Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Disney's most ambitious video game initiative ever, Disney Infinity introduces an all-new game universe where a spark of imagination unlocks a fantastical world where players have unprecedented freedom and endless opportunity to create stories and play experiences starring the belovedIn Disney's most ambitious video game initiative ever, Disney Infinity introduces an all-new game universe where a spark of imagination unlocks a fantastical world where players have unprecedented freedom and endless opportunity to create stories and play experiences starring the beloved characters from Walt Disney and Pixar Animation Studios' most popular franchises. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Aug 18, 2013
    90
    Disney Infinity is off to a great start and will hopefully be supported for years to come. The thought of Avalanche Software potentially tapping Star Wars, Marvel Comics, and other properties in Disney’s vault for upcoming sets makes this game’s future just as exciting as spending an afternoon creating adventures with friends.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    85
    The Play Set portion of Disney Infinity consists of average to slightly above-average platformers, with enough collectibles to send players with OCD off the deep end. Things get better in the Toy Box, where the potential for player-crafted adventures really opened up the experience. Overall, Disney Infinity is an excellent addition to the fairly new toy-enhanced game genre.
  3. Sep 15, 2013
    80
    A very good game concept by Disney, with a great potential but with a rough start due to some bugs and a quite repetitive Play Set gameplay. Children and Disney fans will love it though.
  4. Aug 28, 2013
    77
    Of course the Skylanders paved the way. But Disney Infinity is more than a copycat. With the addition of the Toy Box as a powerful editor and the starpower of Pixar and Disney movies this collection of action adventures can stand its ground.
  5. Aug 26, 2013
    75
    So long as you're willing to put up with some rather elementary action gameplay, Disney Infinity is a solid choice for families, younger gamers, and gamers who are young at heart alike.
  6. A grand idea, but needs deep pockets. [Nov 2013, p.94]
  7. Aug 18, 2013
    40
    Unfortunately, the core mechanics in each of these campaigns are dull and lack any real depth. For starters, when you die, you simply respawn where you fell. There is no punishment for death at all. This isn't helped by the simplistic combat and the lack of enemy variety. Even in the combat-heavy Pirates and The Incredibles Play Sets, blocking and dodging is hardly required. Single-button mashing for the most part will do the trick with ease.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 6 out of 18
  1. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    First off some of the critics of this game must not have children or have lost the child in their hearts. I have spent hundreds of dollarsFirst off some of the critics of this game must not have children or have lost the child in their hearts. I have spent hundreds of dollars looking for a game for my five year old daughter. I bought this game for her and I (don't tell mom) I told my daughter she was going to get a new toy and gave her a pack of the power-ups. Extreme disappointment ensued. After she wondered what i was thinking for a bit I pulled out the starter pack. She thought it looked like a boys game and I told her to give it a chance. Within an hour we were back at the store getting a couple of the Incredibles and the Cars starter pack.

    I have been playing games for 25 years and I have never seen a kid so engulfed in a game. The age gap in entertainment value is astonishing. Basic game play without harsh consequences for falling apart (not dying).

    It is going to cost some money ,but if you are looking for a game to thoroughly have fun with a child I would highly recommend this game. Mom, daughter, and I all laughed and had a great time while playing this. We don't need super crazy graphics and over-the-top button combinations to have a good time gaming and this game shows us why.

    The toy box mode is unbelievable you get to construct a world from your children's' dreams and then interact with it. I have only scratched the surface of this game and cant tell you how much fun you will have with a little one or two!
    Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    This game with the critics not liking this game much but is is awesome skylanders is not good even throw its fun and the toy box is the sellerThis game with the critics not liking this game much but is is awesome skylanders is not good even throw its fun and the toy box is the seller but its not confusing and kids will understand and the play sets are open world and custom stories but all together is more worth then skylanders so I would like 2 here your review Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2013
    8
    Disney does it again with Infinity

    What have they done again? Well they've created a fun game for parents and kids to play together.
    Disney does it again with Infinity

    What have they done again? Well they've created a fun game for parents and kids to play together. They've created a system even my 4 year old can understand. What they've most done though is create a cash printing system that only a media conglomerate like Disney could.

