Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 340 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 20 years have gone by since the Prime Evils were defeated and banished from the world of Sanctuary. Now, you must return to where it all began—the town of Tristram to investigate rumors of a fallen star, for this is an omen that the End Times have begun.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 100
    A conversion that is almost too good to be true. Diablo III is moving past its previous mistakes and removes the game-breaking auction house that made PC players suffer through its charts. [Issue#234]
  2. Aug 29, 2013
    93
    It’s different in all the right ways. With an engaging new control scheme, fewer online hurdles, and all the depth of the original, taking on Diablo’s legion of demon lords has never been more enjoyable.
  3. 90
    Dispel any doubts you might have had: thanks to some smart tweaks and changes, Diablo III is a deep, spirited game that fits right into its new home.
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    This Diablo III PC to the consoles conversion is not only, so to say, flawless, but also, as a matter of fact, superior to the original.
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    85
    This edition of Diablo III is quite different from its PC "brother", but still offers an addictive and superb action-rpg/dungeon crawler experience.
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    80
    There’s no auction house or online demands, but the console port suffers from issues with local multiplayer. Preferably, get the PC version. If not, this will do you just fine as well.
  7. 70
    As good as Diablo is ever likely to be when playing with a joypad, but even the new local co-op options are subject to necessary but debilitating compromises.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 71
  2. Negative: 9 out of 71
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Like diablo 3 on Console better becuase it feel more Natural for me. But most annoying is those dune wasp. Always love this game really wish it was more acts and local co-op is good and online co-op also good. Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    anyone who thinks this game sucks is insane and stupid..this game is the EXACT SAME THING as diablo 2 just 3d and the setup is different but overall the 2 games are alike and its a GREAT addicting game ESPECIALLY in co-op wth give blizard a break they diud an amazing job they respected diablo franchise and history so whatever haters are everywhere thats nothing new phew!! Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    This game shines in the local couch play. Gather 4 friends or family members and have fun in a never ending dungeon crawler to hunt for loot and Gold while drinking and laughing at ALL the Blizzard hating trolls with no lives outside of their mental state.
    This game is simply dynamite: a family that plays together, stays together. Let's rock and roll and loot
    Expand
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    An excellent adaptation of the PC version. Actually, likely one of the best PC ports I've ever seen. Runs at 60 FPS most of the time, load times are super quick and the controls work very well with a controller. I own both the PC and 360 versions, and I don't see myself ever returning to the PC to play it. Couch co-op is fun and functional. Blizzard went out of their way and put lots of nice touches for this version. It might not be as deep as Diablo II, but the 3D effects (physics, etc) make it very entertaining to play. It also has lots of end game things to do, and with a shared stash as well as shared blacksmith upgrades and paragon levels that apply to all characters on the account, it's very fun to upgrade other characters and keep playing the game. 9/10 easily. One point removed for a few minor gripes; can't compare equipped items when viewing stashed items (only to what's in your inventory) and targeting a surrounded enemy can be tricky.

    For any dungeon crawler fans who love the progression of great loot and unlocking skills, this one's a must own.
    Expand
  5. Bru
    Sep 3, 2013
    8
    The console version of Diablo 3 is a step up from it's PC predecessor. There is no auction house, there is offline play, and you can play with 4 players co-op on the same screen. People could argue you could just play PC without the auction house but that would be silly because the option is there. It would be like playing an RTS and not using a unit because you think it's too strong. As for the co-op, there is nothing quite like sitting on a couch with your buddies playing a game. It is a social experience better than having 4 people in the same room but with laptops.

    Some cons are the redial menu (it's not bad, I just preferred the PC's version) and there's a lack of things to do once you beat all the way through it (such as a lack of a ladder system like in Diablo 2).

    Nevertheless, Diablo 3 console has a Champions of Norrath style of gameplay.
    Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    8
    Meh, this is a pretty good port of a pretty ok game. I wasn't expecting much, but the same console coop that this game has is what made diablo fun for me again. Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2014
    0
    When i first started this game i was excited cause im old enough to remember the first two. as i got through the first act it felt like a clone of the originals with almost nothing new in it. as i breezed through the story i knew that there was nothing special about it. it was just another excuse for blizzard to try and make more money off people. i would rather play the worst game ever then sit through it again Expand

See all 71 User Reviews