Dishonored Xbox 360

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 759 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 89 out of 759

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 13, 2012
    6
    This game, while having some genuinely interesting points, kind of disappointed me. It just didn't live up to it's potential. First, the good stuff. This game has a pretty interesting steampunk setting, the gameplay concept itself is really interesting and decently executed, and the way they've given you the ability to finish the game without killing a single person (if you so choose) isThis game, while having some genuinely interesting points, kind of disappointed me. It just didn't live up to it's potential. First, the good stuff. This game has a pretty interesting steampunk setting, the gameplay concept itself is really interesting and decently executed, and the way they've given you the ability to finish the game without killing a single person (if you so choose) is genuinely interesting. Unfortunately, on the Xbox 360 version at least, the graphics are pretty shoddy (probably due to the poor/non-existent anti-aliasing), and it's very distracting when the scenery has clipping artifacts when you look side to side. In addition to the poor graphics, this game is really short. I've done a few playthroughs, and it ranges from a low of 5ish hours for a "killing whatever and ignoring the optional objectives on easy" run to around 20ish hours for me to run the entire game on the hardest difficulty, finish all of the optional objectives, and collect all of the runes and bone charms. On top of all of this, the storyline really is just not very compelling. The game feels like way more thought went into the setting and lore than went into the actual events and dialogue that you're playing through. In summary, Dishonored is a game that has an interesting setting and some really neat gameplay options, but it's let down by graphical problems, story length, and some poor writing. In my honest opinion, if they would have made this game an open-world RPG, thrown more content into it, and given you a few more options as far as abilities and customization goes, this game could have been great. Such as shame, really. Expand
  2. Jan 18, 2013
    7
    Bethesda done it again. Mixing Skyrim and a little bit of BioShock, Dishonored is a game totally addictive and compelling, that looks awesome (Besides some character expressions flaws) and also has a great gameplay. I mean, just the character Corvo and all the things he can do is awesome. We can turn people into ashes, possess rats or invoke a group of rats to eat someone, teleport whileBethesda done it again. Mixing Skyrim and a little bit of BioShock, Dishonored is a game totally addictive and compelling, that looks awesome (Besides some character expressions flaws) and also has a great gameplay. I mean, just the character Corvo and all the things he can do is awesome. We can turn people into ashes, possess rats or invoke a group of rats to eat someone, teleport while flying around, and lots of stuff. Also, we can choose how to pass our different "tasks". Corvo is an assassin, but that doesn't mean you should kill everyone. For example, in the game you have tons of guards that will want to kill you at sight. You can approach to them slowly and slit their throats, or you can do "something" (I don't know what the hell is) that makes them unconscious and carry the body around to hide it. It's a much more difficult way to play the game, but the game promises it's the most rewarding. Also, some missions have Player Choice implementation which results great, and although after you finish the story there's no much reason to play it again, Dishonored is still all about the journey. The only problem I had with the game is the problem Bethesda is always struggling with: A good story, with good voice acting and dialogue. Yes, Dishonored looks amazing but not in the plot part. The games suffers from melodrama, but mostly from trying to have a poetic style, to tell a story mostly boring and plain with nothing good to offer. There are some twists, most of them poorly executed, making the game a little bit disappointing. Also, the fact that when the story ends you can't play it in "Sandbox" mode is a little bit a minus. I mean, I got to the end of the game with only a quarter of the powers unlocked, and haven't upgraded many of them. If that's enough reason to play the game again, good for you. I was expecting the Free world Bethesda so proudly showed on previous games. So, Dishonored is about gameplay. You shouldn't expect Game of the year quality, but just fun to make the game good. Bethesda has to improve the story on their games, but that doesn't keep Dishonored from being one of the most played games of this year, and one of the most compelling ones of all time. Expand
  3. May 21, 2013
    7
    At it's core, a fantastic game with solid game play and a original feel on a first person shooter. I just feel they could of done a lot more with it, at times it felt a little cheap rather than feeling satisfaction for using my brain around a certain situation. Also, the trail and error mentality of this games takes it to a new level. Constantly forcing you to save to make sure every inchAt it's core, a fantastic game with solid game play and a original feel on a first person shooter. I just feel they could of done a lot more with it, at times it felt a little cheap rather than feeling satisfaction for using my brain around a certain situation. Also, the trail and error mentality of this games takes it to a new level. Constantly forcing you to save to make sure every inch of progress is docked. A good game, but could of been a lot better. If you're a fan of stealthy games, go for it. If not, give it a miss. Expand
  4. Nov 6, 2012
    7
    Overall, I enjoyed this game very much. The graphics are nothing to write home about, however its still a lovely looking game. The gameplay is fun and fairly unique. Trying to do a mission the stealth way can be frustrating at times and left me (more often than not) just slaying everyone in my path. But its the stealth challenge that gives it at least a little bit of replay value. OverallOverall, I enjoyed this game very much. The graphics are nothing to write home about, however its still a lovely looking game. The gameplay is fun and fairly unique. Trying to do a mission the stealth way can be frustrating at times and left me (more often than not) just slaying everyone in my path. But its the stealth challenge that gives it at least a little bit of replay value. Overall I enjoyed the gameplay as well as the story, but in the long run, the replay value just isn't there for me. Solid game though and worth a purchase if you enjoy a good story driven game. Expand
  5. Dec 26, 2012
    7
    The versatility of the combat system in this game is wonderful, so many ways to kill unsuspecting guards and deal with the key enemies. Graphics were great. I didn't notice the audio while playing this game. And story wasn't half bad, but still wanted it to be a bit longer.
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    6
    I remember seeing pictures of dishonored in an issue of game informer in 2010 and then reading an article about it in 2011. I remember being very interested in the game. I also remember feeling let down that I couldn't purchase it when it was released and how envious I was at the people on my friends list that were playing it and raving about how great it was. Fast forward 2 months later.I remember seeing pictures of dishonored in an issue of game informer in 2010 and then reading an article about it in 2011. I remember being very interested in the game. I also remember feeling let down that I couldn't purchase it when it was released and how envious I was at the people on my friends list that were playing it and raving about how great it was. Fast forward 2 months later. I borrowed it from a friend and lets just say that I am very happy that I didn't purchase this game. Yeah, the graphics are cool and the combat is kind of fun, but other than that there is nothing special about this game. It feels like I've played this game a million times. The plot is basic. The characters are one dimensional and the fact that the developers try to force emotion on you is annoying. The whole game is one step up above generic. Is this the worst game I ever played? No, far from it, but does it deserve the high praise it's received since it's release? Not really. The whole entire experience so far has been a pretty ho hum, single player fps by the numbers. This is one where you'll forgot you've ever played it a month or two down the road. Expand
  7. Oct 21, 2012
    7
    Dishonored, is, in short, both one of the best games of the year and biggest disappointments. Rarely has a game left me feeling so conflicted. I love stealth, using big open levels that can be structured and fun rather than the more better-sounding but shallower open-world games, that are really quite linear. Dishonored offers both of these, with a kind of Bioshock 1st-person feel,Dishonored, is, in short, both one of the best games of the year and biggest disappointments. Rarely has a game left me feeling so conflicted. I love stealth, using big open levels that can be structured and fun rather than the more better-sounding but shallower open-world games, that are really quite linear. Dishonored offers both of these, with a kind of Bioshock 1st-person feel, whilst channelling Assassin's Creed, in Hitman-esque open levels, by way of Half-Life 2's City 17. So why did it leave me feeling rather flat? Firstly, the world of Dunwall is a really depressing mix of Steampunk and Victorian England, ravaged by plague. You are constantly reminded how dire the situation is, yet I never felt any connection to it, compassion or, well, anything on an emotional level. This is mainly down to the rather dry writing, flat, emotionless (with one or two exceptions ) voice acting, and cardboard characters so reminiscent of the Fallout and Elder Scrolls games. As a result any feeling of heartbreak at the Empress' death, anger at your own downfall and thus motivation for justice and revenge quickly dissipates into a void of dreary numbness. As someone who doesn't care about graphics, even I was rather taken aback at how poor the visuals are. Whilst the game looks quite painterly from a distance, up close the textures are muddy low-res and ugly. Also the character models look dated and why is it every single maid/courtesan is exactly the same? Pure laziness, which further breaks immersion and emotion.
    The gameplay itself works rather well, giving you multiple paths through each level, save for a few annoying invisible walls, options on ghosting, or taking out enemies in very, or non-violent ways, and gives you various powers to play with. However to really get the most out of these you have to wait a while to get enough to start combining them in fun and creative ways, begging the question of why no NG+ was implemented. Also the AI is inconsistent and not smart enough to really take great delight in outsmarting or toying with them which is crucial in a stealth game. The Audio of the Ai is particularly bad.

