DiRT 3 Xbox 360

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 166
  2. Negative: 25 out of 166
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 26, 2011
    10
    I got the game today and let me say Dirt 3 Awesome one of the best racing games of 2011 I love racing games and when they as good as Dirt 3 and Shift 2 unleashed then I truly love them and will play them over and over and untill I get bored of it which won't be anytime soon once again the dirt franchise dit a awesome job
  2. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    After 18 months playing this I had to change my original score of 9 down to an 8, as this game isn't as great as GRID however it has way more options and modes to it. Over time the quality of this game wasn't as good as the gloss made it out to be, frankly I had more fun playing Dirt Showdown. If there is to be a new Dirt please Codies simplify the Gymkhana events or just get rid of them,After 18 months playing this I had to change my original score of 9 down to an 8, as this game isn't as great as GRID however it has way more options and modes to it. Over time the quality of this game wasn't as good as the gloss made it out to be, frankly I had more fun playing Dirt Showdown. If there is to be a new Dirt please Codies simplify the Gymkhana events or just get rid of them, make handling more like Showdown or make it realistic, GET RID OF THE 'YO DUDE' VOICE ACTING, and cut the padded out livery challenge events. Still a very good game, though it's flaws are too glaring to miss. Expand
  3. May 25, 2011
    9
    Great game. No longer a Mountain Dew commercial like Dirt 2, Dirt 3 features a stylish new interface that is easy to navigate and looks good as well. Progression is also much better in this game, although I really don't like being told what cars to drive and when. Graphically it is on par with the second game in the series, the only thing missing is all the extreme action sports crap andGreat game. No longer a Mountain Dew commercial like Dirt 2, Dirt 3 features a stylish new interface that is easy to navigate and looks good as well. Progression is also much better in this game, although I really don't like being told what cars to drive and when. Graphically it is on par with the second game in the series, the only thing missing is all the extreme action sports crap and annoying rivals constantly yapping in your ear the whole game, but that isn't a bad thing. Gymkhana plays a big role here, but there isn't so much that it detracts from the rest of the game, and its actually pretty fun, although not as easy as gameplay videos make it look. Rally also makes a return in a big way. My biggest complaint with Dirt 2 was the almost non-existence of rally events. That is the series heritage and shouldn't have been cast aside just to get a bigger install base. Also, there are plenty of racing games where all you do is race other drivers on circuits, and that's ok, but rally is pretty unique and isn't found in a lot of games, and if it is its poorly represented (the rally mode in GT5 was an atrocity). If you want the circuit stuff it is still in here, there is just a better diversity of race types this time. Snow, rain and night-time racing have been added and are a welcome addition. The handling has been tweaked somewhat, so if you were expecting the slippery arcade feel of the first two games you're out of luck. Cars handle more realistically now, my only complaint is that the e-brake has been rendered almost useless unless you turn the stability control on, if not your car does a doughnut at the slightest press of the button. As a person that is used to driving without assists, it is a little embarrassing to have to flip one of them on, but hey, it doesn't ruin the game at all. Also, a lot of people are complaining about the voices of your agent, crew-chief and announcer-guy. I admit they do grate on you after a while, but it isn't any worse than in GRID and they can be turned off. With a lengthy, diverse campaign, great visuals, good handling, fun additions like Gymkhana and the return of rally, Dirt 3 is the game that Dirt 2 should have been. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed that game but as a rally fan I felt a little shunned. I recommend this game to anyone enjoyed the first two or anyone that is looking for something a little different that the same old road-course multi-car racing in every other racing game. Expand
  4. May 25, 2011
    9
    Great game so far. love it. well worth the wait! Make sure your TV is set to game mode so the handling response is at its best. I noticed a big difference after changing this.
  5. May 27, 2011
    10
    Can't believe people have bothered to write reviews giving this a '0'! Felt compelled to write my own to counteract them as that's just ridiculous. Everything about this game is AMAZING, i love it especially with my driving wheel, this has to be the best racer i've played in the last decade and i've played a hell of a lot. Good work guys!
  6. May 25, 2011
    10
    There isn't much to say about this game, so I'll be brief. YOU MUST OWN THIS GAME RACING FANS, A GRAPHICAL MASTERPIECE IN EVERY WAY, A RACING GAME LIKE NO OTHER, CODEMASTERS THANK YOU!!!
  7. May 26, 2011
    9
    I've played quite a few racing games over the past few years: Pure, Need For Speed: Shift, Burnout Paradise...Unfortunately for me, all of them bored me to death. Not so with DiRT 3. I never thought I'd actually be able to enjoy a racing game. I've never said to myself "I can't wait to play some more ____" when referring to a racing game, besides with Mario Kart 64 when I was a kid. DirtI've played quite a few racing games over the past few years: Pure, Need For Speed: Shift, Burnout Paradise...Unfortunately for me, all of them bored me to death. Not so with DiRT 3. I never thought I'd actually be able to enjoy a racing game. I've never said to myself "I can't wait to play some more ____" when referring to a racing game, besides with Mario Kart 64 when I was a kid. Dirt 3 is excellent. It's got variety, it's fun as hell, the environments and cars look great...I'm having a blast with it. Expand
  8. May 26, 2011
    9
    This is a great game! Top Notch in fact.I'd heard & knew the graphics were going to be good,but this has to be the best looking,& dare i say,most beautiful racing game i've EVER seen.. Fortunately,it plays like a dream too.It has a good variety of racing events,All of which are playable in Split-Screen & Online multiplayer,Which is great! But in Dirt 4,i'd like to see Split Screen & onlineThis is a great game! Top Notch in fact.I'd heard & knew the graphics were going to be good,but this has to be the best looking,& dare i say,most beautiful racing game i've EVER seen.. Fortunately,it plays like a dream too.It has a good variety of racing events,All of which are playable in Split-Screen & Online multiplayer,Which is great! But in Dirt 4,i'd like to see Split Screen & online in career mode too(hey,why not?),with players 2(+3,4,5,6,7 etc if online)take any positions,points & any other unlocks they earn,back with them to their career.As much as i love this game,i do have a couple of niggles,which is why its not a perfect 10.Theres still not as much emphisis on Point to Point rallying I'd have liked.(Would like to see a full Rally Season included ideally).I'm REALLY not feeling Gymkhana at all..I dont find it any fun,it just seems pointless & out of place,& just gets in the way for me..Would like to see that,& Land Rush,maybe scrapped in the next title,in favour of the wide open Truck/Desert events from Dirt 1 & more Rally Stages.Also,i dont understand the games fascination with Youtube!? I cant/dont have a Youtube account,& even if i could,would rather save my replays in their entireity to the Hard disk,in HD.NOT Youtube!? Its also annoying to be constantly told "You should save that 'Awesome' replay to Youtoobe".Especially when i havnt registered a Youtube account with the game.. Another minor point is,It'd be good in Dirt 4(or patched into Dirt 3 too),if you could choose your prefered driver views for each event,from the game menu.For example,for Rally,Rallycross,Trailblazer,& head to head,i use the in-car **** view,& for Land rush & Gymkhana(if i really have to),i prefer Bonnet cam.Those 2 events i wouldnt miss if they were dropped anyway,but if i have to play them,setting views for each event type would be nice.Other than that though,& despite my gripes,I'm greatly enjoying the game,& the love & passion the developers have for all things rally,is evident.For those interested,yes you can configure your own controls & yes you can turn off the racing line.In fact theres ALOT of options for this game.You can play it hardcore,by turning all the aids off & set the AI level,or have them on to the point that even my girlfriend can play the game,with assists with braking & steering! You really can set the game up to how you want to play it comfortably.The great thing is,even when playing split-screen,each player can have their own exact control & driving aid setups.Works great! Have to give one last compliment to Rally Mode in multiplayer.At first i was gutted that it didnt have'Hot Seat',but found that its done even more realistically in Dirt 3,by having the players do staggered starts,just like real rally.this works REALLY well! & would like to see it better applied in future titles by having a full & dedicated Rally season,withSplit-Screen & online multiplayer option).But all in all,This is a quality product. Expand
  9. May 24, 2011
    10
    Super game, an improvement over Dirt 2 (which was pretty great too!)

