Devil May Cry 4 Xbox 360

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 258 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 258
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    Excellent! After the perfect DMC 3, Capcom gave us a great sequel, and with the same Dante of the previous game (Reuben Langdon did an excellent job as voice actor and mocap actor). Style Switch on the fly makes the gameplay perfect, giving the player the chance to make expectacular combo chains. More combos than DMC 3 and the add of a new character on the franchise, giving new storyExcellent! After the perfect DMC 3, Capcom gave us a great sequel, and with the same Dante of the previous game (Reuben Langdon did an excellent job as voice actor and mocap actor). Style Switch on the fly makes the gameplay perfect, giving the player the chance to make expectacular combo chains. More combos than DMC 3 and the add of a new character on the franchise, giving new story possibilities for the future. The only flaw of this game is Dante backtracking Nero stages, but still, the game is fast-paced and extremelly fun. Also, Gothic enviroments looks more beautiful than ever. Weapons design is very creative and the smart humor is glorious! Brillant game! Expand
  2. MitchO.
    Feb 8, 2008
    9
    Devil May Cry is one of my favorite game franchises, and this game lived up to the hype I've had since it was announced.
  3. JoeS.
    Feb 8, 2008
    9
    It s hard to me how anyone can score this game under 8. Deep combat system,difficult levels from casual to hardcore, beautiful graphics, full action packed, 60fps, a lot of style.... Good work again Capcom
  4. ConnorT
    May 6, 2008
    9
    As expected, DMC4 is what DMC should be: rough, tough, fast, and flowing with style. Although short, the plot structure is strong and deep, giving characters that one can admire and identify with. Nero certainly was a nice risk to take and was a very admirable character to have in the series. Nicely ranged techniques for both Nero and Dante, with distinguished combos a challenge to As expected, DMC4 is what DMC should be: rough, tough, fast, and flowing with style. Although short, the plot structure is strong and deep, giving characters that one can admire and identify with. Nero certainly was a nice risk to take and was a very admirable character to have in the series. Nicely ranged techniques for both Nero and Dante, with distinguished combos a challenge to execute and for good reason. The difficulty range in itself I believe was nice and balanced, offering a slow, steady mode for new gamers, and Devil Hunter for the more experienced ones, moving on to Son of Sparda and harder difficulties (which need to be unlocked). Achievements are quite difficult to get, and require time, especially ones associated with the arena-like Blood Palace, and any difficulty mode, even easy, will put the average player through his paces. Those that say the game is too easy or repetitive probably have not played on the higher-up levels quite yet. Into hack-n-slash? Into games that require the cut above? Give this a spin. Expand
  5. DD
    Jun 9, 2009
    9
    DMC4 is terrible fun to play. For me that's a 9. The graphics are beatifully designed and the engine is almost rock solid. The control is well crafted and woth practice the combo sequences can be excitating. It has a very high replay value with Bloogy Palace and patterns and enemies varying from one level of difficulty to another. Story has no weight, but the cinematic sequences are DMC4 is terrible fun to play. For me that's a 9. The graphics are beatifully designed and the engine is almost rock solid. The control is well crafted and woth practice the combo sequences can be excitating. It has a very high replay value with Bloogy Palace and patterns and enemies varying from one level of difficulty to another. Story has no weight, but the cinematic sequences are espectacular and the speech from Dante and Nero are fun from a comedy point of view. Collapse
  6. LindaP.
    Feb 6, 2008
    9
    Perhaps not the perfection served up by the original action opera, but nonetheless this is one stylish slasher!
  7. TravisM.
    Feb 9, 2008
    9
    Overall a very solid game. Any fan of the first 3 will not be disappointed. I'm glad they've finally decided to release this game for the Xbox.
  8. GonzoH.
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    The most fluent combat system of the series, partnered with gorgeous cinematics and a surprisingly appealing shift in tone lend to the second best devil may cry game to date. Bring on number five!
  9. aguy
    Apr 10, 2008
    8
    Reclycled enviroments and boss fights super linear level design and simple puzzels so devil may cry is a bad game yes HELL NO! despite devil may cry's many faults none of them matter because devil may cry has simply the deepest most rewarding hack and slash combat in any game ever its a fantastic display of skill and style all wrapped up in some of the best graphics ever made that Reclycled enviroments and boss fights super linear level design and simple puzzels so devil may cry is a bad game yes HELL NO! despite devil may cry's many faults none of them matter because devil may cry has simply the deepest most rewarding hack and slash combat in any game ever its a fantastic display of skill and style all wrapped up in some of the best graphics ever made that makes devil may cry 4 such a delight to play. Expand
  10. TedK.
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    Great change of pace. To many FPS's. I love it...
  11. DamianP.
    Feb 19, 2008
    8
    Good game, bit repetitive, very enjoyable in small doses.
