Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 62 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mickey Mouse returns to star in Castle of Illusion, a reimagining of the Sega Genesis classic. With all-new HD graphics and gameplay, Castle of Illusion brings Mickey and his world to life in this magical Disney adventure. When the evil witch Mizrabel kidnaps Minnie, it’s up to Mickey to face the dangers of the Castle of Illusion to rescue Minnie. Build your courage and traverse enchanted forests, challenge on hordes of rebellious toys and navigate mazes of living books. Play as Mickey and save Minnie from Mizrabel’s evil clutches. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    85
    Superb remake that recaptures the original's magic while adding new twists to classic ideas. [Nov 2013, p.70]
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    80
    Quite simply, Castle of Illusion Starring Mickey Mouse is one of the best platformers Sega has put out in years.
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    75
    The brushed up version of this classic looks really nice, but doesn't offer much challenge. The controls feel a bit slow and it's not a really long game either. Still, you'll enjoy the game a lot while it lasts.
  4. Sep 3, 2013
    70
    It ends up feeling formulaic by modern standards.
  5. 70
    It's a short and very solid piece of jump and run entertainment, combining a pretty homage to the genre and its own forebear with loving nods to later games in platform history.
  6. Sep 5, 2013
    65
    Castle of Illusion is not the same than twenty years ago. Has some improvements like 3D platforms events or magic visuals, but is also so irregular in level design, poor in content and with some issues in Mickey's control.
  7. Sep 3, 2013
    40
    A lot of care and attention has gone into recreating the Mega Drive original's stages for a new generation, and the structure has been changed akin to Super Mario 64's hub world. But the platforming and control mechanics on offer here wouldn't cut it in any era.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    I have very fond memories of the original and this is a very faith re-imagining. Each scene feels familiar yet the graphics, sound, story, control, etc, all come together to bring the game to life in a way not possible before. I definitely recommend this game to any fan of the original and for those who missed it. Anyone who enjoys the adventure plat-former genre should get there moneys worth out of this game. Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    I remember fond memories of Castle of Illusion as well as other Mickey Mouse and Disney games on the Sega Genesis and this remake of the 1990 smash hit game is a dream come true and it lived up to the hype as well as Duck tales remastered another childhood classic. Castle of illusion does everything right from the level narration, to the beautiful soundtrack and it also includes the original soundtrack and to top it off it plays perfectly and looks stunning but as it is Disney you cannot expect anything less. Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    I give this game a 9/10 cause the devs did what needed to be done, re-made the game with making sure if it ain't broken, why fix it!?

    Beautiful graphics, amazing sound. Excellent music and gameplay works the same way like before, although they did made some changes, like jump and certain things.

    Love this game and now I want is World of Illusion, its sequel.
    Collapse
  4. Sep 7, 2013
    8
    The original Castle of Illusion is a wonderful game (on both Master System and Megadrive), and when I heard that Sega were publishing a remake, I honestly wondered what it was going to be like. Perhaps, like Flashback as well of recent, these aren't remakes, but more realisations, and ultimately attempted transformations of a classic, and in a way trying to make it appeal to a modern audience?

    Ultimately they both fail, as the originals are still classics, and if you really want to sample them, go to the originals!! But still, I have to say that I felt spoilt with this latest update.

    The graphics and sounds are wonderful. To me, it not only evoked the care and attention to detail that belongs perhaps to the DIsney universe, but more to the fact that I was reminded of the other Mickey Mouse games on Megadrive, Fantasia and World of Illusion!! The graphics are gorgeous beyond belief, almost hand drawn and animated it seems, and the music and sound effects compliment them it all melts together, and I couldn't help to be pulled-in.

    The gameplay is where the game falls-down a little. The game is far too short, and any challenge to be found is in the initially cumbersome control method, which does need tweaking. But if the game can be a mite unfair, and if it is over too fast, then its a quality ride for sure, and one that has been treated with a lot of due care and attention, and the platforming action (and challenges!!) will keep you coming back in the short-term.

    No, its not the ultimate edition of a long-loved classic, but its a quality, passionate tribute. I would recommend playing the demo and having a go of it, and see what you think.

    My last word is for Sega: If you really wanted a Mickey Mouse game to update, could you update Fantasia? It wasn't the best game ever (even though it looked pretty), and with today's standards (exercised in this game for example), it could truly shine.
    Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2014
    8
    Cute game if you have kids. They will love it. Nice graphics simplistic gameplay. Is it worth the 15 Euros? NOPE. But on sale its great. I got it for 7 euros and it was a great deal. If your kid is in love with mickey mouse as is mine its totally worth the 7 Euros.15Euros on the other hand hmm I dont know. If you want it wait for it to go on sale on xboxlive. Sega games often have special sales. If you are an adult who wants a platform experience AVOID this game and buy a Rayman game , a Sonic game or a Mario game if you own a Nintendo concole. This game is strictly for kids Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    7
    The game was good, but not great. It was incredibly short and way too easy. I'm talking Journey's length. When the challenge started to ramp up a bit it was already the last level. I commend Sega for their efforts because it's true to the original and I think they really put effort into this. The music is awesome, the graphics are nice, and it's definitely charming and delightful, I just wouldn't recommend it for $15 considering the lack of challenge and having finished it in less than two hours. Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2013
    3
    Are you guys all part of the development team for this game? How you could have actually played this game and given these positive reviews I don't know. Even with my having loved the original game and really wanting to like this game, I could not.

    There was more to dislike but the biggest problem with this game by far is the one thing that had to be right for the game not to be ruined and kind of pointless. What do you do in this game more than anything else from the beginning of the game to the end? Jumping. The controls are awful and the jumping is the worst! This is unforgivable. Both the accuracy and the timing of the jumping are off.

    Another problem is the voice over. When you are listening to the voice over you will think you are playing a game for preschoolers. Mickey should throw apples? Really? It's like playing a "Doom" remake and they add a voice over that says you should fire your gun and open doors. If only the narrator had some advice on how to improve the controls. With this much wrong with the game there's not much point in critiquing anything else. Do yourself a favor and play the demo before buying.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews