User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 294 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 294

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 5, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game. Even leaving aside the value proposition (it's only $20), Deadly Premonition offers an interesting setting and bizzare characters. The catch is that to enjoy what this game has to offer, you have to suspend your disbelief, and possibly your good taste. This is a goofy survival horror romp through a japanese version of Twin Peaks, and while the payoff is immense, getting there can sometimes be a bit of a slog. Expand
  2. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    Let me start off by saying, this game is defiantly worth $20, I feel like I got my money's worth from this game. Deadly Premonition is a dark, gritty, and artistic mafia game. The characters have a well thought out back story, gripping issues plague the futuristic city of Greenvale, a colony on Mars inhabitted by humans. The game starts out with space pirates killing people in bizarre ways, such as pinning them to a tree. You and your team of space Sicilians, your love interest Emily was held hostage by the space pirates, that infuriates Francis "York" Morgan, the leader of the mafia and also the character that you play as. The makes him fly into space to rescue his fiancé. He gets helpful advice from his right hand man Zach. There is so many twists and turns in the game that your mind with explode in sheer brilliance. This game is defiantly worth the money, it gets the 10/10 from me, and this game is a misunderstood concept ahead of its time. Expand
  3. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    Deadly Premonition is a great game. Sure. Not a colossal, or a new Silent Hill, but it's a solid horror game, with a great "David Lynch" atmosphere. We are submerged by FPS and Gears Of War games style. Finally an innovative, disturbing, survival horror.
  4. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    A great game. It starts kind of slow, but becomes amazing as it continues. It also has an enormous amount of sidequests in addition to the main quest, which creates the game's unique atmosphere.
  5. Aug 11, 2010
    7
    Deadly premonitions has one of the poorest game controls i have ever seen. Basically they ripped the controls off of resident evil 4. This game has a dark but uplifted story. At one point in the game you could be in a combat scene when all of a sudden an uplifting music comes on. It also has a silent hill feel to it and overall is a generic horror game. The graphics are appalling for 2010. It is defiantly not the worst graphics Ive seen on the Xbox 360 but it is close. It is defiantly worth the $20, considering it takes 20+ hours to beat it. the story is ingenious the characters are awesome of course its not meant to be entirely serious but the characters are well played. the sound is alright voice acting sometimes skips. There is allot of side missions which extends the game. The soundtrack is one of the best Ive ever heard. All and all it is a good game, combat is terrible, music is good, story is great, i would defiantly say it is worth a 7/10. Expand
  6. Dec 15, 2010
    8
    This game is a confusing one. Through its many flaws, them being terrible controls, awful and stagnant level design and PS2 graphics, I am now in love with this game. Its dark humor fantastic and sometimes hilarious soundtrack and its over the top ridiculousness make it amazingly addictive. I had no trouble in playing this for 2-3 hours straight. It has its moments of absolute brilliance for instance the opening sequence will astound you in how well it is put together. You simply HAVE to play it. The amount of atmosphere and tension that this game manages to build up will astound you. The dialogue is incredibly silly but it adds to the overall experience. Imagine every silly and funny line in every video game ever and condense it down into one pot, That's what deadly premonition is. It will leave you thinking 'was this all a joke or were they serious when they made this?' If it was a joke they are geniuses, if they are serious they are geniuses. To sum up, one of the most special video-gaming experiences of the year. You will never play anything like this ever and for £/$ 20 you should definitly take the time to put the F K in your coffee. To be honest I'd rather play this than Alan Wake any day. Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2011
    10
    Wow, where to start. There is no other game ever that's like this. It's so unique in many ways. First impressions may put you off with the out of date graphics etc but underneath it you have a very charming game thats funny, addictive, has a fantastic story and combines so many different genres of games it's crazy. Amazing all the way through, especially the story. I've completed it 4 times. This is a very marmite game, you either love it or hate it and I adore it. Roll on DP2 :D Expand
  8. Jan 19, 2011
    8
    Ever think what it would be like if someone mixed together GTA and Resident Evil? Well this game comes pretty close. Never played anything like it and probably never will. The game mechanics are not going to blow you away but the sheer bang for your buck will. 19.99 new for a game that has 3 times the content as any other horror game ive played. It's easily one of the more memorable games on 360 and I recommend it. Expand
  9. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    One of the best and underrated games of this generation.
    We need more games like this one. The only bad points are the graphics and the achievements for the Xbox 360 version of the game.
  10. Nov 13, 2011
    1
    What a **** game !! Really, I'm sure fake users have been created to boost this score to the current 8.3 level...ridiculous, what a waste of time ! Do not be fooled -- listen to the critics and save your money.
  11. Feb 8, 2011
    0
    I'm not sure why so many people have jumped on this brainless, sadistic bandwagon called "Deadly Premonition". The gameplay consists of watching the same zombie bend its spine backwards and explode into purple goo from the shot of your BB sounding gun. The graphics are at least 10 years old. I had glitches and game crashes constantly. The story was practically non existent and certain scenes had virtually no relevance to the rest of the plot. Games like "E.T." or "Big Rigs Racing" are so bad its good. This game is so bad its good and then back to bad again. One of the worst games ive ever endured. It's to stupid to even laugh at. Throw it into the nearest incinerator. Expand
  12. Aug 21, 2012
    1
    A truly atrocious game. It's an ugly, buggy, clunky, inscrutable mess. The only explanation I can think of for all the praise it gets is that the hideous graphics, jerky animations, and mind-bogglingly clumsy controls 'cause some people to have a stroke and think that they must actually be enjoying the game. That or it's some sort of emotional defense mechanism to help justify the complete waste of time that any play of this game is. Expand
  13. Mar 2, 2012
    1
    Ugh, a really bigger mistake, this impossible game title is boring, and the reason of the "impossible" is because you don't play much, the story is good, but have some biggest problems, the camera, the controls, all in this game is a biggest mistake. I think that Ignition Entertainment do a sequel need better elements, because the elements on Deadly Premonition are terrible. In definitive this game sucks. Expand
  14. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Deadly Premonition, despite its many flaws, is a great game. From the moment you step into Greenvale and start getting to know the inhabitants and your character himself, the ever eccentric FBI special agent Francis York Morgan, you'll know this game is special. No other game has kept me guessing, or amused me, or made me care about its characters more than Deadly Premonition does. While there were many things gameplay-wise that clearly shouldn't have been implemented the way they were, the story and characters alone, at least for me, make this game well worth the $20. Expand
  15. Dec 14, 2010
    9
    All I can say is play this game look past the graphics the mechanics and enjoy.if you stick with it and give it a chance I promise you'll have a very rewarding experience
  16. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    deadly premonition started off as a funny B rated movie and then slowly became one of the best games I've ever played. At first it seemed like a cheesy story that didnt take itself to seriously and devolved into a masterpiece (in my Opinion). This underrated game is a benchmark in video game character development and story telling. great characters, great story, nostalgic gameplay and some laugh out loud comedy. If you have the patients to play old ps2 era games you will love this game. hope i see a DP 2 and that it gets a good budget because the director deserves it. Expand
  17. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    Simply stunning - yes it looks awful, yes the control physics are shockingly bad, but the story...one of the most utterly bizarre and compelling tales in modern gaming.

