Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Vergil's Downfall is downloadable content for DmC: Devil May Cry that shows players what happens to Vergil after the events of the main game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    82
    Vergil's Downfall tells the story of what happens to Vergil after the events of DmC Devil May Cry and is a welcome add-on to the main campaign.
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    80
    Fans of the narrative should definitely pick this up, especially considering it was free as a pre-order bonus for some. Now I just hope that there will be more expansions for DmC and that a sequel gets greenlit. This is easily Capcom’s best franchise revitalization to date.
  3. 80
    This add-on’s best parts — its boss battle and final fight — might be better than DmC’s biggest brawls, but the surrounding content is overshadowed by a superior sibling.
  4. My thoughts on Vergil's Downfall in a nutshell? Played it. Liked it. Now, I just resent the extra step it puts in the menu system between me and Danté Must Die.
  5. Mar 22, 2013
    70
    Fresh combat and stylish visuals make Vergil's Downfall a fun addition to DmC: Devil May Cry, despite a less-than-stellar story.
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    65
    While DmC: Devil May Cry—Vergil's Downfall is exactly the kind of story-based DLC that I enjoy the most and getting a new slice of a fantastic game like DmC: Devil May Cry is always welcome, this add-on could have gone from "okay" to "outstanding" with just a little more work.
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    35
    Vergil’s downfall isn’t patently terrible, but just barely. It is, however, a pale shadow compared to Dante’s adventure in DmC. It’s three to four hours of gameplay that everyone who is not a Vergil fetishist can ignore and not feel like they missed anything.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 2, 2014
    9
    In an ironic sort of way, dante appeared to play like a frenzied button mashing centric character, but was at his strongest when you used hisIn an ironic sort of way, dante appeared to play like a frenzied button mashing centric character, but was at his strongest when you used his various abilities to perform setup combos that looked amazing when you pulled them off.
    conversely, vergil's style at first appears methodical, even downright hard to make use of, but once you unlock all his abilities you'll find out that, thanks to his ability to cancel out of EVERY move, he actually plays at his finest when you're going balls to the wall with the controller buttons.
    just be sure to offer them a cigarette after you're done.
    vergil's downfall is in many ways, the opposite of DmC, from the plot, to the level design, notice I said OPPOSITE not bad, that's because the quality is still there, but they went in the furthest possible direction away from dante in terms of design.
    Vergil's downfall, once you figure out how to play him properly, is among the most fun i've ever had watching vergil be on ten different places onscreen at once, all before I even managed to get ahold of doppelganger.
    from an action standpoint, vergil takes control of a fight by overpowering it with his insane mobility and use of "just charge" or "perfect slice" attacks which essentially amount to a winning juggle button. don't get me wrong, it still takes skill to play him, but you'll find yourself using atomic or solar flare more often than you realize you should because it launches an entire wave into the air.
    couple this with the versatility of the character's movement system, such as sword teleporting, and the ability to embed teleport swords into foes at the end of a combo in order to pull them in and keep it going, and you can spend days just stringing together nigh endless combos and just looking plain stylish 90 percent of the time.
    Devil may cry has always handled its difficulty in the sense that. you already have all the tools you need to defeat your opponents and get those s rankings, you simply aren't trying hard enough, and in both DmC and vergil's downfall, this rule holds true, despite the change in combat structure.
    downfall features a few new enemies, a darker storyline, and a track that sucks, sorry guys, it just doesn't differentiate itself.
    but the enemies are, for the most part, a nice addition.
    those wisps though? they can go to hel-
    I see what you did there NT, I see what you did there....
    If you don't mind this experiment in an altered devil may cry gameplay formula, then downfall will make you feel like a demon king in the making, just don't expect vergil to be a likable person by the end.
    Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    I really liked the additional DLC. Much DLC feels like an expansion or annexe of the original game, however, this feels like a pseudo sequelI really liked the additional DLC. Much DLC feels like an expansion or annexe of the original game, however, this feels like a pseudo sequel which some will hate and some will like. I have no real idea what the obsession with the plot is in DMC. Some people think they are missing out on a stellar story line that continues from where DMC4 left off. Seriously, can anyone tell me what the hell this amazing story i am missing is? I have played all Devil May Crys and this is the first one ever to make sense. The others are so contrived and full of holes that you can't make head nor tail of them. Seriously WHY does Dante own a shop? WHO is Nero and why has he got Dantes powers? What the hell is the whole Trish/Gloria thing about... anyway on with the review... Hopefully people can stop worrying about the combat as it is quicker and more difficult; I would assume this is to please the 'die hard fans' but it is still accessible. The story is fine and the art work is as great as DMC... fully worth the price of admission. Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    This is an amazing expansion pack. First off, Vergil plays very differently than Dante. Whereas Dante is a furious button pressing frenzy,This is an amazing expansion pack. First off, Vergil plays very differently than Dante. Whereas Dante is a furious button pressing frenzy, Vergil's strikes are more deliberate and you feel like your in a more zen-like state. All this is achieved while STILL bringing the awesome, over the top style. It's a good few hours of gameplay and well worth the cash. Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    7
    Vergil's downfall DLC according to many professional reviewers is like a bag mixed with skittles and raisins. It's even debatable. I wasVergil's downfall DLC according to many professional reviewers is like a bag mixed with skittles and raisins. It's even debatable. I was hoping just for a little bit more from Ninja Theory but I'm not really surprised at Capcom. Over the years we have been blessed with excellent games by Capcom but their story telling in "most of their games" (excluding Megaman, Devil May Cry (1-4), Street Fighter but excluding four, and many others that have a well detailed story.) are either seriously lacking or are just plain confusing and or predictable. That is what happened when I tried Vergil DLC on March 5th-6th. The story is just sooooo predictable. It's like I have seen it before. I was very disappointed in the story. Anybody who plays this dlc will be able to predict what he does next... his zero emotion personal still exist. I will give you a hint and it is no shock to others... all he wants is power, that's it. Now while the gameplay is a blast to play through, everything else just feels out of place. The way the story is told in black and white comic book scripts. Really? Didn't Capcom or Ninja Theory played Soul Calibur V's story mode with their sepia colored stills? The gameplay and boss battles is really all I enjoyed about this dlc, I did enjoy playing as Vergil as he changed from a protagonist to an antagonist. The ending in my opinion was either the end of this debatable reboot or a hint at a sequel? Ninja Theory and Capcom are taking steps "backwards" when it comes to implementing a good story. They really need to research how to get the audience motivated to want to play again or to get them really overwhelmed with excitement. These two companies need to take notes from other companies and do more research. If fans want to pay $10 for this?, be my guest. Even though I gave it an 8/10, it is only because of it's gameplay and boss battles, the story would have to be between a 6 or 7/10. Not what I expected from Capcom and Ninja Theory. If they decide however, to come up with a sequel, then they really need to add more DEPTH, PLOT and SUSPENSION to this story or it is not going to be a reboot worth remembering. This is still debatable though so don't take my word for it, waste $10 and see for yourself. Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    7
    What you need to know is this, DMC Vergils Downfall is not a bad game. It's one of those elegant masterpieces in which Dante is getting moreWhat you need to know is this, DMC Vergils Downfall is not a bad game. It's one of those elegant masterpieces in which Dante is getting more kickass for the hungry fans out there that love him. Collapse
  6. Mar 24, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This DLC feels like it could have been way better. It's not that it isn't enjoyable, it just feels like it was rushed out before they could iron out all the kinks. The storyline is decent, though not brilliantly explained. Basically Vergil is turning into a bit of a nutbar while developing a major inferiority complex. The gameplay doesn't quite flow as smoothly as it does when you play as Dante, which can make it frustrating but for the most part it is fun at least. My biggest gripe with it is that instead of having real cutscenes, we have these crappy comic strips. It's like the animators were all off sick while this was being made so they just stuck with the concept art and hoped for the best. There's a lot of big events that that seem like they could look impressive if it was done properly but, as it is, it all just looks cheap and half hearted. I just don't get the impression that the developers were as passionate about this as they were about the rest of the game. All things considered, the storyline is worth looking into but I wouldn't recommend spending money on this. It's a very story driven couple of hours and, although the storyline is solid, it takes away a lot of the impact when it's told through poorly animated comic strips. You won't enjoy playing as Vergil as much as Dante and the whole thing seems very forced and thrown together leaving you feeling kind of cheated. Expand