Deus Ex: Human Revolution Xbox 360

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 661 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 661
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Deus Ex: Human Revolution(XBOX 360 Edition)

    Intro- I had played Deus Ex: Invisible War and didn't really care about it. So when I heard about this game, I was hesitant to say the least. Kind of wish now that I had went with my instincts. This is a perfect example of why not to trust reviews from big game sites. Here are the reasons why:

    Story- Basically, you play a guy that nearly gets killed in an attack on a science lab. Your friend/girlfriend does get killed, so you go after the people that did it and discover a larger conspiracy. This is all I made out of the story. Its quite boring, in a "been there, done that" sort of way. Not only is it boring, but it also gets really confusing. Pretty sure that I played through most of the game without a clue as to what was happening. Also the choices that you make through the game don't seem to make much difference. The only one that I saw that had any effect at all was near the beginning of the game, and that only decide if a women lived or not. Big deal. As a final f-you, the ending is stupid and rushed. All you get is a lame final "Boss" and a cut scene. Not worth the hours you invested to get to it.

    Gameplay- The gunplay feels okay, but could have been better. It feels like every other out there. You can crouch, shoot, lean around cover, ECT. Basic stuff. The thing is though, its nearly imposable to run and gun. You have got to use your brain, your you are going to die. A lot. Not only are the enemies hard to kill, but the game is really stingy with ammo. You can sneak instead of fighting though and its likely that is what you will be doing for the majority of the game Especially since you really need to keep well supplied for the terrible, often unfair, boss fights). Even if you can manage to find a lot of stuff, its unlikely that you will be able to store any of it, as the inventory space is incredibly small( even if fully upgraded). Also, a word of warning if you deicide to go the stealth root and put a lot points into being better at that, watch out not to get caught. If you do get caught, its very likely you will die. Speaking of points, the game has a lame stat tree that it uses to pretend to be a real RPG. I assure you that its not, in the same way that Borderlands and Darksiders 2 aren't really RPGs. Also you have to play god-awful hacking minigames that will make you wish that you had never bought this game. And they are everywhere.

    Graphics- Overall it looks pretty good. The look really adds to the dystopian world of Deus Ex. The cities look nice( even thought the area you can explore is small) and are interesting to look at. Cannot say the same for the people. They all look like lifeless dolls that stay in the same area forever. It really keeps you from getting immerged in the game. The other thing that bothered me was that the game was REALLY yellow looking. Maybe there was suppose to be a reason for that, but I just found it head-ach inducing

    Sound- The voice acting was okay. The protagonist sounded sort of like Client Eastwood from the "Dollar" movies. That was pretty cool. The rest sounded fine. The guns sounded weird for some reason. They just didn't sound like what a real weapon firing would sound like. The music was fine, I guess( I didn't really pay much attention to it, so it couldn't have been too good).