    Dishonored ultimately is a victim of it's own expectation. With the talents of people who worked on Half-Life, Deus Ex and Bioshock, I was expecting better. What we got was a game that clearly has grand and noble pretensions, and in a world of shallow, linear, 'cinematic' franchise unit-shifters for people with ADHD, I desperately want to love it and scream at you to buy it. Yet I I'm left feeling how I sometimes do after being on a diet of Hollywood movies, then watching a foreign art-house film with subtitles: I admire it and am glad I saw it, but can't say I honestly enjoyed it.
    Expand
  8. Dec 21, 2012
    7
    Well, here is the just of it. The game had something to do with Bethesda but, it did not deliver like a game completely created by them. I expected an open world experience and honestly that is what the game should have been. There is just not much reason to play it more than once and even then, the story really didn't make me care about death of the empress or my imprisonment. That beingWell, here is the just of it. The game had something to do with Bethesda but, it did not deliver like a game completely created by them. I expected an open world experience and honestly that is what the game should have been. There is just not much reason to play it more than once and even then, the story really didn't make me care about death of the empress or my imprisonment. That being said, it is not a bad game. I just would not pay full price for it. To be so linear in today's marketplace in gaming is absurd to say the least. Expand
  9. Nov 29, 2012
    5
    This game is not bad but it is not good either. The writing and the acting is atrocious despite some of the voice actors being famous stars. All the dialogue over explains what is already apparent. This is no Bioshock. There is no atmosphere whatsoever and quite frankly I couldn't wait to get it over with. I finished the game hoping it would pay off at some point but it was just triteThis game is not bad but it is not good either. The writing and the acting is atrocious despite some of the voice actors being famous stars. All the dialogue over explains what is already apparent. This is no Bioshock. There is no atmosphere whatsoever and quite frankly I couldn't wait to get it over with. I finished the game hoping it would pay off at some point but it was just trite and predictable. The game play had some good ideas and that is where the game redeems itself somewhat but not enough to make me want to replay it. Also I found all the paintings and the achievement did not unlock. I did not have fun playing this game and do not recommend you buy it, borrow it from a friend if you must play it but I suspect you will be disappointed. Expand
  10. Oct 31, 2012
    7
    A creative IP that is deserving of the critics positive reviews. A high level of creativity, semi-open world, and good mix of powers provide for a unique experience that players can tailor to their play style. The negatives from a high-level perspective are unpolished character models and environment textures. Another negative for some will be the large amount of text required to read ifA creative IP that is deserving of the critics positive reviews. A high level of creativity, semi-open world, and good mix of powers provide for a unique experience that players can tailor to their play style. The negatives from a high-level perspective are unpolished character models and environment textures. Another negative for some will be the large amount of text required to read if you want to gain a better understanding of the game world. Outside of the game itself I feel this game will ultimately suffer from a less than strategic release date. Today Expand
  11. Apr 2, 2013
    7
    I was recommended this game by two different friends as it had flown under my radar despite the rave reviews, and I didn't play it until I borrowed it from a mate in Feb 2013 (I'd just finished Dead Space 3 so we did a swap).
    My initial impressions were rather good! I dig the art-style (though the comically-oversized hands seem a little unnecessary) and the voice acting (despite lack of
    I was recommended this game by two different friends as it had flown under my radar despite the rave reviews, and I didn't play it until I borrowed it from a mate in Feb 2013 (I'd just finished Dead Space 3 so we did a swap).
    My initial impressions were rather good! I dig the art-style (though the comically-oversized hands seem a little unnecessary) and the voice acting (despite lack of depth to the script) is down-pat.
    There are a lot of things this game does right. The stealth mechanic (and increased difficulty for choosing the more subtle approach) and multiple pathways both on the small and grand scale really show the effort Arkane Studios put into this game. It's immensely detailed for a non-RPG, though the lore you can read in the books littered around and the storyline itself was for the most part, forgettable. I couldn't empathise with any of the characters and by the last levels of the game I was merely going through the motions.
    I did get distracted with the release of Tomb Raider (now THAT was a game that had me hooked).
    Dishonored has heart and I can see why people like it, but if the idea of upping the challenge for the "Clean Hands" achievement results in a run whilst repeatedly saving and loading the game and fumbling your way to a murder-free victory, I'll pass.
    I finished the game today after having it in my possession for around two months, but it was an absolute chore by the end. I hit an almost game-breaking (for me, as I didn't want to start the level again) in the Lady Boyle mission that almost had me throwing in the towel. I'll give the game a solid 7 because any higher and I'd be lying to myself.
    Expand
  12. Oct 15, 2012
    5
    The game is not worth $60. I recommend people rent this game first and see if it can have a long replay value based on personal taste. As for me, I'm on my second playthrough and I'm already feeling bored. The game is good - but very short. Don't fall for the Bethesda fanboy hype!
  13. Oct 10, 2012
    6
    Ok, I'll be the one to point out that the Emperor is wearing an extremely unflattering Speedo.

