User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 599 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 599

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Whoever stands behind this game took this stuff seriously. You really can't blame a game these days only because of an outdated hardware on which it is supposed to run. Visuals, sound, AI, mechanics, dialogue, RPG elements are crafted generally the way they should be. Making it more complex could let you lose most of the audience who haven't played it prequels. This game is really challenging. If you lose you know it's because you didn't think of a correct solution to the problem. Deus Ex universe is what gets as close as possible to what you could possibly witness in the next few decades in your own world. I think that's the main reason to check it out. Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Role-playing games are becoming more and more an illusion these days. With modern graphics and other detractions truely taking away the experiences that created the genre we all love. With Deus Ex HR, we can finally go back to some of the RPG roots we have forgotten. Given the amount of choice and freedom you are given, it doesn't ultimately forgive that there are some short-comings to this masterpiece. All in all, Deus Ex HR sings the songs of older genre games that we older gamers long for. Well done! Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    A truly outstanding dark and gritty, cyberpunk, action role-playing experience. This title by Eidos Montreal lives up to the hype and then some. Whether you're a fan of the sci-fi, role-playing, first person/third person shooter, or the stealth-action genre Deus Ex: Human Revolution is the game for you.
  4. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    Having a lot of fun with this game so far. I feel like it is a good combination of old school Splinter Cell and the MGS series. Like many reviews have said the setting is very Blade Runner-esque, which is very cool IMO. The story is bound in conspiracy and corporate espionage which is a fun thing when you are an augmented badass. There are many ways to approach a level as the developer states, though if you are like me and are a completionist, you will need to augment in several different areas. I recommend spending some augmentation points in hacking (at least to level 2 or 3) fairly early on. You will eventually encounter side mission objectives that can't be completed without a decent hacking skill. That being said, you are still free to shotgun your way through different levels. The game supports run-and-gun approaches but I have to say it is somewhat weighted heavier to a stealthy approach to problem solving. Love the graphics, dialog options and music of the game, all done in good taste. The game is not without a few flaws though. There are exploits you will find that take advantage of the cover system and allow you to breeze through some levels, but just avoid this to keep the game challenging. I recommend this game for fans of stealthy, techy shooters with some decent RPG elements thrown into the mix. Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    This game is by far one of the most intelligent and adult games I've played in years! By far the biggest surprise AAA experience of the year so far and absolutely deserving of every penny spent on it. I've played nonstop 9 hours already and my jaw has been on the floor the entire time. Do yourself a favor and buy this game as it's one of the most original concepts out right now. Picture a cross between Bioshock and Mass Effect and you'll be on the right track. Can't give enough praise to this product-simply blew me away! Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution has a Blade Runner atmosphere mixed with innovative combat mechanics and a compelling story.
    Human Revolution is prequel to the original game set in 2027. Players take on the role of Adam Jensen, a former SWAT officer who has been hired as the security chief for Sarif Industries. The company him and his girlfriend work for is attacked and he is almost killed.
    Sarif rebuilds Jensen using "augmentation" which allows players to mold Jensen into a truly unique character according to how they want to play the game. You can go through this game like Call of Duty: Black Ops or take a more tactical approach like Mass Effect 2. There is a way for the more stealthy characters or ones who enjoy manipulating conversations. It all depends on how you want to play. Guns and gadgets are heavily varied and combat never gets old. I will replay this game using a different "pillar of gameplay" as the developers put it. The closest game I could compare this is to is probably Alpha Protocol. Only it doesn't have all the bugs and problems Alpha did.
    The graphics may seem a little dated to some, but in my opinion fit this game perfectly. Settings are beautifully designed and characters are interesting and unique. One of my few gripes is there really isn't any way to make Jensen seem "closer" to the characters like we see in games like Mass Effect. Nonetheless, this doesn't detract from the story at all. The soundtrack seams perfectly with the game.
    The story is brilliant. Excellent voice actors convey the characters emotions perfectly. Biotechnology and political (and industrial) espionage is rampant in this game. The plot continues at a steady pace and ends on a satisfying conclusion.
    Other than a few A.I. glitches here and there, this game is stellar. If you enjoy fun FPS, RPGs, or just want to try something new. This game is recommended for you.
    Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    This game is pretty good. Yesterday I had said that this game was "okay", but the further I get through the game, the more I love it. The upgrade system (the augmentation system) is well done, the game really starts giving more options tactically the further you go, and the weapons feel great. I still have gripes, but being most of the way through now, I think I can safely say this game is an 8.5 out of 10 (rounded to nine above). Expand
  8. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    No its graphics are not as good as Mass Effect 2 or Call of Duty. yes their better than your normal RPG/FPS game.. Deus Ex 3 does what they said it would do, what it was meant to do, to take you back to the days of system shock, thief 2 and deus ex 1 a time when single player was rewarded for thinking and creativity. when the story and atmosphere really meant something and makes many of the triple A games from the last few years look foolish. Deus Ex 3 is a peace of art work. its not a game its an experience and Deus Ex 3 will be remembered long after this years blockbusters are forgotten. Expand
  9. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    This game is RIDICULOUSLY good!! - I kind of had low expectations as the trailers seemed too good to be true, and being a fan of the original (not IWars though, as that sucked mad balls), I was sceptical anyone could take on the hype and win. Boy, was I wrong... this game is so bloody sexy it's not funny: I definately recommend the Augmented edition (especially if you're in Australasia or Europe) as you'll get all the pre-order bonuses and the Tong mission... you'll want as much of this experience as there is to get, it's that good.

    One final note, the three IDIOTS who gave this 0/10 can eat balls and die big time... trying to bring the user score down on purpose is pretty low. It's obviously pro-haters, or just one real f**ktard with three accounts. May you be struck down for your insolence! :) A big 10/10 from me, Demikly.
    Expand
  10. Aug 28, 2011
    10
    Wow, I love these haters on here. They make a great Deus Ex game and either some strange loyalty to Ion Storm persist or you are one of those people who just like to **** with no foundation. Deus Ex: Human Revolution is the first great game of the Holiday Season. The story is wonderful and a marvel of cyberpunk story telling. The game holds the Deus Ex name high and is a worthy successor as it emulates the gameplay of the original game and expands upon it with grace and class. And game play is where it counts and is where DE: HR excels. Sneaking around cities, finding new paths to follow. Almost everything I could do in Deus Ex, I can do in DE: HR. The graphics are average at best but great graphics do not make a great game. The environments are great though and the level design is something a lot of devs (Looking at you copycat FPS creators especially Call of Duty). There are many ways to achieve your objective and beautiful Sci-fi cities and backgrounds await you. The music is just awesome and does not get in the way of you play. Yeah, a few of the tunes may take you back to the Mass Effect games but it is distinct enough to distinguish itself from that series. Plus, a familiar tune for those original Deus Ex players gets whistled by a few NPCs every once in a while, adding to the Easter Eggs and throwbacks to the beloved original. Pretty much, if you want a thinking man's game and the first great RPG to hit the market this season then get your 60 bucks ready and buy in. Only serious gamers apply as DE: HR has no patience for the twitch gamer who does nothing but push a button and go from scripted scene to scripted scene. For that matter how can you have problems with the bosses?? Seriously, they are nothing new and are pretty easy to boot. You have played other video game right? Ask yourself if they really differ from any other boos fights. To me, they did not disrupt the gameplay and actually gave me a different style to take in this great game. Ignore the haters and the fools, go get this game and enjoy many sleepless nights! Expand
  11. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    The biggest surprise of the year. Not many originally believed that a console oriented Deus Ex sequel developed in an era of dumbed down gaming experiences could in any way approach its predecessor, which, released in the year 2000, showed the world what does "Interactive game" truly mean. Turns out it could. Human Revolution is everything Deus Ex was and more, it is a true sequel to the cult classic and is a masterpiece on its own. It shows that, even in the year 2011 and despite the obsession of the gaming industry with simplifying games to the point where they can barely be called games anymore, it is still possible to have a high budget, blockbuster gaming experience designed not to be played by your grandma, but by you. Expand
  12. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    I haven't played any of dues ex games before this game. When i saw the trailer i was immediately hooked because of the story was interesting, two it looked epic. Kickass trailer. this game deserve 10 ot of 10
  13. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    Nice big 10 to offset against the three idiots who gave this a 0 score. Professional haters.