    Given the right tools and backing from a major publisher, the guys at Access Games could seriously have a franchise that would equal if not better the early days of Silent Hill.
    If your idea of a good game is one that
    looks pretty or has big guns and explosions, then stay well away. But if you want a game that will grip you and have you thinking about it when you're not even playing, then pick up a copy today! Expand
  18. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Genuinely THE best storyline of any game I have ever played. This game kept me coming back for more like no other! Yes, the controls could be better, the character's mannerisms are ludicrous and the background music is often outrageously inappropriate but all of these quirks are ultimately endearing. Hate it or love it (I LOVE IT!), Deadly Premonition is one experience you will NEVER forget!
  19. Dec 12, 2011
    7
    Not a great game, perhaps not even good, but it's got personality... and personality goes a long way. Mediocre graphics (probably the worst i've seen on x360). Uninspired and repetitive combat. Bizarre yet quite interesting story, very much like a David Lynch's Film.
  20. Jul 21, 2011
    2
    Trash, but not the fun kind. Feels like the concept and ideas which sound quite good were well beyond the capabilities of the development team, resulting in GameCube visuals and horrid controls. Driving around which you have to do a lot can make you want to go hang yourself.
  21. Jun 13, 2011
    3
    The Sinner's Sandwich is the greatest sandwich invented since its peanut butter-based cousin. It's strawberry jam, sliced turkey and cornflakes on toast. The turkey works a bit like peanut butter, only with more of a savory, meaty (duh) flavor. Combined with jam, it reminds me of honey-glazed ham, only even more sweet and savory. The cornflakes taste neutral, but they give the sandwich this nice crunchy texture. It would probably be even better if the cornflakes were mixed with nuts or dried strawberries. 10/10.