    It's merely published by Bethesda (developed by Arkane), so it thankfully lacks the zoo of bugs usually associated with their titles, but there are many things about the game that rub the wrong way. The setting of the game is a wild pastiche of ideas that feel scattered but do show glimmers on
    Ok, I'll be the one to point out that the Emperor is wearing an extremely unflattering Speedo.

    It's merely published by Bethesda (developed by Arkane), so it thankfully lacks the zoo of bugs usually associated with their titles, but there are many things about the game that rub the wrong way. The setting of the game is a wild pastiche of ideas that feel scattered but do show glimmers on originality and potential. Trouble is, the game doles out information in a decidedly non-engrossing fashion and the first hour or so is just an on-the-rails game of hit-all-the-steampunk/fantasy-setting-tropes. The TF2, exaggerated art style is cool, but I can't help but feel that a more realistic look would benefit an urban game of gritty, moralistic conflicts. The stealth (like most FPS that try to incorporate it) can be fairly hit-or-miss and though you can blast your way through from hell to a whalemeat breakfast, the game suggests fairly heavily that the most virtuous path through it is a non-violent one. Not to mention that more than 3/4 of the unlockable powers are all used for killing or facilitating killing, meaning that you're going to waste a lot of runes if you want to go the no-kill route. The combat is simplistic but can be punishing early on and there are a few cool synergies between your powers and your weapons, but good luck to you if you think the game is going to prompt you much in that regard. There is a definite emphasis on "choose-your-own-path" at work but the narrative (and the assassinations involved in it) is broken down into discreet levels and you are graded and given the option to replay each one upon completion, so say goodbye to a fully immersive, open world experience. In a nutshell, the game is best described as a "steampunk Deus Ex" and yes, that would be Square Enix's recent "re-imagining" of Deus Ex, with all the connotations that entails. It's a competent action game with an interesting backdrop, but nothing that you'll be talking about 6 months from now.
    Expand
  14. Nov 18, 2012
    6
    In Dishonored you play Geralt of Rivia, a Witcher and bodyguard of King Foltest. But when Foltest is killed and you are framed for the murder... oh wait, i'm thinking of a much better game. Dishonored is a pretty game, for what it's worth, but the story line has been done better before. In some ways it plays like a dumbed-down Thief. The main problem I had was that the stealth systemIn Dishonored you play Geralt of Rivia, a Witcher and bodyguard of King Foltest. But when Foltest is killed and you are framed for the murder... oh wait, i'm thinking of a much better game. Dishonored is a pretty game, for what it's worth, but the story line has been done better before. In some ways it plays like a dumbed-down Thief. The main problem I had was that the stealth system seemed to be completely broken. It may have been a glitch, but going into stealth mode alerted everyone in the area. Beyond that the combat difficulty was well, low enough that you could just hack and slash through the entire game. I got bored with it after about 30-45 min. Expand
  15. Oct 11, 2012
    7
    I'm going to be the first to say it, This game isn't all its hyped up to be! It has VERY good mechanics mixed with great intuitive design, but Is let down by a short story(~6 hours) a lack of re-playability and a very Abruptly disappointing story. They make the game seem like it has tons of Re-playability by telling you that you can re-play the game in different ways, But to be honest,I'm going to be the first to say it, This game isn't all its hyped up to be! It has VERY good mechanics mixed with great intuitive design, but Is let down by a short story(~6 hours) a lack of re-playability and a very Abruptly disappointing story. They make the game seem like it has tons of Re-playability by telling you that you can re-play the game in different ways, But to be honest, that's the least Appealing thing to me right now; Because 1.) At this point I'd usually try the game's online multiplayer, Dishonored has none. and 2.) There is no new game+, So I'm unable to continue collecting runes and making my Corvo better, You literally have to start again which tbh sounds tiresome, I'd rather go and play a different game. Next thing is the "Bone charms" The basically useless "mini-traits" they give you never seemed to prove useful, The only useful one I found was in the last mission so in theory was no use to me whatsoever! This game would be 100x better if it had a story like Skyrim(Length wise) If this game was 60+ Hours long, It'd be my game of the year, because the game itself is excellent and I REALLY enjoyed playing it, It just ended too fast, for a £40 game, Your not getting much from it, With the lack of re-playability, I'd say this is only worth finding if you get it cheap, because you won't be spending much time on it, I'd pay about £6 for it in a steam sale, because with its annoying down-points this is a great game that's VERY short-Lived, But it's one of those Turning point's in the Genre that you MUST play before this generation is over, A sequel with a 50+ Hour story line could be the best game ever made! Expand
  16. Dec 24, 2012
    5
    Beat the game twice. This ain't no played it for 6 hours or got halfway through it review. First, the gameplay is solid, too solid. Halfway through the game, you will feel like a God in a Peter Molyneux game. Instead of being represented by a huge hand that plucks things into the sky, you are a hooded assassin who can magically appear next to an enemy and pluck the life from him howeverBeat the game twice. This ain't no played it for 6 hours or got halfway through it review. First, the gameplay is solid, too solid. Halfway through the game, you will feel like a God in a Peter Molyneux game. Instead of being represented by a huge hand that plucks things into the sky, you are a hooded assassin who can magically appear next to an enemy and pluck the life from him however you wish. Graphics are standard fare. The art style is quite different exampled by exaggerated noses and facial features. Music and sound are quite forgettable. Where the game falls apart is that it becomes ridiculously easy a third to a half-way through the game. The story is predictable and the world is rather confined. Not linear, but not quite as realized as it could be. There could be a little bit of simulation game elements added such as an extra room at the base to use as a marker of progress, yet no dice. Overall, standard game with little ambition. Expand