    Conclusion- Not a terrible game, but there are much better choices out there. If you can find it cheap( and you should be able to now) give it a try. Don't expect much out of it though.
    Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    2
    after everything the trailers promised I was so, SO bitterly disappointed with this game:( linear to the point of absurdity, flat and somewhat empty... thank god I actually rented it rather than bought:) not a great game at all
  3. Sep 4, 2011
    4
    To begin I'll say that I really wanted to like this game. I was a massive fan of the original and the hype coupled with the live action advert for the game had me incredibly excited, nigh orgasmic. As such I had this game pre-ordered for months before the actual release and I was thoroughly prepared to like it. Unfortunately it is simply not a very good game. The characters are boring, egTo begin I'll say that I really wanted to like this game. I was a massive fan of the original and the hype coupled with the live action advert for the game had me incredibly excited, nigh orgasmic. As such I had this game pre-ordered for months before the actual release and I was thoroughly prepared to like it. Unfortunately it is simply not a very good game. The characters are boring, eg Adam being a stereotype of every action character ever, and you never find yourself actually caring what happens to any of them. The story is really quite simple and plot twists can be seen miles off. Similarly, the graphics for the game are not up to standard and look about 3 years old and the voice acting is rather bad. A further note on the graphics is that almost everything is orange, black or green, at first glance this looks futuristic but after a while the lack of colour (along with the unimaginative level design) variety makes every other area look the same. My biggest gripe however is that this was marketed quite heavily as an open world game, when it is in reality very very linear. Similarly, it was heavily implied that the AI would be intelligent, this is simply not the case! They are mindless, they will find a body be alert for 45 seconds and then go back to moving around like nothing has happened. Similarly in combat they simply line up to be shot, there is very little use of tactics by the AI. As another reviewer said, this game tries to be all things to all men and while not totally unsuccessful it does not do any of them well. The stealth is fine but not up to the standard of Metal Gear Solid or Splinter Cell, the combat is frustrating but even at it's best it does not even come close to the standard of many other FPS games out there. The designers should have focused on making the game really good, even if it meant focusing on just combat or just stealth rather than making a mediocre mix of both. Similarly, the game can't decide whether it wants to be first or third person, this breaks immersion in the game and is remarkably annoying to use. Another issue is the whole "moral choice" aspect of the game, these choices have no effect on the game. Characters will re-act the same to you no matter how you act. Gun down half the police force and within 30 seconds the remaining police love you again. Choose a morally dubious solution to a crisis? No problem because it has no bearing on anything that happens in the game at all. Very poorly done, at least other games with similar choice systems have consequences for your actions. Rarely do I feel bored while playing a game but this game has managed it which is a shame because I was really excited to play it. I'm not saying that it's not worth playing, and there will certainly be some people who enjoy it, but I would say that it's not worth £39.99 and that it does not live up to the hype and glowing reviews that it has received from reviewers. Wait to buy it in a sale Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2011
    3
    Gutted I really enjoyed the original game 10 years ago. I have to say i`m half way through this game and very disapointed with it. The ulgy graphics poor quality animation looks like a 360 launch title. The game play is pretty standard stuff very average. Theres no real choice you have to stealth most of it , which isn`t very well done in this game and gets boring fast the cover systemGutted I really enjoyed the original game 10 years ago. I have to say i`m half way through this game and very disapointed with it. The ulgy graphics poor quality animation looks like a 360 launch title. The game play is pretty standard stuff very average. Theres no real choice you have to stealth most of it , which isn`t very well done in this game and gets boring fast the cover system feels broken at times . The programming and graphics and AI are all poor its 2011 this game plays looks and feels like a 5 year old game. The world never feels real with the stiff animation the lip sync its miles off and lack of detail is unforgivable they manage to fit the whole game on one dvd shows. The menu system and hud are poorly implemented hacking is tiresome crappy mini game. This game does nothing new nothing exciting there plenty of far better stealth games than this. The idea for the game is great i just dont think the team behind it managed to even come close to making it good don`t believe the hype. Rent it. Collapse
  5. Sep 3, 2011
    4
    Firstly I am going to try to be fair reviewing this game. For starters I am a huge fan of the original game by Warren. Lot of respect to him and that game mostly because of the characters, story, conspiracies etc. I disregarded the second one because it didn't really deliver the goods, despite that awesome level meeting JC again. Jumping to now and seeing this game I am surprised they evenFirstly I am going to try to be fair reviewing this game. For starters I am a huge fan of the original game by Warren. Lot of respect to him and that game mostly because of the characters, story, conspiracies etc. I disregarded the second one because it didn't really deliver the goods, despite that awesome level meeting JC again. Jumping to now and seeing this game I am surprised they even slapped the Deus Ex name brand on the box. First the art design is strange, while cool in a blade runner style, it doesn't seem to fit the universe. For a prequel I don't remember the original being set in this fancy world. Guess we gotta appeal to the newer fans, which brings me to the terrible story which didn't hold my interest one bit. Lame voice acting (why not get Tom Hall back for goodness sake), boring level design, super boring bosses, same run of the mill stealth and first person modes, and finally the horrible hacking crap. I wanna play THE game not a game within a blinking game. Only thing it has got going for it is this weird aug varied world, but it sure as heck doesn't deserve the name Deus Ex.. its got little to do with the original, no interesting enemies (what happened to the robot guys and the creatures from the conspiracy labs?), only 2 hubs, and crappy weapons. I gave it a 4 mostly because it is a semi-good time wasting game if your new to the series but really it has nothing to do with the original which is why I gave it such a low score. Shame on the developers taking this approach to an original universe, guess we gotta live with it. Back to playing the original game for me. oh yeah don't pay 60 dollars for it. Wait till it drops to 20 at least, or better yet rent it. Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2011
    0
    Bought this game after great reviews from the critics. This is one of the worst games that I have ever played. Found it to be well, boring to say the least, not fun, which is what games should be! By review is 0 out of 10
  7. Aug 23, 2011
    0
    A shadow of the original. The levels are all small, hallwayish. Rather like exploring the bowels of something (long intestine hallway to office room full of **** The area design itself feels.. random, generated even, like it was done by algorithm and clone stamp (think oblivion houses).