    There's a tonne of game play and the graphics are stunning. I really cant find fault with it.
  10. May 25, 2011
    9
    Awesome game! A perfect blend of visuals, physics and audio to bring the Dirt series to another level. The graphics are amazing on the PC, tracks are life like and the environments are spot-on. The lighting is perfect with each different time period displayed beautifully. I love the fact they focus more on rally events. My only complaint is in single player, I wish there was a way toAwesome game! A perfect blend of visuals, physics and audio to bring the Dirt series to another level. The graphics are amazing on the PC, tracks are life like and the environments are spot-on. The lighting is perfect with each different time period displayed beautifully. I love the fact they focus more on rally events. My only complaint is in single player, I wish there was a way to actually compete in a full rally event. Similar to Richard Burn's Rally where you have different stages in a location and the ability to work on your vehicle in the service area. Otherwise, everything else is great. Now if only Codemasters would get the NASCAR license, what a game that would be! Expand
  11. May 27, 2011
    10
    For what the game is trying to achieve, it is the perfect racing game, lots of different disciplines, nothing gets tedious, one off events get introduced to keep it fresh, multiplayer is the best it has ever been in a racing game.
    no idea why people are rating a 0, even if it isn't for you, a 0 is ridiculous
  12. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    PROS:Great visual by far one the best looking racing games. A long tour mode. Great for people who want a racing simulator or only like more arcade racers. Awesome sound track. Multiplayer works flawlessly. RALLY is big part of the game which was absent from DIRT2.
    CONS:In game garage sucks ur not able to see 3D model of vehicle only small pictures with a few facts. Tour mode narrators is
    PROS:Great visual by far one the best looking racing games. A long tour mode. Great for people who want a racing simulator or only like more arcade racers. Awesome sound track. Multiplayer works flawlessly. RALLY is big part of the game which was absent from DIRT2.
    CONS:In game garage sucks ur not able to see 3D model of vehicle only small pictures with a few facts. Tour mode narrators is very annoying
    Expand
  13. May 25, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun! Definitely the best racing game I've played in the last 10 years; and very possibly a contender for best game, across any genre, in the last 2 years.

