Deus Ex: Human Revolution Xbox 360

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 696 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 696
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    What an outstanding game. If you want a single player game with tons of replayability well then Deus Ex will do fine as there are many different ways to play this game. You can do stealth or straight arm yourself up. There are tons of ways to reach your objective and you can experience all kinds outcomes based on your choices. If your the kinda gamer i am, i really enjoy single playerWhat an outstanding game. If you want a single player game with tons of replayability well then Deus Ex will do fine as there are many different ways to play this game. You can do stealth or straight arm yourself up. There are tons of ways to reach your objective and you can experience all kinds outcomes based on your choices. If your the kinda gamer i am, i really enjoy single player games with a story like mass effect. Deus Ex brings a solid story to the table that was satisfying that kept me guessing wth is going on? i need to figure out whos behind this and why? The only flaw i had with this game is the battery as it restricted me from doing a sequence of moves i would of liked to do to take out my enemies but thats part of the challenge i guess. Btw the achievments are also fine as well. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    Deus ex is a beautiful game. It is a game you can bring up when someone says that there is no art in video gaming. The visuals are stunning, and the overall art direction in the entire game is amazing. Everything is polished. I found myself lingering in certain areas way longer than I needed to be there just so I could look at it. That's how good this game looks. But it's impressiveDeus ex is a beautiful game. It is a game you can bring up when someone says that there is no art in video gaming. The visuals are stunning, and the overall art direction in the entire game is amazing. Everything is polished. I found myself lingering in certain areas way longer than I needed to be there just so I could look at it. That's how good this game looks. But it's impressive visuals are not even what makes this game stand out. (or not the only thing) The two other things that make this game what it is are the overall mechanics and the plot and all its minutiae. The actual gameplay is great. You can play it as a stealth game, a pure shoot em up game, a "hacker infiltrator" type of game(if there is such a thing) or a mix of all three. There are so, so many ways you can accomplish any one goal. Each way is just as fun. Ducking around corners and cloaking your way through a packed room is just as fun as going in guns blazing and setting off your typhoon system while surrounded by a bunch of enemies (typhoon is awesome.) Or you could just set the turrents and robots to friendly and they'll do your work for you. Providing meaning for the amazing gameplay is an even better story, a wonderful conspiracy that deserves a place as a sci fi great in any storytelling medium. The story is shown to you, not told - you overhear guards chattering about certain things, you find emails that explain what's happening in the world (or that explain a couple of friends plans for the night), and you find ebooks that go into detail about many of the games key plot points. The praxis upgrade system is great - it makes you decide the type of cyborg you want to be and to level appropriately. it's not possible to ever completely level up, so you have to strategically choose your upgrades based on your play style,and I think that's a great thing. It's also a believable system, it's not just you allocating points to random attributes. I really could go on and on about this game, but I've decided I typed too much, but seriously, get this game. It has a top notch story, beautiful visuals, gameplay that *truly* offers the player choice, and to top it all off, my favorite thing is that it really makes you think about something that is not too far off in our future. First game in a while that made me ponder ethical questions, and that is a great thing. I can't wait for the first dlc. Expand
  3. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    I love it when I go into a game with zero expectations and come away impressed, that's exactly what this game did. Don't get me wrong tho it has its flaws but if you take the time to figure out what the game expects from you I think you'll feel the same way. I can't wait to see where this franchise goes from here, bravo eidos and square enix, you deserve every good review written.
  4. Sep 23, 2011
    8
    A glitch early on stopping me from completing Megan's moms quest annoyed me so i put it down for a couple of weeks.
    But, eventually i popped it back in and continued. I am very glad i did.

    This game grows on you as your character develops and you get more immersed in the world. Well worth playing and getting fully involved.
  5. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    This game is firstly absolutely stunning to look at the graphics are beautiful, the amount of dark backgrounds that are splattered with colours is truly remarkable.
    I remember getting the first Deus Ex and people saying its ground breaking and is a beautifully crafted game, Eidos did it again with this, it feels fresh when you play it again, sure you wont do it as labouring as you did
    This game is firstly absolutely stunning to look at the graphics are beautiful, the amount of dark backgrounds that are splattered with colours is truly remarkable.
    I remember getting the first Deus Ex and people saying its ground breaking and is a beautifully crafted game, Eidos did it again with this, it feels fresh when you play it again, sure you wont do it as labouring as you did before but it is a game that feels new first second and third time around.
    The story is great and engaging, it might not have as many twists as the original but it is still amazing.

    If you haven't bought this game yet I recommend you get it as soon as you can well worth every penny.
    Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game certainly is amazing. The atmosphere, the sane stealth, which is long gone, great music, great style. You can certainly find fault with is not the best schedule, not a very good animation, but I will not, since the game left a huge positive impression. Another plus game, it is very long, the last time such a rarity. Side quests I liked, interesting, not dull Fall bring. But the game there are also disadvantages. At times, sags FPS. Dumb AI and of course the awful boss battles, in which all development in the direction of stealth is broken on the complicated action. What is most surprising, the last boss terribly easy. I also liked the gameplay is not ending. People become zombies because of the new chip, it kind of went even. Strictly for those shortcomings and I took half points, initially wanted more, but decided against it. Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2011
    9
    I have not played the first two Deus Ex games therefore I am reviewing this game purely on its own merits and I have to say this has not disappointed. I am slightly biased as the Cyber Punk setting akin to Blade Runner is probably my favorite futuristic setting and this dystopian view of Humanity on the precipice of a staggering leap in evolution is intriguing to say the least. Through theI have not played the first two Deus Ex games therefore I am reviewing this game purely on its own merits and I have to say this has not disappointed. I am slightly biased as the Cyber Punk setting akin to Blade Runner is probably my favorite futuristic setting and this dystopian view of Humanity on the precipice of a staggering leap in evolution is intriguing to say the least. Through the conspiracy of the main story there is a perpetual feeling of unrest amongst the Augmented and non-Augmented with the main protagonist Adam being thrust into his augmentations without his consent, there is a feeling of underlying prejudice towards him throughout the game. To the actual gameplay itself; I have chosen the stealth route through this game, and although that has made the obligatory boss battles a little tougher than if I had chosen the "all guns blazing" route, I am finding this much more entertaining as taking out a map of enemies without being seen is hugely rewarding.