    Too bad the game that created it, Deadly Premonition, isn't good at all. The very unique story and characters could have made this game a classic, but the combat is just so outdated and un-fun and the music so loud and inappropriate that they completely kill the game.

    0/10, +3 for the sandwich.
    Expand
  22. Aug 9, 2013
    0
    This game is by far the worst game i have ever played. terrible controls, story & everything imaginable. why did the developers bother, most overrated game ever, of all time plus it has no Three Dog
  23. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    Yes it's whole heartedly inspired by Twin Peaks, but DP is also very unique. The town of greenvale is very immersive. There's so many places to go, so much going on, that you can drive around for ages just sight seeing, grabbing collectibles, doing side quests, fishing and shopping, The game never makes you feel like you're being rushed. Everything about the title screams cult classic. The music, the dialouge, the story...it's just so captivating and memorable. I've been a gamer for years - and I have to say this game is definitely in my top five. Oh yeah - and it's also inspired by Shemue. Convinced yet? Expand
  24. Jun 8, 2013
    5
    The first thing that will strike you about Deadly Premonition is the poor (particularly by Xbox360 standards) graphics, this is a budget title make no mistake. For at least the first half-hour your opinion is unlikely to change as you are forced to try and shoot an endless parade of repetitive enemies using controls that would not feel out of place in the original Resident Evil on PSone.

    However give the game time and it may grow on you, this is basically Twin Peaks: The Video game, with lead character Francis 'York' Morgan forced to interact with a series of bizarre characters in an attempt to solve the murder of a local young girl. There are moments of genuine comedy and the crazy cast will draw you into the story until you really do want to find out just what is going on in this town. Whether you will enjoy this game or not basically depends on whether you can overlook the outdated graphics and controls, as well at the totally dull shooting sections, but it is certainly not like anything else I've ever played.
    Expand
  25. Jun 3, 2012
    6
    The gameplay is awful and the whole time side of the game is flawed, however the style and scares are absolutely brilliant, and the crappy graphics add to this bizarre brilliance. The character development is so strange and the whole setting is quite obviously based off of Twin Peaks. Unfortunately the brilliance behind the game's bizarre style and story is hindered greatly by the mediocre gameplay mechanics. Expand
  26. Oct 10, 2011
    7
    You have to give the developers credit. What they were able to do on such a minimal budget is impressive. Not only have they crafted an overall fine game, but they effectively revitalized a long since dead genre, action-adventure. Technical shortfalls aside, this game is packed with content, much of which you would compare more to a full retail product, than to a title that you would expect to see on store shelves for twenty dollars. Good characters, nice voice-acting, and an interesting story is what drives this game. It is a title all it's own, and it revels in the in-your-face weirdness seen from beginning to end. While the narrative of the game is far above the average for today's games, the same can't be said for the gameplay - the weakest part of the game. At first glance, Deadly Premonition seems like a Resident Evil 4 clone, with it's over the shoulder camera. This is far from the case. If there were one word to define Deadly Premonition's gameplay, it would be "clunky". Lining up headshots feels sluggish and very deliberate, and York (the game's protagonist) controls heavier than you would like. When everything is said and done, Deadly Premonition is a rather worthwhile title. While the technical shortfalls are sure to turn many people away, those with a bit of patience, and a taste for the bizarre, or those who are simply looking for a Shenmue-esque experience should really take a look. Expand
  27. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    If you're a gamer that can overlook the technical façade of a game, you'll find in Deadly Premonition a fantastic game. It might look as a PS2 game port in terms of graphics, but the narrative, characters, and story elements are a master piece. You'll enjoy an intrincated story in a weird town. Deep and well-rounded characters will reveil as you investigate further. Looking for simple comparatives, this might seem as a combination of a Silent Hill game and Twin Peaks TV show story. If you like any of these two, do not hesitate on getting a copy of this game. It can be find pretty cheap now.
    It's a pitty that a game such as this, just for not having a AAA technical aspect, didn't have much impact despite of having a lot of innovation in its game mechanics and story narrative.
    Expand
  28. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This is the weirdest game I've played in a while, mainly because it really challenges the question, "what makes a good game?" If you look at one side of things, i.e the presentation and gameplay, it's one of the worst games of this generation. If you look past that, however, at the story and characters, Deadly Premonition truly is a gem. A bat-sh*t crazy, disturbing gem.

    Graphics-At its
    best, the game looks like a low quality launch title. At its worst, it still looks like a launch title, just for the PS2. Character models and interiors look pretty decent, it's when you step outside that the game really attacks your eyes. You can get used to it, but it's still pretty bad

    Sound-The games soundtrack is a real mix of all sorts of odd tunes, and it's often completely inappropriate for the situation at hand. You'll find a gutted murder victim, only for a cheerful folk tune to start playing in the background. That being said, the soundtrack is also oddly catchy, and some songs actually tug at the heartstrings pretty well, and like the rest of the game, some of the songs are very reminiscent of Twin Peaks. Sound effects are laughably terrible, and sound like something out of an old Hanna-Barbera cartoon. Voice acting, however, is surprisingly solid, and it actually gets you attached to the characters.

    Gameplay-You know, I don't get the complaints for this section that much. Sure, the gameplay isn't superb, but it gets the job done, albeit a little slowly and clunky. Same goes for the driving, it's not great, but it works, and you never have to race or anything, so it's really not that big of an issue. What is an issue, however, is the map. This is an open world game with plenty of side-quests and hidden items that expand the compelling story, yet the map you use to find your way around is about as useful as a hammer without a head. It's completely broken and useless. You're better off making your own map from driving around and memorizing the game. I'm not kidding.

    Story-This is where the game shines. Its story starts out eerily reminiscent of Twin Peaks, but escalates into something more focused, and in my opinion, more compelling than anything Dale Cooper and the gang get up to. It's got a bittersweet ending that will leave you craving more Agent York

    Deadly premonition has some gaping flaws that will no doubt keep some people from enjoying it, but behind the wall of sh*t is a truly interesting world and story, and the game is so affordable, that I can't help but recommend it, just to see the story.

    7/10
    Expand
  29. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    If you like Call of Duty, or any of the pointless "flash, boom, run, shoot!" titles of today...
    It's probable you won't have the mental capacity to enjoy this beautiful creation.
  30. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    Just incredible! one of the best games of this generation. Imagine if it´s incredible that even the poor controls, poor graphics can not eclipse the fantastic of the game. This is a game full of charisma.
  31. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Deadly Premonition is not a game in the sense that it's button-mashing mania, fun for reactions to the pad or the decisive actions, it's an experience as Journey is, very Kafka-esque as an absorbing murder mystery. You have freedoms, and many idiosyncratic features which are cumbersome but uniquely enjoyable, with quirks which are entertaining as the peak of any B-Movie.