    Great game which continues the tradition set down by Deux Ex and Invisible War.
  14. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    Simply a mind blowing RPG - Action packed first person shooter, but if you go into it thoroughly, DX Human Revolution is indeed a revolution to its franchise, a beautiful triple A title that's all i ever dreamed of.
  15. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    This game is incredible, and is worthy to have the name Deus Ex. it does have some minor imperfections, the graphics could have been a bit better, and Ive been experiencing a lag every now aga. But everything else, the "4 pillars of gameplay" are there, the atmosphere is fantastic, and the game is actually really dang hard. you will enjoy it if you played the original, and have been longing for the return of the golden age of videogames. this isnt Call of Duty. its not meant for kids, it's meant for the true gamers out there. Expand
  16. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    Deuce Ex lives up to name and delivers giant load of crap to enjoy from the comfort of your own home. You will enjoy repeatedly dying, an infinitely frustrating stealth and cover system, and an obnoxious inventory limitation to contend with. Yes it is a FPS mixed with RPG elements, and NO this doesn't make it an original concept. I think nerds are just happy to have something that isn't COD or BF. Its not unique, innovative and most importantly fun. Don't buy the hype this game is garbage. Expand
  17. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    The fact that certain morons give this game such a low score, without actually pointing out its innumerable merits, discredits them completely. This game is beautiful. Granted not perfect, but it would be unrealistic to expect much more from a game of this magnitude. The technical constraints, I can only imagine, were numerous. I can't stand net-douches trolling just for the sake of trolling. Disliking a game is one thing, but giving a game with so much depth a "0" or a 1"???? That's just plain ignorance. The story is fantastic, extremely engaging, and to anyone with at least a grade 5 level of intelligence, enormously relevant in today's society. I suspect "ComradeRifle ", "Toneboat923 ", "Hillean", and the like to suffer from severe brain hemorrhaging. This might explain the stupidity and ignorance in their posts. You guys might want to get checked out - could be fatal. Douchebags aside, the gameplay is tight - despite occasional AI glitches - and thoroughly immersing. The sheer amount of options at your disposal when customizing your character is astounding. I found myself taking forever to choose where I would use my praxis points, as almost every decision you make in Human Revolution has a direct impact in your experience. And that is fantastic. Rarely have I found myself so drawn into a world, a game, the way I have with Human Revolution. Pay no mind to the ignorant - they are absolutely entitled to their opinions, but disliking a game and trashing it score wise without pointing ANY redeeming qualities, is just plain trolling. If you're a fan of engaging stories, intense action and Rpgs in general, then do yourself a favor and buy this game. Forget the trolls. Deus Ex Human Revolution deserves better. Expand
  18. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution is not like other FPS's. You don't just blow s#it out, and kill people. You've got to be intelligent. Of course, you can just kill everything that move towards you. But the fun in this game, is to think, to make a fortress of boxes to hide, to find a vent and go through it, to hack, to hide bodies, and to think what's going to be your next augmentation. This game is not perfect (it's cutscenes are just awful, for example) but the way it plays, it's just incredible. It's a nice RPG and a nice shooter as well. For me, this is a candidate for GOTY. Expand
  19. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    I was a huge fan of the original, was hugely disappointed by Invisible War, and have thankfully been hugely impressed by Human Revolution. I don't think it's entirely fair to expect the same level of intricate detail and micro-tuning found in the original (it was a keyboard and mouse exclusive before being ported to PS2), and honestly, I don't really miss improving my swimming skill level anyhow. HR's grid inventory and item crafting really pleased the old PC gamer side of me too (glad to see the universal ammo and item wheel from IW gone). This game is a fantastic balance of complexity and accessibility. Also, some of the most unique art direction in a long time. Don't listen to the graphics nay-sayers. It looks great, and middle-of-the-road graphics with beautiful design work beats out bleeding edge graphics with uninspired art direction any day. Expand
  20. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    I'm a huge fan of the original Deus Ex and Deus Ex invisible war was just average. I'm glad to say that this isn't the case with Deus Ex: Human Revolution. The game has a great story, atmosphere, and the graphics are pretty well done for an open world game. The combat and stealth are satisfying in DXHR and I like how Adam can only take a few bullets before he dies and isn't a bullet sponge like in most fps'. The voice acting is top notch and the enviroments change enough to keep you interested in DXHR throughout the entire experience. The game does have some weird AI glitches and slow points but, it's nothing that ruined the gameplay experince for me. This is the perfect RPG/FPS hybrid and a lot more people should give it a try. This game earns the nine i'm giving it because DXHR is different than most of the boring FPS clones that come out year after year. The game took me about 35 hours to beat doing lots of the sidequests and just taking my time to enjoy the game and not rush through it. I recommend this game to anyone who likes a good story and an immersive gameplay experience. Expand
  21. Aug 28, 2011
    10
    this is a great game and a real throwback to the days of oldschool rpgs with the addition of choice. I must say the hud is not the best but it is not the worst. The graphics are good, not great but the style really works in the games favor and gives a new flair to enclosed environmental. Basically this game is a little COD mixed with final fantasy with player choice added to the midst.
  22. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    I loved this game!! Great storyline, graphics and gameplay. I love sneaking around hiding and taking out people one by one. I never played the original and thought that i would give this game a chance and i am glad i did. 10 out of 10!!!
  23. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    I never really played the original but this game is hugely impressive. I was really excited about this after the initial trailer but unsure if it could live up to the hype until I played it. My first impressions were that the graphics are really cool but there were one or two sloppy character models and Jensen's voice is a little cheesy. I also found the controls a little fiddly at first. But once the game-world opened up proper it blew me away with the level of choice and detail. And the in-game music is incredible. I would say it edges Mass Effect 2 as the best action RPG out there. Expand
  24. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Ok, square-Enix deserve to be praised on this as it is amazing, even more so that fans constant bash them for final fantasy 13 for not having for free roam for 20+ hours.....do they remember final fantasy 10? One of the best ff games ever with next to no free roam, anyway. Great game. Graphics are not perfect but not bad in anyway if anything they had to come back a little without throwing money into games just for people to crush them in reviews, (ff, k&l etc etc) the gameplay is outstanding more so that there have been next to no games out this year that have made you go "WOW". the map size is huge! Think free roam like the darkness, stealth like splinter cell and action like fallout. An all round top game and a must buy. Drag yourselves away from the mindless run and gun and enjoy a real game. And people are complaing about not having 100 save files 0n0 REALLY? Is 20 and auto saves not enough? I use 1 why? Because I play the game not save over and over to find a fault. Idiot! Why are there always people who don't have anything better to do try and troll on the Internet. Great game Square-Enix keep it up! Expand
  25. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    Just as good as the original. The huge variety which the series is known for is back and dare I say even better due to the wide selection of augmentations which you can unlock. Through every situation and encounter I experienced I came across several different routes that lead to completely different areas or were inaccessible due to me not having the right ability. This game has massive replay potential, I want to go back just to see what I missed. The story like the other games is filled with conspiracies, secrets and twists that will completely surprise you as well as the main character Adam Jensen. Overall this is my game of the year, Eidos Montreal did a great job of capturing the essence of the original game which wowed so many people over a decade ago. Expand
  26. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    I suspect the main reason that some people are giving this wonderful game a low score is because they can't handle something more complex than what they are used to. They can't handle actually thinking while playing a game. They need a cranium augmentation.
  27. Aug 28, 2011
    10
    Games do not get much better than this! The sheer depth, detail and beauty of the environments alone is enough to keep you hooked. And with 3 different ways to play, it lasts so many hours!
  28. Aug 28, 2011
    10
    sorry I'm not much on reviews and don't mess with them much but this is different. this game just might be one of the most thought out games that's been released in sometime. its not the same old stuff, make some new maps, play for 5 hours and send them on their multiplayer way. a lot of care went into this game right down to the smallest of things. its a shame some just can't grasp the full scope of what this game offers and very and i mean very few games show the amount of dedicated work that must have went into this. Thanks Eidos, a job very well done. Expand
  29. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    This game is glorious, it is by far the most engaging game of 2011 (so far). Any of the visual limitations or mediocre voice work are made up for by the gameplay and story. I love the stealth options which begs a second playthrough by offering a trophy for not killing a single person in a single playthrough. My initial reaction to the augmentations was underwhelming but once you get deeper into the game you realize the necessity of some of the weaker options, some of the initialy exciting augs come back underwhelming (like seeing through walls). But like I said I found myself building up Adam's hacking abilities and so forth more than I ever initially thought I would. Great game great play time, I have invested roughly 22 hours into this game and still havent finished. I dont purchase games due to a pass at blockbuster that I get all my rentals for 20 bucks but a purchase is not a bad idea in this ones case. When you start give it at least 2 or 3 hours to sink in and you will fall into this games trap. Play it! Expand
  30. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    As a gamer since the Commodore 64 days, and specifically an RPG gamer, I have longed for the days of games that captured my attention and kept me there four days. Bards Tale, Elite, and a few others did that. Until recently, only a few games such as System Shock 2 and Planescape gave me that feeling. It has been awhile, but Dues Ex HR does this for me.
    The game graphics are great.
    They are perfect for what this game is. Any more and they would just bog the game down (sometimes I think that great graphics are there so you don't notice that the game sucks).
    The sound is so good that you don't notice. It immerses you into the game and it fits so well that you have to make yourself listen to notice.
    The upgrade system is what it should be; you have to choose and there is no right or wrong build. The sneaking system made me feel like I was playing Thief again, but the AI was MUCH better.

