User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 234 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 234

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    0
    This game could have been better but seems rushed and not properly finished. Don't waste your money on it as it should be in the sale bin shortly. Buy Borderlands 2 or Bioshock Infinite instead of this pile of garbage.
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    0
    Actually the worst game I have ever had the misfortune of buying. I have never seen such a unfinished game in my life. Borderlands meets fallout 3 that is such a massive insult to them two games. Take it from me someone who has actually played the game and not been paid to write. DO NOT waste you're money on this terrible game.
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    4
    What a disappointment this turned out to be, im not going to waste much time with this review as I personally feel Ive wasted enough time playing the game. The game idea its self had the potential to be something really great, ultimately it looks so outdated against current titles, I found it repetitive, I was less intrested in it the longer I forced myself to play it in the hope it got better, the voice acting is cheap, the Ai are badly scripted and restricted for a game that was 5yrs in development. The graphics are rough as hell, and in particular I run a 30meg tinterweb connection and the game has lost at numerous points, sounds and texturing, framerates slow to freezing point at times, for a game that had been in devlopment since 2008 I find this a total waste of time and cash and best avoided, the points ive made above were more than enough for me to decide after 18hrs of play this will be getting traded in at the first possible opportunity. For much greater alternatives try Mass Effect 1, 2 & 3, Borderlands 1 & 2 and the Gear of War series. Granted its an MMO title but whats the point if console tech is underpowered this is a PC title but I doubt that would change how bad this game really turned out to be. Sorry folks....... Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2013
    4
    Not really sure how this game has gotten such good reviews, I mean it has promise, but it is bare bones. The PVE combat isnt awful, but its pretty repetitve, and EXTREMELY glitchy, forget about playing with other players, they teleport around and you will be lucky to even see the other person you are playing with. Lot of the quests or challenges have you go for a high score, and during these events you see other players doing same quest porting in and out, its awful. Maybe if they somehow fix these bugs, and if they have instances it might be somewhat playable. However, as it stands, its really bad. Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    0
    Let me say, I did not buy this game, I merely rented it. It is god awful. Who cares about looking at bigger pictures or embracing a subpar game just because it is an MMO. This game is awful...wait, awful doesn't do it justice. It is downright the worst game I have ever played. The AI is by far the worst with a player having to be about 2 feet away to pull them into attacking. The rendering doesn't even meet current gen xbox 360 beauty and considering the technology is old, that is pretty sad. If you want to be disappointed and even more bored than usual with grinding out to level up then by all means buy this game. Otherwise sate your MMO fix elsewhere Expand
  6. Apr 3, 2013
    0
    10? Really? How dare anyone give this game a 10. Poor controls...poor graphics...horrible lag...to compare this to Gears of War, Borderlands, or Fallout 3 is beyond a joke. Clearly on the lines of Mind jack, Inversion, and Damnation. Don't believe the lies! This game is junk and will have a trade in value of $4 by tomorrow. This is a warning to any gamer thinking about buying it, these positive reviews are misleading. I was a big dummy! Don't be like me!!! Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2013
    1
    I have ~20 hrs in the game, more than most because I could actually play the damn thing, and I must say....Terrible. Don't waste your money. Don't listen to the fanboys. To compare this game to Borderlands and Fallout 3 is a disgrace to those games. This is not a shoot and loot, build up your dudebro, get better weapons, skills, etc. Nothing scales ie, your weapons dont get stronger as you go. You could spend 1/2 hr chasing around a major arkfall, which are just giant dps circle jerks anyways, thinking youre getting epic lewts and get nothing. With basically no progression in anything other than a depth-less skill board, there is really no reason to care about playing this pile. I cant believe I wasted 60 bucks, and I cant believe people are defending this game. Expand
  8. Apr 4, 2013
    0
    This game is terrible! I have no idea, other than being paid to post a positive review, how there are so many 10 ratings on here for this game. Graphics-tolerable, but the worse part was the constant server crashes and disconnections. The server seriously crashed 3 times in under 30 mins and then put me in a queued waiting list. which had a waiting period of 9 days, to reconnect for the server. SERIOUSLY!!, FIX YOUR CRAP BEFORE RELEASE FOR CRYING OUT LOUD!!! Had the game for 2 friggin days and got maybe 5-8 hrs of game play out of it, and that was a waste of 5-8hrs anyway. Not only did the servers crash constantly, it was so LAAAAAGGGGGYYYY. I got characters floating across the screen. I'm shooting at an enemy running from one spot to the next only to find out it was lag and the guy is still sitting in the same spot he ran from. I haven;t played a game this laggy since Delta Force Land Warrior on a 56k modem back in 99. Speaking of AI. It is so stupid that I can be standing 5 ft from the enemy AI and he won't attack unless I shoot him. Stupid! This game has potential, but it's about 6-8mos down the road....maybe. Save your money and buy something else. It's a complete wasted of $60 at this stage. Expand
  9. Apr 6, 2013
    0
    Beginning sucks, Arkfalls are fun as hell and the whole thing requires too many patches. Defiance is painful to begin, but addictive after the first horrible portion.