    The augmentations act as the usual "level up" system, as you use Praxis points to upgrade anything from your hacking skills to upgrading your armor and accuracy of your guns, this adds an extra level to the game and although it does not force you into keeping the point stored I would advise holding on to at least one at all times as you never know when you will need a higher jump.

    My only annoyance with the game is Adams relentlessly gruff voice, this could probably have been explained by the beating he receives within the first 5 minutes if only his voice was different to begin with. What starts as an attempt to sound like a gruff westerner soon becomes irritating.
    Expand
  8. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    this is one of my favorite games of all time and i highly recommend this to anyone who likes stealth/action games the story is great and there are many different ways to complete objectives and warrants multiple replays after the first to see what you could do differently each time
  9. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Excellent game, immersive experience. The precision in gameplay and controls is great, the story is very good, although predictable in places. Atmosphere is second-to-none. Currently on my second playthrough and may very well do a third.
  10. Oct 23, 2011
    8
    If I could describe this game in one word, it would be 'epic'. However I will describe it in many words. I bought this game while it still have it's £40 price tag and one point will be that I will never regret that decision. I found myself literally stuck to the campaign of this game, not wanting to put it down for a moment. The campaign revolves around the year 2077, a yearIf I could describe this game in one word, it would be 'epic'. However I will describe it in many words. I bought this game while it still have it's £40 price tag and one point will be that I will never regret that decision. I found myself literally stuck to the campaign of this game, not wanting to put it down for a moment. The campaign revolves around the year 2077, a year were human augmentation is reaching a new peak in technological advancement, but that comes with its costs. That cost being the rise of anti-augmentation groups that have switched to battling the augmentation companies while still trying to have a political dominance over the situation. You are basically a mercenary for hire and you are sent to stop these attacks by a pro-augmentation group. Along the way you decide who shall live and who shall die, who shall win and who shall lose and how your character is designed from base upwards. You go from the streets of Detroit to the scum filled city of Heng Sha in search of a mystery that will change your opinion on everything. Although this game lacks of a multiplayer or in fact, and other game type other than single player, single player is all that this games needs to be rated as an excellent game. Although the missions do become slightly tedious after many hours of game play, the push to find out the mastermind behind the conspiracy heavily outweighs that. Definitely worth a rent for over the weekend if you can finish all twenty odd hours of game play in that time. Expand
  11. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Hola a todos, os dejamos nuestro particular análisis de este juegazo!!!
    ********************************
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution es un juego completo, con una buena historia, un diseño artístico espectacular y una banda sonora sobresaliente. Todo esto unido a su componente RPG y a sus diferentes formas de ser jugado lo convierten en un juego muy
    Hola a todos, os dejamos nuestro particular análisis de este juegazo!!!
    ********************************
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution es un juego completo, con una buena historia, un diseño artístico espectacular y una banda sonora sobresaliente. Todo esto unido a su componente RPG y a sus diferentes formas de ser jugado lo convierten en un juego muy recomendable y re-jugable.
    Mención a la campaña viral de anuncio del juego con una web de la propia Sarif Industries y sus propios anuncios promocionando el mañana, Hoy.