  17. Dec 4, 2012
    5
    Dishonoured has a strong start and a great art direction, but I felt as the game progressed it began to wear thin. Later areas of the game feel rushed, and lack the same level of detail and emphasis on player choice as shown in earlier levels.
  18. Jan 4, 2013
    7
    Beautifully crafted and artfully written, Dishonored takes us to a Whale-oil-punk dystopia known as Dunwall. Our protagonist must prove his innocence by killing or otherwise neutralizing the group who framed him for the murder of his charge, the Queen. The game uses a leaning system to allow the player to sneak around levels filled with guards, plague-infested civilans and traps. TheBeautifully crafted and artfully written, Dishonored takes us to a Whale-oil-punk dystopia known as Dunwall. Our protagonist must prove his innocence by killing or otherwise neutralizing the group who framed him for the murder of his charge, the Queen. The game uses a leaning system to allow the player to sneak around levels filled with guards, plague-infested civilans and traps. The player can choose whether to rely on stealth or combat, and their actions affect how the story develops. I gave this game a 7, because it looks great, has an awesome story, great mechanics and awesome style. However, replay value is almost nonexistent. The game is design to be played twice: once by sneaking and killing no one, and buying no powers, and a second time buying all the powers and murdering everything. After you do that, theres not much more to do. Expand
  19. Oct 16, 2012
    6
    Let me start by saying that the further you get in this game the better it gets, having said that the first 1-2 hours are not very good. The overall story of dishonored is boring and the twist towards the end of the game is so predictable. You play as Corvo Attano but it is hard to get attached to this character as he never speaks and you never see his face. If you want to upgrade yourLet me start by saying that the further you get in this game the better it gets, having said that the first 1-2 hours are not very good. The overall story of dishonored is boring and the twist towards the end of the game is so predictable. You play as Corvo Attano but it is hard to get attached to this character as he never speaks and you never see his face. If you want to upgrade your skills and powers you will have to stray off the set path to find loot to sell, Rune's to upgrade your powers and Bone charm,s which are perks, however you can only have a set number of perks active at one time. By the time you get to the end of most games you have unlocked everything..... this is not the case in dishonored, you can't unlock everything even if you collect all the money, rune's and bone charm's which SUCKS. To sum up...... boring story, boring characters, good game play. Expand
  20. Oct 11, 2012
    7
    This game has a lot of detail and fun gameplay, but the exclusion of new game plus cripples it. Normally this wouldn't be a problem, but since there is so much to collect and the game is extremely short for an RPG I feel like they just kick me in the balls at the end of the game. The story and environment is what saves it. Also I feel like with all the advances in the game industry thereThis game has a lot of detail and fun gameplay, but the exclusion of new game plus cripples it. Normally this wouldn't be a problem, but since there is so much to collect and the game is extremely short for an RPG I feel like they just kick me in the balls at the end of the game. The story and environment is what saves it. Also I feel like with all the advances in the game industry there is no reason to have a silent protagonist and that comes off as seeming like laziness on the developers part. Expand
  21. Nov 11, 2012
    5
    This game seemed to have everything going for it. Great setting, characters, story, game-play elements, etc. Then I played it. This game is SO short and had absolutely no replay value to me. The alternate story options (killing a target/letting them live) were no where near interesting enough for me to replay the game to find out what would have happened had I not killed/let my targetThis game seemed to have everything going for it. Great setting, characters, story, game-play elements, etc. Then I played it. This game is SO short and had absolutely no replay value to me. The alternate story options (killing a target/letting them live) were no where near interesting enough for me to replay the game to find out what would have happened had I not killed/let my target live. Usually a game like this I would replay just to experiment with the powers however, in one play through I managed to get enough runes to have all the powers I wanted. Most of them aren't very interesting, or useful. All you need is Blink and that is given to you fairly early into the story. Once I had completed the game I felt like I played a beta version. Short and unfinished. Expand
  22. Dec 14, 2012
    6
    For me this game was a huge disappointment from what I was expecting. Backgrounds and scenery are very pretty and lovingly detailed, but also a bit lifeless, like looking at a still picture. While I get the cartoony look to the main characters was intentional, it just did not appeal to me in the least. Aside from the intro, you (as a player) never really feel connected to Corvo since theFor me this game was a huge disappointment from what I was expecting. Backgrounds and scenery are very pretty and lovingly detailed, but also a bit lifeless, like looking at a still picture. While I get the cartoony look to the main characters was intentional, it just did not appeal to me in the least. Aside from the intro, you (as a player) never really feel connected to Corvo since the narrative/perspective makes you feel like its happening to you and not Corvo. The Corvo persona seems to just vanish for a majority of the game. While the side characters are nice and fun, you really aren't given enough time with them to develop any kind of bond or make a lasting impression (aside from Admiral Havelock & Lady Emily.) While the levels are "theoretically" open to exploration, the game still feel like it follows a linear path. Combat is OK but, has been done far better in other similar games. The stealth aspects work well, but I found the stealth route to be rather boring and unchallenging. Plus, the games overall gameplay feels far too much like that of Deuas Ex: Human Revolution. This kind of took away any real sense of originality. Overall: A good idea that could have used a bit more focus on delivery and execution. I believe people who are new to gaming or have not played this kind of game before are likely to enjoy it more. Gaming vets will only be slightly amused Expand
