• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Apr 12, 2011
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Having not played the Original Divinity or its sequel, I don't have much to base this game on its improvements. I have however, gotten sick of most modern RPGs and this game is a breath of fresh air. The writing isn't as good as a Bioware game, nor does it look as pretty. However, this game has something that Mass Effect and Dragon Age lacked: exploration. The world of Divinity II isHaving not played the Original Divinity or its sequel, I don't have much to base this game on its improvements. I have however, gotten sick of most modern RPGs and this game is a breath of fresh air. The writing isn't as good as a Bioware game, nor does it look as pretty. However, this game has something that Mass Effect and Dragon Age lacked: exploration. The world of Divinity II is huge and beautiful and it only gets better the more you play. Much of the games design is great too, but you'll have to look past some of the games problems to get there. There is some freezing issues but most of the glitches you'll see in the game don't effect the over all playability of the game. Once you get past this you'll see an RPG that is more about fun and enjoying yourself than about nerdy stats and grinding loot fests. For instance, you get access to any skills in the game, regardless of what class you choose. This allows you to create your hero in any way you want. Want to be a ranged weapon specialist who can summon demons and shoot fire? You got it! The over all menu system is easy and from about half way in the game, it gets even better, allowing you go send anything you pick up to your "Battle Tower," a central hub that acts as your own personal shop/training grounds/evil necromancer's lab. There are other fun unique things as well, such as the ability to turn into a dragon on command and having your own Frankenstein-esque creature that you piece together from body parts scattered in the game. This game is a hidden gem, destined to be a sleeper hit that any RPG fan who just wants to have fun exploring a huge and endearing world. Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    I have to say the reviews for this game are quite frankly, disgusting. It's the best RPG on the consoles after TES4 by far. But then again I suppose if a game requires basic reading & mathematic skills the critics just aren't interested. Imbeciles. Anywho, I haven't actually played the original Divinity 2 so I can't comment on how much of an improvement the graphics are, and while it'sI have to say the reviews for this game are quite frankly, disgusting. It's the best RPG on the consoles after TES4 by far. But then again I suppose if a game requires basic reading & mathematic skills the critics just aren't interested. Imbeciles. Anywho, I haven't actually played the original Divinity 2 so I can't comment on how much of an improvement the graphics are, and while it's true it isn't quite as good looking as Oblivion when it comes to things like NPCs they are still excellent. The interface & controls here are exemplary; pressing the right trigger allows you to easily compare your equipped gear when shopping, the stats are simply explained, and the journal is fantastic, in conjunction with the map, providing clear instructions, & quest markers. Not once did I get lost. The character progression here is some of the most flexible I've come across in a while; rather than locking you into a class D2 lets you spend XP across class' on a massive skill tree so you you create a virtually endless number of different characters. If that wasn't enough you can also customise your armor, transorm into a Dragon & build your very own creature from enemy body parts! And (apart from perhaps the Ghost) Larian Studios has done a stellar job balancing the many skills; unlike many RPGs every skill felt useful, and none overpowered. The one thing that impressed me the most though was the insane amount of choice in the gameplay. In a super cool innovation you can spend XP to read NPCs minds opening up new ways to solve quests, and other secrets. There's even a choice of rewards for EVERY quest in the game! Expand
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Holy Shnuzel this game kicks ass!! I am bewildered at all the low scores and poor reviews given to it by the trend following drongos out there. Having not played the original I decided to have a punt on this for a laugh, and I'm now 35 hours in to one of the best games I've played since Mass Effect 1&2. In my little gaming world Divinity 2 is sort of a spiritual successor to Summoner 2 onHoly Shnuzel this game kicks ass!! I am bewildered at all the low scores and poor reviews given to it by the trend following drongos out there. Having not played the original I decided to have a punt on this for a laugh, and I'm now 35 hours in to one of the best games I've played since Mass Effect 1&2. In my little gaming world Divinity 2 is sort of a spiritual successor to Summoner 2 on the PS2 - (too many 2's!! lol), even though they have little in common from a business perspective they both value fun, atmosphere, and genuine RPG elements over being 'sellable' to Jo Public. The blend of humour, epicness and grandeur, is perfect, making the rol-playing aspects of the game a joy to get involved with - the local Barnsley accents are particualrly cool. Then the combat, whilst not perfect, is still really fun and gives the players various ways of approaching the game - all down to how you want to build your character. The musical score fits to a tee, very immersive, the challenge is good, and although the graphics certainly aren't great at all, who's complaining? Not me, because this is one of the best games and RPGs I've played in ages. Avoid Dragon Age 2, go for this instead. Collapse
  4. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    Let me start by saying I am a big fan of rpg games and I loved skyrim until I found this game. This one of the most underrated games ever. If your a fan of rpg's than look no further cause this is one of the best.
  5. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    sorry about my english