    I am about half way through this game and as a 43 year old gamer playing since he was 10, it was well worth the money and I would have paid twice the amount. Can't wait for the expansions!
    Expand
  31. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    A brilliantly realized world, a perfect mesh of realism and cyber-fantasy to create a stunning story that has kept me gripped in my playtime. The gameplay variety gives you many options, and though some are more limited and challenging than others, it still gives you an experience that allows you to do what you want, as long as you reach the objective some way. I do admit, there are cons, being some poor voice acting in sections, and some animation issues with characters, but these small dishes never draw away from the main course. Just, overall, I was hugely amazed by this game; it gives everything you could want from an RPG, and more. Expand
  32. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    I'll keep this short and sweet: Deus Ex: Human Revolution has without-a-doubt the best, most in-depth, engrossing story I've played in a game this generation. Throw that in with completely approachable combat that lets you play how you want (it may be a stealth shooter at heart, but I went in guns-blazing and taking cover and it went perfectly! The shooting physics are beautiful). The environments are rich and detailed, and the upgrading system -- the RPG half -- was perfect, letting you upgrade and progress your character as you wished. I honestly had multiple sessions of this game where I played for more than 8 hours at a time because it was so gripping and I just had to see what happened next. Fully, completely recommended by me; it's a modern-day masterpiece. Expand
  33. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    Stunning game, not without flaws, but the few it has are easily forgiven. The size of the world and attention to detail is staggering. The world feels believable, immersive and lived in. Walking through offcies and labs, seing lots of objects in the areas just makes you feel like someone actually lives or works in the places you visit. Audio is well done and the music just fits perfectly. All in all the atmosphere of the game is brilliant. Gameplay wise i was surprised how easy the multitude of mechanics are to pick up. I was particularly worried about implementation of stealth, but it is superb. The controls are intuitive and just work - a few minutes of playing and you will feel right at home. No long or steep learning curve at all. The gameplay elements are varied and all done to a high level. It is not a shooter, but even playing with guns blazing feels ok. With stealth and alternative approaches to solving problems the game really comes into it's own though. There is ALWAYS multiple ways of reaching your goals in true Deus Ex style. I know i have a good game in my hands when i start planning an approach for a second playthrough while still playing for the first time! Definitely a must buy and keeper. Playing through once took me well over 30 hours and i know i missed quite a few things, so several playthroughs are a certainty for me. Not many games can boast such a high value for money these days. Expand
  34. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    Best game of the year so far. I never played the original and was worried that I may not get this game because of that, but it really makes no difference if you've played the original or not, this game is just plain fun. It has a Mass Effect vibe which is pretty cool. Definitely worth getting. My only complaint is that hacking is just not fun. Why do video game developers think people want to hack things in video games? Give me a break guys. I play games for the story and to crack skulls. Pick this game up and you'll have a good time. Expand
  35. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    What can i say about this game,other than if it wasn't for Battlefield 3 & possibly Batman-Arkham City this year,then it would've been game of the year.Games like this,where this much genuine effort,perfection & a sense of pride(No bugs i can see AT ALL) in their work from the developer comes along.If only more games companys had the same level of pride & perfection in their work.. I hope when these offending developers see this game,they feel shame for the state they ship they're products in.Considering its an RPG,the attention to detail & graphics are astounding,& even the gunplay is tight & very enjoyable.In fact all the elements of this game are fun,however you choose to approach the game,be it All guns blazing,stealth or adaptive by using alot of hacking,The Icarus landing system to drop in,or moving heavy objects to gain access to areas otherwise inaccessible.Whichever method you use,you'll have fun,& the takedown moves are very satisfying,as are all the other moves like the Icarus,that go to a cinematic type view when they're triggered.Theres many other skills that effect the way & things you can do in the game,but i wont go into them.This game makes you feel like a bad-ass,because well,basically you are! I havnt finished the game yet at time of writing,so dont know if you can take your skills with you to subsequent playthroughs,but either way,theres definately potential for multiple playthroughs,as you may want to adopt different tactics,buy different upgrades,take a different avenue in the conversations,or just for the pure fun of it.
    The music & look of the game are top notch too.I cant stress just how polished & perfect this game is.It seems like a pretty big game too,with plenty of Main & sub quests to be getting on with.
    If i was to describe this game,I'd describe it as a cross between Mass Effect,Splinter Cell & Metal Gear Solid with inspiration from Blade Runner & Robocop,which lets face it,is a good thing on all counts.
    As i said at the beginning,rarely do you see such a polished,Perfect,& Bug Free game in this day & age(mores the pity),& i for one congratulate & salute Eidos Montreal for making such a masterpiece.. 10/10 from me because this is literally a perfect creation.(I cant believe some people are giving this 7 or under,much less Zero?! Even if its not your kind of thing,I cant fathom what goes through someones mind,that they couldnt see this as an extremely well made,competent & well above average product).& giving it a zero is an absolute insult & shows a lack good balanced judgment.Besides,zero should be saved,& used on those products that truely deserve it,the TRUELY terrible.Zero's are thrown around too freely on here,by far.
    Expand
  36. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    Unbelievable! Seriously.... once you get used to the dated graphics, you realize just how amazing this game is. I will be sitting at work and literally thinking of how I am going to address a conversation in the game or what direction I want to take my character. I have never played a game that has made me think so deeply. People... stop complaining about the graphics. This game proves that there is more to gaming than just pretty graphics. The story is consuming, the atmosphere is amazing, the RPG elements are PERFECTLY balanced, and the game play is addicting. This game is the closest game to perfection. 5 years from now, I really think that people will be voting this game to be one of the best of all time... it's that good. Buy it, get past the tutorial (about an hour), and realize what I'm talking about. Expand
  37. Aug 30, 2011
    9
    If you are still really thinking about getting this game then you need to get in your car (or have mommy drive you) and just lay the 60 buck down to play one of the best games I have ever played in my 35 years of life. The story is UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!! POSSIBLE GAME OF THE YEAR SLEEPER!!!!
  38. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    After just completing Deus Ex: Human Revolution, I have to say, this is one of the best games I have played in a long time. It was so easy for me to get completely lost in the brilliant cyber-punk world. With so many twists in the story, it was impossible not to be on the edge of my seat the entire time. From the crowded, neon-lit Hengsha island to the gritty Detroit City hub, the stunning visuals make this world so tangible, the player feels like they are actually living every nail-biting second right next to the hero, Adam Jensen. Add to this mix, top notch writing and some of the best voice work I have ever heard in a game. This was a day 1 purchase for me, and I was not disappointed. This game turned out to be all I hoped it would be and more. Expand
  39. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Deus Ex Human Revolution is such a perfect mix of a Role Playing Games and Shooters. Deus Ex games typically present you with an open environment that have been designed with a variety of gameplay styles in mind, which allows you to approach the map and navigate the intricate inner workings of the warehouse, army base, gang hideout ect. To all our relief Deus Ex Human Revolution pulls this off flawlessly. I would give you an example but im only on my second playthorugh and im still finding air vents, locked doors and breakable walls that lead me to groups of enemies, rooms and armouries with very rewarding loot. -The layout of missions are absolutely perfect, ive not found one single flaw in that respect- -Art Direction and Atmosphere-
    The ambient noise while roaming one (to avoid spoilers I wont say how many different cities there are) of the * cities can get a bit repetitive with the odd scream and dog bark that occurs every now and again. But apart from that walking around hearing hobo's rummaging around in trash cans and ravaged and ruined augmented hookers, war vets and hobos moan, complain and mumble there views on life to you as you walk past make you really care and understand life in the city your city. Also the Cyber punk art style is executed fantastically. The cut scenes can get a bit dark since they take heavy use of the light on dark effect, but can be improved in the settings.
    -You feel like your in a conspiracy ridden Detroit in 2027

