DiRT 3 Xbox 360

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 165
  2. Negative: 25 out of 165
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 27, 2011
    7
    Not bad, I miss a lot of physics and features from Dirt 2. Seems more disciplined and forced to race certain types, Gymkhana I feel should be a separate mode and not forced into tour events. Gymkhana is annoying as hell because of that, the graphics seem a little tighter and better but I miss the old tracks. Feels a little more arcade style than Dirt 2 it seems a little too fastNot bad, I miss a lot of physics and features from Dirt 2. Seems more disciplined and forced to race certain types, Gymkhana I feel should be a separate mode and not forced into tour events. Gymkhana is annoying as hell because of that, the graphics seem a little tighter and better but I miss the old tracks. Feels a little more arcade style than Dirt 2 it seems a little too fast compared to the realistic feeling Dirt 2 had. But I guess a good game, I was kind of disappointed over all. Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2011
    6
    its not a bad game, far from it. its just not a rally game! gymkhana is just showing off, sliding around concrete in a ford fiesta. where is the dirt?! very hard to do in inside view, and game forces you to do these races to progress. graphics are great and the youtube feature is a novelty, but a good edition. menus are terrible though, way too much effort has been put into making themits not a bad game, far from it. its just not a rally game! gymkhana is just showing off, sliding around concrete in a ford fiesta. where is the dirt?! very hard to do in inside view, and game forces you to do these races to progress. graphics are great and the youtube feature is a novelty, but a good edition. menus are terrible though, way too much effort has been put into making them cool and americanised. not for rally fans, but for people who want to mess around in a few pretty cars Expand
  3. May 31, 2011
    6
    S**t khana.................(I would leave it there if i could, so I'll keep it short) Slightly improved graphics, very pretty cars and maps. Top notch arcade rally action, along the same lines as the previous games. Soundtrack is less annoying than other Dirt games. One new introduction to Dirt 3 is Gymkhana, yes, the Ken Block youtube thing. What seems fun on paper is actually fun forS**t khana.................(I would leave it there if i could, so I'll keep it short) Slightly improved graphics, very pretty cars and maps. Top notch arcade rally action, along the same lines as the previous games. Soundtrack is less annoying than other Dirt games. One new introduction to Dirt 3 is Gymkhana, yes, the Ken Block youtube thing. What seems fun on paper is actually fun for about a minute and then gets forced on you for the rest of the game. Actual rally, awesome, Gynkhana, nope. Expand
  4. May 27, 2011
    7
    Third attempt at a review score, hopefully this one will stick. Beautiful graphics and well chosen music but the major emphasis on Gymkhana based events halts progression.
  5. Jun 4, 2011
    6
    This is and isn't an improvement over the previous games. The graphics look better, and it sounds really nice, but man is some of the choices Codies made are annoying. The UI, while a step back in the right direction still favors style over function. Every time you want to select a new event you have to wait for the Sick Triforce of Extreme Awesomeness to unfold, and before each race youThis is and isn't an improvement over the previous games. The graphics look better, and it sounds really nice, but man is some of the choices Codies made are annoying. The UI, while a step back in the right direction still favors style over function. Every time you want to select a new event you have to wait for the Sick Triforce of Extreme Awesomeness to unfold, and before each race you have to wait for a cutscene to slowly pan to your car, etc. Not to mention the three stooges who "guide" you through the game who really just waste time with their stupid chatter every time you win an event. By the way I hope you like the X Games, because Codemasters sure does! (Even though the X Games are no different from any of the other events.) Now on the back of the case it states "The most rally content in the series ever!", but in reality it's the opposite, at least as far stages are concerned. The devs only took the time to make one "big" stage per location then they chopped it up and reversed it to make more stages. The different times of day and weather help keep things fresh, but do little to change the track aside from the visuals. It should also be mentioned that the tracks in this game are the widest and easiest in the series. The rally stages are often 3 cars wide and there are many places to cut corners. It's a shame when you look at the game's amazing roster of cars, but have such a limited selection of stages. So instead of adding more rally content Codemasters added in Gymkhana and while it doesn't have as big of a presence as the other race types, they still put quite a bit of effort into it. I found to be pretty fun, but you can skip MOST of the events if you want. There are also optional DC® Challenges to complete, good luck getting those Platinum medals though. As for multiplayer, I found it to be a lot more fun then the previous games. Flashbacks have been added, which give you a running start if you screw up. This makes online races a lot less frustrating and a lot more competitive. The car classes are more balanced too. It seems every car is competitive in it's class. All in all I'd say its a pretty good game, but somewhat rushed. It's not the rally game I had hoped for. Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2011
    5
    DIRT. Well the title says it all, because thats all it amounts to.
    Graphically it looks the business. Thats really about it. Codies have take a once great franchise and put a dodgy American twist and it shows through here, non more than with the gymkhana.....what alot of nonsense. Wheres the mud and dirt in that? Gone are the days of the pure throughabread rally driving and here are the
    DIRT. Well the title says it all, because thats all it amounts to.
    Graphically it looks the business. Thats really about it. Codies have take a once great franchise and put a dodgy American twist and it shows through here, non more than with the gymkhana.....what alot of nonsense. Wheres the mud and dirt in that? Gone are the days of the pure throughabread rally driving and here are the days of "Ken c*ck Block. Ken Block failed in his attempt in the WRC as does Dirt. This is more like Tony Hawk meets Shaun White in a Max Power Fiesta. PANTS!! If you like that sorta thing. £40.00 wasted..... next!!!!
    Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2015
    7
    Dirt 3 brings more types of racing as well as more varied terrain to a proven formula from Dirt 2. The game is very enjoyable and will give you hours of enjoyment.