  23. Oct 12, 2012
    7
    I was expecting something resembling the original Deus Ex or the Thief games: Large sprawling levels and a long playthrough. I got 9 missions with a few sidemissions and levels that look open but all the routes go the same way. It gets progressively linear as times goes on. The best mission I have to say was the Boyle Party mission. It's a lot like Human Revolution, as it sort of resemblesI was expecting something resembling the original Deus Ex or the Thief games: Large sprawling levels and a long playthrough. I got 9 missions with a few sidemissions and levels that look open but all the routes go the same way. It gets progressively linear as times goes on. The best mission I have to say was the Boyle Party mission. It's a lot like Human Revolution, as it sort of resembles the open Action RPGs of the past, but has the disgusting dumbed down casualized gloss that all multiplatform releases must have these days. Expand
  24. Nov 16, 2012
    5
    I'm a great fan of the games Bethesda softworks make I loved fallout 3 and the appocoliptic wasteland they created bustling with unique and interesting characters and spent many an hour going round the waste land doing mission and side missions/ quest, hunting for big and better weapons, gathering resources and random stuff to sale so I could make more money to buy better armour or guns. II'm a great fan of the games Bethesda softworks make I loved fallout 3 and the appocoliptic wasteland they created bustling with unique and interesting characters and spent many an hour going round the waste land doing mission and side missions/ quest, hunting for big and better weapons, gathering resources and random stuff to sale so I could make more money to buy better armour or guns. I love both the elder scrolls oblivion and skyrim and still spend many an hour playing these games due to they are excellent in quality and replay ability. So when I herd that Bethesda were making dishonored I was really excited at the chance to explore another new and huge city that Bethesda had created so I bought it on day of release. I started to play dishonored and saw that this could have the potential to be a brilliant game even maybe game of the year but as I progressed thought the game I became quite disappointed with it, the game lacks the scope of any of Bethesda's previous games and in some parts feels rather disjointed in the way it plays, it also fells like Bethesda took some ideas from the bioshock franchise mixed it with a bit of assassins creed and created a game that doesn't live up to the expectations of previous Bethesda games, I would say rent this game and give it a try and maybe you will like it but for me this is one of those games I hate and got rid of soon after buying it. Here's to Bethesda for hopefully continuing their amazing dlc for skyrim and hopefully to a new fallout out game maybe fallout 4 for the next generation of console but sorry dishonored wasn't for me Expand
  25. Dec 4, 2012
    6
    I was to be honest disappointed with this game. I was expecting to keep me interested while attempting to sneak through the game. However i got bored and just ran through the game towards the end because i simply wanted to finish the game.
  26. Mar 10, 2013
    6
    it could have been better, specially from a game that is an entire copy from bioshock and has seen many games that used it recipe (like singularity, which is even better than DH).
  27. Oct 22, 2012
    7
    A very easy game, but that doesn't mean it's not fun to play. The gameplay feels like a mix between Thief, Bioshock, and a Deus Ex game. Not a terribly great story, but not bad either. Not great graphics, but acceptable enough. The hub worlds could use a little bit more activity within them, but I'll give that a pass as well seeing as most people are dead or dying from the plague. AnybodyA very easy game, but that doesn't mean it's not fun to play. The gameplay feels like a mix between Thief, Bioshock, and a Deus Ex game. Not a terribly great story, but not bad either. Not great graphics, but acceptable enough. The hub worlds could use a little bit more activity within them, but I'll give that a pass as well seeing as most people are dead or dying from the plague. Anybody giving the game a 10 or a 1 is a moron. I think 7 is a fair score and I look forward to seeing the improvements in the next game. Expand
  28. Nov 5, 2012
    7
    An original first person fighter, different from any other. The powers you earn are what make it interesting. I choose the path of choking people unconscious and hiding them in the trash at first, and then when I got to the end I just murdered everyone. I'm not sure what this means, but one path is darker at the end. Mine didn't seem too dark. This game is good not great but I'd recommendAn original first person fighter, different from any other. The powers you earn are what make it interesting. I choose the path of choking people unconscious and hiding them in the trash at first, and then when I got to the end I just murdered everyone. I'm not sure what this means, but one path is darker at the end. Mine didn't seem too dark. This game is good not great but I'd recommend it. The ending was eh. Expand
  29. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    The games execution, art style, and Level design were great. But this is the kind of game you want to really make you care about characters and your actions. Really get you into the world and the story of the protagonist. Sadly, this game didn't really do that for me. With how popular its become though I'm sure this is the start of a franchise, so I hope to see improvements in future installments.
  30. Nov 5, 2012
    7
    So close, just so damn close. At first I feel like this game does everything right. It has some of the smartest AI I have seen, some very intriguing and well made characters, a story that at first seems cliched but later reveals some mind catching points, a setting that awakens the deepest parts of my mind to simply go "wow" and gameplay that made me not want to stop playing. But as I playSo close, just so damn close. At first I feel like this game does everything right. It has some of the smartest AI I have seen, some very intriguing and well made characters, a story that at first seems cliched but later reveals some mind catching points, a setting that awakens the deepest parts of my mind to simply go "wow" and gameplay that made me not want to stop playing. But as I play I noticed for every amazing point this game had, something was left to be desired.

