• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Apr 12, 2011
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jan 30, 2011
    88
    It is not only recommended for fans of the original game, but for anyone who want to embark into a new roleplaying adventure with a lot of intelligent humour.
  2. Jan 30, 2011
    80
    The Dragon Knight Saga is a solid RPG with a funny gameplay and a nice proposal.
  3. Jan 30, 2011
    80
    Traditional it may be but Divinity 2 Dragon Knight Saga is an excellent RPG that is up there with the very best on the Xbox 360.
  4. Feb 18, 2011
    79
    It should have been this good the first time. [Feb 2011, p.91]
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    75
    A game slightly better than the sum of its parts. While its graphics are subpar for a modern game, the combat is fast-paced and fun.
  6. Apr 18, 2011
    75
    The combat may be on the wonky side, and the difficulty may drag you down a little, but the RPG elements and overall story is actually really enjoyable.
  7. Should have been this good the first time out. [Feb 2011, p.104]
  8. Apr 19, 2011
    70
    While it shows significant improvement over its previous release, Divinity II's visuals and gameplay still lack the level of polish we've come to expect from this generation's entries.
  9. Apr 18, 2011
    60
    Ultimately, The Dragon Knight Saga is a game at odds with itself. Its solid writing and quest design has to contend with balance issues and a myriad of other minor problems such as a sporadic autosave function that feels more like an afterthought.
  10. 60
    The Dragon Knight Saga may be a little rough around the edges and seem like a poor man's Oblivion, but there's enough here to interest fans of Western RPGs and, although it can be totally frustrating at times, it's the sort of game that draws you back in to see just what that next cave around the corner might have in the form of enemies and loot.
  11. Jan 30, 2011
    60
    Unless they have developed a sudden passion for the hardcore action RPG genre, PC gamers who were not customers of last year edition will not suddenly fall in love with this one. As for Xbox 360 gamers, they can probably consider giving it a chance, now that he does have frame-rate problems anymore and offers nice reworked graphics. Finally, the fans will be delighted for sure by this new, very long campaign.
  12. Jan 30, 2011
    60
    Perfectly acceptable old-school role playing, if at the second attempt. [Issue#66, p.92]
  13. Jan 30, 2011
    50
    It's sad to see that Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga hasn't become a good game. The graphics may look nice but in the end the gameplay will leave you disappointed.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Having not played the Original Divinity or its sequel, I don't have much to base this game on its improvements. I have however, gotten sickHaving not played the Original Divinity or its sequel, I don't have much to base this game on its improvements. I have however, gotten sick of most modern RPGs and this game is a breath of fresh air. The writing isn't as good as a Bioware game, nor does it look as pretty. However, this game has something that Mass Effect and Dragon Age lacked: exploration. The world of Divinity II is huge and beautiful and it only gets better the more you play. Much of the games design is great too, but you'll have to look past some of the games problems to get there. There is some freezing issues but most of the glitches you'll see in the game don't effect the over all playability of the game. Once you get past this you'll see an RPG that is more about fun and enjoying yourself than about nerdy stats and grinding loot fests. For instance, you get access to any skills in the game, regardless of what class you choose. This allows you to create your hero in any way you want. Want to be a ranged weapon specialist who can summon demons and shoot fire? You got it! The over all menu system is easy and from about half way in the game, it gets even better, allowing you go send anything you pick up to your "Battle Tower," a central hub that acts as your own personal shop/training grounds/evil necromancer's lab. There are other fun unique things as well, such as the ability to turn into a dragon on command and having your own Frankenstein-esque creature that you piece together from body parts scattered in the game. This game is a hidden gem, destined to be a sleeper hit that any RPG fan who just wants to have fun exploring a huge and endearing world. Full Review »
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    I have to say the reviews for this game are quite frankly, disgusting. It's the best RPG on the consoles after TES4 by far. But then again II have to say the reviews for this game are quite frankly, disgusting. It's the best RPG on the consoles after TES4 by far. But then again I suppose if a game requires basic reading & mathematic skills the critics just aren't interested. Imbeciles. Anywho, I haven't actually played the original Divinity 2 so I can't comment on how much of an improvement the graphics are, and while it's true it isn't quite as good looking as Oblivion when it comes to things like NPCs they are still excellent. The interface & controls here are exemplary; pressing the right trigger allows you to easily compare your equipped gear when shopping, the stats are simply explained, and the journal is fantastic, in conjunction with the map, providing clear instructions, & quest markers. Not once did I get lost. The character progression here is some of the most flexible I've come across in a while; rather than locking you into a class D2 lets you spend XP across class' on a massive skill tree so you you create a virtually endless number of different characters. If that wasn't enough you can also customise your armor, transorm into a Dragon & build your very own creature from enemy body parts! And (apart from perhaps the Ghost) Larian Studios has done a stellar job balancing the many skills; unlike many RPGs every skill felt useful, and none overpowered. The one thing that impressed me the most though was the insane amount of choice in the gameplay. In a super cool innovation you can spend XP to read NPCs minds opening up new ways to solve quests, and other secrets. There's even a choice of rewards for EVERY quest in the game! Full Review »
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Holy Shnuzel this game kicks ass!! I am bewildered at all the low scores and poor reviews given to it by the trend following drongos outHoly Shnuzel this game kicks ass!! I am bewildered at all the low scores and poor reviews given to it by the trend following drongos out there. Having not played the original I decided to have a punt on this for a laugh, and I'm now 35 hours in to one of the best games I've played since Mass Effect 1&2. In my little gaming world Divinity 2 is sort of a spiritual successor to Summoner 2 on the PS2 - (too many 2's!! lol), even though they have little in common from a business perspective they both value fun, atmosphere, and genuine RPG elements over being 'sellable' to Jo Public. The blend of humour, epicness and grandeur, is perfect, making the rol-playing aspects of the game a joy to get involved with - the local Barnsley accents are particualrly cool. Then the combat, whilst not perfect, is still really fun and gives the players various ways of approaching the game - all down to how you want to build your character. The musical score fits to a tee, very immersive, the challenge is good, and although the graphics certainly aren't great at all, who's complaining? Not me, because this is one of the best games and RPGs I've played in ages. Avoid Dragon Age 2, go for this instead. Full Review »