Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 752 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dishonored is a tactile first-person action game that thrusts you into the role of a supernatural assassin driven by a thirst for revenge. With Dishonored’s flexible combat system, creatively eliminate your targets as you bring together the supernatural abilities, weapons and unusual gadgetsDishonored is a tactile first-person action game that thrusts you into the role of a supernatural assassin driven by a thirst for revenge. With Dishonored’s flexible combat system, creatively eliminate your targets as you bring together the supernatural abilities, weapons and unusual gadgets at your disposal. Hunt down your enemies under the cover of darkness or viciously attack them head on with weapons drawn. The results of each mission are a result of the choices you make. Win or lose, you must choose. Ozzy. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Oct 15, 2012
    100
    Dishonored is put together so well and executes its ideas in such an expert way that it would be difficult to not recommend the game to the highest degree possible.
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    95
    So does Dishonored stand up on its own two feet? It most certainly does! On the surface it is easy to compare previous games we have loved, and it is easy to see similarities in style and gameplay, but these are elements that have clearly been learned, honed and enhanced to make Dishonored a title that lives high up in the rooftops of being one of my favorite games of 2012 so far.
  3. Oct 7, 2012
    92
    It's also one of the prettiest games of recent years. The art direction is nothing short of incredible, and it's matched with a visual aesthetic that makes the world look like an oil painting in motion.
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    90
    It's the big intellectual property that comes to retail and shows up the competition by being bold, original, and -- more importantly -- brilliant. Easily deserving of its place among the BioShocks and the Borderlandses, Arkane's aggressive, non-aggressive, unsubtle, sneaky, thoroughly versatile tale of intrigue makes for the kind of game that reminds us this generation isn't all straightforward shooters and "me too" trend-seekers.
  5. Oct 8, 2012
    90
    Innovation in video games is coveted by many but rarely achieved-Dishonored has this in spades. It may not be perfect, but what Arkane Studios accomplishes is astounding for a debut of an original IP. Its memorable characters, striking game world, and incredible seamlessness between combat, stealth, and magic set a new standard for the action genre. Dishonored is unquestionably Game of the Year material.
  6. Oct 24, 2012
    85
    Dishonored could well have been the fourth installment of the Thief series, but there are also traces of BioShock and Half-Life 2 here and there. If you compare it to these paragons it's a bit disappointing, but it still shines among this year's games. [12/2012, p.60]
  7. Oct 7, 2012
    70
    After my first playthrough (which took around 6 hours), I felt a bit underwhelmed. As in I literally thought to myself - that was it? But then after going through a few more times, I realized how fun taking different paths could be.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 220
  1. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    Probably the best game I played in 2012, I love how the game uses its art style and the story telling is amazingly well done, the game is veryProbably the best game I played in 2012, I love how the game uses its art style and the story telling is amazingly well done, the game is very immersive and overall a great game.

    Only problem is the game is quite short, it has multiple endings but you want more after.
    Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dishonored is a Game of the Year candidate for a reason. Its amazing great graphics excellent storyline and it has multiple outcomes depending your course of action Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing game; the best in years. Signed up to Metacritic just to say that.