    -story and characters-
    Your Adam Jensen,(The events that follow this message are within 30 minuets of the game) A man who had was brought back to life by Sarif industries after a ferocious attack on their HQ and ultimately tore you a new one. Its not clear weather or not Adam approves of augments, alot of it is also dictated on your real life views on augmentation. So in essence the augmentation is a very simple idea following the usual split society views and ideologies. But is told in a really interesting way. It pans out well, and at a good pace too. Its an RPG/ Shooter so there are loads of characters. And apart from a few scientists *somewhere in the game* i haven't really found a bad character, a character thats prevalent in the story anyway. Newspapers, Personal Computers and pocket secretaries 99% of the time provide really interesting back stories to characters you might not even ever meet.( Im being really vague to avoid anything that might be taken as a spoiler)
    -In essence characters vary in depth of backstory and personality. However, the story is tightly woven into the game and era and moves at a very good pace. Consumers like me often give out perfect ratings lightly, any game that they take a shine to within the first hour of the game gets a 10 from them. Im not like that. Ive searched for flaws in every respect. So im going to give this game a 10 since the only flaws ive found are minuscule and considering its just a lot of coding wrapped up in all of the above its so impressive.
    Expand
  40. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    Thief (old gamers only can remember - Eidos) meets Matrix (the movie) decorated with a Clint Eastwood-like voice of the main character. Choose the way in, the way (to take) out and even the hardware you character wishes to use in his missions. Great RPG elements and decision making that changes the plot. Awesome hacking mini game and abilities that (if chosen) are depicted graphically during the gameplay (i.e. when you choose the "See through walls" augmentation or the one that makes you jump from a distance. Not sure if the hard core Rambo players around will like it but I absolutely loved it as a small "tour" inside the venting corridors of my game, you will find stunned bodies... The only reason I gave it a 9 is that I am still at the beginning and didn't have the whole picture. Expand
  41. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    I got this on Friday and i haven't completed it yet which is good but i think i'm nearly there. This is because i started on the difficulty give me deus ex and i am trying not to be detected by anything and not killing anyone which has proven a challenge, its been awhile since i've played a game with challenge. I probably saved about 300 times just to get perfection. Saving can be a burden but it don't bother me that much its the loading that bothers me. When you have to keep retrying the loading screen becomes a frustration.
    You get secondary mission which should keep you busy and make the game longer.
    I like the choice you get if you want to play combat or stealth but you will find yourself having to hack a lot of things which gets annoying. The A.I are sometimes stupid when you can be right beside them and they wont notice but the cameras can detect you so easy i find yourself reloading save in anger so PLAN YOUR STEPS. I would get rid of bosses or at least change them in some way which involves stealth. I was playing the game doing my thing then all of a sudden i'm forced into a combat situation which i was unprepared for.
    + Its different from a lot of the games out.
    + Fun stealth (not often you see stealth games)
    + Speech is good because its fun to see a smart politician get owned.
    + Lengthy when trying to play it the hard way.
    + Challenging.

    - Sometimes get stupid A.I
    - Bosses ruin my stealth
    - Sometimes the HUD is confusing like not knowing where to go.
    Expand
  42. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    11 years ago, Deus Ex changed gaming forever. It is still, for my money, the best game ever made. Human Revolution has some big shoes to fill.

    I truly believe that a great game is as much about immersion in a virtual world as it is about gameplay. Though a classic game can still exist without a richly detailed setting and extensive backstory, the presence of these things adds to and
    enriches the overall gaming experience immeasurably.

    Eidos Montreal have pushed hard to set new standards in this field. Few developers are ever this thorough, careful and determined in creating a believable setting for a game. The worlds of William Gibson, Philip K. Dick and Masumune Shirow are referenced and recreated here in astonishing detail, and whether you are familiar with Deus Ex or not, it's a total science fiction nerdgasm. There are hundreds, even thousands of books and newspapers, emails, product brands created specifically for the game, overheard conversations, TV and radio shows, and other snippets of information to be found and pored over.

    The locations are simply jaw-dropping, ranging from sprawling urban jungles to opulent corporate penthouses and beyond. You'll just want to stop and look at everything, there is an insane amount of detail. Some of the areas are just stunning in terms of architecture, artwork and design, and the overall art direction is absolutely superb. The soundtrack is sheer perfection. Every glimmer of hope and fear that we have about the future is explored and magnified by Michael McCann's epic score. Itâ
    Expand
  43. rhe
    Sep 9, 2011
    9
    This game is truly Deus Ex as it was meant to be. A deep and engrossing narrative coupled with mostly excellent voice acting, a strong AI that doesn't just stop looking for you seconds after you move away from their sight and the AI reacts fantastically in combat regularly trying to flush you out of cover with a grenade but also all of the enemy's seem to be proficient marksmen, the game also encourages you to explore and i actually really liked that about this game and it allowed me to get sucked into the world of Deus Ex even more. However my main issues with the game are firstly the controls as it felt kinda weird at first and it took some getting used to, one good example is having to press X to interact with objects in my inventory when in most other FPS/RPG'S i would have to press A or that you have to press LT to get into cover when i'm normally used to pressing RB. Another issue i had with the game was the fact that it didn't seem to know whether it wanted to be an FPS or a Stealth action game. I say this because the game mainly rewards you for finding ways around enemy's and using non-lethal take-downs by giving you more xp for this method so naturally it would be favorable to pick the augments which would allow you to do this the most proficiently and quickly but then all of a sudden the game throws in boss battle's which means that you're stealth approach now has to be thrown out the window since you are locked in a tight space and all those augments that you have brought on increasing xp suddenly become useless since many of them favor a stealth approach. In all honesty for these main facts I feel like the game deserves a very high 9 and while i really wanted to give this game a 10 these faults really can't be overlooked. Expand
  44. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    Finally this year a game worthy to be called GAME OF THE YEAR. There is sooo much that I could put, but I'll keep it brief. Firstly when you own this game, take your time, enjoy the world your in, search every nut and cranny, enjoy the charcters you meet, and don't spend all your PRAXIS points at once, save up and then spend, but do use online guides to help you with the right augmentations at the right time in the game, and save frequently, this is the number one rule with this game. If you don't save and end being killed you'll end up regretting it for eternity. Ok there are autosave moments, but you still save manually, this is a must do. And most importantly enjoy what is an incredible thrill ride through the eyes of possibly the best new character on consoles, ADAM JENSON. Its all about you, all about the decisions you make and the way you play the game, thats why this has be a clear winner for GAME OF THE YEAR 2011!!! Expand
  45. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    Amazing. I really liked the game as a whole, however there were some flaws that took maybe some of the overall experience away, or let me rather say it distracted me from it. I am very much a completionist, and unfortunately the game was designed in a way that you will get more XP by really hacking everything and go everywhere. That would translate into more Praxis points (augmentations). Which is obviously what iam after. However that hunt for more XP had me stay in one area for too long when i was emotionally ready to move on with the story. I dont mind spying **** out and going another way, but it was sometimes a mood killer knowing that the story wants me to go quickly forward but i know i need to check everything out first in order to no forget anything. But these are just minute details. They have however build up over time and were teh reason for my conclusion. Overall this game is the sheeeeet. I would recommend it to anybody Expand
  46. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    I really like the atmosphere! The gameplay is a little bit stiff , not as smooth like in other FPS. The role playing-part with upgrades and stuff are really nice , a bit confusing in the beginning. The graphical interface could have been more adjusted for a gamepad but it works okay. I like that you can choose your own playstyle during a mission , you can choose to be stealthy or "Go Berserk" and kill everything in your way. The problem is that you get more experience points (XP) for choosing the stealth option , but what the hell Deus Ex is in someway supposed to be played that way. In conclusion i want to say that Human Revolution is a worthy prequel to the mother of all tech/cyberpunk-RPG's of all time - Deus Ex! Expand
  47. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    awsome! same mood like in first deus ex. Maybe GFX is only allright but... the rest is sucking me all the time. I am not sure what this negative scores are about?
  48. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    This is a truly inspiring game from start to finish. The style of gameplay combined with the style of architecture is just awesome and stunning. The animation style might seem a little bit outdated but the textures all look fine to my zombie eyes :). Furthermore you have multiple dialogue options and multiple opportunities to reach your target. This goes for conversations and gameplay. Bottom Line: Amazing Game which is focusing the single players out there and offers a huge replay value! Expand
  49. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    WOWOOW!!11111111!!!!!! I AM FRICKIN ROBOT CYBORG I KICK A$$$$$$$$$!!!! THE SUNGLASSES ARE SICK... but i wish he had beats, cus that wuld make him like listen better the bad guys and kick more A$$$$ !!!!!1111
  50. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Dues Ex: Human Revolution is probably one of the best stealth games I ever played. I'm a big fan of stealth games and Deus Ex: Human evolution easily holds its place as one of the best in the stealth genre. The story is really good and interesting but that varies between people. Some might find it boring but in opinion I enjoyed the story line and the characters.The story takes play in the future where people have augmentations that are pretty much robotic hands and arms. But not all is good because there are humans who oppose these augmentations to humans. The game also offers choices that can change the storyline outcomes. Which actually has differant results so some people might reload their game to choose differant choices. The game looks great overall but some of the cinematics sometimes look worst the Game play itself. I found it funny how people in the cinematic look like they were covered in grease like a cheesy McDonald commercial. The gameplay is also fun with a mixed of first person and third person action. Suprising it works well with the game and before you know it you get well used to it. You can also run and gun through the game if you want to but the best choice is probably stealthy all the way through. There also many role playing elements that work well with the game. Such as augmentations that give you more health or more energy. The game also offers many different paths you can take to your objective. You get alot more if you thoroughly explore the area instead of rushing from point A to point B. There are also a good amount of weapons that can suit everyone's needs. The only complaint I probably have is the boss battles which hardly requires any stealth mechanics. All you do is get the most powerful weapons you can find and spray all you bullets into the bosses. So players who went through the stealthier approach and invested their skill points in stealth skills they will have a harder time. Also I would have preferred it better if you had the option to kill the bosses or let them live. Since you can complete the entire game without killing the anyone except the bosses. Overall, if your a fan of stealth games or enjoy like a futuristic story you should pick up this game. Expand
  51. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    I never played the original Deus Ex, but that's something you clearly don't need to enjoy this game. Basicly, don't come looking for a first person shooter. It's a mix of stealth/action..., but you do have scenes you have to shoot like hell... this however is optional. Boss encounters forces you into combat... and even then you can replace it with setting traps or just bombing him/her away.-- POSITIVE: Incredible story telling - Interesting characters - Augmentation (upgrade) system - the many ways for completing quests, so definitely replayability!-- NEGATIVE: Some characters can look bland, graphicly wise. CLOSING COMMENTS: Deus Ex: HR is a great game. It's fun, interesting and beautiful. Expand
  52. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    This game puts Splinter Cell to shame. The dark environment, NPC's, hacking system, and stealth combat are all awesome. The only complaint I had was Deus Ex was a linear story line. I prefer an open world non-linear story. I LOVE that combat cannot devolve to a first person shooter take on the world approach (even on the easiest level) as gunshots are lethal. FANTASTIC game!!!
  53. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    Action or Stealth you decide! Brilliant job at pulling it off. As a RPG fan as well I love how it hybrid the best elements of it. Even more so then the "Action-RPG" game Mass Effect 2. Your choices made a difference, not directly on the world around you but certainly in the scope of the plot and the main missions. Customisation of your character and of the your weapons was really fun. The the musical score was fantastic as well as the detail of the environments. The hacking mini-game was enjoyable too. Normally they are just prolonged chores, but this one was indeed fun. Fantastic game. Expand
  54. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    As I have never played a Deus Ex game before, I was unsure of what to expect. Having been weaned on first-person shooters during my early childhood and later action RPGs I have always been on the hunt for a game which combines RPG elements with meaty combat that is different from the slow action of Fallout 3 but also distanced from the arcadey shooting in Mass Effect 2.