    ************************************
    http://www.gamejuegos.net/deus-ex-human-revolution-analisis/

    Un saludo.
    Expand
  12. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    One of my all time favourite games. I wish I never traded it back in to the store. The campaign is extraordinary. The graphics are amazing. The voice acting is awesome. This game stays true to the original 2 but of course can never be anywhere near as good as they were.
  13. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    DXHR is a genuine treat from start to end! Beautiful to play and with an art direction that's second to none, it's sound design and score are on a par with Hollywood blockbusters and exceptionally emotive throughout, and there is gameplay to suit all types of gamers. You dictate the gameplay throughout this game and it supports you in whichever play style you choose, if you want theDXHR is a genuine treat from start to end! Beautiful to play and with an art direction that's second to none, it's sound design and score are on a par with Hollywood blockbusters and exceptionally emotive throughout, and there is gameplay to suit all types of gamers. You dictate the gameplay throughout this game and it supports you in whichever play style you choose, if you want the story you will have to hunt it out through side missions and NPC interaction, if you want to run in and gun everything down you have the option, if you want a challenge go for the 'Foxiest of the hounds' and 'pacifist' dings! All in all for RPG and even stealth game fans this has everything you could ask for! The only criticism I have is that the boss fights are redundant and this games teases you with possible DLC chapters we will still have to wait for! I loved it 10/10! Expand
  14. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    My favorite game of the year thus far, Skyrim is the only title which has any chance of unseating it. The story is compelling and actually does a decent job of raising certain ethical questions about some of the risks of technology. There are always many different ways you can approach a given situation and unlike certain games which can become very difficult if you level up the wrongMy favorite game of the year thus far, Skyrim is the only title which has any chance of unseating it. The story is compelling and actually does a decent job of raising certain ethical questions about some of the risks of technology. There are always many different ways you can approach a given situation and unlike certain games which can become very difficult if you level up the wrong skills, this one is more forgiving. Expand
  15. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    While it may not live up to the original Deus Ex, it is still a very good game. I will mention, however, that it does get boring about 80% of the way through. All in all, I'd recommend it.
  16. Feb 14, 2012
    8
    OH DEUS EX I LOVE YOU! Amazing twisted game with some outstanding missions and incredible story and soundtrack. The game play is also very solid and levelling up feels very rewarding! A must play for RPG/Stealth/Action lovers :)
  17. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Very good game. Took a while to get into but im really glad that i stuck with it. I was a little disappointed with the graphics though. Reminded me of a cross between metal gear solid and blade runner.
  18. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Amazing game. Many different ways to approach combat and the story. Great graphics. Great story. Only place it falls short in is many times the game feels to linear and despite all of the options in combat, there just isn't enough stuff in the world outside of the levels. The fact that the levels excel so much in giving the player many different options, makes the lack of other stuff to doAmazing game. Many different ways to approach combat and the story. Great graphics. Great story. Only place it falls short in is many times the game feels to linear and despite all of the options in combat, there just isn't enough stuff in the world outside of the levels. The fact that the levels excel so much in giving the player many different options, makes the lack of other stuff to do feel all the more drastic. Expand
  19. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    If you want a long game, then get this. It has a great setting, with great background and overall visuals you will be amazed. The cover system is excellent. The stealth and combat feel very smooth and the 'think outside the box' gimmick works perfectly, with always being other ways to complete the objective. The customization is fun, however you will get lost in those big cities. EvenIf you want a long game, then get this. It has a great setting, with great background and overall visuals you will be amazed. The cover system is excellent. The stealth and combat feel very smooth and the 'think outside the box' gimmick works perfectly, with always being other ways to complete the objective. The customization is fun, however you will get lost in those big cities. Even though Other games like Skyrim offers 100's of hours of quests, this is worth getting. Expand
  20. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Deus Ex HR, is a great experience. It is the perfect blend of shooter and RPG. The graphics are very pretty, similar to FF13's in game graphics. The game play, whilst complicated to learn, is fun when you have mastered it. The music is great and really sets the scene as a futuristic game.The storyline is intriguing and leaves you wanting to get to the bottom of things. This is aDeus Ex HR, is a great experience. It is the perfect blend of shooter and RPG. The graphics are very pretty, similar to FF13's in game graphics. The game play, whilst complicated to learn, is fun when you have mastered it. The music is great and really sets the scene as a futuristic game.The storyline is intriguing and leaves you wanting to get to the bottom of things. This is a challenging experience even on the easiest difficulty, you take a realistic amount of damage, a few bullets will kill you so you have to use stealth, which gives quite the adrenaline rush when sneaking past guards because you know if they catch you, you might not survive. The only problem with this game is whilst you and regular enemies take realistic amounts of damage, the bosses even though they are augmented like you do not. They are ovally difficult. If they were easier I would have given a perfect 10. Expand
  21. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Deus Ex Human Revolution is one of the best games I have played this year!!!! Combing great 1st and 3rd person gameplay and a excellent story I found myself lost in the game for 4-5 hours at a time, highly addictive. Haven't got round to playing the DLC yet, but another 4-5 hours of Deus Ex....... Yes please
  22. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    Perhaps when compared to the golden age of gaming this title would have been classed as about above average. But in the modern industry, with so many developers (and publishers) slipping up, it's nice to see that Eidos have succeeded in re-igniting the flame of an old franchise in a way that will likely appeal to the casual and hardcore audiences, without pandering to either. AmazingPerhaps when compared to the golden age of gaming this title would have been classed as about above average. But in the modern industry, with so many developers (and publishers) slipping up, it's nice to see that Eidos have succeeded in re-igniting the flame of an old franchise in a way that will likely appeal to the casual and hardcore audiences, without pandering to either. Amazing atmosphere & sound, competent graphics, solid RPG elements and a gripping story despite the unattached ending. One of the finer moments of the 360 era, warrants at least 2 play-throughs & The Missing Link DLC is well crafted also. Expand
  23. Apr 29, 2012
    8