  4. Feb 18, 2013
    9
    Starting to play this game at the start I knew this was gonna be a good enough game, but when you escape the prison you will fall in love withStarting to play this game at the start I knew this was gonna be a good enough game, but when you escape the prison you will fall in love with this game. You play as Corvo who is the bodyguard of the Empress who gets murdered by assasins. After been acused for killing the Empress you go to prison and the games story just more interesting. Another thing I love about this game is that is ho you choice of taking out your foes like killing everyone you see with the power of spawning rats to devour your foes or not kill a single soul (I did I it of sneak killing but mainely not killing anyone) and it all affects the ending. Only flaw is stealth is a little messed up and needs bit of fixes. But overall Dishonored is the Bioshock and Assassins Creed met and make this and hope for some type of sequel. Dishonored 9.2/10 Expand
  5. Nov 29, 2014
    8
    A very interesting and unique stealth game. You play as the assassin Corvo Attano, who witnesses the murder of the royal empress kaldwin andA very interesting and unique stealth game. You play as the assassin Corvo Attano, who witnesses the murder of the royal empress kaldwin and is blamed for it, hence "dishonored". The world of Dunwall where the game takes place is a corrupt dystopian world with plaques, tyrannical leaders, and of course conspiracies. It doesn't say when it takes place, but it has a Victorian steampunk hybrid look to it and it is awesome. Corvo escapes from the prison he was held in and joins some revolutionary movement that wants to take take down the corrupt leader and put empresses daughter Emily Kaldwin on the throne. Most of the characters are very boring and don't show any emotion at all, except for Emily of course. Every time your told to go assassinate some bad guy, sure you may know why, but the bad guy doesn't ever come off as truly evil so there doesn't feel like any true motivation to kill. I wish there where more cool villains in games these days like Vaas and Handsome Jack. There is a plot twist towards the end, you can see it from a mile away. While the story has some problems, the most important part of any game got the most love here, which is the gameplay. The game takes place over 9 different missions, and each one is a mini sandbox. They are fully explorable with no invisible walls that I could find and the only thing stopping you being the laws of physics. You are tasked with different objectives within each level, and there all very diverse. There's tons of different ways to approach these objectives which gives the game a lot of replay value. You can run in and stab and shoot every guy, or freeze time and just walk through, or set spike traps in specific places for enemies to walk into, or teleport all over the place to sneak around them, there is so much diversity. How much fun you'll have depends on how creative you are. And I like that the alternate endings and the way the story plays out depends on your actions in the gameplay itself rather than just pressing one button or another in a cutscenes like in other games. At the end of each mission you are ranked with either low of high chaos. If you set off alarms and stab every throat you see, you get high chaos, but play it stealthy and spare enough lives and keep it quiet, you will get low chaos. I mostly played stealthy but every once in a while got in a bloody sword fight because stealth was too tricky, but still got low chaos overall. No matter which way you play, the game will still challenge you. Big sword fights are frantic and tough, but sneaking around is also nerve wracking and can be broken with one little slip. At times the game can be a bit frustrating. A lot of times I would be trying to be stealthy and guys would come running after me and I had no way of knowing how I got caught. But god the most part it's a legitimate challenge, unlike most games these days. I didn't come across any glitches in my playthrough, and the graphics are very unique. Some people say this game has ugly graphics, we'll duh it's not trying to look photorealistic. It has a unique art style that goes with the steampunk world. The game also has great sound design, the weapons and magical powers have cool sound effects when you use them. The city itself has these sound of steam machines and metal clanking and buzzing sounds that really give it that industrial feel and it sounds awesome. I really wish there was there was more interesting enemies to fight. Most of the time you'll just be confronted with boring guards, but there are also infected zombie like people and other assassins who can teleport. The only stand out enemy is the stilt walkers as they are big scary and challenging to get around. If they see you prepare for a pain of a fight. If you like stealth games, then this is certainly a must have for it's stellar gameplay, after all that's the most important part. It's something unique, refreshing, and original and I would love to see a sequel and this being turned into a franchise. There's a lot more I want to learn about this unique world. Just don't have high expectations for the plot, I do hope they make a better plot if there is a sequel. Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2012
    7
    I was expecting something resembling the original Deus Ex or the Thief games: Large sprawling levels and a long playthrough. I got 9 missionsI was expecting something resembling the original Deus Ex or the Thief games: Large sprawling levels and a long playthrough. I got 9 missions with a few sidemissions and levels that look open but all the routes go the same way. It gets progressively linear as times goes on. The best mission I have to say was the Boyle Party mission. It's a lot like Human Revolution, as it sort of resembles the open Action RPGs of the past, but has the disgusting dumbed down casualized gloss that all multiplatform releases must have these days. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Overhyped and overrated, this game is not near as good as I expected. A number of issues include a weak story, repetitive gameplay, abysmalOverhyped and overrated, this game is not near as good as I expected. A number of issues include a weak story, repetitive gameplay, abysmal graphics, and rushed stages. Expand

See all 220 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.