    Well, that search
    is over. Human Revolution gives you so many options in every choice you make. What shall it be today, charging in with a minigun or navigating a vent to reach my objective? Every decision you make feels important, and can have certain consequences too. In one scene you must defuse a hostage situation. If you choose the right conversation options, the kidnapper will free the hostage and you will be congratulated for your efforts. However if you make a wrong decision and the man kills the hostage, you will be given an unexpected reward. EVERY choice you make has a consequence of some kind, which makes the game infinitely replayable.

    Another remarkable thing about this game is that it achieved the impossible: it made me hate CoD. I was once furiously addicted to gunning down enemies on Nuketown in Black Ops' multiplayer and playing through the long campaign. But when I played Human Revolution that all changed. Now the Black Ops single-player mode was extremely boring and linear. Why walk in a straight line, only being able to shoot or stab one bad guy after another when you could be running past them, taking them down, turning turrets against them or even convincing them to join your cause? Human Revolution has the best combat I have ever seen. The guns feel great and encourage ammo conservation, the cover system is perfectly implemented, the brief take-down 'cut-scenes' are cool and you always, ALWAYS, feel like a bad-ass. And even if shooting isn't your thing, there are many other ways to complete a mission. How about crawling into a secret room and hack a computer to deactivate cameras, giving you an advantage? Or you could just simply adapt to the (exceptionally intelligent) enemies' patrol patterns and avoid them completely. The choices are yours.

    If this game still doesn't sound good enough to you, then an extra layer of depth is added via Augmentations. When you earn enough XP you unlock Praxis Points, which are spent on Augmentations. These can range from the ability to see through walls to giving you dermal armor or even invisibility. THESE are the icing on an already very tasty cake.

    Still not convinced? Well, there are so many locations and side-missions in the game that it's impossible to complete them all in your first playthrough. And while the graphics are nothing special up close, the visual style of gold and black is quite breath-taking. DO NOT dismiss this game just because of the graphical style; they are not some crappy anime visuals.

    The writing, too, excels with a deep story and very memorable characters. I felt heartbroken when a certain character died towards the end of the game and continue to wonder whether I could have prevented their death.

    After all of the lavish praise I have thrown upon this game, you must think that there are no flaws. But there are. Critical decisions are sometimes made for you during cut-scenes, making you curse to yourself and say 'I could have prevented her from getting away if this wasn't a God-damned cut-scene!' or something of the like. Along those lines, boss fights are very standard fare like in other games. You are given no options regarding the three in the game but to kill them. No talking, no hacking, just plain shooting until they're dead.

    And during the course of the game I could have sworn that I was playing Oblivion. The game can be so buggy sometimes I occasionally recoiled and thought 'WTF?'. As an example, I once walked into a room to find a pile of clothes on the floor. When I hovered the cursor over it, the 'clothes' appeared to be a certain Doctor Colvin. When I pressed A to talk to her, a body suddenly filled those clothes and started conversing with me. And when the second boss battle begun, I took cover behind a nearby wall. After a few moments of nothing happening, I decided to see what she was doing. It turned out that the 'boss' was actually spending her time running into a wall, unable to move away. I took advantage of the oppurtunity and emptied to clips on her until she died.

    Remarkably, though, these minor setbacks donnot detract from the game's excellence whatsoever. Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a deep, though-provoking game that betters the original in every way. And if there's one decision that is clear, it's this: BUY THIS GAME.
    Expand
  55. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    It's pretty good considering it's trying to live up to the original Deus Ex. I thought the story to be intriguing and immerse much like the original Deus Ex. It combines FPS with 3rd person elements (that can seem clunky at times but it's different and that's what counts.). It's definitely a bit different than recent games to be released and a welcome change to the stagnant market these days. I cannot however say that it lives up to the original Dues Ex or has the same amount of immersiveness as Deus Ex did, but that is a hefty benchmark to live up to and when compared to recent games it outshines them quite a bit imo and needs much more recognition. One thing this games does do that the original didn't is introduce much more flush characters with a much more down to Earth feel as well as a main character that isn't your typical bald macho guy and actually has some uniqueness to him. Expand
  56. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    I loved it for what it was. Sure the animations might be dated, the combat awkward at times & the boss battles uncalled for.

    But this game is set in such a rich world, such beauty and depth.

    I found myself just slowly walking down the streets of Detroit, just sucking in the atmosphere.

