Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 49
  2. Negative: 2 out of 49
  1. Jun 26, 2013
    85
    Unlike Duke Nukem, Deadpool works in the 21st century thanks to some strong game mechanics and although it may not be Batman Arkham City, it does come close in terms of fun and over the top battles.
  2. Jun 25, 2013
    83
    Self-referential, acerbic, psychotic, and just balls-out fun, the game not only breaks the the fourth wall, it absolutely destroys it, giving us the best written Marvel game to date.
  3. Jun 25, 2013
    83
    Deadpool won’t win any awards for innovation, and it won’t really stick with you, but you’ll have a hard time not enjoying its self-aware humor and action. Fans of Deadpool the character will have a great time with Deadpool the game. As far as super hero games go, this is definitely one of the better ones.
  4. 80
    The goofy ending shenanigans are worth the trouble, of course, but it’s always a shame to see a runner stumble just before the finish line. Luckily, the rest of Deadpool is so light on its feet and so steadfastly amusing that you’re bound to remember all of the pleasure and none of the pain.
  5. Jun 25, 2013
    80
    You’ll be fighting the camera sometimes as much as enemies, and the balance between guns and melee needs a bit more work, but most of the time, I was laughing too hard to care. The script is a love letter to Deadpool fans, so if you love the Merc with the Mouth, this game will hit your chimichanga-flavored sweet spot.
  6. Jun 27, 2013
    78
    We can't forget about all the issues the game has, but still we think it's a game made for Deadpool fans, and those fans should give it a try. At the end of the day it's fun and entertaining, and that's more that what many other titles out there can offer.
  7. Jul 3, 2013
    77
    High Moon Studios have injected just the right amount of crazy into this game and fans of the comics will latch onto it immediately. Others however, might need to prepare themselves for one of the maddest gaming experiences they’ve ever encountered.
  8. Jul 5, 2013
    75
    Deadpool's charm and the great nonsense humor that High Moon Managet do infuse in the game are its brightest spots; on the other side we find an average and quite anonymous gameplay, with a too short longevity. Deadpool fans will surely love it, while anyone else should at least wait to find it at a budget price.
  9. Jun 30, 2013
    75
    By the time you're viewing the credits, you'll have had a great ride that doesn't compare to other games. Of course, the action is as standard as can be and often done better, but the sense of humor is so perfect, that you'll actually suspect Deadpool himself to have developed the game.
  10. Jun 28, 2013
    75
    Deadpool won’t win any innovation awards. The mechanics are as common as a loaf of bread. But when it comes to humor the polarizing hero is second to none. I haven’t laughed this hard while playing in a long time.
  11. Jun 26, 2013
    74
    If you like having a good laugh, fart jokes, guns, explosions, boobs, chimichangas, comics, swords, and pretty much anything awesome–you should probably go out and get this game. If you don’t like these things–there isn’t really anything left to say to you.
  12. 70
    Not quite up to the standards of High Moon's Transformers: War For Cybertron, Deadpool is nevertheless a decent use of the Marvel license. That said, there's just something about the whole product that feels a little dated, and the lack of content doesn't help matters either.
  13. Jul 2, 2013
    70
    Deadpool is fun and crazy, you simply can’t stop laughing.
  14. Jul 1, 2013
    70
    Deadpool is fun to watch and it's fun to play, but the main campaign is a little short and there are some technical and design issues.
  15. Jun 29, 2013
    70
    Deadpool can be surprisingly fun. The combat's well put together and there are some genuinely hilarious moments in the story, but it has its share of controller-throwing difficulty problems and hit-or-miss jokes, many that aren't quite as funny if you play through the game more than once.
  16. Jun 28, 2013
    70
    It's a good little game, and not really anything more than that. It's not as "awesome" as Deadpool himself may tell you, but hey, it's about ten thousand times better than X-Men: Destiny, and I think we can all be thankful for that!
  17. Jun 25, 2013
    70
    High Moon surprised me with competent action and better-than average storytelling, and even Deadpool himself grew on me, despite his dumber-than-dirt antics.
  18. Jun 25, 2013
    70
    High Moon Studios has created not only one of the best superhero games, but one of the funniest games you'll ever play--period. Sure, it's low brow and a little heavy on the dick and fart jokes, but... wait, actually, that's not a bad thing. It's a great thing.
  19. Jul 2, 2013
    65
    Deadpool could have been a lighter take on superheroes in an age of gaming dominated by dark and gritty vigilantes, but it completely wastes that opportunity.
  20. Jul 1, 2013
    65
    Deadpool will be well-received by Marvel comics fans, but a lack of mechanical depth holds the game back.
  21. Jun 30, 2013
    65
    Deadpool proves that he deserves his own game. It also proves that a strong character with a lot of personality can hide a number of discomforts and gameplay related frustrations. Whenever Deadpool stops making jokes, this becomes painfully obvious. But just when you're about to quit, the joker returns to keep you playing.
  22. Jul 29, 2013
    64
    Gags frequently hit the mark. The other bits? Not so much. [Sept 2013, p.70]
  23. 60
    A hero that fits in no pigeon-hole, of the video game that prays to the pigeon-holes. Run up headlong, and maybe you are going to be relatively satisfied. [Issue#232]
  24. Aug 16, 2013
    60
    By the end of the game, you'll be questioning your sanity. [Issue#101, p.78]
  25. Aug 8, 2013
    60
    The character is too niche for broad appeal, but if you're a fan of the comics you should have a good time. [Sept 2013, p.71]
  26. Jul 30, 2013
    60
    Deadpool is an game that will not remain in the annals of videogame, but that will be much more easily remembered as another missed opportunity.
  27. Jul 14, 2013
    60
    A humorous game with a charismatic and totally insane comic hero. However, it has a weak point - the action itself. Like delicious salsa on a stale ordinary tortilla.
  28. Jul 1, 2013
    60
    High Moon Studio pulled it of thanks to the game’s incredible humor and with a little help from Daniel Way and Nolan North. Its gameplay mechanics and visuals our out of date, but any Deadpool fan will certainly be able to ignore them.
  29. Jun 26, 2013
    60
    A game that makes fun of the very things that make it mediocre.
  30. Jun 25, 2013
    60
    Deadpool is an interesting comic book character unexploited in this game. Activision and High Moon Studios have made a correct and acceptable production, but only that. The great humor is not enough to talk of a wonder.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 337 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 83
  2. Negative: 10 out of 83
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    Everyone should have known Deadpool wouldn't be revolutionary but it's still one hell of a funny game and just a fun game. It has everything that will entertain any Deadpool fan. Full Review »
  2. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    Okay, I personally love this game, but I have to admit that it makes some mistakes.
    It lacks some polish, the graphics aren't that great, but
    I don't really mind that at all ...
    Looking back, the combos were slightly repetitive, but I don't recall it ever being a problem.
    And the tutorial is a bit cheesy and clunky, it's like they didn't even really care if the tutorial was integrated into the story well enough, but I guess it's really well explained, since ...You know, Deadpool obliterates the fourth wall.
    Now, I'm seeing reviews saying he makes too many jokes, just ...What do you expect? Max Payne? It's Deadpool. "Sorry I use humor to deflect my insecurities. Plus, I'm HILARIOUS!" Deadpool.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    Although this game has flaws- oh wait, I don't care, I couldn't stop laughing, and I am having hell of a good time, so you know what? It deserves a 10/10! Full Review »