    Tears of laughter and joy, playing the party game modes online - haven't had this much fun on a game since the days of SNES Mario Kart and Golden Eye N64. The damage model is amazing and it needs to be,
    This game is so much fun! Definitely the best racing game I've played in the last 10 years; and very possibly a contender for best game, across any genre, in the last 2 years.

    Tears of laughter and joy, playing the party game modes online - haven't had this much fun on a game since the days of SNES Mario Kart and Golden Eye N64. The damage model is amazing and it needs to be, considering the pounding the cars take during the party games.

    Large range of user options, mean you can make this as sim or arcade as you like - I prefer it on advanced with no assists, the kids preferred it more casual, and we can play split screen together with no loss of visuals - which are simply stunning btw.

    Gymkhana, which I didn't think I'd like was really addictive, particularly the free roam in Battersea - and the kids really enjoy it. The Rally tracks are simply awesome, amazing visuals and exceptionally playable stages. Without a doubt the best rally game available today.

    Without a doubt a 10
    Expand
  14. Jul 18, 2011
    8
    I am so disappointed.This game is great but Dirt 2 was walking the line of perfection and for every 1 step forward in this game there is 3 steps back.I'm not even going to get into it because its majorly disappointing.Straight 8 nothing more.
  15. May 24, 2011
    10
    This game is dope as hell. Need I really say more? With more rallying than DiRT 1 and DiRT 2 and new inclusions like the DC compound and gymkhana, you'd be a complete fool to pass this game up if you even remotely like racing games. Go buy it, now!
  16. Jun 22, 2011
    9
    Codemasters ability to make a good solid racing game seems like it's as easy to them as it is for us to butter a slice of bread (apologies to those who are unable to butter a slice of bread, but you see what im getting at). GRID, Dirt 1&2, and F1 have all proved to be great racing experiences that have garnered a loyal fan base due to the developers sheer love of the genre. Dirt 3 is theCodemasters ability to make a good solid racing game seems like it's as easy to them as it is for us to butter a slice of bread (apologies to those who are unable to butter a slice of bread, but you see what im getting at). GRID, Dirt 1&2, and F1 have all proved to be great racing experiences that have garnered a loyal fan base due to the developers sheer love of the genre. Dirt 3 is the best of the bunch to date and a title that any serious racing fan should feel ashamed to not own. Dirt 3 doesn't differ that much from its two predecessors but what it does do is refine its own mechanics and level of presentation to even greater heights. The added inclusion of Ken Blocks unique form of freestyle motorsport 'Gymkhana' is an absolute delight. At first its terrifyingly daunting, but given a couple of events and a no clock practice around the Battersea compound, you soon start to feel like a deity behind the wheel of a machine you can do whatever you please with. Dirt 3 is an exceptional package given to us by a developer who's care and attention is now playing with the big boys of the racing genre Expand
  17. Jan 23, 2012
    9
    Where do I start? Let's begin with the graphics. The cars look great, environments & tracks are decent but the driver/spectators' faces and some textures in the interior of particular vehicles don't seem to exist. The frame rate is consistent but not overly high like in Forza, so racing feels more intense. The new interface is much better and easier to navigate, and soundtrack is probablyWhere do I start? Let's begin with the graphics. The cars look great, environments & tracks are decent but the driver/spectators' faces and some textures in the interior of particular vehicles don't seem to exist. The frame rate is consistent but not overly high like in Forza, so racing feels more intense. The new interface is much better and easier to navigate, and soundtrack is probably THE BEST in pretty much any racing game out there. There are two new modes- Head 2 Head and Gymkhana. While this style-scoring may seem good on paper, it's nothing particularly exciting or entertaining. Luckily the career mode does include some more variations of it. There are now options for assists and money doesn't exist. It's just liveries and cars combined and you get bonus objectives to complete which level up your driver. These objectives can be obtained in multiplayer and the career, and there is now a limit to the driver level (30) and online rank (50). Multiplayer is the most fun aspect of this game. It's consistently rewarding and there is little to no lag. Again, it encourages and rewards clean racing. This is a game where first place is just another position, and you can easily enjoy the game and have fun regardless of your position or skill. One thing to be aware of is that, because you can now use assists in multiplayer, DO NOT turn off ABS because it severely disadvantages you. The playlists, team events and tracks are much improved on DiRT 2 due to the increased variety- you now get snow, gravel, sand, tarmac, snow, woodlands etc.. As too are the cars. There are around 50 cars and there's much greater variety in them too- you get cars from each decade and trailblazer cars include modern and classic hillclimbs. What this game does so well that few racing games manage to do is capture the sense of speed and make racing feel intense and like you're there. To get the same sense of speed going at 120mph in say Forza, you need to be doing about 210mph. The reason for this is that the tracks are tight and you're never sure how fast you can go without parking up on a tree. When you do crash, you can use flashbacks, but these can now be used online too to respawn your car but without having to accelerate up to speed gain. This encourages you to always try to go for the win regardless of how many times you crashed. I once crashed 4 times more than everyone else but because I took the