B with no real idea of what you're doing. As previously mentioned, the ability to shoot off limbs is a nice deviation from the norm but the enemies faced and the process of execution become monotonous. I liked Dead Space but the horror and story disappointed. Expand
  11. Oct 23, 2012
    7
    I came back to this game because the first time I played it I just didn't get what all the fuss was about. I didn't finish it but recently I have been going back to unfinished games to challenge myself and this time I got it. This game is fun to play. I still don't think it is scary or original in any way but for some reason it is still a lot of fun to play. After I had gotten all theI came back to this game because the first time I played it I just didn't get what all the fuss was about. I didn't finish it but recently I have been going back to unfinished games to challenge myself and this time I got it. This game is fun to play. I still don't think it is scary or original in any way but for some reason it is still a lot of fun to play. After I had gotten all the achievements I could get I still wanted to keep playing. I don't think I will go on to the second one but this one really was fun to play. For the record though there are many much better survival horror games out there. Deadly Premonition, Silent Hill games and the Condemned games to name a few. Expand
  12. Feb 5, 2013
    6
    I, a once Dead Space fan feel insulted and I could literally feel the slap in the face EA gave me when they announced co-op. What Visceral said just showed EA is only in gaming for cash now. They said "We didn't want to ruin the formula of Dead Space. BUT WE'LL KEEP CO-OP IN!" and then "It's not important. Just there. It wont affect the campaign" so why is it in? Oh yeah! To appeal to CoDI, a once Dead Space fan feel insulted and I could literally feel the slap in the face EA gave me when they announced co-op. What Visceral said just showed EA is only in gaming for cash now. They said "We didn't want to ruin the formula of Dead Space. BUT WE'LL KEEP CO-OP IN!" and then "It's not important. Just there. It wont affect the campaign" so why is it in? Oh yeah! To appeal to CoD kiddies! If you feel insulted by the fact EA wants you all to be CoD kiddies, do not buy this game. Expand
  13. May 2, 2012
    7
    A beautifully atmospheric game, but the reliance on jump scares killed my enjoyment many times.

    The, 'huh wonder if some thing is going to jump out of that obvious grate' feeling pops up constantly, yet it still made me jump as fast moving objects tend to do for me, not so much fear as adrenaline.

    I would have preferred more sinking horror and less of a surprise fest.
  14. May 30, 2013
    7
    Dead Space is a great Survival Horror game and is worth your time. This game sets up great atmosphere and has a good many scares. It does get predictable over time, but the gameplay is fun. You can replay through the campaign with all your equipment so there is some replay value there. It tends to turn more survival action, but it's still nice to see a game that is at least trying to beDead Space is a great Survival Horror game and is worth your time. This game sets up great atmosphere and has a good many scares. It does get predictable over time, but the gameplay is fun. You can replay through the campaign with all your equipment so there is some replay value there. It tends to turn more survival action, but it's still nice to see a game that is at least trying to be different from the mainstream. Overall, I'd recommend it. Expand
  15. Jul 21, 2013
    5
    One word review: boring.

    If your idea of fun is to wander around areas shooting identical enemies with identical weapons then Dead space is for you. I bought it because I was told that it is very very scary and the person in question can't play much of it at one go. He clearly needs help with his issues. Scary isn't the first word that comes to mind for me. Boring is.
  16. Apr 7, 2014
    7
    "this game is spectacular , worth playing for and what great story ". but still missions are so hard and there so freakin hard . but i will get through it . Grade A-
  17. Jan 20, 2015
    7
    This is an outstanding scary and violent game!

    PROS
    -Nice graphics
    -good jumps scares
    -Fun abilities

    CONS
    -Boring from time to time
    -hard controls
    -weak story
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. The very fact that we wish Dead Space included more of its original features and less content pulled from the last generation's greatest game speaks volumes for the quality on show. [Issue # 71]
  2. 87
    Call it science fiction survival horror, but Dead Space does the genre proud with an engaging story; action that's tense, fast-paced and extremely violent; as well as atmospheric qualities that will get under your skin and make you jump.
  3. 100
    It's easily the best survival horror game since the masterful "Resident Evil 4" and it sets the bar high for graphics, sound, and scares in its respective genre. Dead Space is an artistic nightmare clearly designed for survival horror fans by a passionate and dedicated team of like-minded gamers. Just be sure to play it with the lights on.