Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 279 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A third-person survival horror action game which puts you in the role of FBI Agent Francis York Morgan. In the process of investigating a murder, you will examine a series of interlocking mysteries in a remote rural town and will encounter an array of complex characters pivotal to the unraveling of the storyline’s mystery. Suspenseful action sequences will force you to make strategic moves, gliding by enemies in the shadows or engaging them with long-range weapons or hand-to-hand melee combat. Amidst a backdrop of soaring mountains and a town filled with eccentric natives, Agent Morgan must solve the mystery of the ‘Red Seed Murders’ and stay alive in a place where supernatural creatures and a folklore killer seek to end his investigation permanently. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. There is absolutely nothing in this industry that can compare to how weird and wonderful the whole experience is. Judged as a piece of entertainment, as a game that consistently surprises and amazes and leaves jaws hanging, I have no choice but to say that Deadly Premonition goes above and beyond. This game is so bad, it's not just become good. It's pretty close to perfect.
  2. Jan 4, 2011
    84
    Forget the Dreamcast-era graphics and some clumsy mechanics (if you can) and lose yourself in this sick and perverse thriller. You will never forget it.
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    80
    Like Twin Peaks, it's as full of as many happy accidents and surreal edges as it is well-engineered shocks and hilarious moments, and while it can't ever hope to match the impact of Lynch's classic, those who take the ride will be rewarded.
  4. 75
    Deadly Premonition is by no means a great game, at least in the traditional sense, but I'll be damned if I didn't enjoy every minute of my nearly 42 hours playing it. The setting and story might have a little too much in common with the early 1990s television series Twin Peaks, but the homage is done with love and admiration.
  5. Oct 25, 2010
    70
    It's an experience like no other, if not always for the right reasons. I adored it, but I couldn't tell you in earnest that you will feel the same. But I will tell you this: you absolutely must play it. How else would you ever know?
  6. 70
    Fans of Twin Peaks and survival horror especially will find a lot to love in this flawed title.
  7. 20
    Awful in nearly every way. The Twin Peaks meets Resident Evil with a dash of Grand Theft Auto formula sounds pretty great, but it was well beyond the capabilities of this development team. Terrible controls. Terrible pacing. Terrible sound effects. Terrible visuals.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 86
  2. Negative: 16 out of 86
  1. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    Just incredible! one of the best games of this generation. Imagine if it´s incredible that even the poor controls, poor graphics can not eclipse the fantastic of the game. This is a game full of charisma. Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Genuinely THE best storyline of any game I have ever played. This game kept me coming back for more like no other! Yes, the controls could be better, the character's mannerisms are ludicrous and the background music is often outrageously inappropriate but all of these quirks are ultimately endearing. Hate it or love it (I LOVE IT!), Deadly Premonition is one experience you will NEVER forget! Expand
  3. May 5, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game. Even leaving aside the value proposition (it's only $20), Deadly Premonition offers an interesting setting and bizzare characters. The catch is that to enjoy what this game has to offer, you have to suspend your disbelief, and possibly your good taste. This is a goofy survival horror romp through a japanese version of Twin Peaks, and while the payoff is immense, getting there can sometimes be a bit of a slog. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Deadly Premonition brings us a fresh and somewhat nostalgic feel to to modern gaming that we really dont get to see that often unfortunately. The story follows a unique and quirky FBI Agent who goes by the name; Francis "York" Morgan, York has an odd tendency to talk to himself and often referes to some called "Zach" who is assumed to be somewhat of an imaginary friend. York is sent to investigate a peaceful town named "Greendale" where all is not as it seems due to recent murders in local forests, and the killer is rumored to be a that of a folklore tale. The graphics are nothing to write home about but are easy overlooked by the high quality of the unforgettable characters you will meet and phenomenal tale it tells.

    Deadly premonition should not be passed up by any hardcore gamer and is one the most interesting games I have played in years.
    Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2011
    8
    Ever think what it would be like if someone mixed together GTA and Resident Evil? Well this game comes pretty close. Never played anything like it and probably never will. The game mechanics are not going to blow you away but the sheer bang for your buck will. 19.99 new for a game that has 3 times the content as any other horror game ive played. It's easily one of the more memorable games on 360 and I recommend it. Collapse
  6. Dec 12, 2011
    7
    Not a great game, perhaps not even good, but it's got personality... and personality goes a long way. Mediocre graphics (probably the worst i've seen on x360). Uninspired and repetitive combat. Bizarre yet quite interesting story, very much like a David Lynch's Film. Expand
  7. Aug 9, 2013
    0
    This game is by far the worst game i have ever played. terrible controls, story & everything imaginable. why did the developers bother, most overrated game ever, of all time plus it has no Three Dog Expand

See all 86 User Reviews