Devil May Cry HD Collection Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Devil May Cry HD Collection brings the first three original Devil May Cry titles; Devil May Cry, Devil May Cry 2, and Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Awakening Special Edition together in one high definition package for the first time.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Devil May Cry HD Collection Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Apr 9, 2012
    91
    If you've never played the series before, then I'd consider this a must buy, and even if you've played the hell out of these games before, the addition of upscaled graphics and achievement/trophy support is bound to be appealing enough to play through them again.
  2. May 16, 2012
    85
    For a relatively budget price with around 45 hours of total gameplay, gamers who may not have played them in their first release get a reintroduction to one of the PS2's classic protagonists in two good games – DMC1 and DMC3 with a third (DMC2) only worth playing to acquire new added achievements.
  3. Apr 19, 2012
    80
    Sure, the game hasn't aged as gracefully as I would have liked, but there are some remarkable visual enhancements and a nice stash of new bonus content that fans are sure to love. Plus, the new Achievements are a powerful inducement for possibly playing through all three titles again.
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    79
    Despite its faults, Devil May Cry HD Collection is a nice collection for Hack and Slash fans.
  5. 76
    With three games packed into this collection, this is easily one of the most content-heavy HD collections to date.
  6. Apr 26, 2012
    70
    It does feature one of the most disappointing games ever made, but it also stars two of the best games ever made, so it sort of balances out.
  7. Jun 10, 2012
    60
    This collection is an easy recommendation for fans of the series, who will find it every bit as playable as (and far more attractive than) the PlayStation 2 versions-but it doesn't feel like a definitive edition of the games, and with its near-complete lack of a manual and insufficient in-game tutorials, it makes no effort to ease players unfamiliar with the franchise into the DMC world.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    DMC in HD is still a good game with great characters, great bosses and enemies in super great location. If you have not played DMC need toDMC in HD is still a good game with great characters, great bosses and enemies in super great location. If you have not played DMC need to catch up as soon as possible. Great story you will remember for a very, very long time. In HD the game looks very good, and the music is a great complement. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2015
    10
    I simply love this game, my rating can't be lower than 10, if possible it would be 1000 instead! I recommend this game for all the PS2 DevilI simply love this game, my rating can't be lower than 10, if possible it would be 1000 instead! I recommend this game for all the PS2 Devil May Cry fans. Expand
  3. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    If you are a true devil may cry fan you must have this game its 3 games in 1 for $40 with some fixes to graphics and 99 achievments and if youIf you are a true devil may cry fan you must have this game its 3 games in 1 for $40 with some fixes to graphics and 99 achievments and if you never played any of the DMC games this collection is where you need to start and after all of capcoms crap this collection is a good move just hope they dont charge us for content on the disc. opps i think i just gave them a idea haha. Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2015
    8
    Devil May Cry is one of the best selling Hack 'n Slash series and lives up to it with its humour, story and bad ass characters; fans of theDevil May Cry is one of the best selling Hack 'n Slash series and lives up to it with its humour, story and bad ass characters; fans of the franchise agree that the PlayStation 2 titles were examples of how to make a fun game. To relive the series first three titles, Capcom released the hit titles in a HD bundle for the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360. Did it do well? Yes and no.

    Yes: With the HD update, smooth 60fps and wide screen support, DMC fans would feel comfortable playing their favourite games once again, from start to finish.

    No: Despite being a HD remake, DMC HD Collection offers no new content other than a audio and art gallery on the game selection screen.

    I enjoyed playing all three games in HD and the large amount of achievements/trophies will keep fans playing until they give up from killing demons; however, the HD Collection suffer two problems: the non-added content and the need to bring up the home menu and start up the HD Collection just to change games.

    Overall, I rate this game 8.5 out of 10; the loss of points is due to no content (1) and the constant need to re-launch the game to change (0.5).
    Expand
  5. Jan 15, 2013
    8
    It's worth just buying and playing this instead of buying the new DmC game, you can buy this and number 4 for less than the new DmC costs. AndIt's worth just buying and playing this instead of buying the new DmC game, you can buy this and number 4 for less than the new DmC costs. And in the end, you have 3 good devil may cry games (2 sucks), and you paid half the price. The collection is good for convenience's sakes, and i'm starting to see the virtues of re-releasing classics on newer consoles.
    I don't really need to talk about gameplay too much, but i believe they tweaked the first game slightly as there was a few things out of date. But generally they all flow nicely into one another as you play through.
    Only complaint is that the graphics still felt like they needed touching up, and Devil May Cry is kind of rubbish, the gameplay is there, but you can notice the difficulty dip tangibly. I played the first game and struggled my way through, dying constantly, and refusing to drop to easy mode, getting better as i went. And then moved onto 2, which i played through without a single game over, i died once and used a gold orb, which to my suprise ressurects on the spot in 2, rather than sending you back, making things insanely easy. The camera angle on 2 is annoying, as it always feels too far zoomed out, so you really can't see the action, and the voice acting actually took a nose dive in 2, with Arius and his laughable voice.
    The silver lining of the cloud is that what followed was 3, which is probably the best one. Overall, you're paying a low price, for 3 games, one of which is mediocre, and they'll last you longer than most modern games, and remind you what was lost with the new reboot game.

    8/10 -2 for Devil May Cry 2.
    Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2012
    8
    The DMC HD Collection offers a Neopolitan-esq experience, all the flavors of Devil May Cry presented in a nice little box. There are no realThe DMC HD Collection offers a Neopolitan-esq experience, all the flavors of Devil May Cry presented in a nice little box. There are no real changes to the games save for the graphics. The games got smoothed out...but not entirely, which keeps this collection from being a perfect 10. Some cutscenes have been untouched which makes for a strange experience when you go from the newer graphics back to the PS2 ones. Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2014
    6
    All three PlayStation 2 Devil May Cry titles are given a HD makeover and certainly look all the better for it. As for the games themselvesAll three PlayStation 2 Devil May Cry titles are given a HD makeover and certainly look all the better for it. As for the games themselves none, aside from arguably the third iteration, really hold up to modern standards (Most people will say DMC 2 was never any good anyway!) and so I wouldn't really recommend this collection to anyone that hasn't played the games previously. For fans of the series though this is as good a way as ever to replay an influential series Expand

See all 19 User Reviews