    I went into Deus Ex: Human Revolution (DX3) with low expectations. After Deus Ex: Invisible war, which was the embodiment of how consolization of an existing game dynamic can completely ruin things, I had no reason to expect that DX3 would be anything but a graphical upgrade of the thin gameplay, world construction, and storyline of DX:IW. After playing through the first quarter of theI went into Deus Ex: Human Revolution (DX3) with low expectations. After Deus Ex: Invisible war, which was the embodiment of how consolization of an existing game dynamic can completely ruin things, I had no reason to expect that DX3 would be anything but a graphical upgrade of the thin gameplay, world construction, and storyline of DX:IW. After playing through the first quarter of the game, I gave up on it and set it aside for six months or so. Upon picking it back up, though, my mistake in my earlier play became apparent: I was still thinking in terms of DX:IW. DX3 was true to the original Deus Ex: a game that not just requires but *demands* that the player approach every mission, every task with planning and forethought. This is not the run-and-gun game of DX2; you'll be mowed down in no time. DX3 is capable of giving the player a challenge at any level of difficulty, depending on how you choose to play. Better yet, the original DX dynamic of lethal-vs-nonlethal combat was kept completely intact, each with its attendant advantages and disadvantages -- over and above the moral and ethical element that the player brings into the equation. The nonlethal aspect of the game gives the player more choices and opens up avenues of strategy and tactics that would otherwise be closed. (This, by itself, is significantly praiseworthy: the player can, with the exception of four instances, complete the entire game without a single lethal act. You decide what level of force is warranted and when. When confronted with someone who is dangerous but insane, do you shoot? Or do you knock them out? Nonlethal combat is generally more difficult, but it gives the player the option of bringing his or her morals and ethics into the play world unlike any other game that comes to mind.) Writing is outstanding, and the grasp of science shown is considerable; it's clear that the writers actually bothered to research their subject rather than resorting to technobabble. Even the nonexistent tech is the result of a logical extrapolation and uses proper terminology. DX3 relies more on "conversation combat" more than its predecessors, allowing the player the opportunity to talk his or her way through a situation that might otherwise end up in combat. The system isn't perfect and requires a learning curve, but is another layer of depth that most games don't even bother to try. Though scripted, the new takedown system (which is optionally lethal or nonlethal at the player's discretion) adds an aspect of finesse and having the feeling of being the ultimate superagent. Improvements to the combat system, particularly adding a cover mechanic, turn combat into either jack-in-the-box blazefests or cat-and-mouse hunts -- at the player's choice. Even the hacking minigame used for stealth strategies isn't arduous, which is a rarity. There are a few criticisms, however, enough to knock two points off the game's rating. First, pacing is uneven staggering between blazing tactical situations and dragging run-around-miniquesting, so run-and-gun gamers will be disappointed in large stretches of the game. The combat system is tilted toward difficult, so most tank strategies won't work well; your DX3 protagonist is not and cannot be a bullet sponge -- DX3 practically demands a light touch and a good deal of finesse. The autosave system is adequate and generally gives a checkpoint before moments where the player is likely to be in mortal peril. The most serious problem, though, comes from the early-game weakness common in all character progression games. Early in the game, when you have few augmentations online, your character is extremely fragile and for all his mechanical appearances, cannot take or do much. By mid-game, however, the fun level picks up, and by the late game, you're feeling like the superaugmented agent you are supposed to be. In short, DX3 is a great game that just takes some time to get itself up to speed -- but once there, it's fun to drive. Expand
  24. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Amazing game that's let down by a few flaws. Deus ex gives the player complete choice in how they want to play the game, no matter what skills your upgrade, you'll never be punished for your choice, its a shame more games didn't do this. The graphics are good, but no crysis. the style ad visual art of he game really resonated with me and made me embrace the settings. My biggest gripe withAmazing game that's let down by a few flaws. Deus ex gives the player complete choice in how they want to play the game, no matter what skills your upgrade, you'll never be punished for your choice, its a shame more games didn't do this. The graphics are good, but no crysis. the style ad visual art of he game really resonated with me and made me embrace the settings. My biggest gripe with this game was the boss fights. The game games gives you ultimated choice in how you want to play, yet when it comes to a boss fight, you must kill them and it cheapens it somewhat, though they changed this in the DLC which was just released, and it makes me crave for what could have been. The story also falls short slightly, but still better than most that came out this year. I highly recommend this game for anyone. candidate for GOTY without doubt. Expand
  25. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Deus EX: Human Revolution was amazing however your boss fights are horrible and why pick anything but the Rambo style blow you up game style. If I pick stealth mode because I wanted to be a ninja and you gave me the option why am I fighting a boss like Doom? If i have a turret I carried from the beginning of the mission and can't bring it in the boss room why let me carry it that far? WhyDeus EX: Human Revolution was amazing however your boss fights are horrible and why pick anything but the Rambo style blow you up game style. If I pick stealth mode because I wanted to be a ninja and you gave me the option why am I fighting a boss like Doom? If i have a turret I carried from the beginning of the mission and can't bring it in the boss room why let me carry it that far? Why even have bosses? I had more fun taking out non bosses then the bosses themselves. I felt like I was playing another game when it was time for a boss fight. I hope the next Deus Ex can fix some of the hiccups that it had and the game would get the score it deserves. Expand
  26. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    If you want a mature, atmospheric and awesome game this is the one. I will admit i love shooters and for me Deus Ex is brilliant because it is mature and you can use your brain. This game is so much more than a normal shooter and the intelligence level is amazing. I loved being able to play this and not feel like my brain was melting, as was the case with Mass Effect 2. Even though i wasIf you want a mature, atmospheric and awesome game this is the one. I will admit i love shooters and for me Deus Ex is brilliant because it is mature and you can use your brain. This game is so much more than a normal shooter and the intelligence level is amazing. I loved being able to play this and not feel like my brain was melting, as was the case with Mass Effect 2. Even though i was disappointed slightly by the ending, i will play this game again and again Expand
  27. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Deus Ex: is definitely up there in games I've played this year there are so many ways you can choose to play this game. You can go through the whole game and not kill a single person(besides scripted) or you can blood bath the whole thing through until the end. It's your choice story is very enticing it makes you wonder about a lot of real life situations and blends in with currentDeus Ex: is definitely up there in games I've played this year there are so many ways you can choose to play this game. You can go through the whole game and not kill a single person(besides scripted) or you can blood bath the whole thing through until the end. It's your choice story is very enticing it makes you wonder about a lot of real life situations and blends in with current reality. AMAZING GAME/STORY GO PLAY THIS! Expand
  28. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Whatever you thought you knew about FPS games, prepare to forget. This plays much more intelligently than your average FPS. Sure, the AI isn't the most intelligent ever, but when you make it through an area without being seen, it is such a thrill. Add to that brilliant graphics, addictive gameplay, a storyline that keeps you hooked from start to finish, and characters that actually haveWhatever you thought you knew about FPS games, prepare to forget. This plays much more intelligently than your average FPS. Sure, the AI isn't the most intelligent ever, but when you make it through an area without being seen, it is such a thrill. Add to that brilliant graphics, addictive gameplay, a storyline that keeps you hooked from start to finish, and characters that actually have CHARACTER, compared to most games today, and you get a package that is more than worthy of the Deus Ex title. This is a perfect prequel to Deus Ex. Expand
  29. Jan 21, 2012
    8
