Dishonored Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 824 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 88 out of 824
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Dishonored is a thinking man's game, period. Each level in Dishonored gives you a sandbox to toy around in and lets the player run wild with their imagination as to how they will get through each situation. Gone are the overly scripted scenarios you're used to in games that funnel you down a certain path that the designers carved out for you. Dishonored is a game that asks the player toDishonored is a thinking man's game, period. Each level in Dishonored gives you a sandbox to toy around in and lets the player run wild with their imagination as to how they will get through each situation. Gone are the overly scripted scenarios you're used to in games that funnel you down a certain path that the designers carved out for you. Dishonored is a game that asks the player to think, to use their noggin, to overcome the obstacles, and while you have many tools at your disposal, it's your choice to decide how you use them and how you make your way through each environment. Do you prefer to kill every enemy in your path with weapons? Do you prefer to take them out through silent means? Or, another possibility and the most gratifying of all, is to make your way through the game without killing a single enemy. Everything's up to you, which is the true beauty of Dishonored. Dishonored's a true "water cooler" game where no two people will play the same and it's fun to talk to others and see how they played through the game. It's a deep game that only asks the player to think for once. Sometimes thinking for yourself can be fun.

    Dishonored's art direction is beyond amazing. It's important to note that one of the minds behind the art is Viktor Antonov, who was also the mind behind Half Life 2's City 17. Harvey Smith, Co-creative Director at Arkane Studios, has said that they went for a "water color" look with the game's graphics, which is an apt description. While you won't be blown away by the textures or anything, it's still one of the most beautiful games out there because of its unique aesthetic.

    Dishonored is one of those games we rarely see in this day and age. Harvey Smith, known for his work on Deus Ex and Thief, brings his experience from past games to make a new intellectual property that carries the same gameplay principals but puts it in a new and interesting world. This is a game that deserves to be supported. It's a rare and unique experience that no one should miss out on.
    Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    1
    Im going to be painfully honest here this game is just Meh,it is absolutely nothing special;If it were released any other part of the year it would have been insulted and ignored like the painful mass of mediocrity it is.But sadly it was released in a gaming drought so all the short sided kiddies swarm it and praise it like crazy when there's truly no redeeming factors about the generic mess.
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Game of the year! The story of the game is simple but good.The art style graphics are great and the gameplay is the most fun ive ever had playing a 1st person game. The AI is awesome especially for a game that is action or stealth. The sound in the game is top notch. Dishonored lets you decide on how you want to play from killing someone in a fun and creative way to the stealth approach,Game of the year! The story of the game is simple but good.The art style graphics are great and the gameplay is the most fun ive ever had playing a 1st person game. The AI is awesome especially for a game that is action or stealth. The sound in the game is top notch. Dishonored lets you decide on how you want to play from killing someone in a fun and creative way to the stealth approach, its your choice! This is its own game and not like any other, its Dishonored and a must buy! Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2012
    2
    This game was so hyped. I was hyped for it too. It was an epic fail. The story was horrible. The character you play never speaks in the cut scenes. You never see his face. I could not get connected with the character or the story. The controls were decent but graphics were sub par. Just a game I was really hoping to like but towards the end of the game, I just wanted to beat it and moveThis game was so hyped. I was hyped for it too. It was an epic fail. The story was horrible. The character you play never speaks in the cut scenes. You never see his face. I could not get connected with the character or the story. The controls were decent but graphics were sub par. Just a game I was really hoping to like but towards the end of the game, I just wanted to beat it and move on. Wait for it to hit the bargain bin then give it a go. Expand
  5. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    An amazing game!
    The city of Dunwall and is beautifully crafted and feels so alive. (Well, aside from the plague victims, that is)
    But like I said, the setting is interesting, and the game itself is a lot of fun to play. The various ways to get to and kill (or not kill) a target are fun to play out. And although the story is a bit of a cliché with the whole "Get revenge and
    An amazing game!
    The city of Dunwall and is beautifully crafted and feels so alive. (Well, aside from the plague victims, that is)
    But like I said, the setting is interesting, and the game itself is a lot of fun to play. The various ways to get to and kill (or not kill) a target are fun to play out. And although the story is a bit of a cliché with the whole "Get revenge and everything will fix itself." it still kept me interested.

