Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 314 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A third-person survival horror action game which puts you in the role of FBI Agent Francis York Morgan. In the process of investigating a murder, you will examine a series of interlocking mysteries in a remote rural town and will encounter an array of complex characters pivotal to theA third-person survival horror action game which puts you in the role of FBI Agent Francis York Morgan. In the process of investigating a murder, you will examine a series of interlocking mysteries in a remote rural town and will encounter an array of complex characters pivotal to the unraveling of the storyline’s mystery. Suspenseful action sequences will force you to make strategic moves, gliding by enemies in the shadows or engaging them with long-range weapons or hand-to-hand melee combat. Amidst a backdrop of soaring mountains and a town filled with eccentric natives, Agent Morgan must solve the mystery of the ‘Red Seed Murders’ and stay alive in a place where supernatural creatures and a folklore killer seek to end his investigation permanently. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. There is absolutely nothing in this industry that can compare to how weird and wonderful the whole experience is. Judged as a piece of entertainment, as a game that consistently surprises and amazes and leaves jaws hanging, I have no choice but to say that Deadly Premonition goes above and beyond. This game is so bad, it's not just become good. It's pretty close to perfect.
  2. Jan 4, 2011
    84
    Forget the Dreamcast-era graphics and some clumsy mechanics (if you can) and lose yourself in this sick and perverse thriller. You will never forget it.
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    80
    Like Twin Peaks, it's as full of as many happy accidents and surreal edges as it is well-engineered shocks and hilarious moments, and while it can't ever hope to match the impact of Lynch's classic, those who take the ride will be rewarded.
  4. Its production values are unquestionably budget, but the game's ambitious level of corny self-awareness makes it a stupidly affordable, must-have cult title for the adventurous set.
  5. Oct 25, 2010
    70
    It's an experience like no other, if not always for the right reasons. I adored it, but I couldn't tell you in earnest that you will feel the same. But I will tell you this: you absolutely must play it. How else would you ever know?
  6. If you demand polish, this-gen graphics, and spoonfed plots - well, maybe you need to move briskly along. [Issue#65, p.90]
  7. 20
    Awful in nearly every way. The Twin Peaks meets Resident Evil with a dash of Grand Theft Auto formula sounds pretty great, but it was well beyond the capabilities of this development team. Terrible controls. Terrible pacing. Terrible sound effects. Terrible visuals.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 93
  2. Negative: 17 out of 93
  1. JohnF.
    Feb 28, 2010
    10
    Deadly Premonition is by far the single most original and entertaining video game I have ever had the honor of playing. It manages to be Deadly Premonition is by far the single most original and entertaining video game I have ever had the honor of playing. It manages to be hilarious, emotional, and disturbing all at once, and it will never cease to surprise you. Forget the visuals, forget the negative reviews, just play this game. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  2. MichaelF.
    May 17, 2010
    10
    Never before have I played a game so horribly made that it's something truly special. Every single aspect of this game works with one Never before have I played a game so horribly made that it's something truly special. Every single aspect of this game works with one another to create a unique experience that I've never had with any other game. The story is incredibly well thought-out, and the dialog is hilariously outstanding. For 20 bones, you'll be hard pressed to find another special piece of art like this that will last you a good 20 hours of story time, along with 50 side missions and 64 collectible items, all strewn across a MASSIVE open town that is incredibly believable and loving. Buy this, and don't think twice about it. Expand
  3. May 5, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game. Even leaving aside the value proposition (it's only $20), Deadly Premonition offers an interesting setting andThis is an amazing game. Even leaving aside the value proposition (it's only $20), Deadly Premonition offers an interesting setting and bizzare characters. The catch is that to enjoy what this game has to offer, you have to suspend your disbelief, and possibly your good taste. This is a goofy survival horror romp through a japanese version of Twin Peaks, and while the payoff is immense, getting there can sometimes be a bit of a slog. Expand
  4. JamieE
    Mar 2, 2010
    9
    Entertainment is entertainment reguardless the look, I would have paid more for it,mabey not much more but well worth the asking price . A Entertainment is entertainment reguardless the look, I would have paid more for it,mabey not much more but well worth the asking price . A delight , a diamond in the tird . A game with so much character it overlaps the graphics and gameplay. And for the only game to keep a smile on my face from beginning to end, I beleive this weird and fowl display of poop is a masterpeice and deserves the appreciation of my score on my face from beginning to end. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    One of the best and underrated games of this generation.
    We need more games like this one. The only bad points are the graphics and the
    One of the best and underrated games of this generation.
    We need more games like this one. The only bad points are the graphics and the achievements for the Xbox 360 version of the game.
    Expand
  6. Aug 11, 2010
    7
    Deadly premonitions has one of the poorest game controls i have ever seen. Basically they ripped the controls off of resident evil 4. ThisDeadly premonitions has one of the poorest game controls i have ever seen. Basically they ripped the controls off of resident evil 4. This game has a dark but uplifted story. At one point in the game you could be in a combat scene when all of a sudden an uplifting music comes on. It also has a silent hill feel to it and overall is a generic horror game. The graphics are appalling for 2010. It is defiantly not the worst graphics Ive seen on the Xbox 360 but it is close. It is defiantly worth the $20, considering it takes 20+ hours to beat it. the story is ingenious the characters are awesome of course its not meant to be entirely serious but the characters are well played. the sound is alright voice acting sometimes skips. There is allot of side missions which extends the game. The soundtrack is one of the best Ive ever heard. All and all it is a good game, combat is terrible, music is good, story is great, i would defiantly say it is worth a 7/10. Expand
  7. Aug 9, 2013
    0
    This game is by far the worst game i have ever played. terrible controls, story & everything imaginable. why did the developers bother, mostThis game is by far the worst game i have ever played. terrible controls, story & everything imaginable. why did the developers bother, most overrated game ever, of all time plus it has no Three Dog Collapse

See all 93 User Reviews