    The game is
    visionary for innovative gameplay and although it's flawed, the focus of an engrossing, surreal world is unparalleled. Expand
  32. Feb 20, 2014
    1
    Pretty crappy game. The story isn't actually all that good. Terrible pacing, non-nonsensical plot, absurdly predictable about halfway into the game and a complete rip-off of Twin Peaks. The characters at least try to emulate David Lynch's mysterious/weird atmosphere, but fall short into the valley of the just plain dumb and annoying. None of the characters really have anything useful to say, and only a few of them actually have any reason to exist within the game.

    Also, if you're saying bad graphics don't make it a bad game herr derr call of duty player: you're right, bad graphics don't make a bad game; bad everything makes a bad game. Don't be so pretentious as to think that people could only possibly ever dislike this game for the graphics. Yeah, the game is unique, but then, so is a fork with bent tines.
    Expand
  33. Apr 25, 2012
    7
    It's as if the developer just wanted to make a simple Resident Evil 4 copy and cash in on a miniscule budget but the publisher decided to force it onto a next gen system and bring in a demented maniac to spice it up. Swery 65 is that maniac and he'll have you collecting human bones, unwillingly learning about different types of marsupials, swerving all over the road and in-between unnatural grassy landscapes, babbling to your imaginary friend about 80's B horror movies, and chatting to mannequin locals with a heavy emphasis on misplaced pauses and strained expressions. The whole experience is surreal and awkward and wrong, like the game is constantly holding back a "gotcha! here's the real game..." admission. But that moment never comes and this refusal to bend to typical video game mores helps prove that broken game worlds like the one crazy ol' Francis York Morgan inhabits are welcome in their weird bravado but ultimately are best left as a novelty. Expand
  34. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing experience, you will encounter if you have a faible for videogames. Its hommages to x-files, twin peaks, superb horror games like resident evil or silent hill and his crazy story makes it the best videogame of all time.

    Its great that the game even sold a lot, so buy more copies :-)
  35. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    While borderline unusable controls, hideously outdated graphics and often repetitive gameplay should be the death knell of any current gen title, Deadly Premonition has an almost indefinable something that makes it a must play despite its failings. The story also borderlines on the ridiculous but it's in there that you find the charm, I actually "cared" about the people in the game, what became of them and once the story was told, I had that sense of loss that comes at the end of a good book, a response I've seldom, if ever, had to a game.

    A unique experience, certainly not one that's going to be enjoyed by all.
    Expand
  36. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    Yes, you've heard it all before, the gameplay/audio/graphics suck. The fact is, the story and characters are so well written and enthralling that it is easy to look past the many design flaws. Like a good TV show, I wanted to continue playing after each "episode" just to see what would happen next! This game provides a rare chance to truly experience something unique; any production - be it a movie, play, TV show, video game, book - yearns to provide this sort of connectedness with the viewer. This is only the 2nd time I have teared up at a video game (the first being Final Fantasy X) and I feel genuinely fulfilled to have spent 20+ hours in this odd, beautiful, disturbing, and sometimes humorous game. Expand
  37. Aug 21, 2012
    9
    I can only agree whole heartedly with every positive thing all these fans are saying. This was one of the first games I played and I did not have a lot to compare it with but loved it. Since then I have played over 100 games and it continues to be one of my absolute favourites, along with Half Life 2, Portal, Bio shock to name a few. It is the most unique and funny game along with being super scary. It does have its flaws, the controls and some wicked hard quick time events but it is so worth your time. If you were a fan of Twin Peaks you must play this game. This is a very special game and you should give it a try. Expand
  38. Jun 27, 2014
    4
    No entiendo como hay personas que hablan de este juego como uno de culto. Casi todos los apartados son pobres o deficientes. Sólo destaca su mundo abierto a explorar (que tampoco es que sea una montaña rusa de diversión) y la historia, que más que inspirarse en Twin Peaks, lo plagia descaradamente, calcando hasta algunas secuencias. Por lo que no sé dónde está ese mérito que algunos ven para darle un 10. Expand
  39. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    This game already has cult status within 2 years after its release. It's a must buy for any serious gamer out there with an interest for good movies or television. The game is a love letter to Twin Peaks (early nineties tv-series). Don't be folled by the poor controls or graphics. Get past the first two chapters and you will be sold!
    Finish the game and give your user score here and lets
    prove all that IGN (score 2) is just a commercial site with not the game(r) in mind. Expand
  40. May 8, 2012
    10
    If Deadly Premonition is not a cult, then I don't know what is. There is no meh about this game. You either love it, or hate it. Whether intentionally or not, the game is similar to several different titles. Most survival horror fans will remember Silent Hill and will be right. Many aspects of the game are similar; Main character who's been affected by an event in his past, which is to be uncovered in the game, transition from "normal" world to "other" world and the friggin' weird Japanese humor which lots of us love. That being said, Deadly Premonition isn't trying to be the new Silent Hill. It is completely different experience. To me, the major similarity was the ending - because I felt exactly the same after finishing Deadly Premonition as I felt after finishing Silent Hill 2 all those years ago; unsure whether be happy or sad. That feel of a bright sunrise after a devastating storm. Francis York Morgan is, as described in the game, surreal. If you like the game, you automatically love the character, isn't that right, Zach? Although he's the model of an FBI agent, his social skills are somewhat questionable, which creates many awkward and funny moments. What was that Zach? She wasn't offering gasoline discount? Time is an important factor in Deadly Premonition. There is no escape from it. Missions relevant to the main investigation start at predetermined time and location and you better not be late. The time between missions is just as interesting as missions themselves. Aside from relaxing activities, like fishing, playing darts, visiting haunted locations, coffee fortune-telling, collecting medals or driving through the town 80 miles per hour, there are tons of side missions and events. One hour in-game is equal to 20 minutes in real life, which is still much longer than in most games. Stores aren't open 24/7, their owners and other people aren't standing in one location all the time and even York must submit to the unstoppable force of time by eating, sleeping, shaving and cleaning his clothes. Yes, you will have to do those things, otherwise you might come to the unpleasant realization that those unfashionable dots surrounding Francis are not a flaw of the GPU, but regular flies. So should you buy or not? Do! Because even if you won't like it, few years from now, there will be collectors wanting to own physical copy of the game and will be willing to pay the price of a new AAA title for it. Expand
  41. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Yeah, so what it's flawed? This game is nothing but pure entertainment. Story, characters, humor, town. All of it is just so enjoyable and memorable, I can't help but love it. I really hope the guy behind it, Swery, makes another and puts it on Kickstarter. I will gladly donate :D
  42. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    This game should be bad, everything about it from the get go looks like its a poor ps2 game ported onto the 360. However if you can look past the graphical style you will be pleasantly surprised with what i would consider one of the best games this generation. The game has a charm like no other and Agent York is in my opinion one of the best Video game characters to date. I highly recommend picking this one up and sticking to it past the shoddy graphics Expand
  43. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    Well, the game it self is a mix of the survival horror part (witch includes resident evil, silent hill and clock tower) and open world part (like L.A.Noire, GTA and sims). Total product is hard to rate. Althougt the originaly mix, from point of gameply view it loses fun to any game that included in mix. From the point of graphics only games at Wii are worse. But the storyline will interest you and will not let you free, until the game end. Not always we are getting good Storylines with a good characters. So, if you like story games, you need to try it. Another problems are controls they are made in resident evil 4 styles. But you will quickly get accustomed to it. Expand
  44. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    This is one of, if not the, weirdest, most bizarre game I've ever played. It's awful yet amazing, ugly yet beautiful, boring yet very interesting. The controls are horrendous, the graphics are bad, and the sound effects are the worst you'll ever hear! How can a game which does so much wrong and feels and looks so amateurish get so many great reviews. Easy enough. If you'll be able to look through the graphics and mechanics 'n everything, you'll find a pearl of a game. Something so atmospheric and beautiful in it's gruesomeness it'll stay with you for probably quite a while. The characters are quite intriguing and the voice-acting isn't bad at all. At some points the game is slow. Especially when driving around town from point A to B. Just sit tight, give it time and try to enjoy everything the story has to offer. It's not a hard game also but the story is interesting enough to keep you wondering. It'll take you about 20 hours to beat the main story line and besides that there are plenty of side quests and other mysteries to solve. If you're able to have some patience and look through the sloppy graphics and repetitive sound effects you'll experience an great and unique game. I agree that if this would've came out ten years ago, it would've been respected a lot more. Just give it a chance. If not, don't give it a 1 or judge it by just its looks. Expand
  45. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Deadly Premonition brings us a fresh and somewhat nostalgic feel to to modern gaming that we really dont get to see that often unfortunately. The story follows a unique and quirky FBI Agent who goes by the name; Francis "York" Morgan, York has an odd tendency to talk to himself and often referes to some called "Zach" who is assumed to be somewhat of an imaginary friend. York is sent to investigate a peaceful town named "Greendale" where all is not as it seems due to recent murders in local forests, and the killer is rumored to be a that of a folklore tale. The graphics are nothing to write home about but are easy overlooked by the high quality of the unforgettable characters you will meet and phenomenal tale it tells.