    The combat is incredibly simplified (hold q to defeat foe! you held q, 50 exp! silent takedown!) and
    A shadow of the original. The levels are all small, hallwayish. Rather like exploring the bowels of something (long intestine hallway to office room full of **** The area design itself feels.. random, generated even, like it was done by algorithm and clone stamp (think oblivion houses).

    The combat is incredibly simplified (hold q to defeat foe! you held q, 50 exp! silent takedown!) and the guns are unintuitive and, honestly, I found them harder to use than the first game's weapons with no skill points in them.

    Also blah blah the textures look like **** the clothing look absolutely retarded (think renfair meets ravers), the enemies are braindead, the boss fights are awful, loading times, blah blah etc console gaming, etc.

    The only thing I really can appreciate is the mocap on some of the people looks pretty realistic, though perhaps a little overdone.

    Overall I'm glad this game was only $49 on steam, because I would have been **** furious to have paid 60 bucks for this uninspired attempt to milk a series.
    Expand
  8. Aug 25, 2011
    2
    Very unforgiving in changes on each level--if you choose to go the stealth route and get caught, you'll die in a heartbeat. If you choose the combat route and get seen... well, you still die in a heartbeat. The AI seems to see you a mile off, even on the lower difficulties.
  9. Oct 25, 2011
    2
    Talk about a snooze fest. I foolishly bought into the hype on this one and came out extremely let down. So many people have raved about "the story" but I found it extremely boring. Oh no robot pieces on humans what a terrible controversy! The combat is lame, the stealth is repetitive and boring..I really don't see why this game is being rated as high as it is elsewhere. To each theirTalk about a snooze fest. I foolishly bought into the hype on this one and came out extremely let down. So many people have raved about "the story" but I found it extremely boring. Oh no robot pieces on humans what a terrible controversy! The combat is lame, the stealth is repetitive and boring..I really don't see why this game is being rated as high as it is elsewhere. To each their own, but in my opinion this is one of the most boring anti-climatic games I have played.. Expand
  10. Aug 26, 2011
    0
    In terms of experience this game reminds me of The Parasite Eve Games. Low score reviews high actual game play and memories. Like it is said, A Must Play Period.
  11. Sep 20, 2011
    0
    At least square enix has enough money to pay off its reviewers of this game. I got this game based on score alone, and it ended up being the single biggest let-down of a game in my life. This game has the same problem as, say, Duke Nukem. You die instantly, and then you face 30 seconds of load-screen. Rinse and repeat that a few times, and you get total garbage. Achievement hunters onAt least square enix has enough money to pay off its reviewers of this game. I got this game based on score alone, and it ended up being the single biggest let-down of a game in my life. This game has the same problem as, say, Duke Nukem. You die instantly, and then you face 30 seconds of load-screen. Rinse and repeat that a few times, and you get total garbage. Achievement hunters on the 360 wont be happy with the way it disproportionately dispenses achievements. You are forced to run around and hide like a nancy-boy, not the behavior of the man pictured, or an "enhanced" person. Seriously needs some more options in which way you choose to play the game. Oh I forgot, this is square enix, the company that fires employees for creativity. Should have known, but I am officially done with what was once a great developer. Expand
  12. Oct 14, 2011
    3
    I couldn't force myself to get to the first boss battle. And I hear the boss battles are some of the worst aspects of this game. So know, when reading this, that I didn't play through fully. I couldn't stomach playing as an enhanced soldier who is the most gimped action hero yet. This guy is two steps up from Stephen Hawking with almost no ability for combat. I'm sure this was tuned toI couldn't force myself to get to the first boss battle. And I hear the boss battles are some of the worst aspects of this game. So know, when reading this, that I didn't play through fully. I couldn't stomach playing as an enhanced soldier who is the most gimped action hero yet. This guy is two steps up from Stephen Hawking with almost no ability for combat. I'm sure this was tuned to balance the game, but it doesn't work. You have to go into the inventory menu and eat an energy bar between melee attacks. This breaks the realism. But, you can tell they really put a lot of thought in this game. The dialogue is good, and there are tons of emails, pocket secretaries, newspapers, and ebooks laying around. You could definitely spend hours immersing yourself in the backstory. But all that rich world is betrayed by a dated FPS feel that seems to be designed against fluid action. Also, your character's reliance on an abundance of air ducts is laughable. Almost every building you enter has you navigating through tiny crawl spaces. Might as well call it Duct Runnerâ Expand
  13. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Game looks very promising sadly however its so buggy and after 2 months not a single patch ahs been released to solve the problems like dissapearing HUD or missions completly freezing. I highly recommend waiting for a patch or two
  14. Mar 16, 2012
    3
    If you're one of those gamers who loved the original Deus Ex, save your cash...give this a miss. Dumbed down, horrendously stiff arcade 'gameplay' (50pts!! you strangled someone!!) with 0% of the intelligence and magic of the original. It's like comparing a book by Victoria Beckham to something by Shakespeare.

