Def Jam: Icon Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Infusing hip-hop music, culture and lifestyle into the gameplay, EA Chicago and Def Jam Interactive push the boundaries of game development bringing unique and innovative content to the next generation of gaming. Music is the cornerstone of hip-hop culture so EA wanted to incorporate musicInfusing hip-hop music, culture and lifestyle into the gameplay, EA Chicago and Def Jam Interactive push the boundaries of game development bringing unique and innovative content to the next generation of gaming. Music is the cornerstone of hip-hop culture so EA wanted to incorporate music and rhythm into the actual gameplay mechanics. EA Chicago delivers star-stunning action and bone breaking beats as players live out the life of a hip hop mogul, going from rags to riches. Incorporating hip-hop culture into every aspect of the game, DEF JAM: ICON delivers the intensity of a no-holds-barred street fight but with style and rhythm. Music affects how players fight in each venue and environmental interactions and hazards become a key strategy to staying alive. The game's unique fighting gameplay controls introduce a new way for gamers to fight as they assume the role of top celebrity characters such as Ludacris, T.I. and Big Boi. Innovative controls give better feedback to players so they feel like they're actually throwing the combat moves. Gamers can now fight with the style and flash of the superstar personalities. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48
  1. The game’s music system puts game audio in a brand new light, making it an integral part of the action. The whole game seems to course in line with the music in a synergy that hasn’t been done, but definitely should be replicated.
  2. While the “DJ beat” system is not all it was cracked up to be, the deep story mode, destructible environments, and kick-ass soundtrack polish out the game quite well.
  3. 80
    But as pretty as the game is, and as great as the soundtrack might be, the game's real draw lies in the eight amazingly detailed rumble locations. [Apr 2007, p.83]
  4. There is no doubt that Def Jam Icon is a fun game that is easy to play and full of neat ideas for a fighting game. However due to the lack of depth and variety to the game play means you are left with a basic brawler that simply looks very nice.
  5. 65
    This one's fun, no doubt about it, and the way the beats bang the environment is a must-see. But its lack of fighting depth definitely keeps it on the casual tip.
  6. 60
    Icon is serviceable, but it’s not something you’ll be spinning in your disc tray for very long.
  7. The controls are a bit sluggish and sometimes unresponsive.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 7 out of 25
  1. DanielA.
    Mar 12, 2007
    10
    Best particle effects in any game.
  2. RyanH.
    Mar 13, 2007
    10
    Legendary. Quite possibly the most important piece to come from a game developer in the modern era and I base this postulation entirely on Legendary. Quite possibly the most important piece to come from a game developer in the modern era and I base this postulation entirely on the visual effects and environments that are so divinely executed. Expand
  3. TimmyT.
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    For sure this game has great graphics and you can see that out the gate, what you may not get initially is how to actually play this fighting For sure this game has great graphics and you can see that out the gate, what you may not get initially is how to actually play this fighting game. Looking at this as a sequence to FFNY is probably the worst thing you can do, instead I suggest giving it a chance as a brand new title because it does not play like any other fighter out there. Collapse
  4. onearm
    Mar 17, 2007
    8
    Gameplay-I don't like the fact of being forced to use the hazards it's repetitive, shallow and boring. Controls- a bit laggie Gameplay-I don't like the fact of being forced to use the hazards it's repetitive, shallow and boring. Controls- a bit laggie Graphics- the characters and clothing look realistic, the environments are pretty interesting, but I hate the building with bass-what a waste. The color treatment through-out the fights is fun and stylistic. Storymode- fast paced -thank goodness- the cut scenes are ok ,but way too low in volume everytime they come on I have to turn up the volume to hear them. The lip-sync is ok to. Audio- the audio is good, but two things bother me about the audio: the punches sound exactly like the explosions, and the overall mix is sub-par. I say this because the gameplay is louder then the cut scenes and the hub tv area is louder then them both. It's annoying always having to change the volume-I just want to set it and leave it. Expand
  5. BillG.
    Mar 11, 2007
    7
    I've seen so many great ads for this game I had to go and pick it up. Unfortunately, it might look hot, but the game plays really SLOW I've seen so many great ads for this game I had to go and pick it up. Unfortunately, it might look hot, but the game plays really SLOW and is way too complex for my taste, though maybe that's because I've been playing so much NBA Street lately. Anyhow, I just can't figure this one out. I recommend giving this one a look, but be prepared for quite a learning curve. Expand
  6. ShaunL.
    Mar 19, 2007
    4
    I must say I am very disappointed with this game. The previous two titles were great in the whole concept. Which should have carried over to I must say I am very disappointed with this game. The previous two titles were great in the whole concept. Which should have carried over to this one. All of the moves, and fighting styles are completely transparent. Yeah, you can choose different "styles" when entering a fight but they are all the same. No special attacks, no building strengths in each individual fighting style, and no real entertainment value. I bought this game and finished it the same day I spent hard earned money for it. The graphics are next-gen and very well done, but a good game shouldn't stop there. If EA and Def Jam wanted to do something different with the third installment of "Def Jam" or whatever you would call it, they have succeeded. In doing this they have successfully made this consumer think twice before purchasing Def Jam 4. Expand
  7. TedShaw
    Jul 17, 2009
    1
    I picked this game up since I was a big fan of Fight for NY on the original xbox. Unfortuntly, this game has litterly no similarties with itsI picked this game up since I was a big fan of Fight for NY on the original xbox. Unfortuntly, this game has litterly no similarties with its predocessor. The gameplay is godawful, and the controls are no better.

    Instead of the fun, fast gameplay from Fight for NY, Icon has slow, fight night style 2-on-2 fighting.
    This game is unplayable. I litterly could not win a match because of how godawful the controls are.
    Expand

See all 25 User Reviews