    Very glad that i had picked this up.
  57. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    This game is terrific, i even find myself passing time by hacking whatever i find and talking to janitors... It has one of the best single player campaigns ive played in a while and its SO IMMERSIVE OH MY GOD. Playing this on the xbox is much better than I anticipated and doesn't feel like a port. The only reason i don't give it a 10 is because playing none-lethal long range is a pain to keep supplies flowing and the start of the game. I'd rate this game 9.99/100 Expand
  58. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    Absolutely quality game, not quite as good as the original (but what is?) and a good remedy for the rubbish cash in that was invisible war. A glitch here and there but fantastically put together, get production value, well thought through missions and just great looking.
  59. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    My only complaint about this game is the boss fights are a bit annoying but that's just me personally otherwise it's a very worth while game. PS you don't need the missing link dlc but if you need more deus ex action it's worth your time.
  60. Oct 25, 2011
    9
    It's hard to make a game that stands up to the original Deus Ex, and while Human Revolution didn't quite make the Benchmark, it is still a great game in its own right. The graphics are a little dated, but the visual art style more than makes up for this. The atmosphere it something to behold, as Human Revolutions really irks me, like in a good way. It makes me care about he plights of its people, simply by the way it presents itself. The combat is good, even though the AI can be pretty goofy at times. Then generally just patrol the exact same route, so with careful study one can sneak by them pretty easily. You can play the game like a total badass commando, or be a stealthy player. i highly recommend the Stealth Route, as it's just a much more satisfying and rewarding experience. The story can get a little muddled, and I will admit that sometimes Adams voice makes me want to punch something. It sounds like he needs to clear his throat...for the whole game. It's still well written though, so if you can get past that then theres a unique and well presented story to be told here. Overall, I would say you should get this game, or at the very least, its worth a rent. Expand
  61. Oct 25, 2011
    9
    This is a great game and one of the best this year. The action when it occurs is good and never too in your face but that was never my preferred way of playing this game. I liked to go stealth with the occasional gunfight and this is what the game is all about Choice. There is not one path which you must take, there are multiple paths with different advantages which makes this game shine compared to most FPS. The RPG elements work really well and deciding which augment to choose next can be tricky. Though amazingly I actually loved the story which is one of the best I know, the only problem with game is the bosses which are a little generic and not as innovating as everything else. This is a must buy for all SP lovers Expand
  62. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    A brilliant prequel to the original Deus Ex, Square Enix has definitely delivered with Human Revolution. Combining an absolutely brilliant story, along with fluid gameplay mechanics and a wide choice of playstyles to choose, Deus Ex: Human Revolution is one of the best Stealth/RPG/FPS games of the recent years. An excellent score of music also helps to reflect the dark undertone of the game. Set in future Detroit, the game revolves around conspiracy, and secrets. Players will feel involved in the story travelling from Detroit, and other places such as China etc.

    Overall, one of my favourite games from the past few years, and an excellent addition to both the Stealth genre, and the Deus Ex series too.
    Expand
  63. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution had some very big shoes to fill. Not only did it have the pressure of hype because of the amazing trailers Square Enix and Eidos put out, but they had to live up to one of the most beloved games ever. After being disappointed already, I don't think Deus Ex fans would've been so kind if another sequel failed to meet their expectations. Luckily, I'm here to report that this game will go down in history as one of the absolute finest out there. If you want a meaty single player experience that offers something truly unforgettable, you better get yourself a copy right now. Expand
  64. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    AWESOME, this game is an example of what a stealth game must be! Story is very well written and totally believable, and the flexibility in gameplay makes this game 3 in 1. You can play it by stealth, action or no-confront at all, This is Money well spent for sure!
  65. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Put simply, Deus Ex is what games should be. The gameplay of Deus Ex will have you teetering on the edge of your seat while you grind away your teeth. It's a good frustrating that rewards you well at the end of achieving and accomplishing what you're required to do. The storyline of Deus Ex doesn't fall short and is set in a rich dark world that is highly polished, full of detail, and immerse. With plenty of things to look at, people to talk to, and lore to learn about. Deus Ex is what video games try to do when trying to tell a good story. And by that Deus Ex tells quite possibly one of the best stories in gaming. Through gameplay, to narrative direction Deus Ex does everything right. Making you full of emotion, stress, frustration, and happiness. It's a game that you must surely check out! If you haven't already. Expand
  66. May 27, 2013
    9
    Amazing game! Upgrading yourself is fun and there are so many different ways to tackle a level. The story was well done and very engrossing. I hope they release more!
  67. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution has happily been worth the wait and is a game that can hold its head up high next to the first game. Jensen isn't the most charismatic character, and the story is a tad patchy in places, but the game's world and its characters more than make up for it. Deus Ex: Human Revolution heralds the arrival of the cyber-renaissance, and it's pure gold.
  68. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    This game is good example about how games should be made. Offering a lot of variety, allowing you to choose how you want to play (Even play the game by barely killing anyone!). The story is very good and it's interesting. There's only two complaints about the game. The enemies are way too accurate. It must have been used to make you really careful when sneaking, but it's not fun at all to die in two bullets when you're far away. Boss battles also don't fit to the game at all and can be really annoying, if you don't have lethal weaponry carried before those. You are also forced to kill them, which is stupid. The game didn't also feel like you really choose the story, but that really isin't so bad thing to drop scores from the game. What ever Deus Ex fan or not, you will enjoy this. Most likely the GOTY for me. Expand
  69. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    My GOTY. I've purchased Uncharted 3, Gears 3, Dead Space 2, Killzone 3, Infamous 2, Batman Arkham City, L.A. Noire and Battlefield 3 this year and without a doubt Deus Ex Revolution is my GOTY (maybe Batman AC tied). Really, there's nothing like it this gen, it offers a new experience and gives a glimpse of what the next-gen of SP gaming could be like (or a forgotten last-gen that emphasized SP experiences), albeit, with current-gen graphics. Regardless, this game is what is sorely missing from the abundance of very weak single player experiences. The game has its flaws but they're easily overlooked given how immersive the game is. Most games in the back-end of this gen are derivative and stick to tired old formulas, this game is a refreshing experience in a generation filled with short and shallow SP experiences. I got a feeling reminiscent of playing MGS for the first time on PS1 while playing this game - good story with fun, creative stealth gameplay coupled with a tremendous sense of atmosphere. Any fan of SP should definitely check it out. The overall experience certainly makes you forget it's minor flaws. For SP FPS fans it's the best FPS game this year - 9.5/10 Expand
  70. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Its been 10 years since I couldn't put down a single player game. Just one more auto save...one more level up...one more mission....one more night. Its not as in depth as the original was over a decade ago, but at least half the time the game benefits from it. The game plays out far more linearly but it doesn't matter when ever mission is this fun.
  71. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    This is a very intriguing game. The environments, graphics, characters, and overarching story are VERY well done. The only problems with it are occasional AI stupidity, the main story (in detail), and some conversation mechanics. It is definitely more of a stealth-based game, but you can play it as solely an FPS (with some frustration over the small amount of health/ammo and shaky gun mechanics). The visuals are sometimes very reminiscent of Blade Runner, in a very good way. The supporting characters are rather well flushed-out, and are voice acted well, but Adam Jensen could definitely use some work in both fields. The story, when looked at as a whole, is interesting and well done, but when you are playing through and words like "illuminati" are thrown around without ever building up to anything, it gets a bit annoying to anyone looking for a good conspiracy-theory story. You rarely know who you're fighting and for what reasons, and in many cases, the Bosses are only introduced a few minutes before you fight them. You really need to work to find out which character is related to which corporation and what they did to make you mad. The conversation also get a tad repetitive and the characters' movements get intensely annoying. Every character will make exactly the same completely unnatural movements when in conversation. Those problems aside, this is a very good-looking, well-polished game that I completely recommend. There are multiple approaches to any given situation, and I like that in a game. I remember distinctly one room where you are supposed to call an elevator and enemies run into the room for the few minutes it takes the elevator to reach you. This would obviously be hard for anyone going for the achievement which requires you to beat the game without killing anyone. I found that I could (with an upgrade) lift vending machines and heavy crates and block all of the entrances to the room, so no enemies could get in. I think that that is a brilliant option to be able to do in a game. Finally, for the achievement hunters: The achievement list is relatively easy, aside from the three major ones: Beat the game on Hard, Beat the game without setting off any alarms, and Beat the game without killing anyone. It took me four playthroughs to get all of them. Many requirements are either not apparent or are plain ridiculous. One occurrence that cheated me out of the "Do not kill" achievement was a section where there is an ambush and you can choose to give a key person one of your weapons to protect himself. I only had two heavily upgraded lethal weapons I was saving for boss fights, so I didn't want to give either up after pouring that much money into them. I chose to keep them to then find out that by not giving him a weapon, he is killed, and that counts as someone "dying by your hand" as written in the achievement. I still find this stupid. Again, read my score and only take these complaints as really nitpicky problems, because I was never once bored during those playthroughs and I had tons of fun. Expand
  72. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers. Amazing story, nice graphics, nice game play and a excellent characters. If you want a game to entertain you, Deus Ex Human Revolution is the option. The RPG elements are fantastic and the boss fights too. No doubt that this game is my GOTY, the only thing that I thing that this game need is that you can re play the game after you finish the first time, with all Adam's upgrades. Amazing game. Collapse
  73. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    I know I'm a little late on this review since the game has been out since last year but I had to come on here and give my review anyway's...Deus ex is a great game,I haven't finished it yet but so far I'm loving every min I'm playing this visually stunning game.voices,story,graphics,gameplay all are great I recommend this game to anyone who enjoy's fps/action/rpg's.plus you can't ever go wrong with cyber punk themes. Expand
  74. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    i give this game 11 just for atmosphere...unfortunately it only lets me do 10 excellent story very engrossing, interesting rpg elements some skills are useless ie. cones of vision, no damage from falling (almost useless), decent visuals will be better next time i assume since this is new ip essentially