    And the reason I didn't give this game a 10?
    Well, it's for petty and small reasons for the most part. I mean, the game felt...short. I would have loved to explore more of Dunwall and meet or have more targets to hunt after. I also would've loved to know more about the city and its people, and not just through books. And honestly the "character" I liked the most was the Heart that told you about the city, I didn't feel all that connected to anyone else.

    And finally, the lights.
    Why couldn't you destroy them? Or at least pull a switch or destroy a whale oil tank to make them go out.
    It is a small thing, I know. But I kind feel that something like that belongs in a stealth game.
    Expand
  6. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    It is an innovative game like few others, with gameplay away from the archetypes of FPS ever. It also has a variety of missions to solve, a graphic section is excellent and a very fun game that is really important. We can say that this game deserves to be ahead of RE6 in sales, and I hope so, because the differences in quality between a title and another is evident.
  7. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    One of my favorite games of the year. Other than what has already been said the game allows you to choose your upgrades to fit your playing style first and become stronger second. Not at any moment do you feel underpowered if you decide to take one path over another. The approach to how you complete missions is also a huge plus with stealth, guns blazing or anything in between available toOne of my favorite games of the year. Other than what has already been said the game allows you to choose your upgrades to fit your playing style first and become stronger second. Not at any moment do you feel underpowered if you decide to take one path over another. The approach to how you complete missions is also a huge plus with stealth, guns blazing or anything in between available to you at any moment. I look foward to going back to each level and trying different approaches to see how the missions play out. Expand
  8. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Amazing game! I had high hopes for this title Pre-Launch and it lived up to it for me. Which very few games do these days. A beautiful World with great characters that were wonderfully voice acted. Top that with great game play mechanics that took inspiration from some wonderful predecessors, all brought to you with original art style and solid controls. I hope this game inspires moreAmazing game! I had high hopes for this title Pre-Launch and it lived up to it for me. Which very few games do these days. A beautiful World with great characters that were wonderfully voice acted. Top that with great game play mechanics that took inspiration from some wonderful predecessors, all brought to you with original art style and solid controls. I hope this game inspires more companies to take a risk on more new IP's instead of spoon feeding us sequels each year. Expand
  9. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    Short, but Sweet. This game is well written with an intriguing game world filled with interesting characters. However the gameplay is where this game shines. Very open ended either power&shooting everyone or sneaking by and knocking out guards in your way. Even after beating the game I went back to other missions compelled to complete them differently to get different outcomes. EveryoneShort, but Sweet. This game is well written with an intriguing game world filled with interesting characters. However the gameplay is where this game shines. Very open ended either power&shooting everyone or sneaking by and knocking out guards in your way. Even after beating the game I went back to other missions compelled to complete them differently to get different outcomes. Everyone should play this game Expand
  10. Oct 28, 2012
    3