    A thoroughly cool sci-fi setting with a decent story and some interesting locations to explore. This game takes the best of FPS, stealth and RPG elements and combines together to create a compelling and actually quite original package. The choices the game gives you are fantastic and really allow you to stay loyal to the play-style you have chosen. Augmentations add a fantastic layer ofA thoroughly cool sci-fi setting with a decent story and some interesting locations to explore. This game takes the best of FPS, stealth and RPG elements and combines together to create a compelling and actually quite original package. The choices the game gives you are fantastic and really allow you to stay loyal to the play-style you have chosen. Augmentations add a fantastic layer of depth to character building in a way that Crysis 2 does not. Want to be able to leap across roof tops in order to reach your objective instead of using the stairs? Fine, choose to improve your leg augmentations to jump higher. Want to hack your way through security locks instead of crawling through a ventilation system? Fine, choose to improve your hacking skills. It's the elements of choice that makes Deus Ex:HR such a compelling game. However, although for the most part you can stealth your way through the entirety of a section of the game, as soon as you enter a boss fight you have no choice but to shoot. This basically poses a massive disadvantage to players who carry nothing but a stun gun and silenced pistol. Meaning the game forces you to sudden become a gun expert when all you've been doing is improving stealth augmentations. SE really overlooked the boss battles, and the game could have really been without them. The boss battles are not particularly well executed and are if anything a frustrating distraction from the rest of the game. Luckily SE have learnt from their shoddy boss battles and how they conflicted with the games style and the boss battle in the newest DLC chapter could be tackled in many different ways. Another disappointment of this game is the ending. All your choices you made throughout the game which felt so real suddenly don't matter at all. All possible endings are available in one play-through because all the choices you made throughout the game no longer matter. Which is a bit of a kick in the balls after all your hard work to keep certain characters alive in the hope they will impact the ending.The ending is just a tad lacklustre. In conclusion though, despite the disappointing ending and frustrating boss battles, Deus Ex:HR is a joy to play and, if you love your sci-fi settings dark and actually quite believable it's definitely worth giving this game a go. I do hope that SE do another Deus Ex soon as they took to the fan criticism so well and there's no doubt that a sequel would address many if not all of the issues Deus Ex:HR has. Expand
  30. Feb 11, 2012
    8
    Pretty fun game overall, I enjoyed it for the time it took me. However, it was fairly short, I beat it in just over a weekend. The maps felt very small and constricted, not much more than linear corridors with a sneaky linear corridor or two around as well. The talent trees were kind of strange; some of the hacker talents were literally useless. By the end of the game I had almost everyPretty fun game overall, I enjoyed it for the time it took me. However, it was fairly short, I beat it in just over a weekend. The maps felt very small and constricted, not much more than linear corridors with a sneaky linear corridor or two around as well. The talent trees were kind of strange; some of the hacker talents were literally useless. By the end of the game I had almost every skill, not much of a tradeoff in specializing to be had, you basically become invincible as long as you pick up all the skill points. All of that being said, it was still a very enjoyable game. I thought the story was pretty good, and that there were a lot of interesting choices to be had. I really liked the dialogue system, it was extremely dynamic and rewarding. And while the game might not have lasted 60 hours, it was certainly fun while it did. Definitely worth playing through. Expand
  31. Feb 13, 2012
    8
    Loved this game, amazing soundtrack and great voice acting by the guy who does Adam Jensen, great story, you get to make alot of descesions and sometimes it comes back to bite you in the ass, great game
  32. Mar 26, 2012
    8
    Although not as good as the trailer made it look, Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a fine game that is both fun and well polished. There are some things...like enemy AI that can be twitchy and dialogue animations that are semi-awkward, but the pros outway the cons by a lot. Terrific open-ended level design, oodles of detail, smooth interface, solid gunplay, open-ended methods of playingAlthough not as good as the trailer made it look, Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a fine game that is both fun and well polished. There are some things...like enemy AI that can be twitchy and dialogue animations that are semi-awkward, but the pros outway the cons by a lot. Terrific open-ended level design, oodles of detail, smooth interface, solid gunplay, open-ended methods of playing (except boss-fights) and lots of lore are all big pluses; add in the fact you can perk your character with augmentation upgrades, a nice clean inventory and a spectacular cyber-punk future atmosphere with a brilliant musical score to supplement it, and Human Revolution is worth the price of admission. For fans of rpgs...this is a must play. Expand
  33. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    An absolutely fantastic game. There's a story to get behind, and game-play which can either be cover-based shooter, or stealth style assassin. Quests in the game are excellent and do a pretty good job of being more than a fetch quest here, a rescue mission there. The art style is memorable, the environments are gorgeous, and the attention to detail in the world is impressive. Just standingAn absolutely fantastic game. There's a story to get behind, and game-play which can either be cover-based shooter, or stealth style assassin. Quests in the game are excellent and do a pretty good job of being more than a fetch quest here, a rescue mission there. The art style is memorable, the environments are gorgeous, and the attention to detail in the world is impressive. Just standing around Adam's apartment I was struck by how much detail was put into it, and spent a good twenty minutes just exploring the apartment. The combat is nothing revolutionary. It's either a cover-based shooter where you eliminate enemies via grenades and various weapons, or an assassin style game where you sneak around and hack turrets, take down enemies with melee, and crawl around secret areas. That's the good, here's the disappointing. The game isn't very hard (even on hard mode) if you're playing as a cover shooter. The game does offer the challenge of playing a pacifist/no alarms run , but if you're looking for challenging combat, you'll quickly get the basics down in this game and find it isn't overtly difficult. Boss fights are all quite easy to beat with a simple trick (usually typhoon). The ending wasn't what I'd hoped for (a choose your ending style end) but the choices offered were at least different from each other. My biggest disappointment with this game is the lack of explorable environments. The ones you have are amazing, and that just makes me wish there were more. Overall this is probably one of the best games of 2011, and a must-buy. True Score: 9.3 rounded down to 9. Expand
  34. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    The gameplay is simply fantastic. If you take the stealth approach, the game plays very much like the original Splinter Cell titles. You should have plenty of points to augment whatever you want, so the customization really comes in just the order you go after everything, not necessarily picking what to specialize in. The story on its own is nothing particularly special, however the themesThe gameplay is simply fantastic. If you take the stealth approach, the game plays very much like the original Splinter Cell titles. You should have plenty of points to augment whatever you want, so the customization really comes in just the order you go after everything, not necessarily picking what to specialize in. The story on its own is nothing particularly special, however the themes and ties to the original are fascinating to me, and should also be intriguing for any fan of the original. My biggest complaint is probably batteries not recharging once fully depleted, but I certainly see how it is a balancing issue and they probably did not want anybody cloaking their way through the entire game. It still does not live up to the original, one of my all-time favorites, but (unlike Invisible War) it is a big step in the right direction. Expand
  35. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    this game is great for experienced gamers because it is a proper gamers game with great intelligent ai and great dialogue this game is intelligent and fun combat doesnt dissapoint. a great challenge to try to complete it all in a stealthy way. great graphics aswell. buy it
  36. TJK
    Apr 5, 2012
    10
    This is a great game with a great story line. I can see how it might bother some people, because when you try to take someone down or knock them out you don't get to chose what to do. It didn't bother me though. The graphics were great and it had a ton of side missions that you can chose to do or not. One of the best games of 2011. 10/10
  37. May 15, 2012
    10
    This game is brillant. many different ways to approch or just avoid the enemy. the story is excellent, the grapichs are good and is owtrh picking up if you are instrested in shooters or rpgs.
  38. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    I was recommended this game by a friend after playing and enjoying Dishonored and I have to say this game blows the aforementioned title out of the water.