    I'll admit right now, Playing this ganme the first time was extremely fun, but a lot of that was taken away by the Chaos system. While I believe it is an improvement on the now overused morality system we see in many multiple path games, the chaos system took a lot of fun out of my subsequent playthroughs. It is annoying trying to be stealthy or not killing people, especially when it truly is a lot more fun to try out your gadgets (most which cause some awesome looking deaths) and powers than to try to hide in a corner until no guard is looking (which in some cases took long minutes of just standing, walking, and teleporting until nobody could see), this made the game very dull in trying to lower my chaos rating and getting more achievements. However, there is a more rewarding and "good guy" sense in completing a chapter without killing anyone (although by then I'm bored of playing the game and switch to something that makes me think beyond where I can hide so I can choke somebody without being seen).

    In terms of character and story, at first you will think it to be great, but grows cliched very quickly. I will not go into details as to avoid spoiling anything, but one does not buy this game for the story, especially at a short length of 5 to 6 hours per full playthrough (FYI, the real money's worth comes in the achievements, not in the story or the characters, but in the replay value). One thing that does slightly disappoint me is the lack of a new game plus equivalent, which i feel would have made new runthroughs more fun rather than playing from scratch each time and having to recollect collectables rather than just focusing on new achievements.

    The grahics are not ground breaking, but are enjoyable and add to the athmosphere and setting of the game, which is the one thing that will leave you breathless. This world is a world that certainly would host the "perfect game" *fingers crossed for future* and makes you go "wow" as you explore it and see it's technology.

    Aside from Chaos system, the gameplay will also have you smiling greatly, as it has a great combat system with rapidly responding AI that make u think rather than just spamming a button to attack. And the ways to kill the guards become fun as the game advances, with abilities to even turn their weapons on them. (of course, this all still increases your chaos rating)

    I highly recommend this game if you don't mind heavy repetition and short stories, because boy it's short. But fair warning again, the real "money's worth" (aka $60) comes from how many times you're willing to replay and be patient in order to get all the achievements.
    Expand
  31. Dec 21, 2012
    7
    This game isn't perfect. Dishonored has it's flaws and many people, I'm sure, will have found themselves disappointed when playing the game; I can understand why. What I will say however, is I enjoyed Dishonored very much. It's fun. It is predictable at times and the storyline and levels aren't altogether original, but the gameplay and graphics are good and it's an enjoyable experience. MyThis game isn't perfect. Dishonored has it's flaws and many people, I'm sure, will have found themselves disappointed when playing the game; I can understand why. What I will say however, is I enjoyed Dishonored very much. It's fun. It is predictable at times and the storyline and levels aren't altogether original, but the gameplay and graphics are good and it's an enjoyable experience. My advice: try it out for yourselves, some will love this game and some will not. Expand
  32. Dec 30, 2013
    6
    After the high levels of praise this game has received over the past year and a bit, I finally decided to pick it up, and for $23 i was happy with that purchase. When i first played Dishonored i was skeptical, but went in with an open mind, but never the less i was impressed with the core element of this game: choice. Dishonored is a game that you play your way, whether you want to play asAfter the high levels of praise this game has received over the past year and a bit, I finally decided to pick it up, and for $23 i was happy with that purchase. When i first played Dishonored i was skeptical, but went in with an open mind, but never the less i was impressed with the core element of this game: choice. Dishonored is a game that you play your way, whether you want to play as a murderous monster or go through the game without your blade ever tasting blood, both are possible, and the city of Dunwall changes accordingly to these choices. With this premise in mind, if Dishonored is one thing, it is fun. The gameplay is simply brilliant, whether you are using swords, ranged weapons or magic, you are guaranteed to enjoy using them. There are also many upgrades you can gain for both the protagonist (Corvo Attano) and your magical skills, this again allows you to experiment more with the gameplay and leads to that word again: fun. This is by far Dishonored greatest strength.

    The story of this game follows Corvo Attano, who is personal bodyguard for the empress, and is framed for her murder, you then escape from the prison and the death sentence with the help of a group called the loyalists, from there you are given targets to eliminate to bring justice to the city of Dunwall. It is a fairly typical and cliche narrative, the empress is alive for five minutes and results in the inability to care much about her demise, which makes your motivation for revenge somewhat weaker. The targets which you assassinate are ridiculously two dimensional and cliche, their only goal being the complete power over Dunwall. One mission has you assassinate (potential spoilers) a pair of corrupt government officials, can you guess their location? that's right a brothel (end spoilers). The problem with the targets is they lack ulterior motives, you have no motive to take them out, you are just told to, many of the targets are just NPC's and not even characters within the game. Next comes the very predictable plot twist followed by more of the same tired worn out narrative and characters. Simply put the story and characters are The game is instead held up by its brilliant gameplay, but this again suffers due to the fact that i honestly didn't care about getting revenge.

    Dishonored really is a unique game, it does so many things right, and delivers choice into the hands of the player, making for one extremely fun experience, its just a shame the story and characters are more two dimensional that the original Sonic game. In my honest opinion, the game is overrated, its a fun play and encourages replayability, and anyone interested in the stealth-action genre or anyone looking for something different should try the game, but if not, then definitely save your money.
    Expand
  33. Apr 22, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not the game i was expecting, good idea, good control, great powers, but still, it's not a bethesda game, if you play other games, you know what i mean...!!!! Expand
  34. May 4, 2013
    6
    Not bad but I reckon the game is way to slow I mean it's meant to be played as a stealth game too the story is boring the main hero don't talk much and you had to use your powers to escape certain things like use teleport since you can't jump when you want to.

    The stealth was not hard infact if you got seen a whole bunch of people show up in front of your eyes sadly this is not like
    Not bad but I reckon the game is way to slow I mean it's meant to be played as a stealth game too the story is boring the main hero don't talk much and you had to use your powers to escape certain things like use teleport since you can't jump when you want to.

    The stealth was not hard infact if you got seen a whole bunch of people show up in front of your eyes sadly this is not like MGS game where they would try to phone people to get you and where this game fails to be even a good game on the side note this is a lot of thinking you must do on certain levels.
    Expand
  35. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    First off this game had a great story where(contiue reading if u want spoilers) your guards betray u stab ur wife and take ur daughter and u have to find her nut throught that fills with some sneaky and good combat but why i reviewed this 6 is because i tried this on easy and felt like i was playing hard it was ridicilouis at one point there was like 4 guards with a dog each and i had lowFirst off this game had a great story where(contiue reading if u want spoilers) your guards betray u stab ur wife and take ur daughter and u have to find her nut throught that fills with some sneaky and good combat but why i reviewed this 6 is because i tried this on easy and felt like i was playing hard it was ridicilouis at one point there was like 4 guards with a dog each and i had low health everytime i would die and it was just impossible and ridiclious. i recommed to hardcore gamers like me no one else Expand
  36. Jul 11, 2013
    5
    Dishonored was my first game after beating new Bioshock. So it has a hard nut to crack. Locations in Infinite was smashing my balls off. Dunwall in Dishonored is quite well designed, but it's ugly, boring and it has no climax. Main characters in Dishonored doesnt have any traits they are furniture, so you dont feal emotions when you kill them. Even little Emily was not an incentive to beDishonored was my first game after beating new Bioshock. So it has a hard nut to crack. Locations in Infinite was smashing my balls off. Dunwall in Dishonored is quite well designed, but it's ugly, boring and it has no climax. Main characters in Dishonored doesnt have any traits they are furniture, so you dont feal emotions when you kill them. Even little Emily was not an incentive to be a good person in this game. All main characters looks thesame even The Outsider, who is the one of most important characters in the game looks common. I agree, game is well scripted and it's not boring. Quests are designed in the good way, but the plot doesnt give you satisfaction after beating one. Maybe there's more options in deducing quests, but hell there is no story in this game! Even if gameplay is very expanded and it has lots of options in it, the game becomes simple game to pass the time. I've sitted to it, just to kill some more people, but not because i wanted to discover Dunwall story or to see what is going to be next. But there are also vices in gameplay. Thereare about 5 types of enemies. AI of all this foes are in retarded dog degree. Sometimes enemies are just that stupid, so they can't see you standing next to them. Probably most overrated game of the year. Expand
  37. Jul 21, 2013
    5
    Bought this because of the hype. That was a mistake. It's not a bad game, but it's not very good or interesting either. It's like Deus Ex with steampunk and without the possibility of playing it the way you want. Teleporting around stabbing the same guard in the back hundreds of times gets old pretty fast. The story wasn't interesting either. Can't understand why people hyped this mediocre game.
  38. Sep 7, 2013
    7
    ---Rating---
    Design: 3 /5 (the mechanics imitate many other games', the narrative is very predictable)
    Polish: 4 /5 (decent graphics and good ambiance in an interesting- if often dreary- setting) Value: 3 /5 (some limited attempts for player freedom and replay value, but short length) ---Review--- Though Dishonored does possess an interesting and mostly original setting, it is
    ---Rating---
    Design: 3 /5 (the mechanics imitate many other games', the narrative is very predictable)
    Polish: 4 /5 (decent graphics and good ambiance in an interesting- if often dreary- setting)
    Value: 3 /5 (some limited attempts for player freedom and replay value, but short length)