  10. Apr 25, 2013
    2
    This game sucks. With terrible voice acting and a boring gameplay there is no fun. You run to a certain point shoot the same enemies and hold x on a stupid box. Do not buy this dumb TV show based game. Strong guns become as weak as starter guns at certain areas while playing with friends. Bad Game
  11. Apr 6, 2013
    3
    REALLY?! I waited almost an hour for the game to install then almost another hour as it downloaded patches and then when i finally get to play the game looks like crap! If i spend $60 on a game i should not have to ignore "rough edges" besides, this game is nothing but a rough edge! 6 years ago this would have been a good game; not great but good. However, this is 2013, we are at the end of the current generation of consoles life-cycle and nothing less than great to excellent is acceptable. This game was made purely for the publicity of the upcoming SYFY series and after getting burned like this, i won't be watching that either!
    I really wanted this to be good but lets face the the truth...it is a waste of your time and money. You are better off saving the $60. DON'T GET BURNED LIKE I DID!
    Expand
  12. Apr 10, 2013
    2
    Defiance.
    Externally, another generic self claimed sci fi "Epic,"
    Internally, a broken, boring game.
    Where to start? Crappy visuals, TERRIBLE voice acting, and it seemed like a total borderlands rip-off, but a mmo spin thrown in. The characters were anti thought provoking unoriginal piles of goat vomit, and I'm just getting more and more turned off by sic fi games as time goes on, but
    this just pushes me off the edge and gives me no more hope. Triton worlds, you should be ashamed of your lack of effort, nothing was seamless, I can't even think of something positive to say, other than that the expressionless, droll characters made me laugh. (Not for their comedic value, but for their stupidity The monsters were O K though, but nice again, they didn't seem original. Expand
  13. Apr 12, 2013
    2
    The game is pretty bland the graphics are like from 2005. and where is the loot the outfits are just skins with no properties. I mean If I play an MMO I want to feel rewarded. it's like a newb can be as good as a person who sunk 400 hours in the game I mean what the hell is the point of playing. If I'm putting alot of hours into a game i want to feel rewarded. and the quest get extremly repetitive. Expand
  14. Apr 17, 2013
    0
    One of the ugliest games I've ever seen on the Xbox 360. Even the cut-scenes do stutter. Furthermore it is an epic fail on the mmo-side. No dynamic voice chat to replace the loss of the chat dialog. I mean typing with the Gamepad seriously? The AI is non existent. NPCs behave very dumb. Quests have no interesting quality and the game is a boring overall experience. It feels like a game from 10 years ago with huge design mistakes. Collapse
  15. Apr 7, 2013
    2
    Awesome. Ive been waiting for a decent mmo game to come along for the xbox. And this has nailed it, i mean, its not without its issues... of course, but every mmo starts that way, it will only get better, more solid. But already its absorbing and full of depth. And the combat is great. Pvp is good, just a very promising start.
  16. Apr 27, 2013
    3
    this game is a huge disappointment i hated how buggy the game was and the story was boring and the side missions where so annoying and repetitive the enemys where over powered and the the arkfalls taken too long to kill
  17. Apr 25, 2013
    1
    Made an account just to warn people. I've played 55 hours of this game. The first few hours were fun, but it got boring fast after I realized every mission is nothing but shooting waves of the same unintelligent enemies and pressing 'x' on whatever objective. There are many frustrating glitches, most notably for co-op, where boss enemies wouldn't spawn, or a door to the next area wouldn't open, making it impossible to complete the mission. The multiplayer to this game is unbalanced and laggy, and there are only two maps to choose from for team deathmatch. Hardly anybody communicates in this game, making it feel very lonely for an MMO. The main quest and all the side missions can be finished within a few days, leaving very little to do after that. The arkfalls were fun at first, but really they're nothing more than emptying clip after clip into bullet-sponge enemies. The game becomes so repetitive that I space out. I'm an achievement addict, and that's the only reason I put 55 hours into Defiance. Do yourself a favor, and buy a game that is less soul-draining. I plan on selling my copy as soon as I can. Expand
  18. Apr 26, 2013
    2
    I had high hopes for this game as new scifi IP's are few and rare so i really was hoping to be good. I ignored my gut feeling that it was going to be just another lazy mmo, i ignored my glitchy beta, and bought it anyways. Turns out i was right and wasted my money and hopefully you will learn from my mistake. After a 4 hour initial wait time to play, after horribly long install, day one patchs, and server issues galore, getting to actually play this game was almost as much of chore as actually playing it. Its just so boring and repetitive. The first week had such poor server support that playing it was near impossible for anyone with a normal schedule. i realize it is an MMO which is what everyone kept saying but still, that is no excuse, MMO's are not new they can do it so people can play the game they paid for. As well, video games have been around awhile too so they dont have to be boring glitchy lazy cash in liscense games. Sad dissappointment, save your money. Expand
  19. Apr 29, 2013
    0
    Was excited for this, but Trion has really dropped the ball. Buggy game, poor design, and not implemented well.