    Set in a cyber-punk futuristic world the game just gripped me from the off. It's the closest thing I've experienced to being Deckard in Bladerunner. Story is amazing, soundtrack is mesmerising, graphic style is top notch, Gameplay
    I was recommended this game by a friend after playing and enjoying Dishonored and I have to say this game blows the aforementioned title out of the water.

    Set in a cyber-punk futuristic world the game just gripped me from the off. It's the closest thing I've experienced to being Deckard in Bladerunner. Story is amazing, soundtrack is mesmerising, graphic style is top notch, Gameplay (even for a novice like me) is intuitive and fun.

    I was completely blown away by this game. Kudos to Eidos Montreal they've delivered a stylish, polished product which hit a cord with me instantly. I've not been as gripped by a game since Mass Effect. A+++++++
    Expand
  39. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    This game is actually not that bad. There are interesting missions in an immersive world. I also liked character development very much. The only thing why I lost intereset after some hours, was the cyberpunk setting, but this is not the game's fault, it is actually pretty good.
  40. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    Long, complex, detailed, an exciting world to explore, a story that grabs you and wraps, which never loses interest during the many hours it takes, a freedom to resolve situations huge with a seamless gameplay, Deus ex: Human Revolution is round.
  41. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    Game play:7 graphics:8 story:6 music:10
    ----very good game----
    could have been better .the faces of the characters are plastic like not natural like mass effect for example.also the character's talking/movements expressions are not good, actually you feel like they have a neurological disorder.the game play is good but could be better if they add more action and weapones use + less
    Game play:7 graphics:8 story:6 music:10
    ----very good game----
    could have been better .the faces of the characters are plastic like not natural like mass effect for example.also the character's talking/movements expressions are not good, actually you feel like they have a neurological disorder.the game play is good but could be better if they add more action and weapones use + less hacking and searching rooms.the story is not up to the game and you will not get it if your english is a second language.the music is just prefect,the ost is worth baying more than the game it self......very good work Edios ,looking for better.
    Expand
  42. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    This is my first game in the Deus Ex Series, and it has been a blast! I enjoyed the storyline and the fact you can choose to go finish things in a stealthy way or a "Hasta la vista, baby" way and go all Terminator. The graphics look great and side quests are really good and adds some sense of what people think in the game about the Augmentations. Had a great time with the game, you can too.
  43. Jun 26, 2013
    8
    Simply put, this is one of, if not the best, first person shooter of this generation, and here's why.

    1. The concept behind Deus Ex: Human Revolution involving human augmentations is just really interesting. For some reason, the whole controversy regarding whether or not humans should advance is just really compelling. It never got boring, and it made the political aspects of the game
    Simply put, this is one of, if not the best, first person shooter of this generation, and here's why.

    1. The concept behind Deus Ex: Human Revolution involving human augmentations is just really interesting. For some reason, the whole controversy regarding whether or not humans should advance is just really compelling. It never got boring, and it made the political aspects of the game really cool.

    2. The graphics are just stunning. They're mainly made up of orange and black color schemes, which makes the game look very stylish and slick. It also helps to make the places you visit far more interesting.

    3. The music and sound design is top notch.

    4. The gameplay is just phenomenal. The game allows for a huge amount of player freedom. You can approach most situations in any logical way you might think. For example, if you have to get through a gate, you can either kill the guard by the door, bribe the guard, knock him out, bribe him and then kill him to get your money back, or you can just forget him and climb over the gate by stacking boxes. This kind of freedom is one that I have not experienced in any game other than this one.

    The only reason this game isn't a 10 is because of its few imperfections. For one thing, the loading screens are insanely long, up to 40 seconds in length. Also, character animations are pretty poor in conversation. AI isn't the best, and enemies just sort of stand around waiting for you to shoot them some times. The worst issue, however, is the boss battles. The whole game I had been upgrading my stealth abilities, only then to get my ass kicked by a boss. It's not really emphasizing freedom of play if I have to upgrade offensive abilities for bosses, and that sucks.