    Newer/younger gamers will probably rate it higher, but like I say if you like
    If you're one of those gamers who loved the original Deus Ex, save your cash...give this a miss. Dumbed down, horrendously stiff arcade 'gameplay' (50pts!! you strangled someone!!) with 0% of the intelligence and magic of the original. It's like comparing a book by Victoria Beckham to something by Shakespeare.

    Newer/younger gamers will probably rate it higher, but like I say if you like quality, original games (as all games should be), forget this. Now would people please stop making sequels!!!!
    Expand
  15. Jan 17, 2016
    1
    Where to begin, well for starters the story line isn't that great, graphics are decent. But when it comes to game play I have never played such a bad game in my life. The cover shows promise but when it comes to actually playing it, it's worthless. It was so bad that I made this account just to write what I thought of it. Something I have never done beffore
  16. Aug 26, 2011
    0
    Gutted I really enjoyed the original game 10 years ago. I have to say i`m half way through this game and very disapointed with it. The ulgy graphics poor quality animation looks like a 360 launch title. The game play is pretty standard stuff very average. Theres no real choice you have to stealth most of it , which isn`t very well done in this game and gets boring fast the cover systemGutted I really enjoyed the original game 10 years ago. I have to say i`m half way through this game and very disapointed with it. The ulgy graphics poor quality animation looks like a 360 launch title. The game play is pretty standard stuff very average. Theres no real choice you have to stealth most of it , which isn`t very well done in this game and gets boring fast the cover system feels broken at times . The programming and graphics and AI are all poor its 2011 this game plays looks and feels like a 5 year old game. The world never feels real with the stiff animation the lip sync its miles off and lack of detail is unforgivable they manage to fit the whole game on one dvd shows. The menu system and hud are poorly implemented hacking is tiresome crappy mini game. This game does nothing new nothing exciting there plenty of far better stealth games than this. The idea for the game is great i just dont think the team behind it managed to even come close to making it good don`t believe the hype. Rent it. Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Nov 29, 2011
    90
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution lives up to the lofty expectations of the Deus Ex name. Beyond that, it's a superb game in its own right.
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    94
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution has happily been worth the wait and is a game that can hold its head up high next to the first game. Jensen isn't the most charismatic character, and the story is a tad patchy in places, but the game's world and its characters more than make up for it. Deus Ex: Human Revolution heralds the arrival of the cyber-renaissance, and it's pure gold.
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    90
    Deus EX Human Revolution has been one of the more entertaining games I have played this year so far. Filled with a gripping story, interesting characters, and addictive game play Deus Ex is a game that would be a worthy addition to any collection. Fans of action or RPG games should find a lot of value in this retail title.