    For those of you who don't know Disney Infinity builds off of Avalanche's earlier work on the Toy Story 3 video game. The concept is simple, let kids play with toys inside a video game. To make it more of a "game" each "play set" comes with a game world based on the toy's IP. So for instance if you have Mr. Incredibles the play set he comes from allows him to play game levels inside the Incredibles movie setting. Because the game's concept is playing with toys within the game it allows them to have any character from any brand Disney owns.

    Think about that for a moment. ANY Brand Disney Owns. Yeah...

    If that wasn't enough Disney is also good at the "follow-up" sales. That is, the idea of "sure you can get by with just this, but you really want all this stuff too." Just like the app stores make people stick with a single brand of device, Disney Infinity wants you stay in their system and they're going to give you lots of reasons of continuing to put money into their system and here's how:

    1. New Characters. This is the most apparent method but also the best leveraged one. By having all these chests in game that can only be opened by other characters you get the kids to want to buy these other characters. Better yet, instead of just saying, "Hey you need Dash to open this chest" by pressing the open chest button the kid is shown a video of the missing character in action. Built in commercials of upcoming and available products!

    2. Power Coins. These little POG sized discs each offer lots of accessories and "vanity options" like you would find in a Free to Play game. They are totally optional but they are also sold in blind packs like trading cards. This means people buying packs (instead of buying from some other service or trade) will have to buy several packs to find just what they want. At $6 for 2 in a pack, that's a good chunk of change there.

    3. Play sets. Every franchise they want to give the "full" experience to will have its own little "expansion pack" worth of gameplay by buying a 2 character play set pack that unlocks new gameplay options. For instance if you want to play in the old west and ride horses you'll buy the Lone Ranger pack (and try and offset that horrible movie's cost) or if you want to race even more cars buy the cars pack.

    4. Finally, and possibly the most devious way they're going to make money is the in game library. See there are thousands of fun things to build with and play around with in the toy box mode of the game. Many of these come in from the various play sets you buy separately, others show up with the coins, but most are unlocked by leveling up the various characters. Instead of letting you choose what you unlock though Disney's devious creators put in a randomizer system.

    For instance, say you want Scrooge McDuck's money bin (like me) instead of just leveling up Mr. Incredible and unlocking it, I go to the "toy vault" and then randomize the 16 random unlocks until I see the money bin. Then, ONCE per level I "spin" for a chance at the Money Bin. Yep, you did that math right. I get 1 per level to unlock any 1 of 16 or so randomly chosen items. In my case instead of the Moneybin I unlocked princess costumes for the little "background" toys that wander around. Yeah, not what I wanted and I have to level up any character again to get another shot.

    So yeah, with the base set you'll get 90 unlocks many of them "wasted" on things you don't want. So you'll end up with a very random toy box (which makes sense on a level since toy boxes tend to be pretty random) that, just like a real one, often leaves you looking for that "just one more" piece. For instance I have 2 of the 3 parts of the castle in Aladdin’s Agrabah. So it looks MOSTLY done but it's missing the outer walls which looks odd. Plus everything is on fairytale grass no sand unlocked yet. Not quite what I'm looking for for a "coherent" experience.

    That said, does my daughter care? Nope. I mean c'mon I just built a 20 story tall floating island rope climb with Cinderella's castle on top for her to jump off of. She doesn't care what it LOOKS like, Yet. :)