    Regardless of its flaws, Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a game that any fan of FPSs or RPGs should play.
    Expand
  44. Mar 16, 2013
    8
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a great action/stealth RPG with a fantastic atmosphere, characters, world and combat. You can choose to go in guns blazing or take a more stealthy approach and your choices in upgrades will be crucial when deciding your play-style, whether it's upgrading your hacking skill so you can attempt to hack more difficult computers or unlocking several perks that canDeus Ex: Human Revolution is a great action/stealth RPG with a fantastic atmosphere, characters, world and combat. You can choose to go in guns blazing or take a more stealthy approach and your choices in upgrades will be crucial when deciding your play-style, whether it's upgrading your hacking skill so you can attempt to hack more difficult computers or unlocking several perks that can help you in stealth or action gameplay, One of the weaker points of the game is it's boss battles which feel out of place compared to the rest of the game, especially if you happened to choose the stealth route, But overall it's a solid game that is an easy recommendation to action, stealth or RPG fans. Expand
  45. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Beautiful art, spine tingling soundtrack, and heavy moral questions make this game one of the best you'll ever play. This game will go down in history as one of the greatest, even if it was so limited by 2011 technology.
  46. Jul 1, 2016
    8
    + Freedom of gameplay, its one of the few games that can actually offer a completely different experience depending on how you choose to play, and rewards you for exploring and planning your next move
    + Levelling up adds more than a 'stat boost' like in other games, every upgrade you get matters and can change the approach you take to gameplay
    + Interesting story and raising moral and
    + Freedom of gameplay, its one of the few games that can actually offer a completely different experience depending on how you choose to play, and rewards you for exploring and planning your next move
    + Levelling up adds more than a 'stat boost' like in other games, every upgrade you get matters and can change the approach you take to gameplay
    + Interesting story and raising moral and philosophical questions about what it means to be human. It is dark and gritty and touches on real life issues we face in society like discrimination and bureaucracy

    - The graphics aren't great, stiff animations and im not a fan that everything is bathed in yellow light, more variation in the places you visit would be welcomed other graphical issues include everyone in the background freezing in place when you perform take downs, it looks so out of place when in a large scale fight, people clips through the walls and some times the character models don't even make contact with each other
    - load times
    - confusing layout to the world, i got lost plenty of times
    Expand
  47. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    This game has an incredible story that gets better with every playthrough. I feel like this game took the best parts of an RPG, an FPS and the Splinter Cell style stealth gives you an incredible amount of versatility. I think the best feature of this game was the ability to choose whether you wanted to play as a stealthy pacifist, an assassin of opportunity, or a kill-em-all machineThis game has an incredible story that gets better with every playthrough. I feel like this game took the best parts of an RPG, an FPS and the Splinter Cell style stealth gives you an incredible amount of versatility. I think the best feature of this game was the ability to choose whether you wanted to play as a stealthy pacifist, an assassin of opportunity, or a kill-em-all machine gunner. I also thought that the hacking and security measures added a great twist to the stealth platform.

    The only part of this game I found to be awkward was the boss fights which embraced a run-and-gun style that seemed out of place.

    Overall, this game had an exceptional story with a number of surprising twists and a great style of play.
    Expand
  48. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    Is a third/first person game where you can choose to play any style (stealth, guns blazing, hacking, etc) and is set in a near future cyber punk inspired world, takes you to places from Detroit to china to Canada etc.

    Pros: Lots of choices in gameplay, levels are well designed 4 different endings (all satisfying enough) Great voice acting Nice visuals Great sound design High
    Is a third/first person game where you can choose to play any style (stealth, guns blazing, hacking, etc) and is set in a near future cyber punk inspired world, takes you to places from Detroit to china to Canada etc.

    Pros:
    Lots of choices in gameplay, levels are well designed
    4 different endings (all satisfying enough)
    Great voice acting
    Nice visuals
    Great sound design
    High replay ability
    Great length: 25+ hours
    Great protagonist
    Good side characters
    Good side missions
    Repercussions in story on choices you make
    Diverse levelling system, thoroughly ur journey you will see some things you should of upgraded to go through there etc, but all skills are useful.
    Bad:
    Facial animations
    Lip sync
    Boss fights
    Bad villains, didn't have any backstory
    Expand
  49. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    fun gamplay tremendous story cool lever Exploration super good protagonist satisfactory ending and one of the best sountrack Ever made.boss fight pretty easy the only thing that cant make feel Empty
  50. May 17, 2014
    8
    This game is probably worth a 9. why 8?
    boss fights... not sur
    and the first hour of it is so boring it makes you regret your purchase That said and that first hour behind, when you get into the story... so nice! freedom, variety, gun mods, upgrades, etc. You can see they put lots of effort in the mechanics and upgrades system They could easily make a near-perfect game with
    This game is probably worth a 9. why 8?
    boss fights... not sur
    and the first hour of it is so boring it makes you regret your purchase

    That said and that first hour behind, when you get into the story... so nice!
    freedom, variety, gun mods, upgrades, etc.