last two corners perfectly I came within 1 second of 1st, finishing in 2nd place even though I would've been miles in first if it wasn't for the crashes. So really I do think that the multiplayer is very balanced, fair and rewarding regardless of skill level. Anyone can play it and enjoy it even if they don't win. Team events in rallies are improved too, so that it's the combined total time to finish the race for all members of the team rather than just the finishing positions. Sadly this doesn't apply to other modes but that's fine. Overall, it improves upon DiRT 2 in many ways but I somehow prefered the simplicity of DiRT 2 and its cars without assists. DiRT 3 though is much better and I'd recommend it to anyone who likes racing games. I can certainly understand why people may dislike the game but all this game does is add content, not remove it. Granted you need an online pass, but that's how games are becoming these days, and the online is definitely worth checking out. I think what makes this game better than DiRT 2 is the sheer variety. So many more classes of vehicles, so much variety in the environments. You can switch between classic circuit racing like in any other racing game to intense rallying through Kenya, Finland, Michigan and Norway. Or breakneck speeds in hillclimb cars. The Gymkhana spices things up, and what's impressive are the DC compount challenges, including a free-roam mode with interesting objectives and collectibles. Unlike Forza, this isn't a game which is repetitive. You don't just do one thing- drive around a track many times. Here, you get a real taste of speed and style without being bored. Leaderboards are much better here as damage is not taken into account, and because most tracks are point-to-point, you can hit the restart button and instantly get back in the action rather than needing to do another lap to get a rolling start. It's just you, the time, the track and the vehicle. There are hundreds of leaderboards for time trials you can go through once you've finished the game, and the variety of multiplayer events is also endless thanks to the party modes and jan sessions. Despite its seemingly miniscule amount of content when compared to Forza, the variety and how well this content is used and intergrated within the multiplayer and DiRT Tour gives it enough credit to qualify this game as one of the most complete racing experiences of this generation. Expand
  18. May 24, 2012
    10
    In Career mode, there are a number of different rally styles. There are half a dozen rally race styles altogether. You have to get through each and every one of them to complete the mode. It's really a nice touch that the races are so forcefully varied. It keeps things from stagnating, and helps develop your skills in different areas. Looking forward to Dirt Showdown which will have theIn Career mode, there are a number of different rally styles. There are half a dozen rally race styles altogether. You have to get through each and every one of them to complete the mode. It's really a nice touch that the races are so forcefully varied. It keeps things from stagnating, and helps develop your skills in different areas. Looking forward to Dirt Showdown which will have the destruction derby! [Waddup!] Participating in the contests here have made the wait for Showdown bearable - http://www.facebook.com/AMD/app_370166086361523 and on http://www.facebook.com/RelianceHVG. Expand
  19. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    (My PC Review available as well) I was surprised when I started playing this, realizing that it's a racing game where you actually have to have SKILL. I can't tell you how many times I drifted off the track and crashed my car into some tree, wall, or a random object. That's what makes this game so challenging, and also what makes it really fun. You'll be going back to races over and over(My PC Review available as well) I was surprised when I started playing this, realizing that it's a racing game where you actually have to have SKILL. I can't tell you how many times I drifted off the track and crashed my car into some tree, wall, or a random object. That's what makes this game so challenging, and also what makes it really fun. You'll be going back to races over and over again just so you can get 1st place on those events. When you finally do, it's a satisfying feeling. Multiplayer is especially fun as well. This game deserves a 10/10. Expand
  20. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    Quite simply the best rally game to date and that includes the WRC games and Dirt Showdown (don't buy showdown). I fell in love with this game from the beginning, the tight controls, the brilliant gameplay and the sweet graphics make up for a truly unique experience.
  21. Oct 7, 2014
    9
    You probably won't relate to my score, but for me personally, it's a 9/10. It's one of my favourite racing games of all time. The game's soundtrack is very memoriable and one of the best at setting an atmosphere that really goes well with the game. The car physics are on the arcadey side, but how it feels makes it really fun. The tracks are very diverse from area to area, and really trickyYou probably won't relate to my score, but for me personally, it's a 9/10. It's one of my favourite racing games of all time. The game's soundtrack is very memoriable and one of the best at setting an atmosphere that really goes well with the game. The car physics are on the arcadey side, but how it feels makes it really fun. The tracks are very diverse from area to area, and really tricky so that acing a stage is one of the most satisfying experiences ever. The truck and buggy race events may not be the most fun things to do, but it makes rally events much more appealing in contrast. Also the party modes online are really fun. Expand
  22. Jun 5, 2015
    9
    DiRT 3 is a sizeable upgrade from DiRT 2.The game has tons of different rally cars,buggies and trucks.Different racing modes like Rally,Trailblazer,Rallycross,Gymkhana,Landrush and Head 2 Head.They did take my favourite race type from DiRT 2 out though,which is Raid.