    is an excellent option to skyrim , amalur , dragon age ....etc . it remains me the old school pc rpg style , highly recomended
  6. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    When I downloaded the demo of this game I was expecting a drab,unforgiving,roleplaying game; but what I got was an amazing free roaming adventure. In many ways, it trumps a lot of western RPG's because of the almost limitless combinations of ways to level up your character, allowing the player to create very diverse adventurers. The combat is also extremely effective because you reallyWhen I downloaded the demo of this game I was expecting a drab,unforgiving,roleplaying game; but what I got was an amazing free roaming adventure. In many ways, it trumps a lot of western RPG's because of the almost limitless combinations of ways to level up your character, allowing the player to create very diverse adventurers. The combat is also extremely effective because you really feel as if you've just slayed a troll or stabbed an elf. The one thing letting it down is the almost uncontrollable camera angles. Sometimes, in the middle of battle, you can't even see your character, let alone fight an enemy at the same time. But, for fans of western RPG's this is a must buy. (BTW: Don't buy the original 'Ego Draconis' game. Buy the 'Dragon Knight Saga' edition. it features the original game with rehashed graphics and a more intuitve inventory system and packs in the amazing 'Flames Of Vengeance' add on absolutely free.) Expand
  7. May 28, 2011
    9
    After I saw this game while I was browsing the Xbox Game Marketplace, I wasn't expecting it to be incredibly good. But because the premise sounded cool to me (play as a knight who can transform into a dragon?!) I decided to get the demo. My first impression was that Divinity II was nothing more than a cheap Dragon Age rip-off, but I was wrong. This game has the old-school feel that DragonAfter I saw this game while I was browsing the Xbox Game Marketplace, I wasn't expecting it to be incredibly good. But because the premise sounded cool to me (play as a knight who can transform into a dragon?!) I decided to get the demo. My first impression was that Divinity II was nothing more than a cheap Dragon Age rip-off, but I was wrong. This game has the old-school feel that Dragon Age nailed, combined with the exploration and awesome character building of Oblivion. I haven't gotten to play as a dragon yet, but I'm really liking the game so far. I will update my review once I finish the demo, but so far I recommend this to any RPG fan! Expand
  8. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Last year I had the unfortunate luck of playing Divinity 2 Ego Draconis, one of the worst RPGs I had ever played. After hearing of the Dragon Knight Saga I felt as if I should give Atlus another chance, so I bought the game. For the rather small price of $40 you get the remastered version of Ego Draconis, a decent art book, a nice soundtrack and the Flames of Vengeance DLC which addsLast year I had the unfortunate luck of playing Divinity 2 Ego Draconis, one of the worst RPGs I had ever played. After hearing of the Dragon Knight Saga I felt as if I should give Atlus another chance, so I bought the game. For the rather small price of $40 you get the remastered version of Ego Draconis, a decent art book, a nice soundtrack and the Flames of Vengeance DLC which adds another 20-30 hours of gameplay. What changed my opinion on this game? Well they drastically improved the graphics, FPS and camera and they added new quests and items. Although those improvements and additions are very welcome they still didn't fix all of the bugs, the voice sink issues, the misspelled text, the stupidity in some of the dialogue and the terrible voice acting. But at the end of the day it is a very enjoyable game that sits among my favorite games on my shelf. Expand
  9. Apr 25, 2011
    9
    I haven't played the original Divinity for the Xbox and I haven't played too much in depth of the original Ego Draconis but I can tell you that Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga makes a vast improvement. It comes with a whole new paint job, new renderings and improved graphics are always helpful but still, they can't be compared to games like Oblivion and Dragon Age 1/2 and Fallout 3/NewI haven't played the original Divinity for the Xbox and I haven't played too much in depth of the original Ego Draconis but I can tell you that Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga makes a vast improvement. It comes with a whole new paint job, new renderings and improved graphics are always helpful but still, they can't be compared to games like Oblivion and Dragon Age 1/2 and Fallout 3/New Vegas. Where the game lacks in appearance it makes up with everything else, just because we are in 2011 doesn't mean all of our games have to be a sparkling vista of rolling plains and towering mountains, why spend extra effort to make it look like we're in an IMAX when you can say, spend that effort on making good quests, a good story and an easy interface. The only other downfall is that some of the voice acting is a bit cheesy, not in terms of accents and words but more on the awkwardness in which the voice actor says the lines, note, this doesn't apply to ALL the voice acting, maybe about 20-30% of it, which when you look at it isn't so bad.

    Now that the bad has been mentioned now onto the good, the world that Divinity 2 creates is huge, it has small towns, big cities, mountainous regions, spiraling dungeons, and pretty much any stock Medieval landscape you can imagine and when you gain the ability to turn into a Dragon, the world is expanded to floating spires and towers and even your own Battle Tower which is pretty much an ultimate vault/factory/storage area/forge in the sky.