    5 reasons why Dishonored fails to meet expectations: 1. Bait & Switch; In the initial launch trailer, Corvo Attena (sic) is revealed as fallen icon of a dis-topian alt. universe who is granted supernatural powers by a mysterious zealot with a personal vendetta to those in power. The entire tone of this trailer suggests that Corvo is some sort of agent of darkness, beyond any rule of law.5 reasons why Dishonored fails to meet expectations: 1. Bait & Switch; In the initial launch trailer, Corvo Attena (sic) is revealed as fallen icon of a dis-topian alt. universe who is granted supernatural powers by a mysterious zealot with a personal vendetta to those in power. The entire tone of this trailer suggests that Corvo is some sort of agent of darkness, beyond any rule of law. This brings with it the idea that although you may be part of the whale-infused non-Victorian world you inhabit, the character has his own motivations for killing these people; a grander purpose severing a darker master. Not only is Corvo a silent character, but also not the supernatural wraith we thought. His motivations are driven by in-fighting generals and politicians who stop the game's progression after every mission to 'request' another takedown of some dubious individual. And the mysterious figure whom you are supposed to be servings is display in a series of hallucinations and dream sequences which are completely separate from the games main narrative. 2. The skill trampoline; Within most Expand
  11. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    Great game, great story, but, is short, and the graphics are not the best, you could finish the game in one day, however, if you like games in first person, you should play it
  12. Oct 31, 2012
    7
    A creative IP that is deserving of the critics positive reviews. A high level of creativity, semi-open world, and good mix of powers provide for a unique experience that players can tailor to their play style. The negatives from a high-level perspective are unpolished character models and environment textures. Another negative for some will be the large amount of text required to read ifA creative IP that is deserving of the critics positive reviews. A high level of creativity, semi-open world, and good mix of powers provide for a unique experience that players can tailor to their play style. The negatives from a high-level perspective are unpolished character models and environment textures. Another negative for some will be the large amount of text required to read if you want to gain a better understanding of the game world. Outside of the game itself I feel this game will ultimately suffer from a less than strategic release date. Today Expand
  13. Oct 31, 2012
    4
    I agree with a previous post that this game is well in the Meh range. If you want a better game that pulls off what this wants to do go buy Deus Ex on the 360 and give it a chance (though old PC original was still best). Dishonored tries too hard to be unique (similar to LA Noire) and falls well short. I finished it and immediately removed it from my HD as replayability odds are zilch.
  14. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    Dishonored, is this years best game. And this years underdog. That being, because quite possibly this game is amazing, but was released at the wrong time making it one of those "niche" games that get buried under the wrong due to the bigger budget AAA games. That being said, that doesn't mean this game doesn't have its own style that makes it a standout among the played out AAA sequels,Dishonored, is this years best game. And this years underdog. That being, because quite possibly this game is amazing, but was released at the wrong time making it one of those "niche" games that get buried under the wrong due to the bigger budget AAA games. That being said, that doesn't mean this game doesn't have its own style that makes it a standout among the played out AAA sequels, and rehashes. No, instead Dishonored is one of the best story-games I have played. A stealth game, or a bloddy mashup of being an Assassin. The game does right with it's free-world that you can walk around while being pushed through a linear area to complete a mission. Each level, doesn't feel like a level, but instead a highly-polished area that acts a sandbox. Take path, a,b,c, or make your own path. This game is extraordinary not only in the Steam Punk thematic style, but the overall mechanics of this game flow really well together. The gameplay may feel a little rigid at times, but that is compensated for with the games ability to allow you complete freedom of controlling the way you kill enemies, and solve things. If killing isn't your thing, then you don't have to. The storyline aspect of the game, may feel a little strung together, but overtime it grows on you and makes total sense. It's one hell of a game, with plenty of replay ability. Take it from me, buy this game! Expand
  15. Nov 3, 2012
    2
    Ah my first review.