    im playing this game a second time through just because of all these things coming
    together in a very compelling way everyone should buy this game and experience it Expand
  75. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    I am happy to say that this game lives up to the original. Loads to do with so many missions and upgrades, the only thing that lets it down are the poor boss fights.
  76. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    I take back what I said about my review on this. This is the MOST bada*s f*cking game in the world. Just thinking about Adam Jensen punching through a wall or using the Typhoon makes me just feel awesome and kicka*s. There's killer music, awesome game-play, and the most bada*s weapons and characters. Hell, even Adam Jensen's pose on the cover has bada*s written all over it!!!! It's even made in my home town of Montréal. Great job Edios Montréal! Expand
  77. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    What an outstanding game. If you want a single player game with tons of replayability well then Deus Ex will do fine as there are many different ways to play this game. You can do stealth or straight arm yourself up. There are tons of ways to reach your objective and you can experience all kinds outcomes based on your choices. If your the kinda gamer i am, i really enjoy single player games with a story like mass effect. Deus Ex brings a solid story to the table that was satisfying that kept me guessing wth is going on? i need to figure out whos behind this and why? The only flaw i had with this game is the battery as it restricted me from doing a sequence of moves i would of liked to do to take out my enemies but thats part of the challenge i guess. Btw the achievments are also fine as well. Expand
  78. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    Deus ex is a beautiful game. It is a game you can bring up when someone says that there is no art in video gaming. The visuals are stunning, and the overall art direction in the entire game is amazing. Everything is polished. I found myself lingering in certain areas way longer than I needed to be there just so I could look at it. That's how good this game looks. But it's impressive visuals are not even what makes this game stand out. (or not the only thing) The two other things that make this game what it is are the overall mechanics and the plot and all its minutiae. The actual gameplay is great. You can play it as a stealth game, a pure shoot em up game, a "hacker infiltrator" type of game(if there is such a thing) or a mix of all three. There are so, so many ways you can accomplish any one goal. Each way is just as fun. Ducking around corners and cloaking your way through a packed room is just as fun as going in guns blazing and setting off your typhoon system while surrounded by a bunch of enemies (typhoon is awesome.) Or you could just set the turrents and robots to friendly and they'll do your work for you. Providing meaning for the amazing gameplay is an even better story, a wonderful conspiracy that deserves a place as a sci fi great in any storytelling medium. The story is shown to you, not told - you overhear guards chattering about certain things, you find emails that explain what's happening in the world (or that explain a couple of friends plans for the night), and you find ebooks that go into detail about many of the games key plot points. The praxis upgrade system is great - it makes you decide the type of cyborg you want to be and to level appropriately. it's not possible to ever completely level up, so you have to strategically choose your upgrades based on your play style,and I think that's a great thing. It's also a believable system, it's not just you allocating points to random attributes. I really could go on and on about this game, but I've decided I typed too much, but seriously, get this game. It has a top notch story, beautiful visuals, gameplay that *truly* offers the player choice, and to top it all off, my favorite thing is that it really makes you think about something that is not too far off in our future. First game in a while that made me ponder ethical questions, and that is a great thing. I can't wait for the first dlc. Expand
  79. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    I love it when I go into a game with zero expectations and come away impressed, that's exactly what this game did. Don't get me wrong tho it has its flaws but if you take the time to figure out what the game expects from you I think you'll feel the same way. I can't wait to see where this franchise goes from here, bravo eidos and square enix, you deserve every good review written.
  80. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    This game is firstly absolutely stunning to look at the graphics are beautiful, the amount of dark backgrounds that are splattered with colours is truly remarkable.
    I remember getting the first Deus Ex and people saying its ground breaking and is a beautifully crafted game, Eidos did it again with this, it feels fresh when you play it again, sure you wont do it as labouring as you did
    before but it is a game that feels new first second and third time around.
    The story is great and engaging, it might not have as many twists as the original but it is still amazing.

    If you haven't bought this game yet I recommend you get it as soon as you can well worth every penny.
    Expand
  81. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game certainly is amazing. The atmosphere, the sane stealth, which is long gone, great music, great style. You can certainly find fault with is not the best schedule, not a very good animation, but I will not, since the game left a huge positive impression. Another plus game, it is very long, the last time such a rarity. Side quests I liked, interesting, not dull Fall bring. But the game there are also disadvantages. At times, sags FPS. Dumb AI and of course the awful boss battles, in which all development in the direction of stealth is broken on the complicated action. What is most surprising, the last boss terribly easy. I also liked the gameplay is not ending. People become zombies because of the new chip, it kind of went even. Strictly for those shortcomings and I took half points, initially wanted more, but decided against it. Expand
  82. Oct 6, 2011
    9
    I have not played the first two Deus Ex games therefore I am reviewing this game purely on its own merits and I have to say this has not disappointed. I am slightly biased as the Cyber Punk setting akin to Blade Runner is probably my favorite futuristic setting and this dystopian view of Humanity on the precipice of a staggering leap in evolution is intriguing to say the least. Through the conspiracy of the main story there is a perpetual feeling of unrest amongst the Augmented and non-Augmented with the main protagonist Adam being thrust into his augmentations without his consent, there is a feeling of underlying prejudice towards him throughout the game. To the actual gameplay itself; I have chosen the stealth route through this game, and although that has made the obligatory boss battles a little tougher than if I had chosen the "all guns blazing" route, I am finding this much more entertaining as taking out a map of enemies without being seen is hugely rewarding.

    The augmentations act as the usual "level up" system, as you use Praxis points to upgrade anything from your hacking skills to upgrading your armor and accuracy of your guns, this adds an extra level to the game and although it does not force you into keeping the point stored I would advise holding on to at least one at all times as you never know when you will need a higher jump.

    My only annoyance with the game is Adams relentlessly gruff voice, this could probably have been explained by the beating he receives within the first 5 minutes if only his voice was different to begin with. What starts as an attempt to sound like a gruff westerner soon becomes irritating.
    Expand
  83. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    this is one of my favorite games of all time and i highly recommend this to anyone who likes stealth/action games the story is great and there are many different ways to complete objectives and warrants multiple replays after the first to see what you could do differently each time
  84. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Excellent game, immersive experience. The precision in gameplay and controls is great, the story is very good, although predictable in places. Atmosphere is second-to-none. Currently on my second playthrough and may very well do a third.
  85. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    I was extremely worried when I heard DE3 was coming. Being a huge fan of the original 2 games made me worry about how they would follow such good games. I shouldn't have worried. DE3 is an exceptional, mature game. It has bags of atmospheree and oozes quality. The story is clever and thee consequences of your actions are reacted to instantly. The best RPG-shooter I have ever played. My gf even likes it lol. Minor flaws in AI and a slightly dissapointing shift in the final chapter don't detract from an excellent experience. If Me2 can get a perfect score and have half as much intelligence, choice or actual rpg elements as this, then I can't in perfect conscience give it less than 10. My friend told me that me2 is the game to compare all others to. If so, then a lot of games deserve 10's. Expand
  86. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Hola a todos, os dejamos nuestro particular análisis de este juegazo!!!
    ********************************
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution es un juego completo, con una buena historia, un diseño artístico espectacular y una banda sonora sobresaliente. Todo esto unido a su componente RPG y a sus diferentes formas de ser jugado lo convierten en un juego muy
    recomendable y re-jugable.
    Mención a la campaña viral de anuncio del juego con una web de la propia Sarif Industries y sus propios anuncios promocionando el mañana, Hoy.