    The combat on the 360 is flowing, using a reticule and lock-on functions you can set aside key targets (such as healers or leaders) using the pause function (which is sort of a steal from Dragon Age), I guess you can call it button mashing, but every game you have to push a button, so you can give it a bad score solely on the fact you have to press buttons. The way they laid out combat you can assign you weapon to a specific button and additional combos/specials/potions to the D-pad and the buttons (A,B,X,Y), it's very useful in the way you can set your primary attack button and heal button (if you call it that, where you put your potions) where you want it. You can't actively block or parry, all you can do is jump, roll and run out of/away from danger, which sometimes gets a bit tricky but again, isn't too bad.

    The menus are easy to use, you can do weapon/armor/accessory comparison from your inventory and shop menus, interaction with the environment is as simple as a push of a button and the chat screens are easy to use, and the quest log is pretty self explanatory.

    You can tell that this game was made by gamers, everything is boiled down for easy accessibly and function, it sticks to the fundamentals of RPGs, you can customize you load outs and classes (drawing from 5 skill trees of Priest, Warrior, Ranger, Mage and Dragon Knight/Slayer skills). Sure some visuals and voice acting and rendering is sacrificed and sure there isn't a glowing breadcrumb trail or a way-point guiding you to your objectives but that doesn't stop you from enjoying the game

    Lasting impressions is that this is a solid 9/9.5 out of 10, other than a few cheesy bouts of voice acting and the graphics and rendering not being top notch and some of the quests being demented postman delivery mission the whole game is phenomenal, it is the type of game that makes you want to play for 5 or 10 extra minutes after saving the game to turn off your Xbox 360 just to get that extra piece of loot of find that extra ingredient, if your an old-school RPG player or an RPG player with an open mind then Divinity 2 the Dragon Knight Saga is the game for you.
    Expand
  10. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    The Dragon Knight Saga is a great RPG with tremendous value. I highly recommend at least checking it out, but I'd definitely buy it if I were you. This game contains great characters with hilarious writing, and a fun world to explore.
  11. Nov 10, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best RPG games I have ever played. It is huge and full of fun things to do. The voice acting is excellent and the story is good as well. There are a lot of nods to movies and books in the names of characters and some of the achievements. This game is totally engaging right from the start and once you get the hang of how things work you will have hours of fun. TheThis is one of the best RPG games I have ever played. It is huge and full of fun things to do. The voice acting is excellent and the story is good as well. There are a lot of nods to movies and books in the names of characters and some of the achievements. This game is totally engaging right from the start and once you get the hang of how things work you will have hours of fun. The only issue is with the escort mission that is quite tedious to get through but other than that I loved this game. Expand
  12. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    One of the best RPG's out in the last 10 years. Have played through it twice. Great graphics for its age, everything has voice acting (don't have to spend hours reading), some comedy but not overly so. Becoming a dragon is awesome and thankfully easy to control. Lots of powers and abilities to choose from so builds are different.
  13. Oct 18, 2011
    0
    Holy Shnuzel this game kicks ass!! I am bewildered at all the low scores and poor reviews given to it by the trend following drongos out there. Having not played the original I decided to have a punt on this for a laugh, and I'm now 35 hours in to one of the best games I've played since Mass Effect 1&2. In my little gaming world Divinity 2 is sort of a spiritual successor to Summoner 2 onHoly Shnuzel this game kicks ass!! I am bewildered at all the low scores and poor reviews given to it by the trend following drongos out there. Having not played the original I decided to have a punt on this for a laugh, and I'm now 35 hours in to one of the best games I've played since Mass Effect 1&2. In my little gaming world Divinity 2 is sort of a spiritual successor to Summoner 2 on the PS2 - (too many 2's!! lol), even though they have little in common from a business perspective they both value fun, atmosphere, and genuine RPG elements over being 'sellable' to Jo Public. The blend of humour, epicness and grandeur, is perfect, making the rol-playing aspects of the game a joy to get involved with - the local Barnsley accents are particualrly cool. Then the combat, whilst not perfect, is still really fun and gives the players various ways of approaching the game - all down to how you want to build your character. The musical score fits to a tee, very immersive, the challenge is good, and although the graphics certainly aren't great at all, who's complaining? Not me, because this is one of the best games and RPGs I've played in ages. Avoid Dragon Age 2, go for this instead. Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    70
    While it shows significant improvement over its previous release, Divinity II's visuals and gameplay still lack the level of polish we've come to expect from this generation's entries.
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    75
    A game slightly better than the sum of its parts. While its graphics are subpar for a modern game, the combat is fast-paced and fun.
  3. Apr 18, 2011
    60
    Ultimately, The Dragon Knight Saga is a game at odds with itself. Its solid writing and quest design has to contend with balance issues and a myriad of other minor problems such as a sporadic autosave function that feels more like an afterthought.