    The Negative; I have to say after all the hype i expected Dishonored to be a far better game. My first major complaint is the playtime, its too short many websites say that if you think it's short you aren't playing it right however a game shouldn't force you too play it in a certain way to make it last. The Positive; I Enjoyed the story however there are ways it
    Ah my first review.

    The Negative; I have to say after all the hype i expected Dishonored to be a far better game. My first major complaint is the playtime, its too short many websites say that if you think it's short you aren't playing it right however a game shouldn't force you too play it in a certain way to make it last. The Positive; I Enjoyed the story however there are ways it could've been improved as the last few missions felt rushed. The graphics are also one of the games best features.

    In all not the best game especially after all the hype
    Expand
  16. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    • Dishonored is a game where you sneak around a semi-open world trying to take out a given person using either a weapons, traps, magic or conversation.
    • Level design runs a gambit from wide open areas to tight corridors. The open areas are well set out and promote exploration and discovery which makes the tight corridors feel worse as you remember the great open areas that came
    • Dishonored is a game where you sneak around a semi-open world trying to take out a given person using either a weapons, traps, magic or conversation.
    • Level design runs a gambit from wide open areas to tight corridors. The open areas are well set out and promote exploration and discovery which makes the tight corridors feel worse as you remember the great open areas that came before it.
    • Stealth is handled slightly differently from most games and involves primarily line of site with shadows playing almost no part in the mechanic. This takes some getting used to at first however makes sense and ends up working well. A tip for protagonists: If you are trying to sneak around: do not walk around with a scary mask!
    • Although the game allows you to either take either the lethal (kill everyone) path or the non-lethal (put people to sleep) path, the game clearly tells you that killing people is the wrong choice. Killing people makes the ending "worse" and takes rewards away from you. Taking the fast and aggressive path also bypasses all the interesting parts of the game and should be considered something extra to do rather than a legitimate way to play through the game (at least the first time).
    Expand
  17. Nov 5, 2012
    7
    So close, just so damn close. At first I feel like this game does everything right. It has some of the smartest AI I have seen, some very intriguing and well made characters, a story that at first seems cliched but later reveals some mind catching points, a setting that awakens the deepest parts of my mind to simply go "wow" and gameplay that made me not want to stop playing. But as I playSo close, just so damn close. At first I feel like this game does everything right. It has some of the smartest AI I have seen, some very intriguing and well made characters, a story that at first seems cliched but later reveals some mind catching points, a setting that awakens the deepest parts of my mind to simply go "wow" and gameplay that made me not want to stop playing. But as I play I noticed for every amazing point this game had, something was left to be desired.

    I'll admit right now, Playing this ganme the first time was extremely fun, but a lot of that was taken away by the Chaos system. While I believe it is an improvement on the now overused morality system we see in many multiple path games, the chaos system took a lot of fun out of my subsequent playthroughs. It is annoying trying to be stealthy or not killing people, especially when it truly is a lot more fun to try out your gadgets (most which cause some awesome looking deaths) and powers than to try to hide in a corner until no guard is looking (which in some cases took long minutes of just standing, walking, and teleporting until nobody could see), this made the game very dull in trying to lower my chaos rating and getting more achievements. However, there is a more rewarding and "good guy" sense in completing a chapter without killing anyone (although by then I'm bored of playing the game and switch to something that makes me think beyond where I can hide so I can choke somebody without being seen).

    In terms of character and story, at first you will think it to be great, but grows cliched very quickly. I will not go into details as to avoid spoiling anything, but one does not buy this game for the story, especially at a short length of 5 to 6 hours per full playthrough (FYI, the real money's worth comes in the achievements, not in the story or the characters, but in the replay value). One thing that does slightly disappoint me is the lack of a new game plus equivalent, which i feel would have made new runthroughs more fun rather than playing from scratch each time and having to recollect collectables rather than just focusing on new achievements.

    The grahics are not ground breaking, but are enjoyable and add to the athmosphere and setting of the game, which is the one thing that will leave you breathless. This world is a world that certainly would host the "perfect game" *fingers crossed for future* and makes you go "wow" as you explore it and see it's technology.

    Aside from Chaos system, the gameplay will also have you smiling greatly, as it has a great combat system with rapidly responding AI that make u think rather than just spamming a button to attack. And the ways to kill the guards become fun as the game advances, with abilities to even turn their weapons on them. (of course, this all still increases your chaos rating)