    You can see they put lots of effort in the mechanics and upgrades system

    They could easily make a near-perfect game with another deus ex in the futur, only by fixing the few negative points in this one. (come on, lets get to work ;))
    Expand
  51. Nov 20, 2014
    10
    One of may favourite games of all time. Deus Ex: Human Revolution is for me the strongest entry in the series. The game (now over three years old) has still left a deep impression on me. The setting, atmosphere and environment design was very memorable by depicting a realistic future. The weapons and inventory had pretty solid customisation options and was more than what I expected. TheOne of may favourite games of all time. Deus Ex: Human Revolution is for me the strongest entry in the series. The game (now over three years old) has still left a deep impression on me. The setting, atmosphere and environment design was very memorable by depicting a realistic future. The weapons and inventory had pretty solid customisation options and was more than what I expected. The stealth was well done and so was the combat. (The boss fights were still fun) What finished it off was the amazing soundtrack, character development and story but what made the game stand out was the multiple choices we could have made. I went back and experienced all that I missed out on - doing multiple playthroughs since it was just such a good game. Expand
  52. Jul 21, 2016
    9
    Deus Ex Human Revolution
    Gameplay Freedom
    Deus ex is a first person stealth / shooter game, and I say slash because neither of these 2 are forced. Deus ex was clearly designed with stealth in mind… This is a game where you play as a man who is critically injured early on in the game and wakes up augmented… This essentially means he’s part robot… These augmentations give you way
    Deus Ex Human Revolution
    Gameplay Freedom
    Deus ex is a first person stealth / shooter game, and I say slash because neither of these 2 are forced.
    Deus ex was clearly designed with stealth in mind…
    This is a game where you play as a man who is critically injured early on in the game and wakes up augmented…
    This essentially means he’s part robot…
    These augmentations give you way points on the screen, energy and can be upgraded as you play. Through an xp system to eventually be able to hack higher leveled security panels, be immune to poison gas, have more energy among many other things…
    There are also stealth augments if you choose to play this game stealthily…
    Everything about Deus Ex is so greatly designed…
    You can sneak around cover perfectly, climb through vents to pass patrolling guards…you can create your own cover by moving objects... you can sneak up behind enemies to either put them asleep or take them out for good, one being louder than the other, as well as hide their bodies to not alert everyone..
    You can play through the entire game without killing anyone…
    This game is also greatly designed for aggressive players like me
    so you have the option to play the game as a 3rd person shooter like I did as enemies do all carry weapons and ammo…
    This gives such a great feeling of freedom to truly tackle the game in any way you desire unlike other games that promise this but never truly deliver…
    its delivered here…
    You can peak over cover, and there is a variety of heavy, combat, and compact weapons, all with their own unique feel to them…
    All of this gameplay freedom sounds great but it’s not even the best part of the game…
    Deus Ex Human Revolution is hands down one of the most fleshed out games I’ve played period…
    There are side missions to complete…. Conversations to be had to convince a character to allow you to go inside a building for example, or to prevent a suicide… and not only are there conversations for you as the player, but the characters that inhabit this world all have conversations going on as well…
    Some seemingly random, I never heard the same line of dialog twice, bringing so much life into this world…
    you’ll hear characters on the streets of the handful of cities you visit asking for directions and the locals making fun of them because of the location they ask for… you’ll hear guards and janitors talk about work…
    it’s really perfectly done and other developers need to take note…
    The only downside to this game is ultimately the story…
    It’s the typical bad guys wanting to use technology for bad things story..
    It never really kept my intention or kept me pushing forward, luckily the gameplay is good enough to carry the game on its own.
    I give Deus Ex Human Revolution
    an 8.5/10
    Expand
  53. Feb 28, 2015
    9
    Deus Ex Human Revolution is a great game. It is actually a confusing game to describe. It has so many elements to the game. It's a third person, first person, RPG, hacking, stealth, sci-fi, game. It's also does all of these elements better than I've seen in any other game. It really is a great game, with a surprisingly good, interesting story. I thought it would be very generic, but I wasDeus Ex Human Revolution is a great game. It is actually a confusing game to describe. It has so many elements to the game. It's a third person, first person, RPG, hacking, stealth, sci-fi, game. It's also does all of these elements better than I've seen in any other game. It really is a great game, with a surprisingly good, interesting story. I thought it would be very generic, but I was surprised on how adult and dark it was. The only thing that made this game a 9 instead of a 10 was the boss fights. It doesn't fit the game. At all. The first one is just ridiculous. I won't spoil anything, but it defiantly should of been left our or redone. Expand
  54. Mar 15, 2015
    10
    Great game. Good lengthy campaign with very interesting story line. I cant see why the latest deus ex games would get such lower reviews. I am very glad I purchased it. One of the only complaints I could come up with is the aim function. Its activated with the R joystick button and not the L trigger like im used to. Still the game makes up for it with EVERYTHING ELSE.
  55. Aug 28, 2016
    10
    Deus Ex Human Revolution is the best game in series, because this game made Square Enix (creators of Final Fantasy Series, Hitman Series, SMRPG Legend of the Seven Stars, Sleeping Dogs and not many games from Tomb Raider Series), in Deus Ex Human Revolutions very interesting storyline, good gameplay, with awesome stealth, not bad graphics for 2011 and this game is very amazing cyberpunkDeus Ex Human Revolution is the best game in series, because this game made Square Enix (creators of Final Fantasy Series, Hitman Series, SMRPG Legend of the Seven Stars, Sleeping Dogs and not many games from Tomb Raider Series), in Deus Ex Human Revolutions very interesting storyline, good gameplay, with awesome stealth, not bad graphics for 2011 and this game is very amazing cyberpunk stealth and I think Deus Ex Human Revolution is one of the best games of 2011. Amazing game, very good. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Nov 29, 2011
    90
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution lives up to the lofty expectations of the Deus Ex name. Beyond that, it's a superb game in its own right.
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    94
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution has happily been worth the wait and is a game that can hold its head up high next to the first game. Jensen isn't the most charismatic character, and the story is a tad patchy in places, but the game's world and its characters more than make up for it. Deus Ex: Human Revolution heralds the arrival of the cyber-renaissance, and it's pure gold.
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    90
    Deus EX Human Revolution has been one of the more entertaining games I have played this year so far. Filled with a gripping story, interesting characters, and addictive game play Deus Ex is a game that would be a worthy addition to any collection. Fans of action or RPG games should find a lot of value in this retail title.