Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 366 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 20 years have gone by since the Prime Evils were defeated and banished from the world of Sanctuary. Now, you must return to where it all began—the town of Tristram to investigate rumors of a fallen star, for this is an omen that the End Times have begun.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 100
    A conversion that is almost too good to be true. Diablo III is moving past its previous mistakes and removes the game-breaking auction house that made PC players suffer through its charts. [Issue#234]
  2. Aug 29, 2013
    93
    It’s different in all the right ways. With an engaging new control scheme, fewer online hurdles, and all the depth of the original, taking on Diablo’s legion of demon lords has never been more enjoyable.
  3. 90
    Dispel any doubts you might have had: thanks to some smart tweaks and changes, Diablo III is a deep, spirited game that fits right into its new home.
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    This Diablo III PC to the consoles conversion is not only, so to say, flawless, but also, as a matter of fact, superior to the original.
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    85
    This edition of Diablo III is quite different from its PC "brother", but still offers an addictive and superb action-rpg/dungeon crawler experience.
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    80
    There’s no auction house or online demands, but the console port suffers from issues with local multiplayer. Preferably, get the PC version. If not, this will do you just fine as well.
  7. 70
    As good as Diablo is ever likely to be when playing with a joypad, but even the new local co-op options are subject to necessary but debilitating compromises.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 74
  2. Negative: 10 out of 74
  1. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Where to start,
    I got this game based on a few good reviews, I can vaguely remember trying to play the 1st game on pc as a kid and although I
    Where to start,
    I got this game based on a few good reviews, I can vaguely remember trying to play the 1st game on pc as a kid and although I liked the dark gothic feel to it, I compared it to the ultima game where the woman gets beheaded on the bridge, never had my own pc iv always been a console guy I just prefer the controller, do when I heard of diablo 3 I was a bit exited (I do have a great gaming pc but I couldn't play a game like this with mouse n kb, it has a different look to the prior 2 games but that isn't bad really I like the environments and yea character models ain't jaw dropping especially up close, but the endless playability and replay make this a great game, plus the cutscenes are some of the best iv seen,
    Local multiplay takes me back to the good old days of gauntlet etc, can't understand the bad reviews, I'm keeping my 360 well into next gen purely for this title alone!
    Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    I bought this game on PC when it first came out and thought it was great and I have to say the console version is much better. The controlsI bought this game on PC when it first came out and thought it was great and I have to say the console version is much better. The controls are awesome and the inventory system is much better. The co-op on Xbox live especially is where this game really shines. Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    This game shines in the local couch play. Gather 4 friends or family members and have fun in a never ending dungeon crawler to hunt for lootThis game shines in the local couch play. Gather 4 friends or family members and have fun in a never ending dungeon crawler to hunt for loot and Gold while drinking and laughing at ALL the Blizzard hating trolls with no lives outside of their mental state.
    This game is simply dynamite: a family that plays together, stays together. Let's rock and roll and loot
    Collapse
  4. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    I´ve never played any Diablo game before, and this home-version just fit perfect into my hands. By far (I just entered act III) this gameI´ve never played any Diablo game before, and this home-version just fit perfect into my hands. By far (I just entered act III) this game doesn't disappoints in any way. The gameplay s simple, fun, and pretty darn fast if you have the right equipment. Normal mode has proved to be a very enjoyable experience. I don't understand why so many people is hating so much on this version of D3, at least, the 360 version runs perfectly. I will probably expend a whole lot more hours into the game. Hopefully, trying to max out all 5 classes. Highly recommended title! Expand
  5. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    I have played the PC game a fair amount and I have to say the console version is extremely enjoyable. They really did wonders making the gameI have played the PC game a fair amount and I have to say the console version is extremely enjoyable. They really did wonders making the game feel natural on a controller. The addition of the evade stick is great.

    Graphically the game looks very good. Depending on your rig it could look better or worse. Better in my case. I would guess it runs at a native 720p or there around. The game runs at a very smooth 60fps. I did not notice any hiccups or screen tearing that I have heard others experience.
    There is a little but more loading time that the PC. I did install it to my HDD. I would say 10-20 seconds.

    The UI navigation is a bit awkward at first but after a few hours of playing you will wiz right through it.
    Luckily there is a quick equip button as you play to instantly see if an item is an upgrade or a downgrade. Pressing the D-pad up activates it and pressing it up or down again scrolls through your inventory. Once again. It will take some time for this to feel natural. When it does it feels very organic.

    The online play is excellent. Having voice chat to communicate with your teammates it invaluable. Makes playing go very smooth. I was able to find games instantly with the quick match option.

    The biggest difference between this version and the PC would be the absence of the Auction House.

    If you have it on PC probably not worth the investment. If not. Absolutely a must have on the console!
    Expand
  6. Sep 9, 2013
    8
    There is probably no reason to describe the game like Diablo itself. So lets just focus on comparing with PC version. And I must say I likeThere is probably no reason to describe the game like Diablo itself. So lets just focus on comparing with PC version. And I must say I like this one much better (I played PC version at release. So Im sorry if somethings were added by updates and are not new on consoles). First you have the offline mode, so there is no lagging in singleplayer. There is actual difficulty setting, so if the game is too easy (it is) you can inrease the difficulty without waiting 40 hours for some hell inferno modes. There is ressurect at corpse option that makes death less painfull (some will not like it), but it reduces the boring passages when you are running from town (I like that). Also the controls of such game fits the gamepad better than keyboard mouse. And whole inventory system has been redone. It is much faster to sort. Especially if you are at merchant and want fast glimpse if he has something better. Also the auction house is removed so the looting makes sense and you are happy for each orange red item. Not like the PC version, where no drop is good enough, becaus you have better ones on AH for few gold. Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2014
    0
    When i first started this game i was excited cause im old enough to remember the first two. as i got through the first act it felt like aWhen i first started this game i was excited cause im old enough to remember the first two. as i got through the first act it felt like a clone of the originals with almost nothing new in it. as i breezed through the story i knew that there was nothing special about it. it was just another excuse for blizzard to try and make more money off people. i would rather play the worst game ever then sit through it again Expand

See all 74 User Reviews