Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 49
  2. Negative: 2 out of 49
Buy On
  1. Jun 26, 2013
    74
    If you like having a good laugh, fart jokes, guns, explosions, boobs, chimichangas, comics, swords, and pretty much anything awesome–you should probably go out and get this game. If you don’t like these things–there isn’t really anything left to say to you.
  2. 70
    Not quite up to the standards of High Moon's Transformers: War For Cybertron, Deadpool is nevertheless a decent use of the Marvel license. That said, there's just something about the whole product that feels a little dated, and the lack of content doesn't help matters either.
  3. Jul 2, 2013
    70
    Deadpool is fun and crazy, you simply can’t stop laughing.
  4. Jul 1, 2013
    70
    Deadpool is fun to watch and it's fun to play, but the main campaign is a little short and there are some technical and design issues.
  5. Jun 29, 2013
    70
    Deadpool can be surprisingly fun. The combat's well put together and there are some genuinely hilarious moments in the story, but it has its share of controller-throwing difficulty problems and hit-or-miss jokes, many that aren't quite as funny if you play through the game more than once.
  6. Jun 28, 2013
    70
    It's a good little game, and not really anything more than that. It's not as "awesome" as Deadpool himself may tell you, but hey, it's about ten thousand times better than X-Men: Destiny, and I think we can all be thankful for that!
  7. Jun 25, 2013
    70
    High Moon surprised me with competent action and better-than average storytelling, and even Deadpool himself grew on me, despite his dumber-than-dirt antics.
  8. Jun 25, 2013
    70
    High Moon Studios has created not only one of the best superhero games, but one of the funniest games you'll ever play--period. Sure, it's low brow and a little heavy on the dick and fart jokes, but... wait, actually, that's not a bad thing. It's a great thing.
  9. Jul 2, 2013
    65
    Deadpool could have been a lighter take on superheroes in an age of gaming dominated by dark and gritty vigilantes, but it completely wastes that opportunity.
  10. Jul 1, 2013
    65
    Deadpool will be well-received by Marvel comics fans, but a lack of mechanical depth holds the game back.
  11. Jun 30, 2013
    65
    Deadpool proves that he deserves his own game. It also proves that a strong character with a lot of personality can hide a number of discomforts and gameplay related frustrations. Whenever Deadpool stops making jokes, this becomes painfully obvious. But just when you're about to quit, the joker returns to keep you playing.
  12. Games Master UK
    Jul 29, 2013
    64
    Gags frequently hit the mark. The other bits? Not so much. [Sept 2013, p.70]
  13. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 19, 2013
    60
    A hero that fits in no pigeon-hole, of the video game that prays to the pigeon-holes. Run up headlong, and maybe you are going to be relatively satisfied. [Issue#232]
  14. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Aug 16, 2013
    60
    By the end of the game, you'll be questioning your sanity. [Issue#101, p.78]
  15. Hyper Magazine
    Aug 8, 2013
    60
    The character is too niche for broad appeal, but if you're a fan of the comics you should have a good time. [Sept 2013, p.71]
  16. Jul 30, 2013
    60
    Deadpool is an game that will not remain in the annals of videogame, but that will be much more easily remembered as another missed opportunity.
  17. Jul 14, 2013
    60
    A humorous game with a charismatic and totally insane comic hero. However, it has a weak point - the action itself. Like delicious salsa on a stale ordinary tortilla.
  18. Jul 1, 2013
    60
    High Moon Studio pulled it of thanks to the game’s incredible humor and with a little help from Daniel Way and Nolan North. Its gameplay mechanics and visuals our out of date, but any Deadpool fan will certainly be able to ignore them.
  19. Jun 26, 2013
    60
    A game that makes fun of the very things that make it mediocre.
  20. Jun 25, 2013
    60
    Deadpool is an interesting comic book character unexploited in this game. Activision and High Moon Studios have made a correct and acceptable production, but only that. The great humor is not enough to talk of a wonder.
  21. Jun 25, 2013
    60
    I wouldn’t say it falls into the “it’s so bad, it’s good” camp, but like a cheesy Nic Cage movie, it sometimes hits the right comedic notes, but it just doesn’t hit them enough.
  22. 60
    Ultimately, in being unashamed, obnoxious, immature and insane, Deadpool is Deadpool alright - for better and for worse.
  23. Jun 25, 2013
    60
    Fans of the character will be pleased with how well his off-the-wall mannerisms have been realised in game form, and there's enough inspired wackiness to make your first play-through worthwhile, but the same lack of nuance and depth that makes Deadpool such enjoyable company also means that his game is a joke not worth hearing twice.