    Between the in game advertising of new characters (like the girl from the recently announced movie Frozen) as well as characters you might be waiting for (Wreck it Ralph and Vanelope) plus fun little extras the game is setup to make you spend more money to get the full experience. Can you get by on just the base set? Of course. But you'll be missing things and see what you COULD get if you bought just a little more. It's many of the bad things from Free to Play in a Pay to Play package. If you are not already
    Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    7
    I'm really not sure about this game i bought it, being really excited. And the intro to the game lived up to expectation being magical likeI'm really not sure about this game i bought it, being really excited. And the intro to the game lived up to expectation being magical like Disney always is. But when i started to play the play set of M.U it started to get repetitive and boring. But the Incredibles is improving though. Also i found the Toy box not to be as good as I thought most of the stuff to make it an enjoyable experience is locked, making you have to buy more figures. But this game is very nostalgic and brings back great memory's. Expand
  5. Dec 20, 2013
    5
    Well, the game is fun. Especially with kids. I'll give it that. However, it fails on several key fronts:

    First, there is no reason that
    Well, the game is fun. Especially with kids. I'll give it that. However, it fails on several key fronts:

    First, there is no reason that this game should have been tied to a toy franchise. The toys merely unlock characters in the game. No significant data is stored on them, and leveling them up does nothing for the characters themselves other than incrementing a numeric value. From a collector's perspective or a child's perspective, it might be nice to have figurines to show off or play with, but from a gamer's perspective, this is an entirely egregious use of resources and a rip-off to boot. They could have made the same game without the portal of power knock-off and the toys that go along with it, charged less, and focused more resources on improving on the game itself, which is lacking, in the end. The Toy Story 3 game, which this one was clearly based on, was great, affordable, and provided fantastic game-play, both linear and open ended. Disney infinity is a stumble in the a half-right, half-wrong direction.

    Second off, the creative toy box mode is extremely limited and totally buggy. You cannot fill your toy box with much before it maxes out and forces you to delete things if you want to add more. You cannot make any of it interactive beyond the built-in interactivity of the objects you place in it you can't create missions, or dialog, or set up any sort of logic-triggered events. Also, it often breaks. I often will place an object and want to move it around, but half the time the object becomes permanently fixed is space with no way to select it. This is one of several unacceptable glitches in this mode that make it frustrating more than fun, more stifling than freeing.

    Finally, co-op presents many missed opportunities. I love couch co-op, I love playing video games with my kid. This one is pretty fun for a little while. Still, forcing you to buy more toys to unlock specific characters in order to even play co-op after you're already spent 70$ on the game is an insult. See, you can't bring characters from different movies into each others worlds. This right here is a huge missed opportunity for fun. What's more, there is no co-op specific content. There are no vehicles that can carry two people. There are no missions requiring two players, co-operation, or that particularly benefit from being carried out by two people other than you might finish them faster which means you likely have to split up anyways.

    Again, it can be fun for kids. Disney Infinity is more creative than its obvious counterpart, Skylanders, provides more interest methods of travel throughout its worlds, and is a fine way to distract or spend an evening with your kid. But it doesn't really live up to its promises, and takes on the excessively wasteful and expensive baggage of real world toys without any clear reason or obvious benefit other than to make more money.
    Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    3
    Although my kids and kid relatives loved Skylanders, Disney Infinity go the opposite reaction and even little kids could see it for theAlthough my kids and kid relatives loved Skylanders, Disney Infinity go the opposite reaction and even little kids could see it for the BLATANT CASH GRAB that it is. The game itself is pretty boring, but there are constant barriers and nags that tell you to "buy additional characters" seemingly at every turn. We all know Disney loves their money, but this is way over the line and instead of buying Disney Infinity, you might just want to mail them your wallet and paychecks to save time.

    With Skylanders, in order to play the entire game, you might be in for maybe $80-$90 for the game/starting figures and the extra elemental characters you are missing, but if you want play actually play Disney Infinity, we're talking maybe $300 to start, and then maybe more for discs, add-ons, storage compartment, etc. It's as a bad a cash grab as I've ever seen in my life and I wonder if a "Credit/Debit Card Machine" was intended to be part of the game bundle. Or maybe as an add-on pack?
    Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2014
    0
    Full of bugs, several sections of the game modes don't work and just crash the game, figures don't save any data on them... Disney haveFull of bugs, several sections of the game modes don't work and just crash the game, figures don't save any data on them... Disney have basically ripped off the Skylanders game model and created an inferior game. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews