Deadly Premonition Xbox 360

Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. Brilliant bloodbath or bizarro bollocks? Both, actually. Terrible, superb and weird. [Nov 2010, p.90]
  2. Dec 23, 2010
    70
    The beauty of Deadly Premonition is that it's a straightforward whodunnit viewed through the cracked prism of an unreliable narrator, conjuring an atmosphere of suspicion and confusion throughout. [Dec 2010, p.92]
  3. Dec 23, 2010
    70
    It's as simple as this - you will either love or hate Deadly Premonition. If you're looking for a bizarre game that's so bad it's good, you've found your match. If you're not… well, keep looking.
  4. Oct 25, 2010
    70
    It's an experience like no other, if not always for the right reasons. I adored it, but I couldn't tell you in earnest that you will feel the same. But I will tell you this: you absolutely must play it. How else would you ever know?
  5. 70
    Fans of Twin Peaks and survival horror especially will find a lot to love in this flawed title.
  6. It looks ancient and controls poorly, but this entertaining and unpredictable horror adventure delivers more shocks than schlock.
  7. It's the Amy Winehouse of videogames: rambling and incoherent, a bit of a mess and not much to look at, but with a unique and distinctive voice that's very hard to ignore.
  8. If you demand polish, this-gen graphics, and spoonfed plots - well, maybe you need to move briskly along. [Issue#65, p.90]
  9. 68
    Yes, some aspects are nowhere near where the bar has been set on current titles, but this game is something that is a truly unique experience as well as a love letter to fans of the survival horror genre. You really can't go wrong with picking this game up if you have the time to invest in it.
  10. Fans of survival horrors games and B Movies will be pleased with Deadly Premonition, despite the aesthetic aspect and poor gameplay. Actually, one of the strangest games in Xbox 360.
  11. If you're a fan of B-movies and want to invite a few friends over to create your own Mystery Science Theater 3000-style dialogue-or even if you're on solo mode looking for a great story at the cost of palatable gameplay-this is a one-of-a-kind title and you owe it to yourself to pick it up. At a retail price of $19.99, you can't beat Deadly Premonition's cheap laughs and unique story. But if you're looking for a straightforward, next-gen gaming experience, avoid this one at all costs.
  12. Jan 1, 2011
    50
    Deadly Premonition has developed something of a cult following, but for me the good bits were always overwhelmed by the bad.
  13. The problems are pronounced and obvious, but somehow it has a charm and appeal that defies logic. This game is not for everyone. In fact, it won't be for most people. But, at an amazing value of twenty dollars, it may be a worthy investment for those that are bored of their current slate of games and are ready to put up with the numerous frustrations to experience the inane charm that Deadly Premonition offers, but don't say I didn't warn you.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 321 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 92
  2. Negative: 16 out of 92
  1. May 5, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game. Even leaving aside the value proposition (it's only $20), Deadly Premonition offers an interesting setting andThis is an amazing game. Even leaving aside the value proposition (it's only $20), Deadly Premonition offers an interesting setting and bizzare characters. The catch is that to enjoy what this game has to offer, you have to suspend your disbelief, and possibly your good taste. This is a goofy survival horror romp through a japanese version of Twin Peaks, and while the payoff is immense, getting there can sometimes be a bit of a slog. Full Review »
  2. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    Let me start off by saying, this game is defiantly worth $20, I feel like I got my money's worth from this game. Deadly Premonition is a dark,Let me start off by saying, this game is defiantly worth $20, I feel like I got my money's worth from this game. Deadly Premonition is a dark, gritty, and artistic mafia game. The characters have a well thought out back story, gripping issues plague the futuristic city of Greenvale, a colony on Mars inhabitted by humans. The game starts out with space pirates killing people in bizarre ways, such as pinning them to a tree. You and your team of space Sicilians, your love interest Emily was held hostage by the space pirates, that infuriates Francis "York" Morgan, the leader of the mafia and also the character that you play as. The makes him fly into space to rescue his fiancé. He gets helpful advice from his right hand man Zach. There is so many twists and turns in the game that your mind with explode in sheer brilliance. This game is defiantly worth the money, it gets the 10/10 from me, and this game is a misunderstood concept ahead of its time. Full Review »
  3. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    A great game. It starts kind of slow, but becomes amazing as it continues. It also has an enormous amount of sidequests in addition to theA great game. It starts kind of slow, but becomes amazing as it continues. It also has an enormous amount of sidequests in addition to the main quest, which creates the game's unique atmosphere. Full Review »