    I highly recommend this game if you don't mind heavy repetition and short stories, because boy it's short. But fair warning again, the real "money's worth" (aka $60) comes from how many times you're willing to replay and be patient in order to get all the achievements.
    Expand
  18. Dec 4, 2012
    5
    Dishonoured has a strong start and a great art direction, but I felt as the game progressed it began to wear thin. Later areas of the game feel rushed, and lack the same level of detail and emphasis on player choice as shown in earlier levels.
  19. Nov 6, 2012
    7
    Overall, I enjoyed this game very much. The graphics are nothing to write home about, however its still a lovely looking game. The gameplay is fun and fairly unique. Trying to do a mission the stealth way can be frustrating at times and left me (more often than not) just slaying everyone in my path. But its the stealth challenge that gives it at least a little bit of replay value. OverallOverall, I enjoyed this game very much. The graphics are nothing to write home about, however its still a lovely looking game. The gameplay is fun and fairly unique. Trying to do a mission the stealth way can be frustrating at times and left me (more often than not) just slaying everyone in my path. But its the stealth challenge that gives it at least a little bit of replay value. Overall I enjoyed the gameplay as well as the story, but in the long run, the replay value just isn't there for me. Solid game though and worth a purchase if you enjoy a good story driven game. Expand
  20. Nov 11, 2012
    5
    This game seemed to have everything going for it. Great setting, characters, story, game-play elements, etc. Then I played it. This game is SO short and had absolutely no replay value to me. The alternate story options (killing a target/letting them live) were no where near interesting enough for me to replay the game to find out what would have happened had I not killed/let my targetThis game seemed to have everything going for it. Great setting, characters, story, game-play elements, etc. Then I played it. This game is SO short and had absolutely no replay value to me. The alternate story options (killing a target/letting them live) were no where near interesting enough for me to replay the game to find out what would have happened had I not killed/let my target live. Usually a game like this I would replay just to experiment with the powers however, in one play through I managed to get enough runes to have all the powers I wanted. Most of them aren't very interesting, or useful. All you need is Blink and that is given to you fairly early into the story. Once I had completed the game I felt like I played a beta version. Short and unfinished. Expand
  21. Dec 21, 2012
    7
    Well, here is the just of it. The game had something to do with Bethesda but, it did not deliver like a game completely created by them. I expected an open world experience and honestly that is what the game should have been. There is just not much reason to play it more than once and even then, the story really didn't make me care about death of the empress or my imprisonment. That beingWell, here is the just of it. The game had something to do with Bethesda but, it did not deliver like a game completely created by them. I expected an open world experience and honestly that is what the game should have been. There is just not much reason to play it more than once and even then, the story really didn't make me care about death of the empress or my imprisonment. That being said, it is not a bad game. I just would not pay full price for it. To be so linear in today's marketplace in gaming is absurd to say the least. Expand
  22. Dec 4, 2012
    6
    I was to be honest disappointed with this game. I was expecting to keep me interested while attempting to sneak through the game. However i got bored and just ran through the game towards the end because i simply wanted to finish the game.
  23. Feb 3, 2013
    8
    Pros- Good story, great atmosphere, enemy A.I. is spot on, the powers are useful, the combat is decent, Dunwall is an interesting place, and last but not least it looks and sounds pretty good.
    But Corvo is a pretty stale character, the stealth mechanic is broken. Sometimes I walk right in front of a guard and he does not notice me and other times I am perfectly hidden and get rushed from
    Pros- Good story, great atmosphere, enemy A.I. is spot on, the powers are useful, the combat is decent, Dunwall is an interesting place, and last but not least it looks and sounds pretty good.
    But Corvo is a pretty stale character, the stealth mechanic is broken. Sometimes I walk right in front of a guard and he does not notice me and other times I am perfectly hidden and get rushed from nowhere. Game is also on the short side if you follow the main story arch not explore every nook in the universe they have built.
    The combat kept me coming back. It was a blast figuring out to ways of dealing with guards. This is a game like Assassins Creed and Metro 2033. The game is really good but a little flawed but it got me excited enough to see the sequel when it comes out.
    Expand