    ---Review---
    Though Dishonored does possess an interesting and mostly original setting, it is extremely derivative in other respects, with its gameplay closely mimicking that of Thief, Bioshock, and Assassin's Creed. The nonlinear level design is one saving grace, but this is largely counteracted by Dishonored's linear narrative and progression between levels. It seems like the developers may have run out of ideas to keep the gameplay interesting halfway through, which may have something to do with its rather short length. The graphics are a bit suspect at times, and most of the NPCs aren't very convincing, which makes an already predictable plot twist even more obvious. Fans of action-stealth games will likely enjoy Dishonored, but it's not very innovative and the overall quality of experience reflects that.
    Expand
  39. Dec 7, 2013
    5
    Cons
    -Brutal graphics
    -poor third person shooter
    -overly challenging gameplay
    -stupid AI (overly reactive or not reactive enough)
    -too much combat content which at times is overwhelming
    -open world is not open.

    Pros
    - It only cost seven dollars
    -I enjoy stealth based games
    -suspenseful and overall interesting story
  40. Oct 12, 2014
    7
    Nice graphics. Very interesting design. Okay story line. Confusing gaming elements. Not much fun to play. It was a good attempt at making an interesting video game. However, the pacing is off putting and there are ways to fail in which you cannot go back. You have to make use of the saves, which is not something I wish to do.
  41. Mar 16, 2014
    7
    Good game with a great art style but nothing to really make this game stands out. Textures loading is extremely slow and this can be really annoying at some points.
  42. Jul 1, 2014
    6
    A moneycow, It's an "in-between-games" for Bethesda. There are so many cheaptricks in this game from re-using textures excessivly, movements in 3d UI, (and what you actually are able to do with your controller) to storyline and interaction-diversity from both objects to characters. What's good is that they used the AI well. But I might think Arkane Studios F*cked this game up. Even withA moneycow, It's an "in-between-games" for Bethesda. There are so many cheaptricks in this game from re-using textures excessivly, movements in 3d UI, (and what you actually are able to do with your controller) to storyline and interaction-diversity from both objects to characters. What's good is that they used the AI well. But I might think Arkane Studios F*cked this game up. Even with the good reviews, there is no way Bethesda is happy about this title. Expand
  43. Aug 21, 2014
    7
    I think of this game as a combination of lots of game so its basicly, Bioshock + Skyrim + Assassins creed = Dishonored but it doesn't make it the perfect game it was a short story with 10 missions (Not counting DLC) But I just didn't get that much gameplay out of it. I give it 7/10 it had good voice acting and good characters but not as good as some of my favorites.
  44. Sep 11, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm going to be honest, based on the reviews on this site, I was expecting such an over hyped game, but now that I've played it, here are my final thoughts about this game, It was good. The game wasn't ass good as I initially thought it would be, because the begging was kinda clunky, but after the 2nd mission, things REALLY started to pick up. The weapons can be VERY useful, the most useful that I used was the Sleep Dart for taking out important enemies like Sokolov and escorting them back to the boat. The difficulty was not that bad, but the Long Daddy's are VERY difficult to get around, especially in the final chapter. And the final chapter was a nice twist, you can choose to either clash swords against your "friend" or just shoot him. As well as choosing either to shoot Samuel before he betrays you, let him signal the enemies for them, or shoot him with a sleep dart and lay him to sleep. This game isn't perfect, some of the puzzle's suck, some of the puzzle's are easier than you'd expect, when you obtain the mask people still think you're wanted, Windblast is nearly useless, and the game suffers from Glitches. So this game does have it's faults, but I think you should shell out some dollars if you want to try out your first First Person Shooter.
    Engine: B-
    Difficulty: A-
    Gameplay: B+
    Final Grade: B

    -TheTrueReviews
    Expand
  45. Jun 23, 2015
    6
    **** game can not **** stand it. graphics are **** environments are **** it is painted with****.
    horesecocks **** arsegargler game for **** i can not stomack it
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    90
    Precise and elegant systemic design engenders an absurd degree of player agency, but is marred somewhat by a sloppy, unconvincing narrative and soulless characters. [Dec 2012]
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    What is there is so compelling that the lack of additional stages can't help but feel like a disappointment. The game's strengths are a double-edged sword. Regardless, this is still one of the best games of this year. With a bit of work, a potential sequel could be one of the best games of any year.
  3. Dishonored is never able complete that transformation from a game into a totally new and exciting world to inhabit. To be sure, our mostly positive rating reflects that this game is well-structured with all the pieces you'd expect and story flexibility will offer up a unique adventure for every player. It's a promising and mostly enjoyable start to what will perhaps be an ongoing series, but it lacks the emotional punch that could make it great.