    Unable to play with friends in the EU region, Trion help desk has NO idea about actually providing service on consoles giving incorrect data and just being useless. If you are going to sell a game to a new segment, make sure your game is top notch, and make sure your service
    department actually knows what they are talking about.

    Other glitches characters and fixed items jumping all over the place when moving, coop missions need more work, longer, harder, requiring more teamwork...

    I have played MMO's for over 20 years, this has been the most frustrating one have played, would rather be back playing an old text based MUD than this POS.
    Expand
  20. May 31, 2013
    3
    I really wanted to like Defiance. When I first started playing it, I thought it was incredible. It didn't take long, however, to see that there was very little substance to the game. Almost everything about it gets repetitive after the first time you do it. It's like Defiance suckers you in with a huge baited hook, but once you're out of the water it just kind of leaves you dangling there, gulping desperately. I really do feel like it had/has a tremendous amount of potential, but it seems like whoever's in charge of making decisions about the game has no idea what people really want in a game like this, and they certainly don't seem to care about fixing anything that needs improvement. The PvP would be laughable if it weren't so frustrating. Some of the weapons are so overpowered that in order to have half a chance at fighting, you have to fight fire with fire and resort to the same things. An example of this is going invisible, sneaking up behind someone, and killing them in one shot without them ever knowing you were near. Another is a grenade launcher that explodes into other little grenades in a huge area effect, leaving anyone standing in a certain area no chance to get out. I'm sure that sounds like I'm just terrible at it and complaining because I get killed so frequently (which I admit I do). Granted, I'm sure with enough practice you can learn to use the same strategies on others and get better at it, but this kind of frenetic over-powered combat is certainly not my cup of tea. To make matters worse, there are numerous bugs in the gameplay (an example is that drivers/gunners of vehicles sometimes inexplicably appear to stand unmoving in the middle of the road, though they are obviously moving and shooting in a vehicle, and when they die for what looks like no reason at all, they see that their killer is halfway across the map. The PvE is fun for a while, and the cooperative maps were great fun the first five times I did them, but I soon found myself growing tired of repetition and predictable AI. Bugs abound in the PvE as well, such as some of your selected skills disappearing constantly from your skillset, which means you have to go in and select them again every time you zone in to a new location. Constant nuisances like this going unfixed since the game came out makes you wonder if the people who made the game ever even played it. The developer is constantly talking about what's to come, and Defiance certainly needs more content, but until they fix what they already have in place it's hard to get excited about the future. Give the game some time and maybe they can tweak it into something lasting, but right now I have my doubts about the longevity of the game. My advice...stay away from it until it cuts its teeth, if it ever does. Expand
  21. Apr 17, 2013
    0
    One of the ugliest games I've ever seen on the Xbox 360. Even the cut-scenes do stutter. Furthermore it is an epic fail on the mmo-side. No dynamic voice chat to replace the loss of the chat dialog. I mean typing with the Gamepad seriously? The AI is non existent. NPCs behave very dumb. Quests have no interesting quality and the game is a boring overall experience. It feels like a game from 10 years ago with huge design mistakes. Collapse
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    70
    Defiance is essentially a single player shooter, that has been retrofitted to an MMOFPS. The multiplayer component doesn't really add anything to the game, if you don't count some random back-up crews as such. [Aug 2013]
  2. Jul 3, 2013
    60
    Do you feel like shooting something? Are you enjoying action games? Do you wish to be with other people in a world that's evolving not in the game itself but in its TV series as well? In that case feel free to try Defiance out. Just be expecting nothing more than some solid action that hardly holds your attention for a long period of time.
  3. Jun 10, 2013
    60
    With its straight focus, repetitive missions and static world, Defiance shouldn't work as well as it does. There's potential here. [July 2013, p.69]