  24. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    This is a game that was hyped up, and for good reason. It has unique graphical style, a cool blend of stealth and action, and even a moral choice system. Want to speed through a zone slaughtering and pillaging everything in sight? You can do that. Or would you rather take a more stealthy or nonlethal approach, using tranquilizers and knocking enemies unconscious? You can do that too. ThisThis is a game that was hyped up, and for good reason. It has unique graphical style, a cool blend of stealth and action, and even a moral choice system. Want to speed through a zone slaughtering and pillaging everything in sight? You can do that. Or would you rather take a more stealthy or nonlethal approach, using tranquilizers and knocking enemies unconscious? You can do that too. This game is a true 10 out of 10, with the highest marks in all categories. If there was one small gripe I had with this game, it's that it was too short, maybe a bit too linear, with not many of the promised sandbox elements. Those are minor gripes, though. If you haven't played this game yet, you should buy it. It's a great addition to anyone's game library. Expand
  25. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Playing this game feels great. The textures and colors are uncommon yet very good looking and the atmosphere is just as good. The sanbox gamepleay may not be the best but it's satisfying to see such a open and variate options through the game It was really good
  26. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    Dishonored is an incredible game. The stealth/action fusion, mixed with steampunk technology, is irresistible. It is a huge game, and even after beating it, I went and started again so that I could go through the game in a different way. A true masterpiece.
  27. Dec 11, 2014
    8
    This is one of Bethesda's lesser known releases, but should not be missed. While it does not have the large open worlds that titles like Skyrim and Fallout and is more linear, it still offers a decent sized world to explore and decisions to make. The story and environment are very interesting and enjoyable, though some of the characters lack substance and are easily forgettable. TheThis is one of Bethesda's lesser known releases, but should not be missed. While it does not have the large open worlds that titles like Skyrim and Fallout and is more linear, it still offers a decent sized world to explore and decisions to make. The story and environment are very interesting and enjoyable, though some of the characters lack substance and are easily forgettable. The mechanics of the game are unique and once you get the hang of them become very fun with a wide range of options ranging from stealth to full out assault. Expand
  28. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dishonored is a Game of the Year candidate for a reason. Its amazing great graphics excellent storyline and it has multiple outcomes depending your course of action Expand
  29. Dec 14, 2012
    6
    For me this game was a huge disappointment from what I was expecting. Backgrounds and scenery are very pretty and lovingly detailed, but also a bit lifeless, like looking at a still picture. While I get the cartoony look to the main characters was intentional, it just did not appeal to me in the least. Aside from the intro, you (as a player) never really feel connected to Corvo since theFor me this game was a huge disappointment from what I was expecting. Backgrounds and scenery are very pretty and lovingly detailed, but also a bit lifeless, like looking at a still picture. While I get the cartoony look to the main characters was intentional, it just did not appeal to me in the least. Aside from the intro, you (as a player) never really feel connected to Corvo since the narrative/perspective makes you feel like its happening to you and not Corvo. The Corvo persona seems to just vanish for a majority of the game. While the side characters are nice and fun, you really aren't given enough time with them to develop any kind of bond or make a lasting impression (aside from Admiral Havelock & Lady Emily.) While the levels are "theoretically" open to exploration, the game still feel like it follows a linear path. Combat is OK but, has been done far better in other similar games. The stealth aspects work well, but I found the stealth route to be rather boring and unchallenging. Plus, the games overall gameplay feels far too much like that of Deuas Ex: Human Revolution. This kind of took away any real sense of originality. Overall: A good idea that could have used a bit more focus on delivery and execution. I believe people who are new to gaming or have not played this kind of game before are likely to enjoy it more. Gaming vets will only be slightly amused Expand
  30. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    It is very refreshing to play this game. At its heart, it is a familiar FPS, but its unique setting and art style turn it into something quite special. The effort hasn't gone into trying to innovate graphics or multiplayer modes, it's gone into making an amazing universe which is a delight to play. It's a breath of fresh air into a very stale genre.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Hyper Magazine
    Nov 14, 2012
    90
    Precise and elegant systemic design engenders an absurd degree of player agency, but is marred somewhat by a sloppy, unconvincing narrative and soulless characters. [Dec 2012]
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    What is there is so compelling that the lack of additional stages can't help but feel like a disappointment. The game's strengths are a double-edged sword. Regardless, this is still one of the best games of this year. With a bit of work, a potential sequel could be one of the best games of any year.
  3. Dishonored is never able complete that transformation from a game into a totally new and exciting world to inhabit. To be sure, our mostly positive rating reflects that this game is well-structured with all the pieces you'd expect and story flexibility will offer up a unique adventure for every player. It's a promising and mostly enjoyable start to what will perhaps be an ongoing series, but it lacks the emotional punch that could make it great.