  24. Jun 25, 2013
    60
    Behind Deadpool’s demented humor, creative script, and brilliant sight gags is a fairly conventional, generic action game. It’s not bad, but it’s not particularly good, either – and without oodles of hidden secrets or unlockables to discover, there’s really no reason to replay it once you’ve finished.
  25. Jun 25, 2013
    60
    Better to take it as an unvarnished comedy, then, because Deadpool self-destructs when you read so deeply (and madly?) to see satire. That's okay, bearing in mind there are better games in which you slice people up for points, and that everything Deadpool the man revels in – the bullets, the blood and the babes – are sincerely sought and embarrassingly commonplace in the marketplace to begin with.
  26. Jul 4, 2013
    58
    Funny character, great gags and a surprising sense of humour. However, that's all for Deadpool, a very repetitive hack 'n slash game with poor battle mechanics.
  27. Sep 17, 2013
    55
    This game is repetitive, with boring level design and a camera which doesn’t want to work. Deadpool is a great character with a lot charisma and humour, but he tries too hard to be really funny.
  28. Jul 1, 2013
    55
    Comic book characters, just as any work of literature, can be timeless. What Deadpool fails to acknowledge is that he does not fall in this category. While the likes of X-Men and Hulk have served, at times, as allegories, there is just too much toilet-driven humour in Deadpool to come off as anything more than droll shtick.
  29. Jun 25, 2013
    55
    Comic fans looking for a mindless romp may find Wade Wilson’s misadventures up to the task, but players seeking some actual substance should look for another mercenary to hire.
  30. Jun 25, 2013
    55
    Deadpool tries to hide its problems behind an exuberant personality, but all the talking in the world can't smooth over some fundamental flaws.
  31. Sep 10, 2013
    50
    Deadpool is an action game that tries very hard to make fun of the game medium. Sometimes it is very funny while other times it is not. Gameplay-wise Deadpool manages to be pretty standard stuff but it is rather evident that it should’ve needed more time in development.
  32. Aug 21, 2013
    50
    Outside of a few key moments when things get changed up, gameplay is only ever average at best. [Issue#138, p.108]
  33. Jul 5, 2013
    50
    Rent or pick it up when the price inevitably drops. Nowhere near as awesome as Deadpool would have you believe.
  34. Jul 2, 2013
    50
    The irony is that Deadpool makes fun of many gameplay mechanics, only to end up using them poorly.
  35. Jun 27, 2013
    50
    When it hits its targets the game can be genuinely funny, but its aim is too haphazard and the gameplay nowhere near good enough to pick up the slack.
  36. Jun 27, 2013
    50
    Deadpool fits in neatly with the rest of the game titles by developer High Moon Studios. It's a good tribute to a well established character, but the gameplay itself feels clunky and isn't all that satisfying to play. Switching between swordplay and gunplay has been done much better in other action titles.
  37. Jun 25, 2013
    50
    Deadpool is a great character wrapped in a standard (and short) action experience. It can be fun in quick bursts, but the lack of a real challenge until the very end means it tires quickly.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 370 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 370
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    Everyone should have known Deadpool wouldn't be revolutionary but it's still one hell of a funny game and just a fun game. It has everythingEveryone should have known Deadpool wouldn't be revolutionary but it's still one hell of a funny game and just a fun game. It has everything that will entertain any Deadpool fan. Full Review »
  2. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    Okay, I personally love this game, but I have to admit that it makes some mistakes.
    It lacks some polish, the graphics aren't that great, but
    Okay, I personally love this game, but I have to admit that it makes some mistakes.
    It lacks some polish, the graphics aren't that great, but I don't really mind that at all ...
    Looking back, the combos were slightly repetitive, but I don't recall it ever being a problem.
    And the tutorial is a bit cheesy and clunky, it's like they didn't even really care if the tutorial was integrated into the story well enough, but I guess it's really well explained, since ...You know, Deadpool obliterates the fourth wall.
    Now, I'm seeing reviews saying he makes too many jokes, just ...What do you expect? Max Payne? It's Deadpool. "Sorry I use humor to deflect my insecurities. Plus, I'm HILARIOUS!" Deadpool.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    I was pretty disappointed by this one. The camera really this game over and the combat wasn't as deep as I would like it, but, in the end, itI was pretty disappointed by this one. The camera really this game over and the combat wasn't as deep as I would like it, but, in the end, it didn't even matter! I was having loads of fun. The humor to this game is hands-down the best part. I give this game a nice 7/10. Full Review »