  12. ZakB.
    Feb 6, 2008
    9
    It kicks ass. Thats all you need to know.
  13. ThomasK.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    A fantastic addition to an already awesome series. A really good game!
  14. azo164
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    It may not be as perfect as the 1st dmc but this gave me one hell of a journey i wont forget,graphics and story are great!nt everybody will like it but if you dont like mazes,plenty of button mashing action and nt your average story well then simply dont buy it.
  15. ShaneS.
    Mar 3, 2008
    9
    There are some bad things about this game. The level design leaves you out wandering around confused. Dante's weapons have half the combos and moves of DMC3's weapons. Three of the bosses are recycled a bit too much. And the worst thing is the story isn't all that great (although it is nowhere near as bad ad DMC2's plot.) Now for the good things about this game... There are some bad things about this game. The level design leaves you out wandering around confused. Dante's weapons have half the combos and moves of DMC3's weapons. Three of the bosses are recycled a bit too much. And the worst thing is the story isn't all that great (although it is nowhere near as bad ad DMC2's plot.) Now for the good things about this game... Nero's one of the best hack and slash character's ever. His combo's are varied and easy to pull off. The exceed system with his sword brings something refreshingly new. He has a homing beacon to help him find secrets in the game, like hidden levels. And best of all he is the first hack and slash character in ages to have a throw button. The Style system is easier to use thanks to a style bar that goes down slower than DMC3. You can switch between all of Dante's fighting styles and weapons in the middle of a fight by just hitting the trigger and D-pad buttons. All and all this game has it's flaws but it also has it's strengths (which are being overlooked in the reviews). Also could metacritic please do a better job of screening reviews? One of the worst reviews for this game baselessly bashes it simply because the plot is anime based. They even go so far as to call the whole game Animoo garbage. Expand
  16. Alex
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    Very fun, VERY solid game. easily the best in the series. thanks to Nero, it has all the exciting newness that was felt in the first DMC, and it also has the difficulty and challenge of DMC3. gorgeous graphics (especially in the lighting department), slick, fluid, uninterruped gameplay, awesome cutscenes, a (FINALLY) fully customizeable control scheme... the list of triumphs goes on. i Very fun, VERY solid game. easily the best in the series. thanks to Nero, it has all the exciting newness that was felt in the first DMC, and it also has the difficulty and challenge of DMC3. gorgeous graphics (especially in the lighting department), slick, fluid, uninterruped gameplay, awesome cutscenes, a (FINALLY) fully customizeable control scheme... the list of triumphs goes on. i especially like Dante's new ultra-cocky demeanor. some of the bouts between Dante, Nero, and certain bosses are nothing short of hilarious (Dante vs. the She-serpent ftw!). that being said, the game isn't without flaws. it is EXTREMELY repetitive. as in, Halo 1 repetitive. for those of you who haven't played Halo 1, the last 1/3 of the game is essentially the same thing as the first 2/3. only in reverse. DMC 4 does this exact same thing. and also expect to be fighting a lot of the same bosses two, and even three times with VERY little variation in the fights. with the exception of Lucifer, an exploding energy sword, none of the aquired weapons are that interesting to use. the Gauntlets (a normally fun staple in the DMC series) are useless, and the Pandora, a 666-in-1 gun is way too tough to use to be practical in any way. but, the game is fun, if somewhat short. haven't quite beaten it yet, but my guess is it falls somewhere in the 14-16 hour range, assuming you just breeze through it and not worry about extras or anything like that too much. there is probably enough extra things on the harder difficulties to warrant a couple extra playthroughs, but like all the rest of the DMC games, don't expect a lot of lasting appeal. still, a must buy, especially for any DMC fans who have been waiting to see the series on the Xbox. Overall 9 our of 10. Expand
  17. MinawaK.
    May 31, 2008
    8
    The game is solid, however the human mode is too easy and the Devil Hunter mode is too much of a difference in the increase of difficulty. Don't make me remind you about the harder difficulties such as Heaven Or Hell, Dante Must Die.
  18. JohnS
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Awesome new features, gota love new character Nero and his devil bringer, dante now has more freedom in combat and Pandora is one hell of a suitcase.
  19. BekkiF
    Jun 4, 2008
    10
    Simply my favourite game EVER!! Can't get much better than this. Graphics are AMAZING!! The story line is great. I was one of the people who was very unsure about the new main character Nero, as i have played the whole DMC series and totally love Dante. However on playing this game i very much enjoyed playing as Nero. And later getting th play as Dante again made my day. Dante is Simply my favourite game EVER!! Can't get much better than this. Graphics are AMAZING!! The story line is great. I was one of the people who was very unsure about the new main character Nero, as i have played the whole DMC series and totally love Dante. However on playing this game i very much enjoyed playing as Nero. And later getting th play as Dante again made my day. Dante is always going to be better than Nero though!! Okay so this game may be a bit of a button basher, but its by far the best game on 360!! Definately buy it!! Expand
  20. BartK.
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    It's just again one hell of a game! The gameplay still rocks and they passed the jump to the next-gen consoles without a scratch!