    ************************************
    http://www.gamejuegos.net/deus-ex-human-revolution-analisis/

    Un saludo.
    Expand
  87. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    One of my all time favourite games. I wish I never traded it back in to the store. The campaign is extraordinary. The graphics are amazing. The voice acting is awesome. This game stays true to the original 2 but of course can never be anywhere near as good as they were.
  88. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    DXHR is a genuine treat from start to end! Beautiful to play and with an art direction that's second to none, it's sound design and score are on a par with Hollywood blockbusters and exceptionally emotive throughout, and there is gameplay to suit all types of gamers. You dictate the gameplay throughout this game and it supports you in whichever play style you choose, if you want the story you will have to hunt it out through side missions and NPC interaction, if you want to run in and gun everything down you have the option, if you want a challenge go for the 'Foxiest of the hounds' and 'pacifist' dings! All in all for RPG and even stealth game fans this has everything you could ask for! The only criticism I have is that the boss fights are redundant and this games teases you with possible DLC chapters we will still have to wait for! I loved it 10/10! Expand
  89. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    My favorite game of the year thus far, Skyrim is the only title which has any chance of unseating it. The story is compelling and actually does a decent job of raising certain ethical questions about some of the risks of technology. There are always many different ways you can approach a given situation and unlike certain games which can become very difficult if you level up the wrong skills, this one is more forgiving. Expand
  90. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Amazing game. Many different ways to approach combat and the story. Great graphics. Great story. Only place it falls short in is many times the game feels to linear and despite all of the options in combat, there just isn't enough stuff in the world outside of the levels. The fact that the levels excel so much in giving the player many different options, makes the lack of other stuff to do feel all the more drastic. Expand
  91. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    If you want a long game, then get this. It has a great setting, with great background and overall visuals you will be amazed. The cover system is excellent. The stealth and combat feel very smooth and the 'think outside the box' gimmick works perfectly, with always being other ways to complete the objective. The customization is fun, however you will get lost in those big cities. Even though Other games like Skyrim offers 100's of hours of quests, this is worth getting. Expand
  92. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Deus Ex HR, is a great experience. It is the perfect blend of shooter and RPG. The graphics are very pretty, similar to FF13's in game graphics. The game play, whilst complicated to learn, is fun when you have mastered it. The music is great and really sets the scene as a futuristic game.The storyline is intriguing and leaves you wanting to get to the bottom of things. This is a challenging experience even on the easiest difficulty, you take a realistic amount of damage, a few bullets will kill you so you have to use stealth, which gives quite the adrenaline rush when sneaking past guards because you know if they catch you, you might not survive. The only problem with this game is whilst you and regular enemies take realistic amounts of damage, the bosses even though they are augmented like you do not. They are ovally difficult. If they were easier I would have given a perfect 10. Expand
  93. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Deus Ex Human Revolution is one of the best games I have played this year!!!! Combing great 1st and 3rd person gameplay and a excellent story I found myself lost in the game for 4-5 hours at a time, highly addictive. Haven't got round to playing the DLC yet, but another 4-5 hours of Deus Ex....... Yes please
  94. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    Perhaps when compared to the golden age of gaming this title would have been classed as about above average. But in the modern industry, with so many developers (and publishers) slipping up, it's nice to see that Eidos have succeeded in re-igniting the flame of an old franchise in a way that will likely appeal to the casual and hardcore audiences, without pandering to either. Amazing atmosphere & sound, competent graphics, solid RPG elements and a gripping story despite the unattached ending. One of the finer moments of the 360 era, warrants at least 2 play-throughs & The Missing Link DLC is well crafted also. Expand
  95. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Amazing game that's let down by a few flaws. Deus ex gives the player complete choice in how they want to play the game, no matter what skills your upgrade, you'll never be punished for your choice, its a shame more games didn't do this. The graphics are good, but no crysis. the style ad visual art of he game really resonated with me and made me embrace the settings. My biggest gripe with this game was the boss fights. The game games gives you ultimated choice in how you want to play, yet when it comes to a boss fight, you must kill them and it cheapens it somewhat, though they changed this in the DLC which was just released, and it makes me crave for what could have been. The story also falls short slightly, but still better than most that came out this year. I highly recommend this game for anyone. candidate for GOTY without doubt. Expand
  96. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Deus EX: Human Revolution was amazing however your boss fights are horrible and why pick anything but the Rambo style blow you up game style. If I pick stealth mode because I wanted to be a ninja and you gave me the option why am I fighting a boss like Doom? If i have a turret I carried from the beginning of the mission and can't bring it in the boss room why let me carry it that far? Why even have bosses? I had more fun taking out non bosses then the bosses themselves. I felt like I was playing another game when it was time for a boss fight. I hope the next Deus Ex can fix some of the hiccups that it had and the game would get the score it deserves. Expand
  97. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    If you want a mature, atmospheric and awesome game this is the one. I will admit i love shooters and for me Deus Ex is brilliant because it is mature and you can use your brain. This game is so much more than a normal shooter and the intelligence level is amazing. I loved being able to play this and not feel like my brain was melting, as was the case with Mass Effect 2. Even though i was disappointed slightly by the ending, i will play this game again and again Expand
  98. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Deus Ex: is definitely up there in games I've played this year there are so many ways you can choose to play this game. You can go through the whole game and not kill a single person(besides scripted) or you can blood bath the whole thing through until the end. It's your choice story is very enticing it makes you wonder about a lot of real life situations and blends in with current reality. AMAZING GAME/STORY GO PLAY THIS! Expand
  99. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Whatever you thought you knew about FPS games, prepare to forget. This plays much more intelligently than your average FPS. Sure, the AI isn't the most intelligent ever, but when you make it through an area without being seen, it is such a thrill. Add to that brilliant graphics, addictive gameplay, a storyline that keeps you hooked from start to finish, and characters that actually have CHARACTER, compared to most games today, and you get a package that is more than worthy of the Deus Ex title. This is a perfect prequel to Deus Ex. Expand
  100. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    An absolutely fantastic game. There's a story to get behind, and game-play which can either be cover-based shooter, or stealth style assassin. Quests in the game are excellent and do a pretty good job of being more than a fetch quest here, a rescue mission there. The art style is memorable, the environments are gorgeous, and the attention to detail in the world is impressive. Just standing around Adam's apartment I was struck by how much detail was put into it, and spent a good twenty minutes just exploring the apartment. The combat is nothing revolutionary. It's either a cover-based shooter where you eliminate enemies via grenades and various weapons, or an assassin style game where you sneak around and hack turrets, take down enemies with melee, and crawl around secret areas. That's the good, here's the disappointing. The game isn't very hard (even on hard mode) if you're playing as a cover shooter. The game does offer the challenge of playing a pacifist/no alarms run , but if you're looking for challenging combat, you'll quickly get the basics down in this game and find it isn't overtly difficult. Boss fights are all quite easy to beat with a simple trick (usually typhoon). The ending wasn't what I'd hoped for (a choose your ending style end) but the choices offered were at least different from each other. My biggest disappointment with this game is the lack of explorable environments. The ones you have are amazing, and that just makes me wish there were more. Overall this is probably one of the best games of 2011, and a must-buy. True Score: 9.3 rounded down to 9. Expand
  101. Jan 17, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers. Amazing story, nice graphics, nice game play and a excellent characters. If you want a game to entertain you, Deus Ex Human Revolution is the option. The RPG elements are fantastic and the boss fights too. No doubt that this game is my GOTY, the only thing that I thing that this game need is that you can re play the game after you finish the first time, with all Adam's upgrades. Amazing game. Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Nov 29, 2011
    90
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution lives up to the lofty expectations of the Deus Ex name. Beyond that, it's a superb game in its own right.
  2. 94
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution has happily been worth the wait and is a game that can hold its head up high next to the first game. Jensen isn't the most charismatic character, and the story is a tad patchy in places, but the game's world and its characters more than make up for it. Deus Ex: Human Revolution heralds the arrival of the cyber-renaissance, and it's pure gold.
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    90
    Deus EX Human Revolution has been one of the more entertaining games I have played this year so far. Filled with a gripping story, interesting characters, and addictive game play Deus Ex is a game that would be a worthy addition to any collection. Fans of action or RPG games should find a lot of value in this retail title.