    Deadly premonition should not be passed up by any hardcore gamer and is one the most interesting games I have played in years.
    Expand
  46. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    This game was an entirely unique experience. Deadly Premonition had a truly likable main character. This is so rare in modern games. This overshadows any flaws it may have had.
  47. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    This game sucks. It looks horrible the combat is awful, the audio mixing is atrocious, and there are points in the story where you just pull your hair out in confused rage. But I still think this is one of the most enjoyable games I have played in a very long time. To put it best... "It's so bad it's good". You should really get this game, it's pretty cheap on XBLA.

    Don't you think, Zach?
  48. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    I absolutely hated this game when starting off. I was very close on many occasions to switching off, one of the best decisions I ever made was to carry on. Once you "understand" the game and get to grips with the bad points of the game (and there are many when compared to a polished game such as GTA), you will then discover something so unique that it truly can be described as a one off. Once you get passed that point, you will find so much positives in this game that you will forget or at the very least forgive the bad aspects such as graphics.

    The story is insane, but still gripping as you want to know what will happen in the end. The characters are both cheesy and intriguing (which i dint realise could even be possible) and the world feels real.

    If you have an attention span longer than an hour and the patients to dig deep then buy this. You will not regret it.
    Expand
  49. Apr 28, 2014
    9
    An oddity to say the least. Easily one of the most bizarre, intrigueing and riveting games ever made. The gameplay and graphics are not so great but, the storyline is so bizarre, it more than compensates for it.
  50. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED. I LOVED THIS GAME. THIS GAME TOOK ME OVER 15HOURS. AND PROBABLY WILL TAKE YOU OVER 20+ HOURS IF YOU TRY TO DO SIDEQUESTS AND SUCH. The story really pulls you in, you feel the connection and its really fun and interesting. MUST BUY NAO.
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. 85
    It's a shame that so many gamers will never even hear about FBI Special Agent Francis York Morgan and the Raincoat Killer, because the game has so much to offer.
  2. Feb 3, 2011
    80
    Deadly Premonition is the unlikely meeting of Shenmue, Silent Hill and GTA, in a Twin Peaks setting... An unexpected mix that comes bundled with awful visuals and terribly old-school gameplay, but remains full of interesting things to discover. It mesmerizes the player thanks to a strange atmosphere, a compelling story, a cast of weird but terribly consistent characters, and a solid storytelling... In short, this is a unique gaming experience that will be be rewarding to players who can actually... endure it! See for yourself if you're ready to dismiss big (big) gameplay and visual shortcomings, to eventually discover a little shiny treasure... The cheap price (25 euros) may help you take that risk.
  3. Jan 31, 2011
    75
    You may love or hate Deadly Premonition and its pure heart hidden beneath errors, strange structure and PlayStation 2 graphics. Don't get fooled by the outside, there are plenty of good things hidden beneath this rough surface.