Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 585 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew about your job changes. At a time when scientific advancements are routinely turning athletes, soldiers and spies into super-enhanced beings, someone is working very hard to ensure mankind's evolution follows a particular path. You need to discover why - because the decisions you take and the choices you make will be the only things that can determine mankind's future. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Sep 8, 2011
    100
    With deep, involving ethical questions, and systems that test players beyond their ability to pick the right gun, Deus Ex: Human Revolution is – in many, many ways – a game for thoughtful players.
  2. 100
    Human Revolution stands proudly alongside the best in cyberpunk fiction, in any medium let alone just games... So few games allow you to carve a subtly unique path through every single encounter and, while major plot points remain the same, you'll feel like your journey was your own. [Sept 2011, p.80]
  3. Aug 26, 2011
    95
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution is the sequel, or prequel that fans of the original deserved all along.
  4. Aug 22, 2011
    90
    One of those rare games that knows you can't be perfect all the time, and that you have the right to change your mind about your actions later. It just wants to be played with and enjoyed - and when you finish, you just want to play with it again.
  5. Aug 25, 2011
    90
    The game is fresh in a world of "me too" shooters. It may look like the average first person shooter game, but it is so much more. Effectively blending RPG elements, the stealth of Metal Gear Solid and Splinter Cell and the prey stalking of Batman: Arkham Asylum, Human Revolution is a worthy successor to the legendary series in a world where reboots often discard everything that made the original great.
  6. Aug 22, 2011
    85
    This is an extensive (20-plus hours) game that by the very nature of its complexity invites replay. It is true that many of its individual elements don't withstand close inspection. But those elements add up to an impressive and absorbing adventure that invites you to improvise.
  7. Aug 23, 2011
    70
    That being said, Deux Ex: Human Revolution is an enjoyable experience that in this case may work better as art than it does as a game. And I'll always find room in my heart for a game that strives for more, even if its reach ultimately exceeds its grasp.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 194
  1. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    I take back what I said about my review on this. This is the MOST bada*s f*cking game in the world. Just thinking about Adam Jensen punching through a wall or using the Typhoon makes me just feel awesome and kicka*s. There's killer music, awesome game-play, and the most bada*s weapons and characters. Hell, even Adam Jensen's pose on the cover has bada*s written all over it!!!! It's even made in my home town of Montréal. Great job Edios Montréal! Expand
  2. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    I suspect the main reason that some people are giving this wonderful game a low score is because they can't handle something more complex than what they are used to. They can't handle actually thinking while playing a game. They need a cranium augmentation. Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Whoever stands behind this game took this stuff seriously. You really can't blame a game these days only because of an outdated hardware on which it is supposed to run. Visuals, sound, AI, mechanics, dialogue, RPG elements are crafted generally the way they should be. Making it more complex could let you lose most of the audience who haven't played it prequels. This game is really challenging. If you lose you know it's because you didn't think of a correct solution to the problem. Deus Ex universe is what gets as close as possible to what you could possibly witness in the next few decades in your own world. I think that's the main reason to check it out. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    this game is great for experienced gamers because it is a proper gamers game with great intelligent ai and great dialogue this game is intelligent and fun combat doesnt dissapoint. a great challenge to try to complete it all in a stealthy way. great graphics aswell. buy it Expand
  5. Aug 24, 2011
    8
    The gameplay will keep everyone on their feet in anticipation. A very intense game, full of great visuals and phenomenal music. Only problems are the loading times and short amounts of ammunition, but that doesn't take much away from this awesome game. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Very good game. Took a while to get into but im really glad that i stuck with it. I was a little disappointed with the graphics though. Reminded me of a cross between metal gear solid and blade runner. Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Game looks very promising sadly however its so buggy and after 2 months not a single patch ahs been released to solve the problems like dissapearing HUD or missions completly freezing. I highly recommend waiting for a patch or two Expand

See all 194 User Reviews