  21. ByronW.
    Apr 27, 2008
    8
    DMC 4 has a few flaws, combat can be repetitive, camera angle can sometimes get really annoying. But as a whole DMC 4 is a nice solid game with a decent story line, spectacular boss fights and visuals.
  22. JamessQ
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    This is the first title of the series that i have ever played and i was simply amazed at the fact that i hadn't discovered this game until now. The graphics are AMAZING the gameplay differs and remains exciting in order for the great long hours of gameplay it produces! the ONLY fault i found was SOMETIMES the camera angles bothered me but this game was simply too good to pass up for This is the first title of the series that i have ever played and i was simply amazed at the fact that i hadn't discovered this game until now. The graphics are AMAZING the gameplay differs and remains exciting in order for the great long hours of gameplay it produces! the ONLY fault i found was SOMETIMES the camera angles bothered me but this game was simply too good to pass up for any less than a 10. Expand
  23. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    An awesome hack n' slash game that can entertain for hours at a time. It offers great combat and a satisfying new protagonist other than Dante with his very own powers.

    9 out of 10
  24. KyuuD.
    Jun 7, 2008
    9
    This is definitely the best Hack and Slash game since the original DMC .. a MUST must-have!! try it out NOW.
  25. QwenS.
    Jul 18, 2008
    8
    The game is amazing the cinematics are great so is the gameplay which allows you to use many different combos to take your enemies down however the grading system at the end of each mission could be done better and a certain boss proves to be quite hard.
  26. AndrewR.
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    This game is everything I asked for in a DMC game!
  27. RtrtrtrR.
    Feb 12, 2008
    8
    Though as disappointing as it may sound but you cannot play as Dante ,but people don't mistake nero to be Raiden of mgs so when you start unleashing that devil bringer on those poor demons u understand that nero ain't no less than the accomplished Dante. So I strongly recommend this game to all those obsessed gamers who enjoy hack n slash genre cuz baby it doesn't get Though as disappointing as it may sound but you cannot play as Dante ,but people don't mistake nero to be Raiden of mgs so when you start unleashing that devil bringer on those poor demons u understand that nero ain't no less than the accomplished Dante. So I strongly recommend this game to all those obsessed gamers who enjoy hack n slash genre cuz baby it doesn't get better than this though perhaps some people won't agree with me fine ya it might not be better than many in this genre but it is worth playing for anybody who owns ps3 0r xbox 360.it won't disappoint you. Expand
  28. SteveO
    Feb 14, 2008
    9
    I have to disagree with the user who says that Nero is not the Raiden of the DMC series. He is. Also as most should know you do get to play as Dante for 8 chapters of the game. I can say that I had more fun playing the Dante chapters than the Nero chapters (Dante's Pandoras Box is so gnarly). Nero's Devil Arm is cool, but the controlls and camera can get wonky when using it. I I have to disagree with the user who says that Nero is not the Raiden of the DMC series. He is. Also as most should know you do get to play as Dante for 8 chapters of the game. I can say that I had more fun playing the Dante chapters than the Nero chapters (Dante's Pandoras Box is so gnarly). Nero's Devil Arm is cool, but the controlls and camera can get wonky when using it. I also do not like the throttle on Nero's s sword. It is lame to have to rev it 9 times to get a charge that depletes in three swings. Other than that I have no complaints. Overall, this game is a solid exerience that you will be eager to play through mulitple times. Ultimatly when you have a hack and slasher that contains demons, devils, guns, swords, heavy metal, and smokin hot babes, what is there not to like. Expand
  29. KevinR
    Feb 18, 2008
    8
    A very good entry into the DMC series, with tight controls, engaging combat, and gorgeous visuals. It just seems that a Devil May Cry game should focus more on Dante, not the somewhat generic Nero.
  30. tjhgfdg
    Feb 28, 2008
    10
    This game the best devil may cry game you can get. the graphics are fantastic and so are the weapons.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Everything a hack-and-slash should be and then some. Sadly it falters with repeated level design and a moderately troublesome camera; but in the grand scheme of things, these are only minor flaws. Devil May Cry 4 delivers an experience that is second to none on Xbox 360, so far. Held together by a solid narrative, it makes your blood boil with every fight you encounter.
  2. 90
    Even with its minor faults, you'll be hard-pressed to find a better-feeling, better-looking, jack-of-all-trades action game on the market today. [Mar 2008, p.82]
  3. Maxi Consolas (Portugal)
    80
    The combat system is still brilliant, Nero proves to be a good character and visually it’s pretty impressive. But we can’t help feeling a little disappointed. It’s still a great action game, but has the same flaws of every other title of the series. [Feb 2008]