    There are some negatives about the new formula dirt 3 tries to implement. The first being that race types are intermixed, from rally to land rush to rally cross, there is no sense of being a part of a race league. You are
    Dirt 3 brings more types of racing as well as more varied terrain to a proven formula from Dirt 2. The game is very enjoyable and will give you hours of enjoyment.
    There are some negatives about the new formula dirt 3 tries to implement. The first being that race types are intermixed, from rally to land rush to rally cross, there is no sense of being a part of a race league. You are just some driver jumping from vehicle to vehicle.
    The second big take away is that the really unique interface of the race trailer from Dirt 2 has been replaced by generic race selection menus.
    The final issue I have is that you no longer buy and upgrade cars, you simply win the ability to race them, taking away from the collection process I love in car games.
    The game is a solid seven, but if you've played Dirt 2 it will feel like a bit of a let down.
    Expand
  8. Oct 16, 2014
    6
    Dirt 2 was a fantastic game. If you want a great racer pick that one up. Let me start off by saying that the core driving mechanics are largely the same. That is a positive. However there is no progression system. You don't get to save up and buy a car, you don't get to race pro's, the menu's are awful and you'll spend more time clicking through them than actually racing, the gymkhana isDirt 2 was a fantastic game. If you want a great racer pick that one up. Let me start off by saying that the core driving mechanics are largely the same. That is a positive. However there is no progression system. You don't get to save up and buy a car, you don't get to race pro's, the menu's are awful and you'll spend more time clicking through them than actually racing, the gymkhana is annoying and the handling is more arcadey to accommodate this new fad. The tracks aren't nearly as interesting and are much wider and easier to handle. Such a disappointment. Expand
  9. Nov 28, 2015
    5
    This game is a fetid pile of crap. There is completely nothing enticing about the races not only because the tracks themselves are uninspired but also because game physics are complete garbage. I can't get over how poorly this plays out. With nothing to carry forward from one event to the next. Also their is incredibly pervasive pay walls (i.e. DLC) preventing access to most of the coolThis game is a fetid pile of crap. There is completely nothing enticing about the races not only because the tracks themselves are uninspired but also because game physics are complete garbage. I can't get over how poorly this plays out. With nothing to carry forward from one event to the next. Also their is incredibly pervasive pay walls (i.e. DLC) preventing access to most of the cool features. Would not recommend to anyone. Expand
  10. Apr 9, 2016
    6
    This game is fun but the AI driver suck so much so this was a big problem with me and im going to fill the rest of the characters in this with random stuff -62545094592698931302958r25728592758927659862985629862985798279827598275298379237858923759275987295879275982759259729857984579hi
  11. May 25, 2011
    0
    Great game. No longer a Mountain Dew commercial like Dirt 2, Dirt 3 features a stylish new interface that is easy to navigate and looks good as well. Progression is also much better in this game, although I really don't like being told what cars to drive and when. Graphically it is on par with the second game in the series, the only thing missing is all the extreme action sports crap andGreat game. No longer a Mountain Dew commercial like Dirt 2, Dirt 3 features a stylish new interface that is easy to navigate and looks good as well. Progression is also much better in this game, although I really don't like being told what cars to drive and when. Graphically it is on par with the second game in the series, the only thing missing is all the extreme action sports crap and annoying rivals constantly yapping in your ear the whole game, but that isn't a bad thing. Gymkhana plays a big role here, but there isn't so much that it detracts from the rest of the game, and its actually pretty fun, although not as easy as gameplay videos make it look. Rally also makes a return in a big way. My biggest complaint with Dirt 2 was the almost non-existence of rally events. That is the series heritage and shouldn't have been cast aside just to get a bigger install base. Also, there are plenty of racing games where all you do is race other drivers on circuits, and that's ok, but rally is pretty unique and isn't found in a lot of games, and if it is its poorly represented (the rally mode in GT5 was an atrocity). If you want the circuit stuff it is still in here, there is just a better diversity of race types this time. Snow, rain and night-time racing have been added and are a welcome addition. The handling has been tweaked somewhat, so if you were expecting the slippery arcade feel of the first two games you're out of luck. Cars handle more realistically now, my only complaint is that the e-brake has been rendered almost useless unless you turn the stability control on, if not your car does a doughnut at the slightest press of the button. As a person that is used to driving without assists, it is a little embarrassing to have to flip one of them on, but hey, it doesn't ruin the game at all. Also, a lot of people are complaining about the voices of your agent, crew-chief and announcer-guy. I admit they do grate on you after a while, but it isn't any worse than in GRID and they can be turned off. With a lengthy, diverse campaign, great visuals, good handling, fun additions like Gymkhana and the return of rally, Dirt 3 is the game that Dirt 2 should have been. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed that game but as a rally fan I felt a little shunned. I recommend this game to anyone enjoyed the first two or anyone that is looking for something a little different that the same old road-course multi-car racing in every other racing game. Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    Some dedicated Dirt fans might feel slighted by the shift, but as a newcomer to the series this was a fantastic place to slip in.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 19, 2011
    87
    A very convincing package with stunning graphics and nice feel for arcade'ish racing. There's maybe a bit too much emphasis on gymkhana game mode though. [Aug 2011]
  3. Aug 29, 2011
    90
    Offering excellent driving gameplay to all levels of player skill, Dirt 3 raises the bar for accessibility in a realistic driving simulator. With dozens of unique tracks, cars, and multiplayer games it offers and harassment of content without ever feeling overwhelming. By their very nature racing games are was going to be a little repetitive but Dirt 3 has almost completely succeeded in removing frustration from the mix.