    The graphics are impressive,The gameplay is fantastic,perfectly blending arcade and simulation driving.The career mode is
    DiRT 3 is a sizeable upgrade from DiRT 2.The game has tons of different rally cars,buggies and trucks.Different racing modes like Rally,Trailblazer,Rallycross,Gymkhana,Landrush and Head 2 Head.They did take my favourite race type from DiRT 2 out though,which is Raid.

    The graphics are impressive,The gameplay is fantastic,perfectly blending arcade and simulation driving.The career mode is of decent length,it isn't perfect though,the AI's are a bit too easy at times and I'm playing on the medium difficulty.

    Overall DiRT 3 is a fantastic game and I would suggest it to everyone.
    Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    Some dedicated Dirt fans might feel slighted by the shift, but as a newcomer to the series this was a fantastic place to slip in.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 19, 2011
    87
    A very convincing package with stunning graphics and nice feel for arcade'ish racing. There's maybe a bit too much emphasis on gymkhana game mode though. [Aug 2011]
  3. Aug 29, 2011
    90
    Offering excellent driving gameplay to all levels of player skill, Dirt 3 raises the bar for accessibility in a realistic driving simulator. With dozens of unique tracks, cars, and multiplayer games it offers and harassment of content without ever feeling overwhelming. By their very nature racing games are was going to be a little repetitive but Dirt 3 has almost completely succeeded in removing frustration from the mix.