Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Disney's most ambitious video game initiative ever, Disney Infinity introduces an all-new game universe where a spark of imagination unlocks a fantastical world where players have unprecedented freedom and endless opportunity to create stories and play experiences starring the beloved characters from Walt Disney and Pixar Animation Studios' most popular franchises. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Aug 18, 2013
    90
    Disney Infinity is off to a great start and will hopefully be supported for years to come. The thought of Avalanche Software potentially tapping Star Wars, Marvel Comics, and other properties in Disney’s vault for upcoming sets makes this game’s future just as exciting as spending an afternoon creating adventures with friends.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    85
    The Play Set portion of Disney Infinity consists of average to slightly above-average platformers, with enough collectibles to send players with OCD off the deep end. Things get better in the Toy Box, where the potential for player-crafted adventures really opened up the experience. Overall, Disney Infinity is an excellent addition to the fairly new toy-enhanced game genre.
  3. Sep 15, 2013
    80
    A very good game concept by Disney, with a great potential but with a rough start due to some bugs and a quite repetitive Play Set gameplay. Children and Disney fans will love it though.
  4. Aug 28, 2013
    77
    Of course the Skylanders paved the way. But Disney Infinity is more than a copycat. With the addition of the Toy Box as a powerful editor and the starpower of Pixar and Disney movies this collection of action adventures can stand its ground.
  5. Aug 26, 2013
    75
    So long as you're willing to put up with some rather elementary action gameplay, Disney Infinity is a solid choice for families, younger gamers, and gamers who are young at heart alike.
  6. A grand idea, but needs deep pockets. [Nov 2013, p.94]
  7. Aug 18, 2013
    40
    Unfortunately, the core mechanics in each of these campaigns are dull and lack any real depth. For starters, when you die, you simply respawn where you fell. There is no punishment for death at all. This isn't helped by the simplistic combat and the lack of enemy variety. Even in the combat-heavy Pirates and The Incredibles Play Sets, blocking and dodging is hardly required. Single-button mashing for the most part will do the trick with ease.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    First off some of the critics of this game must not have children or have lost the child in their hearts. I have spent hundreds of dollars looking for a game for my five year old daughter. I bought this game for her and I (don't tell mom) I told my daughter she was going to get a new toy and gave her a pack of the power-ups. Extreme disappointment ensued. After she wondered what i was thinking for a bit I pulled out the starter pack. She thought it looked like a boys game and I told her to give it a chance. Within an hour we were back at the store getting a couple of the Incredibles and the Cars starter pack.

    I have been playing games for 25 years and I have never seen a kid so engulfed in a game. The age gap in entertainment value is astonishing. Basic game play without harsh consequences for falling apart (not dying).

    It is going to cost some money ,but if you are looking for a game to thoroughly have fun with a child I would highly recommend this game. Mom, daughter, and I all laughed and had a great time while playing this. We don't need super crazy graphics and over-the-top button combinations to have a good time gaming and this game shows us why.

    The toy box mode is unbelievable you get to construct a world from your children's' dreams and then interact with it. I have only scratched the surface of this game and cant tell you how much fun you will have with a little one or two!
    Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2014
    10
    this game is fun in all, but you get bored with it easily and there is no story mode and you only just BUILD, BUILD, and BUILD! And why make a build game even thought you only have a certain amount of things you can place? And placing only one Disney castle takes up the haft of the build meter? Even placing bad guys takes up the meter? what is that all about? Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    Some 'critics' may write reviews panning Disney Infinity for its simplistic combat structure, the fact that you don't respawn elsewhere or a number of features they find inferior. What they do not acknowledge is one simple thing...this is not Forza, this is not COD, this is not whatever other specialty game you may use as a benchmark to review this franchise on.

    Repeated Skylanders ripoff references are extremely foolish as well. By that logic, everyone using a computer right now is ripping off Xerox. Its patently absurd. Pun intended. For one to assume that Disney, with arguably the most identifiable characters in the world, in volume and in stature, would use its leverage by creating a toy based strategy is just silly.

    Disney Infinity is an extremely thoughtful, well crafted and fun game. And thats without even touching the toy box. It is not difficult to play, has solid narratives through out each world, which, in and of themselves feel like different games, if not for the overarching style they chose to go with. Additionally it is easy to engage with even if a child is unable to physically play the game.

    Im looking forward to going home later to play this with my kids as well as the future offering they are no doubt preparing for the coming months.
    Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    7
    I'm really not sure about this game i bought it, being really excited. And the intro to the game lived up to expectation being magical like Disney always is. But when i started to play the play set of M.U it started to get repetitive and boring. But the Incredibles is improving though. Also i found the Toy box not to be as good as I thought most of the stuff to make it an enjoyable experience is locked, making you have to buy more figures. But this game is very nostalgic and brings back great memory's. Expand
  5. Aug 24, 2013
    7
    Love this game I started the game..and after a few minutes i got addicted to this game..kept playing..The game has good graphics but not very detail. The scenery/surroundings has wonderful graphics.The characters are fun to play with This games is worth buying.. Collapse
  6. Dec 20, 2013
    5
    Well, the game is fun. Especially with kids. I'll give it that. However, it fails on several key fronts:

    First, there is no reason that
    this game should have been tied to a toy franchise. The toys merely unlock characters in the game. No significant data is stored on them, and leveling them up does nothing for the characters themselves other than incrementing a numeric value. From a collector's perspective or a child's perspective, it might be nice to have figurines to show off or play with, but from a gamer's perspective, this is an entirely egregious use of resources and a rip-off to boot. They could have made the same game without the portal of power knock-off and the toys that go along with it, charged less, and focused more resources on improving on the game itself, which is lacking, in the end. The Toy Story 3 game, which this one was clearly based on, was great, affordable, and provided fantastic game-play, both linear and open ended. Disney infinity is a stumble in the a half-right, half-wrong direction.

    Second off, the creative toy box mode is extremely limited and totally buggy. You cannot fill your toy box with much before it maxes out and forces you to delete things if you want to add more. You cannot make any of it interactive beyond the built-in interactivity of the objects you place in it you can't create missions, or dialog, or set up any sort of logic-triggered events. Also, it often breaks. I often will place an object and want to move it around, but half the time the object becomes permanently fixed is space with no way to select it. This is one of several unacceptable glitches in this mode that make it frustrating more than fun, more stifling than freeing.

    Finally, co-op presents many missed opportunities. I love couch co-op, I love playing video games with my kid. This one is pretty fun for a little while. Still, forcing you to buy more toys to unlock specific characters in order to even play co-op after you're already spent 70$ on the game is an insult. See, you can't bring characters from different movies into each others worlds. This right here is a huge missed opportunity for fun. What's more, there is no co-op specific content. There are no vehicles that can carry two people. There are no missions requiring two players, co-operation, or that particularly benefit from being carried out by two people other than you might finish them faster which means you likely have to split up anyways.

    Again, it can be fun for kids. Disney Infinity is more creative than its obvious counterpart, Skylanders, provides more interest methods of travel throughout its worlds, and is a fine way to distract or spend an evening with your kid. But it doesn't really live up to its promises, and takes on the excessively wasteful and expensive baggage of real world toys without any clear reason or obvious benefit other than to make more money.
    Expand
  7. Dec 25, 2013
    0
    Stupid idiots made the 15 minute intro non by-passable. Makes the game a horrid experience and not worth anything. Intro's that cannot be bypassed and require user interaction to interact with it..... Who thought this was a good way to make people want to play the game? Boycott Disney crap, failtard company that has not had anything original in 60 years....
    Skylanders is a lot better.
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews