Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 24
  2. Negative: 7 out of 24
  1. Apr 10, 2012
    85
    It's the sort of game that would've been exclusive to arcades, causing you to take the trip and insert tokens with excitement.
  2. 85
    Temporary frustration (and upper-arm pain) will fade as you mow down hordes of blade-throwing rabbits and hammer-toting elephants. Diabolical Pitch may not be a perfect game, but it's definitely an All-Star effort.
  3. May 27, 2012
    75
    Fun, furious, but difficult. [July 2012, p.83]
  4. Apr 27, 2012
    70
    Diabolical Pitch is a fun game, but sadly it lacks originality and after some time the game becomes boring. The multiplayer is the best part of this over-the-top baseball game.
  5. Apr 11, 2012
    70
    It is not the perfect Kinect game, as it share some implementation flaws with several other games that use motion detection, but it is an original and fun game which will make you relax and laugh.
  6. Apr 6, 2012
    70
    There really isn't a whole lot to Diabolical Pitch - it's over in a few hours, and every level functionally feels the same. Your mileage may vary, but personally, I had a ton of fun with it. While it doesn't have nearly as much charm as the typical Grasshopper game, it is still enough to scratch that Kinect itch that's been raw since Gunstringer.
  7. Apr 5, 2012
    70
    Diabolical Pitch is a game that is best played over a few sessions. After playing for a while my arm started to get sore. The strategy of deciding what order to tackle enemies keeps things interesting, but not enough to completely overwhelm the "been there, done that" feeling I had at times.
  8. Apr 5, 2012
    68
    800 Microsoft Points isn't much money. Suda51 has a eccentric and crazy proposal for you, as always. Now you must throw baseballs to kill monsters in an amusement park. Plain and simple, nothing more. Like it? Buy it.
  9. 60
    At two hours, it's pretty short. [Issue#85, p.104]
  10. 60
    Not the home run we'd hoped for. [June 2012, p.96]
  11. Apr 6, 2012
    60
    At its core, Diabolical Pitch showcases how a smaller game should be structured - with regards to both the game idea and distribution channels. But at the end of the day all you can do is play locally with a friend and aim for the leaderboards, and that's simply not enough. A promising idea isn't enough to automatically be a homerun.
  12. Apr 4, 2012
    60
    In what's turning out to be a regular Kinect refrain, then, try not to think of this as a flawed game so much as one that's been quietly and consistently undermined by its hardware.
  13. Apr 5, 2012
    55
    The messy clash of themes, gameplay, and controls in Diabolical Pitch undoes everything. Brief bursts of entertainment occur only early on, and they're almost exclusively a result of the self-aware absurdity in Grasshopper Manufacture's presentation.
  14. Apr 10, 2012
    54
    I so wanted to love this game. Hearing the story, seeing the visuals, I was ready to campaign for all to download this immediately given the creativity of concept alone. Then I hit 'start.' Sadly, the sketchy controls ruin this game.
  15. 50
    We frankly expected more from one of the most original developers around, but alas, Diabolical Pitch ends up as an indifferent waste of time.
  16. Apr 8, 2012
    50
    A mediocre experience, even considering the relatively affordable $10 price of admission. It's a novel distraction at best – hardly a sterling example of why Grasshopper has such dedicated fans.
  17. Apr 6, 2012
    50
    Throwing a thunder ball often took multiple attempts, while calmly aiming for a headshot felt much more accurate and satisfying. Ultimately, as great as Diabolical Pitch's zany concepts are, the inconsistency of the controls dulled the overall experience -- and my pitching arm.
  18. May 22, 2012
    44
    With sub-working core gameplay, Diabolical Pitch ultimately becomes little more than an exceptionally creative example of the limitations of Kinect. On a more effective control medium, it could have been a beautiful, if small, take on Suda51's every gaming hallmark. Instead, it is an elegant symbol of the Kinect's weaknesses. Even big fans of Grasshopper Manufacture should wait until they've played the demo multiple times before buying, even at 800 Microsoft points ($10). In as many words, this was a swing and a miss.
  19. May 17, 2012
    40
    Fundamental control niggles mean very few players will persevere to unlock everything DP has to offer. [Issue#122, p.104]
  20. Apr 30, 2012
    40
    Concept and artdesign are not too bad, but the game suffers from bad movement recognition.
  21. Apr 26, 2012
    40
    It's a mechanically flawed game that takes two hours to beat - though it's going to feel like it takes much, much longer.
  22. 40
    It's a great idea, and filled with some top grade Suda51 weirdness, but Kinect is nowhere near accurate enough to make even such a simple game work properly.
  23. May 15, 2012
    37
    Diabolical Pitch feels like a minigame that belongs in a larger collection of minigames, but sadly it's not, and this is all you get for 800 Microsoft Points for two hours of gameplay. It's a shallow experience that even if it did work properly at all times it still wouldn't be that much more exciting or fun.
  24. Apr 4, 2012
    30
    Diabolical Pitch is ridiculous, but in all the wrong ways.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Apr 9, 2012
    8
    After have a terrible experience in Kinect Star Wars, I decide play Diabolical Pitch, previously known as Codename D, and the game is reallyAfter have a terrible experience in Kinect Star Wars, I decide play Diabolical Pitch, previously known as Codename D, and the game is really good, have some great moments, is good, and funny. Full Review »
  2. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    Diabolical Pitch instantly brought me back to the days of arcades. Just a cheap and simple game that you can play with a friend and enjoy.Diabolical Pitch instantly brought me back to the days of arcades. Just a cheap and simple game that you can play with a friend and enjoy. There is no need for a complex story and cutting-edge game play. This a game where you can just forget about that and have some simple fun. I would have loved to play this game at an arcade growing up. People who did not grow up in the arcade era may not enjoy this game, which is fine because this game is definitely not for everyone. Diabolical Pitch is a great value for the price and just a lot of fun. Full Review »