Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dirt Showdown is an arcade spin-off of the Dirt series featuring over-the-top Hoonigan, Demolition, and Race events.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 53
  2. Negative: 1 out of 53
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    90
    Not since the old days of Psygnosis' Destruction Derby games have we been able to really go in and trash cars for the sake of trashing cars.
  2. May 24, 2012
    83
    The "Showdown Tour" is long enough to have hours of fun and it can be played on three different modes: "Destruction", "Style" and "Race". Multiplayer mode played online is essential to have a good experience with that game.
  3. May 24, 2012
    80
    Codemasters adds a "Destruction Derby Twist" to the core formula of its rally series. The result is a fast-paced arcade, capable to entertain every fan of the genre with an accessible driving system.
  4. Jun 8, 2012
    80
    Dirt: Showdown is a different kind of Dirt. It's a more raw and dirty Dirt that takes itself less seriously, but allows for people to have much more fun with its stress-free handling, arcade style gameplay and joyous destruction.
  5. May 26, 2012
    75
    This Dirt spin-off focuses on fast races, ramming into other cars and performing stunts, without any fuss. The execution leaves something to be desired when it comes to presentation and gameplay, but at least you'll be treated to a large dose of adrenaline.
  6. Jun 21, 2012
    70
    DiRT Showdown is a solid racer that feels like it should be better than it ended up. On paper, I should love this game, but I felt it starting to wear out its welcome after a few hours.
  7. Jun 26, 2012
    40
    Dirt Showdown is all the in-between stuff from other racing games. It's those filler events you had to play to get to the next actual race. Basically, driving game gametax, now given its own game. It's as if someone lifted up all the rally races from the previous Dirts, swept out the detritus that was left, collected it into a tidy little pile, and then slapped a name on it. Dirt Showdown.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 5 out of 11
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    It's really awesome!!! You feel this cool atmosphere of the competition with great music, from rock to dubstep. You can compete in different events, like derby and stunts. Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Don't read other comments, this game one of the best racing games ever made with very cool soundtrack and graphics, interested cars like Ferrari P and more more! Expand
  3. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Yes, it has some issues. There is some lag online at times, and some glitches. However, this game has to be the most fun derby game in a very long time, and not only that, but you can go online and have crazy matches. I think this game is severely underrated because it has the Dirt name, which disappoints previous Dirt game fans, and scares away people that didn't like Dirt 1-3. Demos are out on all platforms, and even though there isn't much to see on them, anyone who likes smashing cars owes it to themselves to play at least the demo if not the full game. Collapse
  4. Dec 30, 2012
    6
    Think of Showdown as an arcade game or a large expansion pack for DiRT 3, and then it becomes feasible for around £10. Otherwise it's a bit of a letdown. I love the other games in the series but Showdown is just a compilation of the bits in between the intense rallying. These kind of events make sense as a fun break from the serious and technical driving, but to have an entire game dedicated to it is just boring. Don't get me wrong, there's still a lot of fun to be had in Joyride, Gymkhana-style events and 'demolition derby' style events as well as the classic circuit racing and Domination, but as a full title in the series it's not plausible. The only things preventing this game from being a failure are the great development team (Codemasters), the EGO 2.0 game engine and simple design. The driving physics and graphics (specifically the lighting rather than texture detail) are of a high standard, and the pick up and play nature makes it the ideal choice for those who only enjoyed DiRT 3 for Joyride and Gymkhana, since there's no manual transmission but instead there's boost and health. The tracks are straight copies from DiRT 3 but a lot less technical, more straights, shorter and almost no need to ever use the brakes. For what the game sets out to do, it does it very well, with few errors in execution. The concept however, is very childish and too shallow to create a memorable experience. You don't feel involved or rewarded like in the first DiRT game. Instead you have short, repetitive and mindless "racing" and destruction mayhem. The game does have very easy achievements, and ones you will get from normal playing rather than ones you have to go for, so I guess it's rewarding in that sense. The game itself isn't up to DiRT standard. I don't know why Codemasters have been trying to move away from rallying. It's not that they've done a bad job with Showdown, it's just that this spin-off is lacking in depth. Overall I'd recommend it if you can get it for a good price and want a casual, light-hearted arcade game, or if you enjoyed DiRT 3's Party Modes but if you were expecting anything which requires skill and precision; you'd best avoid this. Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2012
    4
    As much as I love the other DiRT games, it pains me to say that Showdown really was a let down. The uninspired tracks and modes made it feel like a discount version. And the lack of licenced cars. It does look pretty, but that doesn't really save the game from feeling like a cheap money maker by Codemasters. Considering the usual standard of Codemasters' games, this title really doesn't qualify as a DiRT title. Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2012
    4
    The game can be fun at times if you avoid the Knockout game mode I believe. The races seem fine if not short in length and easy to win. Online can be fun if you remember not to take it too seriously. Overall a fun game but the reason I rate it so low is the rubber band AI and Mario Kart type luck some events require. If you're looking for a few hours of fun I say rent. Otherwise Pass. Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2012
    0
    Few racing game franchises produce worthy successors..and dirt showdown is undoubtedly one. Although the game may not be as immersive as previous installments of the series, that should be no reason to avoid playing this game.
    PROS: Varied racing environments, retains good gameplay elements from the series
    CONS: Rubberband Al, races have a sluggish feel, too easy difficulty
    Expand

See all 11 User Reviews