Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 747 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dishonored is a tactile first-person action game that thrusts you into the role of a supernatural assassin driven by a thirst for revenge. With Dishonored’s flexible combat system, creatively eliminate your targets as you bring together the supernatural abilities, weapons and unusual gadgetsDishonored is a tactile first-person action game that thrusts you into the role of a supernatural assassin driven by a thirst for revenge. With Dishonored’s flexible combat system, creatively eliminate your targets as you bring together the supernatural abilities, weapons and unusual gadgets at your disposal. Hunt down your enemies under the cover of darkness or viciously attack them head on with weapons drawn. The results of each mission are a result of the choices you make. Win or lose, you must choose. Ozzy. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Oct 15, 2012
    100
    Dishonored is put together so well and executes its ideas in such an expert way that it would be difficult to not recommend the game to the highest degree possible.
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    95
    So does Dishonored stand up on its own two feet? It most certainly does! On the surface it is easy to compare previous games we have loved, and it is easy to see similarities in style and gameplay, but these are elements that have clearly been learned, honed and enhanced to make Dishonored a title that lives high up in the rooftops of being one of my favorite games of 2012 so far.
  3. Oct 7, 2012
    92
    It's also one of the prettiest games of recent years. The art direction is nothing short of incredible, and it's matched with a visual aesthetic that makes the world look like an oil painting in motion.
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    90
    It's the big intellectual property that comes to retail and shows up the competition by being bold, original, and -- more importantly -- brilliant. Easily deserving of its place among the BioShocks and the Borderlandses, Arkane's aggressive, non-aggressive, unsubtle, sneaky, thoroughly versatile tale of intrigue makes for the kind of game that reminds us this generation isn't all straightforward shooters and "me too" trend-seekers.
  5. Oct 8, 2012
    90
    Innovation in video games is coveted by many but rarely achieved-Dishonored has this in spades. It may not be perfect, but what Arkane Studios accomplishes is astounding for a debut of an original IP. Its memorable characters, striking game world, and incredible seamlessness between combat, stealth, and magic set a new standard for the action genre. Dishonored is unquestionably Game of the Year material.
  6. Oct 24, 2012
    85
    Dishonored could well have been the fourth installment of the Thief series, but there are also traces of BioShock and Half-Life 2 here and there. If you compare it to these paragons it's a bit disappointing, but it still shines among this year's games. [12/2012, p.60]
  7. Oct 7, 2012
    70
    After my first playthrough (which took around 6 hours), I felt a bit underwhelmed. As in I literally thought to myself - that was it? But then after going through a few more times, I realized how fun taking different paths could be.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 220
  1. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    Probably the best game I played in 2012, I love how the game uses its art style and the story telling is amazingly well done, the game is veryProbably the best game I played in 2012, I love how the game uses its art style and the story telling is amazingly well done, the game is very immersive and overall a great game.

    Only problem is the game is quite short, it has multiple endings but you want more after.
    Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    This is the game we all wanted an unique game with great art style graphic great AI and the best of all unique gameplay you can play like youThis is the game we all wanted an unique game with great art style graphic great AI and the best of all unique gameplay you can play like you want if you want sneaky you can you want action/FPS you can and thats why this game rules and probably win some game of the year award becaouse like CVG said its the best game in this generation.A perfect 10 from me. P.S Sorry for bad english im in a hurry Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing game; the best in years. Signed up to Metacritic just to say that.
  4. Feb 18, 2013
    9
    Starting to play this game at the start I knew this was gonna be a good enough game, but when you escape the prison you will fall in love withStarting to play this game at the start I knew this was gonna be a good enough game, but when you escape the prison you will fall in love with this game. You play as Corvo who is the bodyguard of the Empress who gets murdered by assasins. After been acused for killing the Empress you go to prison and the games story just more interesting. Another thing I love about this game is that is ho you choice of taking out your foes like killing everyone you see with the power of spawning rats to devour your foes or not kill a single soul (I did I it of sneak killing but mainely not killing anyone) and it all affects the ending. Only flaw is stealth is a little messed up and needs bit of fixes. But overall Dishonored is the Bioshock and Assassins Creed met and make this and hope for some type of sequel. Dishonored 9.2/10 Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2014
    8
    A glorious first person experience. The stealth mechanics are a joy and the supernatural powers enable you to feel like something more. TheA glorious first person experience. The stealth mechanics are a joy and the supernatural powers enable you to feel like something more. The story is original and brilliant. But where Dishonoured thrives the most is through the endless freedom it gives you. Do you charge through the game cutting down all in your path? Or do you sneak through the levels silently subduing enemies? The choice is yours and your choice of strategy effects the outcome of the game. It's nice to see less scripting and more choice. The game lacks multiplayer but the pedigree that this game is able to mark without multiplayer is quite incredible. A beautifully made game that is more than a pleasure to play. One of the generations special games. Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2012
    7
    A creative IP that is deserving of the critics positive reviews. A high level of creativity, semi-open world, and good mix of powers provideA creative IP that is deserving of the critics positive reviews. A high level of creativity, semi-open world, and good mix of powers provide for a unique experience that players can tailor to their play style. The negatives from a high-level perspective are unpolished character models and environment textures. Another negative for some will be the large amount of text required to read if you want to gain a better understanding of the game world. Outside of the game itself I feel this game will ultimately suffer from a less than strategic release date. Today Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Overhyped and overrated, this game is not near as good as I expected. A number of issues include a weak story, repetitive gameplay, abysmalOverhyped and overrated, this game is not near as good as I expected. A number of issues include a weak story, repetitive gameplay, abysmal graphics, and rushed stages. Expand

See all 220 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.